TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGGainsight is Great!We needed to get a better understanding of churn in our organization, but also to get a better understanding of our customer base. Gainsight allows us to track customer satisfaction and create scorecards that help us work better with our customers. We can be more proactive than reactive to customer issues and concerns.,Calls to Action - When certain conditions are met that we have created, Gainsight will alert the proper personnel to take the next steps. Single pane of glass - Gainsight allows us to see everything about a customer in a single view, utilizing various graphs and easy to understand information. Communication - Gainsight allows us to reach out to all or specific segments of our customer base. We can send informational, marketing or surveys and track customer response over time.,Gainsight does not integrate well with all systems. Must have Salesforce to use Gainsight. Better documentation on integration or assistance. Gainsight can do a better job at ensuring their customers are utilizing the product to the best of their ability.,10,8,Visibility is extremely important as we need to be able to check the pulse of the customer at any given time. Gainsight allows us to create scorecards for customers so we can prioritize which customers may need some extra love. We can also review account management and how they are working with their customers to ensure renewals and outreach are being addressed.,We use Gainsight to improve retention by scoring our customers and prioritizing which ones we need to reach out to. Gainsight allows us to directly contact specific segments of our customer base so we can send different communications to the different tier levels we have. Gainsight allows us to see which customers are coming up for renewal and who we need to reach out to, to start the renewal process.,TotangoGain more with GainsightWe use Gainsight in Customer Success as a tool to help us proactively manage our customers. We have a mix of high touch and low touch, Gainsight helps us manage the mix. Other departments within our org utilize this to quickly check the customer temperature.,Gainsight's use of CTAs with daily reminders allow us to trust we are not missing the little things with our customers. Gainsight gives you the ability to create health scores for customers that not only encompass systematic information but subjective customer temperatures as well. Giving you a true way to measure health. Gainsight works well with our internal systems, so we are not adding more steps to our day-to-day routine.,I have not run into an area with usage where I think Gainsight is missing, however I am sure there are many more use cases beyond ours.,10,10,Customer Focus is our number one initiative. Each week at our Executive meetings our Gainsight dashboards are shown, our ELT is incredibly involved and supportive in making sure our customers are taken care of. Gainsight helps us provide real time customer temps to our leadership.,We have seen an immediate impact on our success team's efficiency, our ability to automate has helped our teams focus on time with the customers.,Totango,Gainsight is integrated into our CRM Salesforce, we utilize this information to feed dashboards for our executives, for finance and for our internal leader boards.,15,1,Renewal Management Usage awareness, Up Sell/Cross Sell Identification Exec Scorecard,The reporting has been a benefit to Finance,Renewal Forecasting Customer Marketing,10,Salesforce Lightning, Atlassian Confluence, Slack,No,Price Product Features Product Usability,We were pretty thorough with our process, I can't say I would change anything in that evaluation.,Don't know,Self inflicted process gaps,10,No,We were in the middle of a Salesforce migration and had some confusion around access and settings, Support resolved our issue and got us back on track right away. This was incredibly important as we had deadlines that would impact the overall success of the migration project. Thankfully with the amazing support, we were not progress impacting.,The Timeline Entries are very smartly designed and gather intelligent data points.,N/A,10Gainsight is by far the BEST CSM solution out there!Currently Gainsight is being used only by the Customer Success department. The problem we had prior to having Gainsight is that we had way too many customers to discover all of their issues and make them better users of our platform. After we implemented Gainsight, we were able to locate specific gaps in customer performance that we wanted the CSM team to address, and we created CTA's to make it easier for a CSM to structure their day without having to research/find issues. We are also able to better track the last time we were in contact with our customers, so that we can ensure that each customer we have is being cared for.,Easy to use UI. This makes it easy to onboard new CSM's to start using the tools and get them up to speed on their administrative processes Having a holistic view of the customer makes conversations much easier by outlining everything we need to know about the customer in one view. This alone eliminates a large amount of time for our CSM's by not having to load multiple objects in SFDC Rules engine/bionic rules. The possibilities are endless when you start diving into the