TrustRadius
Entrinsik Informer is a web-based Reporting and Business Intelligence (BI) application. It helps organizations transform real-time data into actionable information by delivering ad-hoc reporting, data analysis and interactive dashboards.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/nX/v6/JHQFTF3O54OS.jpegInformer, people are using and loving it without realizing they are using it.Entrinsik Informer is available for use by the entire organization while only a few power users from the main departments actually create their own queries. The product allows a single point for querying multiple systems and databases. The UI allows users not familiar with SQL query commands to easily create complex queries and compile results from multiple files to one output.,Allows the creation of custom fields using JavaScript to provide end users with data directly without the need to do post calculations or cleanup. Many times the results required need a calculation based on the data or a field that is not available for query so being able to code the data into the results helps end users run their reports on their schedule without having to work with a technician. The scheduling functionality allows different departments and users to plan ahead for their needs and either export or email the results. Scheduled reports comes in very handy when you need to export the data to third party companies or to a network location for batch processing. This allows us to provide current data with much more frequency. LiveExcel functionality gives you the ability to connect your query to Microsoft Excel so users do not need to log into the product to run the results. This also allows the creation of VBA Macros to process the data and provide users with the final product on demand.,The product has had its growing pains as newer versions have come out. The transfer of old queries to the newer systems has caused some duplication of mapped files or fields and they have not come up with a tool yet to help merge these duplication. Wish they had better internal reporting so I could easily find the different reports that are using links and the fields they are linking with. I have noticed, being an admin, that the more connections and reports that are available the slower the system becomes when opening it. It would be nice to have nothing come up first and then show more once I drill into the area I want.,8,Datatel Query Builder,8,8Entrinsik Informer: Higher Ed InstitutionEntrinsik Informer can be utilized by anyone with granted access at our institution. Access is granted when a specific need is expressed. At our institution, Enrinsik Informer serves to provide quick, detailed reports as it relates to our customer, or student, base. Additionally, users can create individual reports should our employer not already have one created to fit their specific need. I have yet to generate a report from scratch just yet, but with assistance from our IT department, who oversees the software, I have heard that it is pretty simple to do and allows users to get very specific with their queries.,Informer provides detailed, in-depth reports. Reports can be exported and manipulated for individual use through Excel. Allows organization/institution to work together and in a streamlined method. No need to continuously create the same report for different divisions.,Personally, I need continued practice with Informer to feel 100% confident when using it. Reports can take several steps to complete, can be a little complicated should you use it infrequently.,9Drowning in Ad-Hoc Reports? Get Entrinsik Informer!We use Entrinsik Informer as our reporting tool for our student information system. Any employee may request to be a user for Informer, but we really only have a select group of employees that use it regularly (including myself). We migrated to Informer due to Datatel (now Ellucian) eliminating Query Builder for reporting. Now that we have Informer, it is easier for end-users to create their own reports, which reduces the need to involve IT and thus the end-users get the data they need in a more timely manner.,Informer is pretty user-friendly. When teaching other employees how to use Informer, I typically don't have to repeat any steps or further explain how to do certain tasks because of how user-friendly it is. Reports in Informer are kept in a list that can be filtered by user, specific tags, or even by how recent the report was made or run. This makes it very quick and easy to find and run a specific report. Informer has many options for downloading the report output, including text (txt), comma separated values (csv), and even PDF.,There are a lot of reports that we have in Informer that say they have never been run, even though I know they have been run. So that makes it really difficult to determine which reports can be deleted to keep a tidy report list. The only other complaint I have about Informer is that there doesn't seem to be a properly detailed error code/message when the student information system can't be accessed. For example, I am currently trying to move Informer to its own standalone server and I get an error message saying that our license isn't valid. Informer Support sent a new license, which prompted the same message, and the only explanation they have given me is that Informer