TrustRadius
Financial Edge NXT is a cloud accounting solution tailored for nonprofits that provides a general ledger, projects, grants, endowments, accounts payable and receivable, fixed assets, banking, and more. It offers real-time reporting, with one-click drill-down functionality and export capability.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/sz/uh/WH7O6ZWHT580.PNGFinancial Edge NXT is a TimesaverFinancial Edge NXT is used mostly by our foundation staff. We use it as our main accounting software. We use Raisers Edge for recording contributions and then integrate them with Financial Edge. This process is very easy as long as all your accounts are set up correctly. We would like to soon make Financial Edge NXT available for all of our advancement staff and some of our project directors. The challenge in this is being able to easily limit access to only the individual’s projects.,I love the copy invoice feature. This makes for quicker entry of our invoices. The drill-down feature is also a plus when searching for a particular item. Being able to export tables quickly is a timesaver.,At this time it doesn’t distribute negative entries to the correct project when there are multiple projects. This becomes a problem when you are trying to use a credit for one project but expenses invoice to a different project. The edit feature for imported journal entries is more difficult than in Financial Edge. The timeout feature logs you out too quickly.,9,We use Financial Edge NXT and Raisers Edge NXT together and they work very well for us. They enable us to work with our donors and our finances separately yet together.,,Raiser's Edge NXTFinancial Edge NXT ReviewI work for a Foundation at a college and our whole department uses FENXT. We use it for all of our accounting needs other than Purchase Order management. We use it in conjunction with Raiser's Edge to keep track of all incoming and outgoing money and also to manage the active funds our organization has.,I love how well FE interacts with Raiser's Edge. This makes it much easier for our organization to stay current and increases our level of trust in the information we are seeing in both systems. The reporting features in FE make it easy to pull accurate information in a timely manner.,I would like to see the price reduced. I work for a medium-sized non-profit and if the price keeps rising, I worry we will no longer be able to use FE. It is an incredible system to use, but if the price keeps rising, it will be difficult for small to medium-sized organizations to justify the cost. I would like to see error messages that contain more information. When our accountant runs the process to post gifts from Raiser's Edge, she typically is not able to easily understand the reason for the gift exceptions. It then requires me doing research in RE to find out what the error may have been from.,9,I think overall, we receive a positive ROI. We are able to use FE to handle the vast majority of our accounting needs, which is nice.,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,My organization also utilizes Raiser's Edge, Blackbaud Payment Services, Online Express, and Academic Works.,,Raiser's Edge NXT, WordPressFinancial Edge NXT was a pleasant surprise!We have been using Blackbaud products for over 20 years and last fall we made the choice to upgrade to the cloud version for the entire school products. Upgrading to Financial Edge NXT was not the driver---the student information system was the driver---but we are reaping many benefits from the NXT environment. Since using Financial Edge NXT, we rarely utilize the database version as the majority of day-to-day activities can now be done in NXT. The benefits it has provided have been faster access to the system and more efficiency in our business office. We can get things done more quickly with the NXT version.,Data entry is much easier with NXT especially for accounts payable Reporting is fantastic with the ability to drill down in the reports to the detail and to export reports in more consistent formats (PDF, Excel) Bank reconciliation is a breeze with the cash management capabilities,Right now budgeting functions are only available for look ups, not for budget creation or editing,10,Financial Edge NXT is expensive, but its functionality has reduced overtime in our business office and allowed us to not have to hire additional help,Operational efficiency Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Increased scalability due to cloud deployment Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,We utilize Raiser's Edge NXT and Blackbaud Small School OnSuite, which is currently being converted. We have transitioned to Blackbaud Smart Tuition and Blackbaud Smart Aid.Financial Edge NXTWe are a private school and use Financial Edge NXT for our daily accounting/finance operations. Very self-explanatory and easy to use.,Adding a new invoice is fairly simple. Easy to add new vendors in the system. A variety of reportings available.,Hope they quickly change to the web view faster, so we don't have to switch between web and database view.,9,We are able to quickly see the accounts receivable to avoid others not paying.,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders,Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT has helped improve the efficiency and reporting aspects of the organization. Would definitely recommend, especially for reporting.,,PeopleSoft Financials, QuickBooks ProFinancial Edge NXT was fine without the 'NXT'Financial Edge NXT is our database for accounting. Only the Finance Department uses it. It stores all of our Vendors, Invoices, and Payment records. It processes all payments we issue, including Check Printing, EFTs, and Bank Drafts. We use it to reconcile accounts, as well as provide all financial reporting to both management and program staff at large.,GL configuration. We like the Fund-Account setup, with Project being a separate field not directly tied to the GL string. It provides more flexibility both with data entry rules/requirements, balancing requirements, and reporting. Bank feed. It is good to be able to download transactions and match them to the Accounts Payable bank register. Visual Chart Organizer. It provides extremely flexible and customizable report formatting, whatever GL configuration you have.,NXT still has lots of glitches or missing functionality when compared with the database view. Many pages take too long to load, or just aren't as usable as the alternative in database view. Functions that are not available in NXT yet. There are still quite a few processes that are not yet available in NXT, which you must do in the 'old' database view. This makes it abundantly clear that NXT is not a new platform that was launched all at once, but rather a 'mirror' option that was haphazardly released in blocks (and still is being released in blocks). This process is awkward and can be rather unsettling to new users who are likely to spend months, and perhaps even years, as they attempt to figure out which of their processes they should do in NXT and which ones they should do in the 'old' database view. Reports, Queries, and Exports. Users who were already accustomed to the 'old' database view for these areas are likely to find NXT's equivalent options to be clunky and may prefer to stick to the database view for these functions. Some things just require more clicks when you try to 'simplify' by putting everything into one web screenshot. There's something to be said for being able to open different windows within a program, and like many other modern web browser-based programs, NXT gets in its own way in this regard.,4,Positive impact on our desire to 'modernize' (i.e. getting a system that looks and feels more contemporary than our previous