EMS Software Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
366 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (126-150 of 158)

No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software is used for scheduling of spaces within a performing arts center. We use it to schedule rooms for performances, conferences, receptions, dinners, etc. It is used by the Operations department, Front of House, Technical production and Building and Facilities staff. It is also used by the programming department to book artists for the venue. We also use the software to collect labor and performance cost and invoicing after events.
  • Room scheduling
  • Flexibility in user interfaces
  • Multiple booking in one room - a must for performing arts programming
  • Customizable report creation by the end user - VERY INFLEXIBLE
  • 3-day view to add to the 1 and 7. 3 days is a performance period and again, important for performing arts programming.
I feel it is well suited for a conference center, classroom settings, or settings where the room is either booked or not. The immediate check out of a room, and users booking their own spaces or making requests are great features. In the case of performing arts where the bookings are fluid it is not as flexible to the needs of this industry.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 03, 2018

Can’t Beat EMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the University of Wisconsin it is being used by multiple departments but not everyone (School of Business, Intercollegiate Athletics, Student Unions, Student Activity Center, School of Education). These groups (including us) mainly use this this system for event reservations. Academic scheduling is done through another software. In the Division of Recreational Sports we use the system to schedule all of our facilities (indoor and outdoor) for basic usage, internal programs (intramurals, fitness), academic classes that take place in the gyms along with facility rentals. We use the Web application, invoicing is done through the system and we use the API for specific parts of our organization's website for schedules (building hours, todays schedule of group fitness classes, etc). EMS helps us stay organized and helps us maximize the use of our spaces. It takes away a lot of human error with scheduling and invoicing.
  • Reporting. EMS has amazing report features. You can get data and reports on almost everything. Data driven decisions is huge for our organization and EMS helps us with gather data in a couple of clicks.
  • Reservations: EMS is great for stopping the human error with reservations / contracting / invoicing. There are many tools that can be used to prevent booking space outside of building hours or auto calculating rental pricing, etc.
  • EMS is always growing and expanding. They keep adding groups into their software for integrations. HVAC for example. Many groups are starting to implement this integration because the return on investment can be as little as 1 year.
  • It would be nice to add multiple people on a support ticket. Would love to be able to have our IT person and myself on work tickets as some areas are IT areas that need the adjustment and other areas pertain to my admin side and not the IT side.
  • The integration and all of the different add ones. Understanding which ones work the best for you but understanding the pricing for each one.
I have been talking with a colleague at another university about EMS. They do not use it, and when asked what is the number one reason to have it, I told him that the reporting is the number one reason to use it. I know the software they are using and our industry (intramural / recreational sports / wellbeing on campus). I explained to him how I can put together budgets for the upcoming year or adjust budgets in less than 5 minutes with the reporting EMS has. I can also put together information for our leadership team on attendance, space usage in less than 5 minutes when they start talking to potential sponsors or donors for projects. It is hard to find that in any other software. EMS has such robust reporting features. No group can match it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 02, 2018

Helpful and easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is being used by our Event Services department. It is being used to book space, a/v equipment, catering, and other equipment and services for multiple rooms across a couple different buildings. It helps us manage and reserve space and the other things our clients need to have successful events.
  • It makes it really easy to get started with reservations via a couple different methods. Using the book, the wizard, or starting with the client group are just a few ways you can get started depending on what you’re trying to do.
  • The software has tools called wizards which help you copy detailed events or make changes to a variety of bookings. This helps save time by not having to input the same complicated information for events that repeat every year.
  • The visual representation of bookings is very helpful. You can easily see and modify set up and event times, as well as see information about the event at a glance. This helps make new bookings easier and view the building at a glance when you’re working with operations.
  • The printed confirmations that we send clients could be prettier and easier for clients to read. Sometimes they have a hard time understanding exactly what they’re looking at.
  • It would be nice if we could set certain data to pull in automatically at the client group level, like reservation source.
  • I would like to be able to automatically email attachments that are specific to rooms, not the whole reservation.
EMS is well suited for scheduling rooms that are being used for events. We use it in a university setting, for scheduling rooms used by student groups, departments, and external clients. We don’t use it for booking internal drop down office space because we don't like having to enter reservation information every time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 19, 2018

