TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGGainsight helps us know when our customers need help before our customers know they need helpWe use Gainsight to help onboard new CS reps, which in turn helps them onboard new customers. We also have connected GS with Mixpanel to bring in customer metrics from our product, and help understand our customers understanding of the product, and where they need additional help. With the health score we can also indicate, and be proactive about, preventing churn.,Customer health score, which basically models how well your customers understand, and drive value, from your product. CTAs, which you can trigger to your CS team in order to help them proactively reach out. MDA, which flattens your objects across Salesforce, Marketo, Mixpanel....etc and let's you create rules (or flows) to trigger different events and field updates.,The user interface needs some work, for example, when you're creating a rule, sometimes you hit "next", but sometimes you have to click on the next number in order to progress. It's a bit wonky. Maybe create out of the box reports that can help admins show the value of GS with the exec team.,9,10,Yea one of my recommendations is a templated dashboard to start with so that we could edit it to have a re-occurring dashboard sent to the exec team. I don't think they see the full value.,New CS reps are more easily onboarded, because they can follow CTAs while onboarding, and helping, customers. This in turn has had a positive impact of retention and NPS. GS helps us visualize product usage that is easily associated with data from SF, like Contacts and Accounts. We feel like we have a pretty good model that indicates churn risk 2 months in advance, so that we can be proactive and outreach before they cancel.,,Mixpanel feeds GS with product activity, and SF feeds GS with marketing / sales / account activity. Both integrations are very easy.Gainsight: I dig it!Our client success management team uses the full license and our account management team has access to the salesforce account window.,Rules engine & Journey Orchestrator are great UI is easy on the eyes Dynamic reports are helpful Error messages are actionable Bringing in data from our product is working well,360 takes too long to load. Journey Orchestra has to be cloned and can't be edited once created. would be easier to be able to make edits in existing programs. would like to add a new Customer Status in addition to active, inactive, churn.,10,9,I don't know specifically but we have build dashboards for them.,I'm just the admin. Hopefully Sarah Kokin from CSOD will provide specifics.,Salesforce, Cornerstone internal tool, Splunk that I know of. We use utilization data from our product to trigger CTAs to our CSMs to take action.Gainsight is a thought leader and has the best software in the customer success space!My organization relies heavily on Gainsight across many customer-facing departments and with our executive team. It provides visibility into our customer base and helps us to assess our risks. We also use it to increase adoption across our customer base and ensure that we have a plan in place for each individual customer.,Tracking customer health and adoption and assessing customer risk Communicating effectively to your customer base at a large scale Creating success plans for each individual customer,The relationships module is not fully developed and has not worked well for our organization Reporting is powerful but can be a little clunky at times Mass email communication had issues early on, but most have been fixed at this point,9,9,Our executives are very customer focused and need high visibility into the health of the customer base. They leverage the executive dashboards and other reporting within Gainsight on a weekly basis.,Increased our visibility into the overall health of our customer base Helped us to scale our CSM team as customer base continues to grow. We were able to launch a 1:many CSM program because of the tools within Gainsight We have increased our net retention as well,Salesforce, Eloqua, and we are hoping to integrate Learncore in the future.Optimize your CS business with GainsightWe use Gainsight to help streamline the operations and visibility of our Customer Success and People Science organizations. Our CSMs as well as our renewals and consulting teams leverage Gainsight for the most up to date customer information including what products and services have been purchased, overall health related to adoption, renewal and engagement and for NPS and CSAT survey feedback. Overall health results are shared with the Executive team on a weekly basis in a push report from Gainsight. It is the primary platform leveraged by my Customer Success organization.,Overall customer health scoring and tracking NPS and CSAT surveys and reporting Call to Action (CTA) Automation,Configuration can be tricky with self-service Reporting and insights could be more advanced,10,7,Very important. We have a weekly report that is pushed to the E-Team in order to ensure transparency in customer health and what action is being taken. The information is used to help prioritize product and engineering work as well as executive time on accounts that are at risk.,Centralize and streamline CS work and customer visibility; we have gained at least 20% efficiency improvements and are working toward much more by aligning with Gainsight's best practices,Salesforce, Zendesk and high level usage data. Helps pull together the full customer health picture. We do not share data from Gainsight to other systems currently.Gainsight saves the Customer Success puzzleWe rolled out Gainsight across our entire Customer Success organization of 100+ Success Managers and leaders. We use it as the central source of truth for all customer health and activity, and reporting on both to executives across multiple departments. In short, if it doesn't happen in Gainsight, it doesn't happen. Day-to-day Success Managers use the Gainsight Cockpit to track their customer activity. We use a combination of automated and manual entries to surface activity and needs per customer. We've also begun integrating our Gainsight to pull insights from other solutions to track customer health and create tasks for our Success Managers.,Roll up reports across the entire organization to glean insights that can be sent to other departments. Track and triage big moments in a customer lifecycle. Create tasks for Success Managers to mitigate a customer heading down the path of churn.,The Reporting module is only intuitive if you have extensive training on it, not even for someone who works in the SaaS space or is a heavy user. Creating manual tasks within CTAs can be very time consuming. It is best if everything rolls of a Playbook. The email notifications come in - at best - a daily digest.,9,More than 100 people,Got a lot of work off spreadsheets and documents Moved things to a historical, reportable space Surfaced insights to reduce churn,Pendo.io,Reading the Reporting Dashboards Reading the cockpit,Creating reports Creating on-the-fly tasks within a CTA,No,7
Unspecified
Gainsight
322 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
322 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 322 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 178)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
✔Robert Riegel profile photo
February 13, 2019

