TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGGainsight is a great way to improve the daily lives of your CSMs!Gainsight is being used by the Customer Success team within my organization. We leverage our customer data to manage at-risk customers and grow the lifetime value of our healthy customers. Our Customer Success Managers can be proactive instead of reactive to their books of business. The reporting capabilities provide insight into our customers and we can design them specifically for our CSMs, Management and Executives.,Customer Health scoring is used to evaluate the health of our customers and drives proactive efficiencies for our CSMs Tech Touch assists in automating outreaches. Dashboards provide valuable reports to our team.,Gainsight Support needs to improve their documentation from an Admin perspective. Gainsight to SFDC linking needs to be enabled for MDA data, not just SFDC objects. Success SnapShot needs to have more fonts, formatting options for PPT.,8,9,It is very important for our Execs to look into customers in the case if the account is at risk and viewing their health/account overview.,Tech Touch automation for our smaller customers. Improved customer health scoring. Help automate our CSMs workload.,,SFDC and our data warehouse.Gainsight is a powerful tool to dive in to the details on a customer and get a high-level view of your customer baseGainsight is currently primarily being used by our Customer Success department, but other people can view some of the output via Salesforce. It helps us manage our customer relationships and updates.,I enjoy using the Timeline feature to keep track of each customer I work with to ensure their success. I like having the CTA's readily accessible in a global view for all customers so I can gauge where I am on certain open tasks. The ties into Salesforce are very useful so that others in our company can stay updated on customer health.,Shifting from Timeline to Detailed view could be better for viewing of notes and product/customer details. Reporting and Dashboards could be more visibly appealing and have more easily accessible information. I hear there was a new release this week, so some of this might be addressed. Multi-product views could be improved, and losing score card information when customers purchase multiple products is really tough to go through!,9,7,It's extremely important. We are a very customer-36focused organization. We have started sharing 360 pages with them via an Executive program and our VP shares metrics from Gainsight with them, so accuracy is important.,Visibility across products, references, etc.,Totango,Salesforce, TenroxGainsight is Amazing!We use Gainsight solely in our Customer Success department currently. We use Gainsight to help in monitoring account activity as well as mitigating portfolio risk.,Excellent at sending automated emails and generated semi-templated emails with auto-generated content. Great at generating account health scores based off data from multiple sources (CRM, product, 3rd parties, etc.) Great at logging activities via the timeline feature for an account.,Graphing/Data Visualization functionality is very limited.,9,10,Improved efficiency through the use of tools like Email Assist and Timeline.,We integrate with external S3 buckets and Salesforce. This allows us to use the data in these systems to generate health scores and monitor various account activities.A key part of the success of our Customer Success team (and more)!Gainsight is used to give us an easy to access 360 degrees view of all things customer related - from commercials, to support, to operations and more. It is used primarily by our customer success team but then to help facilitate projects and campaigns for other teams (who might not have direct access). Have this single view of the customer is a very powerful proposition that allows us from an exec level to an individual contributor (and customer success manager) level to understand quickly where a customer is in their journey, lifecycle and product usage.,Integration (automatic or more manual - e.g. using CSV files) with other data sets (e.g. for support and product usage). Configurable customer dashboards - showing key stats and data relevant to that customer. Industry best practice information and insights. Flexible solution that can be tailored to our specific product and team requirements. Local (geographically) support services.,More regional support and services - think beyond just the USA. Tailored professional services packages - e.g. self contained for small and large deliverables. More automated out of the box integrations.,10,7,Extremely important. Ideally through dashboards but we also export (copy) data from dashboards to present as part of our on-going management reporting (and other exec level) deck.,Increase upsell across a number of new campaigns and products. Churn deep dive analysis and reporting; and improved retention. Tracking of customer advocates. Increase productivity of CSMs. Improved ability for proactive work for CSMs.,Totango, Natero and Amity,The following external data sources are fed into Gainsight currently: Support cases Consumer CRM data Financial status Invoicing data Customer (consumer) feedback data Bespoke product data Currently no systems receive specific Gainsight data.Gainsight is Great!Gainsight is used by many groups in our company to view data on each of our customers, but its powerful functionality is used by our Customer Success team. This where there processes live and how they track each interaction with the customer. Its a great way to see a summary of the customer. I believe its a great tool to enable customer success in any organization.,Customer Support -- they are always very fast and efficient when I put in tickets. User Experience Functionality and ability to customize to your company,More admin training opportunities,10,10,Our executives use Gainsight at the widget level to view information on an account level. The account widget allows them to see everything they need to related to the account. This quick view is very helpful.,Improve NPS,We currently have data that is pushed in Gainsight through MDA tables.
Unspecified
Gainsight
328 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
328 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 328 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (51-75 of 181)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a great way to improve the daily lives of your CSMs!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the Customer Success team within my organization. We leverage our customer data to manage at-risk customers and grow the lifetime value of our healthy customers. Our Customer Success Managers can be proactive instead of reactive to their books of business. The reporting capabilities provide insight into our customers and we can design them specifically for our CSMs, Management and Executives.
  • Customer Health scoring is used to evaluate the health of our customers and drives proactive efficiencies for our CSMs
  • Tech Touch assists in automating outreaches.
  • Dashboards provide valuable reports to our team.
  • Gainsight Support needs to improve their documentation from an Admin perspective.
  • Gainsight to SFDC linking needs to be enabled for MDA data, not just SFDC objects.
  • Success SnapShot needs to have more fonts, formatting options for PPT.
If you are looking to utilize your customer data to better understand your customers then it is for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a powerful tool to dive in to the details on a customer and get a high-level view of your customer base"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently primarily being used by our Customer Success department, but other people can view some of the output via Salesforce. It helps us manage our customer relationships and updates.
  • I enjoy using the Timeline feature to keep track of each customer I work with to ensure their success.
  • I like having the CTA's readily accessible in a global view for all customers so I can gauge where I am on certain open tasks.
  • The ties into Salesforce are very useful so that others in our company can stay updated on customer health.
  • Shifting from Timeline to Detailed view could be better for viewing of notes and product/customer details.
  • Reporting and Dashboards could be more visibly appealing and have more easily accessible information. I hear there was a new release this week, so some of this might be addressed.
  • Multi-product views could be improved, and losing score card information when customers purchase multiple products is really tough to go through!
It's well suited for SaaS environments and harder for on-premise solutions, which is how we use it at the company I work for. It's great for notes and history keeping. It's also good for sharing of scorecards/overviews with others outside of the CSM team, but not always easy to do so.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 03, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Amazing!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight solely in our Customer Success department currently. We use Gainsight to help in monitoring account activity as well as mitigating portfolio risk.
  • Excellent at sending automated emails and generated semi-templated emails with auto-generated content.
  • Great at generating account health scores based off data from multiple sources (CRM, product, 3rd parties, etc.)
  • Great at logging activities via the timeline feature for an account.
  • Graphing/Data Visualization functionality is very limited.
Gainsight works really well for us in assisting to manage our self-service portfolio, where there isn't a specific CSM assigned to an account. It helps in managing communications to these accounts as well as monitoring and bubbling up potential pockets of risk.

