Financial Edge NXT Reviews

95 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 22, 2020
Susan Cornforth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

FENXT was our first choice when we switched from QB Desktop. QB no longer met our needs because its ability to accommodate fund accounting is very limited, as is its budgeting module. We use QBO for a subsidiary, but it has the same top-level limitations. We evaluated Sage, Aplos, and a couple of other integrated solutions, but found FENXT was the best-integrated solution for us because of its flexibility and ability to customize, plus we spoke to other users who raved about the training and support from Blackbaud, the parent company.
Read Susan Cornforth's full review
March 04, 2020
William (Bill) Sanders, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

NetSuite is more robust and has better dashboards but is two to three times more expensive annually.
Read William (Bill) Sanders, CPA's full review
December 24, 2018
Tracy Spence | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used other products such as Banner at previous jobs. When I came to my current job, they already had Financial Edge in place. It was easy to learn and more user-friendly than Banner and other programs I had previously used. We converted to Financial Edge NXT shortly after I started working there. The advantages of Financial Edge NXT are a great benefit.
Read Tracy Spence's full review
January 25, 2018
Michael Downs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were using the client server version of FE so the migration to NXT was an easy one. I believe we looked at QuickBooks at one point.
Read Michael Downs's full review
October 20, 2017
Stephen Forcey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are satisfied with Financial Edge as an accounting package. NXT is a nice add on but we don't give it a lot of weight since it is not complete.
Read Stephen Forcey's full review
October 20, 2017
Audrey Trembly | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are just now exploring ADP Streamline Payroll, but have used Fundware Payroll. We were "sold" FE NXT after converting from Fundware to FE. The payroll module has been very difficult. Some features are helpful, some are just plain difficult. AP module is working fairly well to date.
Read Audrey Trembly's full review
January 16, 2018
Kathy Carroll | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at Banner but it was not as flexible or user-friendly as FE NXT. We are going into a campaign and need to have the ability to create reports, queries, graphs, etc. in a timely manner and FE NXT will assist us in that area through easy access and the ability to customize information for various areas and individuals.
Read Kathy Carroll's full review
September 15, 2017
Cameron Dunkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used other small programs in previous jobs. They were fine as well. I don't know if any of them were much better or worse. But the linking to RE NXT makes it the best for us. Without RE, I don't know if we'd go for it necessarily.
Read Cameron Dunkin's full review
September 12, 2017
Rhonda Evans-McNeil,MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Oracle
I had used Oracle in previous positions. While it is robust, I feel Financial Edge NXT has a better GUI and also more features/functionality that is easier to use. Being a smaller organization it fits our needs better. We did review over 11 software providers and chose Blackbaud suite of products.
Read Rhonda Evans-McNeil,MBA's full review
December 12, 2017
Corrine Wachi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our school decided as a whole to upgrade, the Financial Edge NXT was just for our business office. What we were sold on, is not available in NXT right now. I still have to currently use Blackbaud hosting services for efficiency and accuracy without the back and forth headaches I have experienced with NXT.
Read Corrine Wachi's full review
July 10, 2017
Petra Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

NBS has been using Blackbaud's Financial Edge since the late 1990s, Blackbaud's donor management software for nearly as long, and their student information system for the past five years. It would be unbelievably difficult and complex to switch to another financial package.

Blackbaud's old teacher and student interfaces have reached the end of their lifetimes, so we were faced with switching to another SIS (probably not compatible with Blackbaud's financial and donor tracking software), or using their new hosted solution. When NBS moved to Blackbaud Hosting, part of the deal involved getting access to FE NXT.
Read Petra Hall's full review
January 18, 2017
Heidi Tabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We previously used QuickBooks and while we were comfortable with the functionality and ease of use, we chose to move forward with Financial Edge and then the NXT version because of the integration with the other modules and being able to link all of the data together to reduce duplication of effort as well as minimize the risk of errors.
Read Heidi Tabat's full review
December 14, 2016
Jeremiah Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