Review: "Gainsight helps us know when our customers need help before our customers know they need help"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to help onboard new CS reps, which in turn helps them onboard new customers. We also have connected GS with Mixpanel to bring in customer metrics from our product, and help understand our customers understanding of the product, and where they need additional help. With the health score we can also indicate, and be proactive about, preventing churn.
  • Customer health score, which basically models how well your customers understand, and drive value, from your product.
  • CTAs, which you can trigger to your CS team in order to help them proactively reach out.
  • MDA, which flattens your objects across Salesforce, Marketo, Mixpanel....etc and let's you create rules (or flows) to trigger different events and field updates.
  • The user interface needs some work, for example, when you're creating a rule, sometimes you hit "next", but sometimes you have to click on the next number in order to progress. It's a bit wonky.
  • Maybe create out of the box reports that can help admins show the value of GS with the exec team.
I feel like this is very similar to the last two questions...

What I like:
CTAS
Heath Score
Rules Engine
Flat architecture

What needs work:
User interface
Read ✔Robert Riegel's full review
Lauren Marsh profile photo
February 12, 2019

User Review: "Gainsight: I dig it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our client success management team uses the full license and our account management team has access to the salesforce account window.
  • Rules engine & Journey Orchestrator are great
  • UI is easy on the eyes
  • Dynamic reports are helpful
  • Error messages are actionable
  • Bringing in data from our product is working well
  • 360 takes too long to load.
  • Journey Orchestra has to be cloned and can't be edited once created. would be easier to be able to make edits in existing programs.
  • would like to add a new Customer Status in addition to active, inactive, churn.
If you have a team of people responsible for customer success Gainsight provides various ways to keep track and anticipate client needs. If you want to create 'tasks' for users to take action on regarding client data. If you despise time-based workflows from salesforce, Gainsight provides working alternatives.
Read Lauren Marsh's full review
No photo available
January 11, 2019

Review: "Gainsight is a thought leader and has the best software in the customer success space!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization relies heavily on Gainsight across many customer-facing departments and with our executive team. It provides visibility into our customer base and helps us to assess our risks. We also use it to increase adoption across our customer base and ensure that we have a plan in place for each individual customer.
  • Tracking customer health and adoption and assessing customer risk
  • Communicating effectively to your customer base at a large scale
  • Creating success plans for each individual customer
  • The relationships module is not fully developed and has not worked well for our organization
  • Reporting is powerful but can be a little clunky at times
  • Mass email communication had issues early on, but most have been fixed at this point
Gainsight is great for organizations that have a customer focused environment, but need to take it to the next level. They are truly leaders in this space and can help you reach a new level of success in your organization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2019