New, but I like it

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by the entire college for events and room scheduling; specifically used through the registrar's office for class scheduling purposes.
  • Easy to view details of room assignments (class size etc.)
  • No double bookings (unless notified so you can fix)
  • Easy to integrate
  • Coding conflicts, shared meeting times
  • Communication for conflicts/academic bumps
  • Non-rolling
Integration between a student system and EMS for room scheduling purposes. While it is a long process to weed out room conflicts, because these are not automatic through EMS, it is nice to have the 'sync' feature that can update immediately.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The campus uses it to schedule academic classes for each semester and each campus. We use it to reserve event spaces throughout campus and schedule any upcoming construction blocks. Our facilities uses it for room usage to schedule setup and cleaning staff based on the needs of the campus. Food and Beverage is separately managed at this time.
  • EMS is very user friendly.
  • The system talks with our HR system so we don't have to input everything manually.
  • EMS is always open to new ideas and tries to fix existing issues.
  • Collect payments.
  • EMS could talk to an outside catering company.
  • Invoicing isn't the greatest.
It works well for our campus with the overall room scheduling and lets us know when there are conflicts. For us, the biggest issue is not being able to collect credit cards, cash, check etc....so we have to use an internal process.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently EMS is being used globally at my account. We use EMS for space management, video conferencing, catering and audio visual equipment inventory.
  • Conference space management
  • End user experience
  • Catering management
  • Room utilization report with more extensive details and the ability to go by business days and hours
  • More intuitive catering options for example we have seasonal menus, it would be nice to have a date feature for when menu items are available.
Overall I like the product, the visitor management piece needs to be enhanced. Not all visitors go to a conference room.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 05, 2018

Happy customer!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is used in our student center on campus. Students, faculty, and staff are able to view spaces and book rooms in the building on their own. This saves me a lot of time from inputting repetitive info. I use EMS to communicate with all of our service providers as well and producing quality data.
  • Room statistics. I use this a lot when I have to prove a case, or ask for more facility money.
  • Set up worksheet. This can be manipulated for our services providers to only see the info that pertains to them based on categories.
  • Web App - Our users are able to do everything themselves anywhere, anytime for booking rooms and adding set up details. Including making changes/edits at a later on date!
  • At my university I am struggling to get the push notifications to work - I have a feeling it is some setup with the firewall and our IT people.
  • This past year we definitely felt the company changes - there was a struggle with the customer service aspect, after attending the conference, I really got the impression that this is something they are going to work on and with Accruent/EMS.
  • It would be nice if there was a diagram system within EMS instead of having to use an outside one like Social Tables.
Our campus uses Ad Astra for academic scheduling. By far, I hear that EMS is MUCH easier to navigate when reserving space in our building versus a room somewhere else on campus.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS to schedule event spaces in the Student Union, our Housing facilities and our School of Continuing Education. We also use it to invoice/bill for Marketing pieces and assign marketing locations. In addition, we give the ability for student organizations to get permission to set up food sale fundraisers.
  • Event Details
  • Flexibility
  • Set up Options
  • More in-depth set-up of user security access
  • Support for users who are not up on latest EMS Tech
  • Allowing more than 50 characters on a client group's name
EMS has the flexibility and features to handle a variety of event needs. If you have multiple scheduling needs that include classes and events, this software is for you. It also has the ability to create various resource needs. The software really can do almost anything that you need. It also has different levels of use so you are not paying for more than what you need.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is being used in multiple operations on campus all managing space and physical resources in different ways. EMS allow us to provide a flexible option for managing individual operations on a shared license to reduce costs.
  • Provides communication tools that help with customer emails and workflows within an operation.
  • There are many wizards and tools that help make processes very simple and easy.
  • The product is very flexible and allows for multiple use cases.
  • There are always updates to the software and they are continually working to improve the product.
  • Strategic customer training and support could be better offered and made more accessible
  • Customer support has room for improvement and there is usually a lot of back and forth to get a question answered.
  • The Desktop Client looks very dated and could be modernized and easy to navigate.
EMS is a great resource for higher education groups that offer meeting space to known and unknown populations. In our application, we use EMS to manage regular conference spaces that require approval processes and contracts as well as walk up reservations for study spaces that have no charge associated. EMS however can be overkill for some groups that need only simple bookings.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 03, 2018

Great Product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using EMS for booking room reservations on campus and booking other events on campus as well. That is the extent, but we are preparing to use EMS for academic scheduling purposes.