More flexibility when it comes to number or tracking options (project, dept, etc). QuickBooks is a good solution for small organizations but we had outgrown it (but still use if for our offices overseas).
Read Jeremiah Pierce's full review
June 22, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at many other solutions, and at the end of the day the biggest factor in selecting Financial Edge was that we were already using The Raiser's Edge. The appeal of having the two systems integrated was significant, and as stated in the previous question, that has been one of the biggest pluses from our switch to Financial Edge. I do believe that there are less costly options that could suit many organizations just fine; I would recommend that an organization consider its overall data flow process, and not just accounting, when making this decision. For example, if they were already using a different CRM for their fund-raising or gift receipting processes, then they may want to consider using an accounting software that is built to integrate with that CRM, if one exists. At the end of the day, that is the biggest factor with a non-profit that is as donation-reliant as we are.
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Financial Edge NXT is easier to use and more appropriate for an organization of our size. FE NXT is also more intuitive.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • SAP
Totally different. SAP is much better, but we don't need anything so powerful for our industry
Read this authenticated review
October 19, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PeachTree Accounting Software which we discontinued because of the batching and it now having "real time". Red Wing Controller was extremely user friendly and I generally recommend that to constituents. QuickBooks was another option used by our sister company and it was able to preform similar task at a much lower costs.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We did not evaluate other comparable products, we were hosted with FE 9, so beginning to explore the features and uses of Financial Edge NXT was a logical next step.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (9)
4.9
Direct deposit files (8)
5.2
Salary revision and increment management (7)
10.0
Reimbursement management (4)
9.0
API for custom integration (11)
8.5
Plug-ins (17)
7.0
Single sign-on capability (33)
9.0
Role-based user permissions (34)
9.3
Dashboards (33)
7.5
Standard reports (38)
8.9
Custom reports (37)
8.9
Accounts payable (39)
9.0
Accounts receivable (17)
7.0
Cash management (29)
9.0
Bank reconciliation (32)
8.9
Expense management (25)
9.3
Time tracking (6)
6.4
Fixed asset management (20)
9.0
Multi-currency support (6)
7.9
Multi-division support (16)
9.0
Regulations compliance (11)
10.0
Electronic tax filing (9)
5.2
Self-service portal (19)
9.0
Pricing (8)
6.5
Credit card processing (11)
9.9
Cost of goods sold (3)
1.4

What is Financial Edge NXT?

Financial Edge NXT is a cloud accounting solution from Blackbaud that is designed to provide transparency across teams, security, compliance, and reduce the need for manual processes. The system is a fund accounting solution that provides a general ledger, projects, grants, endowments, accounts payable and receivable, fixed assets, banking, and more.

This solution includes a personalized dashboard and customizable views. Financial Edge NXT enables users to closely monitor income statements, program-to-expense ratios, cash balances, and other key metrics. Financial Edge NXT offers real-time reporting, with one-click drill-down functionality and export capability, to enable data-driven decisions in real time.

The system allows users access to grant and project accounting that allows for streamlined management of budget, as well as a way to effectively monitor accounts and generate reports. The vendor’s value proposition is that by using Financial Edge NXT, nonprofits can reduce dependency on manual processes, thus improving data entry accuracy.

Financial Edge NXT Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features

Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Has featureFixed asset management
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal

Order Management Features

Has featurePricing
Has featureCredit card processing
Has featureCost of goods sold

Payroll Management Features

Has featurePay calculation
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management

Reporting & Analytics Features

Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports

Customization Features

Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins

Security Features

Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Additional Features
Has featureCloud Based
Has featureManage advanced allocations within product
Has featureFlexible chart-of-accounts structure
Has featureProject, Grant and Endowment reporting comes standard

Financial Edge NXT Screenshots

Financial Edge NXT Videos (4)

Financial Edge NXT Downloadables

Financial Edge NXT Integrations

PaperSave, BizNet Software, Advanced Budget Management, Paramount Workplace, Infor F9, Avid Exchage

Financial Edge NXT Competitors

Sage Intacct, Abila, Microsoft

Financial Edge NXT Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Financial Edge NXT Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Financial Edge NXT Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada
Supported Languages: English