Druva inSync Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
198 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-75 of 126)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Great Product! Highly recommend!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my company, we use Druva inSync to back up all of our employees' Office 365 data. This includes all of our Exchange, OneDrive and SharePoint user data. With Druva, we feel assured that all of our data is backed up and verified with Restore Check. There is no guessing, wondering and hoping that our data is backed up and can be restored. We have had to restore data in the past and Druva inSync worked flawlessly.
  • Easy to Use
  • Reliable
  • Good value for the money
  • To be honest, I don't think there is anything that I would want changed. It is easy to maintain as well.
We are a Microsoft office so Druva inSync works great to back up our users email, SharePoint and OneDrive data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

A one stop shop!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used throughout the org. In case student files are frozen, or the current system crashes, this product is used as a backup to ensure the most recent data can still be recovered, and that if our intranet goes down, we are able to still give student live accounts of their progress.
  • easy to use
  • works fast
  • does not shut down
  • faster login
  • multiple users at once
  • just all around easier language.
It's well suited when making sure student files are backed up, and that the most recent data is accounted for. It doesn't work quite as well on days when the system is working slowly, but it not all the way shut down. It also only really serves to show previous info, not live info.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Druva a backup solution for users on the go

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Druva inSync as a backup strategy for endpoints. We currently use it on 55 endpoints. We started using Druva as a way to have a cloud backup solution for mobile users as well as desktops.
  • Allows for scheduling backups without having to interfere with the end-user experience.
  • For Directory backups, change the default setting to All Files. We did have an instance where an end-user was using software that used an extension that did not fall into the default settings and was not being backed up. We had to configure "All Files" after the fact.
  • Directory in question: Documents.
We have seen the most benefit for our end users that are mobile and work from home or during travel. We also use an on-premise solution and Druva filled the need for those who regularly go off-premise.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Druva Implementation Is Easy, And Support Is Excellent

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva is our backup solution for all endpoints within the company. We had no solution in place previously.
  • Ease of use! Easy application to manage.
  • Ease of implementation. We had Druva up and running with in a day, and rolled out in a few weeks.
  • Support is fantastic. We've only had a few issues, but support was there for us.
  • I'd like to see more backup options for Slack and Dropbox.
Our company is around 100 employees, with 70/30 PCs to Macs. We need a solution to back them up, as well as email in Office 365. This was a perfect fit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Good centralized management capabilities for a tightly controlled IT environment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva inSync is deployed across the entire organization to enable remote backup and restore of user's personal files to a central storage location. This allows end-user computing devices operating across diverse WAN links to replicate data whenever online, users to initiate the granular recovery of files and IT to quickly deploy replacement devices where required.
  • Centralized administration console allows for simple management of large deployments through the use of profiles.
  • Ability to deploy on-premise allows for greater control and compliance when operating within strict Information Security and data locality requirements.
  • Integration into active directory allows for seamless and secure deployment of clients without the need for user interaction.
  • The client still has some issues, particularly around connectivity to the server when licensing is lapsed or incorrectly reporting so.
  • The ability to share files between internal and/or expose files to external users is a feature often logged with the IT Service Desk.
Druva inSync provides an excellent platform for asynchronous data protection from homogeneous EUC environments in a managed IT environment. The product provides excellent centralized deployment and manageability. In a more loosely controlled environment where flexibility and collaboration requirements outweigh compliance and governance then I would consider it to be less suited.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

We use Druva inSync to backup our MacBooks for coworkers who are spread around the world

