TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGNumber 1 customer success platform!Gainsight is utilised within our Client Services team as a tool to centralise our engagements with our clients and enable us to have a non subjective view of account health. It removes the need to use multiple tools and allows us to pull data from other systems (eg Zendesk, Mixpanel) as part of our health checks.,Customer health Tech touch Best practice Recording of customer engagements,Enhancing their Timeline functionality which supports real life use cases such as pulling in open CTAs to a new timeline entry when recording a meeting with a customer. Further enhances the ability to add comments and tag people in sub CTAs similar to what you see in the overall CTA. Journey orchestrator emails to have the ability to output tabular reports.,9,7,Incredibly important as our executive team have an eye for customer health and looking to understand which customers are at risk of corn like churn. We have an executive dashboard which is built to look at yellow and red accounts, which accounts are up for renewal, and other key measures which require addressing. This drives risk management and proactive executive decisions and direction in resolving any pain points.,Improve the ease of use in viewing standardised product usage in one platform rather than logging into another system. Become more proactive rather than reactive. Automation and centralisation of customer information has improved efficiency by at least 50% and enabled others to be able to find information more easily. Removed subjective and manual health scoring which was a cumbersome manual process for the team.,Natero and ClientSuccess,Zendesk - high level view of open tickets and impact customer account health Mixpanel - aggregate data to create a standard set of reports for all customer accounts in the system. Removes the need to log into mixpanel to build a dashboard for each new customer account.Gainsight makes me feel like a valued customer always!Gainsight is being used in the customer success function of our company. Our CSMs, Renewals Managers, and Professional Services teams are all leveraging Gainsight at some capacity. This tool helps us collaborate across teams, stay on track of customer milestones, escalate risks to the appropriate people, and evaluate the health of the organizations we support.,Automated Calls to Action - I love these as an easy way to prompt action items for our reps Customer Service - I adore the Customer Success team and find the technical support team extremely accessible, friendly, professional, and valuable. Aggregation - we're able to manipulate data in different ways to surface that for the reps and managers at our company to understand our clients and entire book of business.,Complexity - this tool is very robust and challenging. At a minimum, it's not that complicated if you have proper training to understand basic functionality. However, to truly take advantage of the best features, you have to have time to dedicate to learning the different components of the tool. Opt in/Out functionality for automated emails - I wish we had more control of how we monitor our client's engagement, along with ease of use in trying to recover our points of contact when they decide to opt out of communication. Reporting functionality is very minimal and not very user friendly. I'm able to get what I need after much troubleshooting.,9,10,We haven't yet made the data in Gainsight visible to our executives. This is definitely an area for improvement. We do, however, sync the data being transformed in Gainsight to salesforce, which is what is mostly available to our leadership. When the reports and dashboards are improved and more user friendly, I will consider putting Gainsight in front our executives.,Health Scores have changed how we prioritize our clients, escalate risks, and evaluate ways to take action to improve our NPS scores. We've evolved our usage of CTAs to be more intentional in highlighting specific actions as a result of key milestones. Automated emails through Journey Orchestrator make it easy to automate our renewal process for organizations who will likely auto-renew (and not renegotiate their terms).,Salesforce Lightning,The tools that we have connected to Gainsight include an S3 Connector (from our data warehouse) and Salesforce. The data we collect from the product syncs over via S3, where we are able to manipulate the information in a way that highlights the most important details. Then, the data syncs from Gainsight over to the necessary fields in Salesforce for the entire company's usage.The linchpin to an intimate and efficient CS organizationWe currently leverage Gainsight across our Global Customer Success Organization. Our CS Organization leverages