TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGOur CSM platform of choice - GainsightGainsight is being used by the Client Success team to manage our client base. We are monitoring simple usage metrics, but we have also implemented financial tracking to provide overall health scores for our clients.,Extremely robust platform Integration into Salesforce.com allows for simple data sharing Flexible to handle our outside of the box use cases,Nothing I can think of right now,10,Prior to Gainsight we managed all our clients via our own infrastructure and Excel spreadsheets. The ROI for managing metrics, overall health scores and playbooks in one platform is invaluable.,Totango,Bluenose Analytics,11 to 25 peopleGainsight helped us to standardize process and scaleGainsight is used by the Customer Success Team to manage workflow and to help build and provide analytics and a complete view of customer health. The 360 view of the customer lets a CSM prepare for a customer interaction in a very short time. The efficiencies gained allow us to increase the number of customers that a single CSM can handle. The analytics and dashboards allow us to be much more proactive with the customer which helps us help the customer get to first value with our products and ensure continued success.,Workflow management with CTAs (Calls To Action) these are activities that can be created automatically to address required tasks needed to ensure a customer is successful. Playbooks. These allow CTAs to be grouped into meaningful and actionable events. Customer 360. Allows you to take a very complete snapshot of your customer in order to streamline your research and quickly assess the health of your customer. Scorecards. Immediate view of the health of the customer based upon various offerings.,Easy way to capture additional information on customer engagements. Notes can be written for CTAs but become very difficult to go back and review once the CTA is completed.,10,Faster customer research - employee efficiency Better customer service Scalability,,26 to 50 peopleIf You Have a Customer Success Team, Gainsight is a MustGainsight was originally purchased to allow our Customer Success team to become more proactive versus just answering emails and issues on a reactive basis. Since its launch, Gainsight has successfully allowed us to do just that. Whereas we attempted to make proactive calls as time allowed and hopefully hit the right person at the right time, we now are able to leverage many of Gainsight's amazing features (actions, scorecards, etc.) to inform us of when customers need to be called on proactively.,Scorecard is excellent at providing Customer Success Managers (CSMs) the ability to see the health of their customers at any time. By adding in a mix of different behaviors (activity touches, adoption, gut check, survey results, etc.), CSM's identify where we need to do more work to be successful with a client. Actions are outstanding at informing us of inactivity or dissatisfaction whether it be lack of engagement with our app for a period of time, lack of engagement on our part for a period of time, or reminders to schedule executive business reviews. The ability to send out Net Promoter Score (NPS) surveys from Gainsight's application, have it tracked, and then actions built off of the results allow us to promptly reach out to detractors and, in turn, resolve concerns and objectives that may exist. These guys are becoming THE experts in the Customer Success field....if not there already. Their Pulse conference is a must attend event.,As an early adopter of Gainsight, code had to be written for some of our needs...sometimes this code can break. With that said, much of Gainsight has built since we came on does not require as much code (or perhaps no code) to be written. The important thing here is that their support (whether it be their CSM, Implementation Manager, Support department, or even their Chief Customer Officer) is quick to respond and remedy in a timely manner. Gainsight is a must-use resource for folks in the trenches (e.g. Customer Success Managers, Account Managers, etc.), however I would like to see additional functionality built out for someone who manages these folks.,10,We are much more proactive than ever before We can accurately say which customers are at risk for non-renewal We have an easier method to know when folks are not engaged with our solution,Totango,10Gainsight.CSM pole-positionGainsight may be used to formalize the customer success management (CSM) practice.,CTA's and workflow is much appreciated functionality. Customer 360 views and dashboards. CSM practitioner tracking,Change management of business rules. More customization options on scorecards and dashboards,10,ROI and IFR measures have not been finalized,51 to 100 peopleGainsight helps you improve customer retention and upsells.Unifies disparate data sources and provides a complete, comprehensive view of the customer from the Customer360 dashboard. Allows for easily consumable, actionable data that drives improved retention and upsell/cross-sell. Provides a tool and partner to use DATA to drive insights and decisioning.,Good Data in = Good Data out. Ensuring that your company has clear and accurate data will drive a much better experience with Gainsight. Make sure that when you implement, you have all stakeholders in the room, specifically the technical contacts, CRM admins etc Make sure you develop process and policies for dealing with a new great tool that you are implementing. Gainsight can improve their activity and management reporting abilities. (Update 1/2/14- Gainsight is rolling out new reporting and a new Scorecard concept that should be great!),10,Improved efficiency More timely customer reachouts- more proactive and less reactive Reduced preparation time prior to customer calls.,9
Unspecified
Gainsight
328 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
328 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 328 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (151-175 of 181)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Chris Krystalowich profile photo
June 05, 2015

