TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGGainsight is worth its weight in goldWe launched Gainsight in our Client Success department and due to the success that we had, it has spread like wildfire across the organization. We then rolled it out to our Account Management, Implementation, Support and Sales teams, as well as at the ELT level. It helps us to proactively manage our accounts.,Beautiful interface -- really take the mundane, heavy-scrolling of Salesforce and puts it into an easy to use and read interface. Customization of reports and dashboards -- makes it easy to look at reports every morning. CTAs -- helps our team members proactively manage their time.,Not much, Gainsight really thinks about every facet of their program, releasing new items each quarter to help their users.,10,10,Very -- they meet weekly to review At Risk and accounts that are up for renewal. They can very easily do so by pulling up the Customer list.,Improved retention Improved renewal Proven effectiveness of Client Success team,Salesforce,200,3Great ToolGainsight is primarily used by the onboarding and account management teams who work with existing customers. It helps identify risk for potential churn and help retain customers.,Provides organization of my portfolio Helps identify risk and changes within the account that help me be more proactive in reaching out to my customers Dashboards to see how my and team and I are performing,Better email sending tools Does not always sync correct data from other platforms Updating the scorecards is finicky,9,We implemented a section called Executive Summary which our leadership team has requested to find out the most important information about a customer.,Enabled more proactive communication to customers It has helped us identify and improve retention Allows for teams to have a platform employee efficiency,Really enjoy working with GainsightWe use Gainsight across our Client Services teams within our Revenue division. We use Gainsight as our primary account management software so that our team has visibility into what's happening within their accounts. We also use Gainsight as our primary net promoter score administration tool.,As our net promoter score administration tool, we're able to easily distribute our surveys to relevant customers on a regular cadence, get immediate visibility into their feedback when a response has been given, and easily alert our relevant teams about the feedback so they can close the loop on the feedback. The Gainsight scorecard has helped us to proactively manage the risky accounts in our book in a way that was super manual previously. These scorecards provide visibility to all of our team leads up through leadership, so they can easily evaluate the health and risk of our accounts and therefore better forecast the business and/or take action on risky accounts. The Gainsight Cockpit/Calls-To-Action have helped organize our account managers' workload on a regular basis, providing them with a set of to-dos within accounts and alerts them of information that they may not have been proactively managing previously.,In regards to the distribution of emails from their outreach and email assist functions, we find that a percentage of our emails are getting blocked by our clients firewalls and/or are showing up in the spam of customers. Because Gainsight lives on top of the Force.com platform for us, we find that the loading times of the pages can sometimes take awhile. This may lead to time-outs and/or error messages on some occasions.,9,9,For certain executives, it means everything. We use it mainly within our Revenue division, but also in Finance.,Our retention has been a lot higher since implementing Gainsight. We're able to send more surveys and therefore get more feedback from our customers.,Gainsight: Nothing on the market is comparable!We currently use Gainsight primarily for our customer success team. We have recently rolled out the use of our Gainsight Limited Licenses to a select group in our sales department as well to help build cross-functional relationships and collaboration with our customers. Recent feature releases have also allowed us to share information from within Gainsight to the executive team without having to purchase a seat.,Gainsight's ability to form quick and comprehensive health scoring, allows our CSMs to derive quick insights into their customers and allows them to prioritize their book of business. Gainsight's Cockpit allows CSMs to stay organized with their upcoming and overdue tasks. Dashboards and reporting allow for customization. This allows us to provide specific views for what each member of the team needs to see from executives, managers, or CSMs.,The reporting capabilities do not always support the level of detail we are looking to achieve. There are a lot of limitations when it comes to the number of fields you can pull in, which then limits the graphical options you have. As an admin, there is quite a learning curve to implement and support Gainsight. It would be pretty difficult to roll out Gainsight without an admin in place. Either the implementation needs to be simplified or training resources need to be greatly improved.,8,9,Visibility into accounts is extremely important to our executive members and was one of the main reasons we decided to make the investment into buying Gainsight. Specifically when it comes to upcoming renewals or lapsed accounts, we leverage the data in Gainsight to give the executive members visibility into where an account stands pre and post renewal.,Gainsight has allowed us to holistically understand the health of our accounts which is something we have always struggled with. Gainsight has also allowed us to drive CSM efficiency with the use of the tool as well as give them more insights into their BoB's with the use of customized reporting which has helped them prioritize their renewals and decrease churn. Gainsight has allowed us to bring together our Sales and CS department to become partners on their accounts rather than singularly managing it.,Pendo.ioEnterprise customer success managerIt is being used across the whole organization and solves countless business problems such as additional insight into customer's environment and experience with the use of the dashboard and the features we can choose to have implemented. It is a huge source of knowledge and consistently keeps us organized.,Timeline feature Scorecard feature Dashboard,The ability to CC Gainsight on emails,10,10,More insight into churn More organization Way stronger options for customer communication to re-engage
Unspecified
Gainsight
328 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
328 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 328 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (76-100 of 181)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
October 31, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight is worth its weight in gold"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We launched Gainsight in our Client Success department and due to the success that we had, it has spread like wildfire across the organization. We then rolled it out to our Account Management, Implementation, Support and Sales teams, as well as at the ELT level. It helps us to proactively manage our accounts.
  • Beautiful interface -- really take the mundane, heavy-scrolling of Salesforce and puts it into an easy to use and read interface.
  • Customization of reports and dashboards -- makes it easy to look at reports every morning.
  • CTAs -- helps our team members proactively manage their time.
  • Not much, Gainsight really thinks about every facet of their program, releasing new items each quarter to help their users.
Well-suited for account management and client success teams, especially items that can be assisted with co-pilot or automated emails. Really helps to keep team members in line to provide a similar experience to each customer. We love the sponsor tracker as it helps us bring a new level to the business/client relationship.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Great Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is primarily used by the onboarding and account management teams who work with existing customers. It helps identify risk for potential churn and help retain customers.
  • Provides organization of my portfolio
  • Helps identify risk and changes within the account that help me be more proactive in reaching out to my customers
  • Dashboards to see how my and team and I are performing
  • Better email sending tools
  • Does not always sync correct data from other platforms
  • Updating the scorecards is finicky
Great for managing a portfolio and day-to-day operations. Really easy to create CTAs and follow-ups to stay on top of customer communication. Not a very good email sending/tracking system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

