TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGA New Users Point of ViewGainsight is currently being used by 75 employees within a single Department of our Company. Its purpose is to create a single point of record for the users. Making their day to day tasks easier by only needing to visit one software/website - rather than several.,Reporting/Dashboards. At first, depending on how your Data is loaded, it can be a little overwhelming when first in the Report Builder. But once you understand where your data is coming from - ensuring you are pulling the proper fields...It's amazing and VERY simple to use! Gainsight Community. As an ADMIN of the software - I find that their Community is one of the bests around! Having the ability to post a comment and get feedback from people all over is amazing! Another perk of the community is also reading how others are using the software. Reading how some people were handling certain issues and how they resolved it with the software has helped us update some of our configurations. Support. Their actual support is also amazing! Friendly, courtesy - and they treat your problem as their problem!,Have a full-time ADMIN. Gainsight is very back ending heavy during the initial setup and configuration of the software - especially if you're converting. But once you get it going - it's awesome!,10,10,While there are MANY features of the software and we are still rolling them out in stages, the most heavily used one by our Executive Team is Dashboard. Both on the Customer side and the Internal side. Being able to view customer Data the way they wish to see it - and the permission to lock it down so only certain people or groups have a view - is amazing. The internal dashboard is also handy - it shows various statistics like the use of the software, number of licenses, etc.,We're actually working on rolling some of these features out now - including automation of follow up appointments!,Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), ServiceNow and Salesforce.comGainsight is truly helpfulThe main focus over the last year has been within the Customer Success organization but as other functions have learned about the power of the information collected, we are being asked to provide Gainsight views to more and more people.,Great for collecting information from multiple data sources Excels at being able to poll up information throughout an account hierarchy Lets all users know what is going on within an account at any given time,No native SFTP integration Might be easier some times to simply code a solution rather than use the UI Needs more integration of scorecard fact tables,10,9,Gainsight is a great tool for quickly and easily showing executives how our very complex customers are doing and what are the areas where we are doing well and where we can improve.,Gainsight is very useful in identifying expansion opportunities The Gainsight tool helps our employees spend more time helping the customer rather than gathering information Gainsight is great at showing us what a customer truly spend with us, rather than simply a feeling,TotangoGainsight - Great for automationWe are currently using Gainsight for all levels of our customer journey. Gainsight and the outreaches/advanced outreaches have allowed us to scale via automation. It also allows us to deliver that "just in time" approach to provide resources. We are also using Gainsight for renewal automation as well.,Automated outreaches - allows for being able to scale. Calls to action - allows for the use of automation to monitor data and create actionable items based on the data; scalability.,The backend setup of Gainsight is not that intuitive. Email formatting is less than ideal.,9,5,We have used Gainsight to increase our NPS score via automated customer engagement. This also appears to be driving growth for existing customers for our SMB line.A very powerful toolGainsight is used by the entire Customer Success team, daily. It helps in managing the entire customers lifecycle.,Excellent Support Very wide feature set Easily integrate with our own data,It is based on Salesforce, which is an obstacle if you are not a Salesforce user.,10,10,We manage renewals more flawlesslyGet fired up about Gainsight.We are primarily using Gainsight within the CS org, but have begun to spread it across other departments. One example is with renewals management. We use a Gainsight dashboard to run a renewals meeting between execs, sales, product, and CS.,Great reporting and dashboards. Our single source of truth for customer info. Excellent thought leadership.,Administration can be complex Gainsight is dependent on your Salesforce data being accurate.,9,10,We currently use three executive dashboards. One for our VP of Customer Success that has global CS performance metrics (renewals, calls to action, risks, etc...), one for our CTO to steer our weekly renewals discussion, and another for our VP of Customer Service to present to the board of directors on a quarterly basis (last one isn't 100% complete, but on the way),Improved our detection of risks in an account, helping us to not be blindsided by churn. Consolidated all of our notes/updates/call summaries in one place for execs, new csms, anyone in the company to reference. Created a customer health scoring system based (mostly) on quantitative metrics.,None
Unspecified
Gainsight
251 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