Review: "Optimize your CS business with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to help streamline the operations and visibility of our Customer Success and People Science organizations. Our CSMs as well as our renewals and consulting teams leverage Gainsight for the most up to date customer information including what products and services have been purchased, overall health related to adoption, renewal and engagement and for NPS and CSAT survey feedback. Overall health results are shared with the Executive team on a weekly basis in a push report from Gainsight. It is the primary platform leveraged by my Customer Success organization.
  • Overall customer health scoring and tracking
  • NPS and CSAT surveys and reporting
  • Call to Action (CTA) Automation
  • Configuration can be tricky with self-service
  • Reporting and insights could be more advanced
Gainsight can be leveraged as a day-to-day CSM platform to track customer health, interactions and engagement. It is less helpful for sales or other functions. It does require focused resources to get the data integration correct, so allocation of technical resources up front is critical. A technical administrator within the customer organization is optimal for maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
Colin Burns profile photo
January 11, 2019

Review: "Gainsight saves the Customer Success puzzle"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We rolled out Gainsight across our entire Customer Success organization of 100+ Success Managers and leaders. We use it as the central source of truth for all customer health and activity, and reporting on both to executives across multiple departments. In short, if it doesn't happen in Gainsight, it doesn't happen. Day-to-day Success Managers use the Gainsight Cockpit to track their customer activity. We use a combination of automated and manual entries to surface activity and needs per customer. We've also begun integrating our Gainsight to pull insights from other solutions to track customer health and create tasks for our Success Managers.
  • Roll up reports across the entire organization to glean insights that can be sent to other departments.
  • Track and triage big moments in a customer lifecycle.
  • Create tasks for Success Managers to mitigate a customer heading down the path of churn.
  • The Reporting module is only intuitive if you have extensive training on it, not even for someone who works in the SaaS space or is a heavy user.
  • Creating manual tasks within CTAs can be very time consuming. It is best if everything rolls of a Playbook.
  • The email notifications come in - at best - a daily digest.
  • Not the best for an account planning scenario; tends to be best around reactive situations that you'll face with a customer.
  • Great for managing a large team with a lot of customers; handles scale very, very well.
  • Email notifications aren't ideal for on-the-spot activity, that day.
Read Colin Burns's full review
No photo available
January 10, 2019

Review: "Gainsight is a solid tool for everything customer success and beyond!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Gainsight in April of 2017 as we had no real CRM for our client services team. Since then, it is now our single source of truth for all things customer success related. We are able to track a client's lifecycle and understand their entire journey including opportunities for risk or improvement. We are still in the beginning stages of rolling out the entire system, but we definitely are seeing much more visibility on a client services department level and as a company as a whole.
  • Communication: Gainsight makes it really easy to track emails sent through the system in one place.
  • Process: We can hold our people accountable with CTAs.
  • Survey/NPS: Gainsight makes it really easy to create/track surveys. We never really surveyed our clients like this and it's nice how it is tied to each account.
  • Health Score Cards: We're able to set up parameters on what is a "healthy" client, which is very helpful.
  • Journey Orchestrator: The UI for creating emails is painful and very outdated.
Gainsight is the only way to get a holistic view of your customer success efforts. Our team is held accountable for making sure all information is accurate and constantly updated. We had so much information in different systems and departments and now we can consolidate everything into one place.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Chan profile photo
January 09, 2019

User Review: "Gain productivity with Gainsight!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used extensively by the Customer Success team in my company. It is useful to track health scores of clients and to identify potential churns due to various triggers. The cockpit function was really useful in getting us to reach out to clients in a timely manner for business updates.
  • The cockpit function which uses the "Call to Action" function is really useful in ensuring we track engagement with all our clients
  • The health scores are useful to identify potential churns and we can take remedial actions to address them before the renewal date
  • The newly added timeline feature is useful for tracking key activities with clients
  • For the timeline feature, I wish there was a easy way to download a single report highlighting the key activities done with each client
Extremely useful if manager to client ratio is in excess of 1: 50 (meaning 1 account manager to 50 clients). Gainsight helps you manage and track clients activities and engagements.
Read Jason Chan's full review
Christian Falkenberg profile photo
December 14, 2018

