Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
175 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 48)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The real winner of this company and application is its staff of support engineers and the management. Seriously, I could hate the application and despise using it and would still subscribe and deploy 100% across the company. No other company works as hard for its users as Commvault. Having a solid application on top of this is more than anyone can ask for.
Read this authenticated review
September 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Commvault simply has the best support of all the vendors. Great knowledgebases and documentation available online and the support teams when needed are always very knowledgable and prompt in their responses.
Read this authenticated review
July 01, 2020
David Lester | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The extensive logging and process analysis allows for definitive root-cause identification. Support teams are easy to work with and fully understand the scenario. Case registration leverages AI technology to intelligently evaluate case classification. Support case registration ensures that I am connected to the correct support group the first time. The support teams quickly follow up with responses and provide periodic updates to ensure you stay informed.
Read David Lester's full review
July 03, 2020
Christopher Jon Olesch Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
We utilize the Enterprise Support Program. It's a top-notch support option. It offers strategic world-class technical management. The support partners with us to provide the best possible solution/resolution to any issue we encounter.
Read Christopher Jon Olesch Jr.'s full review
July 02, 2020
Adnan Sadique | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Engaging Commvault support is super easy and realizable. You do not have to chase support on phone/email. Commvault does deliver what it promises and this makes Commvault the very best available product on the market.
Read Adnan Sadique's full review
July 01, 2020
Colin Bogan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Commvault support is like nothing I've ever encountered. They go above and beyond to troubleshoot problems even when the source of the issue is not directly tied to the Commvault software.
Read Colin Bogan's full review
July 01, 2020
Jason Elsmore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Customer Support is a TOP Notch offering/benefit that sure helps to boost the Commvault product overall.
Read Jason Elsmore's full review
July 01, 2020
Anirudh Srinivas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery gives a very trusted relationship with the vendor. We are able to have very minimal to 0 downtime and high availability for all backups. The backups are designed to complete within the window allocated, which keeps up our SLA on the top always.
Read Anirudh Srinivas's full review
April 24, 2020
Paul Sevick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The product works very well but there have been occasions where we need to contact support. Placing a support is call is easy and fast, depending on the severity of the incident they call you back exactly within the time frame indicated. I have spoken to New Jersey based support people who have expert knowledge of the problem.
Read Paul Sevick's full review
July 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
The number of questions we've had going to Commvault has decreased over the past year. This is because support is better and the tool is better. The reason for not a "10", is we have other vendors that answer faster and don't need for us to call them. However, we have many other vendors that are below CommVault including some very major companies and some medium-sized ones. This puts Commvault near the top, but not AT the top.
Read this authenticated review
July 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery support is a Gold Standard for us. We are a ESP customer and have a designated Support Account Manager (SAM) & a Technical Account Manager (TAM) who we meet with every other week to go over any existing issues and upcoming version revisions release. But of course not all companies or organization will need this type of level of support but we have proven that this works for us due to the shear size of our environment and the number of offices we support.
Read this authenticated review
June 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
We get quick response to our queries, and the documentation is more complete and accurate that I expected. The really hard problems can take a while, but Commvault does not hesitate to connect the end-user with the engineering and development teams to solve those problems. They also do not seem to have the tendency that you see in many vendors to close the case as fast as possible (to make the closure stats better) even when you do not yet have the full answer that you need. They keep at it until every issue and question has been explored.
Read this authenticated review
July 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Based on my experience with other providers' support, I can say CV have a reliable support organization, one of the key points to choose CV.
Read this authenticated review
July 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
We have a dedicated SME on our account who comes and works in the trenches with staff once a month. On top of that, we meet weekly to discuss any issues or any strategic moves that we want to make in the environment. The biggest benefit is the environment is now being proactively managed vs reactive, allowing for the environment to be reliable when we need it most.
Read this authenticated review
