TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGGainsight ReviewIt is being used by our success and account management team to track client usage and adoption but also to track our overall renewals and upsells.,Health scoring Identifying red flags early on through automated CTAs Insight into customer usage and adoption,More bidirectional sync between Salesforce and gainsight Calculations in reporting,9,10,Very important. We’ve built high-level dashboards for then and they actually have licenses.,Identify customer health Identify red flags and adoption Identify upsell opportunities,z-insightGainsight is PowerfulWe use Gainsight for Client Health scoring, Renewal Tracking, Churn Risk Mitigation, NPS Scoring, and Release Note Communications,Great visualization of Client Health across the entire customer base Highly flexible in Rule definition and customer segmentation Constant product innovation,Requires a good amount of administration to take full advantage of all the capabilities Pricing model,9,9,We created a Client Health Heatmap to understand potential churn risk. It was mapped using client size, tenure, and health score,Overall churn rate reduction High customer engagement based on Calls to Action More proactive renewal processGainsight-- Important Investment!Gainsight is being used by our Customer Success team on a daily basis. It helps simplify workflows, managing day-to-day tasks and activities, as well as addressing one of our top priorities-- renewals.,Manage risks very seamlessly Demonstrate value to our end users in terms of ROI through dynamic data Manage expansion opportunities,Rules engine has some limitations in terms of bionic rules Being more diverse in the way Scorecards are determined/ created-- i.e. through MDA,9,9,Executive Dashboards are very important to our organization because it helps each level of management be able to act/ address items. We have several dashboards created for each user role from CSAs, CSMs, managers, and executives. We are quickly able to develop these and demonstrate what is essential for a team to adhere to business objectives.,Retention rates/ renewals Manage risks and upsell opportunities Identifying overall health of the accountGainsight helpful for both Services and Sales organizationGainsight is being used to track and manage our customers. Our Partner Services organization uses Gainsight to see both product adoption and health measures for our customers. From a Sales perspective we use Gainsight to snapshot important data and metrics on a daily basis which we could not do with Salesforce alone.,Capture important historical data daily with MDA tables Create reports and dashboards quickly Great user interface,Additional options for visualizing data in reports More documentation on building and updating MDA tables More chart types for dashboards,8,10,Executive view into customer accounts (and customer success in general) is extremely import at our company. With dashboards customized for our executive team they're able to get a quick view of the accounts that are healthy and how product adoption is trending across both healthy and unhealthy accounts. Gainsight has made it a lot easier to surface important customer success metrics to our executives.,Better identification of healthy accounts Better understanding of our historical sales data Customer Success team able to work with account data more effectively,TotangoGainsight — Makes My OCD SO HappyGainsight is used by the customer success arm of our sales team exclusively. It solves account tracking, account related to-dos, and helps us be uber organized about client success functions and follow up.,Action Items — Makes it really clear which accounts have to-do's, let's you set due dates on these, allows organization to push standard CTAs associated with account on-boarding, check-ins, etc. Note taking! I am obsessed with Timeline. Allows me to log account updates, important email exchanges, call notes and other general account good-to knows and also create tasks based on each.,There may be something in our team's instance of GS that auto prompts 'Closed as Incomplete' at the main CTA level when you close too many playbook tasks and then the main CTA at the same time. Again, this may be settings. As much as I love Timeline, the formatting can sometimes be very off. Especially if you're copying and pasting content into Timeline. It would be great to be able to co-create Timeline entries. Myself and my CSM partner will often times take notes on the same call, so its duplication. Would be great to be able to @mention someone in Timeline.,10,9,Executives use Gainsight to track account health and team usage pretty closely.,Employee Efficiency Improve Retention,Wunderlist and Evernote
Unspecified
Gainsight
317 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
317 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 317 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (76-100 of 176)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Berin Bezmen profile photo
October 03, 2017

