Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Gusto

Gusto

Overview

What is Gusto?

Gusto offers payroll, benefits and compliance capabilities. Gusto is scaled for small to mid-sized businesses, and emphasizes an easy to use interface.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Gusto is Great

9 out of 10
April 06, 2024
Incentivized
We have a small business with one employee, and then at times, employees or contractors in other US states. Gusto was able to onboard …
Continue reading

Gusto User Review

8 out of 10
April 06, 2024
Incentivized
an onboarding tool to get documents setup for new employees. Also, the main payroll platform for checks, there was also a savings tool for …
Continue reading

Gusto Review

8 out of 10
April 06, 2024
Incentivized
we use Gusto as our HR platform - it also includes all our payroll information. It is a consolidated one stop shop for all HR needs and …
Continue reading

Gusto Review 10/10

9 out of 10
March 30, 2024
Incentivized
We use Gusto as our main payroll software for all of our clients as well as our own payroll. Not only is Gusto a reliable source for …
Continue reading

Great for payroll

10 out of 10
March 28, 2024
Incentivized
We are a small business with a relatively small team of 6 people. We use Gusto for everything related to payroll, managing paid time off, …
Continue reading

Terrible with State Taxes

1 out of 10
February 14, 2024
Incentivized
Works well for payroll, but it has been a nightmare with State taxes. I have been trying to resolve the issue since June, and I cannot get …
Continue reading

Gusto is just the best!

10 out of 10
May 05, 2023
Incentivized
We use Gusto to on-board new hires, to pay our staff, and manage integrated benefits. Gusto has a delightful, intuitive and easy-to-use …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 6 features
  • Direct deposit files (158)
    8.3
    83%
  • Pay calculation (155)
    8.2
    82%
  • Salary revision and increment management (134)
    8.0
    80%
  • Benefit plan administration (107)
    7.6
    76%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Simple: A streamlined set of automatic payroll features and benefits integrations

$40/month + $6/mo per person

Cloud
$12 per employee/contractor

Plus: Comprehensive payroll, benefits, and HR tools for employers building a great place to work

$80/month + $12/mo per person

Cloud

Premium: Scalable payroll and benefits, expert HR, and dedicated support for the complex needs of growing teams

Exclusive pricing, contact Gusto

Cloud

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://gusto.com/product/pricing?utm_s…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $46 per month
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Gusto Payroll Demo

YouTube

Gusto Demo: Refreshingly intuitive payroll, benefits, and HR for small business

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.4
Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Gusto?

Gusto is an online people platform that aims to help small businesses take care of their teams. According to the vendor, their products and services help customers onboard, pay, insure, and engage their team in one integrated, easy-to-use platform used by over 300,000 modern employers. Gusto aims to make taking care of teams a joyful experience, while helping users manage their bottom line and stay compliant. Gusto promises that users will feel like a pro no matter how complicated the situation.

Full-service payroll - According to the vendor, Gusto makes running payroll easy. Gusto automatically calculates and files payroll taxes, help keeps companies compliant, and provides awesome support.

Benefits that work for any team and budget - Gusto aims to make offering employee benefits a reality for any small business. Whether an organization is buying health insurance for the first time or wants to integrate an existing plan with payroll, Gust can provide expert guidance. They'll help with add-ons like 401(k), life insurance, and commuter benefits, which the vendor says allows companies to create a competitive package that attracts and retains employees. The vendor promises their modern, intuitive software and team of licensed advisors helps customers navigate benefits with confidence.


Gusto Features

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management

Gusto Screenshots

Screenshot of Flexible, automated payrollScreenshot of Time-off trackingScreenshot of The source of truth for HR data

Gusto Video

Gusto is more than payroll and benefits

Gusto Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesUnited States
Supported LanguagesEnglish, Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

Gusto offers payroll, benefits and compliance capabilities. Gusto is scaled for small to mid-sized businesses, and emphasizes an easy to use interface.

Gusto starts at $46.

Paychex Flex, ADP Streamline Payroll, and QuickBooks Online are common alternatives for Gusto.

Reviewers rate Reimbursement management highest, with a score of 9.5.