accounting systems). Generally positive impact in our ability to streamline or simplify some of our accounting processes that took longer in our previous accounting system. Negative cost impact in that we pay much more for NXT than our old system. In retrospect it may not have been worth it to pay for 'NXT', and we might have just gone with the database view, as that is perfectly suitable. But admittedly I am not sure about the pricing difference.,Operational efficiency Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Increased scalability due to cloud deployment Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,We use Raiser's Edge, and we have found that integrating Raiser's Edge with Financial Edge is definitely a good investment. This has saved us considerable time in expediting data entry between the two systems.,,The Raisers EdgeLove the functionality of NXTFENXT is being used by myself and other users across the organization in place of the traditional database view to the extent that the functionality is available in NXT. It is used for vendor and payment lookup, account activity lookup, payment posting and processing. One item missing is full functionality of the purchase order module. As soon as it works, I will use NXT to issue POs. It is a very user-friendly version of FE. Much easier to train staff to use and recover the information they are looking for. It is menu driven and intuitive.,Vendor activity look up Output of reports to Excel Fund register activity Ability to export queries to Excel,Better integration with PaperSave Export all activity to Excel Purchase Orders,8,It has allowed more users to help themselves allowing me to be more productive. I don't have to stop and provide the desired information. The ease of exporting the reports has increased my productivity. Ease of writing custom reports has increased my data analysis.,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance,We also use PaperSave with the accounts payable process. The software is cumbersome but it serves our need for invoice image capturing. We do not use any other integrated software solutions from Blackbaud.A robust system that could use a few more featuresFinancial Edge is being used by all employees in the Business Office. Department heads have view-only access to look at their budget reports. The view-only access is better than the reports we sent them because they have the ability to drill into transactions from the report.,Customizable, attractive reports Bank Feeds Generate multiple reports simultaneously,Journal entries are better in database view Unable to create queries in NXT,7,We have not done a cost analysis but it makes our office more efficient. It has business rules that help us accomplish our internal control and security needs.,Operational efficiency Improved cash flow Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,We use Raiser's Edge NXT. This software integrates well with Financial Edge. Integrating the products improved efficiency and accuracy in data entry.,Raiser's Edge NXTFinancial Edge NXTFE NXT is being used by our accounting department as we try to migrate off of the client-server version to a SaaS environment. [It's being used by the] accounting department and some in IT with dashboards. NXT helps us eliminate using a Citrix environment for some of the FE use.,Dashboards are easy to create and look professional. Learning curve from the client-server version of Financial Edge was minimal.,Missing functionality, needs missing modules from the client server version or the DB view. Ability to edit users within NXT.,7,Ability for staff to work remotely without the use of Citrix. Moving to a SaaS environment for our core applications.,Operational efficiency Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,We have tried some of the other applications, Raiser's Edge. We're waiting for completed web development before investigating any further.,,Salesforce App Cloud, Yardi Property Management, Tableau Server,8,2,budgeting AP AR,Dashboards,Further expand dashboards reporting,7,No,Prior Experience with the Product Existing Relationship with the Vendor,Wait a little longer for development of the software,Vendor implemented,No,Change management was minimal,user setup,7,9,Yes,We had an outage and a support rep would email me hourly on the status of the outage.,Reporting,User Maintenance,No,6Failed implementation...Once implemented, it will be used organization-wide. We attempted to convert to Financial Edge NXT a year ago... unfortunately, we still have not converted even though we are paying for NXT. There were issues between host sites... Orange County moving to Boston... I was told that we could test NXT in the hosted environment prior to converting. Once our data was uploaded, I was then told that we could only test in FE on the cloud... not NXT until our live convert. In testing with FE, we found there is a huge lag in processing time as opposed to having the data processing locally. Because it had taken so long I was facing an audit and did not want to have to manage a software conversion during an audit... The final audit report just came back so now we can proceed to convert to NXT... Our development office went live on RENXT in July and find that the processing time is also painfully slow...,n/a - have had trouble with conversion n/a - have had trouble with conversion n/a - have had trouble with conversion,eliminate processing delays. Per our IT dept, the issue is not on our side. better follow up by implementation.... WE ARE STILL NOT IMPLEMENTED! renewal team wasn't aware of switchover and received billings for NON NXT renewals... took a long time to get resolved.,1,signed a multi-year agreement in Oct 2016... As of Dec 2017, FE NXT conversion has not yet happened...,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Increased scalability due to cloud deployment Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,We use Raiser's Edge, Financial Edge, Student Billing, Bookstore Manager... Our education administration moved away from Education Edge/Net Classroom this year and decided to go to Powerschool. Not having the integration with Student Billing has been an added burden to the business office. On a test basis this year we used Smart Tuition and are VERY unhappy with it. PLEASE do not take Student Billing away. Smart Tuition does not come close to fulfilling our needs.,If you are looking for flexibility in reporting and access FE is worth reviewingWe decided to go from FE & RE to the new NXT products for several reasons. Development officers can now access it remotely; we can log in from anywhere, we can have campus-wide reporting made available without the need to change each computer, reporting has more flexibility and auto bank reconciliation to name a few. We are new to NXT but have used Blackbaud for several years in our organization.,Remote access is easy to use and so convenient. Development members can access funds and provide the most up to date information to the constituents. Access to project reports by our fund directors campus wide is something that we are working on implementing right now since the use of reporting is so accessible. The bank reconciliation module is a time saver.,Logging into the data base view could be streamlined for faster login. Create a system that would allow groups of invitations for FE NXT all at once. We have FE NXT view only for our fund directors and development officers across campus and the need to invite each one individually and not have the ability to set them up at the same time is very time consuming and inefficient. Our fund directors change frequently so this is definitely something that I would be interested in seeing an update completed.,8,Bank Reconciliation has streamline the ability to have