Datto Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
58 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Adam Friedli | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

An Excellent Backup Solution for Smaller Businesses on a Tighter Budget

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Datto is a fantastic option for smaller businesses who don't have as large of a budget. It might work well for larger businesses as well, but the features are not exactly on par with more prevalent backup solutions. So, that should be kept in mind while determining a good fit for a company. But if selling a backup solution is met with push back, this can be a great option to give a good working backup solution. It offers the main features solutions should have, so it's definitely not a compromise. Just keep in mind the features it does not offer.
Read Adam Friedli's full review
Karl Fulljames | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Datto is great for MSPs, but you pay for it

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Datto is great if you just want something to work (for the most part) and don't want to roll your own backups and don't have datacentre capabilities. The UI is very friendly and it is easy to figure out. The account management team was very easy to work with as well. Datto has seemingly figured out the MSP ecosystem very well.
Read Karl Fulljames's full review
Dale Bradford | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Avoid Datto, their a sinking ship

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have had a few situations where we were in a disaster situation, and their support wasn't there for us. We had to figure it out on our own essentially. Also, their price points compared to their competitors are high. We also feel since a few acquisitions, they have done, and support/service has gotten even worse.
Read Dale Bradford's full review
Matthew James | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

This is one backup solution that will do it all and more!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use Datto in an enterprise environment that houses tons of data on multiple servers. The Datto hardware itself is solid as a rock and barely will break a sweat even if we put it under heavy load. Being able to restore from backup remotely is fantastic, especially since we have multiple sites spread out across the US. Luckily, we've only had to do one restore, but it was so smooth and effortless that we have peace of mind that our data is safe.
Read Matthew James's full review
Mike Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

Datto -- Backup Disaster Recovery/Business Continuity, simply amazing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

No question about it-- if you have a business with employees, you need a backup solution, and there is none better than Datto. If your business has a computer or server that houses data that you rely on for day to day operations, you need Datto. The costs businesses face of being hit with a virus, human error, act of God, server issues, power outages, or even unexpected updates versus the cost of Datto, is a no brainer. Just think what your company would lose if it couldn't access its data for an hour, a day, or a week. In today's marketplace, simple backups with tape drives or external drives are not good enough and provide absolutely no failover should the server go offline for whatever reason.
Read Mike Hernandez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

Datto Review from an MSP Perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Datto is extremely well suited for MSPs who manage a lot of different clients. It is very well suited for small to medium businesses, but might be less appropriate for large enterprise organizations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Datto is good for small business

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Datto is a fine device for a very small business, the kind of business that already requires external IT partners. I would say, also, that the ideal business should not have huge deltas in data change, or they may have issues syncing to the cloud. That said, it works great for what it does, and being able to spin up a server on the device itself while the hardware is repaired or replaced is absolutely a saving grace.

Once a business grows to the point of large data storage and/or having their own, fully-functional internal IT team, there are better products out there. At that point, the costs would comparable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Datto - Good, but not all dat

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's very useful in a small environment with mostly physical servers as it excels with backing up individual servers locally without a lot of setup fuss and getting those backups offsite for disaster recovery. Where it starts to show its limitations is when you've got a heavily virtualized environment or when you have a lot of data to back up. You end up either running out of space quickly or getting frustrated by the interface limitations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

Simple and reliable backup solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The main drawback of the Datto devices is the cost. As devices are very easy to configure, even small businesses should not have any problems implementing a backup solution by Datto. I would expect that a very large business with complicated backup requirements will need more flexibility than the Datto solution can provide but personally I have yet to see such a use case. Most small, medium, and even large businesses are able to afford Datto and should find it a very good backup solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2019

A Complete Backup Service for All

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Datto is a reliable tool because of its business continuity capabilities. Any company that worries about having downtime (because of hardware failures, natural disasters, human errors) would value having Datto's devices. Being able to get your systems up and running within minutes, locally or from the cloud, when a disaster happens, is an amazing functionality.
Even for smaller companies that cannot afford to have a local appliance, Datto has also considered a different type of service, Direct to Cloud, which allows customers to purchase space only for cloud, and gives the same continuity options as the appliances.
Read this authenticated review
Justin Weller | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2019