The most common users of Gusto are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(374)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 32)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
April 06, 2024

Gusto Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
we use Gusto as our HR platform - it also includes all our payroll information. It is a consolidated one stop shop for all HR needs and provides everything employees need to access paystubs, benefits and anything in between.
  • Payroll
  • Benefits
  • Tax Forms
  • in app chat
Gusto is well suited for small businesses and their HR needs. It may not be best for large organizations.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Gusto to on-board new hires, to pay our staff, and manage integrated benefits. Gusto has a delightful, intuitive and easy-to-use on-boarding process. Best of any system that I've tried, and every aspect of it is digital – including all document signing. This is great for virtual teams! We also easily, paperlessly and seamlessly sign up staff for benefits. Everything is integrated and simple to administer. We also use Gusto to manage payroll for all our clients. It's easy to toggle to different clients, and stay on top of the varied payroll and reporting schedules that our clients have.
  • Process payroll, generate payroll reports, keep track of quarterly and annual filings
  • Integrated with a host of other specialize applications to customize personnel management by client
  • Billing is simple to understand and easy for master account holders to manage when they have multiple clients.
  • The interface is terrific. Best SaaS, in my opinion!
  • Export reports directly to Excel instead of CSV.
  • Allow admins to build better, customized workflows and notifications to managers.
I would love to use Gusto for companies of all staff sizes but I understand that larger businesses will opt for a PEO and willingly give up flexibility and features to do that. However, I love that Gusto can be customized on so many levels – offer letter, adding documents for new hires, document verification, deploying documents to existing staff, tracking who has signed, helping staff select health benefits (love that this is an entirely paperless process!), screen share support (love this!), a host of integrations with other apps are easy to link up. The interface is delightful (love the piglet!), HR support for Master Admins is very professional. There are templates, forms, rules and updates provided for all States. And the reports are so easy to read, customize and understand. Amazing!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Gusto for Payroll, Benefits Administration, HR Compliance, Employee Engagement Surveys, and Expense Reports.

We us it to administer employee payroll 2x month.

We use it for mandatory HR training to remain compliant with state laws.

We use it for monthly engagement surveys.

We use it for expense reporting on personal cards for reimbursement.

