TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGBecome more proactive with your Customer Success TeamsOur Customer Success and Account Management teams use Gainsight to have a single view of the customer. We have data feeding into Gainsight from Zendesk and Jira, Zuora (financials), project management/implementation systems and our customer platform (usage). Rules are built to create period over period metrics of all of this data and alerts are created via CTAs where needed and many reports to monitor this data. We also utilize surveys and programs to keep in regular contact with our customers.,Great at integrating data sources and creating dashboards and C360 pages to view information Automating customer outreach and customer communication Enables proactive outreach and responses to positive or negative trends in usage, support or financial data.,The ability to create joins between data tables (MDA) could be better, today it requires rules to supplement data There are numerous ways to implement Gainsight objects, takes some learning to know which way will work best,10,10,We've created numerous executive dashboards as well as the Slack integration so that executives don't have to make the "fire drill" calls to get updates on customers before meetings or when they get calls. The information they need is readily available and allows them to have more deeper conversations with clients that they would have had before.,Customer retention and satisfaction have definitely increased, unfortunately due to some other circumstances the numbers don't tell that story. But we see the results in our survey data, 25% improvement year over year in NPS scores. CSM have a much more strategic role with customers now, they've transition from being more Support oriented to being focused on client partnership, working on regular basis to help customer cut cost and improve operational efficiencies using our platform We have a much deeper insight into how our AMs and CSMs are managing their accounts, their activities, CTAs and program reminders or tech touch emails.,Totango and Amity,We received data from: ZendeskJiraZuoraQuickBaseCustomer Platform We are not pushing data to any other system other than Salesforce at this time. We have rules to create metrics from all of this data and our workflows, programs and CTAS are based of positive of negative changes in this data.Wide range of capabilities!We use it for client development and some expansion work. We have an administration team that channels configuration. While this is happening we monitor the lifecycle of a customer as they progress throughout the various buyer stages. Using what we find out about the lifecycle internally, we try to effectively transform that to actionable items. This can be in the form of CTAs, dashboards, whatever.,Bionic Rule Capabilities -- Rules engine is extremely powerful. The way I look at it is as if it's a bonafide ETL tool living inside a workflow management tool. Through rules you can put together powerful queries that really makes your workflow management great. C360 -- Gainsight excels at being able to bring in all sorts of data into one place. Call to actions - Through the rules engine call to actions can be incredibly specific so we can target any point of the customer lifecycle with strategic ctas based off our data.,I think that reporting functionality is getting there. Inline calculations would be a huge improvement. Filtering on Aggregated fields also would be nice. I think being unable to edit programs once they are on is very concerning. Why can't participants be brought in under some sort of logic, then we can edit and tweak as we iterate upon our first program?,9,10,It depends - I wouldn't say we really have broken the surface on executive level dashboarding. This year we did alot of high level management dashboards but that is just the beginning. As of now, I would say the visiblity is extremely important especially in a SaaS environment. Gainsight, as a true sales support tool, can do this very easily for our sales leaders. They are able to slice and dice depending on their business unit/region/territory, whatever it might be. They can track opportunity performance through reports and the integration within salesforce as well as track rep performance.,Efficiency is one of the main marks that we know is a big ROI point for us. Retention is still unknown. - Too Early. Upsell still unknown. - Too Early.,1. We have the main salesforce connection. This is ultimately where all the data gets stemmed through, no matter the source. 2. Financial and billing systems have been connected through salesforce and ultimately into gainsight for consumption 3. Product Usage data comes from our Big Data Lake into our data warehouse and through salesforce as well. - Provides us true usage of tailored metrics that we saw best for the business. How does it impact workflow? Greatly impacts it positively. We can now use it as a basis for our rules, allowing our rules to be hyper specific.Gainsight the tool the creates and help build cross-funtional Customer Success.It is being used across the entire organization from Sales, Success, Renewals, and Project Management. It addresses ability to create a playbook for different life-cycle, risk, or expansion events based on quantitative data.,Derived a customer health score. Helps give visibility into every account in one place. Pushes Proactive Calls to actions to the appropriate people to act one. Pushes tech touch automation based on triggered events for the "long tail" customer segment.,The rule writing is not super intuitive. Would be nice to have it more of a click build that did not require so much technological administration of the tool. Pulling in the basic customer data, and deriving a basic heath score should be more out of the box and simple to do so that customers can get value quicker without having to get services involved.,10,9,Executive leverage Gainsight for quick customer health updates. They also use it to see what the latest is on any account.,We have not started realizing value at this point that is measurable since we are still working on rolling it out and enabling users.,Totango,We have one of our products admin systems pushing usage data directly to Gainsight. Gainsight is also retrieving usage data .csv files into the S3 from another one of our databases. lastly it is integrated with SFDC.Go with the obvious market leader in customer successGainsight is leveraged across our professional services group, our customer success management group, and our sales group - primarily inside sales. The tool is our primary means of aligning those three customer-facing organizations to coherent motion to first and foremost retain customers, then, as a secondary goal, expand in those accounts. Gainsight also serves as a targeting mechanism for our customer marketing group.,More and more prescriptive. They've invested a metric ton in a body of content that you can leverage inside your business to evangelize customer success as a stand-alone domain. Forgiving services model. While structured around an SOW, they're flexible and focused on success. Community. It's rare to see a company their size spend so much time on events, but it's a rewarding investment on their part and your part - you do meet and learn from the people who are good at this, and they do a great job facilitating.,Prescriptive business applications ecosystem. A point of view here, and content around that, would be a huge win. Prescriptive career tracks. Given customer success is a new domain, a lot of the first generation came out of customer service. The new generation is coming from other places, and forging that ground is hard solo.,10,10,Together, our leadership team - directors, VPs, C-Suite - count is 34 people. Each of them is in Gainsight or receives weekly updates out of Gainsight. Our services group conducts weekly account reviews with the front line folks. Sales receives automated triggers to direct their motion to opportune accounts. This goes into our board reporting.,2-5% uptick in retention $500k in additional ARR directed with GS A data-driven culture,Strikedeck and Totango,In: Each of our product lines. Salesforce. Out: Marketo, WalkMe. This lets us surface threats and opportunities and action them with humans and with email and in-app messaging.Gainsight - Great for automationWe are currently using Gainsight for all levels of our customer journey. Gainsight and the outreaches/advanced outreaches have allowed us to scale via automation. It also allows us to deliver that "just in time" approach to provide resources. We are also using Gainsight for renewal automation as well.,Automated outreaches - allows for being able to scale. Calls to action - allows for the use of automation to monitor data and create actionable items based on the data; scalability. Reporting- allows quick/easy access to reporting on customer health with automated, actionable items.,The backend setup of Gainsight is not that intuitive. Email formatting is difficult Would like to see rules setup in a template to choose from,9,7,With the system we have in place, this is becoming more important. We haven't started with executive dashboards yet, but, that will most likely change in the near future; especially if we move to slack and can leverage Sally.,We have used Gainsight to increase our NPS score via automated customer engagement. This also appears to be driving growth for existing customers for our SMB line. Our NPS has more than doubled over the last 12 months.,,Salesforce. Other data will be loaded via S3. Just about all of our workflows are based on data pulled from Salesforce.,30,3,Automation Customer Health Reporting,Automating renewals for Enterprise and SMB accounts Automating renewals of critical 3rd party products that our product relies on.,Automated QBR's,9,No,Don't know,5,Online training Self-taught,6,Not that easy. Time consuming.,7,Yes,Yes,No,5,,7
Unspecified
Gainsight
310 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