  • Collect room usage information in one space.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Evaluate and analyze room usage to optimize scheduling in specific places.
  • Data analytics. We would love to see the software help us to make decisions about our academic scheduling needs.
  • Workflow. [Would like] oversight in how to best develop a process for academic scheduling depending on specific qualities of an institution? If the institution is set up like this, then this approach typically works best for developing a schedule.
  • Unsure at this point because I am quite new to EMS.
EMS is well-suited to help with scheduling when you know what sort of schedule you would like to offer. The software is less appropriate for use in determining what that schedule should look like.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 03, 2018

Happy Long Term Customer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS for all room scheduling, all AV scheduling, all setup, security, housekeeping and other details for all events and classes at our organization. It solves efficiency issues and reporting issues. I am very happy with the product, specifically the end user experience and the reports.
  • Billing reports
  • Statistics
  • Scheduling
  • Staffing schedule
  • We would like to see room utilization statistics by the day of the week for a certain period of time, example all Mondays from August to December
I think EMS translates well to all scheduling needs
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 02, 2018

EMS Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is used by my office to manage 4500 event and meeting bookings a year. It assists us in managing the organization of campus-wide reservations, invoicing, building opening/closing schedules, as well as inventory. The technical support for EMS has always been readily available and we cannot imagine using another software to plan events.
  • It can document your inventory, letting event planners know what resources they have at their disposal for specific meeting and event rooms.
  • EMS can also track invoicing, which can lead to generating revenue reports that help with showcasing what your unit's workload.
  • I would like to see a way of being able to eliminate users that have not logged in/may not be employed by/attending the university anymore.
  • Would like to know what other programs EMS can "speak to" (including 25 Live, Crestron, etc)
I would recommend using EMS Software when your campus has more than 1 space to manage. Having campus-wide buy-in is also crucial, especially if there are other reservation entities on campus. If your bookings require more detail than the basic furnishings, I would also recommend using EMS especially if there are other campus entities your office works with to coordinate events. This allows you to document everything about the event, including campus partner commitments to ensuring the event runs smoothly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 02, 2018

A great tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several instances of EMS are being used across the university. We use it to schedule events, courses, and final exams. It gives us the ability to monitor and control use of space on campus.
  • EMS provides tools to see the big pictures of space and its use.
  • EMS also provides a useful level of detail on events and courses.
  • EMS provides tools to control permissions to view, add, edit, or delete events and courses.
  • EMS improves the schedule building process by providing a way for units to communicate changes and details of a term schedule electronically.
  • The CPI needs to be more user-friendly and more appealing for non-technical end users.
Implementing EMS not only streamlines the management of space on a campus, the process also prompts essential conversations about priorities of usage, location of responsibilities, and definition of areas of management.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 02, 2018

First-time User

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using EMS to book resources within the University.
  • Resource management.
  • Conferencing booking.
  • Lack of intuitive reports.
  • Integrating with other applications such as Campus Labs.
  • Creating a Mac desktop. We have a lot of Mac users.
  • More robust Mobile application.
It has been working well in creating reservations unfortunately the interface is not very intuitive and ramping up new users is a challenge.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently the University of Florida is utilizing EMS for their event scheduling. We have 4 departments currently using it, with plans to add on more of the University as we progress. In the near future, we are consolidating these 4 instances while bringing on the Registrar's office as well. We plan on using external software for academic room scheduling, and then populating that data into our EMS.
  • I think that EMS performs automated user management pretty well. There have been hiccups, but it is mostly because of inconsistent security role or data entry on our side of things
  • I believe that for end users, the EMS Web App is extremely user friendly, and the integration to the EMS desktop application for system admins is very seamless.
  • We are not completely up to date with the latest released updates, so I can't say that these are not fixed. Response time when creating a reservation on the desktop application is a bit over the top.
  • Again, this might have been resolved in a latest update, but I have found issues in creating automated reports, and getting them to work as intended. For example when creating a weekly automated report, the frequency seems to be a bit confusing on what you need to select.
I believe that EMS is well suited for student groups looking to host an event. They can find the link to the web application, and easily see what space would fit them best, which ones are available and at what time, and track the status of their request.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS across the global organization to book meeting rooms, schedule VC meetings, manage catering/resources and equipment, track room utilization. In addition we use it for BEOs, room configuration/setup types and tracking. Lastly, we use EMS integrated with Outlook and TMS for our VC meetings.
  • Room Utilization
  • BEOs
  • Resource Bookings/management
  • Integration with Outlook
  • More flexibility with configurations/templates
  • More personalization/flexibility with reporting and queries
Well suited for simple meetings, meetings with resources and non-complex/rescheduled meetings.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 01, 2018