We use it to administer benefits and FSA management.
  • Payroll
  • Modern UX
  • No mobile app for expense reporting
  • Does not support international employees well
I would recommend for those who have primarily US Based employees or are willing to have a separate system/work arounds for those that are employed outside of the US.
Elisha Montgomery | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Gusto to run payroll and pay all payroll taxes. We didn’t want to run into end of the year headaches due to unpaid or inaccurate payroll taxes. We also wanted an easy way to work with contractors and easily provide them with the proper payroll forms. Gusto made doing this very straightforward.
  • Automatically handles payroll taxes
  • Gathers state and federal tax info for you
  • Helps with sending out employee onboarding information
  • It also sends out both digital and physical notifications with ease
  • If I had to come up with some extra features I’d say: complete business tax help
  • Mobile app
  • N/A
Gusto has worked perfectly for my small business payroll needs. It was easy to setup and has required very little maintenance to ensure I stay compliant with local and federal regulations. However it is not a full accounting suite, so you need to make sure you have an accounting solution set up for your businesses needs.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Gusto on a weekly basis for all of my payroll needs for both of my companies. It's fast and easy to learn and use. They take care of all of the new hire onboarding paperwork with new staff members and hire the new staff paperwork with the state for me. Everything is easily contained in one location for easy access to retrieve payroll and employee documents. At the end of the year they email and mail employees copies of their W-2 so you don't need to print it out and manage it yourself. The functionality is fantastic and it's an absolute breeze. I can easily hire and send a new employee new hire paperwork to fill out digitally in less than 5 minutes and I don't need to keep multiple hard copies stored on site for my business since Gusto takes care of all of that. They also have very sweet reminders about employee anniversaries and birthdays so you can send out happy birthday digital e cards to get signed by the rest of the employees to be delivered on the birthday employee's birthday. Highly recommend using Gusto!
  • New hire paperwork
  • Employee birthday reminders
  • Easy to navigate
  • Visually pleasing layout
  • Employee paycheck contributions to charities
  • Keeping all of my payroll documents in one place for easy access
  • Easy distribution of W-2s at year end
  • The integration of two businesses in one profile could be streamlined a little better. While it's not difficult to navigate between the two on a computer, it is difficult to do so from the mobile capacity
  • Reminding you on not just employee birthdays but employee work anniversaries would be really nice
  • Prompting for an including pronouns for new hire staff in the welcome email to existing staff would be much appreciated
Gusto is great for the small business owner who wants to spend less time on payroll and more time running their small business. It is easy to use and easy to run each week and hiring or dismissing an employee is an absolute breeze. The customer support staff are incredibly helpful and it integrates easily with QuickBooks Online to help my bookkeeping and accounting sync together with my payroll each week. Highly recommend Gusto for anyone looking for an easy payroll and onboarding solution for their employees regardless of their team size.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Gusto for payroll, time tracking, onboarding, and other benefits tracking (like sick leave and paid time off, or bonuses). It has made it easier to keep everything employee related all together in one place and get our employees paid in a very timely manner, without the need to question what day our paychecks will arrive in our bank accounts.
  • Payroll
  • Time Tracking
  • Onboarding
  • Benefits Tracking
  • GPS tracking for Time Tracking
  • Entering in Time Off Requests
Gusto is definitely a go-to if you want ease in tracking everything related to your employees. From onboarding them and tracking what you still need for that process to getting them set up on the mobile app, and from tracking their hours worked to getting them paid in a timely manner, Gusto handles it all for you!
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The product is very basic and that's all. We had group term life insurance, through an outside vendor and personal use of company autos. Started working with Gusto in October and they just could not get it right or understand what needed to be done with just a taxable event. And when I did what they required, the w2s needed to be reissued...in March! Because they were so busy...if you are that busy with reissuing w2s, you didn't do a lot right! You don't have a representative who is assigned to you for problems, and customer service has to have an email to forward to wherever your issue is located within their company. They did the setup and take no responsibility for the state taxes which then resulted in interest and penalty. If you use them, watch your taxes with your state online to make sure payments AND reports are being submitted.
  • Basic clock punches
  • PTO
  • Pig
  • Customer service
  • Assigned account representative
  • Tax filings/return reporting
  • Response time
Basic business unless you want Gusto to handle all your benefits through their providers is where they can help you. Anything that you use an outside provider for, they can't handle the tax ramifications.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Gusto has made payroll and benefit automation simple. We use this product to make sure employees are paid on time and have access to additional benefits. Prior to using Gusto, we were using a system that wasn't purpose built to solve payroll challenges and cut down our admin time which Gusto was able to do.
