TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGLove GainsightOur Customer Success is the primary user of Gainsight, using it to calculate and track our "Customer Adoption Scores". Other groups (Sales, Renewals) access Gainsight dashboards but don't actively use the software. Our Customer Success team also uses Gainsight to send out surveys.,Customer Success - Your EBR process, in particular, is really good. Customer scoring,Custom changes/reporting feel hard/expensive to do,9,Better customer service; Gainsight has been key in moving our renewal rates from 67% to 83%,Zendesk, ClarizenGainsight is a great product and a great company!We currently use it to help manage the customer lifecycle for all of our customers. Currently we use it across the customer success organization but are looking to give others access to continue to drive value from the product for our organization. The primary business problem it addresses is scaling the customer success team as the company and the customer base grows.,Aggregate data; it's easy to ignore this point, but for a small but swiftly growing company, it is very easy to begin to clutter and customize an SFDC instance to try to meet everyone's needs and asks. Gainsight removes this temptation and allows us to pull the date from where it lives and consume it via the slick Gainsight UI. Automation; the biggest add here is automating the frequency of customer interaction so that we as an organization can ensure consistency in approach and touch regardless of any variation in individual strengths amongst our team members. Reports 2.0; we're just scratching the surface here, but this utility picks up where SFDC reports end and fills in a lot of gaps that we've struggled with in leveraging the available date into meaningful reports and dashboards.,None - with a little guidance, the tool is very straightforward to set up and administer. Furthermore, our users love it.,10,Increased efficiency More consistent customer interaction and experience Greater visibility and insight into customer health,,6 to 10 peopleGainsight does allow you to gain insight into your customers - appropriate name!Gainsight is currently used by our CSM team to manage account CTAs, to get insight on contract and feature usage, as well as to prep for customer meetings. Using Gainisight has allowed CSMs to gain access to data which was previously held in three different systems. Our consultant team also have started working with Gainsight to monitor the onboarding of new customers. We are also exploring new avenues of use with our marketing team.,Allows you to gain new insight into customer behaviours and patterns to help identify healthy accounts vs. accounts at risk. Allows you to combine data from multiple data sources and presents this in one place which makes it easy for CSMs to prepare for customer meetings. Through the use of Gainsight's rules engine, you can monitor all your customers on a regular basis automatically. In other words, you have a tool / rule which combs through the data for you.,Gainsight does not help analyse the data, but rather helps to present it. There could be some improvements made on the analytics side - as any analytics will require input / logic from the end user.,8,Gainsight has helped our customers achieve their business outcomes - by monitoring the on-boarding process can we see which customers are struggling early and therefore take timely remedial action. Gainsight has reduced the time it takes for our CSMs to prep for customer meetings by accessing all data in one place - on the Customer 360 view.,Preact,1 to 5 peopleGainsight is GreatWe currently use Gainsight to manage a book of business. We focus on the healthcare industry and our accounts are different medical offices/corporations. We use data that will trigger product usage and based on the CTA that fires we act accordingly to help individual practices grow their businesses by cutting back on financing charges.,Allows for our company to tier our accounts based on specific measures that we set. We can track individual CSM goals and monthly/quarterly numbers. Keeps data organized and very navigational.,Very hard to find past notes on old cta's.,7,Better customer service. Ability to track personal metrics.,11 to 25 peopleGainMoreSight into your clientsProcore currently utilizes Gainsight within our customer success organization. Implementation has been on the slower side, but we are now beginning to see the value of the software. We strive on time to first value with our clients and think Gainsight will ultimately help us pull the right levers at the right time to ensure our clients are successful. For our large existing customer base, Gainsight will play a crucial role to notify us of what we deem are important events, all in an automated fashion.,Native Salesforce app! If it's not in Salesforce, it doesn't exist! Thought leader in Customer Success. Powerful feature set.,Implementation: Gainsight has a large team and sometimes it seems like you have to speak with 2-3 people to get an answer. Ease of use: Gainsight could be more intuitive.,8,We fully expect to have a positive impact across our team, but are still working through implementation to get there.,ClientSuccess,26 to 50 peopleGainsight review from a new AdministratorMy organization is utilizing Gainsight within our Customer Success, Sales (Renewal), and Executive Teams. We leverage its functionality to prioritize opportunities and tasks, balance workload, track high-value conversations and success plans, and collaborate on at risk customers.,Provides one interface to leverage information from various systems, such as Salesforce, Zendesk, and our product usage data. Automates the workflow for our Customer Success Team. Allows us to create customized Calls To Action, reports, dashboards, etc. to meet the needs of all teams who are utilizing it.,While Gainsight is quite intuitive for the end user, it can be challenging from an administrator perspective. We have had some challenges with our product usage data. Gainsight support has been wonderful to work with in trying to resolve the issue, but this has been an ongoing challenge.,9,We've benefited from increased employee efficiency due to the insight in one dashboard. Tracking of high-value conversations in one central area has allowed our team to continue to deliver great customer service, regardless of the number of customer service managers an account has had over the customer lifecycle or the varying employees that interact with them.,Preact and Totango,6 to 10 peopleGo get Gainsight now!Gainsight is used by the Client Success, Sales, Marketing, Product and Executive teams to monitor the health of our global client base. It helps us to see all interactions and information about each client: logins, support tickets, product adoption, etc.,Great Customer Support Easy to Use UI Great Training Materials Simple to Understand Data,10,Better renewal rates Increased upsells Better visibility into health,Totango and BlueNose,11 to 25 people,35,3,Monitoring our Clients' usage of our UI. Tracking "Milestones" with our Clients. Using Health Scores / "Scorecards" to proactively communicate with Clients. Leveraging their survey tool for NPS Surveys. Using "Co-Pilot" to send our automated emails throughout the Client Lifecycle.,We now run our "Code Red" meeting out of Gainsight.,10,Implemented in-house,10,Yes,We had an issue with sending out our NPS survey, which coincided with Salesforce's Winter Release and the Gainsight team was very helpful in resolving our issue and ultimately ensuring that our survey went out