TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGGainsight made our lives easier and happierWe are currently using Gainsight within Customer Success. We use it to automate some account processes such as renewals and contact management. We use the Rules Engine to generate Calls to Action for CSMs as well as make modifications to account records. We also use Gainsight to send mass communications and our NPS survey.,Gainsight makes reporting from various data sources very easy and intuitive. It is easy to generate reports on-the-fly and add visualization before publishing to a Dashboard. It is also easy to re-arrange data to make it faster to create reports or generate contact lists to use for outreaches. The Rules Engine is a powerful tool for generating Calls to Action as well as being able to update fields on account records. The Program function in Journey Orchestrator allows us to send a variety of email communications especially with multiple message variants and if we need to send follow-up emails automatically or create a Call to Action for the CSM. The shareable functions of Gainsight - Share 360, Success Plans - are really great features for being able to provide additional value to customers and provide them insights into their account and usage. Timeline is so much more robust than creating activities or tasks just within CRM. Timeline provides a way to track meetings and other events, add multiple participants, and even create follow-up tasks (CTAs). The Support from Gainsight as well as the Community has been very important to helping us get the result we want quickly.,It would be helpful to have more integration with email and calendar applications so that email could be sent from within Gainsight from any email within Email Assist (CTAs), or CSM calendars could sync to the Timeline function on the C360 view. Reporting is a great feature but it could be more aligned with how we can build datasets within Rules Engine or Program queries (bionic), allowing us to combine data from different sources without having to create a new data table to query. Folders, folders, folders - we build a lot of email templates, outreaches, and rules, and there is currently no way to organize these so it just becomes a giant list that has be queried to find the one item you want to work with.,9,9,We haven't fully developed Executive-level dashboard views but we are able to quickly give this visibility if needed as well as email reports as needed. There are some ideas for showing retention trends and forecasting that we'd like to explore soon.,We've seen the most improvement in efficiency. As a result, we've been able to hire fewer employees for certain positions in Customer Success. The Rules Engine in Gainsight has given us a way to quickly identify customers that might be having issues and require follow-up from CSMs proactively, whereas before we had no way other than being reactive. We've been able to reduce staff time on activities that can be automated allowing contributors more time for more proactive or difficult workflows.,We are integrated directly to Salesforce, which is bi-directional. Many of our other systems integrate with Salesforce, which we then pull into Gainsight. We've looked into possibly adding additional data sources into Gainsight - such as Jira and our data from our online community.,Yes,Yes,Support took the time to explain a difficult and less-than-well-documented feature of Gainsight. After resolution it was something that I could then much more easily use, understand, and explain to others so that we could replicate results. This happened in a similar way with another feature and I was given a great alternative that ultimately produced a much better result.The powerful tool that is GainsightWe use Gainsight primarily in Customer Success, although this has begun to branch into opportunities in Tech Support, Field Services, and Education Services. Our primary business problems Gainsight addresses are as follows: Process automationEmail automationMass communications to current customersDeliverable organization & reporting,Mass email automation. We have been able to better scale our business , while still engaging with customers, through the use of Gainsight. Process automation. I have been able to stay on top of our data and and efficiency goals via the use of Gainsight. We have also been able to add and improve some of our offerings via the capabilities of Gainsight.,Documentation. They have improved in the volume of documentation recently, but the search-ability and usability is still lacking. I know the features are there, but it is sometimes difficult to understand how to use them. Product Usability. Again, like documentation, the product is immense. I just wish it was more naturally intuitive. I like to compare software to the Apple platform. They are the pinnacle of user-friendly. I think Gainsight could learn a lot about the simple, yet powerful, framework of software like Apple's.,9,9,This is something of growing importance to us. Traditionally, this has not been something that we worried about, but our senior leaders have a growing interest. I feel that within the next year we will need to create and utilize processes to keep our executives aware of key accounts. I know that Gainsight has the tools to help us in this area.,We have increased our on-time renewal percentage year-over-year through automated renewal outreaches and other processes. This has also increased efficiency of our renewals team. We started offering executive business reviews in 2017 and Gainsight has given us the tools to deliver. Early feedback from customers is immensely positive in this area. Our NPS survey implementation has offered us our first real, unfiltered feedback from customers. It also gave us a short list of advocates that we could leverage for our Marketing and Sales teams.,Bullhorn,We also connect Pendo and Amazon S3. These are new integrations for us, so we are still learning here. We also send Gainsight info to DOMO for some advanced dashboards (which works great)!,60,3,Scalability Creative Insights Proactive Outreach,Share internal data and customer information directly with customers Increase scale of accounts per CSM through automation,Advanced automated onboarding Sales staff awareness Easy access to customer information via Slack,10,Calendly,No,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,I wouldn’t. We got the right product and are paying a fair price.,Implemented in-house,Poor buy-in from our organization Wrong person assigned to the job internally,7,Yes,Yes,Gainsight has a practice of alerting me when a bug MAY have impacted my account. They proactively reach out and let me know about the situation and offer to investigate for me. No pressure or work on my end. Then they report back with the impact and we take action together. This is amazing and something I greatly value.,Cockpit Surveys Rules,Journey Orchestrator Scorecards C360 Setup,Yes,8Keep your fingers on the pulse of your customers with GainsightGainsight operationalizes the customer experience consistently across the Ceridian North American customer base. Customer success resources proactively engage customers based on calls to action from Gainsight. It also captures the “pulse” of the customer to objectively reflect a customer status assessment based on a large variety of factors. This information allows Ceridian to take the right action to deeply engage customers and correct situations that need special attention. Unlike reactionary support solutions, Gainsight is used proactively to keep customers successful before they go “off track”.Gainsight is a critical component to the company