  • payroll automation
  • benefits management
  • time off management
  • quick support team
  • answering payroll questions when issues come up
  • tax management for employer and employee
  • employees have mentioned they wished there were more options within the mobile app
  • nothing else
Gusto seems incredibly well-suited to a smaller business like ours where we can have a one-stop shop for the employer and employee. I'm guessing there may also be the ability to run more complex programs for larger organizations. For us, the fact we can automate payroll, benefits admin saves an incredible amount of time since we are not experts in these processes otherwise.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Gusto for to calculate payroll, manage time tracking, and vacation and sick days. Gusto files and pays all required taxes on on behalf. This saves us a lot of time.
  • Calculate Payroll for both Salaried and Hourly Employees
  • Files Tax Report and pays estimated taxes due on our Behalf
  • Personalized Customer Support 1 on 1 phone assistance
  • Time Tracking can be improved - QR code assigned to employee that we can add to their badge for employees to scan in and out (either on an iPad or a stationary computer) as offered in the free app called Time Station
We like Gusto a lot - the best feature is the Concierge Service - the reps are friendly, knowledgeable and always sincerely wanting to help.
Melissa Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Gusto payroll in our small nonprofit. It was very easy to get up and running. It took just a couple of days to get all the forms in place and then I was ready to process payroll. Anytime I have had a question or needed assistance customer service has been exceptional. I do not use nearly all the features that are available. One feature that I find pretty awesome is the ability for the employees to change and/or add bank accounts on their own including choosing how much goes into each account if they have multiple bank accounts. There is also an app for the employees which is super easy to use as well. Gusto files all my payroll taxes on my behalf as well. I would highly recommend Gusto if you are in the need of an easy-to-use, fairly priced payroll service.
  • Payroll
  • Payroll tax filing
  • I cannot think of anything where this is room for improvement. They are that awesome.
Gusto is well suited for companies of all sizes. They are also fairly priced. I cannot think of a scenario where Gusto would not be appropriate.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our company used Gusto to manage our payroll and PTO. We used the web app and mobile app. When we needed to take time off work, we could easily submit our time off request via the app. If we needed to access pay stubs, we could access those easily from the app as well.
  • Very intuitive UI.
  • Easy accessibility - on web and mobile.
  • Simply and straightforward.
  • Scalable.
  • Calendar widget was a little buggy.
  • Price point was a little high.
Gusto would be great for large organizations that have the resources for a nice streamlined app for their large employee base. It would not be ideal for smaller organizations with fewer resources as it was a bit pricey. It is very easy to use so employees don’t need much tech-savvy to use. It is also great for companies that need easy accessibility for their employees as the mobile app is very convenient.
Kim and Rob Rayevsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Clover POS and Gusto as an app attached to Clover. It seamlessly syncs with the POS and are very satisfied with it. The on-boarding for employees is straight-forward for them, and running payroll is very easy. The support is also very good. Never had a serious problem. Highly recommend Gusto to other restaurant owners.
  • friendly interface
  • easy payroll runs
  • helpful reminders by email
  • reasonably priced
  • can't think of any!
We have had no problems with Gusto, so I really am at a loss to find a scenario where Gusto isn't well suited to a restaurant business.
Christine Lander | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a salon, there aren’t many options for payroll other than QuickBooks. Gusto is an amazing platform for any and every salon. They’re simple and easy to use! Plus, super friendly if you need help with something. I was very nervous to start using Gusto as a salon owner due to previous issues I had with QuickBooks, but it’s NOTHING like it, so quick and easy!
  • Communication
  • Easy website
  • Geared towards the employee
  • Keeps you up to date
  • Doesn’t let you forget about payroll dates
  • An app would be super helpful
  • The owner/employee access has to be different, and I wish you could link them together
If I can do it, you can too. I am not tech-savvy at all, and this was truthfully just so easy and quick to learn. My employees love it because they can log in and get their information without having to ask me as well.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We need an easy, low-cost way to run weekly payroll for our small business.
  • Onboarding the product was exceptional. They provided an internal team member to help get us started.
  • We needed to file the ERC credit, but Gusto referred us to an outside firm to file an amendment rather than allowing us to adjust our initial filing for a minimum fee of $2500. We use Square Payroll for our other business, and they facilitated the adjustment on our initial filing without any additional fees.