Datto Suite of Products

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well Suited for security, ransomware detection, and the ability to recover from disaster. There are no situations where this product is less appropriate. This company has at least ONE product in their suite that can help you.
Read Justin Weller's full review
Jason Rojas | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

Datto RMM great for the Small in-house IT team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are a team of one and need to manage and support your users, this allows you to remote in and control your machines as if you had local Windows infrastructure in house. I can use remote support when they need me and I can see when a computer is utilizing too many resources before my user tells me.
Read Jason Rojas's full review
Kevin Hutchinson, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2018

Datt-oh-no

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If it worked like it is designed then it would be a great product. The customer with which I am currently engaged was unaware of issues that have existed since 2016 and they were never revealed by the MSP. Luckily for the customer they have not experienced a significant event as it would have had a major impact on their ability to recover.
Read Kevin Hutchinson, CISSP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Datto and your peace of mind

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's well suited in small, medium, and large businesses or enterprises. It can backup your server infrastructure all the way down to the desktop. It also backs up email and all Microsoft Office 365 applications with the ability to quickly recover. Datto, while a great product, may not be appropriate for home backup setups.
Read this authenticated review
Stana Steen | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2018

Datto Worry Free Business Continuity at its best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Every company with data should have a Datto period. Either a Datto Siris or a Datto NAS for small workgroup type businesses. With moving to the cloud our small clients are utilizing the Datto NAS instead of purchasing a server for files sharing. This is an economical solutions for small businesses to safe guard their data and have easy access to it.
Read Stana Steen's full review
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2017

Datto - Puts The Mind at Ease

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For large companies that are willing to invest the money in a Datto, they provide superior image-level backups of servers. They provide the option of minimal downtime with the ability to run servers on their own hardware as virtual machines.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Matthew Fex | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2017

If only I could backup myself with Datto as well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Datto works well for smaller shops that just need something that will work without needing a great deal of day to day work on it. I only login to the device periodically to see where we stand on space and occasionally when we need to restore something. The offsite datacenter backup which is hosted by Datto works well for us particularly as we do not have our own offsite tech to use. In larger departments other solutions will possibly win out based on required features and setups but for the 1-10 man IT departments the Datto solutions fit in well.
Read Matthew Fex's full review
Rob Rotundo | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2017

Datto - The Backup Solution to Use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Datto is good for all sizes businesses from small to large. Sizing the unit and pricing can get tricky for some clients. Especially when it comes to the offsite sizing and pricing. Datto is really good for all businesses. I don't know of a scenario where it isn't unless you're talking backing up a Citrix environment. You'll probably need a different solution in order to handle the processing power needed for a Citrix environment.
Read Rob Rotundo's full review
Michael Kerzner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2017

Datto is the set it and forget device of Backup and Disaster Recovery.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a business and rely on servers and PCs for your day to day business, you simply must have a Datto device. You never want to be caught in a situation where a server pops and your data is just gone. With a Datto device, you will never lose sleep again wondering whether your data is safe.
Read Michael Kerzner's full review
John Hamas | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2016

Datto in the real world.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Datto works well for environments that are not very resource intensive in regards to servers. If there were a major incident, I wouldn't depend on Datto being able to run the environment. It works well for backups, but not as a DR solution.
Read John Hamas's full review

About Datto

Datto is a provider of comprehensive backup, recovery and business continuity solutions used by thousands of managed service providers around the world. The vendor says their 200+ purpose-built cloud and family of software and hardware devices provide total data protection everywhere business data lives. Additionally, Datto says it is the only vendor that offers end-to-end recoverability and single-vendor accountability.

Datto Features

Has featureHybrid Virtualization
Has featureCloud-connected Storage
Has featureCloud-to-Cloud Backup
Has featureLocal & Cloud Virtualization

Datto Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Datto sells 100% through the channel. Specifically, Datto partners with managed service providers (MSPs). The MSPs then sell direct to small and mid-sized businesses, worldwide.

Datto Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Datto Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No