technology stack that drives the activities of the award-winning Ceridian XOXO Customer Success program activities. It draws from Salesforce and many other systems to distill critical information for the users and management about the Ceridian Customer base. It also feeds other solutions with the real-time customer sentiment so they can be engaged accordingly.Without the scalable operationalization of the CX NPS will suffer. Gainsight allows team members to deliver a consistent great CX!,Gainsight provides a large team with a consistent playbook of tasks that result in a consistent operationalized customer experience. IF an organization is seeking the same high quality experience for customers from Toronto to Tempe they will appreciate the calls to action that present tasks for their team members and the dashboards that allow the team management to have insight into the programs success. Along with a phenomenal product, the Gainsight team members are great business partners for success. From the regular meetings to share best practices to the partnering to integrate their solution with others, they are great business partners. Gainsight delivers on its product road map. If you have an opportunity, watch a Karl Rumelhart product road map presentation to see the direction of Customer Success!,I'd recommend new Gainsight users keep initial configurations simple to allow focus and faster ROI. Many users, my own instance included can grow quickly to try to accomplish too much. Controlled quality growth, and product configuration scope, would be a good mantra to keep in mind.,10,10,Annual Recurring Revenue is the most important success metric for a SaaS organization. Gainsight provides insight into the customer experience from a granular account level view to a high-level overall business segment view for the C-suite. Customer Success managers are prompted with individual account level tasks while more senior managers and executives incorporate dashboards into their weekly routines to have real-time insight into the accounts delivering the ARR.,Ceridian prides itself on delivering the best customer experience through the XOXO Customer Success program and the other customer facing departments. Ceridian is regularly recognized as an industry leader for customer success program value to the organization. This program would not be possible without Gainsight. Gainsight is used to proactively identify and take action on at risk accounts and this has given us a much better chance to save the account and reduce churn. Gainsight's ability to create a health score from several objective factors has allowed Ceridian to systematically identify potential reference customers who in turn engage prospects to drive additional revenues.,,Salesforce is tightly integrated with Gainsight to the point where our CSMs can spend a bulk of their time in Gainsight views without the need to go to SalesForce to complete what would be redundant tasks. Influitive's AdvocateHub is the customer-facing portal that allows customers to review and accept or decline opportunities that are mutually beneficial to the customers and to Ceridian. Based on their actions and sentiment Gainsight triggers calls to action to engage the customer with the award-winning XOXO CX.,60,2,New customer engagement NPS Survey follow up Reacting to customer advocacy activities Regular executive busienss reviews End of year assistance,Gainsight sentiment is consistently captured and that score is passed to Influitive's AdvocateHub solution to target the right opportunities to the right customers based on their current sentiment.,9,Influitive AdvocateHub, Upland RO Innovation,No,Gainsight has reached out to engage a wide variety of Ceridian team members to assist with their unique areas of business. For example, our NPS Survey team was interested in migrating to Gainsight's survey capabilities and the Gainsight team engaged them directly and answered their questions and coached them on best practices.,9Gainsight is Great!We needed to get a better understanding of churn in our organization, but also to get a better understanding of our customer base. Gainsight allows us to track customer satisfaction and create scorecards that help us work better with our customers. We can be more proactive than reactive to customer issues and concerns.,Calls to Action - When certain conditions are met that we have created, Gainsight will alert the proper personnel to take the next steps. Single pane of glass - Gainsight allows us to see everything about a customer in a single view, utilizing various graphs and easy to understand information. Communication - Gainsight allows us to reach out to all or specific segments of our customer base. We can send informational, marketing or surveys and track customer response over time.,Gainsight does not integrate well with all systems. Must have Salesforce to use Gainsight. Better documentation on integration or assistance. Gainsight can do a better job at ensuring their customers are utilizing the product to the best of their ability.,10,8,Visibility is extremely important as we need to be able to check the pulse of the customer at any given time. Gainsight allows us to create scorecards for customers so we can prioritize which customers may need some extra love. We can also review account management and how they are working with their customers to ensure renewals and outreach are being addressed.,We use Gainsight to improve retention by scoring our customers and prioritizing which ones we need to reach out to. Gainsight allows us to directly contact specific segments of our customer base so we can send different communications to the different tier levels we have. Gainsight allows us to see which customers are coming up for renewal and who we need to reach out to, to start the renewal process.,TotangoGainsight saves the Customer Success puzzleWe rolled out Gainsight across our entire Customer Success organization of 100+ Success Managers and leaders. We use it as the central source of truth for all customer health and activity, and reporting on both to executives across multiple departments. In short, if it doesn't happen in Gainsight, it doesn't happen. Day-to-day Success Managers use the Gainsight Cockpit to track their customer activity. We use a combination of automated and manual entries to surface activity and needs per customer. We've also begun integrating our Gainsight to pull insights from other solutions to track customer health and create tasks for our Success Managers.,Roll up reports across the entire organization to glean insights that can be sent to other departments. Track and triage big moments in a customer lifecycle. Create tasks for Success Managers to mitigate a customer heading down the path of churn.,The Reporting module is only intuitive if you have extensive training on it, not even for someone who works in the SaaS space or is a heavy user. Creating manual tasks within CTAs can be very time consuming. It is best if everything rolls of a Playbook. The email notifications come in - at best - a daily digest.,9,More than 100 people,Got a lot of work off spreadsheets and documents Moved things to a historical, reportable space Surfaced insights to reduce churn,Pendo.io,Reading the Reporting Dashboards Reading the cockpit,Creating reports Creating on-the-fly tasks within a CTA,No,7
Unspecified
Gainsight
318 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
318 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 176 of 318 Gainsight ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 176)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
John Applebaugh profile photo
December 01, 2018