Gainsight
251 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 251 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 139)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 05, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A New Users Point of View"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently being used by 75 employees within a single Department of our Company. Its purpose is to create a single point of record for the users. Making their day to day tasks easier by only needing to visit one software/website - rather than several.
  • Reporting/Dashboards. At first, depending on how your Data is loaded, it can be a little overwhelming when first in the Report Builder. But once you understand where your data is coming from - ensuring you are pulling the proper fields...It's amazing and VERY simple to use!
  • Gainsight Community. As an ADMIN of the software - I find that their Community is one of the bests around! Having the ability to post a comment and get feedback from people all over is amazing! Another perk of the community is also reading how others are using the software. Reading how some people were handling certain issues and how they resolved it with the software has helped us update some of our configurations.
  • Support. Their actual support is also amazing! Friendly, courtesy - and they treat your problem as their problem!
  • Have a full-time ADMIN. Gainsight is very back ending heavy during the initial setup and configuration of the software - especially if you're converting. But once you get it going - it's awesome!
The main reason I would recommend it is because of the support they provided. No matter the question, simple configuration to advanced - they have someone that will assist you through the whole process. They are amazing!
Read this authenticated review
June 07, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is truly helpful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main focus over the last year has been within the Customer Success organization but as other functions have learned about the power of the information collected, we are being asked to provide Gainsight views to more and more people.
  • Great for collecting information from multiple data sources
  • Excels at being able to poll up information throughout an account hierarchy
  • Lets all users know what is going on within an account at any given time
  • No native SFTP integration
  • Might be easier some times to simply code a solution rather than use the UI
  • Needs more integration of scorecard fact tables
Great for showing the entire organization how the customer sees us. One of the few tools focused on an outside-in view as opposed to most of our tools which show an inside-out view. However, there is a learning curve to learning the backend that could have better online training.
Read this authenticated review
April 26, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight - Great for automation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Gainsight for all levels of our customer journey. Gainsight and the outreaches/advanced outreaches have allowed us to scale via automation. It also allows us to deliver that "just in time" approach to provide resources.

We are also using Gainsight for renewal automation as well.
  • Automated outreaches - allows for being able to scale.
  • Calls to action - allows for the use of automation to monitor data and create actionable items based on the data; scalability.
  • The backend setup of Gainsight is not that intuitive. Email formatting is less than ideal.
Gainsight is great for being able to automate the onboarding experience for low/tech touch customers; creating actionable items along the way. Being able to monitor the overall health of an account to help curb churn is also nice.

Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A very powerful tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the entire Customer Success team, daily. It helps in managing the entire customers lifecycle.
  • Excellent Support
  • Very wide feature set
  • Easily integrate with our own data
  • It is based on Salesforce, which is an obstacle if you are not a Salesforce user.
Very well suited to a SaaS company with many customers that you need to automate your activities with.
Read Tal Admon's full review
April 12, 2018

User Review: "Get fired up about Gainsight."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are primarily using Gainsight within the CS org, but have begun to spread it across other departments. One example is with renewals management. We use a Gainsight dashboard to run a renewals meeting between execs, sales, product, and CS.
  • Great reporting and dashboards.
  • Our single source of truth for customer info.
  • Excellent thought leadership.
  • Administration can be complex
  • Gainsight is dependent on your Salesforce data being accurate.
Gainsight is a very powerful tool and in the right hands can transform a CS Org and its company. Just like any powerful tool, it can be daunting to know where to go next. Gainsight have recognized this, and are helping their customers with the new elements framework, which we are very excited about.
Read Jason Metzler's full review
April 12, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our strategic success team uses gainsight to track Executive Business Reviews (EBRs) and success plans. We plan to expand on this throughout the year.
  • One source of truth
  • Proactive reach outs
  • Excellent survey model
  • Email use in all areas
Excellent for proactive reach outs.
Read Joel Peasley's full review
April 11, 2018