User Review: "Really enjoy working with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight across our Client Services teams within our Revenue division. We use Gainsight as our primary account management software so that our team has visibility into what's happening within their accounts. We also use Gainsight as our primary net promoter score administration tool.
  • As our net promoter score administration tool, we're able to easily distribute our surveys to relevant customers on a regular cadence, get immediate visibility into their feedback when a response has been given, and easily alert our relevant teams about the feedback so they can close the loop on the feedback.
  • The Gainsight scorecard has helped us to proactively manage the risky accounts in our book in a way that was super manual previously. These scorecards provide visibility to all of our team leads up through leadership, so they can easily evaluate the health and risk of our accounts and therefore better forecast the business and/or take action on risky accounts.
  • The Gainsight Cockpit/Calls-To-Action have helped organize our account managers' workload on a regular basis, providing them with a set of to-dos within accounts and alerts them of information that they may not have been proactively managing previously.
  • In regards to the distribution of emails from their outreach and email assist functions, we find that a percentage of our emails are getting blocked by our clients firewalls and/or are showing up in the spam of customers.
  • Because Gainsight lives on top of the Force.com platform for us, we find that the loading times of the pages can sometimes take awhile. This may lead to time-outs and/or error messages on some occasions.
I think Gainsight as a software for account management teams is fantastic. It really helps provide organization for them and a single UI to access a lot of disparate information that may be stored in other systems. In order for it to work effectively though, I think you need to have a full-time resource managing the application and buy-in from IT/engineering resources who can help pull in the relevant usage data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 17, 2017

Review: "Gainsight: Nothing on the market is comparable!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Gainsight primarily for our customer success team. We have recently rolled out the use of our Gainsight Limited Licenses to a select group in our sales department as well to help build cross-functional relationships and collaboration with our customers. Recent feature releases have also allowed us to share information from within Gainsight to the executive team without having to purchase a seat.
  • Gainsight's ability to form quick and comprehensive health scoring, allows our CSMs to derive quick insights into their customers and allows them to prioritize their book of business.
  • Gainsight's Cockpit allows CSMs to stay organized with their upcoming and overdue tasks.
  • Dashboards and reporting allow for customization. This allows us to provide specific views for what each member of the team needs to see from executives, managers, or CSMs.
  • The reporting capabilities do not always support the level of detail we are looking to achieve. There are a lot of limitations when it comes to the number of fields you can pull in, which then limits the graphical options you have.
  • As an admin, there is quite a learning curve to implement and support Gainsight. It would be pretty difficult to roll out Gainsight without an admin in place. Either the implementation needs to be simplified or training resources need to be greatly improved.
Gainsight is well suited for companies who are looking to understand the state of their customers and to allow CSMs, managers, sales, etc., to derive quick insights and get a better understanding of their state of retention and potential churn.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Enterprise customer success manager"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization and solves countless business problems such as additional insight into customer's environment and experience with the use of the dashboard and the features we can choose to have implemented. It is a huge source of knowledge and consistently keeps us organized.
  • Timeline feature
  • Scorecard feature
  • Dashboard
  • The ability to CC Gainsight on emails
Best suited for all teams regardless of the frequency of customer interactions. Perfect for ensuring the entire team has a view into individual contributions.
Read this authenticated review
Ian Cummings profile photo
August 11, 2017