properly.,10Tracking Customer Touchpoints made easyGainsight is being used only by the account management department. It tracks post launch touch points, NPS, and some usage.,Cockpit CTA tracking NPS visibility,5,Reporting to customers on our work with them,Salesforce Service Cloud, HubSpot, HubSpot CRM,1 to 5 peopleGainsight Increases Efficacy of CS OrganizationGainsight is a crucial component of Client Success and Sales organizations. Serving as a central hub where any member of any team can get tabs on the current status and health of an account, Gainsight has increased the efficacy of the way we do business.,NPS Score - Makes it very easy to see health of an account at a glance. Chatter Feed - Allows for a centralized way to keep up with all accounts you follow.,It can be difficult to find what you're looking for within the Gainsight UI initially. It's not the most intuitive product I've ever used.,9,Increased employee effiency,Salesforce.com, Smartsheet, HipChat,11 to 25 peopleOur CSM platform of choice - GainsightGainsight is being used by the Client Success team to manage our client base. We are monitoring simple usage metrics, but we have also implemented financial tracking to provide overall health scores for our clients.,Extremely robust platform Integration into Salesforce.com allows for simple data sharing Flexible to handle our outside of the box use cases,Nothing I can think of right now,10,Prior to Gainsight we managed all our clients via our own infrastructure and Excel spreadsheets. The ROI for managing metrics, overall health scores and playbooks in one platform is invaluable.,Totango,Bluenose Analytics,11 to 25 peopleGainsight helped us to standardize process and scaleGainsight is used by the Customer Success Team to manage workflow and to help build and provide analytics and a complete view of customer health. The 360 view of the customer lets a CSM prepare for a customer interaction in a very short time. The efficiencies gained allow us to increase the number of customers that a single CSM can handle. The analytics and dashboards allow us to be much more proactive with the customer which helps us help the customer get to first value with our products and ensure continued success.,Workflow management with CTAs (Calls To Action) these are activities that can be created automatically to address required tasks needed to ensure a customer is successful. Playbooks. These allow CTAs to be grouped into meaningful and actionable events. Customer 360. Allows you to take a very complete snapshot of your customer in order to streamline your research and quickly assess the health of your customer. Scorecards. Immediate view of the health of the customer based upon various offerings.,Easy way to capture additional information on customer engagements. Notes can be written for CTAs but become very difficult to go back and review once the CTA is completed.,10,Faster customer research - employee efficiency Better customer service Scalability,,26 to 50 peopleIf You Have a Customer Success Team, Gainsight is a MustGainsight was originally purchased to allow our Customer Success team to become more proactive versus just answering emails and issues on a reactive basis. Since its launch, Gainsight has successfully allowed us to do just that. Whereas we attempted to make proactive calls as time allowed and hopefully hit the right person at the right time, we now are able to leverage many of Gainsight's amazing features (actions, scorecards, etc.) to inform us of when customers need to be called on proactively.,Scorecard is excellent at providing Customer Success Managers (CSMs) the ability to see the health of their customers at any time. By adding in a mix of different behaviors (activity touches, adoption, gut check, survey results, etc.), CSM's identify where we need to do more work to be successful with a client. Actions are outstanding at informing us of inactivity or dissatisfaction whether it be lack of engagement with our app for a period of time, lack of engagement on our part for a period of time, or reminders to schedule executive business reviews. The ability to send out Net Promoter Score (NPS) surveys from Gainsight's application, have it tracked, and then actions built off of the results allow us to promptly reach out to detractors and, in turn, resolve concerns and objectives that may exist. These guys are becoming THE experts in the Customer Success field....if not there already. Their Pulse conference is a must attend event.,As an early adopter of Gainsight, code had to be written for some of our needs...sometimes this code can break. With that said, much of Gainsight has built since we came on does not require as much code (or perhaps no code) to be written. The important thing here is that their support (whether it be their CSM, Implementation Manager, Support department, or even their Chief Customer Officer) is quick to respond and remedy in a timely manner. Gainsight is a must-use resource for folks in the trenches (e.g. Customer Success Managers, Account Managers, etc.), however I would like to see additional functionality built out for someone who manages these folks.,10,We are much more proactive than ever before We can accurately say which customers are at risk for non-renewal We have an easier method to know when folks are not engaged with our solution,Totango,10Gainsight.CSM pole-positionGainsight may be used to formalize the customer success management (CSM) practice.,CTA's and workflow is much appreciated functionality. Customer 360 views and dashboards. CSM practitioner tracking,Change management of business rules. More customization options on scorecards and dashboards,10,ROI and IFR measures have not been finalized,51 to 100 peopleGainsight helps you improve customer retention and upsells.Unifies disparate data sources and provides a complete, comprehensive view of the customer from the Customer360 dashboard. Allows for easily consumable, actionable data that drives improved retention and upsell/cross-sell. Provides a tool and partner to use DATA to drive insights and decisioning.,Good Data in = Good Data out. Ensuring that your company has clear and accurate data will drive a much better experience with Gainsight. Make sure that when you implement, you have all stakeholders in the room, specifically the technical contacts, CRM admins etc Make sure you develop process and policies for dealing with a new great tool that you are implementing. Gainsight can improve their activity and management reporting abilities. (Update 1/2/14- Gainsight is rolling out new reporting and a new Scorecard concept that should be great!),10,Improved efficiency More timely customer reachouts- more proactive and less reactive Reduced preparation time prior to customer calls.,9Great for new and growing CS teams!We have Gainsight visible to all customer facing representatives at our organization but it is primarily used by our Customer Success and Technical Support teams. Gainsight helps to provide customer health, NPS, and sponsor tracking details for all of our accounts. It is also a one-to-many email platform for our CS to use without needing to work with Marketing on templates or campaigns.,Sponsor Tracking - This is my favorite feature and keeps me in tune with organizational changes with my customers. NPS Surveys - This is vital for our support team. Customer Health - This is configurable to meet what measures health to us.,Speed - Gainsight panels and data take a while to load. CTA based emails - Would love to be able to link CTAs to CoPilot to trigger emails or auto generate email lists based upon cta criteria