Autotask PSA

Autotask PSA

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.1 out of 100
Datto Autotask PSA

Overview

Recent Reviews

Datto is the BEST!

7 out of 10
March 22, 2022
We are always looking for ways for our techs to hit their SLA and a program that will allow us to track and ticket makes things so much …
Continue reading

Autotask Review

10 out of 10
April 29, 2021
We use Autotask to track tickets, contracts, invoices, billing info, create opportunities, and create reports for our customers. It …
Continue reading

Great Ticketing System

7 out of 10
March 13, 2019
Currently we are using Autotask as for our ticketing/incident system, tracking time, and project management. Currently the organization as …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features

Service-level management (25)

8.2
82%

Change requests repository (23)

7.4
74%

Expert directory (22)

7.4
74%

Organize and prioritize service tickets (28)

7.3
73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Autotask PSA, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Autotask PSA?

Autotask PSA is designed as a complete IT Business Management Platform for MSPs, now from Datto (resulting from the Autotask merger with Datto in 2017).

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

19 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management?

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and…

What is Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk)?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of…

Features Scorecard

Incident and problem management

7.7
77%

ITSM asset management

7.1
71%

Change management

7.5
75%

Product Details

What is Autotask PSA?

Datto Autotask PSA is designed to make the business of delivering IT easier, more efficient and gives the user instant access to the analytics needed to take MSP operations to the next level.

Streamlining service delivery workflows for 9,000+ IT solution providers worldwide.

Autotask PSA Integrations

Autotask PSA Competitors

Autotask PSA Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Autotask PSA?

Autotask PSA is designed as a complete IT Business Management Platform for MSPs, now from Datto (resulting from the Autotask merger with Datto in 2017).

What is Autotask PSA's best feature?

Reviewers rate Service restoration highest, with a score of 8.3.

Who uses Autotask PSA?