User Review: "The Power of Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We have proactive insights into each of our customers accounts, for example when there are new enablement projects starting/finishing we are notified by Call To Actions (CTAs). A CTA can help our department to stay in front of any issues/changes the customer is facing.
  • Another major feature is the ability to pull reports from that data flow between our customers and their trading partners. Our CSM team can use these insights and reports to provide powerful business impacting views into what is working for our customers and what areas can be improved.
  • The final main feature of Gainsight is the ability to keep a log of all the interactions that happen between our customers and the CSM department, by updating the timeline we are able to understand what has happened with the customer as accounts change between CSMs.
  • I would recommend that there are more ways for Gainsight to capture the communication between the CSM and our customers. Currently we have to manually track the communication and as a result things do get missed or are not deemed as "important". If we have an easy way to log a call, email, or presentation it would improve our teams insight into the customer journey.
  • I think it would be great to have the communication within Gainsight to be visible to other departments that only use Salesforce. This would give our company more transparency between the departments and one central area of information.
  • I would like to have an ability to work completely out of Gainsight and not have to jump back and forth into Salesforce. So if a case is updated it would be great to open that case in Gainsight and then if I need to send a message to the analyst I can do so with Gainsight.
Currently at SPS Commerce we use Gainsight within the Customer Success department. Gainsight provides the CSM department with many benefits. We have proactive insights into each of our customers accounts, for example when there are new enablement projects starting/finishing we are notified by Call To Actions (CTAs). A CTA can help our department to stay in front of any issues/changes the customer is facing.

Another major feature is the ability to pull reports from that data flow between our customers and their trading partners. Our CSM team can use these insights and reports to provide powerful business impacting views into what is working for our customers and what areas can be improved.

The final main feature of Gainsight is the ability to keep a log of all the interactions that happen between our customers and the CSM department, by updating the timeline we are able to understand what has happened with the customer as accounts change between CSMs.
Read Ian Cummings's full review
Andy Roy profile photo
August 11, 2017