User Review: "Peak 10 enters into Gainsight bliss"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We brought in Gainsight due to the amount of churn we were experiencing, the lack of ability to contact our clients in a consistent manner, and the lack of up-sell opportunities. Since then we have seen a dramatic reduction in churn, an increase in retention rates, and we can strategically plan our our day's activities for a proactive approach to account management.
  • Provides an all around customer view.
  • Advance notice on high risk clients.
  • Organization tool for all CSMs.
  • Continue to grow with functionality.
I would like to see more IaaS companies to tap into knowledge and how they are adapting to Gainsight.
Read George Hamm's full review
April 10, 2018

Review: "Gain Sight on Client Data with Gainsight!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We will be using Gainsight as our main CS hub. It's compatibility with our existing systems such as Salesforce is off the charts. The layout and ease of use, getting all the data in one click for all our clients make the decision to run with Gainsight a "no brainer!"
  • Integration of Salesforce data
  • Live and accurate client health scores
  • Great task management per account with checklists
  • Theme selection, colors and backrround color selection
  • Touch friendly App style access with all the desktop web portal functionality
Gainsight will help us replace three other softwares and a ton of manual processes. Our CS department will be living in this software every minute to achieve the best results and provide the best Client Journey through every lifecycle stage.
Read Mikael Braun's full review
April 10, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is the only way to go!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight has been a great help to our organization. Implementation of each new customer has been so smooth. I really like how easy it is to be very clear about each task that needs to be performed for the customer lifecycle. There's tons of add-on's that also add so much value to it. I highly recommend it!
  • Implementation
  • CTA Tasks
  • LinkedIn
  • I don't see any features that need improvement.
Gainsight is amazing for when you are onboarding a new CSM/customer and you need to keep track of each stage/milestone. It's made my life super easy when I handle account management and I love love it.
Read Matthew Lugo's full review
April 05, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Vice President, Customer Success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used primarily by the Customer Success and Services organization to gather information and analytics from our customers, identifying risks and opportunities, and ultimately allow both organizations to scale.
  • Customer 360 View. Gainsight provides a holistic view of elements of customer health including risk, adoption, advocacy, engagement, etc.
  • Customer Communication. Gainsight has a great communication engine allowing us to ensure customers receive the right message at the right time.
  • Customer Lifecycle Management.
  • The reporting functionality is not as robust as it could be.
Gainsight is well suited for a CSM team looking to identify trends across their customer base in terms of adoption, concerns, and risks. Ultimately it becomes a scalability lever.
Read Meredith Blanchar's full review
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Great!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed to get a better understanding of churn in our organization, but also to get a better understanding of our customer base. Gainsight allows us to track customer satisfaction and create scorecards that help us work better with our customers. We can be more proactive than reactive to customer issues and concerns.
  • Calls to Action - When certain conditions are met that we have created, Gainsight will alert the proper personnel to take the next steps.
  • Single pane of glass - Gainsight allows us to see everything about a customer in a single view, utilizing various graphs and easy to understand information.
  • Communication - Gainsight allows us to reach out to all or specific segments of our customer base. We can send informational, marketing or surveys and track customer response over time.
  • Gainsight does not integrate well with all systems.
  • Must have Salesforce to use Gainsight.
  • Better documentation on integration or assistance.
  • Gainsight can do a better job at ensuring their customers are utilizing the product to the best of their ability.
Gainsight gives you the big picture of your customers. You can track pretty much anything about them as well as include all of your applications and how the customer is being affected by them or using them.

