TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGGainsight: Baby is crawling already at 3 monthsGainsight is being used by our customer success organization, formerly professional services, as well as executive leaders of all departments. We currently use Gainsight to consolidate all information regarding our customers and we are working in the Calls to Action so that we have more streamlined plays and timeline.,Customer 360 when properly provided with accurate data is a huge window into the account when executives hear something about the account and they can just login to see. Timeline feature is great. We are very excited to use automated CTAs so that our CSMs now can deal with what needs to be done now versus looking for what needs to be done now.,Documentation on Support is outdated. It would be good to have more best practices published in vault and community. Too many times we are having to engage our COM when we would like to be self-serve.,9,10,This is huge but it can become a negative if our users are not keeping the system up-to-date. A few times, our CEO has heard about a red customer and then has logged in and it doesn't reflect the status he has heard about around the office. This is not a product issue, but a change management issue on our side.,In the first year, we did not focus on specific ROI metrics. Sentiment by most is that it is really helping with customer information and collaboration. Second year, we are focusing on ROI around, churn improvement and advocacy increase.,TotangoA very powerful toolGainsight is used by the entire Customer Success team, daily. It helps in managing the entire customers lifecycle.,Excellent Support Very wide feature set Easily integrate with our own data,It is based on Salesforce, which is an obstacle if you are not a Salesforce user.,10,10,We manage renewals more flawlesslyGainsight ReviewCurrently, our strategic success team uses gainsight to track Executive Business Reviews (EBRs) and success plans. We plan to expand on this throughout the year.,One source of truth Proactive reach outs Excellent survey model,Email use in all areas,9,9,Right now dashboard usage from gainsight is low. Looking to gain more traction.,Customer project identificationGainsight is the only way to go!Gainsight has been a great help to our organization. Implementation of each new customer has been so smooth. I really like how easy it is to be very clear about each task that needs to be performed for the customer lifecycle. There's tons of add-on's that also add so much value to it. I highly recommend it!,Implementation CTA Tasks LinkedIn,I don't see any features that need improvement.,10,10,Super important - it's easily digestible!,Upsell has increased quite a bit! Renewal rates have improved.,NoneGainsight is truly helpfulThe main focus over the last year has been within the Customer Success organization but as other functions have learned about the power of the information collected, we are being asked to provide Gainsight views to more and more people.,Great for collecting information from multiple data sources Excels at being able to poll up information throughout an account hierarchy Lets all users know what is going on within an account at any given time,No native SFTP integration Might be easier some times to simply code a solution rather than use the UI Needs more integration of scorecard fact tables,10,9,Gainsight is a great tool for quickly and easily showing executives how our very complex customers are doing and what are the areas where we are doing well and where we can improve.,Gainsight is very useful in identifying expansion opportunities The Gainsight tool helps our employees spend more time helping the customer rather than gathering information Gainsight is great at showing us what a customer truly spend with us, rather than simply a feeling,Totango
Unspecified
Gainsight
317 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
317 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 317 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (51-75 of 176)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jason Knape profile photo
February 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight: Baby is crawling already at 3 months"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by our customer success organization, formerly professional services, as well as executive leaders of all departments. We currently use Gainsight to consolidate all information regarding our customers and we are working in the Calls to Action so that we have more streamlined plays and timeline.
  • Customer 360 when properly provided with accurate data is a huge window into the account when executives hear something about the account and they can just login to see.
  • Timeline feature is great.
  • We are very excited to use automated CTAs so that our CSMs now can deal with what needs to be done now versus looking for what needs to be done now.
  • Documentation on Support is outdated.
  • It would be good to have more best practices published in vault and community. Too many times we are having to engage our COM when we would like to be self-serve.
Gainsight is a great place to combine all information about the customer. The real advantage comes into play when you use automated CTAs and combining with usage data. If you do not have usage data, you can still use it but you should push your organization to get this ASAP.
Read Jason Knape's full review
Tal Admon profile photo
April 13, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A very powerful tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the entire Customer Success team, daily. It helps in managing the entire customers lifecycle.
  • Excellent Support
  • Very wide feature set
  • Easily integrate with our own data
  • It is based on Salesforce, which is an obstacle if you are not a Salesforce user.
Very well suited to a SaaS company with many customers that you need to automate your activities with.
Read Tal Admon's full review
Joel Peasley profile photo
April 12, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our strategic success team uses gainsight to track Executive Business Reviews (EBRs) and success plans. We plan to expand on this throughout the year.
  • One source of truth
  • Proactive reach outs
  • Excellent survey model
  • Email use in all areas
Excellent for proactive reach outs.
Read Joel Peasley's full review
Matthew Lugo profile photo
April 10, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is the only way to go!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight has been a great help to our organization. Implementation of each new customer has been so smooth. I really like how easy it is to be very clear about each task that needs to be performed for the customer lifecycle. There's tons of add-on's that also add so much value to it. I highly recommend it!
  • Implementation
  • CTA Tasks
  • LinkedIn
  • I don't see any features that need improvement.
Gainsight is amazing for when you are onboarding a new CSM/customer and you need to keep track of each stage/milestone. It's made my life super easy when I handle account management and I love love it.
Read Matthew Lugo's full review
No photo available
June 07, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is truly helpful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main focus over the last year has been within the Customer Success organization but as other functions have learned about the power of the information collected, we are being asked to provide Gainsight views to more and more people.
  • Great for collecting information from multiple data sources
  • Excels at being able to poll up information throughout an account hierarchy
  • Lets all users know what is going on within an account at any given time
  • No native SFTP integration
  • Might be easier some times to simply code a solution rather than use the UI
  • Needs more integration of scorecard fact tables
Great for showing the entire organization how the customer sees us. One of the few tools focused on an outside-in view as opposed to most of our tools which show an inside-out view. However, there is a learning curve to learning the backend that could have better online training.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 26, 2018