power of bionic rules. Objects that were once unrelated can now have some sort of relation, and you can formulate extremely valuable data that used to take hours to pull into Excel.,Admin tab has lots of tabs and sub categories in each tab. If you don't spend a whole lot of time in a certain category then it can take a while to find the info you're looking to update/change CTA updates. In our instance we use CTA's very heavily and we would like the ability to create rules that automatically update the status of a rule. Currently you can create rules to close a CTA but you cannot create a rule to change an open status to a different open status.,10,10,Reporting at my company is typically held within the operations and the VP levels. We are owned by a Private Equity and the Executive team doesn't have access into Gainsight but we do share our insights and current issues within the customer base. We use certain reports to display trends but that's as far as the executive team gets visibility.,We've been able to reduce churn by over 10% by finding key issues for our CSM team address using Gainsight CSM's are able to address more accounts now because they no longer have to dig to discover customer issues.,Strikedeck,Currently we only have Mixpanel connected to Gainsight. This has enabled us to capture data from how our customers are using our product and capture insights within SFDC/Gainsight to help empower the CSM team to better assist the customer. Mixpanel used to be used exclusively by our product team but now we have greater visibility.Gainsight is a powerful tool to dive in to the details on a customer and get a high-level view of your customer baseGainsight is currently primarily being used by our Customer Success department, but other people can view some of the output via Salesforce. It helps us manage our customer relationships and updates.,I enjoy using the Timeline feature to keep track of each customer I work with to ensure their success. I like having the CTA's readily accessible in a global view for all customers so I can gauge where I am on certain open tasks. The ties into Salesforce are very useful so that others in our company can stay updated on customer health.,Shifting from Timeline to Detailed view could be better for viewing of notes and product/customer details. Reporting and Dashboards could be more visibly appealing and have more easily accessible information. I hear there was a new release this week, so some of this might be addressed. Multi-product views could be improved, and losing score card information when customers purchase multiple products is really tough to go through!,9,7,It's extremely important. We are a very customer-36focused organization. We have started sharing 360 pages with them via an Executive program and our VP shares metrics from Gainsight with them, so accuracy is important.,Visibility across products, references, etc.,Totango,Salesforce, TenroxA great tool with amazing peopleWe currently leverage Gainsight within our customer success management teams. We are working with other internal teams and have leveraged specific functionality to help streamline their current processes, so indirectly they are benefiting from the tool as well. Gainsight has helped the CSM teams consistently track customer engagements and helps them prioritize their accounts.,Timeline - This is the BEST feature of Gainsight! There are multiple ways to allow your reps to track their engagements, all in a searchable fashion. This has been the ticket to increasing CSM adoption of the tool. The people - Everyone I've engaged with at Gainsight has been outstanding! Everyone from sales to implementation to product to customer success has all been amazing! Scorecard - Having a clear and consistent way to manage our customers' health has been beneficial throughout all levels of the organization. Call to Actions - Setting up thresholds for when customers are at risk, and knowing why, has helped drive meaningful conversation with our customers.,The load times for many of the screens can be frustrating to end users. It's pulling real time reports so that is why the load times can be long, however CSMs get impatient quickly. The survey tool is a bit clunky, although it's improved drastically over time.,10,10,This is an area we currently aren't leveraging Gainsight for, at least not well. Visibility into customer accounts is clearly critical for execs, but we have other SFDC reporting and dashboards set up that are leveraged today. We are in the process of creating an exec specific dashboard to track top accounts but are struggling to get them distributed. There is a strong legacy of SFDC reporting which makes execs using Gainsight for reporting challenging, as they don't use it for anything else - at least today. There is definitely a value prop. to have execs use Gainsight, but we're working through rep adoption first to have a more accurate system.,11 to 25 people,Task management - allows streamlined process to track and prioritize workload Identifies at risk customers based on fact, not just 'gut' feel,,Today we simply pull information from SFDC. We also are beginning to use Tableau in the C360 to display data to our CSMs via the C360, but we aren't leveraging any other data sources.,No,No
Unspecified
Gainsight
282 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

