TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGGainsight helps us know when our customers need help before our customers know they need helpWe use Gainsight to help onboard new CS reps, which in turn helps them onboard new customers. We also have connected GS with Mixpanel to bring in customer metrics from our product, and help understand our customers understanding of the product, and where they need additional help. With the health score we can also indicate, and be proactive about, preventing churn.,Customer health score, which basically models how well your customers understand, and drive value, from your product. CTAs, which you can trigger to your CS team in order to help them proactively reach out. MDA, which flattens your objects across Salesforce, Marketo, Mixpanel....etc and let's you create rules (or flows) to trigger different events and field updates.,The user interface needs some work, for example, when you're creating a rule, sometimes you hit "next", but sometimes you have to click on the next number in order to progress. It's a bit wonky. Maybe create out of the box reports that can help admins show the value of GS with the exec team.,9,10,Yea one of my recommendations is a templated dashboard to start with so that we could edit it to have a re-occurring dashboard sent to the exec team. I don't think they see the full value.,New CS reps are more easily onboarded, because they can follow CTAs while onboarding, and helping, customers. This in turn has had a positive impact of retention and NPS. GS helps us visualize product usage that is easily associated with data from SF, like Contacts and Accounts. We feel like we have a pretty good model that indicates churn risk 2 months in advance, so that we can be proactive and outreach before they cancel.,,Mixpanel feeds GS with product activity, and SF feeds GS with marketing / sales / account activity. Both integrations are very easy.Great tool!We use Gainsight to manage our customer relationships and our customer's lifecycle post-sale up to and through renewal.,Scorecards Reporting Documentation of customer interactions,N/A,9,9,Gainsight gives executives visibility into how customers are performing, who's at risk of canceling, and where product improvements or enhancements could help the overall customer base.,Identify more advocates Increased NPS scores Improved retention ratesGainsight made our lives easier and happierWe are currently using Gainsight within Customer Success. We use it to automate some account processes such as renewals and contact management. We use the Rules Engine to generate Calls to Action for CSMs as well as make modifications to account records. We also use Gainsight to send mass communications and our NPS survey.,Gainsight makes reporting from various data sources very easy and intuitive. It is easy to generate reports on-the-fly and add visualization before publishing to a Dashboard. It is also easy to re-arrange data to make it faster to create reports or generate contact lists to use for outreaches. The Rules Engine is a powerful tool for generating Calls to Action as well as being able to update fields on account records. The Program function in Journey Orchestrator allows us to send a variety of email communications especially with multiple message variants and if we need to send follow-up emails automatically or create a Call to Action for the CSM. The shareable functions of Gainsight - Share 360, Success Plans - are really great features for being able to provide additional value to customers and provide them insights into their account and usage. Timeline is so much more robust than creating activities or tasks just within CRM. Timeline provides a way to track meetings and other events, add multiple participants, and even create follow-up tasks (CTAs). The Support from Gainsight as well as the Community has been very important to helping us get the result we want quickly.,It would be helpful to have more integration with email and calendar applications so that email could be sent from within Gainsight from any email within Email Assist (CTAs), or CSM calendars could sync to the Timeline function on the C360 view. Reporting is a great feature but it could be more aligned with how we can build datasets within Rules Engine or Program queries (bionic), allowing us to combine data from different sources without having to create a new data table to query. Folders, folders, folders - we build a lot of email templates, outreaches, and rules, and there is currently no way to organize these so it just becomes a giant list that has be queried to find the one item you want to work with.,9,9,We haven't fully developed Executive-level dashboard views but we are able to quickly give this visibility if needed as well as email reports as needed. There are some ideas for showing retention trends and forecasting that we'd like to explore soon.,We've seen the most improvement in efficiency. As a result, we've been able to hire fewer employees for certain positions in Customer Success. The Rules Engine in Gainsight has given us a way to quickly identify customers that might be having issues and require follow-up from CSMs proactively, whereas before we had no way other than being reactive. We've been able to reduce staff time on activities that can be automated allowing contributors more time for more proactive or difficult workflows.,We are integrated directly to Salesforce, which is bi-directional. Many of our other systems integrate with Salesforce, which we then pull into Gainsight. We've looked into possibly adding additional data sources into Gainsight - such as Jira and our data from our online community.,Yes,Yes,Support took the time to explain a difficult and less-than-well-documented feature of Gainsight. After resolution it was something that I could then much more easily use, understand, and explain to others so that we could replicate results. This happened in a similar way with another feature and I was given a great alternative that ultimately produced a much better result.The powerful tool that is GainsightWe use Gainsight primarily in Customer Success, although this has begun to branch into opportunities in Tech Support, Field Services, and Education Services. Our primary business problems Gainsight addresses are as follows: Process automationEmail automationMass communications to current customersDeliverable organization & reporting,Mass email automation. We have been able to better scale our business , while still engaging with customers, through the use of Gainsight. Process automation. I have been able to stay on top of our data and and efficiency goals via the use of Gainsight. We have also been able to add and improve some of our offerings via the capabilities of Gainsight.,Documentation. They have improved in the volume of documentation recently, but the search-ability and usability is still lacking. I know the features are there, but it is sometimes difficult to understand how to use them. Product Usability. Again, like documentation, the product is immense. I just wish it was more naturally intuitive. I like to compare software to the Apple platform. They