Gainsight Review: "More power than we were ready for"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success team uses Gainsight to track customer health and their day-to-day activities with customers. We have built playbooks in the tool to address specific needs, specifically around risk mitigation. We are just starting to share more visibility into our Gainsight data with the Sales Field as well. In summary, Gainsight allows us to track and manage customer health, address churn risks, and increase visibility internally to the health of our customers.
  • Flexibility in constructing Customer Health Scores: from data sources, to rule-building and score weighting, etc.
  • Providing structure for the Customer Success team to track day-to-day activities: both system-prompted based on data, and manually-created.
  • Simple high-level reporting for management and executives.
  • Robust community of users sharing best practices, ideas and collectively solving problems.
  • We need to better capture what individual stakeholders at a company care about so we can manage to that. Gainsight doesn't currently provide a way to track specific goals for individual contacts, but all goals/objectives are at the company level.
  • Gainsight doesn't provide an easy way to share dashboards/reports with executives and leadership via email.
  • The implementation was a little rocky. The Success Express workshop wasn't structured in a way to allow us to get maximum benefit, and our Project Manager throughout implementation often struggled to find solutions and ideas for us.
Gainsight is well suited if you have a strong admin who can manage the instance and get it set up. It's great for teams with traditional Customer Success and Account Management functions, and where supporting data on customers is relatively complete and clean.

Gainsight is not well suited for cases where customer data is lacking or particularly dirty, or for very small teams without administrative support.
The Gainsight community page is among the best I've encountered. Users are vey active on the site. I post there often looking for ideas or recommending functionality in the product. I get lots of ideas from other users, and from Gainsight employees, and my feature requests always get a response from Gainsight. The Pulse conference is world-class. I attended in 2016 and got tremendous value from the sessions, and from networking with others in the Customer Success community.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Enterprise customer success manager"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization and solves countless business problems such as additional insight into customer's environment and experience with the use of the dashboard and the features we can choose to have implemented. It is a huge source of knowledge and consistently keeps us organized.
  • Timeline feature
  • Scorecard feature
  • Dashboard
  • The ability to CC Gainsight on emails
Best suited for all teams regardless of the frequency of customer interactions. Perfect for ensuring the entire team has a view into individual contributions.
Read this authenticated review
Steven Doty profile photo
October 26, 2017