Gainsight to enhance our customer intimacy strategy and to manage our customer portfolios more efficiently. Our CS Organization includes around 35 FTEs globally. Gainsight is also used by our Customer Support Organization for trasactional NPS.,Gainsight has an intuitive UI Gainsight pairs beautifully with Salesforce The Task Activity on timeline allows for efficient task management and leadership visibility on customer engagement,Missing a key integration to Outlook Calendars for Meetings displayed in Cockpit (or calendar function in GS) Data integrations can be pricey,9,8,Extremely important. One of the biggest values of GS at Flexera is the ability for our exec team to quickly review status and activity on accounts for which they are an executive sponsor.,Increased NPS accuracy and automation Increased NPS score across business CS Engagement and account activity is more visible,,We pull in data from Salesforce. We also connect with Eloqua for Joruney Orchestrator/marketing collaboration. We are evaluating an integration with Heap for data analytics as well as FinancialForce for project management collaboration and trackingThe timeline feature is incredibly valuable!Gainsight is used across the organization to see customer health and document activities on the customer timeline. The primary users are Customer Experience Managers and Account Managers, with executives using it to see the timeline activities of the customer. We use some CTAs for sending semi-automated emails. Most recently, we are using it for Risk and Escalation documenting and processing.,The timeline is great for having one place for everyone to log notes/emails/calls/important milestones in a customer's lifecycle. Creating rules to generate calls to action. Fantastic reporting.,NPS Surveys. Creating Rules in the Rules Engine is complicated. Being able to edit someone else's Gainsight timeline log. Reporting on internal/external attendees on a timeline activity.,9,7,We have executive dashboards for execs to see NPS scores/responses, risks & escalations, discoveries, and the number of calls with accounts on a weekly/quarterly basis. They also can look into the timeline of an account and see all interactions with that account over their lifecycle.,We have used Gainsight to increase knowledge transfer across internal people managing accounts. We have used it to hold AMs and CEMs accountable for making sure we are touching our healthy accounts at least once per quarter. We have used it to increase executive visibility into what's happening in the day-to-day with customers.,Clarizen,SalesforceTake on the challenge, it is worth it.Gainsight is mostly used by the Customer Success org. As a whole, it is not completely adopted by all teams, but the efforts of our Operations teams have made sure to display dashboards and important data regarding upcoming renewals and any risky activity. Where Gainsight is heavily used is within a CS team that focuses on scaling the Customer Success manager role and responsibilities. We've been able to automate many engagements along the Customer Journey via Journey Orchestrator, engagements that would've been time-consuming for human resources. Automation frees up CSMs' time to focus on more strategic initiatives. Internally, it has been an amazing tool to help the scale CSM team prioritize which accounts to engage with first. We have triggered alerts that will keep CSMs aware of all the accounts in their book and select the higher risk clients to address.,Gainsight Community is so useful for more live support, and networking with other clients is definitely possible. Gainsight support is rapid responding and will not leave you wondering. Help Center and documentation is kept up to date which is very difficult for fast-changing technology. Webinar topics are on point.,Account managers/CSMs can introduce and demo new features at the time of rollout. Be proactive to schedule time with your power users.,8,8,Executives use dashboards, mostly, but the CS operations manager usually gets requests to pull reports when the time comes.,Automated surveys for more data collection and more informed business. CTA dashboards to improve team efficiency. Inspire client base and initiate upsell conversations.,Zendesk and Adobe Photoshop,The tech stack that we have is Salesforce, Mixpanel, and possibly Zendesk. It is so useful for our workflow-- our technology is based on social mentions, so when clients hit their limits, Gainsight triggers notifications which are crucial for good engagement.,30
Unspecified
Gainsight
342 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
342 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 342 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 189)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
May 17, 2019