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our success and account management team to track client usage and adoption but also to track our overall renewals and upsells.
  • Health scoring
  • Identifying red flags early on through automated CTAs
  • Insight into customer usage and adoption
  • More bidirectional sync between Salesforce and gainsight
  • Calculations in reporting
Understanding the health of an account
Read Berin Bezmen's full review
John Laino profile photo
August 11, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight is Powerful"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight for Client Health scoring, Renewal Tracking, Churn Risk Mitigation, NPS Scoring, and Release Note Communications
  • Great visualization of Client Health across the entire customer base
  • Highly flexible in Rule definition and customer segmentation
  • Constant product innovation
  • Requires a good amount of administration to take full advantage of all the capabilities
  • Pricing model
Great for Customer Success Management and Renewals Tracking
Read John Laino's full review
No photo available
December 28, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight-- Important Investment!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by our Customer Success team on a daily basis. It helps simplify workflows, managing day-to-day tasks and activities, as well as addressing one of our top priorities-- renewals.
  • Manage risks very seamlessly
  • Demonstrate value to our end users in terms of ROI through dynamic data
  • Manage expansion opportunities
  • Rules engine has some limitations in terms of bionic rules
  • Being more diverse in the way Scorecards are determined/ created-- i.e. through MDA
From an internal perspective, Gainsight is very useful for training and onboarding. Accounts are transferred from one CSM to another without anything being slipped through the cracks. For example, through the Timeline activity, all records of calls, emails, updates, etc. are notated within the account demonstrating visibility/ health of the account very clearly to the new CSM.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 31, 2017

Review: "Gainsight helpful for both Services and Sales organization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used to track and manage our customers. Our Partner Services organization uses Gainsight to see both product adoption and health measures for our customers. From a Sales perspective we use Gainsight to snapshot important data and metrics on a daily basis which we could not do with Salesforce alone.
  • Capture important historical data daily with MDA tables
  • Create reports and dashboards quickly
  • Great user interface
  • Additional options for visualizing data in reports
  • More documentation on building and updating MDA tables
  • More chart types for dashboards
Gainsight is great for tracking data historically for our sales team, both as a team and by individual rep. It's very easy and intuitive to segment data by region or team and the data is very easy to export for manipulation in excel. Individually for sales people (with a company of our size) it does not make sense for the reps to be using Gainsight on a daily basis, but it's easy for them to sync with our partner success team to look at any necessary info.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 07, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight — Makes My OCD SO Happy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the customer success arm of our sales team exclusively.

It solves account tracking, account related to-dos, and helps us be uber organized about client success functions and follow up.
  • Action Items — Makes it really clear which accounts have to-do's, let's you set due dates on these, allows organization to push standard CTAs associated with account on-boarding, check-ins, etc.
  • Note taking! I am obsessed with Timeline. Allows me to log account updates, important email exchanges, call notes and other general account good-to knows and also create tasks based on each.
  • There may be something in our team's instance of GS that auto prompts 'Closed as Incomplete' at the main CTA level when you close too many playbook tasks and then the main CTA at the same time. Again, this may be settings.
  • As much as I love Timeline, the formatting can sometimes be very off. Especially if you're copying and pasting content into Timeline.
  • It would be great to be able to co-create Timeline entries. Myself and my CSM partner will often times take notes on the same call, so its duplication.
  • Would be great to be able to @mention someone in Timeline.
Really great for CSM teams. Keeps you uber organized and all of your account related data (basically) in one place. Makes it very easy to scale one internal process.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

Review: "Gainsight - Great for Operationalizing Customer Lifecycle"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently used by our Customer Success team(s) and our Customer Marketing team. Gainsight allows us to operationalize our customer lifecycle by enabling us to define key touchpoints and assign tasks to CSMs as well as segment and automation lifecycle communication.
  • Integration with Salesforce to allow our teams to follow-up based on activity and renewal history and easily update Salesforce records
  • Reports that give a quick glance at renewal pipelines and account performance
  • Segment customer email campaigns based on account activity and history
  • Co-pilot (email) reporting
  • Email builder and template creation
  • Email assist feature (playbook creation)
Gainsight is well-suited for large teams that work based on a lifecycle or renewal model and have clean/accurate CRM data.