Gainsight
282 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 282 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 155)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
October 17, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed to get a better understanding of churn in our organization, but also to get a better understanding of our customer base. Gainsight allows us to track customer satisfaction and create scorecards that help us work better with our customers. We can be more proactive than reactive to customer issues and concerns.
  • Calls to Action - When certain conditions are met that we have created, Gainsight will alert the proper personnel to take the next steps.
  • Single pane of glass - Gainsight allows us to see everything about a customer in a single view, utilizing various graphs and easy to understand information.
  • Communication - Gainsight allows us to reach out to all or specific segments of our customer base. We can send informational, marketing or surveys and track customer response over time.
  • Gainsight does not integrate well with all systems.
  • Must have Salesforce to use Gainsight.
  • Better documentation on integration or assistance.
  • Gainsight can do a better job at ensuring their customers are utilizing the product to the best of their ability.
Gainsight gives you the big picture of your customers. You can track pretty much anything about them as well as include all of your applications and how the customer is being affected by them or using them.

In the hosting industry, Gainsight can track customer outages and monitors (with custom integration).
Read Joshua Tobiansky's full review
September 17, 2018

User Review: "Gain more with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight in Customer Success as a tool to help us proactively manage our customers. We have a mix of high touch and low touch, Gainsight helps us manage the mix. Other departments within our org utilize this to quickly check the customer temperature.
  • Gainsight's use of CTAs with daily reminders allow us to trust we are not missing the little things with our customers.
  • Gainsight gives you the ability to create health scores for customers that not only encompass systematic information but subjective customer temperatures as well. Giving you a true way to measure health.
  • Gainsight works well with our internal systems, so we are not adding more steps to our day-to-day routine.
  • I have not run into an area with usage where I think Gainsight is missing, however I am sure there are many more use cases beyond ours.
Gainsight is amazing at helping automate your low/tech touch accounts.
Read Jen Jackson's full review
September 04, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is by far the BEST CSM solution out there!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Gainsight is being used only by the Customer Success department. The problem we had prior to having Gainsight is that we had way too many customers to discover all of their issues and make them better users of our platform. After we implemented Gainsight, we were able to locate specific gaps in customer performance that we wanted the CSM team to address, and we created CTA's to make it easier for a CSM to structure their day without having to research/find issues. We are also able to better track the last time we were in contact with our customers, so that we can ensure that each customer we have is being cared for.
  • Easy to use UI. This makes it easy to onboard new CSM's to start using the tools and get them up to speed on their administrative processes
  • Having a holistic view of the customer makes conversations much easier by outlining everything we need to know about the customer in one view. This alone eliminates a large amount of time for our CSM's by not having to load multiple objects in SFDC
  • Rules engine/bionic rules. The possibilities are endless when you start diving into the power of bionic rules. Objects that were once unrelated can now have some sort of relation, and you can formulate extremely valuable data that used to take hours to pull into Excel.
  • Admin tab has lots of tabs and sub categories in each tab. If you don't spend a whole lot of time in a certain category then it can take a while to find the info you're looking to update/change
  • CTA updates. In our instance we use CTA's very heavily and we would like the ability to create rules that automatically update the status of a rule. Currently you can create rules to close a CTA but you cannot create a rule to change an open status to a different open status.
Gainsight is extremely user friendly and is constantly updating to add more and more value. When it comes to any subscription-based models, putting your faith in an industry leader that is pushing the boundaries of what we thought was impossible or extremely hard makes Gainsight an easy decision. It is extremely important to put a large investment into ensuring your customers stay with you and succeed using your tool/platform, because this ensures that you are maximizing your revenue and reducing churn.
Read Mark Peterson's full review
September 04, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a powerful tool to dive in to the details on a customer and get a high-level view of your customer base"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently primarily being used by our Customer Success department, but other people can view some of the output via Salesforce. It helps us manage our customer relationships and updates.
  • I enjoy using the Timeline feature to keep track of each customer I work with to ensure their success.
  • I like having the CTA's readily accessible in a global view for all customers so I can gauge where I am on certain open tasks.
  • The ties into Salesforce are very useful so that others in our company can stay updated on customer health.
  • Shifting from Timeline to Detailed view could be better for viewing of notes and product/customer details.
  • Reporting and Dashboards could be more visibly appealing and have more easily accessible information. I hear there was a new release this week, so some of this might be addressed.
  • Multi-product views could be improved, and losing score card information when customers purchase multiple products is really tough to go through!
It's well suited for SaaS environments and harder for on-premise solutions, which is how we use it at the company I work for. It's great for notes and history keeping. It's also good for sharing of scorecards/overviews with others outside of the CSM team, but not always easy to do so.
Read this authenticated review
September 04, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A great tool with amazing people"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently leverage Gainsight within our customer success management teams. We are working with other internal teams and have leveraged specific functionality to help streamline their current processes, so indirectly they are benefiting from the tool as well. Gainsight has helped the CSM teams consistently track customer engagements and helps them prioritize their accounts.
  • Timeline - This is the BEST feature of Gainsight! There are multiple ways to allow your reps to track their engagements, all in a searchable fashion. This has been the ticket to increasing CSM adoption of the tool.
  • The people - Everyone I've engaged with at Gainsight has been outstanding! Everyone from sales to implementation to product to customer success has all been amazing!
  • Scorecard - Having a clear and consistent way to manage our customers' health has been beneficial throughout all levels of the organization.
  • Call to Actions - Setting up thresholds for when customers are at risk, and knowing why, has helped drive meaningful conversation with our customers.
  • The load times for many of the screens can be frustrating to end users. It's pulling real time reports so that is why the load times can be long, however CSMs get impatient quickly.
  • The survey tool is a bit clunky, although it's improved drastically over time.
Gainsight is an awesome tool for organizations looking to help prioritize engagements with customers based on their behavioral trend. If you are looking to drive a consistent customer experience and give your team the power of knowledge into the customer, it's a very powerful and user friendly tool. For our tiers that are more of a 1:many approach, Gainsight is less helpful as it is more of a transactional relationship.
Read Jen Molitor's full review
September 03, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Amazing!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight solely in our Customer Success department currently. We use Gainsight to help in monitoring account activity as well as mitigating portfolio risk.
  • Excellent at sending automated emails and generated semi-templated emails with auto-generated content.
  • Great at generating account health scores based off data from multiple sources (CRM, product, 3rd parties, etc.)
  • Great at logging activities via the timeline feature for an account.
  • Graphing/Data Visualization functionality is very limited.
Gainsight works really well for us in assisting to manage our self-service portfolio, where there isn't a specific CSM assigned to an account. It helps in managing communications to these accounts as well as monitoring and bubbling up potential pockets of risk.