July 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Meets all our service requirements and we have thousands of happy clients and a powerful team managing our infrastructure with this solution. As we use it for a managed service to our clients, we have an extensive capability that fits well with the product and we have made the most of its functionality and the support we get from Commvault.
Read this authenticated review
July 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
The Commvault support organization is excellent, provided around the clock support. They have knowledgeable staff, are very responsive, and have always done what is necessary to at least get the answers to the issue, even if the answer has to come from development. A+
Read this authenticated review
July 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Their support is top-notch. They are responsive and receptive to changing needs. Anytime our system experiences problems, Commvault is quick to determine the cause and provide a solution. Our systems require 24 X 7 availability so when a system isn't performing as needed it has the potential to be disastrous. You need a responsive provider like Commvault to help correct problems and correct them quickly.
Read this authenticated review
July 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery's support is good until advanced troubleshooting happens, then it just depends on the engineer.
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Their support model is the standard that should be adopted by the rest of the backup providers. The gardener quadrant is a staple in our industry and Commvault continues to shine. They never give up on trying to help the end user. The Techinical ability of the support staff is amazing
Read this authenticated review
January 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Every time that we have had an issue they have been quick to respond, resolve and explain the issue. They go above and beyond to ensure that their customers are taken care of.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
We have had far fewer technical issue with Commvault and Technical Support has been very good. Technical Support engineers seem to be well trained in their product and quickly get to the root cause of the issue. Response time from Support is good.
Read this authenticated review
December 06, 2019
Keith Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
In general, Commvault has been a bit slow to solve the issues that I have presented. The overall response times and avenues for support are excellent. But, the timeframe from reporting the issue to resolving the issue has been longer than some other products I am familiar with.
Read Keith Kelly's full review
December 04, 2019
Vladan Kojanic | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The cooperation with the support team so far has been excellent. We will be informed on every problem. The first line will help very soon after the ticket is opened. They always meet the appointment. Every problem is solved as soon as possible. When talking with the support team, they immediately indicated that they had the knowledge, and knew where to look. If the problem goes beyond their help frame, the second aid level is immediately activated, the case is raised to a higher level and another call/help meeting is scheduled immediately. The nice thing about this company is that you can follow every ticket online.
Read Vladan Kojanic's full review
January 03, 2020
Matthew Magbee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I like the product very much. The real winner of this company and application is its staff of support engineers and the management. Seriously, I could hate the application and despise using it and would still subscribe and deploy 100% across the company. No other company works as hard for its users than Commvault. Having a solid application on top of this is more than anyone can ask for.
Read Matthew Magbee's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (58)
8.7
Live recovery (55)
8.7
Recovery verification (59)
8.5
Business application protection (62)
8.9
Multiple backup destinations (61)
9.4
Incremental backup identification (66)
9.4
Backup to the cloud (47)
8.9
Deduplication and file compression (63)
9.7
Snapshots (61)
9.4
Flexible deployment (54)
9.0
Management dashboard (56)
9.0
Platform support (56)
9.2
Retention options (54)
9.5
Encryption (53)
9.6

What is Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery?

Commvault is the eponymous data backup and recovery solution from the data management company headquartered in New Jersey. Its features support multi-cloud backup, protection for applications, databases, and virtual machines, end-point user data protection, and disaster recovery.

Commvault provides support for backup and recovery of files, applications, databases, hypervisors, and a variety of popular cloud storage options, including Amazon AWS, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, and Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. Modalities can be cloud or multi-cloud, on-premises or cloud-only workloads.

Key Features

Cloud Backup and Recovery Options

  • Complete backup and recovery across files, applications, databases, virtual machines
  • Archiving for files and virtual machines
  • Encryption of data in flight and at rest
  • Compress and deduplicate data for moving workloads
  • Disaster recovery
  • Hardware snapshot management
  • Replication and virtual machine incremental replication
  • Backup operational reporting through Commvault Command Center
  • File sharing
  • Comprehensive view of data storage locations: on-premises data centers, public, and private clouds
  • Consistent service level agreements for hybrid IT environments
  • IT agility from tested data management practices
  • Policy control management for cloud and on-premises workloads

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Competitors

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No