Gainsight is not well-suited for teams that have irregular check-in schedules with their customers, or do not have clean and accurate data which to built the Gainsight environment around.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2017

User Review: "My learning curve with Gainsight"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the Customer Success Management team.
It helps us to scale in a way processes are robust. We are utilizing same methodology to manage all accounts, get us aware of customers at risk, get the work of the CSM day to day much more organized, provide the manager the needed visibility of customer tied to a team/ region/ other specific metrics.
  • Views of accounts that it makes it easy to track - for example - manage accounts to be renewed this quarter/ accounts to be renewed next quarter/ New customers that are on boarding etc.
  • Account 360 - detailed area where I can view all information required per account.
  • Timeline - capability that you can utilize to log in quickly any type of activity done with the customer - so you can track history.
  • Views are not always adjusting to screens - makes it super not user friendly to use it.
  • When view is even smaller than the screen, you get the view on 2/3 of the screen rather than adjusting for full screen.
  • You are not being able to add comments to a specific account, when you are on one of the views.
  • You must go into the account 360 and add your comments.
  • Very time consuming.
  • Too many clicks when you deal with CTA - makes it unusable.
Well suited where all your CSMs need to follow same flows and there is not a lot of diversity on the day to day operation from one CSM to another.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 31, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Great for managing a large book of business!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is primarily used by the Customer Success team, however other teams are increasingly utilizing the platform--and the information that we collect is used throughout the organization. We leverage Gainsight as our central dashboard (within Salesforce) to track and manage our customers--including our interactions, their use of our product, feature requests, relationship notes, and more. This level of detail is helpful both for executive visibility, as well as information that others can refer to in getting up to speed on a new account or understanding trends across our account-base.
  • Provides turnkey analytics on customer usage of our products.
  • Alerts when usage has dropped
  • Manages NPS surveys and responses
  • Timeline for tracking activities & cockpit for task management
  • Sponsor tracking doesn't work properly
  • Somewhat manual (requires a lot of inputs directly from users--and setup on backend)
  • Date range on usage reports (can only change greater than or less than)--and need to update when you pivot to a new report
Gainsight is great for tracking call/interaction notes (would be great if you could edit a call to an interaction w/o having to delete).

It's helpful in preparing for business reviews or checkpoints with customers; proving out the value of our relationship & showing the progression of account health.

The Gainsight Sally Slack integration is good for execs but not many other uses
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 31, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight is worth its weight in gold"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We launched Gainsight in our Client Success department and due to the success that we had, it has spread like wildfire across the organization. We then rolled it out to our Account Management, Implementation, Support and Sales teams, as well as at the ELT level. It helps us to proactively manage our accounts.
  • Beautiful interface -- really take the mundane, heavy-scrolling of Salesforce and puts it into an easy to use and read interface.
  • Customization of reports and dashboards -- makes it easy to look at reports every morning.
  • CTAs -- helps our team members proactively manage their time.
  • Not much, Gainsight really thinks about every facet of their program, releasing new items each quarter to help their users.
Well-suited for account management and client success teams, especially items that can be assisted with co-pilot or automated emails. Really helps to keep team members in line to provide a similar experience to each customer. We love the sponsor tracker as it helps us bring a new level to the business/client relationship.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Great Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is primarily used by the onboarding and account management teams who work with existing customers. It helps identify risk for potential churn and help retain customers.
  • Provides organization of my portfolio
  • Helps identify risk and changes within the account that help me be more proactive in reaching out to my customers
  • Dashboards to see how my and team and I are performing
  • Better email sending tools
  • Does not always sync correct data from other platforms
  • Updating the scorecards is finicky
Great for managing a portfolio and day-to-day operations. Really easy to create CTAs and follow-ups to stay on top of customer communication. Not a very good email sending/tracking system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