are the pinnacle of user-friendly. I think Gainsight could learn a lot about the simple, yet powerful, framework of software like Apple's.,9,9,This is something of growing importance to us. Traditionally, this has not been something that we worried about, but our senior leaders have a growing interest. I feel that within the next year we will need to create and utilize processes to keep our executives aware of key accounts. I know that Gainsight has the tools to help us in this area.,We have increased our on-time renewal percentage year-over-year through automated renewal outreaches and other processes. This has also increased efficiency of our renewals team. We started offering executive business reviews in 2017 and Gainsight has given us the tools to deliver. Early feedback from customers is immensely positive in this area. Our NPS survey implementation has offered us our first real, unfiltered feedback from customers. It also gave us a short list of advocates that we could leverage for our Marketing and Sales teams.,Bullhorn,We also connect Pendo and Amazon S3. These are new integrations for us, so we are still learning here. We also send Gainsight info to DOMO for some advanced dashboards (which works great)!,60,3,Scalability Creative Insights Proactive Outreach,Share internal data and customer information directly with customers Increase scale of accounts per CSM through automation,Advanced automated onboarding Sales staff awareness Easy access to customer information via Slack,10,Calendly,No,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,I wouldn’t. We got the right product and are paying a fair price.,Implemented in-house,Poor buy-in from our organization Wrong person assigned to the job internally,7,Yes,Yes,Gainsight has a practice of alerting me when a bug MAY have impacted my account. They proactively reach out and let me know about the situation and offer to investigate for me. No pressure or work on my end. Then they report back with the impact and we take action together. This is amazing and something I greatly value.,Cockpit Surveys Rules,Journey Orchestrator Scorecards C360 Setup,Yes,8Keep your fingers on the pulse of your customers with GainsightGainsight operationalizes the customer experience consistently across the Ceridian North American customer base. Customer success resources proactively engage customers based on calls to action from Gainsight. It also captures the “pulse” of the customer to objectively reflect a customer status assessment based on a large variety of factors. This information allows Ceridian to take the right action to deeply engage customers and correct situations that need special attention. Unlike reactionary support solutions, Gainsight is used proactively to keep customers successful before they go “off track”.Gainsight is a critical component to the company technology stack that drives the activities of the award-winning Ceridian XOXO Customer Success program activities. It draws from Salesforce and many other systems to distill critical information for the users and management about the Ceridian Customer base. It also feeds other solutions with the real-time customer sentiment so they can be engaged accordingly.Without the scalable operationalization of the CX NPS will suffer. Gainsight allows team members to deliver a consistent great CX!,Gainsight provides a large team with a consistent playbook of tasks that result in a consistent operationalized customer experience. IF an organization is seeking the same high quality experience for customers from Toronto to Tempe they will appreciate the calls to action that present tasks for their team members and the dashboards that allow the team management to have insight into the programs success. Along with a phenomenal product, the Gainsight team members are great business partners for success. From the regular meetings to share best practices to the partnering to integrate their solution with others, they are great business partners. Gainsight delivers on its product road map. If you have an opportunity, watch a Karl Rumelhart product road map presentation to see the direction of Customer Success!,I'd recommend new Gainsight users keep initial configurations simple to allow focus and faster ROI. Many users, my own instance included can grow quickly to try to accomplish too much. Controlled quality growth, and product configuration scope, would be a good mantra to keep in mind.,10,10,Annual Recurring Revenue is the most important success metric for a SaaS organization. Gainsight provides insight into the customer experience from a granular account level view to a high-level overall business segment view for the C-suite. Customer Success managers are prompted with individual account level tasks while more senior managers and executives incorporate dashboards into their weekly routines to have real-time insight into the accounts delivering the ARR.,Ceridian prides itself on delivering the best customer experience through the XOXO Customer Success program and the other customer facing departments. Ceridian is regularly recognized as an industry leader for customer success program value to the organization. This program would not be possible without Gainsight. Gainsight is used to proactively identify and take action on at risk accounts and this has given us a much better chance to save the account and reduce churn. Gainsight's ability to create a health score from several objective factors has allowed Ceridian to systematically identify potential reference customers who in turn engage prospects to drive additional revenues.,,Salesforce is tightly integrated with Gainsight to the point where our CSMs can spend a bulk of their time in Gainsight views without the need to go to SalesForce to complete what would be redundant tasks. Influitive's AdvocateHub is the customer-facing portal that allows customers to review and accept or decline opportunities that are mutually beneficial to the customers and to Ceridian. Based on their actions and sentiment Gainsight triggers calls to action to engage the customer with the award-winning XOXO CX.,60,2,New customer engagement NPS Survey follow up Reacting to customer advocacy activities Regular executive busienss reviews End of year assistance,Gainsight sentiment is consistently captured and that score is passed to Influitive's AdvocateHub solution to target the right opportunities to the right customers based on their current sentiment.,9,Influitive AdvocateHub, Upland RO Innovation,No,Gainsight has reached out to engage a wide variety of Ceridian team members to assist with their unique areas of business. For example, our NPS Survey team was interested in migrating to Gainsight's survey capabilities and the Gainsight team engaged them directly and answered their questions and coached them on best practices.,9
Unspecified
Gainsight
330 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
330 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 183 of 330 Gainsight ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 183)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
✔Robert Riegel profile photo
February 13, 2019