Gainsight
310 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 310 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 170)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Shawn Hilditch profile photo
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Become more proactive with your Customer Success Teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success and Account Management teams use Gainsight to have a single view of the customer. We have data feeding into Gainsight from Zendesk and Jira, Zuora (financials), project management/implementation systems and our customer platform (usage). Rules are built to create period over period metrics of all of this data and alerts are created via CTAs where needed and many reports to monitor this data. We also utilize surveys and programs to keep in regular contact with our customers.
  • Great at integrating data sources and creating dashboards and C360 pages to view information
  • Automating customer outreach and customer communication
  • Enables proactive outreach and responses to positive or negative trends in usage, support or financial data.
  • The ability to create joins between data tables (MDA) could be better, today it requires rules to supplement data
  • There are numerous ways to implement Gainsight objects, takes some learning to know which way will work best
  • If you're managing relationships with between 25 and thousands of customers, Gainsight offers the tools to have insight into those customers and ensure you're given them the attention they need.
  • However if your SFDC or CRM system and other data sources are poorly managed, Gainsight won't fix those issues, they need to be sorted out before starting the GS implementation.
Read Shawn Hilditch's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Wide range of capabilities!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for client development and some expansion work. We have an administration team that channels configuration. While this is happening we monitor the lifecycle of a customer as they progress throughout the various buyer stages. Using what we find out about the lifecycle internally, we try to effectively transform that to actionable items. This can be in the form of CTAs, dashboards, whatever.
  • Bionic Rule Capabilities -- Rules engine is extremely powerful. The way I look at it is as if it's a bonafide ETL tool living inside a workflow management tool. Through rules you can put together powerful queries that really makes your workflow management great.
  • C360 -- Gainsight excels at being able to bring in all sorts of data into one place.
  • Call to actions - Through the rules engine call to actions can be incredibly specific so we can target any point of the customer lifecycle with strategic ctas based off our data.
  • I think that reporting functionality is getting there. Inline calculations would be a huge improvement. Filtering on Aggregated fields also would be nice.
  • I think being unable to edit programs once they are on is very concerning. Why can't participants be brought in under some sort of logic, then we can edit and tweak as we iterate upon our first program?
Workflow Management - Perfect. If you want to use your data strategically then this is a big plus for you.
Health Scores - Great health scores and health score update capabilities. We personally worked with the Gainsight data science team and they did a great job at getting our predictive scores helped out.
Support - Excellent support, they are so responsive and will make sure the problem you have is solved/answered.