Review: "Gainsight made our lives easier and happier"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight makes reporting from various data sources very easy and intuitive. It is easy to generate reports on-the-fly and add visualization before publishing to a Dashboard. It is also easy to re-arrange data to make it faster to create reports or generate contact lists to use for outreaches.
  • The Rules Engine is a powerful tool for generating Calls to Action as well as being able to update fields on account records.
  • The Program function in Journey Orchestrator allows us to send a variety of email communications especially with multiple message variants and if we need to send follow-up emails automatically or create a Call to Action for the CSM.
  • The shareable functions of Gainsight - Share 360, Success Plans - are really great features for being able to provide additional value to customers and provide them insights into their account and usage.
  • Timeline is so much more robust than creating activities or tasks just within CRM. Timeline provides a way to track meetings and other events, add multiple participants, and even create follow-up tasks (CTAs).
  • The Support from Gainsight as well as the Community has been very important to helping us get the result we want quickly.
  • It would be helpful to have more integration with email and calendar applications so that email could be sent from within Gainsight from any email within Email Assist (CTAs), or CSM calendars could sync to the Timeline function on the C360 view.
  • Reporting is a great feature but it could be more aligned with how we can build datasets within Rules Engine or Program queries (bionic), allowing us to combine data from different sources without having to create a new data table to query.
  • Folders, folders, folders - we build a lot of email templates, outreaches, and rules, and there is currently no way to organize these so it just becomes a giant list that has be queried to find the one item you want to work with.
Read John Applebaugh's full review
Ben Michael profile photo
November 30, 2018