Review: "Gainsight helps us know when our customers need help before our customers know they need help"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer health score, which basically models how well your customers understand, and drive value, from your product.
  • CTAs, which you can trigger to your CS team in order to help them proactively reach out.
  • MDA, which flattens your objects across Salesforce, Marketo, Mixpanel....etc and let's you create rules (or flows) to trigger different events and field updates.
  • The user interface needs some work, for example, when you're creating a rule, sometimes you hit "next", but sometimes you have to click on the next number in order to progress. It's a bit wonky.
  • Maybe create out of the box reports that can help admins show the value of GS with the exec team.
Read ✔Robert Riegel's full review
John Applebaugh profile photo
December 01, 2018

Review: "Gainsight made our lives easier and happier"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight makes reporting from various data sources very easy and intuitive. It is easy to generate reports on-the-fly and add visualization before publishing to a Dashboard. It is also easy to re-arrange data to make it faster to create reports or generate contact lists to use for outreaches.
  • The Rules Engine is a powerful tool for generating Calls to Action as well as being able to update fields on account records.
  • The Program function in Journey Orchestrator allows us to send a variety of email communications especially with multiple message variants and if we need to send follow-up emails automatically or create a Call to Action for the CSM.
  • The shareable functions of Gainsight - Share 360, Success Plans - are really great features for being able to provide additional value to customers and provide them insights into their account and usage.
  • Timeline is so much more robust than creating activities or tasks just within CRM. Timeline provides a way to track meetings and other events, add multiple participants, and even create follow-up tasks (CTAs).
  • The Support from Gainsight as well as the Community has been very important to helping us get the result we want quickly.
  • It would be helpful to have more integration with email and calendar applications so that email could be sent from within Gainsight from any email within Email Assist (CTAs), or CSM calendars could sync to the Timeline function on the C360 view.
  • Reporting is a great feature but it could be more aligned with how we can build datasets within Rules Engine or Program queries (bionic), allowing us to combine data from different sources without having to create a new data table to query.
  • Folders, folders, folders - we build a lot of email templates, outreaches, and rules, and there is currently no way to organize these so it just becomes a giant list that has be queried to find the one item you want to work with.
Read John Applebaugh's full review
Ben Michael profile photo
November 30, 2018