can't reach the student information system. I would think that if that were the case, the error message would say that instead of an invalid license.,9,,Dean Evans and Associates Event Management Software, Synoptix,7,9Great Product and Awesome Support!Simply and as succinctly as I can possibly make it - Informer is a great product that produces superior results right out of the box. It is a product we depend on every single day in our entire organization and it always produces great results and truly worth every last cent of investment. The enhancements over the years have taken an already great product and truly made it better and the company is always listening to their customers to better the product and add features that truly enhance the customer experience. We originally purchased Informer to report from a single U2 Data source, but it is now reporting from multiple data sources and solving more analytical problems than the simple reporting we originally purchased it to solve.,The ability to schedule using various methods of delivery or on-demand reporting to users in a secure way - Giving users access to the data source and selection and parameters that return what they need to see, but nothing more. The ability to report and link on multiple data sources and types. This makes it far easier for use to link SQL Data with U2 Data and provide functional reporting and analytics without having to create a warehouse in between. Support and Enhancements. They are always providing great things and the releases are far more stable than most other software that is released.,That is pretty difficult as we built the ROI on Informer solving a specific set of roles in the company. It has far exceeded the initial and current specifications, so we couldn't be happier. If I had to pick one thing, it would be to have employees geared to a specific industry for deployment and integration, but they have done a far better job than the others playing in the same ballpark.,10,,10,Initial ROI was met by having a reporting system that didn't take a huge chunk of resources from the system or Information Technology. The ability to schedule parameterized reports that go out to much of our staff on a weekly and monthly basis. Over time, we found more creative ways to utilize some of the live excel aspects of reporting to build analytical and graphical based reporting and forecasting. The ability to utilize native U2 commands, lists made it easier to port existing reporting and knowledge.,8,10Business Intelligence and ROI come naturally with Entrinsik Informer.The Informer product is used in a variety of ways across our whole university. The reports and dashboards provide up to date information in an easy to digest format. While a majority of the report and dashboard construction is housed in the Office of Systems Analysis, our users actively use and create reports to help with their operational and/or strategic decisions. From the ad hoc reports, to the scheduled reports to the automated processes, Informer is synonymous with efficiency and productivity on our campus.,Initially, Informer was chosen primarily because of how it handled our multi-valued database structure for our student information system. Since then it has expanded to a support a slew of database platforms. Our institution uses informer for internal and Federal reporting as well as a host of other data requests that come to our institution. Informer quietly and seamlessly drives several Business Intelligence initiative on our campus. The solutions provided range from supplying our online employee directory with accurate information to aiding the Financial Aid office in monitoring and projecting financial budgets.,Informer has room to grow in the dashboard delivered. While helpful and visually pleasing, they are not as robust as some of the other solutions that are more focused on the dashboards. The API leaves the opening for well-resourced organizations to enhance this area on their own. We make it a point to show Informer as a list generator and not a fully fleshed out report writer. There is room to grow here as well. It just so happens our users are much more used to extracting the data than generating a publishable report directly out of the Informer product. Over the years, Informer has expanded its capability to meet all of the needs initially. Some of the things I initially saw as weaknesses was because it didn't fit into the vision Entrinsik had set for its product.,10,,10,3,8,Creating selection criteria for each report is very logical and easy to follow. The UI makes the process very easy to handle the potentially complex nature of the data requests. Adding fields of data to the reports are a breeze. The drag and drop UI make the composition very quick and easy. The flexible nature of the calculated columns vastly extends the power of the report.,Informer won't let you tell it to do something it can't. It won't let you query against a field it can't see, etc. This can be confusing for some users, but I'm not sure how Entrinsik could improve it. Informer can support complex custom functions, and unless you are very adept at writing these functions, they can come across as difficult.,No,10,7
Windows, Linux, Mac
Entrinsik Informer
83 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Entrinsik Informer Reviews

