Ektron (Discontinued) Reviews

47 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Ayman Idrees | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Ektron CMS : An Eye on the Future

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We intend to renew our license with Ektron because we are currently satisfied with Ektron's features and have made a significant investment in deploying and integrating it with our systems. Also, Ektron has made a strong commitment to developing it's CMS product and in upgrading between version 8.0 to 8.5 we have attained many additional features and added stability and bugfixes. Ektron's roadmap also includes exciting new functionality on all fronts including Workarea GUI, Search services and Framework API.
Read Ayman Idrees's full review
Bart Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Ektron system serves non-profit

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
After eight years of use, the Ektron system still works well for our organization. The issues noted elsewhere in this review have been manageable, so-far. In any decision to switch to a different CMS, we would need to factor in the significant cost of conversion of multiple websites, and the re-integration with e-commerce systems. Ektron has rewarded our loyalty by keeping licensing renewal costs very low in comparison to other systems.
Read Bart Johnson's full review
Jonathan Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2014

Ektron - Reliable WCM (.NET) Platform for Multiple Industry Verticals

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
As a partner and system integrator, we will continue to recommend that our customers renew their use of the Ektron CMS product. I would recommend that any customer/organization that has invested in software/services to create a CMS website remain on that platform for a minimum of 3 years so that the can effectively monitor/evaluate their ROI, the CMS product road-map; and, as they mature with their use of the CMS overtime, then begin looking to see what additional features that they need (and why). Switching to a new CMS product is not one to be taken lightly; but, typically, if it's going to be done, it tends to be at times when (1) a redesign is needed (2) your hosting contract is up for renewal.
Read Jonathan Graham's full review
Chris Osterhout | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2014

An Expert Review of the Ektron Content Management System

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We think of Ektron as an investment and just like any investment, the longer you have it, the more ROI you receive (hopefully). We have been using Ektron since the CMS 300 days and have successfully upgraded to every version of the product since. Our content team is trained and comfortable with the product and we don't have any ambitions to change anytime soon.
Read Chris Osterhout's full review
Patrick Poer | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2014

Ektron - Creating value with integration and implementation

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We will continue to service the product and our clients that have Ektron for the foreseeable. Ektron has established a firm place in the market and can drive tremendous value over the long term when it's properly fit and implemented into an organization. Ektron is investing in it's API and user interface and integration capabilities and we believe it will continue to be competitive as the market grows and matures.
Read Patrick Poer's full review
Chris Chodnicki | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2014

Ektron in a crowded WCM field of competitors - where do you stand out?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
Most WCM implementations can be expensive to replace especially if they have customizations and integration. They become embedded at times within the organization. We find that evaluations occur when the organizations go through a re-structuring or re-design. Typically this occurs every 2-3 years. Cost, feature sets and ease of implementation will factor into staying with Ektron. Other factors are the company health, support structure and direct relationship.
Read Chris Chodnicki's full review
Travis Cotton | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2014

Ektron CMS400 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Given the opportunity to use the product again I most certainly would. I was very comfortable with the architecture and felt the product was a good fit.
Read Travis Cotton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2015

Moving wcm forward for local gov

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We've integrated Ektron into both our intranet and internet. Unless theres some massive issues which come across in our current version, or future versions, we'll be sticking with Ektron for a while.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2015

Ektron CMS - Solid potential in a ride that might be a bit bumpy for the uninitiated.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
Since I work on the implementation side of things, and do not directly own licensing for Ektron CMS, I have to base this rating off of how I think it will be received or presented to customers looking to start a new site deployment. I try to remain CMS agnostic, though my specialty is with the .NET and Microsoft stack. Because of the experience I have working with Ektron, I tend to be more forgiving with the shortcomings as I am familiar with how to work around them or past them from experience. Being familiar with the community available also helps, as you become familiar with the best approaches to find solutions to your issues. Each product has it's ups and downs and all of them are only going to be as good as the company or development team implementing them can make them. This is EXTREMELY important to remember when choosing a CMS, as it can make or break your expensive investment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2014

Ektron CMS is good.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
For a robust CMS, Ektron is pretty user friendly. Once you are familiar with the Administrative backend, you can view the content, dms (pdf, word, xls, images) objects, users groups, reports and configuration setting. Essentially, you can personalize and control the content you want to present and the audience you want to present it to. Ektron also works with a number of AMS' - so you can customize any products and events you would like to display.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2014

Ektron, good for .NET sites... with a little performance tag on it

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
It has a good .NET integration level, and Web Services availability makes it a good choice for smaller sites that are not very dynamic but still need content management features. Based on future releases descriptions, it will keep improving its MVC integration, which we expect will make Ekton performance improve.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2014

Web Developer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
It has become a little pricey these days to renew the licenses.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (5)
8.5
API (5)
5.6
Internationalization / multi-language (5)
5.8
WYSIWYG editor (7)
5.9
Code quality / cleanliness (7)
5.6
Admin section (7)
5.3
Page templates (4)
4.6
Library of website themes (2)
3.9
Mobile optimization / responsive design (6)
3.8
Publishing workflow (7)
6.3
Form generator (5)
6.8
Content taxonomy (6)
5.8
SEO support (6)
5.3
Bulk management (5)
5.0
Availability / breadth of extensions (5)
5.6
Community / comment management (5)
6.0

About Ektron (Discontinued)

Ektron was a Web Content Management System from Ektron+Episersver (Ektron was retained as a brand following the merger). The product is no longer offered to new clients, and is being sunset, with previous Ektron users migrating to the Episerver platform. Ektron was originally focused on mid-market accounts but expanded to serve enterprises as well. The product had a very comprehensive set of connectors to CRMs (e.g. Salesforce) and web analytics products (e.g.Google, Webtrends). It was built on a .NET platform. Its WYSIWYG, drag and drop content editor favored a less technical approach; the system supported the creation of lists, content, forms and multimedia in pages via its simplified interface. Extron had multichannel delivery, so content was mobile-accessible and viewable on many device types. Ektron was offered via a perpetual or a subscription model, and could be deployed on premises or from the Ektron Managed Cloud. Cost of implementation varied.
Categories:  Content Management

Ektron (Discontinued) Integrations

Adobe Analytics, Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Webtrends Analytics, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM)

Ektron (Discontinued) Competitors

Amaxus, Crownpeak DXM, Elcom Platform, OpenText WEM, Oracle WebCenter Sites, Sitecore Web Content Management, Ingeniux CMS, HCL Digital Experience (formerly IBM WebSphere Portal & Web Content Manager)

Ektron (Discontinued) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No