Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
379 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 211)

Sarah Yeargin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Team Gainsight!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Seamless integration - I have never had any issues with information showing up after input.
  • Transparency - Clearly shows your progress and where you are at as an individual and team.
  • Sometimes I am not able to fit all of the items into the window I have open but this is just due to having to shrink the page to fit multiple pages.
  • You need to refresh before grabbing CTAs so that you do not take one that has already been claimed. It does not update in real time so if you are viewing something 60 seconds after someone else picked it up, it will still allow you to take it and that causes issues.
Read Sarah Yeargin's full review
Markus Melton | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Good Customer success organization? This is needed for you!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight is a thought leader in customer success and, therefore, has built the functionality of the tool to reflect best practices.
  • Allows leadership/management to roll up the health of their accounts/portfolios and sort by various health factors.
  • More configuration for alerts when CTA's get triggered would be helpful. It could be more in-depth for specific CTA Types/Reason codes etc.
  • The email automation has to be connected to particular playbooks, which limits how much we can use it.
Read Markus Melton's full review
Cason Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

A great tool for scaling your Success organization.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight is a thought leader in customer success and therefore has built the functionality of the tool to reflect best practices.
  • For leadership, Gainsight is a great tool to be able to scale a success organization. For example, we are able to create standardized processes or activities for CSMs, and then we can execute on those things via Gainsight as the system of record.
  • For CSMs, Gainsight helps them manager their day. Things do not slip through the cracks, and the tool proactively helps them manager their account load.
  • Speed of the tool - several CSMs complain it takes too long to move around in the platform. We have an open ticket and are optimistic there is a fix vs. it being an inherent issue in the tool.
Read Cason Green's full review
Meredith Giersch | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Gainsight is the Cadillac of CSM platforms, but still has work to do on its UI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Offers a single place for CSMs to enter all notes and success plans so that everyone across the organization can access that information - key for knowledge capture and transfer
  • Allows leadership / management to roll up the health of their accounts / portfolios and sort by various health factors
  • Timeline becomes a mass chaos especially for high engagement / touch accounts - it lacks the ability to reference various objectives / initiatives. A CSM will regularly talk to a customer on one status call about 4 objectives / initiatives, but we can't ask them to click between 4 objectives / initiatives while in one call.
  • There's a lack of sufficient hierarchy in success plans for what we need to do in the high touch enterprise space.
  • The user experience for Success Criteria is poor - the current functionality limits us from building a "value log" of the benefits a customer is receiving from our software and services.
  • Cockpit is a nightmare - it's a massive list and not intuitive to search / filter / query.
Read Meredith Giersch's full review
Mike Hilverda | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2019

A premier option among CS tools

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The layout is intuitive and easy to customize what data you want to display.
  • Easy to assign different plays as needed.
  • Insights can be gained at a glance by outside users within the organization.
  • Very customizable but it takes a long time to configure things to a useable level for us.
  • The email automation has to be connected to particular playbooks which limits how much we can use it.
  • Movement within the app is a little slower than I would like.
Read Mike Hilverda's full review
Ibrahim Ijaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2019

A Must Have for any Customer Success Organization (and more)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of note-taking/activity updates for customers; being able to assign action items directly within the platform.
  • Surveys with in-box NPS features. Surveys are very easy to create and choose contact lists from, and very straight-forward to configure.
  • Configurability by an administrator to make Gainsight beneficial not just to a CS organization, but for cross-functional players as well.
  • Connectors between Gainsight and s3 can be a little iffy sometimes and cause false ingest failures.
  • More configuration for alerts when CTA's get triggered. It could be more in-depth for specific CTA Types/Reason codes etc.
Read Ibrahim Ijaz's full review
Sacha Laskow | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Use your Brainsight, get Gainsight

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight is massively flexible and can be configured to do almost anything with the Rules Engine and being built on the Salesforce platform.
  • The team at Gainsight is amazing, super helpful and will always make time to help improve and achieve the goals of the implementation.
  • The community, documentation and support are all quite mature and provide a lot of resources to understand a complex system with many features.
  • Along with the flexibility, the complexity of implementing and thus the learning curve is quite high.
  • Some Admin functions could be made more user-friendly with some simple UI tweaks, for example changing 'Subtract N+7 days' to 'In the last week'.
  • Could also use more consistency across the UI, for example sometimes you hit 'Save', other times you just close the window etc.
Read Sacha Laskow's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