User Review: "Our CSM platform of choice - Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the Client Success team to manage our client base. We are monitoring simple usage metrics, but we have also implemented financial tracking to provide overall health scores for our clients.
  • Extremely robust platform
  • Integration into Salesforce.com allows for simple data sharing
  • Flexible to handle our outside of the box use cases
  • Nothing I can think of right now

The most important question for any company looking to implement Gainsight revolves around the data. We had issues with our data prior to implementing Gainsight, we needed to resolve these issues prior to implementing Gainsight or the issues would have been magnified.

I highly recommend the Success Express fast track session that Gainsight offers each month for new customers. This is the best way to understand how to map your business requirements to Gainsight's features/functions.

Read Chris Krystalowich's full review
Alan Poole profile photo
May 13, 2015

Review: "Gainsight helped us to standardize process and scale"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Customer Success Team to manage workflow and to help build and provide analytics and a complete view of customer health. The 360 view of the customer lets a CSM prepare for a customer interaction in a very short time. The efficiencies gained allow us to increase the number of customers that a single CSM can handle. The analytics and dashboards allow us to be much more proactive with the customer which helps us help the customer get to first value with our products and ensure continued success.
  • Workflow management with CTAs (Calls To Action) these are activities that can be created automatically to address required tasks needed to ensure a customer is successful.
  • Playbooks. These allow CTAs to be grouped into meaningful and actionable events.
  • Customer 360. Allows you to take a very complete snapshot of your customer in order to streamline your research and quickly assess the health of your customer.
  • Scorecards. Immediate view of the health of the customer based upon various offerings.
  • Easy way to capture additional information on customer engagements. Notes can be written for CTAs but become very difficult to go back and review once the CTA is completed.
Do you have a well understood or documented CSM process today that can be automated?
Do you currently use Salesforce?
Are you looking to drive consistency in your workflow and have a need to scale?
Read Alan Poole's full review
Mark Eaton profile photo
October 10, 2014

Review: "If You Have a Customer Success Team, Gainsight is a Must"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight was originally purchased to allow our Customer Success team to become more proactive versus just answering emails and issues on a reactive basis. Since its launch, Gainsight has successfully allowed us to do just that. Whereas we attempted to make proactive calls as time allowed and hopefully hit the right person at the right time, we now are able to leverage many of Gainsight's amazing features (actions, scorecards, etc.) to inform us of when customers need to be called on proactively.
  • Scorecard is excellent at providing Customer Success Managers (CSMs) the ability to see the health of their customers at any time. By adding in a mix of different behaviors (activity touches, adoption, gut check, survey results, etc.), CSM's identify where we need to do more work to be successful with a client.
  • Actions are outstanding at informing us of inactivity or dissatisfaction whether it be lack of engagement with our app for a period of time, lack of engagement on our part for a period of time, or reminders to schedule executive business reviews.
  • The ability to send out Net Promoter Score (NPS) surveys from Gainsight's application, have it tracked, and then actions built off of the results allow us to promptly reach out to detractors and, in turn, resolve concerns and objectives that may exist.
  • These guys are becoming THE experts in the Customer Success field....if not there already. Their Pulse conference is a must attend event.
  • As an early adopter of Gainsight, code had to be written for some of our needs...sometimes this code can break. With that said, much of Gainsight has built since we came on does not require as much code (or perhaps no code) to be written. The important thing here is that their support (whether it be their CSM, Implementation Manager, Support department, or even their Chief Customer Officer) is quick to respond and remedy in a timely manner.
  • Gainsight is a must-use resource for folks in the trenches (e.g. Customer Success Managers, Account Managers, etc.), however I would like to see additional functionality built out for someone who manages these folks.
If you run or have a Customer Success department, Gainsight is THE tool to use to become successful. I cannot imagine our organization being as successful without it. As for key questions to ask during the selection process, I would simply confirm true timing to get up and running in an effective manner.
Read Mark Eaton's full review
Horia Pitulescu profile photo
May 21, 2015