User Review: "Really enjoy working with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight across our Client Services teams within our Revenue division. We use Gainsight as our primary account management software so that our team has visibility into what's happening within their accounts. We also use Gainsight as our primary net promoter score administration tool.
  • As our net promoter score administration tool, we're able to easily distribute our surveys to relevant customers on a regular cadence, get immediate visibility into their feedback when a response has been given, and easily alert our relevant teams about the feedback so they can close the loop on the feedback.
  • The Gainsight scorecard has helped us to proactively manage the risky accounts in our book in a way that was super manual previously. These scorecards provide visibility to all of our team leads up through leadership, so they can easily evaluate the health and risk of our accounts and therefore better forecast the business and/or take action on risky accounts.
  • The Gainsight Cockpit/Calls-To-Action have helped organize our account managers' workload on a regular basis, providing them with a set of to-dos within accounts and alerts them of information that they may not have been proactively managing previously.
  • In regards to the distribution of emails from their outreach and email assist functions, we find that a percentage of our emails are getting blocked by our clients firewalls and/or are showing up in the spam of customers.
  • Because Gainsight lives on top of the Force.com platform for us, we find that the loading times of the pages can sometimes take awhile. This may lead to time-outs and/or error messages on some occasions.
I think Gainsight as a software for account management teams is fantastic. It really helps provide organization for them and a single UI to access a lot of disparate information that may be stored in other systems. In order for it to work effectively though, I think you need to have a full-time resource managing the application and buy-in from IT/engineering resources who can help pull in the relevant usage data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 17, 2017

Review: "Gainsight: Nothing on the market is comparable!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Gainsight primarily for our customer success team. We have recently rolled out the use of our Gainsight Limited Licenses to a select group in our sales department as well to help build cross-functional relationships and collaboration with our customers. Recent feature releases have also allowed us to share information from within Gainsight to the executive team without having to purchase a seat.
  • Gainsight's ability to form quick and comprehensive health scoring, allows our CSMs to derive quick insights into their customers and allows them to prioritize their book of business.
  • Gainsight's Cockpit allows CSMs to stay organized with their upcoming and overdue tasks.
  • Dashboards and reporting allow for customization. This allows us to provide specific views for what each member of the team needs to see from executives, managers, or CSMs.
  • The reporting capabilities do not always support the level of detail we are looking to achieve. There are a lot of limitations when it comes to the number of fields you can pull in, which then limits the graphical options you have.
  • As an admin, there is quite a learning curve to implement and support Gainsight. It would be pretty difficult to roll out Gainsight without an admin in place. Either the implementation needs to be simplified or training resources need to be greatly improved.
Gainsight is well suited for companies who are looking to understand the state of their customers and to allow CSMs, managers, sales, etc., to derive quick insights and get a better understanding of their state of retention and potential churn.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 16, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight made my job so much easier."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is exclusively used by the global customer success team (about 15 people). We started using it this year to help us streamline our customer info, notes, and reminders into one platform. We also wanted the automation of reminders for outreach. It has helped us track our efforts and have more visibility into our accounts.
  • Allowing for customized 'calls to action'
  • Providing a lot of information about clients in one shared online platform
  • Sitting on top of Salesforce so that all of the data can be seamlessly transfered
  • More differentiation between 'calls to action' and timeline entries
  • More options for fields in the subscription info
  • Doesn't provide visibility to Salesforce users so there is a disconnect with the sales team
I love gainsight because it makes my job easier. I have already recommended it to my colleagues and peers because I have found such success from it. It is really good to use for proactive outreach such as for quarterly business reviews and health checks. It is not as helpful to break down your onboarding customers because it groups all of those types of CTAs together.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 16, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight is on its way"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used primarily by our customer success department and gives us a better way to easily digest our customer data and keep up to date on items needed to be done to support our customers.
  • Auto-trigger reminders for CSMs.
  • Organize data in a visually pleasing way that is also easy to digest.
  • Brings items to light that were previously slipping through the cracks.
  • UI is not great, especially for admins.
  • Doing anything at a relationship level is horrendous. We avoid it at all costs as it normally requires us to do everything 15 times to get the same result as doing it once at the account level.
Great for customer management and implementing best practices for those customers across your department.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 11, 2017