Review: "Gainsight is on the Pulse of our Customer Success!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by our Enterprise and Education team to more effectively manage and mitigate risk with our client base. We use it to analyse NPS scores, contact frequency, account value and numerous other metrics, and drive renewals with automated mass communications regarding account health, product usage, client satisfaction and more. The tool has helped us better focus on risk in our customer base by building out a scorecard that accurately captures the overall health of individual clients and entire verticals.
  • Gainsight excels at building an effective framework for the CSM to more efficiently interact with clients. We were able to significantly increase the number of clients per CSM with the help of the platform.
  • Gainsight helps to produce meaningful datasets that the Administrators can use to create dashboards for the business and for individual users to plan their days at a glance.
  • Gainsight provides an incredible automation platform to manage and move data around in the Salesforce instance, to build meaningful automated task assignment, merge and pivot complex datasets, and build out meaningful client metrics.
  • Gainsight's Rules Engine grows more powerful and capable over time but has become more complex and unintuitive to use.
  • The mass communications platform has become our primary choice due to the native Salesforce functionality it offers, but survey functionality still has room to grow to allow for better forking of questions and translation of UI options, which would improve ease of use.
  • Gainsight has much room for improvement in the area of consulting meaningfully with clients on best implementations in given industries and sectors. They could do a better job by focusing on bucketing customers and thoughtfully designing industry-specific approaches rather than providing a very basic setup and letting clients struggle to build an effective platform from there.
Gainsight works best if your organization:
  • Uses Salesforce effectively and correctly
  • Understands what client metrics best affect renewals
  • Has built an integration to aggregate that data and push it to Salesforce or another data platform already and correlate it with Salesforce records
If you do not know any leading indicators for churn/renewal or lack access to usage data for your clients, you will not benefit as much from the risk mitigation functions in Gainsight.

If your contact records are not clean or attached to your customers correctly in Salesforce, its mass communications tools will be less effective.
Read Steven Doty's full review
Colleen Fleming profile photo
October 10, 2017

Review: "Client Success has a new name and it's called Gainsight."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to manage our client success. Our client success managers use Gainsight to see usage data of their clients for our products. This helps them see where improvements are needed and where successes are happening. Our account managers use Gainsight to manage our renewal process as well as add-on sales. We also have our professional services team using Gainsight throughout the implementation process for new clients. Using Gainsight the way we do leads to our clients being successful in their use of our products as well as growing and strengthening our relationship with that client. Our client's success and happiness are extremely important to us and Gainsight helps us manage and measure that happiness and success.
  • Gainsight provides the availability of bringing in product usage data so that we can use that data to trigger actions such a touch points and follow ups between us and the client.
  • Gainsight provides to ability to create a scorecard for client health. This incorporates the data we have coming in from our product as well as data we already have within Salesforce and use this to provide a grade for specific measures that all add up to an overall client health score. This functionality has had a large impact for our organization.
  • Gainsight has great customer support. When you are with Gainsight you have the chance to have a Client Success Manager as well as a dedicated Support Representative. This is awesome because your Client Success Manager helps you with the bigger pictures and addressing the business problems you want solved and your dedicated support rep helps you along the road with any technical support you need (which they learn about what you do and the way you use the system so over time they are even better at helping answer your unique questions).
  • Gainsight is always releasing great updates and new product features. When updates and features do come out you can tell that they are thought through but sometimes wish they were a little more robust. It is understood that it does take time for these features to become more robust and Gainsight is really great on listening to customer feedback so needs are typically met at some point.
Gainsight is a client success tool. If you are a growing company or even a well established company Gainsight is a great way to get an even deeper understanding of how your clients are using your product or service and how you can guide them on an even more successful path.
Read Colleen Fleming's full review
Ian Cummings profile photo
August 11, 2017

User Review: "The Power of Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We have proactive insights into each of our customers accounts, for example when there are new enablement projects starting/finishing we are notified by Call To Actions (CTAs). A CTA can help our department to stay in front of any issues/changes the customer is facing.
  • Another major feature is the ability to pull reports from that data flow between our customers and their trading partners. Our CSM team can use these insights and reports to provide powerful business impacting views into what is working for our customers and what areas can be improved.
  • The final main feature of Gainsight is the ability to keep a log of all the interactions that happen between our customers and the CSM department, by updating the timeline we are able to understand what has happened with the customer as accounts change between CSMs.
  • I would recommend that there are more ways for Gainsight to capture the communication between the CSM and our customers. Currently we have to manually track the communication and as a result things do get missed or are not deemed as "important". If we have an easy way to log a call, email, or presentation it would improve our teams insight into the customer journey.
  • I think it would be great to have the communication within Gainsight to be visible to other departments that only use Salesforce. This would give our company more transparency between the departments and one central area of information.
  • I would like to have an ability to work completely out of Gainsight and not have to jump back and forth into Salesforce. So if a case is updated it would be great to open that case in Gainsight and then if I need to send a message to the analyst I can do so with Gainsight.
Currently at SPS Commerce we use Gainsight within the Customer Success department. Gainsight provides the CSM department with many benefits. We have proactive insights into each of our customers accounts, for example when there are new enablement projects starting/finishing we are notified by Call To Actions (CTAs). A CTA can help our department to stay in front of any issues/changes the customer is facing.