User Review: "Gainsight.CSM pole-position"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight may be used to formalize the customer success management (CSM) practice.
  • CTA's and workflow is much appreciated functionality.
  • Customer 360 views and dashboards.
  • CSM practitioner tracking
  • Change management of business rules.
  • More customization options on scorecards and dashboards
How large of an implementation of Gainsight and how many Gainsight Administrators will be deployed globally?
Read Horia Pitulescu's full review
Mike Stocker profile photo
December 04, 2014

Review: "Gainsight helps you improve customer retention and upsells."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Unifies disparate data sources and provides a complete, comprehensive view of the customer from the Customer360 dashboard.
  • Allows for easily consumable, actionable data that drives improved retention and upsell/cross-sell.
  • Provides a tool and partner to use DATA to drive insights and decisioning.
  • Good Data in = Good Data out. Ensuring that your company has clear and accurate data will drive a much better experience with Gainsight.
  • Make sure that when you implement, you have all stakeholders in the room, specifically the technical contacts, CRM admins etc
  • Make sure you develop process and policies for dealing with a new great tool that you are implementing.
  • Gainsight can improve their activity and management reporting abilities. (Update 1/2/14- Gainsight is rolling out new reporting and a new Scorecard concept that should be great!)
Gainsight can revolutionize your customer success efforts.
Read Mike Stocker's full review
Cameron Gibbons profile photo
August 28, 2014

"Gainsight Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used in the customer success department, by 4 agents.
  • Alerts work great to get amazing insight into how your clients are using your product.
  • Scorecards are great to keep track of your clients health, and your impression of client health.
  • Alerts need some updating, particularly around merging like-alerts together.
  • Implementation takes way too long.
Gainsight's implementation time is huge.
Read Cameron Gibbons's full review
No photo available
March 17, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Getting To Know You..."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the client experience management team to alert and track client engagement. It also provides a client health score which we monitor to identify potential retention risk. We use the dashboard to quickly view key metrics related to overall client health. For team members who manage large portfolios of clients, Gainisight helps to insure that all clients receive a consistent level of engagement.
  • Dashboard provides a snapshot of key client metrics in one view.
  • Calls to Action (CTAs) allow us to track and measure client engagement across our entire client portfolio and quickly identify clients who may need attention.
  • Integration with SalesForce (SF) is key as SF is used throughout our organization.
  • We have been able to create CTAs that allow us to engage with clients at key times in their lifecycle such as prior to a software upgrade to determine their readiness. This has allowed us to better schedule our resources and prevent projects from being canceled at the last minute.
  • Flexibility around reporting.
  • Challenge with tracking CTAs based on due date versus closed date.
  • Not always intuitive so have to carefully manage how team is closing CTAs.
Well suited for consolidating client data into a single view. Well suited for organizations that use SalesForce due to deep integration. Licensing fees make it challenging to roll out across all the organization.
We attend Pulse and find it very informative and energizing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 17, 2017

"Gainsight Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Gainsight is only being used for our CSMs. However, we expect to expand that to sales (through the SFDC widget/limited licenses) and support. We are managing both our SaaS customers to reduce churn and starting to take on our on-premises customers.
  • Our customer outcome manager is amazing and he ensures we are strategically lined up to meet our goals.
  • Solutions architects are very knowledgeable and patient while working through the configuration.
  • Gainsight is a leader at promoting customer success.
  • We have been a customer for less than a year but pricing has changed multiple time during pre-sales, actual sale and now renewal making it more difficult to get the funding. I understand as a fairly new company there will be changes but hopefully not many more.
  • Gainsight is a great tool but I think there is room for improvement in the Admin U/I that could improve the configuring and testing time. Example: Email templates can be time-consuming to create and test. The text editor is somewhat limited and keeping consistent font has been a problem - often with tags. The test emails from the Email Template interface do not look the same as the live sent emails from Email Assist or CoPilot Outreaches.
Well suited for a CSM in a SaaS world but we are building out a process for On Premise and looks as if that will work well.
User group and Pulse are very valuable!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 15, 2017