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My name is Bert and we've been using Druva inSync at my company for more than 4 + years on all of our Macs and MacBooks at all of our offices across several countries for our Centralized Backup Plan of User's Data. Automated backups of User's Desktop and User's Documents to the Cloud has been a great solution for us, and a lifeline as well. We even had a stolen MacBook Pro and we easily restored the User's data to the new replacement MacBook Pro. With over 200+ coworkers spread all around the world, I find that Druva inSync is a must-have for any Company, IT Dept, and for peace of mind.
  • Set it and forget it.
  • No user interaction needed after the initial setup is complete.
  • Very easy to configure.
  • Automation is a bonus.
  • Peace of mind.
  • The Password reset could maybe include a copy of the reset being sent to the Druva admin as well.
  • Ability to modify or add or include different folder to be backed up.
  • The Restore Feature could be changed to redirect the restore to, or to restore to the original folder that got backed up in the first place.
Druva inSync is well suited for anyone who is looking for any automated cloud backup solution that anyone can deploy. With regards to what scenarios Druva inSync is not well suited, that would be when someone is in need of accessing an individual file or folder on a daily basis. This is NOT what Druva inSync is setup for, in my personal opinion. Because of our goals of using Druva as a BACKUP PLAN, we didn't go outside this role for its capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Druva inSync Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva inSync is being used across our entire Office 365 environment to back up user Email, OneDrive, and SharePoint Sites. It has significantly improved our data protection as it relates to Office 365 as we didn't have a formal back up solution prior to inSync.
  • Easy implementation.
  • Minimal maintenance requirements.
  • Seamlessly integrates with active directory.
  • First sync can take longer than expected.
  • Restore speeds aren't the greatest.
If you have compliancy requirements, Druva inSync can make life much simpler by reaching back to a specific date and time to gather necessary information.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

inSync for mobile machines local backups and cloud apps

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our users are on assigned laptops, and inSync gives us a great solution for efficient backups to a hosted environment. We use also make use of their O365 backup offering, backing up each users' Exchange, OneDrive, and tenant Sharepoint site collections.
  • It has an excellent portal, with granular enough settings to back up and drawdown data.
  • High praise of their support. They resolve tickets fast and are committed.
  • It solves local machine backup and cloud assigned apps in one solution.
  • Browsing backed up data can be cumbersome to review. Luckly for us, our needs are only a few nested folders of user data.
It's the perfect solution for a mobile workforce who might not be connected to the wired LAN for the majority of their time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Druva inSync is pretty good!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva inSync is being used company-wide, and it addresses the issue that may arise after a user may not have backed up any files or made copies. Druva inSync will create periodic backups in case of a system failure and the file become inaccessible. It's also great for restoration and transfer purposes when a user retrieves a new workstation.
  • Set it and forget it.
  • Transfers.
  • Restorations.
  • Easier use of restoration of files.
  • UI seems to be on the older side.
If a user has a laptop stolen or the machine is completely out or is not recoverable, Druva inSync will allow us to pull that information down to a new machine with little to no effort. It's also great for restoring previous versions of a file if the file becomes unreadable or deleted.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Best Backup Software We've Ever Used!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use inSync across our org as the sole backup and restore client software solution for work laptops. It addresses problems of disaster recovery, file-level backup and restore, and new laptop migration. One of the unique problems it solved was the user level ability to restore files without IT involvement. Our previous backup solution did not offer this.
  • User-level file restore. inSync handles this particularly well with a simple and easy to use interface.
  • Device migration. inSync has the built-in ability to assist in migration of data from one device to another. It's not 100% foolproof but comes closer than any other software solution tested.
  • Background processing. inSync is able to achieve real-time backups without taxing the system or even alerting the user that backups are occurring. This is perfect for laptops because they are not left running overnight and so finding dedicated times to do backups is impossible with traditional software solutions.
  • Device migration is not 100% seamless. Perhaps a device upgrade wizard that guides the user would be an improvement.
  • There are rare occasions when the background process spikes CPU usage while the system is in use. It could use some improvement in this area. Ideally, the user should never notice it is running.
  • While it is nice that I rarely know it is running, it would also be nice if there was a user-configurable option to be alerted by email or pop-up when a backup is complete or some type of report to indicate how much is backed up and when. Just for extra peace of mind for those that want to be sure their data is secure.
inSync works best in an organization that uses laptops as their primary work device. It also works great where you want users to not have admin-level access but still have the ability to restore files. It may be overkill if you have desktop PC's—traditional backup software that runs overnight might be sufficient in those cases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Great solution for PC data protection