The most common users of Autotask PSA are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (112)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 28)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team used Datto Autotask PSA for multiple business needs however our main utilization came through helpdesk ticket tracking and billing. The tool overall was a giant all in one solution to allow a MSP to have their entire operation located within the PSA. In my opinion the ability for it to be all in one is both its greatest selling point and its largest shortcoming.
  • All in one solution
  • Ticketing
  • Billing automation
  • integration with other non - datto solutions
  • Billing and accounting
  • Inventory management
Datto Autotask PSA really shines when your entire operation is utilizing it. There is the option to do all accounting, inventory management, billing, Marketing, CRM, Support and others I am probably forgetting all in one place and each portion of your business knows what is happening at any point in the lifecycle of a client. Where we stuggled with getting the full value out of the solution is when portions of our business did not adopt Datto Autotask PSA which really limited the usefulness of the application as a whole.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It keeps track of time spent on tickets, keeps track of the tickets themselves, and serves as a repository of 'how we fixed it the last time.' It's very robust in how it can be configured and it can interface with LogicMonitor. Widgets are highly configurable and can bring a wealth of information to you at a glance (i.e. types of tickets open, how many are overdue or due, what status they are in etc.).
  • Keeps track of IT tickets (though it could be anything, not necessarily IT)
  • Keeps track of timesheets.
  • It's easy to use once you get the hang of it, which doesn't take long.
  • For my use case, it does the job perfectly.
If you have work tickets to keep track of it's great. If you have timesheets to manage, it's great. These are essentially the only things I use it for.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datto to manage, maintain and monitor over 150 workstations in a windows based environment. We also have Macs in the company which benefit from having Datto RMM installed on them. We can easily support and distribute patches across our devices. We use Autotask as our ticketing platform where we can track and monitor issues as they arise. It also allows us to monitor trends and spikes as they happen. We have custom-built dashboards within the platform to manage metrics.
  • Autotask allows us to monitor user issues.
  • Autotask allows us to be held responsible for out SLAs.
  • Autotask allows us to drive out staff in a result driven environment.
  • Datto RMM allows us to support our infrastructure.
  • Datto RMM allows us to keep our devices up to date easily.
  • It takes too long to create simple tickets.
  • It doesn't integrate with outlook for calendars easily, it can be done though, but could be improved.
  • The mobile app is not very good, it could be better.
Autotask is particularly well suited in a multi-client environment, such as an MSP, where metrics can be easily analyzed for the profitability of their client base. Time vs investment can easily be identified. Autotask has relatively little to offer as an in-house solution for an IT Dept, it's good for the ticketing system and metrics for measuring time but I believe it's better for a multiclient business monitoring time/efficiency/profitability. RMM is a useful addition for the IT Dept.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I had already been familiar with Datto before they acquired Autotask so I trusted that they would take AutoTask in a good direction. I have been very impressed with this software. As the owner of an MSP, this is essential to have for my clients. It ensures security for their infrastructure. I especially appreciate the high level of customer service for Datto. They are willing to help with the onboarding process and walk you through getting used to how their software works. I highly recommend it.
  • Onboarding.
  • Customer Service.
  • Support.
  • Sales.
  • Website.
  • Pricing.
I would definitely recommend this product to other MSPs. I think it gives security and integrity to what we do. We need our clients to always feel like we have their backs and that their computer systems are secure and protected.
Howard Rabb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datto AutoTask as our main support ticketing system as well as our solution to track billable and non-billable time to jobs. We also use it to schedule recurring activities that need to take place daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annually. The customizable dashboards allow me to keep a handle on workload.
  • Automation possible based on different ticket types.
  • Knowledge base.
  • Integration with Datto RMM exists, but is poor.
  • Knowledge base has limited formatting options and is hard to navigate.
  • Knowledge base looks pretty ugly in my opinion.
  • You need to manually check off an option whether or not you want to include the customer on a notification or communication. This information is NOT displayed after you do it so you have no way of knowing if a customer was notified.
  • Automation is cumbersome and overly complicated.
  • I think that the setup and configuration are cumbersome and overly complicated. There are far simpler products that can do 95% of what this can without the level of effort.
In my opinion, Datto Autotask is exceptionally complicated to set up, manage, and use on a daily basis. I would think the target market for this product would be someone managing a team of 20 - 50 people, possibly more. In my experience, for it to run properly you will need to dedicate at least half an FTE to running this product in an organization of that size per month. I would not recommend it for companies with less than 10 people or for companies that value quick communication with their clients. I would not recommend it for companies using Datto's RMM product. The integration exists, but it is clearly a bolt-on. They were not developed together and they are slow to talk to each other. Frequently you cannot add details from RMM sessions into the PSA without manually copying the ticket number, and if the ticket is more than a week old, then you can't even find it with the ticket number.
March 23, 2022

Autotask Tickets

Felix Daniel Bravo Pérez, PMP, CAPM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Every day we receive service request from clients or we used to report work in different clients. We enter information on tasks done to solve the issue reported by the different clients we serve. To report cases, work done, etc, it's very helpful and let you to control the hours used again the hours assigned. You can insert your tasks without problem, and multiple consultant can work in the same ticket (issue, report or work done). Automatically can email to the responsible of the ticket or the client whom open the ticket. The tickets can be included in a database knowledge for future reference. I tried to used to control projects, human resource and their efforts during the project, but the times I have tried, it is not so friendly. The report capability I think they are not friendly and limited. In the other hand, the supervisors can check the work done by the consultants, according to the roles assigned. The query for tickets can be tricky sometimes, and it opens a lot of windows, depending on what are you consulting or updating in the application. Most of my consultants only get into Autotask to enter information about the tickets. I have to do a little more, but I supose my boss, who has a more strong role using the app can do much more.
  • Creating Tickets for client issues
  • Sending emails notifying people involve
  • Updating tickets it is usually fast
  • Your tickets solves and completed can be part of your solution knowledge
  • Don't like very much UX
  • Querying tickets get tricky
  • Project management could be complicated
Creating tickets for control of the job done, solutions applied and using for future references. besides has a good manage of tickets for reports and control. In my experience, when I had tried for projects, have been dissapointed, can of very complicate, defining stages of the project, task, duration and persons involved it is not easy, at least for me.
March 22, 2022