"Gainsight Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it in our sales department with the customer success team. It solves the problem of preventing things from falling through the cracks when it come to connecting with our clients.
  • It's great at holding CSMs accountable.
  • It is great at holding sales people accountable.
  • Great at tracking the success of our customers.
  • Implementation was too long, would have liked a more boot camp like training process.
  • The software is not intuitive to someone with little to no experience in programming.
  • It would be great to have an ongoing contact at Gainsight past implementation to help with rule writing and provide details about updates that were rolled out so that you can have a better understanding of how the updates fit into your organization.
Being in the financial industry, Gainsight community does not have as many resources for us that are relatable. However, it is great for tracking our customers which is needed in any industry, not just Saas companies. It has been a great tool for us to understand the health of our customers.
Have used CS University, Pulse and Gainsight community. I think they are good resources but would like more 1:1 time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 15, 2017

User Review: "So far so good with Gainsight."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've just recently (within the past 6 months) launched Gainsight within Skyword. We're currently using it across our entire services organization and will soon look to start providing reports to the executive team. For us, it solves several challenges:

1. It helps us understand how users actually use our software ...where they spend time...where they get stuck, etc.
2. It allows us to communicate with them according to #1 above.
3. It allows us to more robustly keep tracking of the health of our clients and inform those that need to take action.
  • Gainsight allows great visibility into the ways our users interact with our software. Specifically, Gainsight does a great job making this information digestable and actionable.
  • Gainsight has a rules engine that allows for the automation of communication based on certain criteria that is highly flexible.
  • Despite the incredibly robust onboarding, training and available materials there are moments where the Gainsight platform feels overwhelming and where it offers too much flexibility and functionality.
Gainsight is well suited for a company who is looking to better understand customers in an effort to improve retention and communication.
The user groups have been helpful and the University was a key part of getting up to speed. This May will be my first time attending Pulse.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 15, 2017

Review: "Customer Success Orgs. looking for a solution - Look no further than Gainsight"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the Customer Success Organization (CSMs). Operations which is my department supports the onboarding and ongoing activities for the sales team. It addresses the adoption issue of giving the CSMs data on how their customers are using the software and what they can do to better the customer's adoption towards the product they purchased.
  • Health Score - It is the most unique feature of gainsight, on giving a health score customized to industry and product based on data.
  • Relationship 360 - Able to customize data for individual products is huge to support a company as big as ours that has over 200+ products in their SAS portfolio.
  • Access Controls
  • Partner Visibility
  • Reporting Functionality is only available to admins, CSMs should have the power to create reports they would like to use and that shouldn't clutter anyone else's view.
  • Calls to Action - Really need a feature to alert CSMs of events, risk, opportunities, etc.
[For] many products that are very different in nature - Gainsight can do the job. If data isn't consistent, or the product isn't mature [enough] to have sophisticated data on a consistent basis, then it is harder to take advantage.

Love Pulse, get to re-connect and meet Industry leaders, haven't taken the opportunity to attend other events.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 14, 2017