In the hosting industry, Gainsight can track customer outages and monitors (with custom integration).
Read Joshua Tobiansky's full review
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Gain more with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight in Customer Success as a tool to help us proactively manage our customers. We have a mix of high touch and low touch, Gainsight helps us manage the mix. Other departments within our org utilize this to quickly check the customer temperature.
  • Gainsight's use of CTAs with daily reminders allow us to trust we are not missing the little things with our customers.
  • Gainsight gives you the ability to create health scores for customers that not only encompass systematic information but subjective customer temperatures as well. Giving you a true way to measure health.
  • Gainsight works well with our internal systems, so we are not adding more steps to our day-to-day routine.
  • I have not run into an area with usage where I think Gainsight is missing, however I am sure there are many more use cases beyond ours.
Gainsight is amazing at helping automate your low/tech touch accounts.
Read Jen Jackson's full review
February 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight: Baby is crawling already at 3 months"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by our customer success organization, formerly professional services, as well as executive leaders of all departments. We currently use Gainsight to consolidate all information regarding our customers and we are working in the Calls to Action so that we have more streamlined plays and timeline.
  • Customer 360 when properly provided with accurate data is a huge window into the account when executives hear something about the account and they can just login to see.
  • Timeline feature is great.
  • We are very excited to use automated CTAs so that our CSMs now can deal with what needs to be done now versus looking for what needs to be done now.
  • Documentation on Support is outdated.
  • It would be good to have more best practices published in vault and community. Too many times we are having to engage our COM when we would like to be self-serve.
Gainsight is a great place to combine all information about the customer. The real advantage comes into play when you use automated CTAs and combining with usage data. If you do not have usage data, you can still use it but you should push your organization to get this ASAP.
Read Jason Knape's full review
January 26, 2018

Gainsight Review: "More power than we were ready for"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success team uses Gainsight to track customer health and their day-to-day activities with customers. We have built playbooks in the tool to address specific needs, specifically around risk mitigation. We are just starting to share more visibility into our Gainsight data with the Sales Field as well. In summary, Gainsight allows us to track and manage customer health, address churn risks, and increase visibility internally to the health of our customers.
  • Flexibility in constructing Customer Health Scores: from data sources, to rule-building and score weighting, etc.
  • Providing structure for the Customer Success team to track day-to-day activities: both system-prompted based on data, and manually-created.
  • Simple high-level reporting for management and executives.
  • Robust community of users sharing best practices, ideas and collectively solving problems.
  • We need to better capture what individual stakeholders at a company care about so we can manage to that. Gainsight doesn't currently provide a way to track specific goals for individual contacts, but all goals/objectives are at the company level.
  • Gainsight doesn't provide an easy way to share dashboards/reports with executives and leadership via email.
  • The implementation was a little rocky. The Success Express workshop wasn't structured in a way to allow us to get maximum benefit, and our Project Manager throughout implementation often struggled to find solutions and ideas for us.
Gainsight is well suited if you have a strong admin who can manage the instance and get it set up. It's great for teams with traditional Customer Success and Account Management functions, and where supporting data on customers is relatively complete and clean.

Gainsight is not well suited for cases where customer data is lacking or particularly dirty, or for very small teams without administrative support.
The Gainsight community page is among the best I've encountered. Users are vey active on the site. I post there often looking for ideas or recommending functionality in the product. I get lots of ideas from other users, and from Gainsight employees, and my feature requests always get a response from Gainsight. The Pulse conference is world-class. I attended in 2016 and got tremendous value from the sessions, and from networking with others in the Customer Success community.
Read this authenticated review
January 22, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Enterprise customer success manager"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization and solves countless business problems such as additional insight into customer's environment and experience with the use of the dashboard and the features we can choose to have implemented. It is a huge source of knowledge and consistently keeps us organized.
  • Timeline feature
  • Scorecard feature
  • Dashboard
  • The ability to CC Gainsight on emails
Best suited for all teams regardless of the frequency of customer interactions. Perfect for ensuring the entire team has a view into individual contributions.
Read this authenticated review
December 28, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight-- Important Investment!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by our Customer Success team on a daily basis. It helps simplify workflows, managing day-to-day tasks and activities, as well as addressing one of our top priorities-- renewals.
  • Manage risks very seamlessly
  • Demonstrate value to our end users in terms of ROI through dynamic data
  • Manage expansion opportunities
  • Rules engine has some limitations in terms of bionic rules
  • Being more diverse in the way Scorecards are determined/ created-- i.e. through MDA
From an internal perspective, Gainsight is very useful for training and onboarding. Accounts are transferred from one CSM to another without anything being slipped through the cracks. For example, through the Timeline activity, all records of calls, emails, updates, etc. are notated within the account demonstrating visibility/ health of the account very clearly to the new CSM.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight — Makes My OCD SO Happy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the customer success arm of our sales team exclusively.