Entrinsik Informer
83 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 76 of 83 Entrinsik Informer ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 76)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 31, 2017

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer, people are using and loving it without realizing they are using it."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It makes creating queries very easy for end users so not only research or technicians can do it. The availability for creating Live reports that are accessible via Excel on the network has given many of our users the ability to get the information they need in a format they can use without needing someone to translate the raw data.
Read Michael Harlow's full review
October 11, 2016

Review: "Entrinsik Informer: Higher Ed Institution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Entrinsik Informer is very well-suited for generating specific data. Reports can be created on just about any query. The software has been very helpful at my institution, where different reports can either be created for one specific purpose, or shared with other users and departments, depending on the need.

Although I have sporadic usage of Informer, I have yet to encounter a scenario when using it is less appropriate than other options.

Read this authenticated review
May 06, 2016

Review: "Drowning in Ad-Hoc Reports? Get Entrinsik Informer!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Entrinsik Informer is well suited for businesses that need the capability for end-users to create their own reports. It is easy to learn, and users have multiple output formats they could use, so IT would not need to be as involved. Setting up users is quick and simple, so end-users can be up and going in no time.
Read Brian Pollitt's full review
June 30, 2016

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Great Product and Awesome Support!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The documentation is simple and concise. Take the time to read it. No other vendor in this space provides a true try it before you buy it, and that is really huge in creating a partnership with these guys even before any checks are signed. They are not out to sell a lot of copies of software, they are out to keep you as a customer for the long-haul.
Read Todd Doster's full review
February 03, 2016

Review: "Business Intelligence and ROI come naturally with Entrinsik Informer."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Informer is uniquely positioned in my view to bridge the data gaps that exist in so many organizations. With Informer, we are able to join and return data from multiple servers and databases and even database platforms. Our institution, used to try to reign in these database islands, now we work to incorporate them into the larger system of data, and provide them with their missing information while simultaneously filling out the larger data picture on our campus.
Read Jeffrey Jones's full review
May 10, 2016

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer Entrinsik from a front-end user's perspective"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I see no scenarios where Entrinsik Informer (EI) is not an appropriate tool for those using Unidata; I have no experience with EI in SQL.
Read Anita Farris's full review
May 09, 2016

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Put information into the right hands with Informer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Informer is great when a lot of people need similar information from your CRM. Reports can be written where the end user fills in their specific request. It is as easy as fill in the blank!
Read Karen Brenneman's full review
November 11, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Entrinsik's Informer is a solid, versatile, and powerful reporting tool."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Informer is well suited for mass reporting of simple to complex data sets. Informer is less appropriate for specific employee, student, vendor, faculty, or record level validation. We use other case tools for specific file/field data verification. Granted, it would be simple to set up an Informer report for the instant ad hoc queries we use often in I.T.
Read Don Penrose's full review
November 11, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Excellent product--Excellent company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This product is well-suited with any type of underlying database but we were particularly impressed with its ability to be used with a multi-valued database (which our ERP is currently running off of).
Read Noelle Hurley's full review
September 30, 2015

Review: "Entrinsik Informer Makes Reporting Fast and Easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think you can use Entrinsik Informer in almost any scenario where you need data in any kind. It allows for a easy way for someone to write reports with out having to know complicated languages just to pull data. You can use the Dashboard module to make predictive models or see data in a different way where you no longer have to take it into a Microsoft Pivot table.
Read James Kastrantas's full review
January 07, 2016

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Hands down, Informer is the icing on the cake!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is very well suited for any college that uses Ellucian's Colleague software. It is written to work fluently with Colleague.
Read Lisa O'Dellick's full review
November 11, 2015

Review: "Entrinsik Informer Easy Reporting/Visualizations of Data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This product is well suited for reporting from Unidata databases especially for multivalued output. Entrinsik has been a pleasure to work with the product is easy to set up and any issues we have had have been addressed and resolved quickly.
Read Ron Darschewski's full review
July 08, 2015

Review: "Entrinsik Informer makes reporting life easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I found the Informer software relatively easy to setup. I would recommend taking time to evaluate what fields you want to "import" into the Informer mappings. Keeping the fields you import specific will help make sure that your end users are using the correct fields. It also helps to pay close attention to assigning validation tables to fields as you set things up.f

With Informer we are able to use it for most all of our reporting needs. There are a couple of instances when the report is complicated enough that Informer is not the best tool to use. Since the release of the dashboards we are able to move some of these more complicated reports to a dashboard but there are still a handful of reports that we use other tools for.

Overall we are very happy with Informer. It has absolutely changed our reporting capabilities for the better.
Read Kyle Rima's full review
August 19, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer, not just for Unidata"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Go to the conferences. They are great. You can learn a lot from other users. If you are a Unidata shop, I don't know of a better reporting tool. Security is a pain to set up but it can't be rushed nor forced. Make sure you do it right for audit's sake. Make sure the policy making body takes their time to set standards and guidelines to ensure security, access and standardization. This will help your systems administrators create the security and will make it easier to maintain. After using Informer for a year, do a comprehensive review to see what standards and processes should be modified to maximize security and efficiency.
Read Nakamura Dean's full review
August 19, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer: Data at Your Fingertips in Minutes"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

