Dynatrace Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
478 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (126-150 of 331)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2020

User friendly

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used to monitor and troubleshoot mission critical applications. Those applications use different technologies from back-end legacy systems, relational & No-SQL databases, applications run mainly in Java and Linux and Windows machines, some applications are on cloud environments. Currently in my team it helps us a lot during performance testing to spot different kinds of issues - logical, infrastructure & network. There are other modules that we would like to implement to monitor user experience.
  • Troubleshoot DB issues.
  • Readability of full paths.
It is well suited in cases not only where monitoring is important, it also provides important information on how your application is being used so that you can can make critical business decisions for your business. At this time I can't see any scenario where it shouldn't be used.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used at an enterprise level, as well as within select departments. We use it for APM, root cause, user experience, as well as democratization of data. Dynatrace's UEM and RUM help us understand our users. Finally, Dynatrace helps enable automation of things that you wouldn't normally be able to automate due to lack of information.
  • User experience management - Dynatrace allows you to see what real people do.
  • PurePath/stitching- without Dynatrace, one would have to code stitching via open tracing, which is a lot of work.
  • User experience of the product - it's a very clicky web UI.
  • Clarity around licencing (for AppMon).
Dynatrace is well suited for environments where technologies fit with their support matrix - which is just about everything. I'd recommend Dynatrace for large, technologically diverse environments where visibility is important. Dynatrace is unique as it auto discovers things so it enables democratization of data as well as visibility.

I wouldn't recommend Dynatrace for tiny environments as it may not be cost effective.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2020

Trace it with Dynatrace

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dynatrace to monitor web and mobile applications and for end-to-end transaction traceability. We are also using it for real-time monitoring and transaction tracking. It is helping us to minimize the time for root cause analysis in case there are any production incidents. This is a great product.
  • Checking availability.
  • Transaction Traceability.
  • Mobile app support.
Dynatrace is perfectly suitable for monitoring applications and getting end to end traceability of transactions. It is helping us to troubleshoot and monitoring applications in real time. It is a great way to see usage history and it alerts users if usability numbers drop. There are several way to configure it to meet your organizational goals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it company wide to monitor the network, both on prem and cloud, and all of our applications. We use it to monitor real time, do root cause analysis and for KPI reporting. We recently started using user session replay and I'm really excited for what that brings to our troubleshooting ability during incidents.
  • Monitoring applications.
  • Dashboards.
  • Reporting could be better.
  • More training towards certification.
It is well suited for monitoring user sessions, applications, network activity, maybe not well suited for monitoring mainframe? I've only been using it for about a year and thus far I really don't have anything negative to say. We have one onsite Dynatrace tech and one offsite, they are both instrumental in the success of the product at our company.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2020