Review: "Gainsight is my favorite "place" to work"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight primarily in our Customer Success Team (CST), using it to manage onboarding and customer relationships, distribute and analyze NPS and CSAT surveys. The platform serves as the source of truth for tasks and timelines for our trainers and customer success advisors. We also make extensive use of the reporting and dashboards to monitor our customers' health and progress through their lifecycle. While the daily activity in Gainsight is driven by CST, the analytics are frequently shared with the entire company.
  • Automated process management: We continually refine our Gainsight Rules Engine, Success Plans and Playbooks. Having plans of action ready to auto-assign to the right resources when the situation arises is a HUGE time saver and provides consistency.
  • Customer Support: The support team at Gainsight is always friendly, responsive and have resolved any questions or issues in good time. The only time that an issue wasn't resolved quickly, it was highly complex and fairly unique to our environment. Support still remembered to keep us updated and kept at the problem with devs until all was fixed.
  • Reporting: I'm a big fan of dashboards and reports! Data Spaces and the Report Builder allow for great power and versatility to show execs, managers and folks on the front lines what is happening with our customers and our own processes. They look good, too--I could stare at usage data charts all day. ;)
  • Basic UX - I find that each "area" of Gainsight is fairly intuitive to use with a little learning, but there are basic interactions which are quite inconsistent. My primary example of this would be "Save". Sometimes there's a button labeled Save at the bottom of a page or widget. Sometimes there's a similar button at the top. Sometimes it's an icon shaped like a disk to the right of an item...or the top of a page. And there seem to be times where simply clicking out of a field "saves" a change. This has caused confusion for us at times. I would love to see some work to take the fundamentals of user interaction and make them more consistent across the platform.
  • More Basic UX - Where are permissions configured? Just like with the Save button: "it depends". Some portions of Gainsight have permissions above and beyond what is granted via Salesforce. Sometimes you go to Administration to configure permissions in a designated space, but for other parts of the tool, you configure them in the same space where you do your work. As an admin, I just tell new users to let me know when they get a permissions error and I'll figure it out.
As a SaaS company with subscription-based customer relationships, and especially if you're already tracking them in Salesforce, Gainsight is an ideal tool to manage a proactive strategy of customer success. Intelligent and flexible automation of tasks, clear tracking of objectives and customer health, strong tools for data management and reporting...all these make this one of the most rewarding platforms I've used for anything. Their support team is a pleasure to work with to boot.
Read Andy Roy's full review
Matt Forrest profile photo
August 11, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Great customer success platform!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our Customer Success team to manage our customer base to access risk and opportunity with our customer base. We use various data sources to evaluate our customers and decide what response we should take for a number of different scenarios. We use Gainsight for reporting, our day to day work, and everything in between.
  • Valuable rule driven CTAs
  • Ability to communicate with customers
  • Easy
  • Great reporting features
  • Data import must be planned and strategic
  • UI can lag from time to time
Gainsight is great for managing a large customer base and being able to focus on specific customer problems. The value is tied to the data that you put in and the level of effort you and your team put in to creating impactful and relevant rules and CTAs as this will power everything in your instance.
Read Matt Forrest's full review
Vinny Poliseno profile photo
August 01, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Feel the Pulse of your Clients"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently really focused on using Gainsight within our Client Success division, they are our power users. However, since we are getting a lot of data ingested into data we push a lot of it back to the Account level of Saleforce (SFDC) as well for other users who have a SFDC license but not a Gainsight one can see daily usage data. This give a lot more visibility into the overall health of a client by the usage of the tool rather then pulse checking between the CSM and client.
  • Great way to really see if your clients are using the service you provide them.
  • Easily able to formalize an action plan to follow up with at risk clients before its too late to save them.
  • Just as easy to set up a thank campaign for clients who are using your service as intended and showing them value.
  • Access to their Vault to pull in already created templates to customize to our company liking.
  • It took a bit of time to figure out how to get our data out of our tool and then into Gainsight. But once we did it was very repeatable to get all the data we wanted. We just struggled with prioritizing developer hours to get this data push into Gainsight.
If your organization is really looking to get a good pulse read on if your clients are actually using your product this a great tool to have. However, you need to really know what data points you need to understand if your client is seeing value. This took a bit of time and over the last year we've started to learn and tweak those data points.
I've attended one local Pulse event since I'm an admin of Gainsight it was not very useful for myself. However, one of my CSMs attends and has said it is very helpful. I do find their online documentation very useful and a place I explore before opening a support ticket with them.
Read Vinny Poliseno's full review
Liubov Penyugalova profile photo
August 22, 2017

Review: "We're happy with Gainsight however implementation is still in progress"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our CS team, including VP of CS, uses Gainsight happily. The biggest pain point that was resolved by Gainsight is account management in terms of (1) reacting on different changes in customer's life (2) capturing lifecycle events on time (like QBRs, pre-renewal meetings, EBRs, etc.).
  • Ease of data transition from internal sources to Gainsight through different connectors.
  • Smooth integration with SFDC data.
  • Very sound and powerful rule engine. From a CSM perspective - clear workspace (i.e. Cockpit).
  • Integrated outreach engine that Gainsight develops constantly.
  • Great Community!
  • Ability to pull data from Gainsight via API. Yes, it's possible to pull CSV files via bionic rules but the whole process isn't intuitive and still has limitations like no way how we can get text areas (timeline notes) from Gainsight.
  • Community is great but more detailed manuals (especially for those using relationships heavily) would be of such a great help. It's so difficult to find an answer for a particular question sometimes.
  • Huge dependency on SFDC admins.
Well, it's best suited when a CSM/AM BoB is [comprised of] more than 50 accounts. It's not so critical when one can keep in mind all her/his accounts and use other, less specified tools for managing their customers.
Read Liubov Penyugalova's full review
Russell Gray profile photo
August 21, 2017