Additionally Gainsight is very helpful in our managed portfolio in helping to automate some administrative tasks, while still allowing reporting on the cadence of customer engagements and updates.
Read this authenticated review
August 31, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A New Users Point of View"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently being used by 75 employees within a single Department of our Company. Its purpose is to create a single point of record for the users. Making their day to day tasks easier by only needing to visit one software/website - rather than several.
  • Reporting/Dashboards. At first, depending on how your Data is loaded, it can be a little overwhelming when first in the Report Builder. But once you understand where your data is coming from - ensuring you are pulling the proper fields...It's amazing and VERY simple to use!
  • Gainsight Community. As an ADMIN of the software - I find that their Community is one of the bests around! Having the ability to post a comment and get feedback from people all over is amazing! Another perk of the community is also reading how others are using the software. Reading how some people were handling certain issues and how they resolved it with the software has helped us update some of our configurations.
  • Support. Their actual support is also amazing! Friendly, courtesy - and they treat your problem as their problem!
  • Their User Interface is one of the best that I've seen. Making it easy for a user to navigate to various sections of the software - it's a real treat compared to some of our former CRMs.
  • Have a full-time ADMIN. Gainsight is very back ending heavy during the initial setup and configuration of the software - especially if you're converting. But once you get it going - it's awesome!
The main reason I would recommend it is because of the support they provided. No matter the question, simple configuration to advanced - they have someone that will assist you through the whole process. They are amazing!
Read this authenticated review
August 31, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used across a few departments: Professional Services, Support, Success Management and Product Management. Our product [team] uses the application to conduct NPS, our Professional Services team documents and tracks the progress of onboarding and the Success Management uses it to manage the day to date activities to nurture and support the customer. Gainsight was purchased to allow us to scale with our 1-many customers' segmentation and to organize the day to day activities required to support a customer.
  • NPS and other surveys - the automation is fantastic.
  • Reporting! The report is really easy to use. I can whip up a report in a minute from scratch
  • Makes it easier to go to a central location to see all relevant information relating to a customer.
  • Email notification on actions or CTA could use some work. Notifying the person responsibile of the day's activities.
  • The ability to push email notifications into the application for visibility would be ideal. Today we can push it to Salesforce but those activities are tracked differently than calls and other check-ins.
if you are looking to automate a 1-many approach, Gainsight is very good! I would recommend having a CS Ops person to support it.
Generally a good fit for an enterprise organization.
Read Star Hofer's full review
August 31, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - thought leader in Customer Success Software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to understand our customer's health score. It is also incredibly useful for reporting, and to get a 360 view on our customers. Lastly, it provides us with automated, actionable insights that we can act on.
  • Thought leader in the market
  • Very active in the Customer Success Community
  • European office and presence
  • Adapt to Europe (different languages, currencies, etc.)
An incredibly powerful tool that gives a 360 overview of a customer across multiple data points.
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is worthy of your attention!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently being used to support the Customer Success team for our ACA Management Solution. The platform is currently being evaluated for use in other areas of the organization.
  • Allows you to segment your customers and develop adoption plans for each.
  • Develop scorecards specific to how you manage your business allowing you to have a pulse on the overall health of your customers.
  • Access to dashboards to day to day use in evaluating results as well as a detailed report writer to extract data for more complicated reporting needs.
  • Gross and Net churn statistics are not part of any standard reporting elements
  • The system does not provide a standard process for incorporating annual contract escalators into the Asset value so the annual spend for a client remains the same from year to year unless manually modified. We were able to create a custom workaround.
I think it would be well suited for a SaaS-based software business.
Read Mark James's full review
August 30, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A key part of the success of our Customer Success team (and more)!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used to give us an easy to access 360 degrees view of all things customer related - from commercials, to support, to operations and more. It is used primarily by our customer success team but then to help facilitate projects and campaigns for other teams (who might not have direct access). Have this single view of the customer is a very powerful proposition that allows us from an exec level to an individual contributor (and customer success manager) level to understand quickly where a customer is in their journey, lifecycle and product usage.
  • Integration (automatic or more manual - e.g. using CSV files) with other data sets (e.g. for support and product usage).
  • Configurable customer dashboards - showing key stats and data relevant to that customer.
  • Industry best practice information and insights.
  • Flexible solution that can be tailored to our specific product and team requirements.
  • Local (geographically) support services.
  • More regional support and services - think beyond just the USA.
  • Tailored professional services packages - e.g. self contained for small and large deliverables.
  • More automated out of the box integrations.
  • Well suited to customer success team and organisations that need to quickly scale up.
  • Less suited to smaller teams and operations (and lower cost).
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a great way to improve the daily lives of your CSMs!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the Customer Success team within my organization. We leverage our customer data to manage at-risk customers and grow the lifetime value of our healthy customers. Our Customer Success Managers can be proactive instead of reactive to their books of business. The reporting capabilities provide insight into our customers and we can design them specifically for our CSMs, Management and Executives.
  • Customer Health scoring is used to evaluate the health of our customers and drives proactive efficiencies for our CSMs
  • Tech Touch assists in automating outreaches.
  • Dashboards provide valuable reports to our team.
  • Gainsight Support needs to improve their documentation from an Admin perspective.
  • Gainsight to SFDC linking needs to be enabled for MDA data, not just SFDC objects.
  • Success SnapShot needs to have more fonts, formatting options for PPT.
If you are looking to utilize your customer data to better understand your customers then it is for you.
Read this authenticated review
August 23, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by many groups in our company to view data on each of our customers, but its powerful functionality is used by our Customer Success team. This where there processes live and how they track each interaction with the customer. Its a great way to see a summary of the customer. I believe its a great tool to enable customer success in any organization.
  • Customer Support -- they are always very fast and efficient when I put in tickets.
  • User Experience
  • Functionality and ability to customize to your company
  • More admin training opportunities
I think Gainsight is a great tool to enable companies to truly see a holistic view of the customer. It can easily be customized to your needs and have so much functionality that can help with your overall business processes.
Read this authenticated review
August 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - A great way to see ALL of your clients"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight as a way to manage our customer accounts. The entire customer success department uses the software. Gainsight allows us to track a client's progression. We are able to create a timeline of all interactions with each client. As such, we are able to easily determine the health and engagement of each one of our clients.
  • Timeline -- allows accounts managers to record events. You can detail date, time, who was involved, how long it lasted, and an open notes section. You can also log clients missing/skipping interactions
  • Calls to Action (CTAs) -- can set up one-time or recurring CTAs across the entire organization. Helps to prioritize actions and work collaboratively across teams.
  • Recording Scores -- the ability to record customer health scores. Allows for a quick summary view of health that can be expanded on in the notes/timeline
  • CTAs are are used rather broadly, would like a specific recurring accounts update section
  • Would love an integration with Google calendar to automatically log my calls
  • Requires a high degree of training to know the ins and outs. A more robust knowledge base with training videos would be awesome!
Well suited for a large, international organization, allows for total team collaboration. Since our organization spans different time zones, having one place to update accounts makes it easy to determine the health of each customer