Con: Reports - Reporting is good, don't get that wrong. But, if you're looking for a robust Tableau-esque platform then this doesn't quite live to that mark. But that makes sense, Gainsight is sort of the jack of all trades tool in my opinion.

Reports Management - Really difficult to manage reports. Need more filters on the report management section.
Read this authenticated review
Garin Landry profile photo
December 07, 2018

Review: "Gainsight the tool the creates and help build cross-funtional Customer Success."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire organization from Sales, Success, Renewals, and Project Management. It addresses ability to create a playbook for different life-cycle, risk, or expansion events based on quantitative data.
  • Derived a customer health score. Helps give visibility into every account in one place.
  • Pushes Proactive Calls to actions to the appropriate people to act one.
  • Pushes tech touch automation based on triggered events for the "long tail" customer segment.
  • The rule writing is not super intuitive. Would be nice to have it more of a click build that did not require so much technological administration of the tool.
  • Pulling in the basic customer data, and deriving a basic heath score should be more out of the box and simple to do so that customers can get value quicker without having to get services involved.
Great tool, great people, great partners, and great road map.
Read Garin Landry's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Go with the obvious market leader in customer success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is leveraged across our professional services group, our customer success management group, and our sales group - primarily inside sales. The tool is our primary means of aligning those three customer-facing organizations to coherent motion to first and foremost retain customers, then, as a secondary goal, expand in those accounts. Gainsight also serves as a targeting mechanism for our customer marketing group.
  • More and more prescriptive. They've invested a metric ton in a body of content that you can leverage inside your business to evangelize customer success as a stand-alone domain.
  • Forgiving services model. While structured around an SOW, they're flexible and focused on success.
  • Community. It's rare to see a company their size spend so much time on events, but it's a rewarding investment on their part and your part - you do meet and learn from the people who are good at this, and they do a great job facilitating.
  • Prescriptive business applications ecosystem. A point of view here, and content around that, would be a huge win.
  • Prescriptive career tracks. Given customer success is a new domain, a lot of the first generation came out of customer service. The new generation is coming from other places, and forging that ground is hard solo.
When you have a lot of unstructured customer-facing motion conducted by humans a workflow engine like Gainsight makes a lot of sense and is best of breed. If you're looking for automated stack of tech touch, Gainsight plays a role but there's other tools that can fit that stack.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight - Great for automation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Gainsight for all levels of our customer journey. Gainsight and the outreaches/advanced outreaches have allowed us to scale via automation. It also allows us to deliver that "just in time" approach to provide resources. We are also using Gainsight for renewal automation as well.
  • Automated outreaches - allows for being able to scale.
  • Calls to action - allows for the use of automation to monitor data and create actionable items based on the data; scalability.
  • Reporting- allows quick/easy access to reporting on customer health with automated, actionable items.
  • The backend setup of Gainsight is not that intuitive.
  • Email formatting is difficult
  • Would like to see rules setup in a template to choose from
Gainsight is great for being able to automate the onboarding experience for low/tech touch customers; creating actionable items along the way. Being able to monitor the overall health of an account to help curb churn is also nice.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 05, 2018

Review: "Benefits and Opportunities for Improvement with Gainsight for an On-prem Multi-product Company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the customer success managers in the organization to provide them with a 360 view of their customers and to help them streamline the CS processes (i.e. customer onboarding) and document key customer interactions, success plans, risks and opportunities for account growth.
  • One location for all CS work
  • Flexible reporting and easy to configure dashboards
  • Native integration with SFDC
  • Ginsight is a great product but needs more help to cope with the complexity of an on-prem multi-product enterprise company.
  • Would be great to be able to access Gainsight independently from Salesforce
  • The functionality to share dashboards to non-GS users is a great idea and would be really good to see more development in upcoming releases in terms of ways to share the dashboards and making the usage smoother, especially for bigger data sets
If you are a mid-sized SaaS company, Gainsight is one of the greatest investments you can make. For large on-prem multi-product businesses, Gainsight also makes a difference, although complexity and scale can be a challenge (as for any other tool I suppose).
Read this authenticated review
John Applebaugh profile photo
December 01, 2018