such as usage drops or select user actions.,8,6 to 10 people,Increased visibility of CSM activities across the organization Improves CSM processes Integration to NPS scoring,My favorite is Pulse. I always walk away with plenty of ideas, awesome networking, and topics for team meetings. We are an advanced CSM organization so some of the content is validation of what we already do as well as good reminders of the basics we need to revisit. Always a blast and I look forward to it every year.,TotangoGainsight is on its wayIt is being used primarily by our customer success department and gives us a better way to easily digest our customer data and keep up to date on items needed to be done to support our customers.,Auto-trigger reminders for CSMs. Organize data in a visually pleasing way that is also easy to digest. Brings items to light that were previously slipping through the cracks.,UI is not great, especially for admins. Doing anything at a relationship level is horrendous. We avoid it at all costs as it normally requires us to do everything 15 times to get the same result as doing it once at the account level.,9,10,We've built executive dashboards but are still working on producing relevant data to put there.,We haven't had the ability to determine anything like this yet.Our gains from Gainsight.We only use Gainsight within our Customer Success team to automate our processes. We send automated emails through out the customer lifecycle and notify CSM of accounts that need attention. We are also developing account health scores and tracking usage data within the application.,The bionic rules in Gainsight allow us to overcome the separation between Salesforce objects. I don't have to worry about not being able to access both billing and contact data for our customers at the same time anymore. The automated email feature, known as Copilot, has saved us hundreds if not thousands of hours of work. All of our clients receive specific emails, and we can easily set up which email goes to which client then essentially forget about it. The C360 page lets us access almost any data we need about a client. We can customize what is shown and how the data is organized so our CSM's can quickly see the most important information about our specific clients.,The Usage object within Gainsight could use a bit of TLC. We love the data it shows and the potential it has to become a major resource in knowing our customers, but the UI can be a bit clunky at times. The graphs aren't always the most readable or intuitive. The automated emails can only be triggered once a day. We can't send an email within a certain amount of time of an event happening within an account. We also can't easily schedule the same email to trigger multiple times in one day. Health scores are at a good starting point, but we could use a couple more improvements. The first would be to have more options of splitting score categories up into smaller scores (e.g. overall score - usage score - indiv. feature score). We also can't set a weight to diminish over time (e.g. the sales score will always affect the overall score the same amount even after two years),9,7,We built an executive dashboard for our execs and VP's to access, but they don't seem to use them. We generally build reports then send the results to the higher-ups on a monthly basis. From there I don't know what they do with the information.,We reduced our churn rate by half after using Gainsight for 10 months. We saved hundreds to thousands of man hours by automating a lot of emails and notifications through Gainsight.,,I used the chat channel to contact Gainsight about a quick question that I had regarding one of their features. I used the language in their help article to explain my question, but the rep came back confused about what I was talking about. Once he did understand he gave me the answer I needed, but then just cut off the chat without so much as a salutation, let alone a follow-up question. I submitted a review about that interaction and expressed my disappointment. A few days later, I received a box at my office from Gainsight full of muffins apologizing for the less than satisfactory experience I had.Gainsight will change the way you see customers.GainSight is a fantastic tool that allows your engagement team to see the life cycle of a customer. From the first day they sign up to the day they leave (which hopefully will never happen). GainSight will trigger tasks for you team to follow up with customers that show symptoms of churning so that you can head it off long before it happens.,Customer Tracking is accurate and easy to read! They have a fantastic and helpful team. They are responsive and knowledgeable. You will never be left out in the cold. Easy to set up (at least in comparison to other internal tech we've used).,These are all knit picks, loading can be slowish, but I would say that is industry wide. There's a lot of data to sort through. There has been syncing issues in the past with Salesforce (But I would assume that it is partly SF's fault).,10,11 to 25 people,If upsells were a game of golf, GainSight skips you straight to the green. Nothing can guarantee success, but you will have a lot higher chance of a hole in one. Retention was our major concern, we had a lot of churn leaking. We are now able to stop it long before it can take root. A surprise advantage of software like this, employee onboarding is a lot more straightforward, No more guessing or assuming, you can know the exact symptom of your customer has before they churn.,I don't know what to say other than they are great. I haven't referenced them in over a year, but I doubt they went down in value. :) Keep it up team!,Evergage, Intercom, Totango and ClientSuccessGood workflow engine. Good people. Poor customer experience journey.Gainsight is used by our Customer Success team. It helps us operationalize our processes in a repeatable (scaleable) manner. We have a significant growth ramp ahead of us (in employees and customers). We chose to implement this mostly for its workflow capabilities.,Workflow: Calls to actions and their rules engine allows us to build a lot of repeatable workflows. We can now trigger easily trigger workflows based on events and time. Single source of info: Our CSMs now can go to one screen to see their to-do's, customer info and product usage data. Charting: Their charting/reporting capabilities are pretty solid. It's no Tableau, but it covers most of the use cases of what a CSM needs to do their day-to-day work.,Their self-help resources isn't very good at all. Their KB is out of date (old screenshots and inaccurate information). Their onboarding process is pretty bad too. The onboarding manager we got was excellent. She went above and beyond to help get us up and running. The collateral, process and tools that she has to work with are pretty poor though. I feel for her. Change management is pretty weak. The way they roll out new features make life very difficult for us. They'd deprecate features before the new features are ready for our workflows. Documentation and help materials for the new materials are not well done either.,8,1 to 5 people,Boosted employee efficiency Boosted process compliance Too early to tell re: upsell and retention,I haven't used the user groups yet. The CS University is a good idea. It's average in terms of quality. The videos/slides are not well done. I've been to Pulse. I think it's good to get to at least once. It's not an event I'd recommend attending every year as the materials don't change much year over year. If you're there to network, that's a different