User Review: "The powerful tool that is Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mass email automation. We have been able to better scale our business , while still engaging with customers, through the use of Gainsight.
  • Process automation. I have been able to stay on top of our data and and efficiency goals via the use of Gainsight. We have also been able to add and improve some of our offerings via the capabilities of Gainsight.
  • Documentation. They have improved in the volume of documentation recently, but the search-ability and usability is still lacking. I know the features are there, but it is sometimes difficult to understand how to use them.
  • Product Usability. Again, like documentation, the product is immense. I just wish it was more naturally intuitive. I like to compare software to the Apple platform. They are the pinnacle of user-friendly. I think Gainsight could learn a lot about the simple, yet powerful, framework of software like Apple's.
Read Ben Michael's full review
Carlos Gonzalez profile photo
November 29, 2018

Review: "Keep your fingers on the pulse of your customers with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight provides a large team with a consistent playbook of tasks that result in a consistent operationalized customer experience. IF an organization is seeking the same high quality experience for customers from Toronto to Tempe they will appreciate the calls to action that present tasks for their team members and the dashboards that allow the team management to have insight into the programs success.
  • Along with a phenomenal product, the Gainsight team members are great business partners for success. From the regular meetings to share best practices to the partnering to integrate their solution with others, they are great business partners.
  • Gainsight delivers on its product road map. If you have an opportunity, watch a Karl Rumelhart product road map presentation to see the direction of Customer Success!
  • I'd recommend new Gainsight users keep initial configurations simple to allow focus and faster ROI. Many users, my own instance included can grow quickly to try to accomplish too much. Controlled quality growth, and product configuration scope, would be a good mantra to keep in mind.
Read Carlos Gonzalez's full review
Penny Ashley-Lawrence profile photo
February 18, 2019

User Review: "One of Gainsight's biggest fans!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The genius behind Gainsight is the rules engine. We pump in the usage data, along with customer information and create "if this then that" rules. The rules are very powerful and I've yet to run into something that was not possible.
  • Gainsight offers a lot of flexibility in the creation of manual CTAs, and this allows us to use to track risk and service disruptions.
  • Gainsight is a powerful platform that integrates well with other tools we use or plan to use.
  • Gainsight is not an analytics tool, but it could be. Typically, I download reports and manipulate it myself.
  • I also wish non-admins had the power to create their own reports.
Read Penny Ashley-Lawrence's full review
Lauren Marsh profile photo
February 12, 2019

User Review: "Gainsight: I dig it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Rules engine & Journey Orchestrator are great
  • UI is easy on the eyes
  • Dynamic reports are helpful
  • Error messages are actionable
  • Bringing in data from our product is working well
  • 360 takes too long to load.
  • Journey Orchestra has to be cloned and can't be edited once created. would be easier to be able to make edits in existing programs.
  • would like to add a new Customer Status in addition to active, inactive, churn.
Read Lauren Marsh's full review
Colin Burns profile photo
January 11, 2019

Review: "Gainsight saves the Customer Success puzzle"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Roll up reports across the entire organization to glean insights that can be sent to other departments.
  • Track and triage big moments in a customer lifecycle.
  • Create tasks for Success Managers to mitigate a customer heading down the path of churn.
  • The Reporting module is only intuitive if you have extensive training on it, not even for someone who works in the SaaS space or is a heavy user.
  • Creating manual tasks within CTAs can be very time consuming. It is best if everything rolls of a Playbook.
  • The email notifications come in - at best - a daily digest.
Read Colin Burns's full review
Jason Chan profile photo
January 09, 2019

User Review: "Gain productivity with Gainsight!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The cockpit function which uses the "Call to Action" function is really useful in ensuring we track engagement with all our clients
  • The health scores are useful to identify potential churns and we can take remedial actions to address them before the renewal date
  • The newly added timeline feature is useful for tracking key activities with clients
  • For the timeline feature, I wish there was a easy way to download a single report highlighting the key activities done with each client
Read Jason Chan's full review
Christian Falkenberg profile photo
December 14, 2018