Gainsight Review: "Number 1 customer success platform!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is utilised within our Client Services team as a tool to centralise our engagements with our clients and enable us to have a non subjective view of account health. It removes the need to use multiple tools and allows us to pull data from other systems (eg Zendesk, Mixpanel) as part of our health checks.
  • Customer health
  • Tech touch
  • Best practice
  • Recording of customer engagements
  • Enhancing their Timeline functionality which supports real life use cases such as pulling in open CTAs to a new timeline entry when recording a meeting with a customer.
  • Further enhances the ability to add comments and tag people in sub CTAs similar to what you see in the overall CTA.
  • Journey orchestrator emails to have the ability to output tabular reports.
After extensive research into what customer success software was available, we found Gainsight was a true leader in this area and we were blown away by the possibilities. It allows us to capture our engagements with our customers, record meeting actions (aka action items) and enable the team to view CTAs for their assigned customer accounts. It is limited in sharing meeting timeline records externally in a simple way, however, the benefits in using a customer success system outweigh the cons!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 15, 2019

Review: "Gainsight makes me feel like a valued customer always!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used in the customer success function of our company. Our CSMs, Renewals Managers, and Professional Services teams are all leveraging Gainsight at some capacity. This tool helps us collaborate across teams, stay on track of customer milestones, escalate risks to the appropriate people, and evaluate the health of the organizations we support.
  • Automated Calls to Action - I love these as an easy way to prompt action items for our reps
  • Customer Service - I adore the Customer Success team and find the technical support team extremely accessible, friendly, professional, and valuable.
  • Aggregation - we're able to manipulate data in different ways to surface that for the reps and managers at our company to understand our clients and entire book of business.
  • Complexity - this tool is very robust and challenging. At a minimum, it's not that complicated if you have proper training to understand basic functionality. However, to truly take advantage of the best features, you have to have time to dedicate to learning the different components of the tool.
  • Opt in/Out functionality for automated emails - I wish we had more control of how we monitor our client's engagement, along with ease of use in trying to recover our points of contact when they decide to opt out of communication.
  • Reporting functionality is very minimal and not very user friendly. I'm able to get what I need after much troubleshooting.
Well suited:
Mature companies are more likely able to dedicate sufficient resources and time to implement, innovate, and evolve their usage of Gainsight.

Less Appropriate:
Start up companies. This is a robust tool that requires at least one person to be an administrator. Like any tool, there are things that go wrong, and it takes some time to learn and troubleshoot.
Read this authenticated review
John Johnson profile photo
May 14, 2019

Gainsight Review: "The linchpin to an intimate and efficient CS organization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently leverage Gainsight across our Global Customer Success Organization. Our CS Organization leverages Gainsight to enhance our customer intimacy strategy and to manage our customer portfolios more efficiently. Our CS Organization includes around 35 FTEs globally.

Gainsight is also used by our Customer Support Organization for trasactional NPS.
  • Gainsight has an intuitive UI
  • Gainsight pairs beautifully with Salesforce
  • The Task Activity on timeline allows for efficient task management and leadership visibility on customer engagement
  • Missing a key integration to Outlook Calendars for Meetings displayed in Cockpit (or calendar function in GS)
  • Data integrations can be pricey
Gainsight works extremely well for a SFDC shop that is looking to make for a more impactful and efficient customer success organization.

I am unsure how well Gainsight would work in non-traditional CS capacities (TAM roles).

Make sure that you have IT staff that have allocated time for maintenance and administration as this can take up a large amount of time to get full value on all functionality.
Read John Johnson's full review
Ashley Phelps profile photo
May 10, 2019

Gainsight Review: "The timeline feature is incredibly valuable!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used across the organization to see customer health and document activities on the customer timeline. The primary users are Customer Experience Managers and Account Managers, with executives using it to see the timeline activities of the customer. We use some CTAs for sending semi-automated emails. Most recently, we are using it for Risk and Escalation documenting and processing.
  • The timeline is great for having one place for everyone to log notes/emails/calls/important milestones in a customer's lifecycle.
  • Creating rules to generate calls to action.
  • Fantastic reporting.
  • NPS Surveys.
  • Creating Rules in the Rules Engine is complicated.
  • Being able to edit someone else's Gainsight timeline log.
  • Reporting on internal/external attendees on a timeline activity.
Gainsight is well suited for organizations where people are taking notes and documenting things related to their customers, and need them to be visible to the entire organization for visibility, knowledge transfer, etc.
Gainsight is less appropriate for a company that is not B2B, and does not have accounts/clients.
Read Ashley Phelps's full review
No photo available
April 26, 2019

Gainsight Review: "Take on the challenge, it is worth it."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is mostly used by the Customer Success org. As a whole, it is not completely adopted by all teams, but the efforts of our Operations teams have made sure to display dashboards and important data regarding upcoming renewals and any risky activity. Where Gainsight is heavily used is within a CS team that focuses on scaling the Customer Success manager role and responsibilities. We've been able to automate many engagements along the Customer Journey via Journey Orchestrator, engagements that would've been time-consuming for human resources. Automation frees up CSMs' time to focus on more strategic initiatives. Internally, it has been an amazing tool to help the scale CSM team prioritize which accounts to engage with first. We have triggered alerts that will keep CSMs aware of all the accounts in their book and select the higher risk clients to address.
  • Gainsight Community is so useful for more live support, and networking with other clients is definitely possible.
  • Gainsight support is rapid responding and will not leave you wondering.
  • Help Center and documentation is kept up to date which is very difficult for fast-changing technology.
  • Webinar topics are on point.
  • Account managers/CSMs can introduce and demo new features at the time of rollout. Be proactive to schedule time with your power users.
There's a whole hierarchy of Gainsight users at an organization. If your company is relatively small, it might be more difficult to establish Gainsight at your firm because one person cannot do everything. You will need a strong admin, someone who is technically savvy and understands CRM backends (Salesforce background is great) and terminology. Then you have the users of just the interface who know how to interact with them (filters, toggle, locate). Finally, you have some continuing to innovate and explore the possible features of the tech. There's an overwhelming amount of abilities and features to implement and use, so a clear vision is important before you start overwhelming yourself with the Gainsight possibilities.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 26, 2019