Eliminate Manual Work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by multiple information technology departments across the organization. We are using it for system availability monitoring and problem root cause analysis.
  • Root cause analysis.
  • Session playback.
  • Dynatrace University Content.
  • Cloud synthetic monitoring.
Dynatrace is will suited for monitoring system availability and playback of users session which is extremely helpful with root cause analysis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am working in the Flight Service department at American Airlines and we are on our journey of integrating Dynatrace in our current systems. It was very easy to work and install Dynatrace in our systems. Thanks to Dynatrace, we now have more insight into our application performance than before. This really helps our architects and developers in optimizing and troubleshoot our applications.
  • Details and complete insight into application performance
  • Easy to set up
  • Better training material
Dynatrace is suitable for most application performance monitoring scenarios. If you're looking for something that is easy to set up and gives you good insight into your applications then Dynatrace is your product of choice. However, due to the complexity of the product, it is recommended that you have dedicated resources to work with the product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used by most of the organization. We are currently transitioning away from BMC TrueSight for cloud infrastructure and we are transitioning away from AppMon to Dynatrace. Our department installs and administers the solution but it is the user's responsibility to make sure that they are utilizing the tools effectively.
  • Rapid/mass deployment
  • Mean time to resolution/problem identification
  • UI has inconsistencies and often has areas where it is not intuitive
  • Alerting/management zones are somewhat restrictive in functionality compared to AppMon
We have an overly large and cumbersome environment but Dynatrace is suitable for almost every scenario. For us we have hundreds of thousands of OneAgent entries, and at that point the API needs a lot more functionality to make it easier to scale.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace OneAgent is used across the whole enterprise. We are still in the early rollout and implementation phases of the OneAgent solution but are hoping to prove that it can provide meaningful and effective root cause analysis for all development and production infrastructures. We'd also like to be able to address and analyze user impact in order to effectively triage and determine how our app and operations teams can improve.
  • Custom dashboarding allows for all IT teams to create and illuminate important metrics that matter!
  • PurePaths, I love how you can dive deep into stack traces and review exceptions that relate to problem tickets.
  • Increasing integrations.
  • Adding the ability to compare the metrics and data of code builds.
Scenarios where Dynatrace is well suited is when you have inter-crossing dependencies with your services and applications. Dynatrace OneAgent's ability to pull these dependencies together and display them in the Smartscape is awesome. In an environment where scalability and capacity is key, Dynatrace OneAgent's auto-detection and auto-injection feature suits well. A scenario where Dynatrace does not suit well is when you have app teams that have performance leaders who may have demands for higher levels of access in order to orchestrate settings such as tags.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using Dynatrace for some of our production systems. Mostly we have a CoE to establish value for our enterprise customers that are being serviced by our teams. Our teams are increasing scale, minimizing time to market, and reducing the probability of bugs leading into costly fix times and degraded end-user experiences.
  • Multi hybrid cloud deployment
  • AiOps
  • Integration with some of the legacy technology
Most enterprises are moving to a multi hybrid cloud environment. With multiple business units building their own apps, this product allows to establish a common process for Apps lifecycle. As organizations are adopting DevOps and Agile methodology, the tool allows teams for quick feedback and turnaround to fix any bugs or issues that are introduced.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace OneAgents has been implemented across more than 100 hosts covering 1000+ services to identify the root cause analysis of the performance issues. The Dynatrace solution came with real time problem issues across infrastructure, database, networking and application layers and provided the IT Operations team enough information to mitigate the issues in a proactive manner.
  • Simulate User behavior analysis
  • Infrastructure Monitoring
  • Extractable Reports
Dynatrace is well suited when a customer needs to monitor real time user behavior by tracking the user actions using pure paths, and identify the root cause of the performance issues faced by the end users. Dynatrace can also be used to provide resource usage patterns and raised alarms when there is high usage above thresholds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used in our application development department, primarily to detect, prevent and troubleshoot issues in Production, but also to assist with testing in lower environments. We use the tool with a variety of technologies, and for a variety of applications (internal and customer facing) of wildly differing sizes.
  • Issue Detection and Correlation
  • User Experience Management and Tracking
  • Cost
  • No Safeguard for Licensing Consumption, which could lead to large, unexpected costs
Dynatrace is a highly powerful, highly advanced, monitoring tool. It is capable of keeping tabs on the entire application stack for many, many applications. It is highly scalable, easy to implement and quite verbose in the information that it provides. However, it may not be ideally suited for all use cases. Be cognizant of what you are looking to do and remember that you don't always need to use a chainsaw to slice bread.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used across multiple areas as part of an enterprise monitoring platform. It is being used to provide insights into application performance and end user experience. Dynatrace is being used to support monitoring on legacy, PaaS and cloud applications covering multiple technology stacks. It provides insights into applications and allows for service mapping and technology integrations.
  • Ease of Deployment
  • Real User Experience
  • User Access Management
  • API data extraction
Dynatrace is well suited across multiple technology stacks ranging from Solaris, Linux, Windows, OpenShift, GCP, AWS, Azure. It also is great at detecting legacy platforms that use obscure or older technologies and automatically identifying and instrumenting these applications. Implementing real user experience is a breeze as Dynatrace has the ability to auto inject on almost every platform & technology type.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace to monitor our complex application infrastructure. Its job is to monitor the baseline and alert us when there are deviations, and alert us with useful data-points so that our tech staff can attend to it. Being a technology company, this is at the heart of the operation. The tool is implemented and used mostly by the DevOps and Ops teams. The Development and QA groups are users of the tool as well. They use the tool extensively in their Dev activities, such as performance monitoring during development and testing. We also use it for error monitoring and comparing between builds in Dev.
  • Deployment - it's automatic
  • Application server identification / tagging - minimal human intervention
  • Crash analytics for mobile apps
  • Mobile app performance
Application infrastructure is rather complex; it is not feasible to monitor things manually. Performance problems costs are high and damages company reputation. Agile development - a large number of deployments into Prod.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Easy to Use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace for application performance monitoring throughout our IT organization and are even expanding into our stores. It gives insight into architecture and end to end flow of business operations. It baselines what normal is and alerts us when we deviate from that. It allows us to get a high level picture of where problems are occurring and drill down into pure paths to find the root cause.
  • APM
  • Alerting
  • Custom Metrics
  • API
Dynatrace is great for getting users a wealth of knowledge on areas that need to be monitored. It is great for giving comprehensive application performance management data. It would be less appropriate in areas where you just need a simple up down check. Because of the plan to charge for custom metrics, it is not as well suited to use it for that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