Another major feature is the ability to pull reports from that data flow between our customers and their trading partners. Our CSM team can use these insights and reports to provide powerful business impacting views into what is working for our customers and what areas can be improved.

The final main feature of Gainsight is the ability to keep a log of all the interactions that happen between our customers and the CSM department, by updating the timeline we are able to understand what has happened with the customer as accounts change between CSMs.
Read Ian Cummings's full review
Andy Roy profile photo
August 11, 2017

Review: "Gainsight is my favorite "place" to work"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight primarily in our Customer Success Team (CST), using it to manage onboarding and customer relationships, distribute and analyze NPS and CSAT surveys. The platform serves as the source of truth for tasks and timelines for our trainers and customer success advisors. We also make extensive use of the reporting and dashboards to monitor our customers' health and progress through their lifecycle. While the daily activity in Gainsight is driven by CST, the analytics are frequently shared with the entire company.
  • Automated process management: We continually refine our Gainsight Rules Engine, Success Plans and Playbooks. Having plans of action ready to auto-assign to the right resources when the situation arises is a HUGE time saver and provides consistency.
  • Customer Support: The support team at Gainsight is always friendly, responsive and have resolved any questions or issues in good time. The only time that an issue wasn't resolved quickly, it was highly complex and fairly unique to our environment. Support still remembered to keep us updated and kept at the problem with devs until all was fixed.
  • Reporting: I'm a big fan of dashboards and reports! Data Spaces and the Report Builder allow for great power and versatility to show execs, managers and folks on the front lines what is happening with our customers and our own processes. They look good, too--I could stare at usage data charts all day. ;)
  • Basic UX - I find that each "area" of Gainsight is fairly intuitive to use with a little learning, but there are basic interactions which are quite inconsistent. My primary example of this would be "Save". Sometimes there's a button labeled Save at the bottom of a page or widget. Sometimes there's a similar button at the top. Sometimes it's an icon shaped like a disk to the right of an item...or the top of a page. And there seem to be times where simply clicking out of a field "saves" a change. This has caused confusion for us at times. I would love to see some work to take the fundamentals of user interaction and make them more consistent across the platform.
  • More Basic UX - Where are permissions configured? Just like with the Save button: "it depends". Some portions of Gainsight have permissions above and beyond what is granted via Salesforce. Sometimes you go to Administration to configure permissions in a designated space, but for other parts of the tool, you configure them in the same space where you do your work. As an admin, I just tell new users to let me know when they get a permissions error and I'll figure it out.
As a SaaS company with subscription-based customer relationships, and especially if you're already tracking them in Salesforce, Gainsight is an ideal tool to manage a proactive strategy of customer success. Intelligent and flexible automation of tasks, clear tracking of objectives and customer health, strong tools for data management and reporting...all these make this one of the most rewarding platforms I've used for anything. Their support team is a pleasure to work with to boot.
Read Andy Roy's full review
Matt Forrest profile photo
August 11, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Great customer success platform!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our Customer Success team to manage our customer base to access risk and opportunity with our customer base. We use various data sources to evaluate our customers and decide what response we should take for a number of different scenarios. We use Gainsight for reporting, our day to day work, and everything in between.
  • Valuable rule driven CTAs
  • Ability to communicate with customers
  • Easy
  • Great reporting features
  • Data import must be planned and strategic
  • UI can lag from time to time
Gainsight is great for managing a large customer base and being able to focus on specific customer problems. The value is tied to the data that you put in and the level of effort you and your team put in to creating impactful and relevant rules and CTAs as this will power everything in your instance.
Read Matt Forrest's full review
Vinny Poliseno profile photo
August 01, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Feel the Pulse of your Clients"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently really focused on using Gainsight within our Client Success division, they are our power users. However, since we are getting a lot of data ingested into data we push a lot of it back to the Account level of Saleforce (SFDC) as well for other users who have a SFDC license but not a Gainsight one can see daily usage data. This give a lot more visibility into the overall health of a client by the usage of the tool rather then pulse checking between the CSM and client.