Review: "Gainsight made our lives easier and happier"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Gainsight within Customer Success. We use it to automate some account processes such as renewals and contact management. We use the Rules Engine to generate Calls to Action for CSMs as well as make modifications to account records. We also use Gainsight to send mass communications and our NPS survey.
  • Gainsight makes reporting from various data sources very easy and intuitive. It is easy to generate reports on-the-fly and add visualization before publishing to a Dashboard. It is also easy to re-arrange data to make it faster to create reports or generate contact lists to use for outreaches.
  • The Rules Engine is a powerful tool for generating Calls to Action as well as being able to update fields on account records.
  • The Program function in Journey Orchestrator allows us to send a variety of email communications especially with multiple message variants and if we need to send follow-up emails automatically or create a Call to Action for the CSM.
  • The shareable functions of Gainsight - Share 360, Success Plans - are really great features for being able to provide additional value to customers and provide them insights into their account and usage.
  • Timeline is so much more robust than creating activities or tasks just within CRM. Timeline provides a way to track meetings and other events, add multiple participants, and even create follow-up tasks (CTAs).
  • The Support from Gainsight as well as the Community has been very important to helping us get the result we want quickly.
  • It would be helpful to have more integration with email and calendar applications so that email could be sent from within Gainsight from any email within Email Assist (CTAs), or CSM calendars could sync to the Timeline function on the C360 view.
  • Reporting is a great feature but it could be more aligned with how we can build datasets within Rules Engine or Program queries (bionic), allowing us to combine data from different sources without having to create a new data table to query.
  • Folders, folders, folders - we build a lot of email templates, outreaches, and rules, and there is currently no way to organize these so it just becomes a giant list that has be queried to find the one item you want to work with.
Gainsight is great if there are multiple data sources that aren't easily viewed in a combined way or if users do not have access to all these data sources. Gainsight provides a way to get this information into one area that is easy to view by anyone that is involved with the account. It also allows for data back to other systems like Salesforce which is important for contributors that may not be in Customer Success. Gainsight is helpful for automation as well as building scenarios with a specific goal in mind - all of which helps with scaling across segments.

In other areas, Gainsight can be harder for users to adopt if they are used to different workflows like working from support cases or direct email. It also doesn't have much machine learning that would increase the ability to automate workflows. If your product isn't true SaaS you can't make as much use of some of the areas of Gainsight that work well with usage data. Gainsight is also good for workflows that produce an output - an email, a survey, etc. - but not as good with taking inputs from customers.
Read John Applebaugh's full review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

User Review: "First 6 months with Gainsight"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Gainsight globally within our Customer Success Management and Account Management functions. It is designed to address all classic CSM requirements, fundamentally to operationalize and standardise our methodology to support growth.
  • Very deep integration possibilities with SFDC allow highly sophisticated business logic and rules to be constructed.
  • Pulling together of lots of disparate sources of information into a unified view is a substantial time saver and allows clearer 'big picture' context.
  • Creation of dashboards that present lots of reports in a single view allows for quick analysis.
  • The Program feature is complex to manage and counter intuitive in certain areas. A simple revision requires the whole program to be cloned and a new version created.
  • Greater customisation around the report presentation would be useful, such as the colours used - sometimes it is hard to see.
  • Better slicing and dicing around NPS (by region, team, etc) as far as NPS score is concerned. Out of the box you just get a global value.
Gainsight requires quite a lot of investment in the admin side and requires someone who is good with software - it needs a power user to make the most of the feature set, you certainly can't set it up and leave it if you expect to get the most out of it.

If however you have a complex data structure and want to produce bespoke and challenging business rules, then with the appropriate investment in resources you can achieve most things.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a really useful customer management tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is the primary tool of our customer success organisation. We sync it with various systems to pull important data points into one place. Our leadership team has a snapshot of what's going on with a given customer at any moment, through having access to features such as the health score and timeline.
  • Integration with Salesforce.
  • Mass communications made and tracked with ease.
  • Flexible Health Scores!
  • Timeline is great, but quite silo'd.
  • Would love to see a widget that allowed timeline/notes to be taken outside of the platform. Gainsight Sally for Slack is useful but it's a tool many sign-out of in a meeting environment.
Great for keeping a record of health of a customer over-time, and perfect for handing an account from one CSM to another for a business, less loss of information.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the CSM team within the customer success department. It allows us to track health, expirations, metrics, and activities against a client, segment, country or region.
  • The timeline feature allows you to create a diary within a customer's profile and you can easily distinguish what each entry is e.g call, meeting. You can also say if that call was positive or negative, how long it took and who was on the call internally and externally.
  • Gainsight connects back to SFDC and all activities are logged so there's no need for anyone to have access to Gainsight if they're not going to proactively be using it.
  • The cockpit allows you to segment your to do list for today, tomorrow, next week, month or year!
  • Needs an App
  • Needs more reporting features
Best suited to companies with a subscription based business model
Read this authenticated review
Jo-Anne Mann profile photo
November 30, 2018