User Review: "The powerful tool that is Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mass email automation. We have been able to better scale our business , while still engaging with customers, through the use of Gainsight.
  • Process automation. I have been able to stay on top of our data and and efficiency goals via the use of Gainsight. We have also been able to add and improve some of our offerings via the capabilities of Gainsight.
  • Documentation. They have improved in the volume of documentation recently, but the search-ability and usability is still lacking. I know the features are there, but it is sometimes difficult to understand how to use them.
  • Product Usability. Again, like documentation, the product is immense. I just wish it was more naturally intuitive. I like to compare software to the Apple platform. They are the pinnacle of user-friendly. I think Gainsight could learn a lot about the simple, yet powerful, framework of software like Apple's.
Read Ben Michael's full review
Carlos Gonzalez profile photo
November 29, 2018

Review: "Keep your fingers on the pulse of your customers with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight provides a large team with a consistent playbook of tasks that result in a consistent operationalized customer experience. IF an organization is seeking the same high quality experience for customers from Toronto to Tempe they will appreciate the calls to action that present tasks for their team members and the dashboards that allow the team management to have insight into the programs success.
  • Along with a phenomenal product, the Gainsight team members are great business partners for success. From the regular meetings to share best practices to the partnering to integrate their solution with others, they are great business partners.
  • Gainsight delivers on its product road map. If you have an opportunity, watch a Karl Rumelhart product road map presentation to see the direction of Customer Success!
  • I'd recommend new Gainsight users keep initial configurations simple to allow focus and faster ROI. Many users, my own instance included can grow quickly to try to accomplish too much. Controlled quality growth, and product configuration scope, would be a good mantra to keep in mind.
Read Carlos Gonzalez's full review
Joshua Tobiansky profile photo
October 17, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Calls to Action - When certain conditions are met that we have created, Gainsight will alert the proper personnel to take the next steps.
  • Single pane of glass - Gainsight allows us to see everything about a customer in a single view, utilizing various graphs and easy to understand information.
  • Communication - Gainsight allows us to reach out to all or specific segments of our customer base. We can send informational, marketing or surveys and track customer response over time.
  • Gainsight does not integrate well with all systems.
  • Must have Salesforce to use Gainsight.
  • Better documentation on integration or assistance.
  • Gainsight can do a better job at ensuring their customers are utilizing the product to the best of their ability.
Read Joshua Tobiansky's full review
Colin Burns profile photo
January 11, 2019

Review: "Gainsight saves the Customer Success puzzle"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Roll up reports across the entire organization to glean insights that can be sent to other departments.
  • Track and triage big moments in a customer lifecycle.
  • Create tasks for Success Managers to mitigate a customer heading down the path of churn.
  • The Reporting module is only intuitive if you have extensive training on it, not even for someone who works in the SaaS space or is a heavy user.
  • Creating manual tasks within CTAs can be very time consuming. It is best if everything rolls of a Playbook.
  • The email notifications come in - at best - a daily digest.
Read Colin Burns's full review
Jason Chan profile photo
January 09, 2019

