ConnectWise Control Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
981 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 601)

Sudhashen Naicker | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

ScreenConnect - Bullet Proof remote support software

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • No fuss - just works
  • Easy access
  • East setup of sessions
  • Security
  • I always seem to have an issue with upgrading - its not smooth. Eventually resolves itself
  • Chrome client was reported in January. Only fixed in May - about 3,5 months! Really Connectwise?
Read Sudhashen Naicker's full review
Richard Hogan | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

ConnectWise Control is a great tool for remote support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides reliable, secure connection to control remote computers.
  • Allows for both "permanent" connections for regular clients, as well as short-term, on-demand connections for one-off clients.
  • It's a very affordable solution for a small IT support business like mine.
  • While ConnectWise Control has an app to allow me to use it from my Android phone, the app is somewhat difficult to use. Part of the problem is just that it's not easy to control a desktop computer from a small phone screen. There is certainly room for improvement here.
Read Richard Hogan's full review
Josh Ryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

ConnectWise Control Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Access is through a small app that can be pre-installed on company machines, so the user does not need to interact at all other than to request support in the first place. The ability to connect without requiring user input is huge.
  • Connecting to a machine for the first time when you do not have access installed is a simple process and the easiest one I've found so far for users to do.
  • I can see UAC prompts.
  • Organizing connected machines is very easy.
  • Removing decommissioned machines could be more intuitive.
  • Settings per organizational unit would be good too. If they are there I still need to find them.
  • The ability to choose different color schemes.
Read Josh Ryan's full review
Marc Bressman | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Extremely Unhappy with ConnectWise Control / ScreenConnect - Not Recommended!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Multiple uses (support, meetings, remote access)
  • Support from developers has become very problematic and poor since they were acquired by ConnectWise.
  • Numerous issues with more recent versions of products (and updating to more recent versions) - ever since the ConnectWise acquisition (with not many useful features in more recent versions).
Read Marc Bressman's full review
Ryan Timmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2019

Great product but could use improvement in some areas to make it amazing.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The connections are reliable and smooth.
  • Transferring and receiving files from remote computers is straightforward and typically works perfectly.
  • Running commands from the dashboard without needing to connect to an end-user machine means we can easily run one-off commands without impacting workflows!
  • The access side of Screen Connect doesn't organize computers very well, you can give them essentially a tag or create groups based on SQL-like expressions, but it's a bit awkward, I'm not sure what the best way to improve that would be. Perhaps adding another tab that automatically sorts them by domain or IP range?
  • The remote computer HAS to have a monitor attached or the connection will display a black screen, generally, this isn't an issue but it means that you cannot remotely administer headless servers very well.
  • By default when you connect to a remote machine it throws all of your printers on that machine, some programs (particularly older ones) don't like that. If we could choose just one printer to send to (or none) when we want (like a button in the toolbar to send printers) that would solve that issue. Currently, the only way to fix this is to disable sending printers entirely
  • The licenses are locked using some form of a per-machine link, so if you have one license as we do and accidentally leave a connection on when you head out of the office you can not use Connectwise until you manage to close that connection. I've limited connections to two hours to automatically end them but this is still a real problem. There should be some way to end a connection from the dashboard to free up licenses.
  • The toolbox is a bit awkward and doesn't seem to work well, but that might be me not doing something right
Read Ryan Timmons's full review
Charlie Stamp | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Support Dealership on ConnectWise Control

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sharing sessions with other techs.
  • Cross-platform support.
  • Connection logging.
  • Hostpass is awesome.
  • Java, but there are only so many ways to provide cross-platform without driving up the cost.
  • No recorded session for hosted version.
Read Charlie Stamp's full review
Ronald Kent | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

ConnectWise for remote access

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is easy to access my office computer remotely.
  • Connection is quick.
  • Graphics are easy to read.
  • While the graphics are easy to read, both screens appear on my remote notebook.
  • Having two screens rather than one makes it difficult to read (small print).
  • It would be nice to be able to switch from one screen to another with a full-screen readout on the remote notebook.
Read Ronald Kent's full review
Ellen Kovacs | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2019

ConnectWise control keeps your business in control of your time and investment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use. Just email the customer the customized link to set up the login session. No fumbling with the user having to type the link in the address bar.
  • Great outlook integration to email link.
  • Simple installation of the client software.
  • Easy file transfer.
  • Stores tools I commonly use to transfer immediately onto the user's computer.
  • When the client downloads to the user's computer, many times there's a "can harm this computer" warning, which can deter the user.
  • The "pre" join chat plugin could be more user-friendly for the user. This would make it easier to communicate with the user, even if you are already on the phone with the customer.
  • Could benefit from video chat during the login session.
Read Ellen Kovacs's full review
Kevin Ritchey | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2019

Connect Wisely with ConnectWise Control

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Has great ease of connection.
  • Provides CLI access with routines.
  • You can leave notes for other support staff.
  • Organization by the client.
  • There are times when the Mac Agent doesn't allow the use of the keyboard and mouse. Once the user allows ConnectWise Control to control the computer, this is not an issue.
  • You have to connect to use routines.
  • There's no easy ability to run a reverse tunnel ssh to Mac and Linux agents.
Read Kevin Ritchey's full review
Matt Winyard | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2019