Datto is the BEST!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are always looking for ways for our techs to hit their SLA and a program that will allow us to track and ticket makes things so much easier to record. Customer service is a big deal to us and it's extremely important that we do what we promise with our IT Help Desk.
  • Integration
  • They have an app.
  • Centralizes our operations.
  • The interface could be better.
  • Would be nice to have a button where you could hover the mouse over to expand the ticket instead of opening it entirely.
  • Time consuming to add resources.
Datto is great when you have several departments that do not necessarily always communicate well because you can go into separate files and put them together. Being able to accurately bill our clients is extremely helpful too. It helps us to achieve better insight into the project and profitability. If you are pounding out tickets, it can be a little clunky and if you have entry-level help desk pros, it could end up being chaotic because it's not really user-friendly.
January 28, 2022

Ideal for all MSPs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datto Autotask PSA has been a great centralised tool to manage support tickets, quotes, customer relationship data and timesheets. The integrations with Xero make our accounts team very happy and ensures that we aren't jumping between a help desk, an invoice/quote system, normal emails and other tools. The built in internal and external knowledgebase is also great.
  • Centralised platform that manages all MSP items.
  • Integrations and workflow rules.
  • HTML editor from service desk (eg: unable to bold/underline/change colour of lines in responses to tickets).
  • UI could do with a little improvements (lots and lots of pop ups).
Pros
  • Service desk.
  • Customer workflow rules.
  • Contract management.
  • MSP CRM.
Cons
  • UI needs a revamp
  • Site config needs to support more than just plain text
  • Need to support custom formatting throughout the platform, focusing on outbound service desk emails.
Haven't had any issues that weren't able to be resolved.
April 29, 2021

Autotask Review

Ashley Beal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask to track tickets, contracts, invoices, billing info, create opportunities, and create reports for our customers. It basically allows us to do almost everything we need for our business.
  • It creates reports well for our customers.
  • Makes quoting and invoicing very easy and manageable.
  • Transferring invoices to QuickBooks can be a little slow sometimes.
Autotask is well suited for businesses that are looking for a product that has ticketing, invoicing, quoting, reporting, and more all in one place.
They are fairly quick at returning a response to a problem and have been able to fix all issues for the most part.
October 16, 2019