User Review: "Gain productivity with Gainsight!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The cockpit function which uses the "Call to Action" function is really useful in ensuring we track engagement with all our clients
  • The health scores are useful to identify potential churns and we can take remedial actions to address them before the renewal date
  • The newly added timeline feature is useful for tracking key activities with clients
  • For the timeline feature, I wish there was a easy way to download a single report highlighting the key activities done with each client
Read Jason Chan's full review
Mark Peterson profile photo
September 04, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is by far the BEST CSM solution out there!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use UI. This makes it easy to onboard new CSM's to start using the tools and get them up to speed on their administrative processes
  • Having a holistic view of the customer makes conversations much easier by outlining everything we need to know about the customer in one view. This alone eliminates a large amount of time for our CSM's by not having to load multiple objects in SFDC
  • Rules engine/bionic rules. The possibilities are endless when you start diving into the power of bionic rules. Objects that were once unrelated can now have some sort of relation, and you can formulate extremely valuable data that used to take hours to pull into Excel.
  • Admin tab has lots of tabs and sub categories in each tab. If you don't spend a whole lot of time in a certain category then it can take a while to find the info you're looking to update/change
  • CTA updates. In our instance we use CTA's very heavily and we would like the ability to create rules that automatically update the status of a rule. Currently you can create rules to close a CTA but you cannot create a rule to change an open status to a different open status.
Read Mark Peterson's full review
Jen Molitor profile photo
September 04, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A great tool with amazing people"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Timeline - This is the BEST feature of Gainsight! There are multiple ways to allow your reps to track their engagements, all in a searchable fashion. This has been the ticket to increasing CSM adoption of the tool.
  • The people - Everyone I've engaged with at Gainsight has been outstanding! Everyone from sales to implementation to product to customer success has all been amazing!
  • Scorecard - Having a clear and consistent way to manage our customers' health has been beneficial throughout all levels of the organization.
  • Call to Actions - Setting up thresholds for when customers are at risk, and knowing why, has helped drive meaningful conversation with our customers.
  • The load times for many of the screens can be frustrating to end users. It's pulling real time reports so that is why the load times can be long, however CSMs get impatient quickly.
  • The survey tool is a bit clunky, although it's improved drastically over time.
Read Jen Molitor's full review
Anna Whitehouse profile photo
August 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight Sets Client Success Up for Success!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight helps managers monitor their employees' client interactions.
  • Gainsight enables our Client Success Directors to manage larger portfolios without letting clients slip through the cracks.
  • Tracking client health through Gainsight allows us to identify and address risk to mitigate churn.
  • The currency conversions found on the Customer 360 page that pulls in from SFDC have some inaccuracies.
  • Gainsight can't push data back to SFDC, so if you make an update in Gainsight, it will not be reflected in SFDC (with the exception of activities)
  • The Programs and Outreaches are not as easily controllable by the end-user (CSD) as they could be.
Read Anna Whitehouse's full review
Josh Daniels profile photo
August 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight enables CS teams to become more efficient!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight makes it very easy to set up rules to automate the CS process. Automation is key. It allows us to run rules daily without having to do anything manually.
  • Gainsight's reporting and dashboard make it very easy for CSMs to view their customer info in one spot, in a very efficient manner.
  • Gainsight's health score system is fantastic. It allows us to alter it whenever we feel that we need to and add as many metrics as we'd like.
  • An update to Gainsight's UI would be fantastic. I really like dashboards but they are very dull looking. An update to make reports more colourful would go a long way.
  • I'd like to see continued improvement of Gainsight's advanced outreach feature (automated emails). It worries me when I set an advanced outreach to trigger and then have no idea when it will trigger - sometimes it takes 2 minutes sometimes it takes 45 minutes, this causes a nervous feeling as I just have to wait and see if it deployed properly or not.
Read Josh Daniels's full review
Katie Baker profile photo
August 22, 2018

Review: "Setting my sights on a long future with Gainsight!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pushing 'to do' items out to our CSM team both by rules/filtering customer criteria or by uploading hand-picked lists of customers for special projects. Their Cockpit gives our CSMs a single place to go to see all of the action items for the day, week, etc. They can be grouped by type, due date or priority which allows each of our CSMs to customize their view and work how they work and prioritize best.
  • Dashboards are incredibly easy to build and allow management a visual insight into our customer data. Any data we can create a report on we can add to a dashboard. Global filters have been a HUGE addition, allowing us to quickly filter an entire dashboard by CSM or Team Manager with very little effort.
  • Gainsight's Timeline feature is a key component of our Gainsight usage. It was incredibly easy to roll out to our team initially and adoption has been great. The new Global timeline was a much needed addition which now allows us to see all timeline entries in one place and filter by CSM or account very easily.
  • Customer support is top notch! Their support platform allows us to very easily submit requests, track its status and email communication back and forth with the support team is quick and easy.
  • Workflow from an admin perspective leaves something to be desired. For example, creating a CTA for our CSMs so send to their customers requires access to 3 completely separate admin areas of Gainsight. 1. Journey Orchestrator to create the email template 2. Cockpit to create the playbook and 3. Rules Engine to actually create/send the CTA. This is a fairly simple task and one we do often, but the whole process seems disconnected.
  • Reporting on admin related data could also be a big improvement. The dashboards and tools to report on our customer data is great, but finding information to help me better manage/update our ongoing templates, rules, etc. is difficult.
Read Katie Baker's full review
Kevin Heraly profile photo
August 21, 2018