"Review of Recently Implemented Gainsight"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently being used by our account management department. It was purchased to provide a tool for programmatic outreach and risk assessment for low touch accounts.
  • Gainsight seems to excel in thought leadership for the CSM space and has a dynamic, articulate executive team.
  • Gainsight displays customer information in a user-friendly format that is easily exportable.
  • Tools such as CoPilot and Gsnap are helpful in creating a touch points for low touch customers.
  • Health score cards are too simplistic in order for us to rely on them as a means of measuring customer health.
  • It has been difficult to get meaningful customer data into Gainsight.
  • The Sponsor Tracking functionality frequently turns up false positives and also fails to properly link contacts even when the correct URL is provided.
Gainsight seems to be well suited for companies who can dedicate a resource solely to the administration of Gainsight. For more resource-constrained companies, it is difficult to make progress with the tool. Additionally, in order to be successful with Gainsight, you need to have a clear vision for what to prioritize in terms of features and functionality and need significant IT resources, or funds to hire Gainsight, to do the data work necessary to see an ROI.
We have not leveraged Customer Success University or the Gansight user groups at this point in time. We will be sending 4 team members to Pulse this year.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 14, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Implementation Takes Time"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Account Management uses Gainsight. It's intended to help us scale our business.
  • They seem to have a lot of resources directed to product development and can respond to feature requests with more flexibility than other companies.
  • The tool is ideal if you have established dashboards and practices. We have more autonomy in our positions. I rely a lot on my administrator and wish there were more access levels for much of the functionality - something more dynamic between administrator and user.
You need to be able to feed data into Gainsight in a meaningful way. This generally requires APIs or a dedicated resource to administer the tool. It's best to consider this when determining whether to purchase the tool. If you are unable to feed appropriate data to Gainsight you are likely not getting the most value out of the tool.
I'm attending my first Pulse event this year.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 01, 2016

User Review: "Gainsight is a great company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly being implemented by the marketing team, but it is widely used across the company and outside of the company, with our client advocates being our number one supporters. We started just with just external advocates but we thought it would be good to open it up to our internal advocates within the company to help with social promotion across all devices.
  • Create great challenges
  • Help educate us on their motives
  • Help us in our marketing goals
  • Point system could be better
I think that Gainsight has a great management team, in front of and behind the scenes. They have good members who help you goal set, and also help you with the back end work as well. If we ever have any issues maneuvering through the site, they are always happy to help.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 08, 2016

"Gainsight review from early impression"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used to help us make our Customer Success and Support departments more efficient, and to help increase/maintain our high retention rate. We are using the survey functionality, as well as developing a customer Health Score that will help reduce the time to prepare for a call to the customer.
  • Their Pulse conference provides great information, while making it fun and allowing for time to network with peers.
  • The flexibility of the platform can make it a bit overwhelming at first, but as you learn more, the flexibility allows for customization to fit many different orgs.
  • The people at Gainsight are very helpful during the implementation process, and help hold you accountable to the goals that have been set during the sales process.
  • The support documentation is lacking in real-world examples, with enough data to help direct the user to the data in their own environment. It is sometimes very simplified and unhelpful.
  • The rules engine could use a little more simplicity for simple tasks, while still offering full functionality in another section/pane/option expansion.
  • We were not offered a demo of the product and when we inquired about that possibility, after we had purchased, we were told that requirement on our side would have needed to be addressed before the purchase. We are heavy Salesforce users and have many custom fields and workflows, that made this a bit concerning. Thankfully, we didn't run into any issues in the four months we have had the product.
Our company still has a large percentage of customers that have our software on-premise. It does make leveraging the Gainsight platform more difficult, but we are finding ways to overcome the challenges and will still see the value in the platform as we add more hosted customers and bring in more data that isn't necessarily usage data directly from the client.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 16, 2016

"Gainsight Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently used by our Customer Success, Customer Support, and Go-To-Market Operations team. We use the Playbooks and CTAs to drive new hire onboarding, customer onboarding, and issue resolution. We use the dashboards and score cards to drive customer health meetings and executive review meetings as well. We are looking forward to implementing CoPilot to begin automating aspects of the customer lifecycle and scale our Customer Success Team! Gainsight has been a great tool and I'm looking forward to leading the implementation!
  • Score cards--very organized and easy to manage
  • Automation
  • CTA & Playbooks
  • More flexibility on C360
  • Semi-automation with CoPilot
  • Dashboards
Gainsight has been great for new hire onboarding, we're excited to build this out further.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 13, 2016