It's optimal for a user that wants to process payroll often for a small team. The new team member onboarding is great.
William Sims | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a small business owner, there are many things that I need to keep track of to stay in compliance. Running payroll efficiently and keeping track of PTO has been challenging in the past. With Gusto, it was super straightforward to onboard and hire all my employees and to run payroll efficiently. With the additional reminders on my dashboard, I have confidence that Gusto is helping me stay in compliance with my state. It's so helpful to see everything in one place. Worth every penny.
  • Onboarding
  • Hiring
  • Payroll
  • Benefits
  • Compliance
  • Time tracking
  • Scheduling
  • Mobile app
Gusto is incredible for a small business owner or entrepreneur that needs to get organized in a new business. Having Gusto was like having a personal advisor when I purchased my business. Gusto helps take so much off of my plate, and I get to spend more time doing things I enjoy and working on the business itself. The only criticism I have is that I did find the integrated time tracking to be lacking. I'd love to see time tracking improved in the future. Adding a scheduler to the time tracking that the managers can use is very important to us, and unfortunately, I didn't seem to find a way to make that work through Gusto.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have used Gusto for all payroll services since our company opened in April 2018. We also use services that incorporate with it, like Guideline for our 401k management. The software is super easy to use and the support staff is always very helpful. I highly recommend Gusto to everyone who needs to process any sort of payroll.
  • Payroll processing.
  • Payroll tax services.
  • Integration with other apps.
  • Customer service.
  • I don't have anything to add!
For the price point, you really can't go wrong with Gusto for any sort of payroll processing needs.
Rob Gokee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
There are a lot of apps & software companies vying for independent contractor payroll services. Gusto is the best one I've used and [the only one] I've been able to use that combines payments from multiple vendors. For me, this is key because it allows me to have one site, one logon for getting paid.
  • Clean interface
  • No cost to the freelancer/contractor
  • Fast payments
  • Mobile app
I work for over a dozen different companies, often multiple at the same time. Getting paid quickly is important, and being able to do it all in one place saves me so much time. Gusto is able to juggle multiple vendors for me while funneling my payments all in one place.
Sarah Arrillaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Gusto is one of the most widely known payroll software which is indeed a very well-rounded one. I have been using this tool for a couple of years now and I am seriously hooked. It is quite secure and has allowed us to a great extent to easily manage all our employment details. This tool has resolved all the queries regarding where to derive tax documents from. Payroll can become a very tedious and mundane task and this has catered to it so well. The customer service of this product is also really supportive and accommodating. Overall, it is an incredible platform. We always got the customer support we required in a timely manner. I have no complaints associated with their customer support as they have always accommodated my issues and queries on an instant basis.
  • It provides easy onboarding and constant communication with our staff, which has prevented us from becoming all over the place.
  • Because the product is cloud-based so it has helped us in working anywhere and at any time which is again leverage.
  • The user interface is also very friendly which helps us in all types of tasks to be done efficiently with minimal errors.
  • I find the program to be slightly hefty in the pricing aspect because currently we are not even using all features still it is a little towards the pricey end.
  • A mobile application is something that is missing in this solution and can be a game-changer if present.
Payroll can become one of the most unexciting and challenging tasks at some instances so I am glad that Gusto has been introduced for the rescue. I find this product quite scalable for both large and small companies plus of course medium-sized too. I feel that I was very recently introduced to this platform because it was something that I always wanted to have in my business.
Alan Bloxham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Gusto across our entire team to track working time. It helps resolve the issue of the being forced to count all of the hours through the week to make sure that you are not exceeding your hours. It also reminds workers to take a 30 minute unpaid break.
  • Easy to use interface makes it simple to track time and see total hours.
  • Payday reminders help employees to know about the day they are getting paid.
  • Employer can ask for anonymous surveys.
  • An app rather than a website would be nice.
  • Double pressing the clock in/out button is an inconvenience.
Gusto works great for flexible schedules because you can clock in and clock out whenever you want. The payroll notification email is detailed and nice for comparing week to week. Gusto probably wouldn't work as well with any companies that have shifts that need to be traded with or taken by other coworkers.
McKay Salisbury | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I've been really impressed with Gusto. The pricing is pretty good and it comes with a lot of the features we wanted. Most importantly, they take care of all the tax issues and will answer questions, so I can make sure that all our filings and tax payments are being done correctly and on time.