Would not recommend for a smaller, centralized organization where the entire company can collaborate physically in the same office. It would be useful, but the cost may not outweigh the benefits.
Read this authenticated review
August 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight gives great snapshots and overviews, but suffers in detailed reporting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight in the Customer Success organization. I am the one that loads the majority of data into Gainsight from outside sources to allow our Customer Success organization to know how our clients are doing. It allows them to know if they need to take action on a client because they are not using the product, or if they have other risks.
  • Calls to action - create calls to action based on changes in user data.
  • Email - emails can be automated based on rules in Gainsight to allow us to communicate based on user actions.
  • Analysis - looking at data is easier with the report builder and dashboards. No need to export data to analyze it.
  • Reporting is not as robust as it is in Excel - it is difficult to provide high-quality output for users.
  • Calculation - only certain calculations can be done with the imported data. We cannot generate the same reports we do weekly/monthly based on what is done in Excel because we cannot normalize data.
Gainsight is great for viewing data in simplified forms. It allows very good snapshots of data. However, the reporting and visualization of that is not as robust as it should be. We end up needing to export data to Excel and Tableau to do a full and robust analysis that we would like to be able to give anyone that has access to Gainsight.
Read Nanette Hartley's full review
August 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight Sets Client Success Up for Success!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Bazaarvoice, our Client Success department uses Gainsight to track client conversations, milestones, and health. It helps our Client Success Directors work at scale with automated outreach and CTAs to ensure clients receive the correct service level. Gainsight also makes transitioning clients from one CSD to another smooth and simple, as we can review past conversations and high impact moments easily.
  • Gainsight helps managers monitor their employees' client interactions.
  • Gainsight enables our Client Success Directors to manage larger portfolios without letting clients slip through the cracks.
  • Tracking client health through Gainsight allows us to identify and address risk to mitigate churn.
  • The currency conversions found on the Customer 360 page that pulls in from SFDC have some inaccuracies.
  • Gainsight can't push data back to SFDC, so if you make an update in Gainsight, it will not be reflected in SFDC (with the exception of activities)
  • The Programs and Outreaches are not as easily controllable by the end-user (CSD) as they could be.
It is great for tracking and monitoring client health and engagement. It could be more useful for sales reps, so that everyone who speaks to the client could work within one tool.
Read Anna Whitehouse's full review
August 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight enables CS teams to become more efficient!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is strictly used by our Customer Success team. It enables our CS team to ensure they can properly manage all of their customers on a daily basis, from health scores, CTA's, renewals, etc. Each member of our team uses Gainsight on a daily basis. The main use cases for our team are:
1) Reporting & dashboards: Each CSM has their own dashboard that contains various information on all of their customers, from health scores, customer life stages, renewal dates, MRR, etc. This allows them to have a wealth of information on hand whenever they need.
2) CTA's, playbooks: this ensures our CSM's can stay up to date on every customer, trigger playbooks & CTA's regarding the customer life cycle and ensure customers are moving towards a successful renewal.
3) Rules Engine: automated rules that trigger a variety of tasks, such as NPS surveys, health score updates/changes, usage data analysis, among other things.
  • Gainsight makes it very easy to set up rules to automate the CS process. Automation is key. It allows us to run rules daily without having to do anything manually.
  • Gainsight's reporting and dashboard make it very easy for CSMs to view their customer info in one spot, in a very efficient manner.
  • Gainsight's health score system is fantastic. It allows us to alter it whenever we feel that we need to and add as many metrics as we'd like.
  • An update to Gainsight's UI would be fantastic. I really like dashboards but they are very dull looking. An update to make reports more colourful would go a long way.
  • I'd like to see continued improvement of Gainsight's advanced outreach feature (automated emails). It worries me when I set an advanced outreach to trigger and then have no idea when it will trigger - sometimes it takes 2 minutes sometimes it takes 45 minutes, this causes a nervous feeling as I just have to wait and see if it deployed properly or not.
Gainsight is a fantastic software for any SaaS company that uses Salesforce. Our team is likely one of the smaller ones that Gainsight works with but we have been able to do so much with the tool despite having a small team (5-7 people). It has really enabled our CSM's to be much more efficient with their day-to-day duties.
Read Josh Daniels's full review
August 22, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Early days"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used purely within the CSM function. It facilitates visibility and accountability of CSM activities to the team and the C suite.
  • Allows automation of key processes.
  • Helps creation of efficient workflows.
  • Implementation time is severely underestimated.
  • Support is not 24/7.
Once set up it is well suited to reporting and planning of CSM activities. We did not have an assigned implementation team, despite recommendations - this was a mistake- it contributed to delays in full implementation and disenchantment with the solution.
Read this authenticated review
August 22, 2018