AppMon to Dynatrace

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used to measure and monitor our application performance and our customer's experience. Dynatrace helps us to identify issues in our environment and get to a root cause quickly. We rely on the Dynatrace AI to evaluate large amounts of data from our complex environment and provides good insight at a glance.
  • Root cause analysis with AI.
  • Ease of configuration with API's.
  • Support for legacy technologies that AppMon currently supports.
  • Better dashboarding capabilities.
When looking to implement large scale complex systems. Dynatrace OneAgent easily enables this without changing code. When starting something new there may be other solutions that are more cost-effective when you can consider APM as part of your initial design.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Dynatrace to monitor our front end and back end infrastructure as well as digital performance monitoring. We are rolling it out across the organization and helping to onboard departments within the company to use the tool. Dynatrace helps us to provide support to the other development teams in helping them identify the root cause of issues as well as alerting on performance issues so they can be resolved quickly. Dynatrace allows us to manage a large environment with a small team because the product is very robust.
  • The customer support is the best I've ever experienced. They actually listen and make changes as we recommend them.
  • The self-discovery abilities of the one agent allows mapping of the environment without manual effort.
  • Custom metrics pricing.
  • Using dem units on synthetic actions.
Dynatrace is well suited for managing large or small organizations with small teams.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Mighty powerful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace supports operations at the moment. Recently we have been implementing RUM to help with troubleshooting of user sessions. Session replay and user information has been very helpful. We are trying to get started with log analytics and metrics. Dynatrace has made it easier to visualize operational status of internal and AWS infrastructure. It helped with the mobile app monitoring for user session performance troubleshooting. We are planning to get started with CI/CD automation and planning to use Dynatrace events to help with problem resolution and help desk supports.
  • Automated data collection and centralized configuration.
  • Visualizing the data is easy and powerful.
  • Dynatrace data and its abilities are not covered in depth enough in documentation.
  • Web UI is overwhelming as all the data can be reached in many different ways.
The server monitoring from operations is great. Automated performance monitoring and end to end performance capture and connecting them has been fantastic. Troubleshooting and alerting is very nice. UI is overwhelming for beginners that makes adoption difficult for developers and business users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used by one vertical within the IT organization. The vertical includes manufacturing, This is a new expansion to most of the teams but we are rolling this out to more of our company as we prove it's value to the organization as a whole. Feedback has been very good so far!
  • Problem detection.
  • Real user monitoring.
  • Pricing is being outpaced by competitors.
  • Legacy system support (AS400 Support).
Our company really needed some type of solution for providing monitoring into the AS400. This is a system that no one seems to have visibility into so far. This would set Dynatrace apart from the rest even more. I really wish they would integrate with this staple of a platform in the manufacturing industry.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Dynatrace is great!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace was at first used with some application teams of the bank. We currently use it to enhance the support of all applications across the bank (whole organization). It helps to find out the pain points from application development or production issues. They also get performance metrics for the applications.
  • Technology details on each host.
  • Detailed host analysis.
  • Reports.
  • Instrumentation downtime.
We had resolved issues on some major incidents from some application teams. While the developers and support group could not find the root cause, we were involved to drill down to the problem details to the code level. One example we found was that the root cause of the issue is from vendor packages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace currently is being used in all of engineering. Dynatrace makes monitoring infrastructure, services, and applications a breeze.
  • Easy to use
  • Promotes productivity
  • Requires you to customize it with tagging to get best results.
Dynatrace is great for cloud monitoring and services in kubernetes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Dynatrace: A solid choice