  • Great way to really see if your clients are using the service you provide them.
  • Easily able to formalize an action plan to follow up with at risk clients before its too late to save them.
  • Just as easy to set up a thank campaign for clients who are using your service as intended and showing them value.
  • Access to their Vault to pull in already created templates to customize to our company liking.
  • It took a bit of time to figure out how to get our data out of our tool and then into Gainsight. But once we did it was very repeatable to get all the data we wanted. We just struggled with prioritizing developer hours to get this data push into Gainsight.
If your organization is really looking to get a good pulse read on if your clients are actually using your product this a great tool to have. However, you need to really know what data points you need to understand if your client is seeing value. This took a bit of time and over the last year we've started to learn and tweak those data points.
I've attended one local Pulse event since I'm an admin of Gainsight it was not very useful for myself. However, one of my CSMs attends and has said it is very helpful. I do find their online documentation very useful and a place I explore before opening a support ticket with them.
Read Vinny Poliseno's full review
Candace Wallace profile photo
October 31, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight or Bust"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being utilized across multiple functions of our business: Client Success, Support, Implementation & Migrations, Account Management, Finance, and Operations Leadership. Our initial decisions to purchase were based on improving retention of our client base, but it has quickly expanded to many other use cases. It provides standardized work flows for Client Success Managers, reporting and dashboards for leadership, a vehicle for client success qualified leads and qualified advocacy, NPS and CSAT delivery and tracking, automated lead generation for account management based off product use and account details, a more thorough client health model, and so much more. We had many of the above listed areas in place already, but Gainsight really helped to enhance and improve our results and efficiencies.
  • Standardized CSM workflows is very key. It puts process and science to a role that has historically acted more like an art form. Every can now have the same reaction process for key activities with our clients.
  • NPS and CSAT. We historically ran this through other tools, but we have been blown away by the increase in response rates by utilizing Gainsight, along with our abilities to automate reactions to those scores provided by clients. I can't say enough good things about this part of the tool.
  • Client Health Scoring: we refer to our Gainsight version as Client Health 2.0 internally. We had a pretty basic model that stretched across all reached of our business, but that's just it...it was basic. Gainsight allowed us to easily tie together data that was nearly impossible with just SFDC without significant development efforts on our end. We also went the route of pulling all data from our applications to start watching the trending behind the scenes for other leading indicators. Our teams now have watch on a couple hundred variables that we previously had no insight into with relation to churn. It requires the most effort and planning for a business to implement, but the rewards are 100% worth it. We doubled the effectiveness of our predictive model, and we rely on this data across everything from client care, to sales, to finance, to renewals, to marketing, and so on.
  • The only areas I would like to see adjusted would be around dashboards and reporting. I considered myself an expert in building reports and dashboards in SFDC, and I now rely on our Gainsight administrator for everything in Gainsight. Perhaps consider some basic options for individual users to more easily create their own.
Well Suited Areas: client success teams, account management teams, basic customer marketing, lead generation based off of very specific behaviors/data points

Less Appropriate areas: full-on marketing/lead generation. I have found that it's a great supplement to our marketing efforts, but would not recommend someone to use it for everything is you are supporting a large customer base
Read Candace Wallace's full review
Karen Tonch profile photo
October 27, 2017

Gainsight Review: "A CSM's dream tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used across business units. It helps the CSMs be proactive and manage their accounts.
  • Continually improves the platform.
  • Energy flowing conferences.
  • Services team really helped with setup and issues.
  • Better high-level reporting for Directors. We have a lot of relationship offerings and there are limits.
  • Expensive for licenses.
  • Dashboard permissions are tough. Need to have them in groups so I don't have to add each person to each dashboard. We have a lot of dashboards.
Well suited- love timeline, custom reports, dashboards, email assist
Less suited- data inaccuracy on our side, difficult to bring data in from different sources
Read Karen Tonch's full review
Donna Kumar profile photo
October 06, 2017