Review: "Setting my sights on a long future with Gainsight!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently utilizing Gainsight for our Customer Success team and looking to expand into other teams with a long term goal of company wide use. It serves as our main CRM database and is quickly growing into our primary communication tool with our customers (email templates, surveys, etc.). Gainsight helps us keep communication flowing between the CSM and management, and has been an invaluable tool to keep all of our customer notes and details in one place to streamline internal transitions.
  • Pushing 'to do' items out to our CSM team both by rules/filtering customer criteria or by uploading hand-picked lists of customers for special projects. Their Cockpit gives our CSMs a single place to go to see all of the action items for the day, week, etc. They can be grouped by type, due date or priority which allows each of our CSMs to customize their view and work how they work and prioritize best.
  • Dashboards are incredibly easy to build and allow management a visual insight into our customer data. Any data we can create a report on we can add to a dashboard. Global filters have been a HUGE addition, allowing us to quickly filter an entire dashboard by CSM or Team Manager with very little effort.
  • Gainsight's Timeline feature is a key component of our Gainsight usage. It was incredibly easy to roll out to our team initially and adoption has been great. The new Global timeline was a much needed addition which now allows us to see all timeline entries in one place and filter by CSM or account very easily.
  • Customer support is top notch! Their support platform allows us to very easily submit requests, track its status and email communication back and forth with the support team is quick and easy.
  • Workflow from an admin perspective leaves something to be desired. For example, creating a CTA for our CSMs so send to their customers requires access to 3 completely separate admin areas of Gainsight. 1. Journey Orchestrator to create the email template 2. Cockpit to create the playbook and 3. Rules Engine to actually create/send the CTA. This is a fairly simple task and one we do often, but the whole process seems disconnected.
  • Reporting on admin related data could also be a big improvement. The dashboards and tools to report on our customer data is great, but finding information to help me better manage/update our ongoing templates, rules, etc. is difficult.
Great for managing customer communication (emails, phone calls, trainings) and just general 'need to know' notes between internal teams, particularly for those companies with lots of CSM transitions. We just made a pretty major reorganization and having this information in Gainsight helped us tremendously!