My Autotask Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for ticket tracking and assigning, and we also use the EPM tool for managing devices.
  • The ability to create multiple groups to assign tickets to.
  • Being able to properly categorize and note tickets.
  • Being able to create and utilize SLA's.
  • It could use easier ways to make the email address used for sending tickets.
It has all of the main features of any ticketing system, so it's well suited for those purposes.
It has served us well with what we need from a ticketing system.
Hesham Gomaa Elmasry , IBDL | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is used for submitting either internal tickets by the employees internally, or external tickets by our clients, these tickets may be maintenance tickets that need to be resolved, or new needs which will be converted to projected phases and specific tasks to be implemented by the project's team.
Autotask is being used by the customer service, quality, accounting, and software development departments.
Autotask helps us maintain our products by solving clients' problems, managing, monitoring, and controlling projects.
  • Shows all the communication within the tickets very clearly, even if it holds a huge amount of information.
  • Manages projects effectively by dividing the project into phases, each phase into multiple milestones, and each milestone in multiple tasks. And for each task, you can assign all its related attributes like the resources, estimated hours, duration, start date, end date, and so on.
  • It has very professional customizable dashboards that show the progress, status, and even trends of everything.
  • It supports notifying internal and external stakeholders for each note added on a project or ticket.
  • Supports Gantt charts for project management.
  • Filter tickets for notes for a specific user.
  • Creating reports needs enough training to be able to create a professional one.
Well suited to creating tickets, following up on tickets' status, sending notifications, creating reports, scheduling automatic reports, creating a project from a ticket, attaching files on both tickets and projects, creating project phases, milestones, and tasks.
It's less appropriate for automatic resource smoothing, leveling, fast-tracking, crashing, and other more advanced project management.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Autotask as for our ticketing/incident system, tracking time, and project management. Currently the organization as whole uses Autotask for submitting support tickets, and our technology team uses the product for tracking our time & PM. It allows us to easily receive, assign, and work support tickets as they arrive throughout the day. As well as allows the PM team to schedule tasks and such during projects.
  • AutoTask allows for us to receive and work support tickets very easily. We've setup various 'Issue Types' that in turn are bound to SLAs ensuring that items are worked appropriately as they are received.
  • The automation that AutoTask allows for with regards to various emails/requests coming through has been great. It allows for us to not have to constantly "watch the queue" as when a critical item arrives the appropriate persons are notified and can work it.
  • I feel that the management of AutoTask for both user setup, and various automations is done well. We're able to copy settings as needed, and create templates for multiple items.
  • To date, the maim area of improvement is the ability to allow for retrieving a ticket that may have inadvertently been deleted. At present there is no way to do this which at times can be frustrating.
  • The search function does leave something to be desired as it does require some specific wording to find what you're looking for.
At present with using this as our ticketing system it works great. As I've mentioned with the automation in place and the notification options it provides we very rarely miss high priority items when they arise. I have not experienced this myself, but our project managers have stated that AutoTask lacks a lot of options they'd like to see on their side of the house.
Steven Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask across the whole organization. It is our main system that ties everything together. CRM, accounting, time tracking, ticketing, and procurement; it helps us stay on track with all areas of the business.
  • It is a very good ticketing system that tracks tickets and employee time entries on tickets with ease.
  • It handles quoting products and services very well.
  • Ticket contracts for invoicing works well.
  • The knowledge base could be better and have more functionality.
  • Customization is very limited. It would be better if you had a little more control over certain items.
  • It needs better sales order automation.
Great professional services automation toolkit.
Kris Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is used to track IT issues while providing documentation options, while also including billable time functions. This allows for billing integration and client management as contact's tickets are easily workable and trackable. The ability to assign a ticket to a company instead of a contact helps to manage a company regardless of contacts.
  • Associating billing data to tickets streamlines the invoicing process.
  • The ability to assign tickets to accounts instead of individuals helps to ensure easy task tracking.
  • The ability to easily separate assignments by geographical sections.
  • Wildcard abilities for Account Name searching when integrating.
  • The UI is not visually friendly and requires training to navigate without difficulty.
Autotask is well suited for IT service industries who bill by the department, issue type, time on the ticket, and more. Severity levels and subcategories provide granular options not found in simple ticketing systems. This works well with an existing client, but adding new leads or companies can be a bit cumbersome. The reporting felt difficult to navigate.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask has been implemented throughout our entire organization from Procurement to Service desk and through to Admin and HR.

Having a single platform to track all tasks throughout our organization has been invaluable in reducing turn-around times for both client communication and on-boarding improving client relations from day one.

Autotask has also been implemented for internal use for new employee on-boarding allowing us to make sure that everything is set up for the employee to hit the ground running.

  • With a recent update, Autotask introduced ticket checklists which greatly reduced errors with support, it has also reduced the number of unnecessary ticket transfers as a ticket cannot be transferred unless all the checklist items have been completed.
  • Autotask has an excellent reporting system built in with automated sending and customisability
  • Autotask allows for automated client communications with a wealth of customizable templates.
  • Autosk has excellent integration options with a number of third-party applications.
  • Ease of use can be improved as the admin section can be daunting to a first time user.
  • Setting up custom reports or client comms templated can be a time-consuming process.
  • The Autotask Knowledgebase can use some improvement.
Autotask is perfectly suited for a remote support based environment where client communications and timely support is paramount.

