Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
166 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

David Lester | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Commvault - The Swiss Army knife for Data Protection.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I like to refer to Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery as a Swiss Army knife. The healthcare industry encompasses a vast array of hardware and software solutions. Providing data protection to all of these architectures is paramount to the safety of our patients. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery allows us the flexibility to customize our support model so that it fits the institutional vision.
Read David Lester's full review
Christopher Jon Olesch Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Your Commvault solution awaits....

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize Commvault as a service along with hardware that meets Commvault specifications.
Some of the business problems addressed are the ability to protect Hourly Transaction Log jobs, HANA, Oracle coverage, SAN Intellisnap operations.
Read Christopher Jon Olesch Jr.'s full review
Adnan Sadique | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

Commvault: Complete BaaS solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CCL/Revera's Backup-as-a-Service (BAAS) offering uses Commvault as its Backup & Recovery solution. The good thing about Commvault is that it covers all sorts of customer backup requirements and have a very flexible restore option. For example, we can backup supplicated databases (like DB2, SQL, Oracle, etc) using Application iDataAgent and if required, we can export backup data in application native formats.
The backup data replication and storage policy setup architecture makes Commvault the top product as you can tailor your storage policy depending on any requirements. The Global Deduplication feature offers exceptional savings.
Read Adnan Sadique's full review
Colin Bogan | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

My Commvault review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a managed services provider, we use it both internally for our corporate backup solution as well as sell it as a service to our managed services customers. Commvault is used primarily for data protection, but we also use it for archiving and endpoint protection.
Read Colin Bogan's full review
Jason Elsmore | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

GO Commvault!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Here at DaVita, I have been helping to manage Commvault data protection/management solution for the last 3 years. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery provides for a very strong offering for any type of backup/recovery/archiving solution on the market. Everything from VM Snapshots, Server File System Agents, several databases agents, along with SAN snapshot protection, Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery provides so many features for our DaVita business to utilize.
Read Jason Elsmore's full review
Anirudh Srinivas | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

The one stop shop for all data protection and recovery needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is deployed on our customer environment which is an insurance vendor, it's deployed on the entire estate managing more 10PB of Front end data. The primary application use case is automation with the server agent deployment, configuration is all automated. There was a need for various types of applications and middleware to be all managed under one solution.
Read Anirudh Srinivas's full review
Paul Sevick | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

CommVault is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using CommVault for over 10 years and backup pretty much everything with it across our entire enterprise. Currently we are backing up 25 virtual servers, 6 physical servers and multiple SQL databases. Once setup it's an amazing product that works extremely well, everything is controlled from a central Commcell console that makes management, deployment and monitoring much easier.
Read Paul Sevick's full review
Shalika Senadeera | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

Commvault is a Top player in Complete backup and Recovery

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Commvault is an enterprise-level tool that we use to backup all kinds of workloads. I have implemented Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery in many Enterprise-level, Corporate banks and financial companies to mitigate their data loss and compliance with their audit requirements. I have implemented it across many platforms such as MS SQL, MySQL, Oracle, AIX, Exchange, VMware, Azure, Office 365, Hyper-V, Loutas Note, Windows FS/Unix FS backups and many cloud storage and virtual environments. Commvault DR option as well. We especially used Backup replication (Dash Copy), VM Replication (Live sync) and DB replication and VM life cycling process. Customers like the Commvault CommCell console, it is a single console solution.
Read Shalika Senadeera's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Commvault across our entire company. In the US, we have each location split as a division. Each division has its own media agent, storage, and permissions group. All reports go to divisional directors and staff as well as visuals for Command Center. This setup isolates each location to only be able to view their items. This reduces stress on local staff and allows me and my team to focus on big-picture disaster recovery. This setup really helps with off-loading restorations and live data to other divisions as tests or failover scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Commvault in my company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is used at DaVita to ensure our data protection meets Federal guidelines and supports our Disaster Recovery and Business Continuity Needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2020

There's a lot to be said for not having to worry about backup and recovery.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Commvault is used across the whole organization to provide disaster recovery and operational support for Windows and several versions of UNIX and Linux. Operational support includes database refreshes and data migrations. As far as I am aware, we no longer use it for Archiving because of a disastrous mistake someone made when performing some cleanup in the GUI, which resulted in loss of data. Commvault and a Data Recovery company were unable to put Humpty Dumpty back together again, although they both tried very hard. The data structures on disk are just too complex, and the purpose of the cleanup was permanent deletion of some old data, so in that sense, it worked perfectly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2020

Why Commvault against competitors

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Commvault is our core Backup Enterprise tool, used to backup more than 1200 VMs and more than 120 physical Servers. It yearly addresses around 60 to 90 restores or recoveries.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Calm-Vault

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Commvault is our enterprise solution for backup and recovery. It primarily is used in the intel and power environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