real time banking information available in our system without all of the manual calculations needed previously. Having the ability to look up information remotely when away from the office has been a lifesaver several times for fund directors, development officers and donors.,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Increased scalability due to cloud deployment,We use multiple software products from Blackbaud and others that are compatible with FE NXT. One that is being currently being implemented is Omatic's Positive Pay for banking. Blackbaud set it up in our system and already had a format for our specific bank so that we can add another layer of security in our bank accounts.,,Raiser's Edge NXT,7,5,Reporting - Fund accounting specific software Ease of Access for multiple areas of campus Security is definitely a positive with this system when setting up internal controls.,We have been able to set up an import format for entering all of our scholarship payments with a spreadsheet. Without the need to enter each one individually it increases accuracy and has saved us approximately 3 days of work during each award cycle. We have also found it much easier to customize credit card entry for our monthly processing so that it can be done as the receipts come in and not wait until the end of the month. We are in the process of setting this up now.,I hope that we will be able to produce annual donor reports with graphs that include both the endowment balance, the current restricted balance and the reserve balance of each fund along with the amount of scholarships awarded since inception.,10,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor Analyst Reports,I'm completely satisfied.,No,9,NoMy NXT experience!We use it only in the business office. We had planned to use it to keep track of our accounting needs on a daily basis. Which would include reporting, accounts payable, accounts receivable, student billing, etc I can't answer the question of What business problems does it address.,It is a web-based program that can be accessed from any computer.,The accounts payable tab......Why is the vendor info not have the option to enter invoices. It makes it very difficult to make changes when I have to refer back to a vendor. I have found that creating deposits are not as easy, too. I can't even find my "client" to enter my info, its all done individually like the AP tab. It makes it very hard to go back to refer to a specific deposit when it is not grouped by my clients. I have decided, after many days of frustration, trying to figure out NXT, that as long as the Blackbaud hosting services are available, I will continue to use that, so I feel that our costs to upgrade was a poor choice, but that is my personal opinion due the fact that I use this system on a daily basis.,2,None that I can recall because I do not use it until the features are added or improved.,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Automation of business processes,I'm sure it can be a great program, unfortunately, right now, it doesn't have half the features as the old interface.,TweetybirdWe are using it through out the organization, but mainly accounting. All of the other departments uses it for entering their travel and creating requisitions for purchase orders. The CFO uses it for all of the financial reporting for the organization. I am new to using Blackbaud and still learning the system.,Having the ability to create reports quickly. To void checks and the system creates your adjusting entries for you. Having the ability to review your accounts payable processing before printing your checks. The various links to get in touch with someone at Blackbaud is an excellent tool.,The PO system. It would be great if there would be a section where you can breakdown various items from various departments, when you are placing your order into the system. Credit memos- once a check is voided and a credit memo is attached, how to remove it if there is several. Issues with the addresses once it has changed in the vendor file. When you are adding a vendor, "Lisa Fowler" the system would list her under the "L". So if I wanted to pull her up on the system. Normally it should be under "F" because of her last name but it would listed under the "L".,6,My CFO would have to answer these questions.,Operational efficiency Improved cash flow Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Faster month-end process,N/A, my CFO would have to answer.Financial Edge NXTFinancial Edge NXT is only being used by the Finance & Operations team. We use it as our accounts payable system & our general accounting system.,I love the sidebar feature for accounts payable that allows you to see much of the details of the transaction without requiring you to open the full record. Being able to run a report straight to Excel is very useful & easy. It is nice to be able to search for vendors more easily than one could in Financial Edge 7.,The journal entries are cumbersome to use. The view is "backward" from what I'm used to, with the most recent lines entered showing at the top of the entry. It is hard to review journal entries in the NXT view because only some of the lines (>5) show in each screen & then you have to click to get to the next set of 5 lines, etc. I often revert to the database view so that I can see the entire entry in one screen. There are no journal entry line numbers in the NXT view. This makes it difficult to find a specific line item & if you search for just that line you can't see the other side of the transaction. Again, I revert to the database view for most JE review & revision. The most useful & complex reports, such as the Statement of Functional Expenses, are not available in the NXT view.,7,It's hard to tell as we just made the switch in July 2017 (review written in Oct 2017). The hope is that we will be able to utilize some of the AP functionality to increase efficiency in the office & that we will be able to implement the cash management module to reduce redundant data processing.,Operational efficiency Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes,We only use Financial Edge NXT at this time.,Adaptive Suite, Paylocity Web Pay, Google DriveFinancial Edge NXT ReviewWe use it as our accounting ERP system for General Ledger, Accounts Payable, and interface to Raisers Edge. It's used by the accounting department and it addresses most of our accounting-related transaction and reporting issues.,The attachment of scanned invoices and journal entries is valuable. The drill-down capabilities are easy to follow. The visual display of data on the monitor is good. The ease of using a cloud-based solution.,Some of the features in Financial Edge 7 database are not yet available in FE NXT such as Fixed Assets and journal transaction history. Sometimes entries aren't posting in NXT but are able to post in FE 7 database view. The report writer doesn't display all of the reports that are being used and it's a little more difficult than in FE 7 database view.,8,It's helped us speed up month-end closing. It's provided good internal control features. It's improved our Accounts Payable invoice processing.,Operational efficiency Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,We use Raisers Edge extensively and have benefitted from this both in our fundraising activities. The interface between Raisers Edge and Financial Edge NXT are very good.,SAP ERPIt's okay, but will be greatWe use it as much as we can for the accounting functions. It is being used by the Business Office only. I like that it's faster than FE and more user-friendly.,Click on a report to drill into detail Fast searching capabilities It has a lots of potential,Doing a journal entry in FENXT is not user-friendly and not easy on the eye. It's much better