Gainsight Review: "New user and happily getting acquainted with the system and its value"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Gainsight so we could have a central repository for our client accounts. It gives us good metrics to report and allows us to manage accounts, upsells, renewals referrals and more. It is used day to day operationally and for senior management reporting and action.
  • Ability to create strategic dashboards
  • Centralisation for accounts and a link with Salesforce
  • Reporting ability
  • Sometimes it appears a bit clunky - not sure if it is the volume of information or it's our system at fault
Gainsight is well suited to organisation that have limited users and cannot afford enterprise CRM programs
Once you get into this program you may find that the number of users that require licenses increases and you need to make sure you have thought this through in the beginning.
Read Jo-Anne Mann's full review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used as our internal CRM for keeping up with customers, tracking their escalations, making sure that the status of their 'temp' is readily apparent to other users of Gainsight like our salespeople and other customer success managers.
  • Allows us to the ability to track any and all escalations a customer might have
  • Helps us keep an accurate temperature of customer status, by simply looking at the acct we can gauge if the customer is referenceable or not
  • Helps track NPS score for our clients
  • Wish we had the ability without having to push a refresh button to update directly into SF
  • Activity History
Gainsight is well suited for any company that wants to:

  • keep track of the status of customers
  • track tickets/types/sources
Read this authenticated review
Ben Michael profile photo
November 30, 2018

User Review: "The powerful tool that is Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight primarily in Customer Success, although this has begun to branch into opportunities in Tech Support, Field Services, and Education Services. Our primary business problems Gainsight addresses are as follows:
  • Process automation
  • Email automation
  • Mass communications to current customers
  • Deliverable organization & reporting
  • Mass email automation. We have been able to better scale our business , while still engaging with customers, through the use of Gainsight.
  • Process automation. I have been able to stay on top of our data and and efficiency goals via the use of Gainsight. We have also been able to add and improve some of our offerings via the capabilities of Gainsight.
  • Documentation. They have improved in the volume of documentation recently, but the search-ability and usability is still lacking. I know the features are there, but it is sometimes difficult to understand how to use them.
  • Product Usability. Again, like documentation, the product is immense. I just wish it was more naturally intuitive. I like to compare software to the Apple platform. They are the pinnacle of user-friendly. I think Gainsight could learn a lot about the simple, yet powerful, framework of software like Apple's.
Anyone looking to scale their business to a growing customer base should use Gainsight. It's a needed tool to take the jump from manual to automated, while maintaining (or possibly improving) the value you give to your customers. We have seen immense improvements in our efficiency, proactiveness, and overall customer retention with the use of Gainsight.
Read Ben Michael's full review
Carlos Gonzalez profile photo
November 29, 2018

Review: "Keep your fingers on the pulse of your customers with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Gainsight operationalizes the customer experience consistently across the Ceridian North American customer base. Customer success resources proactively engage customers based on calls to action from Gainsight. It also captures the “pulse” of the customer to objectively reflect a customer status assessment based on a large variety of factors. This information allows Ceridian to take the right action to deeply engage customers and correct situations that need special attention. Unlike reactionary support solutions, Gainsight is used proactively to keep customers successful before they go “off track”.

Gainsight is a critical component to the company technology stack that drives the activities of the award-winning Ceridian XOXO Customer Success program activities. It draws from Salesforce and many other systems to distill critical information for the users and management about the Ceridian Customer base. It also feeds other solutions with the real-time customer sentiment so they can be engaged accordingly.

Without the scalable operationalization of the CX NPS will suffer. Gainsight allows team members to deliver a consistent great CX!



  • Gainsight provides a large team with a consistent playbook of tasks that result in a consistent operationalized customer experience. IF an organization is seeking the same high quality experience for customers from Toronto to Tempe they will appreciate the calls to action that present tasks for their team members and the dashboards that allow the team management to have insight into the programs success.
  • Along with a phenomenal product, the Gainsight team members are great business partners for success. From the regular meetings to share best practices to the partnering to integrate their solution with others, they are great business partners.
  • Gainsight delivers on its product road map. If you have an opportunity, watch a Karl Rumelhart product road map presentation to see the direction of Customer Success!
  • I'd recommend new Gainsight users keep initial configurations simple to allow focus and faster ROI. Many users, my own instance included can grow quickly to try to accomplish too much. Controlled quality growth, and product configuration scope, would be a good mantra to keep in mind.