Gainsight Review: "Great tool if you have the resources to implement and manage it"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the entire customer success team on a day to day basis. In addition, the product team uses Gainsight occasionally. Lastly members of leadership have access to Gainsight and they use mostly the Dashboard from time to time.
  • Native integration with Salesforce
  • Great work management capabilities (CTAs, tasks, automation/semi-automation of tasks)
  • Automation of customer outreaches such as surveys and welcome emails
  • Robust health score
  • Great capabilities for logging touchpoint (formatting, selecting topics, choosing attendings, reporting capabilities)
  • Lacking capabilities for gathering, reporting and analyzing usage data
  • The ability to format charts (font sizes, chart sizes, etc.) is limited
  • Gainsight is a complex tool that takes a lot of training and experience in order to fully utilize
Gainsight is great if you have a customer success team of at least 10 CSMs, and the resources to have a team member implement it and spend a lot of time managing it. If you have many of the process and data already in Salesforce, the implementation of Gainsight can be much smoother.
Read this authenticated review
Bradford Gillens profile photo
April 17, 2019

Gainsight Review: "Great tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to manage our customer relationships and our customer's lifecycle post-sale up to and through renewal.
  • Scorecards
  • Reporting
  • Documentation of customer interactions
  • N/A
Gainsight is great for managing customer interactions through the customer lifecycle and understanding how to successfully keep your customers on a path to success via using your product or service.
Read Bradford Gillens's full review
No photo available
April 17, 2019

Review: "Looking to increase your performance and customer relationships? Gainsight is for you!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Gainsight platform to address customer success problems. Our team administrates the platform and address user request for metrics, usage data, and specific requests related to our customer accounts. Another important aspect of Gainsight is the use of the NPS survey tool, this is a very important tool for us as it serves well to provide a snapshot about how the company is doing on a quarterly basis with our direct customers and also provides our leadership team points of actions to take in order to improve all services provided to our customers.
  • The ability to build specific dashboards for internal customers in the organizations.
  • Customer 360 is a great tool to provide a view about how a customer is doing within our company.
  • The NPS Survey is a great tool for any company that uses Gainsight.
  • The differences between MDA Objects and Data Spaces, these are not allowed to be interconnected, this should be possible.
  • Being able to create joined reports between objects in the report builder would be a great addition.
  • Provide more flexibility at the moment of creating reports from objects related to the NPS Survey, sometimes is hard.
For me, Gainsight is a great tool in almost all scenarios, especially if these are related to metrics or usage data within direct customers of any organization. Also, Gainsight can be a great tool for any organization that would like to measure their relationship with their customers and understand where there are areas for improvement. I think Gainsight is not a great tool to use by an organization that would like to measure their employee's performance or how happy they are with their job roles. Gainsight is not an HR tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 23, 2019

User Review: "Gainsight: the best in class!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently used by sales (customer success) and piloted by some account executives. We use it to predict the customer health and renewal activities.
  • Call to Actions
  • Health scores
  • Reporting and Dashboards
  • Email
  • Surveys
  • Inability to integrate with Outlook and Gmail
  • Sending tabular reports via email
  • Ability to mark certain timeline notes as favorites
Easy to setup, tons of online tutorial resources, and a great and helpful Gainsight community. Early indicators of churn risks, great CTA/reports, and a great renewals process. Great customer support, actually one of the best.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2019