Gainsight: "Great tool for Customer Success Management - fun to use and administrate"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Gainsight in the Customer Success Management Team to manage all our customers and to consolidate the data from all different systems we have to get the full picture of our customers. We are using Salesforce as CRM system, so Gainsight was our final choice because of ease of connecting both.
  • All customer data in one place
  • Strong rules engine to automate stuff e.g. tech touch management
  • Easy administration
  • Usability
  • Good interface with Salesforce as CRM system
  • Some standard objects/functions are to static e.g. NPS feature - but you can always create your own views
  • No interface with other survey tool, but I heard this is on the roadmap
  • Sally Slack bot seems to be useless, at least for us. You get a faster summary by using C360 view
The best scenario would be to use Gainsight when Salesforce is already in place. This will help you to set up things easily, like rules for automation, data transfer or updating customer data in Salesforce through Gainsight. You want to consolidate all customer data you have? Use Gainsight! Gainsight also has a good reporting tool in place, where you also can create and share dashboards.
Read Christian Falkenberg's full review
Bill Phillips profile photo
December 10, 2018

User Review: "Gaining Momentum with Gainsight!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Predominately addresses issues with Customer Success teams and Sales through Salesforce.

Address:

  1. Data issues
  2. Customer Engagement
  3. @ Risk Accounts
  4. Level of engagement
  5. Adoption
for starts plus more at our finger tips
  • Prepares me from an executive perspective when I am about to enter into a client meeting and I can pull up the history on my mobile app. Everything including history is at my fingertips.
  • Dashboards that allow me to see what is going on in my portfolio and allows me to be proactive and get out of the rat race.
  • Share information internally and externally to hold everyone accountable and maintain transparency.
  • Success plans can be more pleasing to the eyes and user intuitive.
  • Email automation - however we are receiving this in the next month and am excited to leverage it with timelines!
  • Being able to enter CSM assessment from the timeline and show real time in the scorecard. I believe it is coming soon!
For CSMs to track all types of engagements with their customers and categorize them. e.g. Timelines. Transitions: all historical information is at your finger tips, you don't need to search through emails. I can identify action items and owners easily. Less appropriate: Success plans and workflows.
Read Bill Phillips's full review
Shawn Hilditch profile photo
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Become more proactive with your Customer Success Teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success and Account Management teams use Gainsight to have a single view of the customer. We have data feeding into Gainsight from Zendesk and Jira, Zuora (financials), project management/implementation systems and our customer platform (usage). Rules are built to create period over period metrics of all of this data and alerts are created via CTAs where needed and many reports to monitor this data. We also utilize surveys and programs to keep in regular contact with our customers.
  • Great at integrating data sources and creating dashboards and C360 pages to view information
  • Automating customer outreach and customer communication
  • Enables proactive outreach and responses to positive or negative trends in usage, support or financial data.
  • The ability to create joins between data tables (MDA) could be better, today it requires rules to supplement data
  • There are numerous ways to implement Gainsight objects, takes some learning to know which way will work best
  • If you're managing relationships with between 25 and thousands of customers, Gainsight offers the tools to have insight into those customers and ensure you're given them the attention they need.
  • However if your SFDC or CRM system and other data sources are poorly managed, Gainsight won't fix those issues, they need to be sorted out before starting the GS implementation.
Read Shawn Hilditch's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Wide range of capabilities!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for client development and some expansion work. We have an administration team that channels configuration. While this is happening we monitor the lifecycle of a customer as they progress throughout the various buyer stages. Using what we find out about the lifecycle internally, we try to effectively transform that to actionable items. This can be in the form of CTAs, dashboards, whatever.
  • Bionic Rule Capabilities -- Rules engine is extremely powerful. The way I look at it is as if it's a bonafide ETL tool living inside a workflow management tool. Through rules you can put together powerful queries that really makes your workflow management great.
  • C360 -- Gainsight excels at being able to bring in all sorts of data into one place.
  • Call to actions - Through the rules engine call to actions can be incredibly specific so we can target any point of the customer lifecycle with strategic ctas based off our data.
  • I think that reporting functionality is getting there. Inline calculations would be a huge improvement. Filtering on Aggregated fields also would be nice.
  • I think being unable to edit programs once they are on is very concerning. Why can't participants be brought in under some sort of logic, then we can edit and tweak as we iterate upon our first program?
Workflow Management - Perfect. If you want to use your data strategically then this is a big plus for you.
Health Scores - Great health scores and health score update capabilities. We personally worked with the Gainsight data science team and they did a great job at getting our predictive scores helped out.
Support - Excellent support, they are so responsive and will make sure the problem you have is solved/answered.