Gainsight: "Great tool for Customer Success Management - fun to use and administrate"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • All customer data in one place
  • Strong rules engine to automate stuff e.g. tech touch management
  • Easy administration
  • Usability
  • Good interface with Salesforce as CRM system
  • Some standard objects/functions are to static e.g. NPS feature - but you can always create your own views
  • No interface with other survey tool, but I heard this is on the roadmap
  • Sally Slack bot seems to be useless, at least for us. You get a faster summary by using C360 view
Read Christian Falkenberg's full review
Bill Phillips profile photo
December 10, 2018

User Review: "Gaining Momentum with Gainsight!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Prepares me from an executive perspective when I am about to enter into a client meeting and I can pull up the history on my mobile app. Everything including history is at my fingertips.
  • Dashboards that allow me to see what is going on in my portfolio and allows me to be proactive and get out of the rat race.
  • Share information internally and externally to hold everyone accountable and maintain transparency.
  • Success plans can be more pleasing to the eyes and user intuitive.
  • Email automation - however we are receiving this in the next month and am excited to leverage it with timelines!
  • Being able to enter CSM assessment from the timeline and show real time in the scorecard. I believe it is coming soon!
Read Bill Phillips's full review
Shawn Hilditch profile photo
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Become more proactive with your Customer Success Teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great at integrating data sources and creating dashboards and C360 pages to view information
  • Automating customer outreach and customer communication
  • Enables proactive outreach and responses to positive or negative trends in usage, support or financial data.
  • The ability to create joins between data tables (MDA) could be better, today it requires rules to supplement data
  • There are numerous ways to implement Gainsight objects, takes some learning to know which way will work best
Read Shawn Hilditch's full review
Garin Landry profile photo
December 07, 2018

Review: "Gainsight the tool the creates and help build cross-funtional Customer Success."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Derived a customer health score. Helps give visibility into every account in one place.
  • Pushes Proactive Calls to actions to the appropriate people to act one.
  • Pushes tech touch automation based on triggered events for the "long tail" customer segment.
  • The rule writing is not super intuitive. Would be nice to have it more of a click build that did not require so much technological administration of the tool.
  • Pulling in the basic customer data, and deriving a basic heath score should be more out of the box and simple to do so that customers can get value quicker without having to get services involved.
Read Garin Landry's full review
Jo-Anne Mann profile photo
November 30, 2018

Gainsight Review: "New user and happily getting acquainted with the system and its value"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to create strategic dashboards
  • Centralisation for accounts and a link with Salesforce
  • Reporting ability
  • Sometimes it appears a bit clunky - not sure if it is the volume of information or it's our system at fault
Read Jo-Anne Mann's full review
Eve Belanger profile photo
November 27, 2018

Review: "Gainsight Takes the Guessing out of Customer Success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Health Score 2.0 - being able to bring in data points from different technologies to gauge health of a customer and of our customer base
  • CS360 - A consolidated view into all important areas of an account - from contract details to health to usage stats
  • Timeline - Finally one place to capture notes pertaining to an account/customer.
  • Maintaining integrations, it can be tricky to pinpoint where an issue may lay (within the data coming in, within Gainsight, etc)
  • It would be great to have warnings - like say if a SFDC admin changes a field that we bring into Gainsight that could potentially break something - it would be nice to have a warning email notification
Read Eve Belanger's full review
James Whitehead profile photo
November 27, 2018

Review: "(Almost) One Year as the Gainsight Administrator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customization of tools. It's an extremely powerful tool to implement your client success operations strategy and increase retention.
  • Client support is very fast to respond to inquires.
  • The Gainsight Vault and Community are both instrumental in learning the platform and enhancing your strategy.
  • Gainsight has a very steep learning curve.
  • The unique terminology of Gainsight can be a bit opaque as to what a particular piece of data represents.
Read James Whitehead's full review
Jeff Saunders profile photo
November 27, 2018

User Review: "My insights start with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creates and manages CTAs for all your CSMs to plan their day/execute on your customer success engagement strategy.
  • Provides you with usage/engagement reporting on all of your customers.
  • Establishing segments within your customer base.
  • Helps power your customer lifecycle stages
  • Integrates well with usage data from external systems like RedShift, etc
  • Tough to pivot if something changes within the application
  • Not easy to implement if you aren't well versed in SFDC administration
Read Jeff Saunders's full review
No photo available
April 17, 2019