Gainsight is the keystone solution for a customer-centric SaaS organization looking to proactively operationalize the engagement of a team of Customer Success Managers, Sellers, Support people, and other customer-facing resources. Insights into recurring revenue should be objectively based on objective customer data. Gainsight provides the insight along with the suggested tasks that will secure greater revenue retention.


Read Carlos Gonzalez's full review
Eve Belanger profile photo
November 27, 2018

Review: "Gainsight Takes the Guessing out of Customer Success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used today primarily by the customer success team. We also have users that sit in leadership and some key stakeholders within the sales organization. For CS, we use Gainsight to give us proactive insights and suggested tasks to serve our account base. We also rely on it heavily to provide each customer with a health score using data from our application, Pendo, Nudge and our BI. We have weighed out the data coming into Gainsight from these applications to provide us with a holistic view of active relationships within the account (to avoid being single threaded), adoption and value realization. These data points inform our overall health score, which I can confirm give us an accurate view into which accounts are at risk and also helps us identify opportunities. The CS360 is invaluable to our team. This is where we will go to prep for a customer call, capture meeting notes/risk/opportunities in the Timeline. Our usage of Gainsight has helped make us a very high functioning team.
  • Health Score 2.0 - being able to bring in data points from different technologies to gauge health of a customer and of our customer base
  • CS360 - A consolidated view into all important areas of an account - from contract details to health to usage stats
  • Timeline - Finally one place to capture notes pertaining to an account/customer.
  • Maintaining integrations, it can be tricky to pinpoint where an issue may lay (within the data coming in, within Gainsight, etc)
  • It would be great to have warnings - like say if a SFDC admin changes a field that we bring into Gainsight that could potentially break something - it would be nice to have a warning email notification
Gainsight is well suited for anyone teams which have a large customer base. This is the only way to keep track of touch-points being due, renewal dates or any risk with the account (Cockpit/CTAs are great for this).
Read Eve Belanger's full review
No photo available
November 27, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - Consolidated Customer Insights"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Gainsight in our Customer Experience department, but we are working on expanding our usage across the organization. We use Gainsight to monitor our customer health and product usage, to work through projects with customers such as implementation, and to keep a record of all interactions we have with customers.
  • Gainsight does an excellent job of listening to product feedback given through their Community, implementing those changes when they determine they are a need for many customers, and then informing users that the changes have been implemented.
  • Gainsight is an excellent tool for automating lifecycle communications with customers while still maintaining a personalized touch, thereby allowing us to scale our operations.
  • Gainsight has a good lineup of integration options to allow us to bring all of our customer data into one place to have a unified customer record.
  • Gainsight could do a better job of allowing for one-off exceptions. It does a great job of helping to address the needs of the majority of our customers, but when one customer's needs create a special use case, it is rather difficult to make adjustments for that one customer.
  • Editing programs created through the Journey Orchestrator is very difficult. Sometimes we need to make a small change to the criteria of a program after we have already started running it, but we can't do this without ending the program, cloning it, and starting an entirely new program.
Gainsight works really well for lifecycle-based communications that are intended to feel personalized and look like they are a one-to-one communication even when they are not. We have found Gainsight to be less appropriate when sending mass marketing communications that need A/B testing, HTML programming, heatmap click tracking, and so on.
Read this authenticated review
James Whitehead profile photo
November 27, 2018

Review: "(Almost) One Year as the Gainsight Administrator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being integrated across our organization as the hub for all client facing actions and communications. Our goal with Gainsight is to increase client retention.
  • Customization of tools. It's an extremely powerful tool to implement your client success operations strategy and increase retention.
  • Client support is very fast to respond to inquires.
  • The Gainsight Vault and Community are both instrumental in learning the platform and enhancing your strategy.
  • Gainsight has a very steep learning curve.
  • The unique terminology of Gainsight can be a bit opaque as to what a particular piece of data represents.
Gainsight is very powerful with closing the loop on NPS in a cohesive, unified way so every client receives the same experience. Rolling out mutually agreed upon strategy at scale gives CSMs the ability to address concerns and change client sentiment seamlessly.

Gainsight is also very powerful at unifying client experience.
Read James Whitehead's full review
Jeff Saunders profile photo
November 27, 2018

User Review: "My insights start with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by our organization to help measure customer engagement, proactively mitigate risk within our subscriber base, track renewals, and much more. It's leveraged by our customer success organization for the most part, and our customer 360 data is shared with our sales team.