"Gainsight review - 300+ Client Success Manager group"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Support. We have required a lot of customization of the product and GS has always been responsive and helpful. This is true not only for product implementation, but also with technical barriers we've needed addressed over the years
  • The product reinforces a philosophy of putting the customer needs first, along with strengthening our own customer support. This has been very helpful in getting buy-in to our new approach, since every level of our technology mirrors the conversations leadership has with our CSMs about our focus.
  • It is always great to see a company continue to iterate on a product, and GS does a great job of listening to it's customers to help inform the direction of certain changes to the product. Their support pages are great, and the changes nearly always address specific needs we have as an organization
  • Editing records within GS instead of needing to consistently 'bounce' back into SF. The biggest example of this for us is with our 'trackers' we use on Opportunities. The ability to do in-line editing, or editing SF Opportunities right within this view would be such a huge lift for adoption and ease of use.
  • Reporting. There are certain limitations to the ways we can configure reports that don't give us the level of flexibility/visibility we're used to with standard SFDC reporting. I prefer to aesthetics and layouts of the GS reports and dashboards, but limitations force us to still rely on SFDC for a lot of things (inability to report of formula fields in a backend report for example)
  • User interface is starting to feel a little dated. With other software experiences updating and refreshing their UI, GS is running the risk of feeling out of date (example: the new Lightning UI from SF). Would love to see elements updated to allow for a more fluid experience bouncing between Lightning and GS
Read Kevin Heraly's full review
Christian Falkenberg profile photo
December 14, 2018

Gainsight: "Great tool for Customer Success Management - fun to use and administrate"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • All customer data in one place
  • Strong rules engine to automate stuff e.g. tech touch management
  • Easy administration
  • Usability
  • Good interface with Salesforce as CRM system
  • Some standard objects/functions are to static e.g. NPS feature - but you can always create your own views
  • No interface with other survey tool, but I heard this is on the roadmap
  • Sally Slack bot seems to be useless, at least for us. You get a faster summary by using C360 view
Read Christian Falkenberg's full review
Bill Phillips profile photo
December 10, 2018

User Review: "Gaining Momentum with Gainsight!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Prepares me from an executive perspective when I am about to enter into a client meeting and I can pull up the history on my mobile app. Everything including history is at my fingertips.
  • Dashboards that allow me to see what is going on in my portfolio and allows me to be proactive and get out of the rat race.
  • Share information internally and externally to hold everyone accountable and maintain transparency.
  • Success plans can be more pleasing to the eyes and user intuitive.
  • Email automation - however we are receiving this in the next month and am excited to leverage it with timelines!
  • Being able to enter CSM assessment from the timeline and show real time in the scorecard. I believe it is coming soon!
Read Bill Phillips's full review
Shawn Hilditch profile photo
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Become more proactive with your Customer Success Teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great at integrating data sources and creating dashboards and C360 pages to view information
  • Automating customer outreach and customer communication
  • Enables proactive outreach and responses to positive or negative trends in usage, support or financial data.
  • The ability to create joins between data tables (MDA) could be better, today it requires rules to supplement data
  • There are numerous ways to implement Gainsight objects, takes some learning to know which way will work best
Read Shawn Hilditch's full review
Garin Landry profile photo
December 07, 2018

Review: "Gainsight the tool the creates and help build cross-funtional Customer Success."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Derived a customer health score. Helps give visibility into every account in one place.
  • Pushes Proactive Calls to actions to the appropriate people to act one.
  • Pushes tech touch automation based on triggered events for the "long tail" customer segment.
  • The rule writing is not super intuitive. Would be nice to have it more of a click build that did not require so much technological administration of the tool.
  • Pulling in the basic customer data, and deriving a basic heath score should be more out of the box and simple to do so that customers can get value quicker without having to get services involved.
Read Garin Landry's full review
Jo-Anne Mann profile photo
November 30, 2018

Gainsight Review: "New user and happily getting acquainted with the system and its value"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to create strategic dashboards
  • Centralisation for accounts and a link with Salesforce
  • Reporting ability
  • Sometimes it appears a bit clunky - not sure if it is the volume of information or it's our system at fault
Read Jo-Anne Mann's full review
Eve Belanger profile photo
November 27, 2018

Review: "Gainsight Takes the Guessing out of Customer Success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Health Score 2.0 - being able to bring in data points from different technologies to gauge health of a customer and of our customer base
  • CS360 - A consolidated view into all important areas of an account - from contract details to health to usage stats
  • Timeline - Finally one place to capture notes pertaining to an account/customer.
  • Maintaining integrations, it can be tricky to pinpoint where an issue may lay (within the data coming in, within Gainsight, etc)
  • It would be great to have warnings - like say if a SFDC admin changes a field that we bring into Gainsight that could potentially break something - it would be nice to have a warning email notification
Read Eve Belanger's full review
James Whitehead profile photo
November 27, 2018