story.,Amity and TotangoGainsight ReviewGainsight is being used in the customer success department, by 4 agents.,Alerts work great to get amazing insight into how your clients are using your product. Scorecards are great to keep track of your clients health, and your impression of client health.,Alerts need some updating, particularly around merging like-alerts together. Implementation takes way too long.,6,It has moved us from a reactive support team, to a proactive customer success team.,Totango,8You Get What You GiveGainsight is used primarily by our Customer Success & Services organization. However, we also have members of Marketing, Sales, Product, Business Operations, and even Engineering using Gainsight. And our executive team. We use it to asses health/risk, create automatic CTAs based on various events or changes, track CTAs, track Sponsors, and automate some communication.,Provide a single place to visualize customer health/risk on an individual and macro basis. Provide a single place for CSMs to track work. Provide an effective executive dashboard for head of Success.,Adoption has been rough at times due to over-complicated CTAs. The onboarding provided little guidance in that area. Sponsor Tracking is very buggy. Success Plans do not allow for effective measurement of progress. Admin interface is pretty clunky.,6,11 to 25 people,Better visibility into customer health Scale CS team So far we have not experienced any improvements in upsell, retention, employee efficiency, or customer advocacy due to the usage of Gainsight.,The Gainsight user group Community is very valuable. You can see/discuss product enhancements, learn best practices, network with other CS pros, learn about upcoming releases, watch how-to videos, etc. We have not yet used CSU but I'm intrigued. I sent 4 people to Pulse last year and they said it was an excellent learning venue. I'm sending 3 people this year.,Gainsight - Our Journey to Visibility and ScalabilityAll of our CSMs worldwide use Gainsight (GS) as their primary tool for account management. This is where they view their daily tasks, alerts on their accounts, dashboard view of their current and upcoming activities. Our CSM team leaders use GS as well for dashboards where they monitor CSM activity, and will soon have their own flow of managers' CTA with alerts, tasks, and more. GS helps us with the following: Measuring KPIs for our CSMsScalability of our department and processes, creating standards and benchmarks for our department and the organization.,Customer Service - weekly calls with our CSM, prompt support responses, email availability by our CSM at GS. Building flows in the form of CTAs and incorporation of elements from other systems. Ability to store data and create trends.,Reporting - it has all the data, but the report builder section isn't so strong "One to Many" linkage isn't supported Some missing basic function like: creating mandatory fields in CTAs, permission levels amongst users (one user can switch into another user's cockpit).,9,11 to 25 people,Visibility to CSMs day-to-day and the ability to monitor their performance. Building a standard flow for all CSMs. Creating alerts for drop in performance of paying accounts for CSMs to mitigate.,They seem great! I attended a few webinars and like them a lot. Very professional and on point. I wish I had more time. I know that our SF Admin that is in charge of GS also managed to find valuable information in the community posts. I really hope to visit "Pulse" in the future!,salesforce.com and ZuoraGetting To Know You...Gainsight is used by the client experience management team to alert and track client engagement. It also provides a client health score which we monitor to identify potential retention risk. We use the dashboard to quickly view key metrics related to overall client health. For team members who manage large portfolios of clients, Gainisight helps to insure that all clients receive a consistent level of engagement.,Dashboard provides a snapshot of key client metrics in one view. Calls to Action (CTAs) allow us to track and measure client engagement across our entire client portfolio and quickly identify clients who may need attention. Integration with SalesForce (SF) is key as SF is used throughout our organization. We have been able to create CTAs that allow us to engage with clients at key times in their lifecycle such as prior to a software upgrade to determine their readiness. This has allowed us to better schedule our resources and prevent projects from being canceled at the last minute.,Flexibility around reporting. Challenge with tracking CTAs based on due date versus closed date. Not always intuitive so have to carefully manage how team is closing CTAs.,8,11 to 25 people,Identify client readiness for upgrade/install projects Validation of client health ratings Insure all clients have a consistent engagement experience,We attend Pulse and find it very informative and energizing.,Gainsight ReviewCurrently, Gainsight is only being used for our CSMs. However, we expect to expand that to sales (through the SFDC widget/limited licenses) and support. We are managing both our SaaS customers to reduce churn and starting to take on our on-premises customers.,Our customer outcome manager is amazing and he ensures we are strategically lined up to meet our goals. Solutions architects are very knowledgeable and patient while working through the configuration. Gainsight is a leader at promoting customer success.,We have been a customer for less than a year but pricing has changed multiple time during pre-sales, actual sale and now renewal making it more difficult to get the funding. I understand as a fairly new company there will be changes but hopefully not many more. Gainsight is a great tool but I think there is room for improvement in the Admin U/I that could improve the configuring and testing time. Example: Email templates can be time-consuming to create and test. The text editor is somewhat limited and keeping consistent font has been a problem - often with tags. The test emails from the Email Template interface do not look the same as the live sent emails from Email Assist or CoPilot Outreaches.,10,11 to 25 people,Operationalizing the customer lifecycle Monitoring health scores allows us to proactively manage risk.,User group and Pulse are very valuable!,TotangoGainsight ReviewWe are currently using it in our sales department with the customer success team. It solves the problem of preventing things from falling through the cracks when it come to connecting with our clients.,It's great at holding CSMs accountable. It is great at holding sales people accountable. Great at tracking the success of our customers.,Implementation was too long, would have liked a more boot camp like training process. The software is not intuitive to someone with little to no experience in programming. It would be great to have an ongoing contact at Gainsight past implementation to help with rule writing and provide details about updates that were rolled out so that you can have a better understanding of how the updates fit into your organization.,7,1 to 5 people,So far all we have seen is a time efficiency ROI,Have used CS University, Pulse and Gainsight community. I think they are good resources but would like more 1:1 time.
Unspecified
Gainsight
358 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
358 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 358 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (151-175 of 197)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Diane Gordon profile photo
February 19, 2016