in the database view. Needs more information on the drop downs when making selections. I can't wait for the budget module.,7,None Some things are faster and some aren't available,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Increased scalability due to cloud deployment,We are integrated with Raiser's Edge.,SAPNXT - Becoming the next generation of non-profit accounting softwareFinancial Edge NXT is being used primarily by the accounting department. We mainly use Financial Edge NXT to generate multiple reports simultaneously (a major improvement over FE 9). Going forward, we look forward to exploring more of the newly added features in Financial Edge NXT and beginning to implement them in our current processes.,Generating multiple reports simultaneously Easily add an attachment to a Record (by "drop & drag" the file) Smart search feature has become used daily,"Allocation Management" feature,6,Operational efficiency Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes,We are using Raiser's Edge and Raiser's Edge NXT.,,Raiser's Edge NXTFinancial Edge NXT - It's worth it!Financial Edge NXT is being used by the finance and administration team in our foundation. The main business problems that it addresses are easy access to reporting for executives and access to information in real time and from anywhere with a web connection.,Financial Edge NXT provides beautiful, easy to read, and visual reports. Financial Edge NXT makes access easy for our executive through the various permission levels for access that it provides.,Financial Edge NXT is still being developed, so not all of the functionality in Financial Edge (the database view) is available yet in NXT. Therefore users must have access to both the traditional view and the webview.,10,Yet to be determined.,Operational efficiency Improved cash flow Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Increased scalability due to cloud deployment Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,We have benefited from the integration of Blackbaud products and will see more benefit in the coming year. We currently utilize Blackbaud Raiser's Edge & RE NXT, Financial Edge & Financial Edge NXT, Online Express, NetCommunity, and have been customers of Blackbaud for many years.,Raiser's Edge NXT, The Raisers Edge, Blackbaud Online Express, Blackbaud NetCommunity, OneDrive, Adobe PhotoshopIt's been a learning curve ...We implemented Financial Edge NXT at the beginning of this year (2017), and it is being used by our finance department. It has been challenging in the respect to our account manager (I believe we have had three so far). While the product is new to us, we have faced numerous questions and seem to have a problem with support and/or our account manager responding back to us. Many features are very similar to what we have used in the past and we have been able to problem solve a lot of issues on our own. The modules have many features that I think would benefit us, but we have not ventured to try and see how they work.,Accounts Payable, which I use daily, is very straightforward and easy to maneuver around. Reports in Accounts Payable are what I need and are easy to use. Running a check run from start to finish is done with ease and hassle free. Accounts Payable Module is simple and user-friendly. Finding inputted data is a snap to find.,Payroll in general is very difficult and cumbersome. I have never dreaded running our payroll before, but now it's a form of anxiety for me. Setting up new employees. We realize that each individual is unique, but setting up new employees has got to be easier. Reports versus queries. Still learning the system, but I spend a great deal of time trying to get only the information I need on a report. This is especially true of payroll reporting.,5,We are in the newborn stage yet, so that is hard to say. We have had to basically train ourselves on the software which has been time consuming as well as frustrating. We were led to believe that this was something that was to be included. The down time that we experience because of what we believe, is the server being down happens often.,Operational efficiency Improved cash flow Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Increased scalability due to cloud deployment Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,It's ComplicatedFinancial Edge is being used essentially across the whole organization, in conjunction with Raiser's Edge. We have two conference centers that are attempting to complete the entry of June data, as we are in the Home Office. We use all the modules except Student Billing, as we are not an educational institution.,Accounts Payable has been a fairly easy module to learn, and I have used it successfully for nearly 4 months. It is fairly intuitive, once you learn the process. Payroll was quite an adjustment, but appears to give us more accurate data than our former software. We have been using it for nearly 5 months. General Ledger appears to be fairly easy to use, but since we have not closed our first month yet, that being June 2017, it remains to be seen.,As we have yet to close June 2017, we have encountered many issues, had a multitudes of chats, and quite a few sessions where support has had to remote in to fix or gather data for engineers to fix issues. One issue unresolved is the accrual of leave in payroll. Engineers are still working on that one. Another issue that has FE folks stumped is the recording of manually entered gifts in RE not coming over into FE. We cannot close June until that is resolved. For some odd reason, my printer has disappeared twice from AP, to where I can't print checks. They had to get a duplicate of our database and fix it on their end the first time. Support had to remote in to correct the issue the second time - but it delayed paying bills significantly both times. We had an issue with Pennsylvania local withholding taxes that never got resolved. They gave us a work-around, but I will have to go into dozens of W-2's in January to move the taxes to the correct box. Can't wait.,3,We have not seen a return on investment yet, that I am aware of, as we are way in the whole with the up front expense.,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,We have successfully used Raiser's Edge as our donor database, and it has been quite helpful in tracking revenues and keeping in touch with our donors. The query process has been exceptionally helpful in pulling specific data out, and making educated decisions moving forward.,4c review of NXTWe use Financial Edge NXT for high level review of transactions and attachment of accounts payable invoices. It is more efficient than the database version as far as drilling down and finding transactions. We only use the General Ledge and Accounts Payable currently.,Like I said, the ease of getting around and drilling down for information is the best feature for us. It is great to have attached accounts payable invoices instead of having to search through an organization of folders to find an invoice copy. The hidden benefit is always being up to date on versions. We don't have to get emails notifying us of updates, forwarding those to IT and asking them to have our hosting company apply patches. Then we would wait and have the system down off hours before updates were applied. That's all gone now.,We have to rely on the database version for Accounts Receivable. I'me not real sure about all the features. I know what I've got in the database view and so I live there. I would like to get into general ledger reporting and queues but the one time I tried, I couldn't get where I wanted to go so I gave up easily. We've had a couple of issues that came up for some reason because of what we use that apparently nobody else does, like having the many bank accounts