Review: "Increase team efficiency and customer contact with Gainsight!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently used by our Customer Success Team to streamline the management of assigned accounts. We have more than 100 accounts assigned to each CSM and Gainsight helps us keep our contact on point.
  • The dashboards help me to know where I am in the lifecycle of my accounts and also brings to light in a nice visual way any accounts experiencing risk factors so that I can delve in and address any issues.
  • The CTAs (Call to Action) task list is key in helping me stay on top of my accounts.
  • I love the ability to easily send emails directly from CTAs. This really streamlines the workflow.
  • Integration with SalesForce is key and brings timeline items to the forefront for others within our organization.
  • The ability to easily generate reports of captured data would be nice.
If you're noticing a lot of churn with your customer base or if you just need to get a better handle on how you communicate with your customers (and sometimes when you communicate with them), Gainsight can help.
Read Donna Kumar's full review
Jessica Hall profile photo
October 02, 2017

Review: "My Insight into Gainsight - First Impressions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Client Success team utilizes Gainsight to aid in the management of their customers. It provides insight into their history, business goals, feature adoption, etc. Our consultants love the email functionality in Gainsight that helps them pinpoint who to reach out to and what to say through their cockpits, CTAs and email assist.
  • Gainsight has great support! We love the relationship we have with our CSM at Gainsight, as well as access to their support team, online knowledge base, and their Community.
  • We love the Rules Engine and how we can customize Gainsight to work for us. We have built rules that comb through our customer accounts and usage to give us great things to reach out to about them. We can customize email templates based on these rules and create efficiency for our consultants.
  • The concept behind Success Plans - we're all about it! We like that Gainsight offers a way to track a plan being created and customized for our customer base. We tailor them and let our consultants tweak them further based on their relationships.
  • Reporting - we have faced limitations and trouble implementing reports. They aren't user friendly and can't be edited easily by users who are looking to access their own reports.
  • The product is powerful which makes it difficult to learn. Since it's so robust, their is a learning curve for sure!
It's great for a team that is FOCUSED on supporting the goals & overall success of a customer. It helps for those who are looking to build strategic & proactive relationships, not necessarily focused 100% on sales and also not 100% reactive support.
Read Jessica Hall's full review
Liubov Penyugalova profile photo
August 22, 2017

Review: "We're happy with Gainsight however implementation is still in progress"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our CS team, including VP of CS, uses Gainsight happily. The biggest pain point that was resolved by Gainsight is account management in terms of (1) reacting on different changes in customer's life (2) capturing lifecycle events on time (like QBRs, pre-renewal meetings, EBRs, etc.).
  • Ease of data transition from internal sources to Gainsight through different connectors.
  • Smooth integration with SFDC data.
  • Very sound and powerful rule engine. From a CSM perspective - clear workspace (i.e. Cockpit).
  • Integrated outreach engine that Gainsight develops constantly.
  • Great Community!
  • Ability to pull data from Gainsight via API. Yes, it's possible to pull CSV files via bionic rules but the whole process isn't intuitive and still has limitations like no way how we can get text areas (timeline notes) from Gainsight.
  • Community is great but more detailed manuals (especially for those using relationships heavily) would be of such a great help. It's so difficult to find an answer for a particular question sometimes.
  • Huge dependency on SFDC admins.
Well, it's best suited when a CSM/AM BoB is [comprised of] more than 50 accounts. It's not so critical when one can keep in mind all her/his accounts and use other, less specified tools for managing their customers.
Read Liubov Penyugalova's full review
Russell Gray profile photo
August 21, 2017

User Review: "We can finally see with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight was purchased for use by the customer success and growth & renewals account executive teams. Gainsight addressed several needs for our organization: 1. It serves as an information aggregator, pulling together key metrics from a variety of internal systems. 2. It provides proactive notification of actionable changes within our customer base. 3. It provides a framework for standardized messaging across the team. 4. It provides a platform to build automated outreach/NPS programs. 5. It helped us build customer scorecard/risk measures.
  • Gainsight CTA (Calls to Action) are game changing. Having real-time notifications of actionable data is vital to our team's ability to service customers.
  • The C360 Report provides a concise overview of each customer. This saves a lot of time in the meeting preparation phase.
  • Gainsight CoPilot has allowed us to reach more customers with less effort.
  • Dashboards & Reports are slightly hard to use. There is a steep learning curve to putting these together.
  • CoPilot outreach cannot be scheduled to skip weekends.
  • NPS functionality is great out of the box - CSAT is more manual to set up.
Gainsight is well-suited for organizations that are somewhat mature and have the appropriate data/resources to be useful.
Read Russell Gray's full review
Beth Power, MBA, CSM, SA profile photo
August 18, 2017