Love Gainsight

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success is the primary user of Gainsight, using it to calculate and track our "Customer Adoption Scores". Other groups (Sales, Renewals) access Gainsight dashboards but don't actively use the software. Our Customer Success team also uses Gainsight to send out surveys.
  • Customer Success - Your EBR process, in particular, is really good.
  • Customer scoring
  • Custom changes/reporting feel hard/expensive to do
Seems like a good horizontal tool
Read Diane Gordon's full review
Sean Wiggins profile photo
October 05, 2015

Gainsight is a great product and a great company!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it to help manage the customer lifecycle for all of our customers. Currently we use it across the customer success organization but are looking to give others access to continue to drive value from the product for our organization. The primary business problem it addresses is scaling the customer success team as the company and the customer base grows.
  • Aggregate data; it's easy to ignore this point, but for a small but swiftly growing company, it is very easy to begin to clutter and customize an SFDC instance to try to meet everyone's needs and asks. Gainsight removes this temptation and allows us to pull the date from where it lives and consume it via the slick Gainsight UI.
  • Automation; the biggest add here is automating the frequency of customer interaction so that we as an organization can ensure consistency in approach and touch regardless of any variation in individual strengths amongst our team members.
  • Reports 2.0; we're just scratching the surface here, but this utility picks up where SFDC reports end and fills in a lot of gaps that we've struggled with in leveraging the available date into meaningful reports and dashboards.
  • None - with a little guidance, the tool is very straightforward to set up and administer. Furthermore, our users love it.
If you have a customer success team, and you use SFDC, then you should be running your customer success practice out of Gainsight. It's a game changer for our organization, particularly in how it helps us scale yet maintain quality interaction and value delivery for our customers. Even an established customer success practice would benefit from adopting this tool.
Read Sean Wiggins's full review
Gabriel Hobbs profile photo
October 02, 2015

Gainsight does allow you to gain insight into your customers - appropriate name!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently used by our CSM team to manage account CTAs, to get insight on contract and feature usage, as well as to prep for customer meetings. Using Gainisight has allowed CSMs to gain access to data which was previously held in three different systems. Our consultant team also have started working with Gainsight to monitor the onboarding of new customers. We are also exploring new avenues of use with our marketing team.
  • Allows you to gain new insight into customer behaviours and patterns to help identify healthy accounts vs. accounts at risk.
  • Allows you to combine data from multiple data sources and presents this in one place which makes it easy for CSMs to prepare for customer meetings.
  • Through the use of Gainsight's rules engine, you can monitor all your customers on a regular basis automatically. In other words, you have a tool / rule which combs through the data for you.
  • Gainsight does not help analyse the data, but rather helps to present it. There could be some improvements made on the analytics side - as any analytics will require input / logic from the end user.
Companies with established customer success management (CSM) processes will get a faster ROI when using Gainsight as you can take a lot of these processes and implement them in the tool. For companies with more immature processes, implementing Gainsight forces you to think through these processes and then implement them.

I can see this tool being of great value if an organisation does not want to develop their own programmes / customize Salesforce to do the same. This is an out-of-the box offering which you can tailor to your organisational needs.
Read Gabriel Hobbs's full review
Jacob Darwin Jones profile photo
September 29, 2015

Gainsight is Great

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Gainsight to manage a book of business. We focus on the healthcare industry and our accounts are different medical offices/corporations. We use data that will trigger product usage and based on the CTA that fires we act accordingly to help individual practices grow their businesses by cutting back on financing charges.
  • Allows for our company to tier our accounts based on specific measures that we set.
  • We can track individual CSM goals and monthly/quarterly numbers.
  • Keeps data organized and very navigational.
  • Very hard to find past notes on old cta's.
Gainsight is overall a great product. I prefer Gainsight to Salesforce.com. The only issue I have with Gainsight is when I need to track past cta's I literally have to scroll down and read all of my old cta's to recount past converstaions that I have had with my accounts.
Read Jacob Darwin Jones's full review
Jarryd Hensel profile photo
September 24, 2015

GainMoreSight into your clients

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Procore currently utilizes Gainsight within our customer success organization. Implementation has been on the slower side, but we are now beginning to see the value of the software. We strive on time to first value with our clients and think Gainsight will ultimately help us pull the right levers at the right time to ensure our clients are successful. For our large existing customer base, Gainsight will play a crucial role to notify us of what we deem are important events, all in an automated fashion.
  • Native Salesforce app! If it's not in Salesforce, it doesn't exist!
  • Thought leader in Customer Success.
  • Powerful feature set.
  • Implementation: Gainsight has a large team and sometimes it seems like you have to speak with 2-3 people to get an answer.
  • Ease of use: Gainsight could be more intuitive.
Gainsight is much more suited for a customer success organization. It is a good solution for a larger customer success team and/or a rapidly growing one who needs to put best practices in place.
Read Jarryd Hensel's full review
Mandi Derbis profile photo
September 24, 2015

Gainsight review from a new Administrator

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization is utilizing Gainsight within our Customer Success, Sales (Renewal), and Executive Teams. We leverage its functionality to prioritize opportunities and tasks, balance workload, track high-value conversations and success plans, and collaborate on at risk customers.
  • Provides one interface to leverage information from various systems, such as Salesforce, Zendesk, and our product usage data.
  • Automates the workflow for our Customer Success Team.
  • Allows us to create customized Calls To Action, reports, dashboards, etc. to meet the needs of all teams who are utilizing it.
  • While Gainsight is quite intuitive for the end user, it can be challenging from an administrator perspective.
  • We have had some challenges with our product usage data. Gainsight support has been wonderful to work with in trying to resolve the issue, but this has been an ongoing challenge.
I think it will suit any customer success organization well that is utilizing Salesforce.com. It would specifically suit an organization well who is looking to scale their customer service department and/or get additional insight into their customer base. If the integration of product usage is important, this would be one area of focus during the sales cycle to ensure the integration is tight.
Read Mandi Derbis's full review
Zach Boisi profile photo
December 26, 2015

Go get Gainsight now!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Client Success, Sales, Marketing, Product and Executive teams to monitor the health of our global client base. It helps us to see all interactions and information about each client: logins, support tickets, product adoption, etc.
  • Great Customer Support
  • Easy to Use UI
  • Great Training Materials
  • Simple to Understand Data
Ask for access to their community and educational materials. They have such an incredible wealth of information related to customer success and their product.
Read Zach Boisi's full review
Emma Chapman profile photo
December 18, 2015

Tracking Customer Touchpoints made easy

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used only by the account management department. It tracks post launch touch points, NPS, and some usage.
  • Cockpit CTA tracking
  • NPS visibility
Gainsight is well suited for people who have a customer success management team and actually do touch points.
Read Emma Chapman's full review
Christina Wofford profile photo
November 16, 2015

Gainsight Increases Efficacy of CS Organization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is a crucial component of Client Success and Sales organizations. Serving as a central hub where any member of any team can get tabs on the current status and health of an account, Gainsight has increased the efficacy of the way we do business.
  • NPS Score - Makes it very easy to see health of an account at a glance.
  • Chatter Feed - Allows for a centralized way to keep up with all accounts you follow.
  • It can be difficult to find what you're looking for within the Gainsight UI initially. It's not the most intuitive product I've ever used.
Gainsight is well-suited for medium to large Client Success/Sales teams where being able to keep tabs on accounts at a glance is crucial to the success of the organization and of clients.
Read Christina Wofford's full review
Chris Krystalowich profile photo
June 05, 2015

Our CSM platform of choice - Gainsight

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the Client Success team to manage our client base. We are monitoring simple usage metrics, but we have also implemented financial tracking to provide overall health scores for our clients.
  • Extremely robust platform
  • Integration into Salesforce.com allows for simple data sharing
  • Flexible to handle our outside of the box use cases
  • Nothing I can think of right now

The most important question for any company looking to implement Gainsight revolves around the data. We had issues with our data prior to implementing Gainsight, we needed to resolve these issues prior to implementing Gainsight or the issues would have been magnified.