we use show up in a drop-down menu. The software engineers have been good to fix those things, but it makes me feel like we are continually using a beta version of the software. It feels like Blackbaud is trying to get up to speed at their own pace and at the expense of users experimentation.,2,We've had some untimely database down time from server errors over the period of a few weeks. The availability of attached invoices has provided some immediate information for audit questions that we would have struggled to obtain otherwise. We have some slow times when it appears the servers are busy. We have to wait after each click of the mouse and have to be careful not to get ahead of the keystrokes because we don't know where we are in the sequence. This may last for a while and then go away.,Operational efficiency Improved insight into your organization's performance Faster month-end process Automation of business processes,Unfortunately we felt that Raiser's Edge was a little behind the times and committed to using SalesForce for our donations processing a couple of years ago. SalesForce has since lent itself to other information recording including Accounts Receivable that is also available from the cloud.,,MS SharePointFrustration vs SatisfactionFENXT is being used as our Financial System, including Accounts Payable, Budget, and Payroll.,I honestly can't think of one thing FENXT does really well.,Since FE NXT is in the "cloud" it has been a really difficult transition as our company has some special needs that we finally got ironed out in FE, but then started the transition to NXT and now those special needs can not be met by NXT. Just logging in takes three more steps. Frequently the program logs out and we have to log back in. Payroll is more difficult than AP. AP is fairly smooth, but payroll is just now starting to go a bit smoother, but we heard there would not be anymore enhancements to the payroll module in the future, so our concerns will most likely not be met in the future. It's up to the clerk to figure out how to meet the needs of the employees.,1,We have paid out a lot of money for the initial set up of FE (3rd party)and then more for Blackbaud to come in to help us finish set up. Then more $$ for NXT without a level of training that should have accompanied the initial set up. Many procedures, reports, etc we have had to teach ourselves which has been a struggle. The Commissioners think we have thrown good money after bad.,Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process,Blackbaud's consultants have been great! Always professional, but sometimes have to educate themselves on the issues we have. Overall, the consultants have tried very hard to help us. The Blackbaud products may not be geared to a government office as well as some others may be. Fundware was a great product that we were told was being phased out, so we were convinced (3rd party) to convert to FE. As stated before the 3rd party consultants were not equipped to do the conversion properly. Then on to NXT after a short time with FE was not a wise move which was recommended by a Blackbaud consultant. Then to learn that the payroll module may not be enhanced for quite some time, if ever. The overall experience with FE NXT has been tainted by these other training issues, but knowing now what we didn't know then, we would have passed on the upgrade to NXT.,ADP Streamline PayrollLove FEWe currently use Financial Edge across our organization. We currently serve four entities (3 schools and our network), therefore, we run/track individual transactions and reports - but also run consolidated reports. FE addresses all of our finance and accounting with the exception of payroll and student billing.,Because we run four separate entities, FE allows us to allocate transactions to each of the entities. This allows the ability to look at each entity separately as well as look at the organization at a consolidated level. FE tracks interfund entries well.,There are some nuances in FE that can stand to be improved upon - nothing that will discourage me from using FE, just things that would make it easier to navigate through the system. For example, navigating between modules could be improved upon. Having the ability to navigate through the system while reports are running should be an option.,9,FE has returned our investment due to the time savings of having to export data into excel and navigating the data.,Operational efficiency Reduced annual audit cost Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process,We are not using the other services/products,FE NXT - I'm a fan!We are using FE NXT in our philanthropy department. It addresses the problem of our finance department not tracking project balances and expenditures.,Reporting Reconciliation,Ability to track at package level from RE,9,Alleviates the need to track/calculate RE donor fund balances manually in an Excel spreadsheet Allows us to track and easily report how donor dollars are spent,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Faster month-end process Automation of business processes Increased scalability due to cloud deployment Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,Our organization benefits from using many Blackbaud solutions…The Raiser's Edge, Raiser's Edge NXT, Online Express, Net Community, BBMS, Mobile Pay,Raiser's Edge NXT, The Raisers EdgeFinancial Edge NXT works for WSUFinancial Edge NXT is a cloud-based software that supports the general ledger accounting and reporting needs globally for our organization. It is user-friendly in the form of being accessible to users anywhere via multiple platforms. Prior to being cloud-based, this was not a possibility.,Flexible cloud-based reporting. Instant access to records User-friendly with a modern feel for new hires.,Extend functionality of desktop version to web version Designated support contact upon implementation/conversion to NXT Cost of product is greater than competitors,9,General ledger accounting is a necessity so integration with existing products is convenient. However, Blackbaud could make this product more competitively priced. The ability to utilize Blackbaud Merchant Services to process credit cards has reduced costs and streamlined the process. Chat with support services has proved to be effective.,Operational efficiency Increased scalability due to cloud deployment Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment,The crossover abilities between the Blackbaud family of products is what keeps us Blackbaud customers. They have also partnered or acquired complimentary services which make this product offering even more attractive.,Raiser's Edge NXT, The Raisers Edge, Financial EdgeA Solid standard program.Financial Edge NXT is used to track all of our finances. It's used across the whole organization.,Allows for budget tracking and analysis Good data pulls Allows for maintaining client records and printing cheques electronically,It's quite expensive. At times it can be restrictive in terms of ability for pulling reports,7,It's allowed for consolidation, tracking of records (especially historically), and efficiency. I enjoy having the one program for everything Good support system when needed,Operational efficiency Improved data accuracy Improved insight into your organization's performance Better ability to report to funders and key stakeholders Automation of business processes,I don't use everything in FE NXT, and am aware of that. We do use RE NXT, and I think having them together is a real plus. It is the big driver behind wanting to use FE NXT and not considering using other platforms.,,Raiser's Edge NXT, Microsoft Office 365, Apple iCloudUnspecified
Financial Edge NXT
90 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Financial Edge NXT Reviews