"Early Use Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently used only by customer success organization.
Solves the problems of: hard to find data in SFDC; need for health information, both subjective and objective; need for efficient and automated workflow for customer contact; need for alerts and triggers for activities; real-time info visibility back into SFDC for the rest of the org.
  • Automated workflow and activity creation, with a centralized dashboard for CSMs to manage their work, allows CSMs to spend their time on more valuable work
  • Flexible health scoring based on many factors including quantifiable product use and subjective aspects like relationship status allows us to fine tune and focus our energy where it's needed most
  • Ability to view rolled-up information on accounts that have multiple sub-accounts and see all relevant data within the 360 even for simple accounts, means less time searching and manually compiling data to get an overall view
  • Every CTA requires a task to sync to SFDC, and sometimes the CTA and task are really the same thing (managing an escalation, for example)
  • Reporting seems somewhat limited, including visualization - but could be our lack of maturity
  • Logging activity from different places shows in different areas, tagged differently, and reported to SFDC differently. Means CSMs have to make a lot of decisions on where and how to log - leads to wasted time and inconsistency
Gainsight is well suited to seeing a quick and comprehensive snapshot of customer accounts and drill easily into details that normally live in many different areas of SFDC - or even different tools altogether. Gainsight also excels at helping CSMs manage recurring touchpoints, and react appropriately to risks discovered within accounts - whether discovered through conversation or by a trigger in Gainsight.
Read Beth Power, MBA, CSM, SA's full review
Samantha Braastad profile photo
August 16, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight Feedback"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success Management department leverages Gainsight on a daily basis to have key insights into our customers health, real-time notifications of customer behavior changes, and simplify workflows for all of our CSMs.
  • Using rules to create trigger notification to our CSMs around customer behavior changes while associating it with actionable tasks is easy and straightforward.
  • Combined information from a single source makes preparing for customer Business Reviews quick and scalable.
  • Improved agility with product and bug releases would be huge.
  • Better project management abilities for large scale projects with customers would be a big win.
Well suited for anyone who touches the customer once they are an existing customer. Gainsight provides consolidated information on the customer in a single source of truth.
Read Samantha Braastad's full review
Jennifer Lind profile photo
August 16, 2017

Review: "Daily usage of Gainsight - The number 1 tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been a frequent user of Gainsight since we implemented it within Planview (1.5 years ago, daily usage) It provides me with a great overview of my customers' health, creates call to actions for opps, events and risks. You can easily get useful and very valuable data from gainsight in prep for executive business reviews. Before we had gainsight, it was a struggle to find and put together usage information to present to the customer. Now it's done with a couple of clicks!
  • Sponsor tracking
  • Call to actions
  • Usage data
In interaction with existing customers, in prep for EBRs
Read Jennifer Lind's full review
Rohit Kapoor profile photo
July 25, 2017

User Review: "Love GainSight!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple reporting systems and it is difficult to consume all metrics for a customer from all these different sources. GainSight brings all that together and helps account managers manage their accounts more efficiently. GainSight is currently being used by account managers here, but we see opportunities where other teams can be benefitted too.
  • Ease of integration with different sources of information.
  • The C360 page is a charm! You can add multiple sections with dashboards on it. The Usage section is really powerful and helps combine metrics from different domains into one section, where it becomes very easy to track the trend of usage metrics. The 'normalize' option is an added advantage to track the percentage changes over time.
  • The report builder is very easy to use.
  • There are limitations on email outreaches like no support for tabular reports, limitation of 5 reports on an email template etc. Also, there is a lack of functionality to not trigger an email outreach if none of the reports on the email have data. There are times when the recipients get email that has nothing to track.
  • Report builder is pretty simple to use but lacks the functionality to handle a bit complex computations.
  • The reports don't allow end users to build aggregates on the fly. For example, a generic daily report needs to be seen rolled-up to monthly, quarterly or yearly views, based on a user's preference. The way it works today is that it requires the developers to design different aggregated views of the same report, so you end up cluttering the dashboard with just different views of the same data.
  • The global dashboard doesn't allow adding reports that are built on data sources from different domains - meaning, you can add a MDA report and a SFDC report on the same dashboard.
It is very well suited for customer management, where you want to track information from multiple sources into one page (C360) for making a quick and complete decision about your customer. It is not a BI tool and at times, when you get involved using Gainsight, you start thinking if it can replace your BI tool or become one for your organisation.
Yes, they are pretty helpful! I haven't been to Pulse events yet, but have explored the user groups and university stuff and found them immensely helpful.
Read Rohit Kapoor's full review
Greg McLaughlin profile photo
July 25, 2017