User Review: "Our gains from Gainsight."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We only use Gainsight within our Customer Success team to automate our processes. We send automated emails through out the customer lifecycle and notify CSM of accounts that need attention. We are also developing account health scores and tracking usage data within the application.
  • The bionic rules in Gainsight allow us to overcome the separation between Salesforce objects. I don't have to worry about not being able to access both billing and contact data for our customers at the same time anymore.
  • The automated email feature, known as Copilot, has saved us hundreds if not thousands of hours of work. All of our clients receive specific emails, and we can easily set up which email goes to which client then essentially forget about it.
  • The C360 page lets us access almost any data we need about a client. We can customize what is shown and how the data is organized so our CSM's can quickly see the most important information about our specific clients.
  • The Usage object within Gainsight could use a bit of TLC. We love the data it shows and the potential it has to become a major resource in knowing our customers, but the UI can be a bit clunky at times. The graphs aren't always the most readable or intuitive.
  • The automated emails can only be triggered once a day. We can't send an email within a certain amount of time of an event happening within an account. We also can't easily schedule the same email to trigger multiple times in one day.
  • Health scores are at a good starting point, but we could use a couple more improvements. The first would be to have more options of splitting score categories up into smaller scores (e.g. overall score - usage score - indiv. feature score). We also can't set a weight to diminish over time (e.g. the sales score will always affect the overall score the same amount even after two years)
It is well suited to help automate a lot of tasks (and still getting better!). Sometimes we struggle with accessing account data. Any data stored on a custom Gainsight object can only be accessed through reports with no alternative of accessing the object directly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2017

Review: "Gainsight will change the way you see customers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GainSight is a fantastic tool that allows your engagement team to see the life cycle of a customer. From the first day they sign up to the day they leave (which hopefully will never happen). GainSight will trigger tasks for you team to follow up with customers that show symptoms of churning so that you can head it off long before it happens.
  • Customer Tracking is accurate and easy to read!
  • They have a fantastic and helpful team. They are responsive and knowledgeable. You will never be left out in the cold.
  • Easy to set up (at least in comparison to other internal tech we've used).
  • These are all knit picks, loading can be slowish, but I would say that is industry wide. There's a lot of data to sort through.
  • There has been syncing issues in the past with Salesforce (But I would assume that it is partly SF's fault).
I have been working with customer analytic tools for a while, and I would say that if you are looking at something like Totango or Intercom or similar, give GainSight a peak. Every tool will have its strengths and weaknesses, but I love GainSight. They have a great team and a great path to the future.
I don't know what to say other than they are great. I haven't referenced them in over a year, but I doubt they went down in value. :) Keep it up team!
Read this authenticated review
Marissa Gates profile photo
March 30, 2017

