TrustRadius
Crimson Hexagon is a high-end social monitoring platform with a strong focus on sentiment analysis using statistical analysis techniques. Customers tend to be large consumer brands and agencies.Crimson Hexagon - The Best Social Analytics ToolCerner uses Crimson Hexagon to monitor brand mentions in the social media space. It is used to monitor share of voice against key competitors, sentiment of social media coverage, trending topics within the health care information technology space, and more. It was used to generate key reports that went up to senior level executives, including the President of the company.,Drills down to specifics of what is being discussed on social media Very robust set of analytics tools Topic wheels are extremely useful for identifying trending topics,It is a very costly tool The pricing packages are not the most intuitive to understand when going through the contract process The user interface could be improved to allow for more efficient usage,Better reporting to the sales team Better able to monitor brand mentions and head off potential crises Better able to show impact and value of marketing efforts and dollars spent,6,Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform, Cision PR Software and Sprinklr,Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform, Cision PR Software, Hootsuite Pro,10,8,3,9Helpful for Social Listening Insights and Share of Voice AnalysisCrimson Hexagon allows users to save all relevant data visualizations and metrics into a shared workspace that can be quickly transformed into a holistic report.,Solid visualizations and reporting capabilities Shared workspaces to collaborate on social listening reports Share of voice studies among brands' competitive sets,Word clouds and topic waves are often difficult to generate if there isn't enough conversation volume Visuals for share of voice comparisons are often hard to interpret,8,Quick social listening insights to share with client marketing teams Expedites competitive auditing efforts,5,Sysomos, Expion and Radian6,Sysomos MAP, Radian6, Hootsuite Enterprise,7,7,8Crimson Hexagon User's ReviewIt's used by a single department - social media monitoring team. It solves the issue of monitoring and understanding social media buzz and sentiment around keywords and topics of interest. We typically use the tool to identify sentiment and related keywords associated with a brand during and after campaigns that are run.,Crimson is a pioneer in applying the supervised machine learning algorithms for sentiment classification. Hence the sentiment engine is robust. I personally like the topic wheels that show the overarching topics and sub topics in an easy to understand wheel representation. I also like the word associations network graph that it provides for top keywords. Very informative and engaging graph.,Currently the sentiment classifier has a minimum number of mentions that need to be tagged initially for training the tool on the desired classification. But this is tedious when we have lots of sentiment or categories. For ad hoc analysis use, we need a simpler system to see basic sentiment analysis. I suggest that the creation and duplication of dashboards are not geared for repeated usage over time. It is not flexible enough to be shared to other users etc.,7,Brandwatch Analytics, Radian6 and Talkwalker,Brandwatch Analytics,3,6,3,6,6Crimson Hexagon captures the sentiments like no other.Crimson Hexagon lets us see what people are saying about things in their own words. This allows the opportunity to assess them in ways that other records just don't. A real insight into real people.,Boolean queries let you fully customize. Multi-language analytics.,The geography description is very vague.,9,10Crimson Hexagon ForSightShows crowd opinion & crowd opinion changes over time. Unlike a traditional survey, Crimson Hexagon gathers consumer information without prompting from the brand (more natural). Highlights top conversation topics as well as the places where relevant conversations are happening. Allows for side-by-side comparisons with competitors Customer service team is excellent,Sentiment returns are not accurate unless trained... the sentiment for the "basic buzz monitor" is usually off because the product does not always understand a comment's context or sarcasm The product is somewhat complicated to get full value,Regular paid reporting for clients New projects & initiatives that stem from report findings,9,9
Unspecified
Crimson Hexagon ForSight
30 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

Crimson Hexagon Reviews

Crimson Hexagon
30 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 30 vetted Crimson Hexagon reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-9 of 9)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
November 29, 2017

Review: "Crimson Hexagon - The Best Social Analytics Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cerner uses Crimson Hexagon to monitor brand mentions in the social media space. It is used to monitor share of voice against key competitors, sentiment of social media coverage, trending topics within the health care information technology space, and more. It was used to generate key reports that went up to senior level executives, including the President of the company.
  • Drills down to specifics of what is being discussed on social media
  • Very robust set of analytics tools
  • Topic wheels are extremely useful for identifying trending topics
  • It is a very costly tool
  • The pricing packages are not the most intuitive to understand when going through the contract process
  • The user interface could be improved to allow for more efficient usage
If you need to discover what topics may be trending in the social media space to identify what your target audiences want to hear from you, then Crimson Hexagon is a great tool. You can use the analytics widgets to drill down to specifics about what your audience is talking about, which enables you to develop content they want to consume.
Read Jimmy Mack's full review
November 29, 2017

Crimson Hexagon Review: "Helpful for Social Listening Insights and Share of Voice Analysis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crimson Hexagon allows users to save all relevant data visualizations and metrics into a shared workspace that can be quickly transformed into a holistic report.
  • Solid visualizations and reporting capabilities
  • Shared workspaces to collaborate on social listening reports
  • Share of voice studies among brands' competitive sets
  • Word clouds and topic waves are often difficult to generate if there isn't enough conversation volume
  • Visuals for share of voice comparisons are often hard to interpret
Crimson Hexagon is ideal for social listening, crisis communications and share of voice studies versus competitor brands. Crimson Hexagon could improve in sentiment analysis as it often skews all commentary to "neutral" without much context.
Read this authenticated review
August 22, 2017

"Crimson Hexagon User's Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by a single department - social media monitoring team. It solves the issue of monitoring and understanding social media buzz and sentiment around keywords and topics of interest.