The only scenario where I would hesitate to recommend Gainsight is if a company had a very unique/complicated customer or CSM structure. Gainsight is really designed for the bulk of information to live on the account level and our company has a lot of data/different CSMs on a relationship level. It is doable, but makes simple tasks that much more difficult to configure.
Read Katie Baker's full review
August 21, 2018

"Gainsight review - 300+ Client Success Manager group"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight (GS) in our Client Success department, which is primarily responsible for customer service for existing advertising accounts, along with upsells and renewals for those accounts. Gainsight gives us a much more structured approach to portfolio management, along with unique visibility into account attributes and directed activities for our CSMs.

Gainsight has helped us address the following business needs:
  • Stronger onboarding of new accounts
  • Annual plan of action for each account in a portfolio
  • Targeted, action based reasons to call based on customized triggers for our accounts
  • Gain visibility into trends we may not have seen otherwise
  • Structured approach to proactive communication, along with specific milestones we'd like to achieve on each call
  • Support. We have required a lot of customization of the product and GS has always been responsive and helpful. This is true not only for product implementation, but also with technical barriers we've needed addressed over the years
  • The product reinforces a philosophy of putting the customer needs first, along with strengthening our own customer support. This has been very helpful in getting buy-in to our new approach, since every level of our technology mirrors the conversations leadership has with our CSMs about our focus.
  • It is always great to see a company continue to iterate on a product, and GS does a great job of listening to it's customers to help inform the direction of certain changes to the product. Their support pages are great, and the changes nearly always address specific needs we have as an organization
  • Editing records within GS instead of needing to consistently 'bounce' back into SF. The biggest example of this for us is with our 'trackers' we use on Opportunities. The ability to do in-line editing, or editing SF Opportunities right within this view would be such a huge lift for adoption and ease of use.
  • Reporting. There are certain limitations to the ways we can configure reports that don't give us the level of flexibility/visibility we're used to with standard SFDC reporting. I prefer to aesthetics and layouts of the GS reports and dashboards, but limitations force us to still rely on SFDC for a lot of things (inability to report of formula fields in a backend report for example)
  • User interface is starting to feel a little dated. With other software experiences updating and refreshing their UI, GS is running the risk of feeling out of date (example: the new Lightning UI from SF). Would love to see elements updated to allow for a more fluid experience bouncing between Lightning and GS
GS is great for portfolio management, proactive engagement and communication, structuring approaches of sales teams/reps to best practices, and even management and visibility for critical data points (except for the reporting limitations previously mentioned).