The data that Gainsight provides us with is bubbled up to our VP of Customer Experience and the data is also shared with our executive team. We take customer success very seriously here and most of the data displayed within Gainsight is shared at all levels of our organization.
  • Creates and manages CTAs for all your CSMs to plan their day/execute on your customer success engagement strategy.
  • Provides you with usage/engagement reporting on all of your customers.
  • Establishing segments within your customer base.
  • Helps power your customer lifecycle stages
  • Integrates well with usage data from external systems like RedShift, etc
  • Tough to pivot if something changes within the application
  • Not easy to implement if you aren't well versed in SFDC administration
Gainsight is well suited for a more mature customer success/customer experience org looking to take their strategy to the next level. The software integrates seamlessly with SFDC and if your business is tracked using their CRM adding Gainsight is a no-brainer. Gainsight helps map out your customer life cycle and really provides predictive strategies for you to stay ahead of your evolving business.
Read Jeff Saunders's full review
No photo available
November 06, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is the future of customer success"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used at our organization as a customer success tool to trigger knowledge-based actions in order to ensure customer retention and product adoption.
  • Triggering actions based on knowledge and information gathered from the account.
  • Showcasing a 360-degree view of the customer account.
  • Giving you the capability of aligning multiple sub-customers under the same customer by the relationship View.
  • Since Gainsight works on top of Salesforce lightning can be a bit latent in Speed and Performance.
  • There is no way to get alerts for individual accounts you only can set up a feed which gives you alerts for all the accounts.
  • Frequent timeout errors.
Managing multiple relationships with customer as well as the customer success life cycle.
Read this authenticated review
Joshua Tobiansky profile photo
October 17, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed to get a better understanding of churn in our organization, but also to get a better understanding of our customer base. Gainsight allows us to track customer satisfaction and create scorecards that help us work better with our customers. We can be more proactive than reactive to customer issues and concerns.
  • Calls to Action - When certain conditions are met that we have created, Gainsight will alert the proper personnel to take the next steps.
  • Single pane of glass - Gainsight allows us to see everything about a customer in a single view, utilizing various graphs and easy to understand information.
  • Communication - Gainsight allows us to reach out to all or specific segments of our customer base. We can send informational, marketing or surveys and track customer response over time.
  • Gainsight does not integrate well with all systems.
  • Must have Salesforce to use Gainsight.
  • Better documentation on integration or assistance.
  • Gainsight can do a better job at ensuring their customers are utilizing the product to the best of their ability.
Gainsight gives you the big picture of your customers. You can track pretty much anything about them as well as include all of your applications and how the customer is being affected by them or using them.

In the hosting industry, Gainsight can track customer outages and monitors (with custom integration).
Read Joshua Tobiansky's full review
Jen Jackson profile photo
September 17, 2018