Additionally Gainsight is very helpful in our managed portfolio in helping to automate some administrative tasks, while still allowing reporting on the cadence of customer engagements and updates.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A key part of the success of our Customer Success team (and more)!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used to give us an easy to access 360 degrees view of all things customer related - from commercials, to support, to operations and more. It is used primarily by our customer success team but then to help facilitate projects and campaigns for other teams (who might not have direct access). Have this single view of the customer is a very powerful proposition that allows us from an exec level to an individual contributor (and customer success manager) level to understand quickly where a customer is in their journey, lifecycle and product usage.
  • Integration (automatic or more manual - e.g. using CSV files) with other data sets (e.g. for support and product usage).
  • Configurable customer dashboards - showing key stats and data relevant to that customer.
  • Industry best practice information and insights.
  • Flexible solution that can be tailored to our specific product and team requirements.
  • Local (geographically) support services.
  • More regional support and services - think beyond just the USA.
  • Tailored professional services packages - e.g. self contained for small and large deliverables.
  • More automated out of the box integrations.
  • Well suited to customer success team and organisations that need to quickly scale up.
  • Less suited to smaller teams and operations (and lower cost).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 23, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by many groups in our company to view data on each of our customers, but its powerful functionality is used by our Customer Success team. This where there processes live and how they track each interaction with the customer. Its a great way to see a summary of the customer. I believe its a great tool to enable customer success in any organization.
  • Customer Support -- they are always very fast and efficient when I put in tickets.
  • User Experience
  • Functionality and ability to customize to your company
  • More admin training opportunities
I think Gainsight is a great tool to enable companies to truly see a holistic view of the customer. It can easily be customized to your needs and have so much functionality that can help with your overall business processes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - A great way to see ALL of your clients"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight as a way to manage our customer accounts. The entire customer success department uses the software. Gainsight allows us to track a client's progression. We are able to create a timeline of all interactions with each client. As such, we are able to easily determine the health and engagement of each one of our clients.
  • Timeline -- allows accounts managers to record events. You can detail date, time, who was involved, how long it lasted, and an open notes section. You can also log clients missing/skipping interactions
  • Calls to Action (CTAs) -- can set up one-time or recurring CTAs across the entire organization. Helps to prioritize actions and work collaboratively across teams.
  • Recording Scores -- the ability to record customer health scores. Allows for a quick summary view of health that can be expanded on in the notes/timeline
  • CTAs are are used rather broadly, would like a specific recurring accounts update section
  • Would love an integration with Google calendar to automatically log my calls
  • Requires a high degree of training to know the ins and outs. A more robust knowledge base with training videos would be awesome!
Well suited for a large, international organization, allows for total team collaboration. Since our organization spans different time zones, having one place to update accounts makes it easy to determine the health of each customer