As Autotask has auto-fire notifications we can notify our support technicians when they are close to breaching SLA or have been idle on a ticket for too long ensuring that clients are always updated.
Dan Gospe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask as our CRM, to track our clients and their support tickets, and to create/monitor contracts that we have. We also use their Endpoint Management software. All of us use Autotask here. The tech team uses it to add their time entries so that proper billing occurs after calls. I use it for the above, as well as for creating contracts and running reports. Finally, the bookkeeper uses it as well to invoice our clients.
  • Integrates well with RMM tools
  • A wealth of reports are available, or you can create your own
  • You can set up your users with individualized access rights to your company's data
  • The support team is awesome
  • Custom reports can be a bit confusing to set up
  • Their inside sales team reaches out a bit too often
Autotask is much more well suited to a busy company. It's a little bit price-prohibitive if you only have a couple of employees or not many clients. This solution works for us, having 10 employees and about 200 clients. Any less than that, the pricing wouldn't be worthwhile.

Autotask fits very well with us. It's easy to keep on task. Any tickets that are getting old will shoot out alerts and scheduled tasks for our techs to finish up work on it. It's also very easy to run reports for clients on the services that they've used through us. We love Autotask.
Zach Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTask is used across the whole organization. It was used to keep track of client contact for sales efforts, also used by our purchasing and billing departments to charge clients for services, as well as a place for customers to submit requests for help, assistance, troubleshooting, etc. I can't think of anyone in the company that does not use AutoTask daily.
  • Has a great end user portal for clients to log in and submit/view their support tickets for updates and status.
  • Has great integration with third party add ons to provide additional functionality.
  • Is web based and super reliable. No maintenance or teams to manage the product are needed!
  • It would be great if more options for dashboard widgets existed.
Having used AutoTask in primarily a support role it was a really great way to keep track of support cases. They allow you to create multiple queues that can be specific to certain teams or task types. It is highly customizable. It offers a great portal for the end user to login and see the status of the cases. It's very easy to learn and teach other how to use.
March 03, 2017

Autotask for the win!

Michaela Good | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used autotask for billing, project management of our web design department and our IT support staff. The nice part is everything is in one platform rather than multiple which makes life much easier. The support staff was always super kind if I needed help with something. The interface was also super easy to learn which made it easy to train new people.
  • Billing on work completed
  • Organization
  • Business contact management
  • Number of clicks to do something
  • Invoicing
  • Reporting
This is great for project management - sometimes support has issues because it's not designed for that as much. I would recommend this to anyone that has a project manager with multiple employees. For support help desks this becomes confusing when some things are billable and somethings aren't.
February 28, 2017

Autotask at work

Lauren Burnett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is being used across our company. We use it as a way to store all of our files in one place and it allows any team member to access any file. It also allows us to access things remotely, even if we are not at our own computer.
  • Allows remote access of files.
  • Shows you when things are syncing/have synced.
  • Allows collaboration between members.
  • Would like to be able to work on files simultaneously.
  • Web interface could be more intuitive. Have to click a lot of buttons to do simple tasks.
Great for having a main database of all files. Not appropriate for trying to work on something with someone else in real time. Would prefer a Google Docs like interface for some things.
February 27, 2017