It solves account tracking, account related to-dos, and helps us be uber organized about client success functions and follow up.
  • Action Items — Makes it really clear which accounts have to-do's, let's you set due dates on these, allows organization to push standard CTAs associated with account on-boarding, check-ins, etc.
  • Note taking! I am obsessed with Timeline. Allows me to log account updates, important email exchanges, call notes and other general account good-to knows and also create tasks based on each.
  • There may be something in our team's instance of GS that auto prompts 'Closed as Incomplete' at the main CTA level when you close too many playbook tasks and then the main CTA at the same time. Again, this may be settings.
  • As much as I love Timeline, the formatting can sometimes be very off. Especially if you're copying and pasting content into Timeline.
  • It would be great to be able to co-create Timeline entries. Myself and my CSM partner will often times take notes on the same call, so its duplication.
  • Would be great to be able to @mention someone in Timeline.
Really great for CSM teams. Keeps you uber organized and all of your account related data (basically) in one place. Makes it very easy to scale one internal process.
Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2017

Review: "Gainsight - Great for Operationalizing Customer Lifecycle"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently used by our Customer Success team(s) and our Customer Marketing team. Gainsight allows us to operationalize our customer lifecycle by enabling us to define key touchpoints and assign tasks to CSMs as well as segment and automation lifecycle communication.
  • Integration with Salesforce to allow our teams to follow-up based on activity and renewal history and easily update Salesforce records
  • Reports that give a quick glance at renewal pipelines and account performance
  • Segment customer email campaigns based on account activity and history
  • Co-pilot (email) reporting
  • Email builder and template creation
  • Email assist feature (playbook creation)
Gainsight is well-suited for large teams that work based on a lifecycle or renewal model and have clean/accurate CRM data.

Gainsight is not well-suited for teams that have irregular check-in schedules with their customers, or do not have clean and accurate data which to built the Gainsight environment around.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2017

User Review: "My learning curve with Gainsight"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the Customer Success Management team.
It helps us to scale in a way processes are robust. We are utilizing same methodology to manage all accounts, get us aware of customers at risk, get the work of the CSM day to day much more organized, provide the manager the needed visibility of customer tied to a team/ region/ other specific metrics.
  • Views of accounts that it makes it easy to track - for example - manage accounts to be renewed this quarter/ accounts to be renewed next quarter/ New customers that are on boarding etc.
  • Account 360 - detailed area where I can view all information required per account.
  • Timeline - capability that you can utilize to log in quickly any type of activity done with the customer - so you can track history.
  • Views are not always adjusting to screens - makes it super not user friendly to use it.
  • When view is even smaller than the screen, you get the view on 2/3 of the screen rather than adjusting for full screen.
  • You are not being able to add comments to a specific account, when you are on one of the views.
  • You must go into the account 360 and add your comments.
  • Very time consuming.
  • Too many clicks when you deal with CTA - makes it unusable.
Well suited where all your CSMs need to follow same flows and there is not a lot of diversity on the day to day operation from one CSM to another.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2017

Gainsight Review: "Great for managing a large book of business!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is primarily used by the Customer Success team, however other teams are increasingly utilizing the platform--and the information that we collect is used throughout the organization. We leverage Gainsight as our central dashboard (within Salesforce) to track and manage our customers--including our interactions, their use of our product, feature requests, relationship notes, and more. This level of detail is helpful both for executive visibility, as well as information that others can refer to in getting up to speed on a new account or understanding trends across our account-base.
  • Provides turnkey analytics on customer usage of our products.
  • Alerts when usage has dropped
  • Manages NPS surveys and responses
  • Timeline for tracking activities & cockpit for task management
  • Sponsor tracking doesn't work properly
  • Somewhat manual (requires a lot of inputs directly from users--and setup on backend)
  • Date range on usage reports (can only change greater than or less than)--and need to update when you pivot to a new report
Gainsight is great for tracking call/interaction notes (would be great if you could edit a call to an interaction w/o having to delete).