We typically use the tool to identify sentiment and related keywords associated with a brand during and after campaigns that are run.
  • Crimson is a pioneer in applying the supervised machine learning algorithms for sentiment classification. Hence the sentiment engine is robust.
  • I personally like the topic wheels that show the overarching topics and sub topics in an easy to understand wheel representation.
  • I also like the word associations network graph that it provides for top keywords. Very informative and engaging graph.
  • Currently the sentiment classifier has a minimum number of mentions that need to be tagged initially for training the tool on the desired classification. But this is tedious when we have lots of sentiment or categories. For ad hoc analysis use, we need a simpler system to see basic sentiment analysis.
  • I suggest that the creation and duplication of dashboards are not geared for repeated usage over time. It is not flexible enough to be shared to other users etc.
It is well suited for large studies that have lots of time for analysis. Its features are very engaging in bringing out keyword associations and topical relations. It is not suited for small ad-hoc studies.
Read this authenticated review
March 10, 2017

Review: "Crimson Hexagon captures the sentiments like no other."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crimson Hexagon lets us see what people are saying about things in their own words. This allows the opportunity to assess them in ways that other records just don't. A real insight into real people.
  • Boolean queries let you fully customize.
  • Multi-language analytics.
  • The geography description is very vague.
Crimson Hexagon is great for getting a sense of what's being said.
Read this authenticated review
August 22, 2013

User Review: "Crimson Hexagon ForSight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Shows crowd opinion & crowd opinion changes over time. Unlike a traditional survey, Crimson Hexagon gathers consumer information without prompting from the brand (more natural).
  • Highlights top conversation topics as well as the places where relevant conversations are happening.
  • Allows for side-by-side comparisons with competitors
  • Customer service team is excellent
  • Sentiment returns are not accurate unless trained... the sentiment for the "basic buzz monitor" is usually off because the product does not always understand a comment's context or sarcasm
  • The product is somewhat complicated to get full value
Read Hagan Ramsey's full review
November 29, 2015

"Crimson Hexagon ForSight Review for Travel Industry"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crimson Hexagon ForSight is being used primarily by the social media team, but we also give access to our marketing leadership team to review dashboards. Next year our analytics team will also be more involved with the platform. In addition, our PR team has access to review dashboards when applicable.
  • Provides affinities / insight into your audience (Twitter)
  • Provides great competitive comparisons
  • Very customizable
  • Can be hard for a user to utilize if they don't have a lot of background in building queries
  • I think Crimson Hexagon ForSight can do a better job of how users can arrange their dashboards
  • Crimson Hexagon ForSight can do a better job with the 'click-ability' of their dashboard components
Crimson Hexagon ForSight is well suited if you have an analytics team that can help set up dashboards and queries for you. I think Crimson Hexagon ForSight would less appropriate if you only want to see basic brand insights and don't really want to dive into the specifics or brand affinities.
Read this authenticated review
February 19, 2016

User Review: "I'm A Fan of Crimson Hexagon Forsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crimson Hexagon is being used as a tool to extract social listening insights to inform strategy and creative. We also use the tool to measure campaign success based on conversation insights. The tool is solely used by the planning/strategy department of the agency.
  • Clearly presenting the most important metrics and information
  • Capabilities of slicing the data up however you choose
  • I like the ability to easily change the date range
  • I would like to see a single metric for sentiment (e.g., net sentiment)
I would recommend this tool to anyone working in the industry looking to improve their social listening insights.
Read this authenticated review
February 15, 2016

Crimson Hexagon Review: "Crimson for Advertisers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crimson Hexagon to do real time and past social monitoring for our clients. Our whole planning department has been trained and is using the tool. It helps us address share of voice within our clients and their competitors. Im addition to share of voice, it helps us to gather audience insights about current and potential customers.
  • Allows us to use firehose for Twitter in the past.
  • Helps us discern audience affinities and create custom audiences.
  • Also has a smaller social account monitoring tool that can be used.
  • You can only set up a finite number of searches within the platform. If you hit the limit you have to delete one to make another.
It is great for look into the past for trends. It is less useful for real-time monitoring. For example if you were hosting a war room for a Super Bowl spot that was airing and wanted to track real-time response, you'd want to use a tool that refreshes quicker. Also their social platform section could use some more building out.
Read this authenticated review
July 01, 2015

Crimson Hexagon Review: "A dream for data geeks but lacking functionality for social customer care and publishing."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As we're an outsourcing company we've been using Crimson Hexagon to provide market intelligence allowing us to open doors with potential new clients. We currently use it for a client to help them expand their reach to individuals who are victims of fraud and may need advice. We find people to contact on Twitter and then signpost them to the client's service. Currently it's only being used by sales and marketing, as well as the customer service teams in our contact centres.
  • Crimson is really good at performing complex boolean searches to bring back conversations about a particular topic.
  • Its reports are quick and easy to understand as well as being visually appealing.
  • Its ability to train examples into categories by giving it best match examples allows you to analyse a lot of data quite quickly.
  • I've noticed that when running off reports to PowerPoint presentations, the software sometimes glitches and doesn't include every element that you initially included.
  • Its quite complicated to get to grips with the advanced features such as training opinion monitors.
  • It would be great if Crimson could geolocate by IP rather than location setting on Twitter.
The questions I would ask is how big is your brand or client? If you have high volumes of conversation around your brand or sector then this could well be the product for you.

If you are a smaller entity I'd suggest looking elsewhere as it's not very good at dealing with low volume conversation.
Read this authenticated review

About Crimson Hexagon

Crimson Hexagon is a high-end social monitoring platform with a strong focus on sentiment analysis using statistical analysis techniques.

Customers tend to be large consumer brands and agencies.

Crimson Hexagon Competitors

Crimson Hexagon Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No