Review: "Gainsight - Customer Success Efficiency Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used in a few different groups in my organization from account management, to client success, and strategic account management. The tool is used to increase visibility on interaction with accounts, encourage collaboration, and increase time individual time efficiency. We had to do quite a bit of customization to take the existing functionality and make it our own, but it's been well worth it.
  • Gainsight provides an aesthetically pleasing view of relevant information for all of my accounts. 360 pulls in data from salesforce that I can review quickly, and access easily.
  • Timeline in particular has been very useful for my team. The ability to search, pull in contacts, and organize each client interaction has been very helpful. We are looking forward to the enhancement which includes task lists on timeline.
  • Success Plans have been...HUGE. It's a way for account management & strategic accounts to work together on a client's success - and create a specific plan to get there.
  • Gainsight in itself is glitchy. It has a general slowness which is frustrating, and a lot of times we have to use different browsers to access certain parts of it because they simply won't open or throws errors.
  • While we love the success plans- we wish that the feature would be designed to be ever living (one success plan), and for the objectives in itself to be completed... the fact that success plans ideally should be completed doesn't really correlate with how strategic accounts manage their clients.
  • I wish there was a way to limit certain playbooks by role. For example if I want to pull in a particular playbook for strategic accounts, I don't need to see playbooks that belong to account management... it just clutters up my view. I'd like to see playbooks that are approved for use in my particular role.
I really do believe that Gainsight is a customer success tool and every group in an organization should be committed to customer success. That's why Gainsight is relevant to multiple groups across the organization. I think positioning Gainsight as an efficiency tool is key. While salesforce is obviously an awesome CRM, Gainsight is a value add in providing relevant information all in one place.
I myself haven't ventured into this area as of yet. However, my company is sending multiple people to Pulse. I would expect that I would take a ton of ideas and information back to my team from that event. I would especially be interested in a user group in my area (Northern CA). I think talking with other GS clients on best practices would be especially helpful.
Read Marissa Gates's full review
Kaitlin Ashley profile photo
March 17, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Great for making CSMs more proactive and getting insight into customer behavior, but you're in for a lot of work"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it primarily for our Customer Success team and to support our Sales Team during the trial process. Our Customer Success team uses Gainsight for CTAs (all events-based at the moment - new client onboard, QBR reminders - but also some performance CTAs, like an alert that their new account hasn't reached our designated "passing" onboarding score), the C360 page to support QBRs, and their client dashboard at times. Our Director of Customer Success has her own dashboard that she monitors for going over CTAs and keeping tabs on how our new clients are onboarding. We also use Copilot to send out trial nurture emails and to automate emails coming "from" our Account Executives and introducing them to our renewal managers (we automate these outreaches because lots of clients fit into this low-touch bucket).
  • CTAs and other rules-based features: CTAs are great because you can query your customer data every day and be alerted if/when your customer is exhibiting specific behaviors. For instance, we have a CTA set up to alert our CSMs if their new customer is 2 weeks into onboarding and has not yet received a "passing" score for onboarding.
  • CoPilot: Copilot has a lot of the same features of CTAs but you can easily automate sending emails to people who meet specified qualifications. For instance, we send an trial nurture emails from Gainsight to accounts in the trial process who are days 2, 5, and 7 into their trial.
  • Usage data view on C360 page: Our team gets a lot of value out of seeing their client's usage activity over time via the C360 page.
  • Too many features: I think Gainsight could benefit from focusing on a handful of key features v. trying to do everything. There are so many tabs and so many areas that I can adjust that it's often overwhelming.
  • Releases: Honestly, I have to brace myself for Gainsight product releases because at least some process that I set-up which was largely "set it and forget it" stops working after a release. I lose a lot of time redoing rules I've made in the rules engine with startling frequency.
  • Support responsiveness: this was exacerbated after the previous release which made sense, but support often takes a full 24 hours to get back to me and simply say they're reviewing my ticket. Whenever I have an issue with Gainsight I assume it'll take the entire week to resolve.
Gainsight is well suited for a Saas company with well-defined business processes, thoughtful Salesforce account structure, and an existing way to link usage data to Salesforce (i.e. a specific field that lives in both places). Gainsight is not well suited for transactional business models or businesses that tend to lose clients after a few months.
I do not leverage these resources. However, I went to Success Express in 2014 and found it useful.
Read Kaitlin Ashley's full review
Joe Breed profile photo
March 15, 2017

Review: "Gainsight has the potential to transform an organization!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is a customer success department's best friend. It really has the power to transform an organization and lives up to its promise as a way to get a 360 view of a customer list. Gainsight is used daily by the customer success manager at Skyword as a way to understand customer risk, identify product adoption trends, conduct research and ensure that all assigned tasks are being completed. Gainsight helps us ensure there are no surprises when it comes to customer churn.
  • Gainsight works incredibly well with SFDC so it makes data integrity something you can count on.
  • Gainsight is extremely customizable so you can really use it in a way that works best for your organization.
  • Gainsight has a very active user community and knowledgeable support desk that makes it easy to find answers to the questions that come up.
  • Gainsight is what you make of it. It's such a robust software that you need to dedicate significant time to making it valuable for your organization.
  • Gainsight's isn't the most user-friendly software. I find it takes time before a CSM fully understands how it can help their day to day. Admins have an even harder job of learning the ins and outs of rule creation, dashboard building, and troubleshooting.
  • Gainsight is built on top of SFDC, so you really need to ensure that your SFDC is set up in a way that will work with Gainsight.
Gainisight is perfect for a company that is already on SFDC and uses SFDC in a "standard" way. Gainsight works well for companies that don't have visibility into how their customers are using their product, get surprise cancellations and use different spreadsheets to collect customer data. Gainsight is also best for companies that have enough CSMs that they can take full advantage of the cockpit and robust rule engine. Gainsight isn't a good fit for companies that don't use SFDC or have just a few CSMs.
Gainsight has a very valuable user group where you can find answers to your questions big and small. I don't really find myself contributing, but actively consume what others are adding. Gainsight has a robust online learning center, but I find the trainings a little slow and very expensive for what you get. I've yet to go to a Pulse event but am looking forward to the main event in May.
Read Joe Breed's full review
Brittany Habel profile photo
March 08, 2017