User Review: "We can finally see with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight was purchased for use by the customer success and growth & renewals account executive teams. Gainsight addressed several needs for our organization: 1. It serves as an information aggregator, pulling together key metrics from a variety of internal systems. 2. It provides proactive notification of actionable changes within our customer base. 3. It provides a framework for standardized messaging across the team. 4. It provides a platform to build automated outreach/NPS programs. 5. It helped us build customer scorecard/risk measures.
  • Gainsight CTA (Calls to Action) are game changing. Having real-time notifications of actionable data is vital to our team's ability to service customers.
  • The C360 Report provides a concise overview of each customer. This saves a lot of time in the meeting preparation phase.
  • Gainsight CoPilot has allowed us to reach more customers with less effort.
  • Dashboards & Reports are slightly hard to use. There is a steep learning curve to putting these together.
  • CoPilot outreach cannot be scheduled to skip weekends.
  • NPS functionality is great out of the box - CSAT is more manual to set up.
Gainsight is well-suited for organizations that are somewhat mature and have the appropriate data/resources to be useful.
Read Russell Gray's full review
Beth Power, MBA, CSM, SA profile photo
August 18, 2017

"Early Use Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently used only by customer success organization.
Solves the problems of: hard to find data in SFDC; need for health information, both subjective and objective; need for efficient and automated workflow for customer contact; need for alerts and triggers for activities; real-time info visibility back into SFDC for the rest of the org.
  • Automated workflow and activity creation, with a centralized dashboard for CSMs to manage their work, allows CSMs to spend their time on more valuable work
  • Flexible health scoring based on many factors including quantifiable product use and subjective aspects like relationship status allows us to fine tune and focus our energy where it's needed most
  • Ability to view rolled-up information on accounts that have multiple sub-accounts and see all relevant data within the 360 even for simple accounts, means less time searching and manually compiling data to get an overall view
  • Every CTA requires a task to sync to SFDC, and sometimes the CTA and task are really the same thing (managing an escalation, for example)
  • Reporting seems somewhat limited, including visualization - but could be our lack of maturity
  • Logging activity from different places shows in different areas, tagged differently, and reported to SFDC differently. Means CSMs have to make a lot of decisions on where and how to log - leads to wasted time and inconsistency
Gainsight is well suited to seeing a quick and comprehensive snapshot of customer accounts and drill easily into details that normally live in many different areas of SFDC - or even different tools altogether. Gainsight also excels at helping CSMs manage recurring touchpoints, and react appropriately to risks discovered within accounts - whether discovered through conversation or by a trigger in Gainsight.
Read Beth Power, MBA, CSM, SA's full review
Samantha Braastad profile photo
August 16, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight Feedback"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success Management department leverages Gainsight on a daily basis to have key insights into our customers health, real-time notifications of customer behavior changes, and simplify workflows for all of our CSMs.
  • Using rules to create trigger notification to our CSMs around customer behavior changes while associating it with actionable tasks is easy and straightforward.
  • Combined information from a single source makes preparing for customer Business Reviews quick and scalable.
  • Improved agility with product and bug releases would be huge.
  • Better project management abilities for large scale projects with customers would be a big win.
Well suited for anyone who touches the customer once they are an existing customer. Gainsight provides consolidated information on the customer in a single source of truth.
Read Samantha Braastad's full review
Jennifer Lind profile photo
August 16, 2017

Review: "Daily usage of Gainsight - The number 1 tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been a frequent user of Gainsight since we implemented it within Planview (1.5 years ago, daily usage) It provides me with a great overview of my customers' health, creates call to actions for opps, events and risks. You can easily get useful and very valuable data from gainsight in prep for executive business reviews. Before we had gainsight, it was a struggle to find and put together usage information to present to the customer. Now it's done with a couple of clicks!
  • Sponsor tracking
  • Call to actions
  • Usage data
In interaction with existing customers, in prep for EBRs
Read Jennifer Lind's full review
Rohit Kapoor profile photo
July 25, 2017

User Review: "Love GainSight!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple reporting systems and it is difficult to consume all metrics for a customer from all these different sources. GainSight brings all that together and helps account managers manage their accounts more efficiently. GainSight is currently being used by account managers here, but we see opportunities where other teams can be benefitted too.
  • Ease of integration with different sources of information.
  • The C360 page is a charm! You can add multiple sections with dashboards on it. The Usage section is really powerful and helps combine metrics from different domains into one section, where it becomes very easy to track the trend of usage metrics. The 'normalize' option is an added advantage to track the percentage changes over time.
  • The report builder is very easy to use.
  • There are limitations on email outreaches like no support for tabular reports, limitation of 5 reports on an email template etc. Also, there is a lack of functionality to not trigger an email outreach if none of the reports on the email have data. There are times when the recipients get email that has nothing to track.
  • Report builder is pretty simple to use but lacks the functionality to handle a bit complex computations.
  • The reports don't allow end users to build aggregates on the fly. For example, a generic daily report needs to be seen rolled-up to monthly, quarterly or yearly views, based on a user's preference. The way it works today is that it requires the developers to design different aggregated views of the same report, so you end up cluttering the dashboard with just different views of the same data.
  • The global dashboard doesn't allow adding reports that are built on data sources from different domains - meaning, you can add a MDA report and a SFDC report on the same dashboard.
It is very well suited for customer management, where you want to track information from multiple sources into one page (C360) for making a quick and complete decision about your customer. It is not a BI tool and at times, when you get involved using Gainsight, you start thinking if it can replace your BI tool or become one for your organisation.
Yes, they are pretty helpful! I haven't been to Pulse events yet, but have explored the user groups and university stuff and found them immensely helpful.
Read Rohit Kapoor's full review
Greg McLaughlin profile photo
July 25, 2017