Would not recommend for a smaller, centralized organization where the entire company can collaborate physically in the same office. It would be useful, but the cost may not outweigh the benefits.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 07, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is truly helpful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main focus over the last year has been within the Customer Success organization but as other functions have learned about the power of the information collected, we are being asked to provide Gainsight views to more and more people.
  • Great for collecting information from multiple data sources
  • Excels at being able to poll up information throughout an account hierarchy
  • Lets all users know what is going on within an account at any given time
  • No native SFTP integration
  • Might be easier some times to simply code a solution rather than use the UI
  • Needs more integration of scorecard fact tables
Great for showing the entire organization how the customer sees us. One of the few tools focused on an outside-in view as opposed to most of our tools which show an inside-out view. However, there is a learning curve to learning the backend that could have better online training.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 31, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - thought leader in Customer Success Software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to understand our customer's health score. It is also incredibly useful for reporting, and to get a 360 view on our customers. Lastly, it provides us with automated, actionable insights that we can act on.
  • Thought leader in the market
  • Very active in the Customer Success Community
  • European office and presence
  • Adapt to Europe (different languages, currencies, etc.)
An incredibly powerful tool that gives a 360 overview of a customer across multiple data points.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 22, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Early days"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used purely within the CSM function. It facilitates visibility and accountability of CSM activities to the team and the C suite.
  • Allows automation of key processes.
  • Helps creation of efficient workflows.
  • Implementation time is severely underestimated.
  • Support is not 24/7.
Once set up it is well suited to reporting and planning of CSM activities. We did not have an assigned implementation team, despite recommendations - this was a mistake- it contributed to delays in full implementation and disenchantment with the solution.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Knape profile photo
February 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight: Baby is crawling already at 3 months"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by our customer success organization, formerly professional services, as well as executive leaders of all departments. We currently use Gainsight to consolidate all information regarding our customers and we are working in the Calls to Action so that we have more streamlined plays and timeline.
  • Customer 360 when properly provided with accurate data is a huge window into the account when executives hear something about the account and they can just login to see.
  • Timeline feature is great.
  • We are very excited to use automated CTAs so that our CSMs now can deal with what needs to be done now versus looking for what needs to be done now.
  • Documentation on Support is outdated.
  • It would be good to have more best practices published in vault and community. Too many times we are having to engage our COM when we would like to be self-serve.
Gainsight is a great place to combine all information about the customer. The real advantage comes into play when you use automated CTAs and combining with usage data. If you do not have usage data, you can still use it but you should push your organization to get this ASAP.
Read Jason Knape's full review
Steven Doty profile photo
October 26, 2017