I highly recommend the Success Express fast track session that Gainsight offers each month for new customers. This is the best way to understand how to map your business requirements to Gainsight's features/functions.

Read Chris Krystalowich's full review
Alan Poole profile photo
May 13, 2015

Gainsight helped us to standardize process and scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Customer Success Team to manage workflow and to help build and provide analytics and a complete view of customer health. The 360 view of the customer lets a CSM prepare for a customer interaction in a very short time. The efficiencies gained allow us to increase the number of customers that a single CSM can handle. The analytics and dashboards allow us to be much more proactive with the customer which helps us help the customer get to first value with our products and ensure continued success.
  • Workflow management with CTAs (Calls To Action) these are activities that can be created automatically to address required tasks needed to ensure a customer is successful.
  • Playbooks. These allow CTAs to be grouped into meaningful and actionable events.
  • Customer 360. Allows you to take a very complete snapshot of your customer in order to streamline your research and quickly assess the health of your customer.
  • Scorecards. Immediate view of the health of the customer based upon various offerings.
  • Easy way to capture additional information on customer engagements. Notes can be written for CTAs but become very difficult to go back and review once the CTA is completed.
Do you have a well understood or documented CSM process today that can be automated?
Do you currently use Salesforce?
Are you looking to drive consistency in your workflow and have a need to scale?
Read Alan Poole's full review
Mark Eaton profile photo
October 10, 2014

If You Have a Customer Success Team, Gainsight is a Must

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight was originally purchased to allow our Customer Success team to become more proactive versus just answering emails and issues on a reactive basis. Since its launch, Gainsight has successfully allowed us to do just that. Whereas we attempted to make proactive calls as time allowed and hopefully hit the right person at the right time, we now are able to leverage many of Gainsight's amazing features (actions, scorecards, etc.) to inform us of when customers need to be called on proactively.
  • Scorecard is excellent at providing Customer Success Managers (CSMs) the ability to see the health of their customers at any time. By adding in a mix of different behaviors (activity touches, adoption, gut check, survey results, etc.), CSM's identify where we need to do more work to be successful with a client.
  • Actions are outstanding at informing us of inactivity or dissatisfaction whether it be lack of engagement with our app for a period of time, lack of engagement on our part for a period of time, or reminders to schedule executive business reviews.
  • The ability to send out Net Promoter Score (NPS) surveys from Gainsight's application, have it tracked, and then actions built off of the results allow us to promptly reach out to detractors and, in turn, resolve concerns and objectives that may exist.
  • These guys are becoming THE experts in the Customer Success field....if not there already. Their Pulse conference is a must attend event.
  • As an early adopter of Gainsight, code had to be written for some of our needs...sometimes this code can break. With that said, much of Gainsight has built since we came on does not require as much code (or perhaps no code) to be written. The important thing here is that their support (whether it be their CSM, Implementation Manager, Support department, or even their Chief Customer Officer) is quick to respond and remedy in a timely manner.
  • Gainsight is a must-use resource for folks in the trenches (e.g. Customer Success Managers, Account Managers, etc.), however I would like to see additional functionality built out for someone who manages these folks.
If you run or have a Customer Success department, Gainsight is THE tool to use to become successful. I cannot imagine our organization being as successful without it. As for key questions to ask during the selection process, I would simply confirm true timing to get up and running in an effective manner.
Read Mark Eaton's full review
Horia Pitulescu profile photo
May 21, 2015

Gainsight.CSM pole-position

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight may be used to formalize the customer success management (CSM) practice.
  • CTA's and workflow is much appreciated functionality.
  • Customer 360 views and dashboards.
  • CSM practitioner tracking
  • Change management of business rules.
  • More customization options on scorecards and dashboards
How large of an implementation of Gainsight and how many Gainsight Administrators will be deployed globally?
Read Horia Pitulescu's full review
Mike Stocker profile photo
December 04, 2014

Gainsight helps you improve customer retention and upsells.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Unifies disparate data sources and provides a complete, comprehensive view of the customer from the Customer360 dashboard.
  • Allows for easily consumable, actionable data that drives improved retention and upsell/cross-sell.
  • Provides a tool and partner to use DATA to drive insights and decisioning.
  • Good Data in = Good Data out. Ensuring that your company has clear and accurate data will drive a much better experience with Gainsight.
  • Make sure that when you implement, you have all stakeholders in the room, specifically the technical contacts, CRM admins etc
  • Make sure you develop process and policies for dealing with a new great tool that you are implementing.
  • Gainsight can improve their activity and management reporting abilities. (Update 1/2/14- Gainsight is rolling out new reporting and a new Scorecard concept that should be great!)
Gainsight can revolutionize your customer success efforts.
Read Mike Stocker's full review
No photo available
June 07, 2017

Great for new and growing CS teams!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Gainsight visible to all customer facing representatives at our organization but it is primarily used by our Customer Success and Technical Support teams. Gainsight helps to provide customer health, NPS, and sponsor tracking details for all of our accounts. It is also a one-to-many email platform for our CS to use without needing to work with Marketing on templates or campaigns.
  • Sponsor Tracking - This is my favorite feature and keeps me in tune with organizational changes with my customers.
  • NPS Surveys - This is vital for our support team.
  • Customer Health - This is configurable to meet what measures health to us.
  • Speed - Gainsight panels and data take a while to load.
  • CTA based emails - Would love to be able to link CTAs to CoPilot to trigger emails or auto generate email lists based upon cta criteria such as usage drops or select user actions.
Gainsight is great for organizations ready to arm their CS team with a targeted tool that provides relevant data for the role. It's especially suited for those new to Customer Success who may not know actions to take or how to drive positive results with their customers. It allows for scale and structure where there wasn't before.
My favorite is Pulse. I always walk away with plenty of ideas, awesome networking, and topics for team meetings. We are an advanced CSM organization so some of the content is validation of what we already do as well as good reminders of the basics we need to revisit. Always a blast and I look forward to it every year.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 16, 2017