With Commvault, One Size Does Fit (Almost) All

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We host servers for many Oregon governmental agencies. The backup team is responsible for providing the necessary backups for these agencies to ensure the safety of Oregon's data assets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Protecting your data, from all threats including you.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are equivalent to a multinational corporation that is very geographically dispersed. Commvault is the complete backup and disaster recovery solution for us. It is used across the organization and we use on-prem and cloud instances. The nature of our business requires a comprehensive and capable product that is easy to configure and deploy from remote locations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Happy and Protected.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery to backup and retain all server infrastructure in our environment. It helps us solve audit requirements with data retention and data protection. We also use it as a fail safe for major hardware/software failures.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Why we chose Commvault

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used in our operations. It has addressed our issue of backups over distance. We use two d2d solutions to keep our retention to an agreed upon timetable. Commvault has allowed us to do SQL backups on a timeframe that our developers are very happy. We do VMware backups that exceed our rpo and rto standards.
Read this authenticated review
Keith Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Love the product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Commvault is used across the entire organization. Provides a backup and recovery solution that meets all federal guidelines and requirements for FedRamp. It is used to backup file data, as an integrated solution to backup mail in Office365, as a site recovery solution to move systems between multiple clouds, and the full imaging of systems.
Read Keith Kelly's full review
Vladan Kojanic | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Unique backup system throughout the organization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

  • Serbia’s Ministry of Environmental Protection is leading the way for public sector organizations to meet the government’s 2020 initiative of digitalizing citizen services. With more than 330 employees in Belgrade and across 22 locations in Serbia, the IT team needs to be able to support a variety of operating systems and facilitate field workers’ remote backups over
    the public network.
  • Our datacenter in Belgrade must be able to support secure file sharing between a host of different devices across the country. We need to ensure departments can share information without compromising on security if a device is lost or stolen. With Commvault, the organization can protect its data and safeguard services.
  • It has also increased efficiency as system administrators can now manage restores remotely from a central console rather than having to travel to site, and each employee can do data restore themselves without the involvement of IT staff.
  • With Commvault, the Ministry now has a central platform for data backup and management that can be customized to suit current and future requirements.
  • The user-friendly solution was quick and easy to set up, integrates seamlessly and offers
    comprehensive data protection. No competing solution on the market offers the same level of organic integration.
  • We have happier and more productive users thanks to its user-friendly interface, employees working in the field needed minimal training to start sorting, backing up, and sharing documents on the move.
  • Collaboration between departments has improved, while deduplication has helped reduce the organization’s data footprint more than 80%.
Read Vladan Kojanic's full review
Matthew Magbee | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 03, 2020

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Review- By someone who uses it every single day.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Commvault across our entire company. In the US, we have each location split as a division. Each division has its own media agent, storage, and permissions group. All reports go to divisional directors and staff as well as visuals for Command Center. This setup isolates each location to only be able to view their items. This reduces stress on local staff and allows me and my team to focus on big-picture disaster recovery. This setup really helps with off-loading restorations and live data to other divisions as tests or failover scenarios.
Read Matthew Magbee's full review
Andrew Buckle | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

Commvault: Fast 'n' Furious

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used as the single platform to back-up various systems distributed within the organization.

  • It supports various operating systems.
  • De-duplication is built in.
  • It can be controlled from anywhere, by anybody with the correct access.
  • The front end and the operations are designed in a uniform manner. This makes is easier to learn, and the operations to perform certain tasks are familiar.
  • The reporting and feedback tools are excellent.
Read Andrew Buckle's full review
Max Pang | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Try before you Buy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The application is used across the whole organization that we support. It provides data protection for critical and non-critical data from a DC environment to a remote office. The tool is easy to use and offers loads of functionality from management server consolidation to media agents/clients migration without any hassles. Well documented operational documentation proves helpful when in need of references and guidance.
Read Max Pang's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (57)
8.6
Live recovery (54)
8.7
Recovery verification (58)
8.5
Business application protection (61)
8.8
Multiple backup destinations (60)
9.3
Incremental backup identification (65)
9.3
Backup to the cloud (46)
8.9
Deduplication and file compression (62)
9.6
Snapshots (60)
9.3
Flexible deployment (53)
9.0
Management dashboard (55)
8.9
Platform support (55)
9.1
Retention options (53)
9.5
Encryption (52)
9.5

About Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery

Commvault is the eponymous data backup and recovery solution from the data management company headquartered in New Jersey. Its features support multi-cloud backup, protection for applications, databases, and virtual machines, end-point user data protection, and disaster recovery.

Commvault provides support for backup and recovery of files, applications, databases, hypervisors, and a variety of popular cloud storage options, including Amazon AWS, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, and Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. Modalities can be cloud or multi-cloud, on-premises or cloud-only workloads.

Key Features

Cloud Backup and Recovery Options

  • Complete backup and recovery across files, applications, databases, virtual machines
  • Archiving for files and virtual machines
  • Encryption of data in flight and at rest
  • Compress and deduplicate data for moving workloads
  • Disaster recovery
  • Hardware snapshot management
  • Replication and virtual machine incremental replication
  • Backup operational reporting through Commvault Command Center
  • File sharing
  • Comprehensive view of data storage locations: on-premises data centers, public, and private clouds
  • Consistent service level agreements for hybrid IT environments
  • IT agility from tested data management practices
  • Policy control management for cloud and on-premises workloads

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Competitors

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No