User Review: "The Joy of Working with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We engaged with Gainsight about six months ago and signed a contract with them about two months ago. We launched our initial pilot group of a dozen users just this week and plan to roll out to another 150 users within the next 45 days. Our use is pretty broad-ranging as we employ the Gainsight platform to develop our 360-degree view of the customer including a focus on driving positive account heath scores and platform usage trends. We use the considerable insight Gainsight provides to set our strategic account development plans and customer success reviews as well as to apply the appropriate attention to customers in need of our support and engagement based on the "Calls to Action" that help guide our team as to the most critical tasks, events, alerts and issues to resolve.
  • Pulls together customer information from Salesforce into an easily digestible format and enables you to analyze additional customer data that resides outside of the Salesforce environment.
  • Creates a focus around automatically calculated objective and subjective account health score metrics for a quick and accurate read on the accounts that require attention and strategic prioritization.
  • Focuses your teams on strategic account planning based on the customer's objectives, needs, and challenges.
  • Provides "Calls to Action" (CTAs) that automatically bring to your attention issues, risks and challenges to enable better proactive resolution.
  • Gainsight as a company lives, embodies and exemplifies the concept of customer success like very few companies in the world. Their level of support, engagement and absolute trusted partnership is unrivaled.
  • Professional services that totally understand our needs and requirements and expertly guide us to success.
  • The contacts in the Sponsor tracking tile should be able to be maneuvered into an org-chart configuration.
Any company that has valued customers and seeks to foster trusted consultative relationships should embrace the concept of customer success and use Gainsight as a platform for driving intelligent customer support, engagement and consultation. Whether you are a small company with thousands of customers or a large company with millions of customers, the need is the same. Identify the risk, capitalize on the opportunities, prioritize the sales and support resources and make each customer feel like you understand their needs and that you are focused on their success. Gainsight helps companies accomplish these objectives.
Pulse is an amazing event. There are so many opportunities to network with like-minded professionals with similar challenges and objectives. There are numerous excellent presentations, seminars and panel discussions to attend, and best of all, it is fun. The user groups are great as well, usually run by passionate advocates, they are packed with great ideas, suggestions and best practices.
Read Greg McLaughlin's full review
Marissa Gates profile photo
March 30, 2017

Review: "Gainsight - Customer Success Efficiency Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used in a few different groups in my organization from account management, to client success, and strategic account management. The tool is used to increase visibility on interaction with accounts, encourage collaboration, and increase time individual time efficiency. We had to do quite a bit of customization to take the existing functionality and make it our own, but it's been well worth it.
  • Gainsight provides an aesthetically pleasing view of relevant information for all of my accounts. 360 pulls in data from salesforce that I can review quickly, and access easily.
  • Timeline in particular has been very useful for my team. The ability to search, pull in contacts, and organize each client interaction has been very helpful. We are looking forward to the enhancement which includes task lists on timeline.
  • Success Plans have been...HUGE. It's a way for account management & strategic accounts to work together on a client's success - and create a specific plan to get there.
  • Gainsight in itself is glitchy. It has a general slowness which is frustrating, and a lot of times we have to use different browsers to access certain parts of it because they simply won't open or throws errors.
  • While we love the success plans- we wish that the feature would be designed to be ever living (one success plan), and for the objectives in itself to be completed... the fact that success plans ideally should be completed doesn't really correlate with how strategic accounts manage their clients.
  • I wish there was a way to limit certain playbooks by role. For example if I want to pull in a particular playbook for strategic accounts, I don't need to see playbooks that belong to account management... it just clutters up my view. I'd like to see playbooks that are approved for use in my particular role.
I really do believe that Gainsight is a customer success tool and every group in an organization should be committed to customer success. That's why Gainsight is relevant to multiple groups across the organization. I think positioning Gainsight as an efficiency tool is key. While salesforce is obviously an awesome CRM, Gainsight is a value add in providing relevant information all in one place.
I myself haven't ventured into this area as of yet. However, my company is sending multiple people to Pulse. I would expect that I would take a ton of ideas and information back to my team from that event. I would especially be interested in a user group in my area (Northern CA). I think talking with other GS clients on best practices would be especially helpful.
Read Marissa Gates's full review
Jamie McConville profile photo
June 09, 2017