Review: "Gainsight is on the Pulse of our Customer Success!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by our Enterprise and Education team to more effectively manage and mitigate risk with our client base. We use it to analyse NPS scores, contact frequency, account value and numerous other metrics, and drive renewals with automated mass communications regarding account health, product usage, client satisfaction and more. The tool has helped us better focus on risk in our customer base by building out a scorecard that accurately captures the overall health of individual clients and entire verticals.
  • Gainsight excels at building an effective framework for the CSM to more efficiently interact with clients. We were able to significantly increase the number of clients per CSM with the help of the platform.
  • Gainsight helps to produce meaningful datasets that the Administrators can use to create dashboards for the business and for individual users to plan their days at a glance.
  • Gainsight provides an incredible automation platform to manage and move data around in the Salesforce instance, to build meaningful automated task assignment, merge and pivot complex datasets, and build out meaningful client metrics.
  • Gainsight's Rules Engine grows more powerful and capable over time but has become more complex and unintuitive to use.
  • The mass communications platform has become our primary choice due to the native Salesforce functionality it offers, but survey functionality still has room to grow to allow for better forking of questions and translation of UI options, which would improve ease of use.
  • Gainsight has much room for improvement in the area of consulting meaningfully with clients on best implementations in given industries and sectors. They could do a better job by focusing on bucketing customers and thoughtfully designing industry-specific approaches rather than providing a very basic setup and letting clients struggle to build an effective platform from there.
Gainsight works best if your organization:
  • Uses Salesforce effectively and correctly
  • Understands what client metrics best affect renewals
  • Has built an integration to aggregate that data and push it to Salesforce or another data platform already and correlate it with Salesforce records
If you do not know any leading indicators for churn/renewal or lack access to usage data for your clients, you will not benefit as much from the risk mitigation functions in Gainsight.

If your contact records are not clean or attached to your customers correctly in Salesforce, its mass communications tools will be less effective.
Read Steven Doty's full review
Colleen Fleming profile photo
October 10, 2017

Review: "Client Success has a new name and it's called Gainsight."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to manage our client success. Our client success managers use Gainsight to see usage data of their clients for our products. This helps them see where improvements are needed and where successes are happening. Our account managers use Gainsight to manage our renewal process as well as add-on sales. We also have our professional services team using Gainsight throughout the implementation process for new clients. Using Gainsight the way we do leads to our clients being successful in their use of our products as well as growing and strengthening our relationship with that client. Our client's success and happiness are extremely important to us and Gainsight helps us manage and measure that happiness and success.
  • Gainsight provides the availability of bringing in product usage data so that we can use that data to trigger actions such a touch points and follow ups between us and the client.
  • Gainsight provides to ability to create a scorecard for client health. This incorporates the data we have coming in from our product as well as data we already have within Salesforce and use this to provide a grade for specific measures that all add up to an overall client health score. This functionality has had a large impact for our organization.
  • Gainsight has great customer support. When you are with Gainsight you have the chance to have a Client Success Manager as well as a dedicated Support Representative. This is awesome because your Client Success Manager helps you with the bigger pictures and addressing the business problems you want solved and your dedicated support rep helps you along the road with any technical support you need (which they learn about what you do and the way you use the system so over time they are even better at helping answer your unique questions).
  • Gainsight is always releasing great updates and new product features. When updates and features do come out you can tell that they are thought through but sometimes wish they were a little more robust. It is understood that it does take time for these features to become more robust and Gainsight is really great on listening to customer feedback so needs are typically met at some point.
Gainsight is a client success tool. If you are a growing company or even a well established company Gainsight is a great way to get an even deeper understanding of how your clients are using your product or service and how you can guide them on an even more successful path.
Read Colleen Fleming's full review
Candace Wallace profile photo
October 31, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight or Bust"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being utilized across multiple functions of our business: Client Success, Support, Implementation & Migrations, Account Management, Finance, and Operations Leadership. Our initial decisions to purchase were based on improving retention of our client base, but it has quickly expanded to many other use cases. It provides standardized work flows for Client Success Managers, reporting and dashboards for leadership, a vehicle for client success qualified leads and qualified advocacy, NPS and CSAT delivery and tracking, automated lead generation for account management based off product use and account details, a more thorough client health model, and so much more. We had many of the above listed areas in place already, but Gainsight really helped to enhance and improve our results and efficiencies.
  • Standardized CSM workflows is very key. It puts process and science to a role that has historically acted more like an art form. Every can now have the same reaction process for key activities with our clients.
  • NPS and CSAT. We historically ran this through other tools, but we have been blown away by the increase in response rates by utilizing Gainsight, along with our abilities to automate reactions to those scores provided by clients. I can't say enough good things about this part of the tool.
  • Client Health Scoring: we refer to our Gainsight version as Client Health 2.0 internally. We had a pretty basic model that stretched across all reached of our business, but that's just it...it was basic. Gainsight allowed us to easily tie together data that was nearly impossible with just SFDC without significant development efforts on our end. We also went the route of pulling all data from our applications to start watching the trending behind the scenes for other leading indicators. Our teams now have watch on a couple hundred variables that we previously had no insight into with relation to churn. It requires the most effort and planning for a business to implement, but the rewards are 100% worth it. We doubled the effectiveness of our predictive model, and we rely on this data across everything from client care, to sales, to finance, to renewals, to marketing, and so on.
  • The only areas I would like to see adjusted would be around dashboards and reporting. I considered myself an expert in building reports and dashboards in SFDC, and I now rely on our Gainsight administrator for everything in Gainsight. Perhaps consider some basic options for individual users to more easily create their own.
Well Suited Areas: client success teams, account management teams, basic customer marketing, lead generation based off of very specific behaviors/data points