Con: Reports - Reporting is good, don't get that wrong. But, if you're looking for a robust Tableau-esque platform then this doesn't quite live to that mark. But that makes sense, Gainsight is sort of the jack of all trades tool in my opinion.

Reports Management - Really difficult to manage reports. Need more filters on the report management section.
Read this authenticated review
Garin Landry profile photo
December 07, 2018

Review: "Gainsight the tool the creates and help build cross-funtional Customer Success."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire organization from Sales, Success, Renewals, and Project Management. It addresses ability to create a playbook for different life-cycle, risk, or expansion events based on quantitative data.
  • Derived a customer health score. Helps give visibility into every account in one place.
  • Pushes Proactive Calls to actions to the appropriate people to act one.
  • Pushes tech touch automation based on triggered events for the "long tail" customer segment.
  • The rule writing is not super intuitive. Would be nice to have it more of a click build that did not require so much technological administration of the tool.
  • Pulling in the basic customer data, and deriving a basic heath score should be more out of the box and simple to do so that customers can get value quicker without having to get services involved.
Great tool, great people, great partners, and great road map.
Read Garin Landry's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Go with the obvious market leader in customer success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is leveraged across our professional services group, our customer success management group, and our sales group - primarily inside sales. The tool is our primary means of aligning those three customer-facing organizations to coherent motion to first and foremost retain customers, then, as a secondary goal, expand in those accounts. Gainsight also serves as a targeting mechanism for our customer marketing group.
  • More and more prescriptive. They've invested a metric ton in a body of content that you can leverage inside your business to evangelize customer success as a stand-alone domain.
  • Forgiving services model. While structured around an SOW, they're flexible and focused on success.
  • Community. It's rare to see a company their size spend so much time on events, but it's a rewarding investment on their part and your part - you do meet and learn from the people who are good at this, and they do a great job facilitating.
  • Prescriptive business applications ecosystem. A point of view here, and content around that, would be a huge win.
  • Prescriptive career tracks. Given customer success is a new domain, a lot of the first generation came out of customer service. The new generation is coming from other places, and forging that ground is hard solo.
When you have a lot of unstructured customer-facing motion conducted by humans a workflow engine like Gainsight makes a lot of sense and is best of breed. If you're looking for automated stack of tech touch, Gainsight plays a role but there's other tools that can fit that stack.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight - Great for automation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Gainsight for all levels of our customer journey. Gainsight and the outreaches/advanced outreaches have allowed us to scale via automation. It also allows us to deliver that "just in time" approach to provide resources. We are also using Gainsight for renewal automation as well.
  • Automated outreaches - allows for being able to scale.
  • Calls to action - allows for the use of automation to monitor data and create actionable items based on the data; scalability.
  • Reporting- allows quick/easy access to reporting on customer health with automated, actionable items.
  • The backend setup of Gainsight is not that intuitive.
  • Email formatting is difficult
  • Would like to see rules setup in a template to choose from
Gainsight is great for being able to automate the onboarding experience for low/tech touch customers; creating actionable items along the way. Being able to monitor the overall health of an account to help curb churn is also nice.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 05, 2018

Review: "Benefits and Opportunities for Improvement with Gainsight for an On-prem Multi-product Company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the customer success managers in the organization to provide them with a 360 view of their customers and to help them streamline the CS processes (i.e. customer onboarding) and document key customer interactions, success plans, risks and opportunities for account growth.
  • One location for all CS work
  • Flexible reporting and easy to configure dashboards
  • Native integration with SFDC
  • Ginsight is a great product but needs more help to cope with the complexity of an on-prem multi-product enterprise company.
  • Would be great to be able to access Gainsight independently from Salesforce
  • The functionality to share dashboards to non-GS users is a great idea and would be really good to see more development in upcoming releases in terms of ways to share the dashboards and making the usage smoother, especially for bigger data sets
If you are a mid-sized SaaS company, Gainsight is one of the greatest investments you can make. For large on-prem multi-product businesses, Gainsight also makes a difference, although complexity and scale can be a challenge (as for any other tool I suppose).
Read this authenticated review
John Applebaugh profile photo
December 01, 2018