We use them for tracking hours for hourly workers, filing payroll, making the wage and tax payments, and a few of their other bonus features.
  • Accurate filings and tax payments.
  • Very user friendly system and easy to use.
  • Great time tracking that automatically syncs with payroll.
  • Unlimited payrolls for no extra cost.
  • Other things such as scheduling of performance reviews, time off, and even birthday reminders!
  • It would be nice if there was a mobile app (there is a mobile friendly site though).
  • No geo-tracking for time tracking.
You pay for the amount of users, so it's good for companies both large and small. Anytime you have W-2 employees I would think it is a great fit. You can also use it to pay independent contractors, although I haven't used those features before.

The time tracking features are included with one of the plans so if you want employees to be able to track time and have payroll automatically reflect their hours, it's great for that. It's also very easy to reimburse employees for expenses and things like that.

We didn't know about this when we got Gusto, but it also does a great job with little things such as welcome cards for new employees, it lets you make birthday cards, and little things like that.
April 23, 2021

Gusto makes HR easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Gusto as our payroll, benefits, and HR software. It is being used across our entire organization. We didn't have a great way to manage all of these things prior, and Gusto makes it super easy. Onboarding and paying our employees, calculating and filing payroll taxes, and providing health benefits that are auto-deducted from payroll are all done through Gusto.
  • Run payroll with ease.
  • Select health insurance for employees.
  • File payroll taxes.
  • Syncing with more apps.
  • The ability to customize employee surveys.
  • A little bit more options when it comes to 401K.
If you are a small business owner with under 10 employees, I highly recommend Gusto. It's super easy to set up and has made HR a breeze. Since the beginning, we wanted to have the best benefits for our team, and Gusto made it easy for us to that. I strongly recommend Gusto.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use [Gusto] to track time within our company. Basically it works as a punch in and punch out software but the nice thing about it is that it also initiates payroll within the system. For our business that saves time gathering time card information and then inputting it in a separate payroll software. This combines the two and saves a bunch of time at an affordable price.
  • Time tracking
  • Payroll
  • Tax Document gathering and distribution
  • Wish they had a mobile app
I really like Gusto and would recommend it to anyone running a small business. The only thing I wish it had was a mobile app which would allow for time tracking remotely, but you can get around that by logging in online. The time tracking is great and running payroll works like a charm. It even will send you email updates on when your paycheck is getting depsosited and how much it is for.
April 16, 2021

Gusto is the besto!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My company uses Gusto to track paychecks and PTO. We also store personal documents on Gusto such as W4, offer letters, I-9s, etc. Gusto makes it easy to see your paycheck history and view in-depth reports of each. They send friendly emails with fun facts about your pay report (like how many water bottles you could buy with your paycheck) The user experience at Gusto is phenomenal. They have a dancing pig upon login (how would that not make you smile?!) and the site is very easy to navigate.
  • Every payday, I get an email alert from Gusto congratulating me on getting paid. It's a great (and fun) reminder that the money hit my bank account.
  • The interface on the site is user-friendly. I will gladly watch a pig dance while the page loads.
  • Documentation of payroll - it's very easy to see when the last time you were paid, when is the next time you get paid, etc. They even have a report that lets you download all pay history!
  • There isn't anything I could honestly say needs to improve with Gusto.
  • Only thing I could hope for is an iPhone app!
My company is small, and I know it saves a lot of time on the one employee we have to do payroll and gives her time to focus on other items instead. She has confidence things are being paid correctly (state and federal taxes, etc.) with Gusto. It seems that it is scalable for larger companies as well!
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • We mostly use Gusto for payroll purposes. I appreciate the fact that it is simple and that it has multiple means of seeing all of your payroll data in one spot.
  • The privacy settings and email alerts are also helpful. It is the best payroll solution we have used. I would recommend it to other organizations that need a simple yet robust payroll management solution.
  • Pay alerts via multiple means
  • Simplicity of backend controls and privacy settings
  • Needs to release an app
  • Pay info should be hidden as on email alerts as standard so that people in your office don’t accidentally see your payment.
  • Gusto is a reliable tool all around. I recommend it for companies under 200 employees as a payroll management solution. With larger organizations more sophisticated reporting and integrations may be needed.
  • A mobile application would be preferable to the web, the only view. The standard default of showing the dollar amount in email alerts is not a good idea. They should change this.
Sander Kallshian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Gusto to handle all of our payroll needs. It is integrated with our timekeeping and HR software for seamless synchronization, and employee access to their own documents (W2, paystubs, etc) is very convenient. This reduces the amount of time management has to spend providing documents, and reduces errors in payroll processing almost entirely.
  • 3rd-party timesheet integrations make processing payroll possible in less than 10 minutes.
  • Employee self-access portals provide documentation without the need to contact HR.
  • Tax payments and deduction management are simple and reduce workloads.
  • No mobile app.
  • Base plan prices have increased.
Gusto is great for businesses of all sizes, but we find it particularly good for our very small business because it takes care of tasks that we would not normally know about, and does so with very simple explanations. When we have had issues (whether our own fault or not) we have always received the support we needed to get it resolved. At one point we had an issue with tax payments being remitted on a different schedule than was required by our state, and Gusto contacted them to clarify and remedy the error.
Return to navigation