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva is used as an enterprise PC backup solution. This enables us to easily back up and restore user files. Most of the activity happens behind the scenes to the user. It’s an easy solution to deploy to a very large audience of users. As it is efficient with bandwidth, normal day to day operations are wide area network friendly.
  • Backup user files
  • Easy to use
  • Bandwidth friendly
  • Initial sync can bring down your ban bandwidth.
  • Does not operate well in China.
  • Auto-detect places of users saving application files and doing backups.
Well suited to a distributed user environment to protect IP inside your user devices. Extremely friendly backup solution across the globe.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

With Druva in hand, you can be save anywhere.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva inSync is being used in our department. Assuring a save and continue backup of the work environment of the researcher.
  • Transparant Backup of the data
  • Easy restore functionality
  • Versioning
  • The network infrastructure is sometimes slow. Maybe better compress the data or speed up the network.
The backup everywhere gives the researcher a save feeling that his data is safe. They travel a lot and are in several places, not always aware of backing up their data save.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Quick and easy backups/restores!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire organization and is mandatory. We use it to backup desktop and documents of all systems for our security. It allows us to have backups on hand if a user: leaves the company and we need access to data if it was destroyed, needs a new computer and easy to just restore the backup, and if data is lost and user needs the latest backup.
  • Restoring backup data onto a new machine is quick and easy!
  • Very easy-to-use interface with good analytics on devices installed and device locations, etc.
  • Being able to customize location names when adding users would be a +
Great use cases: when a user leaves the company and we need access to data if it was destroyed, if an employee needs a new computer and easy to just restore the backup, and if data is lost and user needs the latest backup. It has worked very well for us so far!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Druva is it the right tool for you?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to backup all PCs and laptops across the organization, both in branch locations and home office. We backup profile information as well as several custom folder locations that are specific to our organization. We have used it to restore data when replacing computers on a schedule, as well as in a fail scenario. We are currently using the cloud cache setup to help with internet traffic during business hours.
  • Profile backup, it pulls most of the profile settings which allows for setting up the user new computer much faster.
  • Custom folder backup - we use it to backup and restore custom folder locations, we do not backup the entire computer. This keeps are backups as small as possible but also allows us to make sure we get all the data that we have deemed important for the company.
  • The cloud cache servers help to keep the internet traffic down during the day and uploads the days information up to the cloud overnight when the bandwidth isn't at such a premium.
  • We have been having a problem with some of our devices going inactive and not backing up.
  • Backing up to the closest cache server and not to one configured server all of the time. This would allow our users the ability to backup quickly when traveling to the different branch locations.
Druva inSync is well suited to backup and restore remote locations where we can setup a cache server. This allows us to store information from the cloud overnight for restores and sends the data out at night and aids in keeping internet traffic in area that may not have high internet bandwidth in check.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Good product at a great price