Gainsight: "Gainisight Review After 2 Months of Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the customer success team for two primary resources: align best practices around processes across the customer lifecycle and to demonstrate value to customers through the use of health scores and usage tracking. We expect to start to utilize success plans as well, as our customers are high touch and require strategic alignment across marketing, sales, product and customer success to ensure we're meeting all of their needs.
  • Being a leader in the CS space by innovating and bringing best practices to their customers allows groups like us not to have to be experts in CS but rather domain experts which we're best at. The help we have gotten in training and talking with execs at GS has helped how we think about our org.
  • The onboarding presentations and homework were effective in making the implementation workshop, Gaisight Express very useful.
  • Flexibility in rules engine.
  • Training materials and guidance to roll out to users of gainsight not just the admins.
  • More intuitive user design - some functions were hidden or not described in the tool but rather in the documentation leaving few folks really understanding what it does (like relationships or insights tabs).
If you have a very small team it may not be worth the investment - they are building more functionality to go deeper but the main benefits are the automation of processes for complex processes or multiple customers and multiple CSMs. I would not recommend it if you only have 3-5 users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 12, 2016

Gainsight Review: "Customer Success as a Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by my company to take a look at our current customer base and optimize. You are able to use the features to record success plans to help move your customer along in its journey. We also use gainsight to run our red account meetings. In these meetings we are able to give quick and actionable updates to other teams. We did this before in a deck format, and it was much clunkier and not as engaging. The new features coming out are helping customer success grow as a profession and industry.
  • Call to Actions-- Able to create follow up items and tasks to keep you on track and remind you to stay on task with your customer.
  • Being able to view your book of businesses by Rep or Business. Gives highlevel insights on a dashboard.
  • Reporting is not as strong as SFDC.
  • Must have licenses for each user.
  • There are sometimes latency issues as it loads.
This has been great for our well established customer base. May be too expensive for early stage companies with few customers. I can only imagine that as the customer base grows, your amount of time saved also grows. Great for customer centric businesses looking for a solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 12, 2016

Gainsight Review: "Streamline your day to day as a CSM!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is primarily used by the customer success team. The executive team and sales team have access to the iFrame within Salesforce, and have the ability to look into the metrics of each account. It addresses visibility into the health of each customer, and allows the sales and executive team to fish for information about the account without having to reach out to the customer success team.
  • Gainsight has a great user interface. It is easy to navigate and is very intuitive.
  • Gainsight is a customer success tool made by CSMs for CSMs. The tools and workflow it offers are very much inline with what a customer success manager needs for their day to day life.
  • Gainsight's cockpit is a great tool for CSMs to stay on track of their every day tasks. It give managers visibility into what their CSMs are doing on a regular basis.
  • Creating tasks and switching dates in cockpit can be difficult.
  • The customer's dashboard should be customizable for the individual CSM.
Gainsight is less appropriate for sales teams.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 12, 2016

User Review: "How Gainsight Helped Me Ramp!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight gives everyone visibility into customer health at any time. We're able to easily apply playbooks for recurring processes to always stay on track and be able to guide our customers throughout their lifecycle with clear next steps.
  • Scorecards are a great way to assess the health of any given customer at any time.
  • Success plans allow for CSMs to pick up accounts when being handed-off easily.
  • Co-Pilot makes keeping up with customers automated and frees up CSMs' time throughout the day.
  • Looking forward to being able to edit Event types after creating CTAs.
Playbooks have changed the way I interact and keep up with my customers. It's so easy to follow steps in the playbooks I've created - it also ensures that I don't miss a step when it comes to onboarding, renewing or holding QBRs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 12, 2016

Gainsight Review: "So far, so good!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a little unique in our implementation of Gainsight as we use it predominately for customer marketing purposes, though we are considering expanding it to our CSM group in the future. In an effort to move beyond batch-and-blast email communications to encourage user adoption, we adopted Gainsight Copilot to help trigger behavioral onboarding campaigns based on product usage data.
  • Reporting!
  • Customer service/onboarding.
  • Data visualization.
  • Size of the company - they're still getting started, even though they're the market leader.
  • SOC-2 compliance - they're not completely certified yet (though they're working on it now).
In speaking with colleagues, Gainsight seems to succeed most in customer success groups, though we're finding great benefit in using it for adoption marketing too. I think their target market is expanding rapidly and I'm seeing more functional groups come together.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2016