EMS works for us!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is used by our department (conference center) to book venue space and resources. It is a robust, intuitive software that allows us to view calendars, equipment inventory, run reports, and schedule/book reservations. We are greatly dependent on EMS to run our operations efficiently.
  • Easy to navigate/intuitive
  • User-friendly interface
  • Customizable reports
  • Lag time
  • Being able to change/update multiple details simultaneously
  • Simplification needed for some views
  • Being able to view last opened reservations even after sign out
  • Being able to “favorite” reservations, personalized calendar of “favorite” reservations
Useful for booking venue space
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Good for academic scheduling, conference and event management, resource management, and billing.
  • Academic scheduling
  • Optimzing
  • Resource scheduling
  • Billing
  • Reports
  • Resource management
  • Canned reports — not much room for improvements
  • A “clunky" Windows-based system that needs a major overhaul
  • Almost NO app support
  • No real event management features — for an event management software — EMS should be renamed to RMS - Resource Management ...
Well integrated software package that manages resources
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 04, 2018

New user

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Event scheduling and course class room scheduling.
  • Class room scheduling is very helpful. The optimizer is great for maximizing class space
  • Event management side is great for room management. Our campus life area utilize EMS to schedule rooms for student orgs.
  • Our current edition 43.0 does not allow us to have multiple building options. This would be helpful. As of now we have to use views or areas.
EMS works well for classroom scheduling. The final exam scheduling is not as smooth. Our office uses an outside software for the final exam schedule.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 03, 2018

EMS review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is currently used across the entire university campus. Currently all the spaces on campus are built into EMS, I am working on getting people in those departments to be on board with using EMS and having their spaces be reservable through the web app for students and departments.
  • Scheduling
  • Reporting
  • Tracking edits
  • UDF could continue to be developed in terms of the dependency questions. I would like a question to be able to be populated based on the answer to a dependent questions
  • Categories to be required
EMS is great for keeping track of things and for sharing space.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 03, 2018

New EMS User Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software will be used across the whole organization for events, and academic classes. We will import courses into EMS and our event staff will create events in EMS as well. Our service departments will utilize it as well.
  • Organize resources
  • Provide detailed info on facilities
  • Allow rules and notifications
  • Provide easy access to diagrams for service departments
  • Way to place company forms on EMS and to print / send to clients
Great product to streamline room scheduling process. But needs options to customize more functions for messages.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use EMS in the Dept. of Athletics, PE and Recreation at MIT (DAPER).

It is also used for Campus Activities and a few other departments.

DAPER uses EMS to schedule Intercollegiate Athletics, PE Classes, Intramurals, Club Sports, Institute Events and recreational use. We also rent space to non-MIT users for large events.
  • Ease of use. Many reports. Complex reservations with billing and invoicing
  • The Web App is used by student groups and other Departments to request space for both casual use and large events.
  • We use the Academic Import Utility for both classes and Intercollegiate contests and practices.
  • We recently got an upgrade, but now the system seems to have slowed down and is sometimes unresponsive.
  • Entering building hours and holidays for a year can be time consuming.
  • I would like to be able to edit text within the Comments section.

EMS can be used for casual users or for complex rental events. At this point, we are not using it for any "automatic" reservations.

The wide variety of available reports is very helpful for our staff.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 03, 2018

Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is being used across the university. I specifically use it in my department for facility reservations/management and billing. The system helps in providing weekly information on events scheduled in our 180,000 square feet facility.
  • Event scheduling
  • Invoicing & billing
  • Room cards
  • Can’t think of anything at the moment
  • Integration with G suite which I understand EMS is currently addressing
Well suited to manage reservations and multiple spaces. It is also helpful in managing resources associated with facility spaces.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 02, 2018

EMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS in our Event Planning Office within the Student Engagement & Campus Life Department. We are looking at other Departments using EMS as well.
  • I am particularly happy with the overall system.
  • Reminders and notifications work great!
  • When you have many different events happening on a large campus it’s hard to keep up with everything so the reminders and notifications work great to keep things in order and on track.
  • It would be great to have have more options available for Invoicing and billing options.
  • It would be great to have the option to have more than 2 emails listed for end users.
It’s well suited for event planning and most aspects of that.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 02, 2018

Satisfied

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the campus administrator for EMS. I oversee all event scheduling, consult on academic scheduling, as well as coordinate with IT on upgrades, implementation, client installs, and troubleshooting.
  • Response time by EMS support staff
  • Greatly reduced double bookings
  • One stop shop for all campus event needs, resource allocation, and billing
  • Numerous “glitches” lately
  • Some support staff needs additional training
  • Monthly patches that require attention and time to implement
EMS is ideal for campus scheduling. It is most useful when buy-in is had across campus by all service providers. Limited integration with other software systems we have on campus.
Read this authenticated review

About EMS Software

EMS Software is an enterprise space management, event, class and resource scheduling application acquired and now supported by Accruent in June 2018.

EMS Software Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No