User Review: "Success with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially, we needed a tool to centralize our client data as well as keep our Client Success team organized with their tasks with managing so many clients. We continue to solve for other problems year over year as our Gainsight CSM digs into our business needs and opens the door to features that she feels would best suit us.
  • Gainsight has allowed our Client Success team to manage our clients efficiently. The tool is key to managing our client life cycle from initial engagement, through implementation and Go Live phases, and following through to Renewal. Being able to trigger alerts as well as tasks for CSMs based on usage and on life cycle stage has been crucial.
  • Customer support is great. The Support desk communicates frequently when working through submitted tickets and our Client Success Manager thinks outside the box when making strategic recommendations for our business.
  • Next up is utilizing co-pilot to it's fullest so that we can better manage our low-touch clients.
  • The rules engine is incredibly useful however, many times I need Support assistance with setting them up properly. I'm not sure how to make it more user friendly as it's a pretty technical tool, but I can dream.
Gainsight could be used by any business where a client's success is the primary focus and a team of folks are looking for a tool to centralize client data and to assist with organization of client-related tasks. Additional tools to note when considering are their survey capabilities, automated client email tool, and their integration with Salesforce.
Read Jamie McConville's full review
Sacha Laskow profile photo
May 16, 2017

User Review: "Use your Brainsight, get Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Client Success Department and management/executive team for the client services organization. The goal was to address a number of business goals:
  • Accurate health scoring across our client base to manage escalations, track advocates, and give management better visibility
  • Manage the tasks and workload of the CSMs day-to-day through the use of a mix of automated and manual triggers for Calls to Action
  • Provide a central hub for client information, usage stats and CSM contact history (Timeline)
  • Reduce the number of tools the CSMs were having to log-in to and use each day
That mandate has also expanded much further to include various reports and insights as well as automating tasks and emails using Copilot.
  • Gainsight is massively flexible and can be configured to do almost anything with the Rules Engine and being built on the Salesforce platform.
  • The team at Gainsight is amazing, super helpful and will always make time to help improve and achieve the goals of the implementation.
  • The community, documentation and support are all quite mature and provide a lot of resources to understand a complex system with many features.
  • Along with the flexibility, the complexity of implementing and thus the learning curve is quite high.
  • Some Admin functions could be made more user-friendly with some simple UI tweaks, for example changing 'Subtract N+7 days' to 'In the last week'.
  • Could also use more consistency across the UI, for example sometimes you hit 'Save', other times you just close the window etc.
Due to the flexibility Gainsight could likely be adapted to a multitude of scenarios and functions within a customer success organization. The key to getting the most out of it is ensuring your organization has their data in order (this is not a small task), and the business goals are clearly defined and supported.
We've leveraged all those tools and found them all very valuable. An active user community and robust set of training resources is indispensable with such a complex product. We also attended the Pulse conference recently and it was a great mix of fun and learning, with a number of great speakers and of course VANILLA ICE!
Read Sacha Laskow's full review
John Laino profile photo
August 11, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight is Powerful"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight for Client Health scoring, Renewal Tracking, Churn Risk Mitigation, NPS Scoring, and Release Note Communications
  • Great visualization of Client Health across the entire customer base
  • Highly flexible in Rule definition and customer segmentation
  • Constant product innovation
  • Requires a good amount of administration to take full advantage of all the capabilities
  • Pricing model
Great for Customer Success Management and Renewals Tracking
Read John Laino's full review
Sierra Pesek profile photo
March 24, 2017