Less Appropriate areas: full-on marketing/lead generation. I have found that it's a great supplement to our marketing efforts, but would not recommend someone to use it for everything is you are supporting a large customer base
Read Candace Wallace's full review
Karen Tonch profile photo
October 27, 2017

Gainsight Review: "A CSM's dream tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used across business units. It helps the CSMs be proactive and manage their accounts.
  • Continually improves the platform.
  • Energy flowing conferences.
  • Services team really helped with setup and issues.
  • Better high-level reporting for Directors. We have a lot of relationship offerings and there are limits.
  • Expensive for licenses.
  • Dashboard permissions are tough. Need to have them in groups so I don't have to add each person to each dashboard. We have a lot of dashboards.
Well suited- love timeline, custom reports, dashboards, email assist
Less suited- data inaccuracy on our side, difficult to bring data in from different sources
Read Karen Tonch's full review
Donna Kumar profile photo
October 06, 2017

Review: "Increase team efficiency and customer contact with Gainsight!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently used by our Customer Success Team to streamline the management of assigned accounts. We have more than 100 accounts assigned to each CSM and Gainsight helps us keep our contact on point.
  • The dashboards help me to know where I am in the lifecycle of my accounts and also brings to light in a nice visual way any accounts experiencing risk factors so that I can delve in and address any issues.
  • The CTAs (Call to Action) task list is key in helping me stay on top of my accounts.
  • I love the ability to easily send emails directly from CTAs. This really streamlines the workflow.
  • Integration with SalesForce is key and brings timeline items to the forefront for others within our organization.
  • The ability to easily generate reports of captured data would be nice.
If you're noticing a lot of churn with your customer base or if you just need to get a better handle on how you communicate with your customers (and sometimes when you communicate with them), Gainsight can help.
Read Donna Kumar's full review
Jessica Hall profile photo
October 02, 2017

Review: "My Insight into Gainsight - First Impressions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Client Success team utilizes Gainsight to aid in the management of their customers. It provides insight into their history, business goals, feature adoption, etc. Our consultants love the email functionality in Gainsight that helps them pinpoint who to reach out to and what to say through their cockpits, CTAs and email assist.
  • Gainsight has great support! We love the relationship we have with our CSM at Gainsight, as well as access to their support team, online knowledge base, and their Community.
  • We love the Rules Engine and how we can customize Gainsight to work for us. We have built rules that comb through our customer accounts and usage to give us great things to reach out to about them. We can customize email templates based on these rules and create efficiency for our consultants.
  • The concept behind Success Plans - we're all about it! We like that Gainsight offers a way to track a plan being created and customized for our customer base. We tailor them and let our consultants tweak them further based on their relationships.
  • Reporting - we have faced limitations and trouble implementing reports. They aren't user friendly and can't be edited easily by users who are looking to access their own reports.
  • The product is powerful which makes it difficult to learn. Since it's so robust, their is a learning curve for sure!
It's great for a team that is FOCUSED on supporting the goals & overall success of a customer. It helps for those who are looking to build strategic & proactive relationships, not necessarily focused 100% on sales and also not 100% reactive support.
Read Jessica Hall's full review
Ted Malley profile photo
October 26, 2017

Review: "Customer Success that SCALES with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight in Customer Success and our Base Sales organization as well as Technical Account Management in support. Key functions are risk management, CTA's around support escalations and pulling all of our client sources into a single dashboard.
  • Forces you to standardize your playbook and setup CTA's to execute common plays
  • Aggregates multiple sources of client information into a single dashboard
  • Grows our Customer Success team using latest trends in the industry
  • Wished it would handle my reference process instead of a 3rd party app.
  • Would love for it to handle advocacy (i.e. Intuitive)
New CSM team forming, new players, need to standardize behavior quickly. Need to provide simple metrics for executive dashboard.
Read Ted Malley's full review
Berin Bezmen profile photo
October 03, 2017