Gainsight Review: "Great tool for account managers and client success managers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to monitor the use of our software by clients. This helps us uncover potential upsell opportunities and, conversely, determine how likely an account is to churn. It also allows us to schedule CTAs that prompt account manager's to reach out to clients at regular intervals regarding usage and renewals.
  • Visual -- at a glance you can get a complete snapshot of the account: their usage, activity, and how likely they are to churn. This provides opportunities for proactive outreach.
  • CTAs -- a very well designed system that allows you to create CTAs around renewal dates, data usage, survey responses, and prospect outreach.
  • Automation -- Gainsight allows you to send out automated emails based on a client's usage. It allows you to customize several different features and review before sending, which is helpful for AMs when managing a large book of business.
  • No ability to filter CTAs by type.
  • Parameters for setting up automated emails can be restrictive at times.
Gainsight is a fantastic tool for account managers and client success managers to monitor usage, schedule regular outreach, and track the overall health of an account. It's less appropriate for salespeople, because this functionality is designed more for account managers due to the fact that the information is pulled from the product. For prospecting efforts, it is not necessary and there are other tools that are better designed for these activities.
Read this authenticated review
Penny Ashley-Lawrence profile photo
February 18, 2019

User Review: "One of Gainsight's biggest fans!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight as the heart and soul of the Customer Success team. The CTAs define the day to day work of the CSMs, but we also use it to track the success of onboarding a new customer and other larger projects. It's important to us to have all of a customer's experience tracked in Gainsight to help us tell the full story of a customer. Our analytics team needs this story to better help us be predictive.

Additionally, we use Gainsight to track activity and outcomes related to the work of CSM to help understand the value of the CSM team.
  • The genius behind Gainsight is the rules engine. We pump in the usage data, along with customer information and create "if this then that" rules. The rules are very powerful and I've yet to run into something that was not possible.
  • Gainsight offers a lot of flexibility in the creation of manual CTAs, and this allows us to use to track risk and service disruptions.
  • Gainsight is a powerful platform that integrates well with other tools we use or plan to use.
  • Gainsight is not an analytics tool, but it could be. Typically, I download reports and manipulate it myself.
  • I also wish non-admins had the power to create their own reports.
Gainsight is a powerful tool and I've used it at two companies to define the work and outcomes of CSMs. If you have a multi-product offering and need to manage the post sales experience, this tool is perfect. If you are smaller, you could live in your CRM tool until you are ready.
Read Penny Ashley-Lawrence's full review
✔Robert Riegel profile photo
February 13, 2019

Review: "Gainsight helps us know when our customers need help before our customers know they need help"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to help onboard new CS reps, which in turn helps them onboard new customers. We also have connected GS with Mixpanel to bring in customer metrics from our product, and help understand our customers understanding of the product, and where they need additional help. With the health score we can also indicate, and be proactive about, preventing churn.
  • Customer health score, which basically models how well your customers understand, and drive value, from your product.
  • CTAs, which you can trigger to your CS team in order to help them proactively reach out.
  • MDA, which flattens your objects across Salesforce, Marketo, Mixpanel....etc and let's you create rules (or flows) to trigger different events and field updates.
  • The user interface needs some work, for example, when you're creating a rule, sometimes you hit "next", but sometimes you have to click on the next number in order to progress. It's a bit wonky.
  • Maybe create out of the box reports that can help admins show the value of GS with the exec team.
I feel like this is very similar to the last two questions...

What I like:
CTAS
Heath Score
Rules Engine
Flat architecture

What needs work:
User interface
Read ✔Robert Riegel's full review
Lauren Marsh profile photo
February 12, 2019

User Review: "Gainsight: I dig it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our client success management team uses the full license and our account management team has access to the salesforce account window.
  • Rules engine & Journey Orchestrator are great
  • UI is easy on the eyes
  • Dynamic reports are helpful
  • Error messages are actionable
  • Bringing in data from our product is working well
  • 360 takes too long to load.
  • Journey Orchestra has to be cloned and can't be edited once created. would be easier to be able to make edits in existing programs.
  • would like to add a new Customer Status in addition to active, inactive, churn.
If you have a team of people responsible for customer success Gainsight provides various ways to keep track and anticipate client needs. If you want to create 'tasks' for users to take action on regarding client data. If you despise time-based workflows from salesforce, Gainsight provides working alternatives.
Read Lauren Marsh's full review
No photo available
January 11, 2019