Financial Edge NXT
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 38)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Tracy Spence profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge NXT is used mostly by our foundation staff. We use it as our main accounting software. We use Raisers Edge for recording contributions and then integrate them with Financial Edge. This process is very easy as long as all your accounts are set up correctly. We would like to soon make Financial Edge NXT available for all of our advancement staff and some of our project directors. The challenge in this is being able to easily limit access to only the individual’s projects.
Read Tracy Spence's full review
Brandon Mand profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work for a Foundation at a college and our whole department uses FENXT. We use it for all of our accounting needs other than Purchase Order management. We use it in conjunction with Raiser's Edge to keep track of all incoming and outgoing money and also to manage the active funds our organization has.
Read Brandon Mand's full review
Pamela Wittmayer profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Blackbaud products for over 20 years and last fall we made the choice to upgrade to the cloud version for the entire school products. Upgrading to Financial Edge NXT was not the driver---the student information system was the driver---but we are reaping many benefits from the NXT environment. Since using Financial Edge NXT, we rarely utilize the database version as the majority of day-to-day activities can now be done in NXT.
The benefits it has provided have been faster access to the system and more efficiency in our business office. We can get things done more quickly with the NXT version.
Read Pamela Wittmayer's full review
No photo available
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge NXT is our database for accounting. Only the Finance Department uses it. It stores all of our Vendors, Invoices, and Payment records. It processes all payments we issue, including Check Printing, EFTs, and Bank Drafts. We use it to reconcile accounts, as well as provide all financial reporting to both management and program staff at large.
Read this authenticated review
Cindy Sheeks profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FENXT is being used by myself and other users across the organization in place of the traditional database view to the extent that the functionality is available in NXT. It is used for vendor and payment lookup, account activity lookup, payment posting and processing. One item missing is full functionality of the purchase order module. As soon as it works, I will use NXT to issue POs. It is a very user-friendly version of FE. Much easier to train staff to use and recover the information they are looking for. It is menu driven and intuitive.
Read Cindy Sheeks's full review
Mecia Neverdon profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge is being used by all employees in the Business Office. Department heads have view-only access to look at their budget reports. The view-only access is better than the reports we sent them because they have the ability to drill into transactions from the report.
Read Mecia Neverdon's full review
Michael Downs profile photo
January 25, 2018