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our success and account management team to track client usage and adoption but also to track our overall renewals and upsells.
  • Health scoring
  • Identifying red flags early on through automated CTAs
  • Insight into customer usage and adoption
  • More bidirectional sync between Salesforce and gainsight
  • Calculations in reporting
Understanding the health of an account
Read Berin Bezmen's full review
No photo available
December 28, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight-- Important Investment!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by our Customer Success team on a daily basis. It helps simplify workflows, managing day-to-day tasks and activities, as well as addressing one of our top priorities-- renewals.
  • Manage risks very seamlessly
  • Demonstrate value to our end users in terms of ROI through dynamic data
  • Manage expansion opportunities
  • Rules engine has some limitations in terms of bionic rules
  • Being more diverse in the way Scorecards are determined/ created-- i.e. through MDA
From an internal perspective, Gainsight is very useful for training and onboarding. Accounts are transferred from one CSM to another without anything being slipped through the cracks. For example, through the Timeline activity, all records of calls, emails, updates, etc. are notated within the account demonstrating visibility/ health of the account very clearly to the new CSM.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 31, 2017

Review: "Gainsight helpful for both Services and Sales organization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used to track and manage our customers. Our Partner Services organization uses Gainsight to see both product adoption and health measures for our customers. From a Sales perspective we use Gainsight to snapshot important data and metrics on a daily basis which we could not do with Salesforce alone.
  • Capture important historical data daily with MDA tables
  • Create reports and dashboards quickly
  • Great user interface
  • Additional options for visualizing data in reports
  • More documentation on building and updating MDA tables
  • More chart types for dashboards
Gainsight is great for tracking data historically for our sales team, both as a team and by individual rep. It's very easy and intuitive to segment data by region or team and the data is very easy to export for manipulation in excel. Individually for sales people (with a company of our size) it does not make sense for the reps to be using Gainsight on a daily basis, but it's easy for them to sync with our partner success team to look at any necessary info.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 26, 2018

Gainsight Review: "More power than we were ready for"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success team uses Gainsight to track customer health and their day-to-day activities with customers. We have built playbooks in the tool to address specific needs, specifically around risk mitigation. We are just starting to share more visibility into our Gainsight data with the Sales Field as well. In summary, Gainsight allows us to track and manage customer health, address churn risks, and increase visibility internally to the health of our customers.
  • Flexibility in constructing Customer Health Scores: from data sources, to rule-building and score weighting, etc.
  • Providing structure for the Customer Success team to track day-to-day activities: both system-prompted based on data, and manually-created.
  • Simple high-level reporting for management and executives.
  • Robust community of users sharing best practices, ideas and collectively solving problems.
  • We need to better capture what individual stakeholders at a company care about so we can manage to that. Gainsight doesn't currently provide a way to track specific goals for individual contacts, but all goals/objectives are at the company level.
  • Gainsight doesn't provide an easy way to share dashboards/reports with executives and leadership via email.
  • The implementation was a little rocky. The Success Express workshop wasn't structured in a way to allow us to get maximum benefit, and our Project Manager throughout implementation often struggled to find solutions and ideas for us.
Gainsight is well suited if you have a strong admin who can manage the instance and get it set up. It's great for teams with traditional Customer Success and Account Management functions, and where supporting data on customers is relatively complete and clean.

Gainsight is not well suited for cases where customer data is lacking or particularly dirty, or for very small teams without administrative support.
The Gainsight community page is among the best I've encountered. Users are vey active on the site. I post there often looking for ideas or recommending functionality in the product. I get lots of ideas from other users, and from Gainsight employees, and my feature requests always get a response from Gainsight. The Pulse conference is world-class. I attended in 2016 and got tremendous value from the sessions, and from networking with others in the Customer Success community.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 07, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight — Makes My OCD SO Happy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the customer success arm of our sales team exclusively.