Gainsight is on its way

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used primarily by our customer success department and gives us a better way to easily digest our customer data and keep up to date on items needed to be done to support our customers.
  • Auto-trigger reminders for CSMs.
  • Organize data in a visually pleasing way that is also easy to digest.
  • Brings items to light that were previously slipping through the cracks.
  • UI is not great, especially for admins.
  • Doing anything at a relationship level is horrendous. We avoid it at all costs as it normally requires us to do everything 15 times to get the same result as doing it once at the account level.
Great for customer management and implementing best practices for those customers across your department.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 11, 2017

Our gains from Gainsight.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We only use Gainsight within our Customer Success team to automate our processes. We send automated emails through out the customer lifecycle and notify CSM of accounts that need attention. We are also developing account health scores and tracking usage data within the application.
  • The bionic rules in Gainsight allow us to overcome the separation between Salesforce objects. I don't have to worry about not being able to access both billing and contact data for our customers at the same time anymore.
  • The automated email feature, known as Copilot, has saved us hundreds if not thousands of hours of work. All of our clients receive specific emails, and we can easily set up which email goes to which client then essentially forget about it.
  • The C360 page lets us access almost any data we need about a client. We can customize what is shown and how the data is organized so our CSM's can quickly see the most important information about our specific clients.
  • The Usage object within Gainsight could use a bit of TLC. We love the data it shows and the potential it has to become a major resource in knowing our customers, but the UI can be a bit clunky at times. The graphs aren't always the most readable or intuitive.
  • The automated emails can only be triggered once a day. We can't send an email within a certain amount of time of an event happening within an account. We also can't easily schedule the same email to trigger multiple times in one day.
  • Health scores are at a good starting point, but we could use a couple more improvements. The first would be to have more options of splitting score categories up into smaller scores (e.g. overall score - usage score - indiv. feature score). We also can't set a weight to diminish over time (e.g. the sales score will always affect the overall score the same amount even after two years)
It is well suited to help automate a lot of tasks (and still getting better!). Sometimes we struggle with accessing account data. Any data stored on a custom Gainsight object can only be accessed through reports with no alternative of accessing the object directly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2017

Gainsight will change the way you see customers.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GainSight is a fantastic tool that allows your engagement team to see the life cycle of a customer. From the first day they sign up to the day they leave (which hopefully will never happen). GainSight will trigger tasks for you team to follow up with customers that show symptoms of churning so that you can head it off long before it happens.
  • Customer Tracking is accurate and easy to read!
  • They have a fantastic and helpful team. They are responsive and knowledgeable. You will never be left out in the cold.
  • Easy to set up (at least in comparison to other internal tech we've used).
  • These are all knit picks, loading can be slowish, but I would say that is industry wide. There's a lot of data to sort through.
  • There has been syncing issues in the past with Salesforce (But I would assume that it is partly SF's fault).
I have been working with customer analytic tools for a while, and I would say that if you are looking at something like Totango or Intercom or similar, give GainSight a peak. Every tool will have its strengths and weaknesses, but I love GainSight. They have a great team and a great path to the future.
I don't know what to say other than they are great. I haven't referenced them in over a year, but I doubt they went down in value. :) Keep it up team!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 24, 2017

Good workflow engine. Good people. Poor customer experience journey.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by our Customer Success team. It helps us operationalize our processes in a repeatable (scaleable) manner. We have a significant growth ramp ahead of us (in employees and customers). We chose to implement this mostly for its workflow capabilities.
  • Workflow: Calls to actions and their rules engine allows us to build a lot of repeatable workflows. We can now trigger easily trigger workflows based on events and time.
  • Single source of info: Our CSMs now can go to one screen to see their to-do's, customer info and product usage data.
  • Charting: Their charting/reporting capabilities are pretty solid. It's no Tableau, but it covers most of the use cases of what a CSM needs to do their day-to-day work.
  • Their self-help resources isn't very good at all. Their KB is out of date (old screenshots and inaccurate information).
  • Their onboarding process is pretty bad too. The onboarding manager we got was excellent. She went above and beyond to help get us up and running. The collateral, process and tools that she has to work with are pretty poor though. I feel for her.
  • Change management is pretty weak. The way they roll out new features make life very difficult for us. They'd deprecate features before the new features are ready for our workflows. Documentation and help materials for the new materials are not well done either.
Despite the the negatives I called out [below] Gainsight gets the job done once you have it configured. The workflow and data visualization parts of the product work well. If you are at the stage where you're using predictive analytics to predict churn and upsells, you'll need to tack on another tool.
I haven't used the user groups yet. The CS University is a good idea. It's average in terms of quality. The videos/slides are not well done. I've been to Pulse. I think it's good to get to at least once. It's not an event I'd recommend attending every year as the materials don't change much year over year. If you're there to network, that's a different story.
Read this authenticated review
Cameron Gibbons profile photo
August 28, 2014

Gainsight Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used in the customer success department, by 4 agents.
  • Alerts work great to get amazing insight into how your clients are using your product.
  • Scorecards are great to keep track of your clients health, and your impression of client health.
  • Alerts need some updating, particularly around merging like-alerts together.
  • Implementation takes way too long.
Gainsight's implementation time is huge.
Read Cameron Gibbons's full review
No photo available
March 24, 2017