It's helpful in preparing for business reviews or checkpoints with customers; proving out the value of our relationship & showing the progression of account health.

The Gainsight Sally Slack integration is good for execs but not many other uses
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2017

Review: "Gainsight helpful for both Services and Sales organization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used to track and manage our customers. Our Partner Services organization uses Gainsight to see both product adoption and health measures for our customers. From a Sales perspective we use Gainsight to snapshot important data and metrics on a daily basis which we could not do with Salesforce alone.
  • Capture important historical data daily with MDA tables
  • Create reports and dashboards quickly
  • Great user interface
  • Additional options for visualizing data in reports
  • More documentation on building and updating MDA tables
  • More chart types for dashboards
Gainsight is great for tracking data historically for our sales team, both as a team and by individual rep. It's very easy and intuitive to segment data by region or team and the data is very easy to export for manipulation in excel. Individually for sales people (with a company of our size) it does not make sense for the reps to be using Gainsight on a daily basis, but it's easy for them to sync with our partner success team to look at any necessary info.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight is worth its weight in gold"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We launched Gainsight in our Client Success department and due to the success that we had, it has spread like wildfire across the organization. We then rolled it out to our Account Management, Implementation, Support and Sales teams, as well as at the ELT level. It helps us to proactively manage our accounts.
  • Beautiful interface -- really take the mundane, heavy-scrolling of Salesforce and puts it into an easy to use and read interface.
  • Customization of reports and dashboards -- makes it easy to look at reports every morning.
  • CTAs -- helps our team members proactively manage their time.
  • Not much, Gainsight really thinks about every facet of their program, releasing new items each quarter to help their users.
Well-suited for account management and client success teams, especially items that can be assisted with co-pilot or automated emails. Really helps to keep team members in line to provide a similar experience to each customer. We love the sponsor tracker as it helps us bring a new level to the business/client relationship.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2017

Review: "Keep your fingers on the pulse of your customers with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Gainsight operationalizes the customer experience consistently across the Ceridian North American customer base. Customer success resources proactively engage customers based on calls to action from Gainsight. It also captures the “pulse” of the customer to objectively reflect a customer status assessment based on a large variety of factors. This information allows Ceridian to take the right action to deeply engage customers and correct situations that need special attention. Unlike reactionary support solutions, Gainsight is used proactively to keep customers successful before they go “off track”.

Gainsight is a critical component to the company technology stack that drives the activities of the award-winning Ceridian XOXO Customer Success program activities. It draws from Salesforce and many other systems to distil critical information for the users and management about the Ceridian Customer base. It also feeds other solutions with the real-time customer sentiment to they can be engaged accordingly.

  • Gainsight provides a large team with a consistent playbook of tasks that result in a consistent operationalized customer experience. IF an organization is seeking the same high quality experience for customers from Toronto to Tempe they will appreciate the calls to action that present tasks for their team members and the dashboards that allow the team management to have insight into the programs success.
  • Along with a phenomenal product, the Gainsight team members are great business partners for success. From the regular meetings to share best practices to the partnering to integrate their solution with others, they are great business partners.
  • Gainsight delivers on its product road map. If you have an opportunity, watch a Karl Rumelhart product road map presentation to see the direction of Customer Success!
  • Gainsight is a slight victim of its own success and the annual Pulse conference has become so popular that for the last couple years many sessions were standing room only if you could even get into the session. this conference is being relocated for 2018 so I hope this resolves the overly crowded conference.

Gainsight is the keystone solution for a customer centric SaaS organization looking to proactively operationalize the engagement of a team of Customer Success Managers, Sellers, Support people and other customer facing resources. Insights into recurring revenue should be objectively based on objective customer data. Gainsight provides the insight along with the suggested tasks that will secure greater revenue retention.