End user review of Gainsight

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Charting/graphing/reporting - lots of options to create visualizations.
  • Report Builder function - again, many options to choose from, relatively easy to use and quick to see output.
  • Logical and pleasing UI - easy to follow and find what you're looking for.
  • Playbook creation from template was a bit complicated and not easy to understand - more robust capability and better documentation of the feature would be useful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Gaining true Insights into your Business.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows us to bring information such as, client Health Scores to our cockpit view.
  • Allows us to use our Salesforce information, but in a more efficient way for our teams.
  • It was a difficult transition, with issues that needed to be ironed out.
  • Customizable, but we had to collaborate, rather than having each individual team have their own options.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Gain efficiency with Gainsight

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • C360 page: all the information about a customer is one place that is easy to read and customize as needed. Allows CSMs to prep for calls within minutes as well bring other team members up to speed quickly.
  • Timeline: quick and easy way to create, search and edit notes about the customer. These are easy to share with other teams and create different categories for quick searching and reporting.
  • Sally bot: a quick and easy way to get customer information without navigating Gainsight. Great to use on the go, especially through the Slack bot and new Gainsight app.
  • Reporting is good, but remains confusing and requires an admin to really navigate instead of end users being able to use
  • Sharing: getting other teams access to the C360 page has been difficult without a full license.
  • Journey Orchestrator can handle most emails, but the HTML functionality could be easier to navigate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Gainsight -- We really like you

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Love, love, love the Timeline feature for my Client Success team -- meetings notes, collaboration etc...awesome feature
  • Very detailed support site and online community
  • CTAs have been a lifesaver for our Implementation Specialists that work with large numbers of clients.
  • Success Plans have been instrumental in supporting our higher-tiered clients without creating duplicate work for our Success Managers.
  • Ability to print Success plans is severely lacking.
  • Printing survey results is bulky and not user-friendly.
  • Clearly understanding the Gainsight nomenclature (CTAs, Objectives, Playbooks, etc.) and how they relate to the system's internal structure was difficult for someone not super involved with the back-end of the system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Gainsight an Asset for Scaling CSM Team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gainsight is easy to integrate with other systems and allow flow of important data to and from the system. This allows us to report key metrics to business stakeholders as well as proactively gives our CSM team important information related to their customers that allows them to make strategic business decisions.
  • Customization of Gainsight makes it easy to tailor the information that different people need to see in various forms (Reporting/dashboards etc.). The interface is clean and easy to navigate.
  • It can still be tricky to get certain data into Gainsight that the team needs in order to do their jobs properly in the appropriate format. Requires manual intervention from our Customer Success Ops Manager.
  • While it allows for task managment and information storage on the account level, it would be great if we could have a team-level view where certain activities/metrics could be leveraged from an internal team standpoint.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Finally a product built by company that understands CSMs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • C360 - Account dashboard providing the complete health of a customer
  • CTAs - Call to action triggers on customers relevant to a particular situation during the lifecycle or a risk arising in the client journey.
  • Success Plans - Build a consolidated program based on tasks to make a clients journey successful
  • Configuration of the tool can be tricky and not so obvious.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Good CS Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reporting
  • Automation
  • Customer Insights
  • Reporting across multiple objects in SFDC
  • Ease of automated processes
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2019

Not sure how we managed accounts without Gainsight

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Timeline - love that you can see all of the activities that happen on an account in sequence. This has been extremely helpful as we onboard new folks into new portfolios.
  • CTAs - when dealing with clients there are so many things you need to track or deliver upon. When we were able to get our teams to fully utilize CTAs and Cockpit. It has changed how they manage their accounts for the better.
  • Success Plans - in full transparency we're not using these currently but we're about to start. We plan to use these internally as account plans and then also externally with our clients (joint strategic plans).
  • Onboarding - since we were an early adopter we weren't properly on-boarded because they hadn't built out a process. This is no longer a con because I've heard from other colleagues who have implemented Gainsight somewhere else and they were properly on-boarded.
  • They're growing so fast that people are moving all over the place. We feel like we've had to help train their team on our implementation and our overall needs.
  • More frequent engagement with our account team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Gainsight made my job so much easier.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allowing for customized 'calls to action'
  • Providing a lot of information about clients in one shared online platform
  • Sitting on top of Salesforce so that all of the data can be seamlessly transfered
  • More differentiation between 'calls to action' and timeline entries
  • More options for fields in the subscription info
  • Doesn't provide visibility to Salesforce users so there is a disconnect with the sales team
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Timeline Lifeline