Review: "Gainsight is a thought leader and has the best software in the customer success space!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization relies heavily on Gainsight across many customer-facing departments and with our executive team. It provides visibility into our customer base and helps us to assess our risks. We also use it to increase adoption across our customer base and ensure that we have a plan in place for each individual customer.
  • Tracking customer health and adoption and assessing customer risk
  • Communicating effectively to your customer base at a large scale
  • Creating success plans for each individual customer
  • The relationships module is not fully developed and has not worked well for our organization
  • Reporting is powerful but can be a little clunky at times
  • Mass email communication had issues early on, but most have been fixed at this point
Gainsight is great for organizations that have a customer focused environment, but need to take it to the next level. They are truly leaders in this space and can help you reach a new level of success in your organization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2019

Review: "Optimize your CS business with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to help streamline the operations and visibility of our Customer Success and People Science organizations. Our CSMs as well as our renewals and consulting teams leverage Gainsight for the most up to date customer information including what products and services have been purchased, overall health related to adoption, renewal and engagement and for NPS and CSAT survey feedback. Overall health results are shared with the Executive team on a weekly basis in a push report from Gainsight. It is the primary platform leveraged by my Customer Success organization.
  • Overall customer health scoring and tracking
  • NPS and CSAT surveys and reporting
  • Call to Action (CTA) Automation
  • Configuration can be tricky with self-service
  • Reporting and insights could be more advanced
Gainsight can be leveraged as a day-to-day CSM platform to track customer health, interactions and engagement. It is less helpful for sales or other functions. It does require focused resources to get the data integration correct, so allocation of technical resources up front is critical. A technical administrator within the customer organization is optimal for maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
Colin Burns profile photo
January 11, 2019

Review: "Gainsight saves the Customer Success puzzle"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We rolled out Gainsight across our entire Customer Success organization of 100+ Success Managers and leaders. We use it as the central source of truth for all customer health and activity, and reporting on both to executives across multiple departments. In short, if it doesn't happen in Gainsight, it doesn't happen. Day-to-day Success Managers use the Gainsight Cockpit to track their customer activity. We use a combination of automated and manual entries to surface activity and needs per customer. We've also begun integrating our Gainsight to pull insights from other solutions to track customer health and create tasks for our Success Managers.
  • Roll up reports across the entire organization to glean insights that can be sent to other departments.
  • Track and triage big moments in a customer lifecycle.
  • Create tasks for Success Managers to mitigate a customer heading down the path of churn.
  • The Reporting module is only intuitive if you have extensive training on it, not even for someone who works in the SaaS space or is a heavy user.
  • Creating manual tasks within CTAs can be very time consuming. It is best if everything rolls of a Playbook.
  • The email notifications come in - at best - a daily digest.
  • Not the best for an account planning scenario; tends to be best around reactive situations that you'll face with a customer.
  • Great for managing a large team with a lot of customers; handles scale very, very well.
  • Email notifications aren't ideal for on-the-spot activity, that day.
Read Colin Burns's full review
No photo available
January 10, 2019

Review: "Gainsight is a solid tool for everything customer success and beyond!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Gainsight in April of 2017 as we had no real CRM for our client services team. Since then, it is now our single source of truth for all things customer success related. We are able to track a client's lifecycle and understand their entire journey including opportunities for risk or improvement. We are still in the beginning stages of rolling out the entire system, but we definitely are seeing much more visibility on a client services department level and as a company as a whole.
  • Communication: Gainsight makes it really easy to track emails sent through the system in one place.
  • Process: We can hold our people accountable with CTAs.
  • Survey/NPS: Gainsight makes it really easy to create/track surveys. We never really surveyed our clients like this and it's nice how it is tied to each account.
  • Health Score Cards: We're able to set up parameters on what is a "healthy" client, which is very helpful.
  • Journey Orchestrator: The UI for creating emails is painful and very outdated.
Gainsight is the only way to get a holistic view of your customer success efforts. Our team is held accountable for making sure all information is accurate and constantly updated. We had so much information in different systems and departments and now we can consolidate everything into one place.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Chan profile photo
January 09, 2019

User Review: "Gain productivity with Gainsight!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used extensively by the Customer Success team in my company. It is useful to track health scores of clients and to identify potential churns due to various triggers. The cockpit function was really useful in getting us to reach out to clients in a timely manner for business updates.
  • The cockpit function which uses the "Call to Action" function is really useful in ensuring we track engagement with all our clients
  • The health scores are useful to identify potential churns and we can take remedial actions to address them before the renewal date
  • The newly added timeline feature is useful for tracking key activities with clients
  • For the timeline feature, I wish there was a easy way to download a single report highlighting the key activities done with each client
Extremely useful if manager to client ratio is in excess of 1: 50 (meaning 1 account manager to 50 clients). Gainsight helps you manage and track clients activities and engagements.
Read Jason Chan's full review
Christian Falkenberg profile photo
December 14, 2018