Financial Edge NXT

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FE NXT is being used by our accounting department as we try to migrate off of the client-server version to a SaaS environment. [It's being used by the] accounting department and some in IT with dashboards. NXT helps us eliminate using a Citrix environment for some of the FE use.
Read Michael Downs's full review
Marie Roake profile photo
December 06, 2017

Failed implementation...

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Once implemented, it will be used organization-wide. We attempted to convert to Financial Edge NXT a year ago... unfortunately, we still have not converted even though we are paying for NXT. There were issues between host sites... Orange County moving to Boston... I was told that we could test NXT in the hosted environment prior to converting. Once our data was uploaded, I was then told that we could only test in FE on the cloud... not NXT until our live convert. In testing with FE, we found there is a huge lag in processing time as opposed to having the data processing locally. Because it had taken so long I was facing an audit and did not want to have to manage a software conversion during an audit... The final audit report just came back so now we can proceed to convert to NXT... Our development office went live on RENXT in July and find that the processing time is also painfully slow...
Read Marie Roake's full review
Kathy Carroll profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We decided to go from FE & RE to the new NXT products for several reasons. Development officers can now access it remotely; we can log in from anywhere, we can have campus-wide reporting made available without the need to change each computer, reporting has more flexibility and auto bank reconciliation to name a few.

We are new to NXT but have used Blackbaud for several years in our organization.
Read Kathy Carroll's full review
Corrine Wachi profile photo
December 12, 2017

My NXT experience!

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it only in the business office. We had planned to use it to keep track of our accounting needs on a daily basis. Which would include reporting, accounts payable, accounts receivable, student billing, etc I can't answer the question of What business problems does it address.
Read Corrine Wachi's full review
Rosa Scott profile photo
October 24, 2017

Tweetybird

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it through out the organization, but mainly accounting. All of the other departments uses it for entering their travel and creating requisitions for purchase orders. The CFO uses it for all of the financial reporting for the organization. I am new to using Blackbaud and still learning the system.
Read Rosa Scott's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as our accounting ERP system for General Ledger, Accounts Payable, and interface to Raisers Edge. It's used by the accounting department and it addresses most of our accounting-related transaction and reporting issues.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as much as we can for the accounting functions. It is being used by the Business Office only. I like that it's faster than FE and more user-friendly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge NXT is being used primarily by the accounting department. We mainly use Financial Edge NXT to generate multiple reports simultaneously (a major improvement over FE 9). Going forward, we look forward to exploring more of the newly added features in Financial Edge NXT and beginning to implement them in our current processes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge NXT is being used by the finance and administration team in our foundation. The main business problems that it addresses are easy access to reporting for executives and access to information in real time and from anywhere with a web connection.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented Financial Edge NXT at the beginning of this year (2017), and it is being used by our finance department. It has been challenging in the respect to our account manager (I believe we have had three so far). While the product is new to us, we have faced numerous questions and seem to have a problem with support and/or our account manager responding back to us. Many features are very similar to what we have used in the past and we have been able to problem solve a lot of issues on our own. The modules have many features that I think would benefit us, but we have not ventured to try and see how they work.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 25, 2017