Autotask Review

Kimberly West | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is being used organization-wide. We use it for time tracking, ticketing, a knowledge base, some CRM and billing. We do not use it for projects or quoting.
  • Ticketing/time entry is very efficient and easy.
  • Contracts/billing are easy to use as long as you are selling contracts that can conform to the options for contracts within Autotask.
  • Easy to keep up with employee timesheets and PTO.
  • I tried the Projects about 3 years ago, and I didn't like it at all. It was not as efficient as we wanted it to be, and it limited me as to how many lines per project I could import. We decided to use another product.
  • Workflow rules could use some further development with available criteria to edit/change, such as client name.
  • Quoting.
Well suited for a company who needs ability to time track, ticket track and document.
Garry Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is used by every member of our organization from the service department, to order procurement and inventory, to accounting and administration. It is the most integral piece of software there is for running our business. Autotask allows us to track and bill for technician time, parts, software licensing, and other costs. It tracks our service contracts and shows us profitability.
  • Time tracking
  • Ticket handling
  • Service contracts
  • Inventory
  • PTO accrual and tracking
  • Live reports
We use Autotask for everything. It may not be the ideal tool for some things (like inventory for example) but the fact that it is integrated into one system makes up for any of those shortcomings. Also, Autotask allows us to integrate outside systems to extend its capabilities into areas or products that would otherwise require manual tracking. For example, we have several Viking systems for products at resell that integrate with Autotask so we don't have to manually enter billing for them in our service contracts. The services are updated automatically by the API.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask across our entire organization, as well as require our clients to use Autotask to submit their work requests. This work management tool provides us a way to link our active contracts and employee time to the work requests to ensure we get paid for the work we do.
  • Simple web based interface for a variety of users, which makes it easier for our clients to use.
  • Variety of canned reporting.
  • Service Desk users have many options for organizing and documenting their workload.
  • Live reports are difficult to create and use.
  • Creating new projects and adding resources is time consuming, even with templates.
  • Would like to see one URL for time sheets and the client access portal.
Autotask is a great fit for IT and business services industries. Implementation was fairly painless thanks to a good project management assistant at Autotask.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTask [AT] is being used by all employees of the company. I personally create the tabs needed for different departments or specific to a position. The flexibility to create widgets needed is great, though I feel more options should be made available. The new AT and dashboards have been great for productivity and to assist me with the QA portion of my responsibilities.
  • Increases productivity and ticket management by help desk engineers
  • It greatly helps with the QA portion of my job due to new dashboards and ability to create widgets
  • Timesheets are better manageable
  • Different layouts for widgets
  • Widget refresh after "max" data has been reached - set as "last 30 days" or more
  • More SLA options
Isaac Beyda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTask is used by almost our entire office. The technicians use it to create support tickets, store information of client networks, and to track the time worked. The executive part of the office uses AutoTask to bill our clients for the time the technician put in for working on the issue at hand.
  • The search feature is very convenient. I like how you can search by client, ticket, asset, contact name, etc.
  • I like the interface of AutoTask. It's clean and easy to navigate through for users to find what they need.
  • These are strengths of AutoTask because when a company looks for a product similar to this they want something that is easy for them to use, and not going to have to call support at any time.
  • When entering time, sometimes you won't be able to enter the time and have to refresh the page, when you do so you lose the time you had running.
  • When creating a ticket it always asks you "do you want to close this window?" Obviously I do if i just created the ticket. Please remove that.
  • Asset's should have more options and even an option to type in the Asset Type by yourself.
March 22, 2016

Tasks Automatized!

Daniel J. Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company I worked with was an MSP, we used Autotask to assist with managing client requests. Whether it's from a support side, consulting, projects or general information utilizing Autotask is one of the better programs that I've used in the past.

I'm not going to outline other products unless asked, however one key feature which was most beneficial from a management perspective was the real time graphical interface to see who worked on what ticket and the last time it was addressed including how long it was open for. This was extremely helpful for reports come end of the month.
  • The graphical calculations on time spent on requests, how long they were open for, who worked on a ticket last.
  • Grouping by priority so you can determine easier what needs to be addressed sooner rather then later. This also helps if Account Management has conversations a technician is not aware of so they can prioritize efficiently.
  • The email updates that are sent out to the technicians so they are aware of upcoming or stale tickets.
  • The documentation or "Notes" needs work. I have been exporting other options for an internal database of passwords, IP's, etc however this information can be a hassle to obtain with the current layout.
  • Searching is a huge utility in this industry, I'd like to be able to open a company "notes" or page and search for a specific server, account number, IP, etc however this is lacking which in turn takes time to drill down the listed categories.
Autotask is a great program for overall time management for anyone in an organization. It helps to determine where most of your time is spent, also for accounting and account management when reviewing client contracts. It's also extremely beneficial to keep requests/tickets on your radar, it's very easy on a day to day basics to have things fall through the cracks. Once a request is generated it must be followed through and closed with specific details. This ensures who worked on it last, what was completed and client confirmation.
Due to the cloud based technology our downtime is significantly less then other software based programs.