Gainsight Review: "A growing company with a desire to learn all that GS has to offer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, only our Customer Success department is using Gainsight. We are slowly growing a success operations team, and as we do, they are starting to use the software more and more. We use it to track overall happiness with our product and healthiness with our company and adoption of our product.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Love the timeline feature to easily see a history of interactions
  • Historical tracking of usage
  • Reporting across various data sources is limited
  • Their usage data is auto-aggregated and cannot be customized
  • Rules based logic is not often intuitive. You need to learn to think in "gainsight" ways
I would recommend only adding Gainsight after having a thorough setup and understanding Salesforce. We implemented both simultaneously which led to a lot correcting as we learned our errors down the road. This led to duplicative work and also needs to re-train the team several times as our workflows changed and evolved. Also, ensure that CS managers are directly involved in the implementation and not just leave it to an admin. This way when it comes to enforcing usage among the CSMs later down the road the managers have a more knowledgeable and vested interest in doing so. Once you have clearly defined processes, Gainsight is wonderful for tracking.
I post on the community when I have product requests or ideas that support doesn't have solutions to and they send me there. The response rate there is hit and miss. Sometimes there is immediate follow through from the product teams but others are never responded to. We attended Pulse last year, but are sending more representatives this year as we found it very useful.
Read Brittany Habel's full review
Jamie McConville profile photo
June 09, 2017

User Review: "Success with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially, we needed a tool to centralize our client data as well as keep our Client Success team organized with their tasks with managing so many clients. We continue to solve for other problems year over year as our Gainsight CSM digs into our business needs and opens the door to features that she feels would best suit us.
  • Gainsight has allowed our Client Success team to manage our clients efficiently. The tool is key to managing our client life cycle from initial engagement, through implementation and Go Live phases, and following through to Renewal. Being able to trigger alerts as well as tasks for CSMs based on usage and on life cycle stage has been crucial.
  • Customer support is great. The Support desk communicates frequently when working through submitted tickets and our Client Success Manager thinks outside the box when making strategic recommendations for our business.
  • Next up is utilizing co-pilot to it's fullest so that we can better manage our low-touch clients.
  • The rules engine is incredibly useful however, many times I need Support assistance with setting them up properly. I'm not sure how to make it more user friendly as it's a pretty technical tool, but I can dream.
Gainsight could be used by any business where a client's success is the primary focus and a team of folks are looking for a tool to centralize client data and to assist with organization of client-related tasks. Additional tools to note when considering are their survey capabilities, automated client email tool, and their integration with Salesforce.
Read Jamie McConville's full review
Sacha Laskow profile photo
May 16, 2017

User Review: "Use your Brainsight, get Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Client Success Department and management/executive team for the client services organization. The goal was to address a number of business goals:
  • Accurate health scoring across our client base to manage escalations, track advocates, and give management better visibility
  • Manage the tasks and workload of the CSMs day-to-day through the use of a mix of automated and manual triggers for Calls to Action
  • Provide a central hub for client information, usage stats and CSM contact history (Timeline)
  • Reduce the number of tools the CSMs were having to log-in to and use each day
That mandate has also expanded much further to include various reports and insights as well as automating tasks and emails using Copilot.
  • Gainsight is massively flexible and can be configured to do almost anything with the Rules Engine and being built on the Salesforce platform.
  • The team at Gainsight is amazing, super helpful and will always make time to help improve and achieve the goals of the implementation.
  • The community, documentation and support are all quite mature and provide a lot of resources to understand a complex system with many features.
  • Along with the flexibility, the complexity of implementing and thus the learning curve is quite high.
  • Some Admin functions could be made more user-friendly with some simple UI tweaks, for example changing 'Subtract N+7 days' to 'In the last week'.
  • Could also use more consistency across the UI, for example sometimes you hit 'Save', other times you just close the window etc.
Due to the flexibility Gainsight could likely be adapted to a multitude of scenarios and functions within a customer success organization. The key to getting the most out of it is ensuring your organization has their data in order (this is not a small task), and the business goals are clearly defined and supported.
We've leveraged all those tools and found them all very valuable. An active user community and robust set of training resources is indispensable with such a complex product. We also attended the Pulse conference recently and it was a great mix of fun and learning, with a number of great speakers and of course VANILLA ICE!
Read Sacha Laskow's full review
Sierra Pesek profile photo
March 24, 2017