You Get What You Give

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used primarily by our Customer Success & Services organization. However, we also have members of Marketing, Sales, Product, Business Operations, and even Engineering using Gainsight. And our executive team. We use it to asses health/risk, create automatic CTAs based on various events or changes, track CTAs, track Sponsors, and automate some communication.
  • Provide a single place to visualize customer health/risk on an individual and macro basis.
  • Provide a single place for CSMs to track work.
  • Provide an effective executive dashboard for head of Success.
  • Adoption has been rough at times due to over-complicated CTAs. The onboarding provided little guidance in that area.
  • Sponsor Tracking is very buggy.
  • Success Plans do not allow for effective measurement of progress.
  • Admin interface is pretty clunky.
  • Well suited if you have a fairly mature CS org and strong change management.
  • Not well suited if you are still figuring things out in terms of basic CS process.
  • Well suited for customers who are willing to spend enough on services for a sound implementation.
  • Not well suited for customers who want to onboard themselves using nothing but online resources.
The Gainsight user group Community is very valuable. You can see/discuss product enhancements, learn best practices, network with other CS pros, learn about upcoming releases, watch how-to videos, etc. We have not yet used CSU but I'm intrigued. I sent 4 people to Pulse last year and they said it was an excellent learning venue. I'm sending 3 people this year.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 20, 2017

Gainsight - Our Journey to Visibility and Scalability

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our CSMs worldwide use Gainsight (GS) as their primary tool for account management. This is where they view their daily tasks, alerts on their accounts, dashboard view of their current and upcoming activities.

Our CSM team leaders use GS as well for dashboards where they monitor CSM activity, and will soon have their own flow of managers' CTA with alerts, tasks, and more.

GS helps us with the following:
  • Measuring KPIs for our CSMs
  • Scalability of our department and processes, creating standards and benchmarks for our department and the organization.
  • Customer Service - weekly calls with our CSM, prompt support responses, email availability by our CSM at GS.
  • Building flows in the form of CTAs and incorporation of elements from other systems.
  • Ability to store data and create trends.
  • Reporting - it has all the data, but the report builder section isn't so strong
  • "One to Many" linkage isn't supported
  • Some missing basic function like: creating mandatory fields in CTAs, permission levels amongst users (one user can switch into another user's cockpit).

Well Suited:


1. "Customers Tab" - most used by our CSMs. It's an interactive list of all their account, which is very helpful.


2. Rules Engine - allows to record data to create trends


3. Rules Engine - can be used for risks and alerts


Less appropriate:


1. It can't accommodate lifecycle or retention teams yet. They need to be able to set up Salesforce opportunities

They seem great! I attended a few webinars and like them a lot. Very professional and on point.
I wish I had more time.

I know that our SF Admin that is in charge of GS also managed to find valuable information in the community posts.

I really hope to visit "Pulse" in the future!


Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 17, 2017

Getting To Know You...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the client experience management team to alert and track client engagement. It also provides a client health score which we monitor to identify potential retention risk. We use the dashboard to quickly view key metrics related to overall client health. For team members who manage large portfolios of clients, Gainisight helps to insure that all clients receive a consistent level of engagement.
  • Dashboard provides a snapshot of key client metrics in one view.
  • Calls to Action (CTAs) allow us to track and measure client engagement across our entire client portfolio and quickly identify clients who may need attention.
  • Integration with SalesForce (SF) is key as SF is used throughout our organization.
  • We have been able to create CTAs that allow us to engage with clients at key times in their lifecycle such as prior to a software upgrade to determine their readiness. This has allowed us to better schedule our resources and prevent projects from being canceled at the last minute.
  • Flexibility around reporting.
  • Challenge with tracking CTAs based on due date versus closed date.
  • Not always intuitive so have to carefully manage how team is closing CTAs.
Well suited for consolidating client data into a single view. Well suited for organizations that use SalesForce due to deep integration. Licensing fees make it challenging to roll out across all the organization.
We attend Pulse and find it very informative and energizing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 17, 2017

Gainsight Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Gainsight is only being used for our CSMs. However, we expect to expand that to sales (through the SFDC widget/limited licenses) and support. We are managing both our SaaS customers to reduce churn and starting to take on our on-premises customers.
  • Our customer outcome manager is amazing and he ensures we are strategically lined up to meet our goals.
  • Solutions architects are very knowledgeable and patient while working through the configuration.
  • Gainsight is a leader at promoting customer success.
  • We have been a customer for less than a year but pricing has changed multiple time during pre-sales, actual sale and now renewal making it more difficult to get the funding. I understand as a fairly new company there will be changes but hopefully not many more.
  • Gainsight is a great tool but I think there is room for improvement in the Admin U/I that could improve the configuring and testing time. Example: Email templates can be time-consuming to create and test. The text editor is somewhat limited and keeping consistent font has been a problem - often with tags. The test emails from the Email Template interface do not look the same as the live sent emails from Email Assist or CoPilot Outreaches.
Well suited for a CSM in a SaaS world but we are building out a process for On Premise and looks as if that will work well.
User group and Pulse are very valuable!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 15, 2017

Gainsight Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it in our sales department with the customer success team. It solves the problem of preventing things from falling through the cracks when it come to connecting with our clients.
  • It's great at holding CSMs accountable.
  • It is great at holding sales people accountable.
  • Great at tracking the success of our customers.
  • Implementation was too long, would have liked a more boot camp like training process.
  • The software is not intuitive to someone with little to no experience in programming.
  • It would be great to have an ongoing contact at Gainsight past implementation to help with rule writing and provide details about updates that were rolled out so that you can have a better understanding of how the updates fit into your organization.
Being in the financial industry, Gainsight community does not have as many resources for us that are relatable. However, it is great for tracking our customers which is needed in any industry, not just Saas companies. It has been a great tool for us to understand the health of our customers.
Have used CS University, Pulse and Gainsight community. I think they are good resources but would like more 1:1 time.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (144)
7.8
API (104)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (181)
9.7
Integration with Marketo (45)
7.6
Integration with Eloqua (17)
7.3
Product usage (173)
8.5
Help desk / support tickets (147)
7.8
NPS surveys (150)
9.3
Sponsor tracking (143)
7.9
Customer profiles (173)
9.3
Automated workflow (187)
8.3
Internal collaboration (173)
7.9
Customer health scoring (186)
9.7
Customer segmentation (159)
9.3
Customer health trends (175)
9.4
Engagement analytics (155)
8.9
Revenue forecasting (97)
9.1
Dashboards (188)
8.9

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android