Read Carlos Gonzalez's full review
October 31, 2017

User Review: "Gainsight or Bust"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being utilized across multiple functions of our business: Client Success, Support, Implementation & Migrations, Account Management, Finance, and Operations Leadership. Our initial decisions to purchase were based on improving retention of our client base, but it has quickly expanded to many other use cases. It provides standardized work flows for Client Success Managers, reporting and dashboards for leadership, a vehicle for client success qualified leads and qualified advocacy, NPS and CSAT delivery and tracking, automated lead generation for account management based off product use and account details, a more thorough client health model, and so much more. We had many of the above listed areas in place already, but Gainsight really helped to enhance and improve our results and efficiencies.
  • Standardized CSM workflows is very key. It puts process and science to a role that has historically acted more like an art form. Every can now have the same reaction process for key activities with our clients.
  • NPS and CSAT. We historically ran this through other tools, but we have been blown away by the increase in response rates by utilizing Gainsight, along with our abilities to automate reactions to those scores provided by clients. I can't say enough good things about this part of the tool.
  • Client Health Scoring: we refer to our Gainsight version as Client Health 2.0 internally. We had a pretty basic model that stretched across all reached of our business, but that's just it...it was basic. Gainsight allowed us to easily tie together data that was nearly impossible with just SFDC without significant development efforts on our end. We also went the route of pulling all data from our applications to start watching the trending behind the scenes for other leading indicators. Our teams now have watch on a couple hundred variables that we previously had no insight into with relation to churn. It requires the most effort and planning for a business to implement, but the rewards are 100% worth it. We doubled the effectiveness of our predictive model, and we rely on this data across everything from client care, to sales, to finance, to renewals, to marketing, and so on.
  • The only areas I would like to see adjusted would be around dashboards and reporting. I considered myself an expert in building reports and dashboards in SFDC, and I now rely on our Gainsight administrator for everything in Gainsight. Perhaps consider some basic options for individual users to more easily create their own.
Well Suited Areas: client success teams, account management teams, basic customer marketing, lead generation based off of very specific behaviors/data points

Less Appropriate areas: full-on marketing/lead generation. I have found that it's a great supplement to our marketing efforts, but would not recommend someone to use it for everything is you are supporting a large customer base
Read Candace Wallace's full review
October 27, 2017

User Review: "The powerful tool that is Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight primarily in Customer Success, although this has begun to branch into opportunities in Tech Support, Field Services, and Education Services. Our primary business problems Gainsight addresses are as follows:
  • Process automation
  • Email automation
  • Mass communications to current customers
  • Deliverable organization & reporting
  • Mass email automation. We have been able to better scale our business , while still engaging with customers, through the use of Gainsight.
  • Process automation. I have been able to stay on top of our data and and efficiency goals via the use of Gainsight. We have also been able to add and improve some of our offerings via the capabilities of Gainsight.
  • Documentation. They have improved in the volume of documentation recently, but the search-ability and usability is still lacking. I know the features are there, but it is sometimes difficult to understand how to use them.
  • Product Usability. Again, like documentation, the product is immense. I just wish it was more naturally intuitive. I like to compare software to the Apple platform. They are the pinnacle of user-friendly. I think Gainsight could learn a lot about the simple, yet powerful, framework of software like Apple's.
Anyone looking to scale their business to a growing customer base should use Gainsight. It's a needed tool to take the jump from manual to automated, while maintaining (or possibly improving) the value you give to your customers. We have seen immense improvements in our efficiency, proactiveness, and overall customer retention with the use of Gainsight.
Read Ben Michael's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (97)
9.1
API (75)
7.8
Integration with Salesforce.com (125)
9.0
Integration with Marketo (33)
7.7
Integration with Eloqua (13)
7.3
Product usage (121)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (98)
8.4
NPS surveys (102)
8.9
Sponsor tracking (105)
8.8
Customer profiles (123)
8.7
Automated workflow (131)
8.4
Internal collaboration (118)
8.5
Customer health scoring (129)
9.5
Customer segmentation (108)
9.1
Customer health trends (125)
9.0
Engagement analytics (113)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (64)
8.9
Dashboards (130)
8.8

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Based on a per user/per month model.

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android