, because it drags down system performance on the production ERP. However, with the ability to have multiple data sources, you could have Informer connected to a data warehouse and use that data source for the larger, higher level reporting.
Read Theresa M. Frachalla's full review
August 19, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "How did we function without it?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Our Room Scheduling software has some canned reports that we are not able to replicate in Informer due to the inability to un-align columns of data for a multi-line report. Allowing the report to contain lengthy comments fields in a row under the basic data.
~~This is still true~~~jbowker 11/10/14
Read John Bowker's full review
July 08, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "It's a great product, we couldn't get along with out it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It works great for simple queries and reports, however there are a few occasions where it doesn't and we need to write a unidata program or use SPSS to accomplish the report the users is asking for. I wouldn't call this a limitation of Informer, I believe that this is simply the way the data is organized in Colleague and we need to find another way to accomplish the task.
Read Bryan Horstman's full review
September 30, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Entrinsk Informer for Public Safety"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I find Informer a great product that will compliment any public safety agency by giving them the ability to create their own tactical reports with tools that are very user friendly. End users are now more educated regarding software applications. It just seems like sense to put the right tools in front of them to enhance their work environment.
Read Joseph Riquelme's full review
April 08, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer, a tool that every institution needs in their toolbox"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Entrinsik Informer is best suited for those institutions that have users that know their data and how it is laid out. They will find Informer is a tool that will fit their needs and will be a product that can be used by staff of different levels.
Read Jerry Fowler's full review
March 18, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer provides great value to our customer base."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Informer works great for us - we are connecting to a DB2 database and it seems to work quite well and Entrinsik has been a very professional business partner. They have gone out of their way to help us by making the tool better and incorporating suggested changes/features into the product over time.
Read Christopher Kennedy's full review
March 18, 2015

User Review: "Entrinsik Informer ROCKS!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ellucian (Datatel) did not allow users to join files based on a common key. THIS was a huge selling point in selecting Informer. Also, the cost and the ability to quickly deploy the product to users was a big plus. Our Information Technologe department was sold when they learned they didn't have to worry about end users modifying any data in the Datatel system and that security could be controlled. Finally, in using Entrinsik Informer, CUSTOMER SERVICE is OUTSTANDING!
Read Stephanie Holliman's full review
January 05, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Get Consistent real-time Unidata Reporting with Informer."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Entrinsik Informer is not a what-you-see-is-what-you-get true free-form report designer like can be found in some other reporting solutions. However, Informer is the best data extraction and BI provider for Unidata ever. End users should not have to go to a technical report developer to just get a set of data. Informer provides the ability to deliver customized reports either scheduled or ad-hoc when and where they want utilizing widely accepted formats.
Read Ed McClusky's full review
April 08, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer - A great product."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Very well suited for our Admissions and Recruiting Department.
Read Martha McInnis's full review
November 11, 2014

Review: "Make Life Easier with Entrinsik Informer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Informer is well-suited for creating reports from Colleague in a variety of ways that are currently unavailable within the Colleague software itself. It allows you to combine different fields and values and data from multiple areas of the college within one report, and even use that report to create even more reports.
Read Sarah Gaither's full review
November 06, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer as a User Friendly Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Informer has the ability to work with a variety of data sources so is an effective solution for a variety of businesses.
Read Kara Bosch's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
5.5
Customizable dashboards (5)
7.9
Report Formatting Templates (5)
7.7
Drill-down analysis (7)
6.8
Formatting capabilities (8)
7.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8.2
Report sharing and collaboration (8)
8.2
Publish to Web (3)
9.0
Publish to PDF (7)
9.0
Report Versioning (2)
7.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (5)
9.1
Multi-User Support (named login) (9)
9.1
Role-Based Security Model (8)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (7)
8.2

About Entrinsik Informer

Informer 5 from Entrinsik is a data discovery and analytics tool that aims to simplify the process of accessing, cleansing, blending, and analyzing data from multiple sources. According to the vendor, with Informer, companies can aggregate all their disparate data into a single platform using an intuitive, 100% web-based interface that replaces outdated query tools and complicated reporting systems.

The tool aims to eliminate the need for data warehouses and cubes, and eliminate complicated “views” and limited functionality. With extensible architecture, collaborative environment, and enterprise-level performance, Informer aims to deliver actionable insights and better, data-driven decisions for its customers.

Entrinsik Informer Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Does not have featureEMC Greenplum
Does not have featureIBM Netezza
Does not have featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Does not have featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Does not have featureSalesforce
Does not have featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Entrinsik Informer Screenshots

Entrinsik Informer Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Entrinsik Informer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No