Financial Edge NXT Reviews

91 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 38)

Tracy Spence | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge NXT is used mostly by our foundation staff. We use it as our main accounting software. We use Raisers Edge for recording contributions and then integrate them with Financial Edge. This process is very easy as long as all your accounts are set up correctly. We would like to soon make Financial Edge NXT available for all of our advancement staff and some of our project directors. The challenge in this is being able to easily limit access to only the individual’s projects.
Read Tracy Spence's full review
Brandon Mand | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work for a Foundation at a college and our whole department uses FENXT. We use it for all of our accounting needs other than Purchase Order management. We use it in conjunction with Raiser's Edge to keep track of all incoming and outgoing money and also to manage the active funds our organization has.
Read Brandon Mand's full review
Pamela Wittmayer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Blackbaud products for over 20 years and last fall we made the choice to upgrade to the cloud version for the entire school products. Upgrading to Financial Edge NXT was not the driver---the student information system was the driver---but we are reaping many benefits from the NXT environment. Since using Financial Edge NXT, we rarely utilize the database version as the majority of day-to-day activities can now be done in NXT.
The benefits it has provided have been faster access to the system and more efficiency in our business office. We can get things done more quickly with the NXT version.
Read Pamela Wittmayer's full review
Cindy Sheeks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FENXT is being used by myself and other users across the organization in place of the traditional database view to the extent that the functionality is available in NXT. It is used for vendor and payment lookup, account activity lookup, payment posting and processing. One item missing is full functionality of the purchase order module. As soon as it works, I will use NXT to issue POs. It is a very user-friendly version of FE. Much easier to train staff to use and recover the information they are looking for. It is menu driven and intuitive.
Read Cindy Sheeks's full review
Mecia Neverdon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge is being used by all employees in the Business Office. Department heads have view-only access to look at their budget reports. The view-only access is better than the reports we sent them because they have the ability to drill into transactions from the report.
Read Mecia Neverdon's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge NXT is our database for accounting. Only the Finance Department uses it. It stores all of our Vendors, Invoices, and Payment records. It processes all payments we issue, including Check Printing, EFTs, and Bank Drafts. We use it to reconcile accounts, as well as provide all financial reporting to both management and program staff at large.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as our accounting ERP system for General Ledger, Accounts Payable, and interface to Raisers Edge. It's used by the accounting department and it addresses most of our accounting-related transaction and reporting issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as much as we can for the accounting functions. It is being used by the Business Office only. I like that it's faster than FE and more user-friendly.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Downs | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2018

Financial Edge NXT

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FE NXT is being used by our accounting department as we try to migrate off of the client-server version to a SaaS environment. [It's being used by the] accounting department and some in IT with dashboards. NXT helps us eliminate using a Citrix environment for some of the FE use.
Read Michael Downs's full review
Marie Roake | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Failed implementation...

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Once implemented, it will be used organization-wide. We attempted to convert to Financial Edge NXT a year ago... unfortunately, we still have not converted even though we are paying for NXT. There were issues between host sites... Orange County moving to Boston... I was told that we could test NXT in the hosted environment prior to converting. Once our data was uploaded, I was then told that we could only test in FE on the cloud... not NXT until our live convert. In testing with FE, we found there is a huge lag in processing time as opposed to having the data processing locally. Because it had taken so long I was facing an audit and did not want to have to manage a software conversion during an audit... The final audit report just came back so now we can proceed to convert to NXT... Our development office went live on RENXT in July and find that the processing time is also painfully slow...
Read Marie Roake's full review
Stephen Forcey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2017

4c review of NXT

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Financial Edge NXT for high level review of transactions and attachment of accounts payable invoices. It is more efficient than the database version as far as drilling down and finding transactions. We only use the General Ledge and Accounts Payable currently.
Read Stephen Forcey's full review
Regina Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2017

Love FE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Financial Edge across our organization. We currently serve four entities (3 schools and our network), therefore, we run/track individual transactions and reports - but also run consolidated reports. FE addresses all of our finance and accounting with the exception of payroll and student billing.
Read Regina Robinson's full review
Kim Howes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2017

FE NXT - I'm a fan!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using FE NXT in our philanthropy department. It addresses the problem of our finance department not tracking project balances and expenditures.
Read Kim Howes's full review
Phil Sonnenberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge NXT is a cloud-based software that supports the general ledger accounting and reporting needs globally for our organization. It is user-friendly in the form of being accessible to users anywhere via multiple platforms. Prior to being cloud-based, this was not a possibility.
Read Phil Sonnenberg's full review
Kathy Carroll | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We decided to go from FE & RE to the new NXT products for several reasons. Development officers can now access it remotely; we can log in from anywhere, we can have campus-wide reporting made available without the need to change each computer, reporting has more flexibility and auto bank reconciliation to name a few.