GS can be difficult to implement with organizations that have a high average number of accounts per person, as the Cockpit can become unwieldy if CTAs fire for most/all of them monthly. To that end, I'd probably hesitate to recommend GS to organization with large average book sizes. A lot of this can be addressed in implementation, but then you do have to make difficult decisions on what is going to give, in terms of how you'll trim the CTA load per rep.
I also use the support site frequently to catch up on features we may not be using, or are under-utilizing. The company blog, along with videos and webinars, are extremely helpful too. I love being able to read from GS company leaders their perspective on how to use certain tools and processes. I also like that those posts tend to be accompanied by relevant resources and plug-and-play downloads. I have recently joined the CS Slack channel, and have enjoyed that so far.
Read Kevin Heraly's full review
June 07, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is truly helpful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main focus over the last year has been within the Customer Success organization but as other functions have learned about the power of the information collected, we are being asked to provide Gainsight views to more and more people.
  • Great for collecting information from multiple data sources
  • Excels at being able to poll up information throughout an account hierarchy
  • Lets all users know what is going on within an account at any given time
  • No native SFTP integration
  • Might be easier some times to simply code a solution rather than use the UI
  • Needs more integration of scorecard fact tables
Great for showing the entire organization how the customer sees us. One of the few tools focused on an outside-in view as opposed to most of our tools which show an inside-out view. However, there is a learning curve to learning the backend that could have better online training.
Read this authenticated review
April 26, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight - Great for automation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Gainsight for all levels of our customer journey. Gainsight and the outreaches/advanced outreaches have allowed us to scale via automation. It also allows us to deliver that "just in time" approach to provide resources.

We are also using Gainsight for renewal automation as well.
  • Automated outreaches - allows for being able to scale.
  • Calls to action - allows for the use of automation to monitor data and create actionable items based on the data; scalability.
  • The backend setup of Gainsight is not that intuitive. Email formatting is less than ideal.
Gainsight is great for being able to automate the onboarding experience for low/tech touch customers; creating actionable items along the way. Being able to monitor the overall health of an account to help curb churn is also nice.

Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A very powerful tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the entire Customer Success team, daily. It helps in managing the entire customers lifecycle.
  • Excellent Support
  • Very wide feature set
  • Easily integrate with our own data
  • It is based on Salesforce, which is an obstacle if you are not a Salesforce user.
Very well suited to a SaaS company with many customers that you need to automate your activities with.
Read Tal Admon's full review
April 12, 2018

User Review: "Get fired up about Gainsight."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are primarily using Gainsight within the CS org, but have begun to spread it across other departments. One example is with renewals management. We use a Gainsight dashboard to run a renewals meeting between execs, sales, product, and CS.
  • Great reporting and dashboards.
  • Our single source of truth for customer info.
  • Excellent thought leadership.
  • Administration can be complex
  • Gainsight is dependent on your Salesforce data being accurate.
Gainsight is a very powerful tool and in the right hands can transform a CS Org and its company. Just like any powerful tool, it can be daunting to know where to go next. Gainsight have recognized this, and are helping their customers with the new elements framework, which we are very excited about.
Read Jason Metzler's full review
April 12, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our strategic success team uses gainsight to track Executive Business Reviews (EBRs) and success plans. We plan to expand on this throughout the year.
  • One source of truth
  • Proactive reach outs
  • Excellent survey model
  • Email use in all areas
Excellent for proactive reach outs.
Read Joel Peasley's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (109)
9.1
API (83)
7.7
Integration with Salesforce.com (141)
9.1
Integration with Marketo (37)
7.6
Integration with Eloqua (14)
7.4
Product usage (137)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (112)
8.3
NPS surveys (117)
8.9
Sponsor tracking (115)
8.7
Customer profiles (135)
8.7
Automated workflow (146)
8.5
Internal collaboration (134)
8.6
Customer health scoring (146)
9.5
Customer segmentation (125)
9.2
Customer health trends (139)
9.1
Engagement analytics (128)
9.1
Revenue forecasting (73)
8.9
Dashboards (146)
8.9

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Based on a per user/per month model.

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android