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization for users who handle critical data and laptops. It will address the risk of data loss during the event of hard disk failure or theft. This also supports the backup of mail archive in an incremental manner which ensures no duplication happens and only metadata is stored.
  • Incremental backup.
  • Snapshots of the previous backup.
  • Optimization of data and CPU utilization.
  • Restrictions can be applied to ensure compliance.
  • Easy restoration.
  • Reduce CPU utilization of client.
  • More restrictions to be added to adhere to organizations DLP policies.
  • Client logs for troubleshooting and investigation.
It is well suited for organizations that have on-premise solutions since this ensures the backup and retrieval of data. For organizations that are completely on the cloud, it will already have multiple DR's and availability zones provided by cloud providers. At an employee level, traveling employees would be the most benefited. Availability of their data can be ensured even if the organization have on-premise solutions with less infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Does what it says!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Druva inSync across the whole organisation. We wanted to reduce the risk of data loss on our endpoints.
  • Straightforward to configure with the cloud console and quick to deploy to computers.
  • Multiplatform product.
  • Highly customisable. All the settings you expect and would need.
  • Local data encryption. If user1 works on files on their desktop, it remains encrypted to user1 even when they copy the files to USB or a network drive. That is, user2 cannot access the files on the USB or network drive. User1 must first decrypt the files before sharing.
It's well designed to backup endpoints in the background seamlessly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Simple and easy to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
inSync is used by selected departments in my organization to back up users' files, and in our case, their documents and desktop folders from their profile. Users are asked to store any important files in one of those two locations. They can then restore their own files from the client. It also helps us meet regulatory requirements for backups.
  • Low maintenance.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Easy to configure on the back-end.
  • Different policies for different user classes.
  • Should not default to only backing up some file types.
  • Can't restore O365 through the client.
Druva inSync is well-suited for road warriors, people who work with crucial files, and for transferring files from an old laptop to a new laptop.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Works well in our SaaS environment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use InSync for backup and restore of data fro our entire organization. The enrolling of devices and users is easy and the backups are reliable. It has made the replacement or updating of equipment and the recovery of files much easier than the previous method we used. The backup process is now streamlined and easy to navigate since the GUI is very well laid out and understandable.
  • Backup and restore are easy to implement.
  • Adding equipment for users is easy
  • GUI is very well thought out.
  • Minor changes to the GUI could include: current profile of a user should be listed in Users view.
We use it for the restoration of data when laptops are lost, stolen or destroyed. It is easy to get the data back and our employees can get back to work.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Great Backup software with additional features ready to be used.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva inSync helps us easily backup our users' files. It also provides an easy way for users to restore files themselves. The ease of use and customizability has allowed us to offer machine backups while also limiting the scope to prevent running up our data usage too quickly. Overall, it has provided peace of mind to our users.
  • Simple user run restores
  • Easy management of backup locations
  • Ability to blacklist/whitelist file types (such as VM's)
  • Active Directory Integration
  • No Active Directory administration tie in. All administrators for inSync must be added manually.
  • Restore dialogs could use an overhaul for ease of use, consistency and presentation.
Druva inSync is particularly suited to backing up specific folders and locations on a client's hard drive. It makes it easy to choose locations and file types, and set backup intervals, including multiple retention levels. Druva inSync is not a great product for doing full machine or OS level backups, as it is designed towards user data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Excellent Recovery Solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva InSync is a very good backup and recovery platform. It's saved us quite a few times, and its features make it a breeze to use.
  • Non-invasive backups
  • Quick and easy restores
  • Restoring user settings
  • Support with other cloud data services (OneDrive, etc...)
  • Backup and restoring from an image
It's a very good backup solution. We've used it many times to backup and restore data, and it's become our preferred platform to migrate data to new computers/etc. It also allows us some great visibility into users hardware, and their data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Druva insync very good at what it does

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company I work for has 50 or so employees who all use Notebooks to work on. We needed a solution to secure the user data on those devices which primarily ran windows 7. With Druva inSync we found an affordable solution that would a) allow us to encrypt user data and b) make backups of the devices wherever they would be. We deployed Druva inSync in our own datacenter. The deduplication functionality saved us about 50% of storage space. The admin console is very easy to use and although they're many options available it never seemed overwhelming, everything was placed logically. From a user standpoint, I have had no real problems. All users from tech-savvy to the not so techie seemed to be able to use the application without problems and even configure some settings to suit their personal needs. When they needed to restore items I very rarely needed to step in and help.