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Effective communication logging through the Timeline feature has drastically changed our visibility into engagement activities and cross-collaboration among teams.
  • Success Plans have helped us have laser focus action plans and tracking for implementation of onboarding needs.
  • Pro-active data-driven CTAs for Customer Success Managers enable the team to get in front of potential risk and help turn things around before it's too late.
  • Reports and dashboards could be made more robust, I often feel stuck with the current layout and design options.
  • Formatting of text in emails or input fields is a bit clunky and often times gets out of whack requiring additional time to correct.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Best product for CS, with room to improve.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quickly deliver mid-level client insights.
  • Generate tasks for users based on client events.
  • More customization on a user-by-user level.
  • Easier tools for building reports.
  • More reliable rules engines means reports are less likely to fail.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Gainsight is Gold

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Admins can create reports easier in Gainsight than they can in SFDC -- the ability to spin up ad-hoc reports is critical, and the ability to do this easily is wonderful.
  • My Customer Outcomes Manager at Gainsight is incredibly reliable, and responds promptly.
  • The features that Gainsight focuses on releasing/creating bring value, and resonate well with CS teams.
  • Though it can do a lot, sometimes the execution of something is extremely technical and requires a lot of steps-- thank goodness for my COM!
  • More help articles would not hurt.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Gainsight & Salesforce go hand and hand!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer source of truth: the C360 view of the customer is unparalleled. It gives our CSMs a true view of everything going on with the account in one place. Getting ready for client meetings is much easier when there's only one place you need to look!
  • Salesforce Integration: if you're using SFDC as your CRM, Gainsight is a no brainer! Our sales organization has a quick view of what's going on with the customer in the widget and on the other end, our CSMs have a view of what's going on in terms of expansions via opportunity records surfaced in the C360.
  • Information Surfacing: Gainsight is great at surfacing the information you need in a JIT fashion via CTAs & linked objects.
  • Zendesk Integration: Zendesk integration is extremely rigid and hard to customize. We have struggled to properly surface our customer support tickets in Gainsight.
  • Release communications: I've been caught off guard by pages totally redone with no warning and no explanation of the new workflows of those pages (particularly in Administration).
Read this authenticated review
✔Robert Riegel | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

Gainsight helps us know when our customers need help before our customers know they need help

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer health score, which basically models how well your customers understand, and drive value, from your product.
  • CTAs, which you can trigger to your CS team in order to help them proactively reach out.
  • MDA, which flattens your objects across Salesforce, Marketo, Mixpanel....etc and let's you create rules (or flows) to trigger different events and field updates.
  • The user interface needs some work, for example, when you're creating a rule, sometimes you hit "next", but sometimes you have to click on the next number in order to progress. It's a bit wonky.
  • Maybe create out of the box reports that can help admins show the value of GS with the exec team.
Read ✔Robert Riegel's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (156)
8.4
API (112)
8.5
Integration with Salesforce.com (193)
8.2
Integration with Marketo (48)
7.3
Integration with Eloqua (19)
7.2
Product usage (186)
8.6
Help desk / support tickets (157)
8.6
NPS surveys (159)
8.6
Sponsor tracking (152)
7.2
Customer profiles (185)
8.7
Automated workflow (199)
8.4
Internal collaboration (186)
8.2
Customer health scoring (199)
9.0
Customer segmentation (169)
8.7
Customer health trends (186)
8.9
Engagement analytics (165)
8.9
Revenue forecasting (105)
8.7
Dashboards (201)
8.8

About Gainsight

Gainsight’s customer-centric technology aims to drive the future of customer success. The company’s Customer Cloud offers a set of solutions focused on customer success, product experience, revenue optimization, customer experience, and customer data, that together are designed to enable businesses to put the customer at the center of everything they do. The vendor states that companies that use Gainsight grow net retention by up to 33 percent. Learn how leading companies like Okta, SAP Concur, and Box use Gainsight at www.gainsight.com.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has feature360 Customer View
Has featureCockpit
Has featureTimeline
Has featureSuccess Plan
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Integrations

HubSpot, Oracle CRM, SAP CRM, NetSuite, Zoho CRM, Pipedrive, Slack, SurveyMonkey, Segment, Mixpanel, Google Analytics, Zendesk, G2, Clarizen, Influitive, Learndot, Dell Boomi, MindTouch, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Infor, Sugar CRM, Tableau, Outlook, Gmail, Azugua, Point of Reference, RO Innovation, Salesforce Pardot, CaliberMind, HelpDocs, Electron

Gainsight Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android