Review: "Gainsight made our lives easier and happier"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Gainsight within Customer Success. We use it to automate some account processes such as renewals and contact management. We use the Rules Engine to generate Calls to Action for CSMs as well as make modifications to account records. We also use Gainsight to send mass communications and our NPS survey.
  • Gainsight makes reporting from various data sources very easy and intuitive. It is easy to generate reports on-the-fly and add visualization before publishing to a Dashboard. It is also easy to re-arrange data to make it faster to create reports or generate contact lists to use for outreaches.
  • The Rules Engine is a powerful tool for generating Calls to Action as well as being able to update fields on account records.
  • The Program function in Journey Orchestrator allows us to send a variety of email communications especially with multiple message variants and if we need to send follow-up emails automatically or create a Call to Action for the CSM.
  • The shareable functions of Gainsight - Share 360, Success Plans - are really great features for being able to provide additional value to customers and provide them insights into their account and usage.
  • Timeline is so much more robust than creating activities or tasks just within CRM. Timeline provides a way to track meetings and other events, add multiple participants, and even create follow-up tasks (CTAs).
  • The Support from Gainsight as well as the Community has been very important to helping us get the result we want quickly.
  • It would be helpful to have more integration with email and calendar applications so that email could be sent from within Gainsight from any email within Email Assist (CTAs), or CSM calendars could sync to the Timeline function on the C360 view.
  • Reporting is a great feature but it could be more aligned with how we can build datasets within Rules Engine or Program queries (bionic), allowing us to combine data from different sources without having to create a new data table to query.
  • Folders, folders, folders - we build a lot of email templates, outreaches, and rules, and there is currently no way to organize these so it just becomes a giant list that has be queried to find the one item you want to work with.
Gainsight is great if there are multiple data sources that aren't easily viewed in a combined way or if users do not have access to all these data sources. Gainsight provides a way to get this information into one area that is easy to view by anyone that is involved with the account. It also allows for data back to other systems like Salesforce which is important for contributors that may not be in Customer Success. Gainsight is helpful for automation as well as building scenarios with a specific goal in mind - all of which helps with scaling across segments.

In other areas, Gainsight can be harder for users to adopt if they are used to different workflows like working from support cases or direct email. It also doesn't have much machine learning that would increase the ability to automate workflows. If your product isn't true SaaS you can't make as much use of some of the areas of Gainsight that work well with usage data. Gainsight is also good for workflows that produce an output - an email, a survey, etc. - but not as good with taking inputs from customers.
Read John Applebaugh's full review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

User Review: "First 6 months with Gainsight"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Gainsight globally within our Customer Success Management and Account Management functions. It is designed to address all classic CSM requirements, fundamentally to operationalize and standardise our methodology to support growth.
  • Very deep integration possibilities with SFDC allow highly sophisticated business logic and rules to be constructed.
  • Pulling together of lots of disparate sources of information into a unified view is a substantial time saver and allows clearer 'big picture' context.
  • Creation of dashboards that present lots of reports in a single view allows for quick analysis.
  • The Program feature is complex to manage and counter intuitive in certain areas. A simple revision requires the whole program to be cloned and a new version created.
  • Greater customisation around the report presentation would be useful, such as the colours used - sometimes it is hard to see.
  • Better slicing and dicing around NPS (by region, team, etc) as far as NPS score is concerned. Out of the box you just get a global value.
Gainsight requires quite a lot of investment in the admin side and requires someone who is good with software - it needs a power user to make the most of the feature set, you certainly can't set it up and leave it if you expect to get the most out of it.

If however you have a complex data structure and want to produce bespoke and challenging business rules, then with the appropriate investment in resources you can achieve most things.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a really useful customer management tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is the primary tool of our customer success organisation. We sync it with various systems to pull important data points into one place. Our leadership team has a snapshot of what's going on with a given customer at any moment, through having access to features such as the health score and timeline.
  • Integration with Salesforce.
  • Mass communications made and tracked with ease.
  • Flexible Health Scores!
  • Timeline is great, but quite silo'd.
  • Would love to see a widget that allowed timeline/notes to be taken outside of the platform. Gainsight Sally for Slack is useful but it's a tool many sign-out of in a meeting environment.
Great for keeping a record of health of a customer over-time, and perfect for handing an account from one CSM to another for a business, less loss of information.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the CSM team within the customer success department. It allows us to track health, expirations, metrics, and activities against a client, segment, country or region.
  • The timeline feature allows you to create a diary within a customer's profile and you can easily distinguish what each entry is e.g call, meeting. You can also say if that call was positive or negative, how long it took and who was on the call internally and externally.
  • Gainsight connects back to SFDC and all activities are logged so there's no need for anyone to have access to Gainsight if they're not going to proactively be using it.
  • The cockpit allows you to segment your to do list for today, tomorrow, next week, month or year!
  • Needs an App
  • Needs more reporting features
Best suited to companies with a subscription based business model
Read this authenticated review
Jo-Anne Mann profile photo
November 30, 2018