User Review: "A better sight at GainSight !!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight was something a few of us in the team decided to try out and see what would work best with out team and how soon could we infuse it . The problems we wanted addressed were to make our Customer Success and Sales departments more efficient, and to help reduce our high retention rate by keeping track of all the nitty gritty when it came to a customer. We also wanted it to help us assemble data that we use in our daily work with customers and point out whether they are utilizing the platform fully or not and where they could get more value for their investment in Practo.
  • Customer health score cards are nice and easy to track
  • NPS surveys
  • Task and call-to-action analysis acts as a reminder and helps intervene in the life cycle of a customer
  • There isn't a quick save feature for most commonly used filters
  • Some of the usability can certainly be improved
  • Hard to implement if you don't have clean, accessible data
  • There are a few bugs and page load speed becomes an issue sometimes
  • The UI could use improvement
We are trying to maintain our customer health and find correlations between usage/support/outreach and customer retention/churn and for this part of it Gainsight does help serve the purpose. With a few tweaks it would be a notch too much for competitors, but at the moment there is a lot of space for improvement.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2016

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are just completing the instrumentation of Gainsight to hold our customer journey map, step by step, so that a CSM would check off key activities as they get completed. This will be rolled out for all accounts in April. Prior to this, we were using it for capturing notes and what we call our Adoption 360 scores of each customer.
  • Their design and concept of play books is very good.
  • It is easy to implement and configure.
  • Multiple scorecard functionality is important (I believe it is close to being released if not already).
  • There are still some data ingestion and transformation challenges, so continuing to improve ease of use would be good.
I appreciate how customer focused the management team is, and what they are trying to do to build best practices and bring the community of Customer Success leaders together. I think Gainsight is good for customer workflow management.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 06, 2015

Review: "Gainsight Administrator Still working through implementation!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in process of rolling Gainsight out to anyone in the organization in leadership or a client facing role. One we've fully implemented Gainsight we will have about 50% of our employees using Gainsight. Gainsight allows us to more systematically service our client, ensuring that we have standard play books for all of the common issues we run into, as well as, allowing insight into potential problems (e.g. drops in usage) before they have a chance to be detrimental to the relationship.
  • Identifying issues, such as drops in usage, before they are obvious. This allows us to address any potential risks before they have a chance to have a lasting negative effect on the relationship.
  • Standardizing how we respond to common issues, and allowing new employees to ramp up more quickly. By using the playbooks we are able to standardize how we fix common problems and ensure that the best practices are used by everyone... even new employees.
  • Ensuring that repeated tasks, such as quarterly business reviews (QBR), happen on time for clients based on things like their Customer Tier. We have the ability to automate the CTA's to kick off every three months for tier one clients so that we never miss another QBR.
  • The implementation process has been much longer and more complicated than initially expected.
  • We aren't able to customize some features as much as we need (e.g. you can't set smart sign scores for different client types)
  • Would be good to be able to set CTAs based off of a scorecard, so if a score goes stale, or if a score drops a CTA is automatically kicked off. Currently there is no way to do that.
I think Gainsight is a great tool for any company that has high touch interactions with their customers on a regular and ongoing basis. Having said that, I think any company could find value in the system, especially with the automation tools they are constantly working on improving, such as copilot. My only big complaint has been the implementation process.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 12, 2016

Review: "Gainsight is the way to go to ensure Customer Success!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our Customer Success Account Managers and our Executive team. It helps us to understand our relationships with our customers, mitigate risk, and solve business problems and develop our relationships.
  • Central view of customers
  • Automate action items
  • Organize data from Salesforce so that it is actionable
  • Does not integrate with Outlook
For Salesforce customers, it is a huge plus!
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (131)
8.3
API (96)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (166)
9.5
Integration with Marketo (42)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (159)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (132)
8.1
NPS surveys (135)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (131)
8.3
Customer profiles (158)
9.1
Automated workflow (172)
8.4
Internal collaboration (157)
8.3
Customer health scoring (172)
9.6
Customer segmentation (146)
9.3
Customer health trends (162)
9.3
Engagement analytics (142)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (87)
9.2
Dashboards (171)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android