User Review: "Gain more with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight in Customer Success as a tool to help us proactively manage our customers. We have a mix of high touch and low touch, Gainsight helps us manage the mix. Other departments within our org utilize this to quickly check the customer temperature.
  • Gainsight's use of CTAs with daily reminders allow us to trust we are not missing the little things with our customers.
  • Gainsight gives you the ability to create health scores for customers that not only encompass systematic information but subjective customer temperatures as well. Giving you a true way to measure health.
  • Gainsight works well with our internal systems, so we are not adding more steps to our day-to-day routine.
  • I have not run into an area with usage where I think Gainsight is missing, however I am sure there are many more use cases beyond ours.
Gainsight is amazing at helping automate your low/tech touch accounts.
Read Jen Jackson's full review
Mark Peterson profile photo
September 04, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is by far the BEST CSM solution out there!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Gainsight is being used only by the Customer Success department. The problem we had prior to having Gainsight is that we had way too many customers to discover all of their issues and make them better users of our platform. After we implemented Gainsight, we were able to locate specific gaps in customer performance that we wanted the CSM team to address, and we created CTA's to make it easier for a CSM to structure their day without having to research/find issues. We are also able to better track the last time we were in contact with our customers, so that we can ensure that each customer we have is being cared for.
  • Easy to use UI. This makes it easy to onboard new CSM's to start using the tools and get them up to speed on their administrative processes
  • Having a holistic view of the customer makes conversations much easier by outlining everything we need to know about the customer in one view. This alone eliminates a large amount of time for our CSM's by not having to load multiple objects in SFDC
  • Rules engine/bionic rules. The possibilities are endless when you start diving into the power of bionic rules. Objects that were once unrelated can now have some sort of relation, and you can formulate extremely valuable data that used to take hours to pull into Excel.
  • Admin tab has lots of tabs and sub categories in each tab. If you don't spend a whole lot of time in a certain category then it can take a while to find the info you're looking to update/change
  • CTA updates. In our instance we use CTA's very heavily and we would like the ability to create rules that automatically update the status of a rule. Currently you can create rules to close a CTA but you cannot create a rule to change an open status to a different open status.
Gainsight is extremely user friendly and is constantly updating to add more and more value. When it comes to any subscription-based models, putting your faith in an industry leader that is pushing the boundaries of what we thought was impossible or extremely hard makes Gainsight an easy decision. It is extremely important to put a large investment into ensuring your customers stay with you and succeed using your tool/platform, because this ensures that you are maximizing your revenue and reducing churn.
Read Mark Peterson's full review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a powerful tool to dive in to the details on a customer and get a high-level view of your customer base"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently primarily being used by our Customer Success department, but other people can view some of the output via Salesforce. It helps us manage our customer relationships and updates.
  • I enjoy using the Timeline feature to keep track of each customer I work with to ensure their success.
  • I like having the CTA's readily accessible in a global view for all customers so I can gauge where I am on certain open tasks.
  • The ties into Salesforce are very useful so that others in our company can stay updated on customer health.
  • Shifting from Timeline to Detailed view could be better for viewing of notes and product/customer details.
  • Reporting and Dashboards could be more visibly appealing and have more easily accessible information. I hear there was a new release this week, so some of this might be addressed.
  • Multi-product views could be improved, and losing score card information when customers purchase multiple products is really tough to go through!
It's well suited for SaaS environments and harder for on-premise solutions, which is how we use it at the company I work for. It's great for notes and history keeping. It's also good for sharing of scorecards/overviews with others outside of the CSM team, but not always easy to do so.
Read this authenticated review
Jen Molitor profile photo
September 04, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A great tool with amazing people"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently leverage Gainsight within our customer success management teams. We are working with other internal teams and have leveraged specific functionality to help streamline their current processes, so indirectly they are benefiting from the tool as well. Gainsight has helped the CSM teams consistently track customer engagements and helps them prioritize their accounts.
  • Timeline - This is the BEST feature of Gainsight! There are multiple ways to allow your reps to track their engagements, all in a searchable fashion. This has been the ticket to increasing CSM adoption of the tool.
  • The people - Everyone I've engaged with at Gainsight has been outstanding! Everyone from sales to implementation to product to customer success has all been amazing!
  • Scorecard - Having a clear and consistent way to manage our customers' health has been beneficial throughout all levels of the organization.
  • Call to Actions - Setting up thresholds for when customers are at risk, and knowing why, has helped drive meaningful conversation with our customers.
  • The load times for many of the screens can be frustrating to end users. It's pulling real time reports so that is why the load times can be long, however CSMs get impatient quickly.
  • The survey tool is a bit clunky, although it's improved drastically over time.
Gainsight is an awesome tool for organizations looking to help prioritize engagements with customers based on their behavioral trend. If you are looking to drive a consistent customer experience and give your team the power of knowledge into the customer, it's a very powerful and user friendly tool. For our tiers that are more of a 1:many approach, Gainsight is less helpful as it is more of a transactional relationship.
Read Jen Molitor's full review
No photo available
September 03, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Amazing!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight solely in our Customer Success department currently. We use Gainsight to help in monitoring account activity as well as mitigating portfolio risk.
  • Excellent at sending automated emails and generated semi-templated emails with auto-generated content.
  • Great at generating account health scores based off data from multiple sources (CRM, product, 3rd parties, etc.)
  • Great at logging activities via the timeline feature for an account.
  • Graphing/Data Visualization functionality is very limited.
Gainsight works really well for us in assisting to manage our self-service portfolio, where there isn't a specific CSM assigned to an account. It helps in managing communications to these accounts as well as monitoring and bubbling up potential pockets of risk.

Additionally Gainsight is very helpful in our managed portfolio in helping to automate some administrative tasks, while still allowing reporting on the cadence of customer engagements and updates.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (120)
8.9
API (90)
7.7
Integration with Salesforce.com (157)
9.3
Integration with Marketo (41)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (15)
7.6
Product usage (149)
8.6
Help desk / support tickets (122)
8.2
NPS surveys (129)
9.0
Sponsor tracking (125)
8.2
Customer profiles (149)
8.9
Automated workflow (161)
8.2
Internal collaboration (147)
8.8
Customer health scoring (161)
9.5
Customer segmentation (136)
9.3
Customer health trends (153)
9.2
Engagement analytics (135)
8.9
Revenue forecasting (82)
8.9
Dashboards (160)
9.1

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Based on a per user/per month model.

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android