User Review: "The Joy of Working with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We engaged with Gainsight about six months ago and signed a contract with them about two months ago. We launched our initial pilot group of a dozen users just this week and plan to roll out to another 150 users within the next 45 days. Our use is pretty broad-ranging as we employ the Gainsight platform to develop our 360-degree view of the customer including a focus on driving positive account heath scores and platform usage trends. We use the considerable insight Gainsight provides to set our strategic account development plans and customer success reviews as well as to apply the appropriate attention to customers in need of our support and engagement based on the "Calls to Action" that help guide our team as to the most critical tasks, events, alerts and issues to resolve.
  • Pulls together customer information from Salesforce into an easily digestible format and enables you to analyze additional customer data that resides outside of the Salesforce environment.
  • Creates a focus around automatically calculated objective and subjective account health score metrics for a quick and accurate read on the accounts that require attention and strategic prioritization.
  • Focuses your teams on strategic account planning based on the customer's objectives, needs, and challenges.
  • Provides "Calls to Action" (CTAs) that automatically bring to your attention issues, risks and challenges to enable better proactive resolution.
  • Gainsight as a company lives, embodies and exemplifies the concept of customer success like very few companies in the world. Their level of support, engagement and absolute trusted partnership is unrivaled.
  • Professional services that totally understand our needs and requirements and expertly guide us to success.
  • The contacts in the Sponsor tracking tile should be able to be maneuvered into an org-chart configuration.
Any company that has valued customers and seeks to foster trusted consultative relationships should embrace the concept of customer success and use Gainsight as a platform for driving intelligent customer support, engagement and consultation. Whether you are a small company with thousands of customers or a large company with millions of customers, the need is the same. Identify the risk, capitalize on the opportunities, prioritize the sales and support resources and make each customer feel like you understand their needs and that you are focused on their success. Gainsight helps companies accomplish these objectives.
Pulse is an amazing event. There are so many opportunities to network with like-minded professionals with similar challenges and objectives. There are numerous excellent presentations, seminars and panel discussions to attend, and best of all, it is fun. The user groups are great as well, usually run by passionate advocates, they are packed with great ideas, suggestions and best practices.
Read Greg McLaughlin's full review
Ted Malley profile photo
October 26, 2017

Review: "Customer Success that SCALES with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight in Customer Success and our Base Sales organization as well as Technical Account Management in support. Key functions are risk management, CTA's around support escalations and pulling all of our client sources into a single dashboard.
  • Forces you to standardize your playbook and setup CTA's to execute common plays
  • Aggregates multiple sources of client information into a single dashboard
  • Grows our Customer Success team using latest trends in the industry
  • Wished it would handle my reference process instead of a 3rd party app.
  • Would love for it to handle advocacy (i.e. Intuitive)
New CSM team forming, new players, need to standardize behavior quickly. Need to provide simple metrics for executive dashboard.
Read Ted Malley's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (126)
8.4
API (94)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (161)
9.4
Integration with Marketo (41)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (155)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (128)
8.2
NPS surveys (132)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (128)
8.4
Customer profiles (154)
9.1
Automated workflow (167)
8.4
Internal collaboration (153)
8.3
Customer health scoring (167)
9.6
Customer segmentation (142)
9.3
Customer health trends (158)
9.3
Engagement analytics (138)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (85)
9.2
Dashboards (166)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Based on a per user/per month model.

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android