Review: "(Almost) One Year as the Gainsight Administrator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customization of tools. It's an extremely powerful tool to implement your client success operations strategy and increase retention.
  • Client support is very fast to respond to inquires.
  • The Gainsight Vault and Community are both instrumental in learning the platform and enhancing your strategy.
  • Gainsight has a very steep learning curve.
  • The unique terminology of Gainsight can be a bit opaque as to what a particular piece of data represents.
Read James Whitehead's full review
Jeff Saunders profile photo
November 27, 2018

User Review: "My insights start with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creates and manages CTAs for all your CSMs to plan their day/execute on your customer success engagement strategy.
  • Provides you with usage/engagement reporting on all of your customers.
  • Establishing segments within your customer base.
  • Helps power your customer lifecycle stages
  • Integrates well with usage data from external systems like RedShift, etc
  • Tough to pivot if something changes within the application
  • Not easy to implement if you aren't well versed in SFDC administration
Read Jeff Saunders's full review
Jen Jackson profile photo
September 17, 2018

User Review: "Gain more with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight's use of CTAs with daily reminders allow us to trust we are not missing the little things with our customers.
  • Gainsight gives you the ability to create health scores for customers that not only encompass systematic information but subjective customer temperatures as well. Giving you a true way to measure health.
  • Gainsight works well with our internal systems, so we are not adding more steps to our day-to-day routine.
  • I have not run into an area with usage where I think Gainsight is missing, however I am sure there are many more use cases beyond ours.
Read Jen Jackson's full review
Star Hofer profile photo
August 31, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • NPS and other surveys - the automation is fantastic.
  • Reporting! The report is really easy to use. I can whip up a report in a minute from scratch
  • Makes it easier to go to a central location to see all relevant information relating to a customer.
  • Email notification on actions or CTA could use some work. Notifying the person responsibile of the day's activities.
  • The ability to push email notifications into the application for visibility would be ideal. Today we can push it to Salesforce but those activities are tracked differently than calls and other check-ins.
Read Star Hofer's full review
Mark James profile photo
August 30, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is worthy of your attention!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows you to segment your customers and develop adoption plans for each.
  • Develop scorecards specific to how you manage your business allowing you to have a pulse on the overall health of your customers.
  • Access to dashboards to day to day use in evaluating results as well as a detailed report writer to extract data for more complicated reporting needs.
  • Gross and Net churn statistics are not part of any standard reporting elements
  • The system does not provide a standard process for incorporating annual contract escalators into the Asset value so the annual spend for a client remains the same from year to year unless manually modified. We were able to create a custom workaround.
Read Mark James's full review
Nanette Hartley profile photo
August 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight gives great snapshots and overviews, but suffers in detailed reporting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Calls to action - create calls to action based on changes in user data.
  • Email - emails can be automated based on rules in Gainsight to allow us to communicate based on user actions.
  • Analysis - looking at data is easier with the report builder and dashboards. No need to export data to analyze it.
  • Reporting is not as robust as it is in Excel - it is difficult to provide high-quality output for users.
  • Calculation - only certain calculations can be done with the imported data. We cannot generate the same reports we do weekly/monthly based on what is done in Excel because we cannot normalize data.
Read Nanette Hartley's full review
No photo available
January 10, 2019

Review: "Gainsight is a solid tool for everything customer success and beyond!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Communication: Gainsight makes it really easy to track emails sent through the system in one place.
  • Process: We can hold our people accountable with CTAs.
  • Survey/NPS: Gainsight makes it really easy to create/track surveys. We never really surveyed our clients like this and it's nice how it is tied to each account.
  • Health Score Cards: We're able to set up parameters on what is a "healthy" client, which is very helpful.
  • Journey Orchestrator: The UI for creating emails is painful and very outdated.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (126)
8.3
API (94)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (161)
9.4
Integration with Marketo (41)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (155)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (128)
8.2
NPS surveys (132)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (128)
8.4
Customer profiles (154)
9.1
Automated workflow (167)
8.4
Internal collaboration (153)
8.3
Customer health scoring (167)
9.6
Customer segmentation (142)
9.3
Customer health trends (158)
9.3
Engagement analytics (138)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (85)
9.2
Dashboards (166)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Based on a per user/per month model.

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android