It's Complicated

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge is being used essentially across the whole organization, in conjunction with Raiser's Edge. We have two conference centers that are attempting to complete the entry of June data, as we are in the Home Office. We use all the modules except Student Billing, as we are not an educational institution.
Read this authenticated review
Stephen Forcey profile photo
October 20, 2017

4c review of NXT

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Financial Edge NXT for high level review of transactions and attachment of accounts payable invoices. It is more efficient than the database version as far as drilling down and finding transactions. We only use the General Ledge and Accounts Payable currently.
Read Stephen Forcey's full review
Regina Robinson profile photo
October 18, 2017

Love FE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Financial Edge across our organization. We currently serve four entities (3 schools and our network), therefore, we run/track individual transactions and reports - but also run consolidated reports. FE addresses all of our finance and accounting with the exception of payroll and student billing.
Read Regina Robinson's full review
Kim Howes profile photo
October 18, 2017

FE NXT - I'm a fan!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using FE NXT in our philanthropy department. It addresses the problem of our finance department not tracking project balances and expenditures.
Read Kim Howes's full review
Phil Sonnenberg profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge NXT is a cloud-based software that supports the general ledger accounting and reporting needs globally for our organization. It is user-friendly in the form of being accessible to users anywhere via multiple platforms. Prior to being cloud-based, this was not a possibility.
Read Phil Sonnenberg's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (9)
5.0
Direct deposit files (8)
5.2
Salary revision and increment management (6)
4.3
Reimbursement management (2)
6.2
API for custom integration (9)
8.0
Plug-ins (15)
5.9
Single sign-on capability (31)
7.4
Role-based user permissions (32)
6.3
Dashboards (31)
6.8
Standard reports (36)
6.9
Custom reports (35)
6.9
Accounts payable (37)
7.4
Accounts receivable (15)
6.6
Cash management (27)
7.2
Bank reconciliation (30)
7.1
Expense management (23)
7.3
Time tracking (6)
6.4
Fixed asset management (18)
7.3
Multi-currency support (6)
7.9
Multi-division support (14)
6.8
Regulations compliance (10)
7.7
Electronic tax filing (9)
5.6
Self-service portal (17)
8.3
Pricing (8)
6.1
Credit card processing (10)
5.0
Cost of goods sold (3)
1.5

About Financial Edge NXT

Financial Edge NXT is a cloud accounting solution from Blackbaud that is designed to provide transparency across teams, security, compliance, and reduce the need for manual processes. The system is a fund accounting solution that provides a general ledger, projects, grants, endowments, accounts payable and receivable, fixed assets, banking, and more.

This solution includes a personalized dashboard and customizable views. Financial Edge NXT enables users to closely monitor income statements, program-to-expense ratios, cash balances, and other key metrics. Financial Edge NXT offers real-time reporting, with one-click drill-down functionality and export capability, to enable data-driven decisions in real time.

The system allows users access to grant and project accounting that allows for streamlined management of budget, as well as a way to effectively monitor accounts and generate reports. The vendor’s value proposition is that by using Financial Edge NXT, nonprofits can reduce dependency on manual processes, thus improving data entry accuracy.

Financial Edge NXT Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features
Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Does not have featureTime tracking
Has featureFixed asset management
Does not have featureMulti-currency support
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal
Does not have featureGlobal Financial Support
Does not have featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Does not have featureIntercompany Accounting
Does not have featureLocalizations
Does not have featureJournals and Reconciliations
Does not have featureEnterprise Accounting
Does not have featureConfigurable Accounting
Does not have featureCentralized Rules Framework
Does not have featureStandardized Processes
Inventory Management Features
Does not have featureInventory tracking
Does not have featureAutomatic reordering
Does not have featureLocation management
Does not have featureManufacturing module
Order Management Features
Has featurePricing
Does not have featureOrder entry
Has featureCredit card processing
Has featureCost of goods sold
Does not have featureOrder Orchestration
Does not have featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Does not have featureOrder exception Resolution
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Customization Features
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Additional Features
Has featureCloud Based
Has featureManage advanced allocations within product
Has featureFlexible chart-of-accounts structure
Has featureProject, Grant and Endowment reporting comes standard

Financial Edge NXT Screenshots

Financial Edge NXT Integrations

PaperSave, BizNet Software, Advanced Budget Management, Paramount Workplace, Infor F9, Avid Exchage

Financial Edge NXT Competitors

Sage Intacct, Abila, Microsoft

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Financial Edge NXT Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Financial Edge NXT Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada
Supported Languages: English