Gainsight: "Manual CTA Usage Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently used by two departments, although our department has the heaviest usage of Gainsight in our org.
  • Where Salesforce data is available to trigger CTAs from, it does a nice job of scheduling tasks
  • The C360 provides valuable, at a glance information
  • Logging manual CTAs is a valuable activity tracking mechanism for us
  • Overall slowness
  • Cockpit is difficult to filter and navigate
  • Configurability has been a challenge in areas of the application - we use manual CTAs heavily and the only date field available to our users to manipulate is the due date. We use this date field to represent the date the activity actually occurred. The delta between due date meaning for a manual CTA and a triggered CTA has presented significant reporting challenges and confusion for upper management.
  • Sometimes impactful bugs really hinder our reporting capabilities. My entire department's metrics are based on closed CTAs, and when the close dates suddenly stop populating it is a real problem for us.
We're really only heavily using the C360 and cockpit features at this time. Data behind health scoring has been a challenge for us. Dashboard widgets often face the same data issues so are minimally useful. We do rely on it heavily for customer engagement metrics.
Pulse last year was great and attending again next year. Sometimes we leverage the articles published.
Read Sierra Pesek's full review
Steven Spence profile photo
March 24, 2017

Gainsight: "A review from an average user"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently being used with our Sales & Churn organization. Its being used to understand future needs of companies and get consistency with different people for the same task.
  • Great at surveys, great at combining information from different places in order to give a full view. Automated CTAs are great for telling people when to do a task and knowing when they're not doing it.
  • integration from 3rd party tools is not great. If it doesn't come from salesforce its painful.
Great for anyone trying to understand the sales and renewal process. Great for insights leading to churn.
I don't do the pulse events but I know others do and like them. The CSU is great for finding answers to almost everything, when I don't find an answer the support team is super helpful and responsive.
Read Steven Spence's full review
Dan Malavich profile photo
March 24, 2017

User Review: "Success with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used extensively across our Customer Success organization, but also by all other customer facing functions like Sales, Channel Management, Finance, etc. It is used to manage the health of our existing customers and to provide easy access to information, guidance on customer success processes, and general customer management for our CSMs.

  • Health Scoring
  • Proactive Health management
  • Long term analytics
  • health change tracking
I see application in any business with a recurring revenue stream
We went through some CS University classes. Some of our team has attended Pulse and the feedback was strong.
Read Dan Malavich's full review
No photo available
June 07, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Great for new and growing CS teams!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Gainsight visible to all customer facing representatives at our organization but it is primarily used by our Customer Success and Technical Support teams. Gainsight helps to provide customer health, NPS, and sponsor tracking details for all of our accounts. It is also a one-to-many email platform for our CS to use without needing to work with Marketing on templates or campaigns.
  • Sponsor Tracking - This is my favorite feature and keeps me in tune with organizational changes with my customers.
  • NPS Surveys - This is vital for our support team.
  • Customer Health - This is configurable to meet what measures health to us.
  • Speed - Gainsight panels and data take a while to load.
  • CTA based emails - Would love to be able to link CTAs to CoPilot to trigger emails or auto generate email lists based upon cta criteria such as usage drops or select user actions.
Gainsight is great for organizations ready to arm their CS team with a targeted tool that provides relevant data for the role. It's especially suited for those new to Customer Success who may not know actions to take or how to drive positive results with their customers. It allows for scale and structure where there wasn't before.
My favorite is Pulse. I always walk away with plenty of ideas, awesome networking, and topics for team meetings. We are an advanced CSM organization so some of the content is validation of what we already do as well as good reminders of the basics we need to revisit. Always a blast and I look forward to it every year.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 16, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight made my job so much easier."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is exclusively used by the global customer success team (about 15 people). We started using it this year to help us streamline our customer info, notes, and reminders into one platform. We also wanted the automation of reminders for outreach. It has helped us track our efforts and have more visibility into our accounts.
  • Allowing for customized 'calls to action'
  • Providing a lot of information about clients in one shared online platform
  • Sitting on top of Salesforce so that all of the data can be seamlessly transfered
  • More differentiation between 'calls to action' and timeline entries
  • More options for fields in the subscription info
  • Doesn't provide visibility to Salesforce users so there is a disconnect with the sales team
I love gainsight because it makes my job easier. I have already recommended it to my colleagues and peers because I have found such success from it. It is really good to use for proactive outreach such as for quarterly business reviews and health checks. It is not as helpful to break down your onboarding customers because it groups all of those types of CTAs together.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (131)
8.3
API (96)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (166)
9.5
Integration with Marketo (42)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (159)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (132)
8.1
NPS surveys (135)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (131)
8.3
Customer profiles (158)
9.1
Automated workflow (172)
8.4
Internal collaboration (157)
8.3
Customer health scoring (172)
9.6
Customer segmentation (146)
9.3
Customer health trends (162)
9.3
Engagement analytics (142)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (87)
9.2
Dashboards (171)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android