Concrete5 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
76 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 20, 2021
Ngo Thien | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Even though the Concrete5 community is growing, it's still not up to the level as some of the other WCMS communities.
  • More detailed statistics with historical data could be provided by the system.
  • Concrete5 hihgly depends on Jquery. It makes it hard to upgrade the javascript library since the control panel depends on it.
Read Ngo Thien's full review
February 18, 2021
Janne Wolterbeek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Excellent website performance for good SEO rating
  • Easy-to-use for my clients, esp. for websites that are not too complex
  • Marketplace is limiting, so sometimes I need a coder
Read Janne Wolterbeek's full review
February 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • POSITIVE: It replaced a custom-built CMS, which instantly meant more features for clients, a smoother development process, and fewer bugs
  • POSITIVE: The "Block Designer" plugin allows new, bespoke blocks (types of content) to be created in-house easily and at low cost.
  • NEGATIVE: Occasionally, clients will ask for features not supported by Concrete5. Overdependence on this one CMS makes it difficult to estimate for and use alternative technologies.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Shifted from a just-surviving startup to a thriving web development agency based on Concrete5
  • Allows us to offer low-cost, high-quality.
  • Year over year costs to maintain Concrete5 are very low.
Read this authenticated review
February 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Concrete5 has speeded up my website creation process
  • With the use of templates and a preprocessor style sheet language alterations to basic design are easy
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Good enough to base a business on implementing Concrete5 sites and extensions
  • Some time is lost on code archaeology where interfaces should have been better documented
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2019
Dave Becker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Concrete5 is the customer-facing side of our business. It's where we host the site that potential customers see before they choose to purchase and create an account with us. We are able to keep that site clean, user-friendly, and with a lot of available options for customers to interact with thanks to Concrete5
  • The ability to have multiple users and admins for the site means that we all members of our team can go in and create new content, fix or troubleshoot issues, and edit the site easily.
  • Our CRM isn't directly integrated with Concrete5, so when customers go to make a purchase with us, they have to leave our Concrete5 site.
Read Dave Becker's full review
June 07, 2018
Collin Berg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Concrete5 is a good PHP based framework that can be used as an alternative to WordPress
  • From a developer standpoint, Concrete5 does a better job at adhering to PHP guidelines
Read Collin Berg's full review
September 26, 2016
Tom Reitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As open-source software, Concrete5 is quick and inexpensive to start building with.
  • There aren't very many experienced Concrete5 developers, so building custom add-ons for specific needs can be costly.
Read Tom Reitz's full review
November 11, 2015
John Smart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Concrete5 has made it much easier for us to stay on top of keeping our websites current.
  • It also allows easy distribution of work load across departments.
  • The "Stack" feature allows us to design something that can be incorporated on many pages. Then by updating the stack all those pages are instantly updated - saving lots of time, and preventing us from overlooking any element that needs an update.
  • Amazing support. I have needed support once, and it was there - human and fast.
Read John Smart's full review
February 29, 2016
Frank Smith V | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Client can manage content easily after handoff.
  • Easily create a small website fast with component building usually taking up the most time.
  • Very limited options of themes and components compared to other platforms.
  • Mobile support was not great when I was using it.
Read Frank Smith V's full review
September 30, 2015
David Zizza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Project turnaround is more efficient, therefore we can take on more jobs and increase net income
  • Changes can be implemented quickly; prototyping for clients is a breeze
  • Designs can be modified while maintaining the content, so client cost for new designs is less expensive
Read David Zizza's full review
December 23, 2015
Kobby Appiah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reusable components have made it easy to turn around projects more quickly saving on work time and therefore money
Read Kobby Appiah's full review
July 22, 2015
Joey Nizuk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our development workflow is a lot more efficient. Also, our development time and cost is nearly cut in half when we work with Concrete5.
Read Joey Nizuk's full review
April 08, 2015
Francois Simard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Building our internal tool with Concrete5 increased employee efficiency as they are more independant in their processes and they understand more what they are working with.
  • Quick development process definitely increases our ROI when using Concrete5 on small websites.
  • Training sessions are shorter and occur less often as the interface is easy to learn.
Read Francois Simard's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (29)
9.3
API (23)
9.0
Internationalization / multi-language (21)
8.8
WYSIWYG editor (33)
9.2
Code quality / cleanliness (28)
9.0
Admin section (31)
9.0
Page templates (31)
9.0
Library of website themes (29)
8.1
Mobile optimization / responsive design (30)
9.0
Publishing workflow (28)
9.7
Form generator (30)
9.5
Content taxonomy (31)
9.0
SEO support (30)
9.0
Bulk management (30)
8.0
Availability / breadth of extensions (30)
9.1
Community / comment management (30)
8.7

What is Concrete5?

concrete5 is a free and open source PHP built content management system for content on the web and also for intranets. Its emphasis is on management and editing with minimal technical skills and with an embedded editor allows most editing to be done directly from a page, rather than through an entirely separate interface or editor. It features integrated server caching, supports OpenID, version control, and SEO. As with most open source content management systems, its content management functionality can be augmented with many possible addons or via the developer API.

Online magazines and newspapers are the ideal target of concrete5's capabilities though many other sites can be made and managed as well. concrete5 is touted as being both developer and DIY friendly. Marketplace content to extend features are both free and not free, so cost of implementation will vary.

Categories:  Content Management

Concrete5 Integrations

Concrete5 Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No