Gainsight Review: "New user and happily getting acquainted with the system and its value"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Gainsight so we could have a central repository for our client accounts. It gives us good metrics to report and allows us to manage accounts, upsells, renewals referrals and more. It is used day to day operationally and for senior management reporting and action.
  • Ability to create strategic dashboards
  • Centralisation for accounts and a link with Salesforce
  • Reporting ability
  • Sometimes it appears a bit clunky - not sure if it is the volume of information or it's our system at fault
Gainsight is well suited to organisation that have limited users and cannot afford enterprise CRM programs
Once you get into this program you may find that the number of users that require licenses increases and you need to make sure you have thought this through in the beginning.
Read Jo-Anne Mann's full review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used as our internal CRM for keeping up with customers, tracking their escalations, making sure that the status of their 'temp' is readily apparent to other users of Gainsight like our salespeople and other customer success managers.
  • Allows us to the ability to track any and all escalations a customer might have
  • Helps us keep an accurate temperature of customer status, by simply looking at the acct we can gauge if the customer is referenceable or not
  • Helps track NPS score for our clients
  • Wish we had the ability without having to push a refresh button to update directly into SF
  • Activity History
Gainsight is well suited for any company that wants to:

  • keep track of the status of customers
  • track tickets/types/sources
Read this authenticated review
Ben Michael profile photo
November 30, 2018

User Review: "The powerful tool that is Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight primarily in Customer Success, although this has begun to branch into opportunities in Tech Support, Field Services, and Education Services. Our primary business problems Gainsight addresses are as follows:
  • Process automation
  • Email automation
  • Mass communications to current customers
  • Deliverable organization & reporting
  • Mass email automation. We have been able to better scale our business , while still engaging with customers, through the use of Gainsight.
  • Process automation. I have been able to stay on top of our data and and efficiency goals via the use of Gainsight. We have also been able to add and improve some of our offerings via the capabilities of Gainsight.
  • Documentation. They have improved in the volume of documentation recently, but the search-ability and usability is still lacking. I know the features are there, but it is sometimes difficult to understand how to use them.
  • Product Usability. Again, like documentation, the product is immense. I just wish it was more naturally intuitive. I like to compare software to the Apple platform. They are the pinnacle of user-friendly. I think Gainsight could learn a lot about the simple, yet powerful, framework of software like Apple's.
Anyone looking to scale their business to a growing customer base should use Gainsight. It's a needed tool to take the jump from manual to automated, while maintaining (or possibly improving) the value you give to your customers. We have seen immense improvements in our efficiency, proactiveness, and overall customer retention with the use of Gainsight.
Read Ben Michael's full review
Carlos Gonzalez profile photo
November 29, 2018

Review: "Keep your fingers on the pulse of your customers with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Gainsight operationalizes the customer experience consistently across the Ceridian North American customer base. Customer success resources proactively engage customers based on calls to action from Gainsight. It also captures the “pulse” of the customer to objectively reflect a customer status assessment based on a large variety of factors. This information allows Ceridian to take the right action to deeply engage customers and correct situations that need special attention. Unlike reactionary support solutions, Gainsight is used proactively to keep customers successful before they go “off track”.

Gainsight is a critical component to the company technology stack that drives the activities of the award-winning Ceridian XOXO Customer Success program activities. It draws from Salesforce and many other systems to distill critical information for the users and management about the Ceridian Customer base. It also feeds other solutions with the real-time customer sentiment so they can be engaged accordingly.

Without the scalable operationalization of the CX NPS will suffer. Gainsight allows team members to deliver a consistent great CX!