We currently are in a migration process to start using Windows 10 and OneDrive to solve our needs. This is primarily because we can use BitLocker with Windows 10 and OneDrive is integrated into O365 so that makes more sense to us. If not for the use of O365 we would definitely still be using Druva inSync to secure our corporate data on end-user devices.
  • Once set up it is very easy to use and maintain, from both a user and administrator point of view.
  • Great amount of configuration options but not so many that you get lost.
  • Restoring a file can be a little confusing for some users.
Druva inSync is excellently suited for organizations that have lots of laptops and want to backup only certain files or folders. Also, if you have the requirement to backup to a private datacenter, Druva inSync is great. For end-users, the interface is very simple and intuitive, and the admin interface is clear and very informative.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Druva is what you need and want for a great backup tool!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole HQ uses it -- we love it. Works well and everyone likes knowing their files are safe and secure. We use the cloud option and it has been great!! We moved from the on-premise version and to the cloud and the transition was so easy. We will continue to use Druva for years to come!!
  • Easy backup -- set it and forget it
  • Cloud option is secure
  • Plenty of space to backup with
  • Not very expensive!!
  • Backups on Dell usb-c connected docks don't always work
  • Randomly, a client does not backup even though I know they are properly connected
  • Sometimes users become inactive for no reason.
It is great if you need a backup solution that is very lightweight. It is not the most stable app on certain Dell PCs that use USB-C docks. Sometimes the backup just doesn't work because it won't connect.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Peace of Mind Software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this as a solution to backup our Office 365 environment as well as user machines should they choose to use it.
  • Backups work well
  • Easy to use
  • Accessible
  • Restores aren't an optimal format
  • Notifications to users when backups do not happen (due to lack of change)
Great for easy backups, especially Office 365. Users are receptive to the software, and find it easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Druva InSync

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva InSync is used on an enterprise basis for data protection for all Mac and Windows endpoints. The key business driver for its implementation is risk of data loss due to device loss/theft/corruption or ransomware.
  • Backup for Druva specified folders (My Documents, Desktop, etc) on an end user device.
  • Good Dedup ratio and related savings
  • Reasonable cost model.
  • InSync provides protection for Druva specified endpoint folders but does not provide a complete OS-level backup. As a result it cannot guarantee the restore will capture EVERYTHING. Think of InSync as an end user data protection tool.
  • Less backup options are provided for Mac and Linux endpoints vs. what is afforded for Windows endpoints. For example, Mac backups allow admins to include only Apple Mail, Safari, Address Book and Network while Windows includes Outlook, Internet Explorer, Chrome, Firefox, MS Office (including templates) and Network.
  • InSync supports encryption for all files that InSync backs up on Windows devices only.
Druva inSync is well suited to any environment requiring a simple, low friction endpoint data protection solution. It has a richer set of features for Windows endpoints than it does for Mac or Linux.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Saved us many times over from destroyed laptops.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva gives us security that if a user fails to keep a copy of their data on the corporate network, their data is not lost if the hard drive fails or a laptop is damaged beyond repair. It is fast and easy to restore data and the user is not even aware that the data is being backed up.
  • Backs up data from laptops
  • Provides quick restore of data
  • None that I can think of. Although a lower price would be nice.
Laptops are the best use case. Desktops we don't use it on as we can redirect their file storage to the network.
Read this authenticated review

About Druva inSync

Workforce mobility and the rise of cloud services is an essential part of any business, but it creates a number of challenges for IT. Data spread across devices and cloud services, unpredictable schedules, and varied network connections all complicate efforts to protect and govern enterprise information.

Druva inSync provides unified data protection, management, and information governance across endpoints and cloud applications. Delivered as-a-service, Druva inSync aims to simplify backup, archival, compliance, and device management to reduce the cost and complexity of protecting end user data, ensure regulatory compliance, and improve data visibility. With centralized management and self-help data recovery, the vendor proposes that users' mobile workforces are protected without impacting productivity.

Druva inSync Features

Has featureEndpoint backup
Has featureRansomware
Has featureCloud Apps
Has featureCloud backup and restore
Has featureeDiscovery
Has featureLegal hold

Druva inSync Screenshots

Druva inSync Downloadables

Druva inSync Integrations

Druva inSync Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

100% SaaS, 0% Infrastructure. Lower TCO by up to 50%. Informed decisions based on governed data.

Druva inSync Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Live Chat

Druva inSync Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English, Japanese