Gainsight: "Great tool for Customer Success Management - fun to use and administrate"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Gainsight in the Customer Success Management Team to manage all our customers and to consolidate the data from all different systems we have to get the full picture of our customers. We are using Salesforce as CRM system, so Gainsight was our final choice because of ease of connecting both.
  • All customer data in one place
  • Strong rules engine to automate stuff e.g. tech touch management
  • Easy administration
  • Usability
  • Good interface with Salesforce as CRM system
  • Some standard objects/functions are to static e.g. NPS feature - but you can always create your own views
  • No interface with other survey tool, but I heard this is on the roadmap
  • Sally Slack bot seems to be useless, at least for us. You get a faster summary by using C360 view
The best scenario would be to use Gainsight when Salesforce is already in place. This will help you to set up things easily, like rules for automation, data transfer or updating customer data in Salesforce through Gainsight. You want to consolidate all customer data you have? Use Gainsight! Gainsight also has a good reporting tool in place, where you also can create and share dashboards.
Read Christian Falkenberg's full review
Bill Phillips profile photo
December 10, 2018

User Review: "Gaining Momentum with Gainsight!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Predominately addresses issues with Customer Success teams and Sales through Salesforce.

Address:

  1. Data issues
  2. Customer Engagement
  3. @ Risk Accounts
  4. Level of engagement
  5. Adoption
for starts plus more at our finger tips
  • Prepares me from an executive perspective when I am about to enter into a client meeting and I can pull up the history on my mobile app. Everything including history is at my fingertips.
  • Dashboards that allow me to see what is going on in my portfolio and allows me to be proactive and get out of the rat race.
  • Share information internally and externally to hold everyone accountable and maintain transparency.
  • Success plans can be more pleasing to the eyes and user intuitive.
  • Email automation - however we are receiving this in the next month and am excited to leverage it with timelines!
  • Being able to enter CSM assessment from the timeline and show real time in the scorecard. I believe it is coming soon!
For CSMs to track all types of engagements with their customers and categorize them. e.g. Timelines. Transitions: all historical information is at your finger tips, you don't need to search through emails. I can identify action items and owners easily. Less appropriate: Success plans and workflows.
Read Bill Phillips's full review
Shawn Hilditch profile photo
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Become more proactive with your Customer Success Teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success and Account Management teams use Gainsight to have a single view of the customer. We have data feeding into Gainsight from Zendesk and Jira, Zuora (financials), project management/implementation systems and our customer platform (usage). Rules are built to create period over period metrics of all of this data and alerts are created via CTAs where needed and many reports to monitor this data. We also utilize surveys and programs to keep in regular contact with our customers.
  • Great at integrating data sources and creating dashboards and C360 pages to view information
  • Automating customer outreach and customer communication
  • Enables proactive outreach and responses to positive or negative trends in usage, support or financial data.
  • The ability to create joins between data tables (MDA) could be better, today it requires rules to supplement data
  • There are numerous ways to implement Gainsight objects, takes some learning to know which way will work best
  • If you're managing relationships with between 25 and thousands of customers, Gainsight offers the tools to have insight into those customers and ensure you're given them the attention they need.
  • However if your SFDC or CRM system and other data sources are poorly managed, Gainsight won't fix those issues, they need to be sorted out before starting the GS implementation.
Read Shawn Hilditch's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Wide range of capabilities!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for client development and some expansion work. We have an administration team that channels configuration. While this is happening we monitor the lifecycle of a customer as they progress throughout the various buyer stages. Using what we find out about the lifecycle internally, we try to effectively transform that to actionable items. This can be in the form of CTAs, dashboards, whatever.
  • Bionic Rule Capabilities -- Rules engine is extremely powerful. The way I look at it is as if it's a bonafide ETL tool living inside a workflow management tool. Through rules you can put together powerful queries that really makes your workflow management great.
  • C360 -- Gainsight excels at being able to bring in all sorts of data into one place.
  • Call to actions - Through the rules engine call to actions can be incredibly specific so we can target any point of the customer lifecycle with strategic ctas based off our data.
  • I think that reporting functionality is getting there. Inline calculations would be a huge improvement. Filtering on Aggregated fields also would be nice.
  • I think being unable to edit programs once they are on is very concerning. Why can't participants be brought in under some sort of logic, then we can edit and tweak as we iterate upon our first program?
Workflow Management - Perfect. If you want to use your data strategically then this is a big plus for you.
Health Scores - Great health scores and health score update capabilities. We personally worked with the Gainsight data science team and they did a great job at getting our predictive scores helped out.
Support - Excellent support, they are so responsive and will make sure the problem you have is solved/answered.