Review: "Looking to increase your performance and customer relationships? Gainsight is for you!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to build specific dashboards for internal customers in the organizations.
  • Customer 360 is a great tool to provide a view about how a customer is doing within our company.
  • The NPS Survey is a great tool for any company that uses Gainsight.
  • The differences between MDA Objects and Data Spaces, these are not allowed to be interconnected, this should be possible.
  • Being able to create joined reports between objects in the report builder would be a great addition.
  • Provide more flexibility at the moment of creating reports from objects related to the NPS Survey, sometimes is hard.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 10, 2019

Review: "Gainsight is a solid tool for everything customer success and beyond!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Communication: Gainsight makes it really easy to track emails sent through the system in one place.
  • Process: We can hold our people accountable with CTAs.
  • Survey/NPS: Gainsight makes it really easy to create/track surveys. We never really surveyed our clients like this and it's nice how it is tied to each account.
  • Health Score Cards: We're able to set up parameters on what is a "healthy" client, which is very helpful.
  • Journey Orchestrator: The UI for creating emails is painful and very outdated.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Go with the obvious market leader in customer success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • More and more prescriptive. They've invested a metric ton in a body of content that you can leverage inside your business to evangelize customer success as a stand-alone domain.
  • Forgiving services model. While structured around an SOW, they're flexible and focused on success.
  • Community. It's rare to see a company their size spend so much time on events, but it's a rewarding investment on their part and your part - you do meet and learn from the people who are good at this, and they do a great job facilitating.
  • Prescriptive business applications ecosystem. A point of view here, and content around that, would be a huge win.
  • Prescriptive career tracks. Given customer success is a new domain, a lot of the first generation came out of customer service. The new generation is coming from other places, and forging that ground is hard solo.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 27, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - Consolidated Customer Insights"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight does an excellent job of listening to product feedback given through their Community, implementing those changes when they determine they are a need for many customers, and then informing users that the changes have been implemented.
  • Gainsight is an excellent tool for automating lifecycle communications with customers while still maintaining a personalized touch, thereby allowing us to scale our operations.
  • Gainsight has a good lineup of integration options to allow us to bring all of our customer data into one place to have a unified customer record.
  • Gainsight could do a better job of allowing for one-off exceptions. It does a great job of helping to address the needs of the majority of our customers, but when one customer's needs create a special use case, it is rather difficult to make adjustments for that one customer.
  • Editing programs created through the Journey Orchestrator is very difficult. Sometimes we need to make a small change to the criteria of a program after we have already started running it, but we can't do this without ending the program, cloning it, and starting an entirely new program.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2019

Gainsight Review: "Great tool for account managers and client success managers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visual -- at a glance you can get a complete snapshot of the account: their usage, activity, and how likely they are to churn. This provides opportunities for proactive outreach.
  • CTAs -- a very well designed system that allows you to create CTAs around renewal dates, data usage, survey responses, and prospect outreach.
  • Automation -- Gainsight allows you to send out automated emails based on a client's usage. It allows you to customize several different features and review before sending, which is helpful for AMs when managing a large book of business.
  • No ability to filter CTAs by type.
  • Parameters for setting up automated emails can be restrictive at times.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2019

Review: "Gainsight is a thought leader and has the best software in the customer success space!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracking customer health and adoption and assessing customer risk
  • Communicating effectively to your customer base at a large scale
  • Creating success plans for each individual customer
  • The relationships module is not fully developed and has not worked well for our organization
  • Reporting is powerful but can be a little clunky at times
  • Mass email communication had issues early on, but most have been fixed at this point
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (133)
8.2
API (98)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (168)
9.6
Integration with Marketo (43)
8.0
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (161)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (134)
8.0
NPS surveys (137)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (132)
8.2
Customer profiles (160)
9.2
Automated workflow (173)
8.4
Internal collaboration (159)
8.3
Customer health scoring (174)
9.6
Customer segmentation (148)
9.3
Customer health trends (164)
9.4
Engagement analytics (144)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (88)
9.2
Dashboards (173)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android