We are new to NXT but have used Blackbaud for several years in our organization.
Read Kathy Carroll's full review
Rhonda Evans-McNeil,MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

Upgraded to great system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are making the migration from our accounting system first implemented in the 1990s. We started as a Smart Tuition customer, who they purchased over a year ago. We have implemented Raiser's Edge NXT and Financial Edge NXT. We are already experiencing better automation and have been able to go paperless with our accounts payables.
Read Rhonda Evans-McNeil,MBA's full review
Corrine Wachi | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

My NXT experience!

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it only in the business office. We had planned to use it to keep track of our accounting needs on a daily basis. Which would include reporting, accounts payable, accounts receivable, student billing, etc I can't answer the question of What business problems does it address.
Read Corrine Wachi's full review
Petra Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently Financial Edge (FE) NXT is being used exclusively by the finance department, but the plan is to roll-out departmental access to selected information. The plan is to allow department managers direct access to their current budget, expenses, etc., thus eliminating monthly reports and improving day-to-day financial planning. However, we are still in the implementation phases, and most of our staff are heavy users and are waiting for more functionality before they will make the switch.
Read Petra Hall's full review
Rosa Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

Tweetybird

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it through out the organization, but mainly accounting. All of the other departments uses it for entering their travel and creating requisitions for purchase orders. The CFO uses it for all of the financial reporting for the organization. I am new to using Blackbaud and still learning the system.
Read Rosa Scott's full review
Heidi Tabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial Edge NXT is being used by our accounting team for data entry, oversight, and reporting. We upgraded to NXT for both Financial Edge and Raiser's Edge to allow for easier access and reporting.
Read Heidi Tabat's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (9)
5.0
Direct deposit files (8)
5.2
Salary revision and increment management (6)
4.3
Reimbursement management (2)
6.2
API for custom integration (9)
8.0
Plug-ins (15)
6.2
Single sign-on capability (31)
7.5
Role-based user permissions (32)
6.0
Dashboards (31)
6.7
Standard reports (36)
6.9
Custom reports (35)
6.9
Accounts payable (37)
7.6
Accounts receivable (15)
6.8
Cash management (27)
7.3
Bank reconciliation (30)
7.1
Expense management (23)
7.2
Time tracking (6)
6.4
Fixed asset management (18)
7.5
Multi-currency support (6)
7.9
Multi-division support (14)
6.8
Regulations compliance (10)
7.7
Electronic tax filing (9)
5.5
Self-service portal (17)
8.4
Pricing (8)
6.4
Credit card processing (10)
4.4
Cost of goods sold (3)
1.4

About Financial Edge NXT

Financial Edge NXT is a cloud accounting solution from Blackbaud that is designed to provide transparency across teams, security, compliance, and reduce the need for manual processes. The system is a fund accounting solution that provides a general ledger, projects, grants, endowments, accounts payable and receivable, fixed assets, banking, and more.

This solution includes a personalized dashboard and customizable views. Financial Edge NXT enables users to closely monitor income statements, program-to-expense ratios, cash balances, and other key metrics. Financial Edge NXT offers real-time reporting, with one-click drill-down functionality and export capability, to enable data-driven decisions in real time.

The system allows users access to grant and project accounting that allows for streamlined management of budget, as well as a way to effectively monitor accounts and generate reports. The vendor’s value proposition is that by using Financial Edge NXT, nonprofits can reduce dependency on manual processes, thus improving data entry accuracy.

Financial Edge NXT Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features
Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Does not have featureTime tracking
Has featureFixed asset management
Does not have featureMulti-currency support
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal
Does not have featureGlobal Financial Support
Does not have featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Does not have featureIntercompany Accounting
Does not have featureLocalizations
Does not have featureJournals and Reconciliations
Does not have featureEnterprise Accounting
Does not have featureConfigurable Accounting
Does not have featureCentralized Rules Framework
Does not have featureStandardized Processes
Inventory Management Features
Does not have featureInventory tracking
Does not have featureAutomatic reordering
Does not have featureLocation management
Does not have featureManufacturing module
Order Management Features
Has featurePricing
Does not have featureOrder entry
Has featureCredit card processing
Has featureCost of goods sold
Does not have featureOrder Orchestration
Does not have featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Does not have featureOrder exception Resolution
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Customization Features
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Additional Features
Has featureCloud Based
Has featureManage advanced allocations within product
Has featureFlexible chart-of-accounts structure
Has featureProject, Grant and Endowment reporting comes standard

Financial Edge NXT Screenshots

Financial Edge NXT Integrations

PaperSave, BizNet Software, Advanced Budget Management, Paramount Workplace, Infor F9, Avid Exchage

Financial Edge NXT Competitors

Sage Intacct, Abila, Microsoft

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Financial Edge NXT Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Financial Edge NXT Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada
Supported Languages: English