Con: Reports - Reporting is good, don't get that wrong. But, if you're looking for a robust Tableau-esque platform then this doesn't quite live to that mark. But that makes sense, Gainsight is sort of the jack of all trades tool in my opinion.

Reports Management - Really difficult to manage reports. Need more filters on the report management section.
Read this authenticated review
Garin Landry profile photo
December 07, 2018

Review: "Gainsight the tool the creates and help build cross-funtional Customer Success."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire organization from Sales, Success, Renewals, and Project Management. It addresses ability to create a playbook for different life-cycle, risk, or expansion events based on quantitative data.
  • Derived a customer health score. Helps give visibility into every account in one place.
  • Pushes Proactive Calls to actions to the appropriate people to act one.
  • Pushes tech touch automation based on triggered events for the "long tail" customer segment.
  • The rule writing is not super intuitive. Would be nice to have it more of a click build that did not require so much technological administration of the tool.
  • Pulling in the basic customer data, and deriving a basic heath score should be more out of the box and simple to do so that customers can get value quicker without having to get services involved.
Great tool, great people, great partners, and great road map.
Read Garin Landry's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Go with the obvious market leader in customer success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is leveraged across our professional services group, our customer success management group, and our sales group - primarily inside sales. The tool is our primary means of aligning those three customer-facing organizations to coherent motion to first and foremost retain customers, then, as a secondary goal, expand in those accounts. Gainsight also serves as a targeting mechanism for our customer marketing group.
  • More and more prescriptive. They've invested a metric ton in a body of content that you can leverage inside your business to evangelize customer success as a stand-alone domain.
  • Forgiving services model. While structured around an SOW, they're flexible and focused on success.
  • Community. It's rare to see a company their size spend so much time on events, but it's a rewarding investment on their part and your part - you do meet and learn from the people who are good at this, and they do a great job facilitating.
  • Prescriptive business applications ecosystem. A point of view here, and content around that, would be a huge win.
  • Prescriptive career tracks. Given customer success is a new domain, a lot of the first generation came out of customer service. The new generation is coming from other places, and forging that ground is hard solo.
When you have a lot of unstructured customer-facing motion conducted by humans a workflow engine like Gainsight makes a lot of sense and is best of breed. If you're looking for automated stack of tech touch, Gainsight plays a role but there's other tools that can fit that stack.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight - Great for automation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Gainsight for all levels of our customer journey. Gainsight and the outreaches/advanced outreaches have allowed us to scale via automation. It also allows us to deliver that "just in time" approach to provide resources. We are also using Gainsight for renewal automation as well.
  • Automated outreaches - allows for being able to scale.
  • Calls to action - allows for the use of automation to monitor data and create actionable items based on the data; scalability.
  • Reporting- allows quick/easy access to reporting on customer health with automated, actionable items.
  • The backend setup of Gainsight is not that intuitive.
  • Email formatting is difficult
  • Would like to see rules setup in a template to choose from
Gainsight is great for being able to automate the onboarding experience for low/tech touch customers; creating actionable items along the way. Being able to monitor the overall health of an account to help curb churn is also nice.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (138)
8.1
API (101)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (174)
9.6
Integration with Marketo (43)
8.0
Integration with Eloqua (17)
7.3
Product usage (166)
8.6
Help desk / support tickets (140)
7.9
NPS surveys (142)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (135)
8.1
Customer profiles (165)
9.2
Automated workflow (179)
8.4
Internal collaboration (165)
8.2
Customer health scoring (178)
9.6
Customer segmentation (151)
9.3
Customer health trends (168)
9.4
Engagement analytics (149)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (91)
9.2
Dashboards (179)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android