Couchbase Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
161 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
August 19, 2020
Ausrine Stankeviciute | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

9
I give Couchbase Data Platform a 9/10 in terms of performance. I think that the platform performs well overall but there are a few key areas of improvement, especially with handling high volumes of data where slowness and errors can oftentimes occur. All other features, such as fast indexing, node scalability, multiple data sources and multiple end-users perform superbly.
Read Ausrine Stankeviciute's full review
August 12, 2020
Kok Sang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

3
I have an indexing issue, it's growing rapidly and spent 240 GB on the server and spent a lot of time to delete, index files, reindex and cluster. it almost takes +/- 1 day to make it up and running.
Read Kok Sang's full review
August 12, 2020
Rares Rusu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

9
Couchbase is providing low response times for document access. It allows us to index a high volume of data.
The deployment model is scalable & flexible, we are able to expand according to our business needs.
Read Rares Rusu's full review
September 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

8
Handling high data volume was not as easy as we expected there are a lot of tricks in the data model for providing proper data visualization functionalities. Views didn't work as expected and we found out that we shouldn't be using it after we'd already invested, even though documentation didn't advise on the scenarios where it shouldn't be used.
Read this authenticated review
September 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

9
We have the "bare minimum" hardware for high availability: 6 nodes (3 on each datacenter + XDCR) and performance has been amazing, even during that one period (of 6 months), where, by mistake, we started caching 10x more data than before. Also, we added some Elastic APM on top of it and each time we see a NoSQL query taking longer than expected, adding indexes quickly solves the issue.
Read this authenticated review
August 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

7
Couchbase performance is good only if you don't plan to have too many buckets and indexes on the same platform.
With 2 buckets and less than 50 indexes platform/performance it's okay, but with 10 buckets and more than 350, we kill the platform, we need a Ferrari behind to have something working.
Read this authenticated review
August 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

8
Node scalability, multiple end-users, and fast transactions.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2020
Daniel Olfelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

8
Couchbase has all the features you'd expect from a NoSQL database, and then some. Its scale is impressive, however, in our experience, a lot of the flexibility allowed engineers to make less than ideal design choices. With good design practices, everything scaled wonderfully, but in several cases, the bad design choices were discovered far too late. It's a double-edged sword.
Read Daniel Olfelt's full review
May 27, 2020
Nathan Ekstrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

7
Individual record lookup is extremely fast. You can run into problems though when dealing with query nodes. Query nodes seem to try and answer all requests at the same time rather than having a maximum number of requests it will work on at a time. This can cause issues when the query nodes get behind.
Read Nathan Ekstrom's full review
April 21, 2020
Prasad Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

10
Can serve a large set of transactions and queries. Easy to handle a large set of data.
Read Prasad Silva's full review
April 10, 2020
Chathuranga Amarasinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

9
When compared with other database solutions Couchbase database performance is faster than the other products. When we ask for clients' opinions about this solution, they give good feedback about it.
Read Chathuranga Amarasinghe's full review
June 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

8
Note this review is based around Couchbase 4.5.X.

Couchbase's raw document retrieval performance is quite good. However if you overlay this with the views (Not N1QL indexes), then the ability for the cluster to failover and maintain the views when using stale=false reads then the view engine will block those reads when a node is failing over. Performance will be zero until the failover is completed.

The documentation covering this scenario was not clearly documented on the limitations and issues you will encounter when the product was implemented (back in Couchbase 2.X days, with the cluster upgraded through 3.X to 4.5.X at retirement).
Read this authenticated review
June 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

8
Couchbase server performance in an environment with millions of data stored in its Non-relational schema is excellent. Queries are very fast thanks to the N1QL language and its layer system provides great flexibility for development and security (roles, permissions).
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

7
We are positively impacted by how Couchbase helped us to collect and exploit large data volumes with good performance and resiliency. During our performance tests, Couchbase threw outstanding results and flawless scalability features. Couchbase allows several architectures, allowing us to meet custom performance requirements such as putting the focus in large data volumes, custom indexing strategies.
Read this authenticated review
May 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

9
We are able to process millions of requests a day without issue.
Read this authenticated review
May 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

9
We have had our Couchbase cluster running for over 5 years, and it has given us very few headaches. It has mostly just sat there and keep chugging away.

We have had to add storage and additional resources as our needs have changed, but the cluster itself has performed very well for us.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

7
While it has some great capabilities, if the developers don't have the n1ql knowledge or understand how to properly connect to the data, there can be very unique issues that are hard to identify. I recommend free online training sessions for developers who use this that ends with a certificate qualifying them to develop to it. This would really help the CB database Support team.
Read this authenticated review
June 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Performance

8
High availability is very good, but rebalancing takes a long time with large volumes of data.
N1QL and FTS re-indexing can be very slow.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (74)
8.4
Availability (73)
8.9
Concurrency (72)
8.3
Security (71)
7.5
Scalability (72)
8.6
Data model flexibility (72)
7.4
Deployment model flexibility (71)
8.7

What is Couchbase?

Couchbase is a multi-model NoSQL database for mission-critical applications. It is designed to help deliver ever-richer and ever more personalized customer and employee experiences. Built with NoSQL technology, the Couchbase Data Platform was architected on top of an open source foundation for the massively interactive enterprise. The geo-distributed Engagement Database promises to provide developer agility and manageability, as well as performance at scale.

The vendor states that current customers include industry leaders Amadeus, AT&T, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), Carrefour, Cisco, Comcast, Disney, DreamWorks Animation, eBay, Marriott, Neiman Marcus, Tesco, Tommy Hilfiger, United, Verizon, Wells Fargo, as well as hundreds of other household names.

Couchbase Features

NoSQL Databases Features

Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-Dimensional Scaling (MDS)
Has featureCross Data Center Replication (XDCR)
Has featureFlexible Schema (JSON + N1QL)
Has featureFull Text Search (FTS)
Has featureAnalytics
Has featureMobile & IoT Integration
Has featureMemory-First Architecture
Has featureBig Data & SQL Integration
Has featureKey Value
Has featureCloud Native
Has featureQuery

Couchbase Video

What is Couchbase?

Couchbase Competitors

Couchbase Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Couchbase Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No