Gainsight: "Manual CTA Usage Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently used by two departments, although our department has the heaviest usage of Gainsight in our org.
  • Where Salesforce data is available to trigger CTAs from, it does a nice job of scheduling tasks
  • The C360 provides valuable, at a glance information
  • Logging manual CTAs is a valuable activity tracking mechanism for us
  • Overall slowness
  • Cockpit is difficult to filter and navigate
  • Configurability has been a challenge in areas of the application - we use manual CTAs heavily and the only date field available to our users to manipulate is the due date. We use this date field to represent the date the activity actually occurred. The delta between due date meaning for a manual CTA and a triggered CTA has presented significant reporting challenges and confusion for upper management.
  • Sometimes impactful bugs really hinder our reporting capabilities. My entire department's metrics are based on closed CTAs, and when the close dates suddenly stop populating it is a real problem for us.
We're really only heavily using the C360 and cockpit features at this time. Data behind health scoring has been a challenge for us. Dashboard widgets often face the same data issues so are minimally useful. We do rely on it heavily for customer engagement metrics.
Pulse last year was great and attending again next year. Sometimes we leverage the articles published.
Read Sierra Pesek's full review
Myles Van Leuven profile photo
March 17, 2017

Review: "Be ready to make an investment to really get value from Gainsight"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used within our customer success team. The business problem that it addresses is helping us scale our communications to our growing client base, including our tech-touch clients.
  • Thought leadership
  • Implementation Training
  • Identifying strategic accounts and focusing on them
  • Product stability. One example we have socialized with Gainsight is the sponsor tracking integration with LinkedIn. I believe they have a solution that will be deployed later this year, which we are looking forward to.
  • My team does not have a good perception of our CSM based on lack of responsiveness and a training where she did not come across as very prepared or knowledgeable on the product.
  • Really emphasize the importance of making a significant investment in this product in order to achieve desired results during the purchasing process. We need to be good buyers, but I did not fully appreciate the level of investment needed to make use of this product at the outset.
Gainsight is a good solution for a CSM team looking for a tech touch solution for their clients. That is one of the things I hope to be able to achieve in the near future. It also looks good for a CSM team that wants to implement playbooks, but that feature appears highly contingent on getting data fed into Gainsight - which we are still working on.

I attended the CCO Summit. My team is also attending PULSE.
Read Myles Van Leuven's full review
Martha Torning profile photo
March 17, 2017

"Gainsight Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our client success department to help standardize/uniform the calls and experience our clients are receiving.
  • Call to actions functionality.
  • Customer friendly user interface.
  • Integration with Salesforce.
  • Objective CTAs being removed from cockpit and only showing in Success Plans, this should be an admin's decision.
  • Unable to do a formula in reporting/dashboards.
It is well suited for a client success team but less suited for sales originators.
This will be my first year attending Pulse. I took the free admin course after administering Gainsight for several months so I did not find it super beneficial but could see how it would be useful for an admin starting out.
Read Martha Torning's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (126)
8.4
API (94)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (161)
9.4
Integration with Marketo (41)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (155)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (128)
8.2
NPS surveys (132)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (128)
8.4
Customer profiles (154)
9.1
Automated workflow (167)
8.4
Internal collaboration (153)
8.3
Customer health scoring (167)
9.6
Customer segmentation (142)
9.3
Customer health trends (158)
9.3
Engagement analytics (138)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (85)
9.2
Dashboards (166)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Based on a per user/per month model.

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android