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department is using Dynatrace for Application Performance Monitoring.
  • Identifies performance issues
  • Displays problems in a clear manner
  • Button label terminology
  • UI could be more intuitive
I believe Dynatrace is well suited to show granular detail of the issues that are occurring to help rectify performance issues with enterprise applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace to monitor our applications and infrastructure, both on-premises and in the cloud. Dynatrace helps us to make sure all systems are stable and operating properly.
  • User interface
  • CPU and memory monitoring
  • Some advanced features are not well documented
  • Google cloud support
Dynatrace is well suited for monitoring legacy monolithic apps as well as microservices-based architectures. Dynatrace works really well out-of-the-box, but it needs a lot of customization to work properly for some more advanced setups. Training is available, but not clear at times for people who are looking for more advanced topics.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Dynatrace is being used by multiple lines of business to provide telemetry, monitoring, and alerting for internal applications.
  • Ability to gather telemetry for a multitude of technologies
  • Smartly organizing data in its user interface
  • Not all AppMon functionality has been ported over to new product, causing confusion
  • API is still feature incomplete
Dynatrace is well suited for applications with appropriate volume and continuous services. Not suited for batch-style operations and other complex, disjointed scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Dynatrace Experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace has been implemented across our enterprise. Dynatrace has provided the end-to-end visibility we've needed to quickly identify and address issues within our organization.
  • Ease of installation
  • Ease of use
  • UI changes for the host monitoring section to exclude some of the metrics
Depending on the technology, Dynatrace may not be the best possible solution. Yet for our use case, it has been well instrumented and provides a great deal of insight into our applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used by our whole organization in different capacities. It's being used primarily for operations and production management. We're looking to expand it into our development and QA environments and for pre-production workflows. Primarily we're addressing uptime, stability, and availability questions. One of Dynatrace's critical value propositions for us is end-to-end traceability. We are looking to use it to help understand customer experience and support business intelligence problems.
  • Automatic instrumentation
  • User enablement
  • Pricing
  • Mainframe WAS/Liberty
Dynatrace is good for production monitoring, performance testing, and capacity management. Dynatrace is not currently great at business analytics, mobile monitoring, mainframe, or development workflows.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (330)
9.1
Database monitoring (295)
8.6
Threshold alerts (327)
9.1
Predictive capabilities (291)
8.1
Application performance management console (317)
8.8
Collaboration tools (248)
6.8
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (294)
8.4
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (303)
8.3
Virtualization monitoring (284)
8.2
Server availability and performance monitoring (312)
9.0
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (299)
8.8
IT Asset Discovery (242)
7.8

About Dynatrace

Dynatrace is an AI-centered APM scaled for enterprises and with individual transaction-level monitoring capabilities. Dynatrace can monitor cloud, on-premise, and hybrid applications and SaaS systems with a topology visualization across your environment. The vendor emphasizes the impact of the AI, Davis, for continual APM self-learning and predictive analytics. Dynatrace also distinguishes between impactful anomalies and insignificant deviations to prevent notification flooding. When it does notify systems administrators, it provides root cause diagnostics to enable rapid issue resolution. Dynatrace offers rapid deployment and auto-dependencies tracking for easy installation and use.

Dynatrace Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No