Amazing and lightweight

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lightweight. The software installation takes up very little space and has very little hardware impact.
  • It's easy to use, very easy to access users' computers, and the features are absolutely amazing.
  • It's stable. We've never had an issue since we started using ConnectWise Control within our organization.
  • I would like the ability, when transferring files, to utilize a local network instead of using the internet. This can have an impact on time.
  • I would like to be able to use dual monitor support for when I access users with multiple screens.
  • I would like alerts on software crashes/unexpected crashes to problem-solve more effectively.
Read Matt Winyard's full review
Rob Rotundo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

ScreenConnect Saves Money

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quickly connects to customer computers without too much trouble from the customer's end.
  • Allows us to control UAC.
  • Allows us to transfer files and remotely reboot and reconnect to their machines without having to start the process over.
  • Sometimes getting control over UAC is cumbersome.
  • Random issues connecting to macs.
  • File transfer could be easier.
Read Rob Rotundo's full review
Todd Singleton | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

We still call it ScreenConnect.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Remote desktop support.
  • Issuing command line entries to the remote workstation.
  • Looking at running processes on the remote workstation.
  • Looking at running services on the remote workstation.
  • Pushing files to the remote workstation through the console to perform administrative level installations.
  • Provides the ability to restart and reconnect to the remote workstation administratively without user intervention.
  • Allows a remote change of the user logged into the remote workstation without session interruption.
  • Reverse display control outside of "meetings" (allowing the remote workstation to see the technician's desktop during a session) would be nice.
  • A little better and easier branding of the landing interface.
  • Easier push distribution of new/updated client builds.
Read Todd Singleton's full review
Rob Boon | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Remote support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to swap seamlessly between my local and the remote screen is invaluable.
  • The ability to allow at the click of a button the remote user access to the local keyboard and mouse is also useful.
  • The ability to choose which screen to share, or all screens can also be helpful.
  • The ability to select sharing of multiple screens without sharing all screens or just one.
Read Rob Boon's full review
Matt Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Best remote tool in the business!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Collaboration by multiple peers in the same session
  • Speed of play
  • Regular updates and improvements in security
  • Better support for locking servers when disconnected, but not workstations
  • Better security and definitely scalability
Read Matt Lee's full review
chris burt | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

ConnectWise Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is easy for a client to get set up in a remote session.
  • Unattended access allows us to get connected to the servers without any interaction.
  • The presenter mode is good if you are wanting to talk a colleague through doing something.
  • Allow to you to elevate your permissions so that you are able to enter passwords for UAC
Read chris burt's full review
Sergio Nora | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

The best tool for remote access

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Remotely fix issues on the customers' PCs.
  • Work everywhere.
  • Gain unattended access.
  • A stand-alone tool for remote access like TeamViewer
  • A console for all the customers
  • Share session with someone outside the company for over 30 days
Read Sergio Nora's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2019

Why I love ScreenConnect, and will never look back.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • ScreenConnect offers more features out of the box than many of its competitors.
  • The database structure of the software allows far more configuration than many of the other applications I've used.
  • It makes end user support more streamlined by giving our users easier access to the remote program.
  • I'd like to see more support for older, or more obscure operating systems. We still have clients running XP or Server 2003 and it's a bit of trouble to get the client working, but really it would be more ideal if our clients just upgraded, but that's not always an option.
  • It would be nice if there was some tie into a phone system so it could be used for conference purposes. Being able to give my participants a number to call into and join my meeting hosted on screenconnect [would be great].
  • Not asking for confirmation before ending a persistent remote session. I personally have accidentally ended a few sessions I wish I hadn't and having a confirmation would be useful. But otherwise it's a wonderful application.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (571)
9.2
File transfer (544)
8.6
Instant message (480)
8.2
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (72)
7.7
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (296)
7.5
Over-the-Internet remote session (577)
8.9
Initiate remote control from mobile (369)
7.7
Remote management of servers & workstations (494)
8.7
Remote Active Directory® management (162)
8.7
Centralized management dashboard (459)
8.5
Session record (297)
8.5
Annotations (251)
8.8
Monitoring and Alerts (177)
7.8
Multi-platform remote control (382)
8.4

About ConnectWise Control

ConnectWise Control, formerly ScreenConnect, is a remote support, access and meeting solution. With this solution, you can use remote support and access to repair computers, provide updates, and manage machines. Users can also conduct online seminars and presentations using remote meetings. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution is fast, reliable and includes the same features as competing remote control solutions.

ConnectWise Control Screenshots

ConnectWise Control Integrations

ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech), ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech), ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech), ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech)

ConnectWise Control Competitors

TeamViewer, RescueAssist, BeyondTrust Remote Support (Formerely Bomgar Remote Support)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

ConnectWise Control Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No