  • Gainsight provides a large team with a consistent playbook of tasks that result in a consistent operationalized customer experience. IF an organization is seeking the same high quality experience for customers from Toronto to Tempe they will appreciate the calls to action that present tasks for their team members and the dashboards that allow the team management to have insight into the programs success.
  • Along with a phenomenal product, the Gainsight team members are great business partners for success. From the regular meetings to share best practices to the partnering to integrate their solution with others, they are great business partners.
  • Gainsight delivers on its product road map. If you have an opportunity, watch a Karl Rumelhart product road map presentation to see the direction of Customer Success!
  • I'd recommend new Gainsight users keep initial configurations simple to allow focus and faster ROI. Many users, my own instance included can grow quickly to try to accomplish too much. Controlled quality growth, and product configuration scope, would be a good mantra to keep in mind.

Gainsight is the keystone solution for a customer-centric SaaS organization looking to proactively operationalize the engagement of a team of Customer Success Managers, Sellers, Support people, and other customer-facing resources. Insights into recurring revenue should be objectively based on objective customer data. Gainsight provides the insight along with the suggested tasks that will secure greater revenue retention.


Read Carlos Gonzalez's full review
Eve Belanger profile photo
November 27, 2018

Review: "Gainsight Takes the Guessing out of Customer Success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used today primarily by the customer success team. We also have users that sit in leadership and some key stakeholders within the sales organization. For CS, we use Gainsight to give us proactive insights and suggested tasks to serve our account base. We also rely on it heavily to provide each customer with a health score using data from our application, Pendo, Nudge and our BI. We have weighed out the data coming into Gainsight from these applications to provide us with a holistic view of active relationships within the account (to avoid being single threaded), adoption and value realization. These data points inform our overall health score, which I can confirm give us an accurate view into which accounts are at risk and also helps us identify opportunities. The CS360 is invaluable to our team. This is where we will go to prep for a customer call, capture meeting notes/risk/opportunities in the Timeline. Our usage of Gainsight has helped make us a very high functioning team.
  • Health Score 2.0 - being able to bring in data points from different technologies to gauge health of a customer and of our customer base
  • CS360 - A consolidated view into all important areas of an account - from contract details to health to usage stats
  • Timeline - Finally one place to capture notes pertaining to an account/customer.
  • Maintaining integrations, it can be tricky to pinpoint where an issue may lay (within the data coming in, within Gainsight, etc)
  • It would be great to have warnings - like say if a SFDC admin changes a field that we bring into Gainsight that could potentially break something - it would be nice to have a warning email notification
Gainsight is well suited for anyone teams which have a large customer base. This is the only way to keep track of touch-points being due, renewal dates or any risk with the account (Cockpit/CTAs are great for this).
Read Eve Belanger's full review
No photo available
November 27, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - Consolidated Customer Insights"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Gainsight in our Customer Experience department, but we are working on expanding our usage across the organization. We use Gainsight to monitor our customer health and product usage, to work through projects with customers such as implementation, and to keep a record of all interactions we have with customers.
  • Gainsight does an excellent job of listening to product feedback given through their Community, implementing those changes when they determine they are a need for many customers, and then informing users that the changes have been implemented.
  • Gainsight is an excellent tool for automating lifecycle communications with customers while still maintaining a personalized touch, thereby allowing us to scale our operations.
  • Gainsight has a good lineup of integration options to allow us to bring all of our customer data into one place to have a unified customer record.
  • Gainsight could do a better job of allowing for one-off exceptions. It does a great job of helping to address the needs of the majority of our customers, but when one customer's needs create a special use case, it is rather difficult to make adjustments for that one customer.
  • Editing programs created through the Journey Orchestrator is very difficult. Sometimes we need to make a small change to the criteria of a program after we have already started running it, but we can't do this without ending the program, cloning it, and starting an entirely new program.
Gainsight works really well for lifecycle-based communications that are intended to feel personalized and look like they are a one-to-one communication even when they are not. We have found Gainsight to be less appropriate when sending mass marketing communications that need A/B testing, HTML programming, heatmap click tracking, and so on.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (128)
8.3
API (95)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (163)
9.5
Integration with Marketo (41)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (157)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (130)
8.2
NPS surveys (132)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (129)
8.3
Customer profiles (156)
9.1
Automated workflow (169)
8.4
Internal collaboration (154)
8.3
Customer health scoring (169)
9.6
Customer segmentation (143)
9.3
Customer health trends (159)
9.3
Engagement analytics (140)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (85)
9.2
Dashboards (168)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Based on a per user/per month model.

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android