It solves account tracking, account related to-dos, and helps us be uber organized about client success functions and follow up.
  • Action Items — Makes it really clear which accounts have to-do's, let's you set due dates on these, allows organization to push standard CTAs associated with account on-boarding, check-ins, etc.
  • Note taking! I am obsessed with Timeline. Allows me to log account updates, important email exchanges, call notes and other general account good-to knows and also create tasks based on each.
  • There may be something in our team's instance of GS that auto prompts 'Closed as Incomplete' at the main CTA level when you close too many playbook tasks and then the main CTA at the same time. Again, this may be settings.
  • As much as I love Timeline, the formatting can sometimes be very off. Especially if you're copying and pasting content into Timeline.
  • It would be great to be able to co-create Timeline entries. Myself and my CSM partner will often times take notes on the same call, so its duplication.
  • Would be great to be able to @mention someone in Timeline.
Really great for CSM teams. Keeps you uber organized and all of your account related data (basically) in one place. Makes it very easy to scale one internal process.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

Review: "Gainsight - Great for Operationalizing Customer Lifecycle"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently used by our Customer Success team(s) and our Customer Marketing team. Gainsight allows us to operationalize our customer lifecycle by enabling us to define key touchpoints and assign tasks to CSMs as well as segment and automation lifecycle communication.
  • Integration with Salesforce to allow our teams to follow-up based on activity and renewal history and easily update Salesforce records
  • Reports that give a quick glance at renewal pipelines and account performance
  • Segment customer email campaigns based on account activity and history
  • Co-pilot (email) reporting
  • Email builder and template creation
  • Email assist feature (playbook creation)
Gainsight is well-suited for large teams that work based on a lifecycle or renewal model and have clean/accurate CRM data.

Gainsight is not well-suited for teams that have irregular check-in schedules with their customers, or do not have clean and accurate data which to built the Gainsight environment around.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2017

User Review: "My learning curve with Gainsight"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the Customer Success Management team.
It helps us to scale in a way processes are robust. We are utilizing same methodology to manage all accounts, get us aware of customers at risk, get the work of the CSM day to day much more organized, provide the manager the needed visibility of customer tied to a team/ region/ other specific metrics.
  • Views of accounts that it makes it easy to track - for example - manage accounts to be renewed this quarter/ accounts to be renewed next quarter/ New customers that are on boarding etc.
  • Account 360 - detailed area where I can view all information required per account.
  • Timeline - capability that you can utilize to log in quickly any type of activity done with the customer - so you can track history.
  • Views are not always adjusting to screens - makes it super not user friendly to use it.
  • When view is even smaller than the screen, you get the view on 2/3 of the screen rather than adjusting for full screen.
  • You are not being able to add comments to a specific account, when you are on one of the views.
  • You must go into the account 360 and add your comments.
  • Very time consuming.
  • Too many clicks when you deal with CTA - makes it unusable.
Well suited where all your CSMs need to follow same flows and there is not a lot of diversity on the day to day operation from one CSM to another.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 31, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Great for managing a large book of business!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is primarily used by the Customer Success team, however other teams are increasingly utilizing the platform--and the information that we collect is used throughout the organization. We leverage Gainsight as our central dashboard (within Salesforce) to track and manage our customers--including our interactions, their use of our product, feature requests, relationship notes, and more. This level of detail is helpful both for executive visibility, as well as information that others can refer to in getting up to speed on a new account or understanding trends across our account-base.
  • Provides turnkey analytics on customer usage of our products.
  • Alerts when usage has dropped
  • Manages NPS surveys and responses
  • Timeline for tracking activities & cockpit for task management
  • Sponsor tracking doesn't work properly
  • Somewhat manual (requires a lot of inputs directly from users--and setup on backend)
  • Date range on usage reports (can only change greater than or less than)--and need to update when you pivot to a new report
Gainsight is great for tracking call/interaction notes (would be great if you could edit a call to an interaction w/o having to delete).

It's helpful in preparing for business reviews or checkpoints with customers; proving out the value of our relationship & showing the progression of account health.

The Gainsight Sally Slack integration is good for execs but not many other uses
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (131)
8.3
API (96)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (166)
9.5
Integration with Marketo (42)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (159)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (132)
8.1
NPS surveys (135)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (131)
8.3
Customer profiles (158)
9.1
Automated workflow (172)
8.4
Internal collaboration (157)
8.3
Customer health scoring (172)
9.6
Customer segmentation (146)
9.3
Customer health trends (162)
9.3
Engagement analytics (142)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (87)
9.2
Dashboards (171)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android