Hootsuite Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
508 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (26-50 of 159)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2020

Hootsuite Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Efficient - Hootsuite makes scheduling and planning social posts easy and quick.
  • Intuitive - Hootsuite offers various other features that allow our business to thrive.
  • I am a very visual person so sometimes when the posts don't show up exactly how I want them to it can be frustrating using the platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2020

Hootsuite Works for Your Business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to schedule on one platform.
  • Easy to make changes to posts.
  • Easy to understand how to navigate the platform.
  • Would love to schedule livestreams through the platform.
  • Would love additional posting offerings (e.g. schedule more posts for free).
  • Would love more learning content to learn how to better use the site.
Read this authenticated review
Helen Feest | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Great timesaver!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy scheduling tool.
  • Quick to teach to new hires and clients.
  • Sometimes Instagram is really finicky - doesn’t always post, crops photos weird, etc.
Read Helen Feest's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Great functionalities and easy to use - and that's just for the free accounts!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Calendar view is easy to digest and visually plan the distribution of content across a longer period.
  • Confirming the content captions entered, by counting the applicable number of characters for each social media platform.
  • Integrating users' social media accounts into the tool; we have never had an error or issue with Hootsuite's access and authentication of those accounts.
  • Being able to more easily replicate the scheduled or archived content, to be reposted or shared on different platforms would save time.
  • Showing a more full preview of posts on the various platforms before being posted would be helpful.
  • Giving additional insights into the response of the posts once completed.
  • Being able to edit the dashboard view of the tool would help with personalisation so we feel more ownership of the tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

Automated Social Media Marketing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Hootsuite provides real-time analytics so you can see how your social media campaigns are performing, at a glance.
  • Hootsuite sends out emails with reports on how well each platform's posts are performing and updates on engagements, follows, shares, etc.
  • Hootsuite could allow more control on how posts can be edited per each different platform. Such as having different content highlights that perform better on different platforms, such as switching up videos for photos or an article or vice versa. One post format isn't always best suited for every social media platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Great for Social Media

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Photo Uploading.
  • Multiple Account Managing.
  • Advanced post capability.
  • Slow loading.
  • It's hard to find the upload area.
  • No need for so many templates.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Hootsuite is a great tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organization of posts - I like how I can see everything I've scheduled in a variety of views (day, week, month).
  • Engagement - Hootsuite allows me to see what's going on in each social media page and engage all from the same platform. I don't need to log into each account to do so.
  • Ease of use - Everything that I do in Hootsuite is easy to do and right to the point. I don't need to jump through hoops to do a simple task.
  • Education - Hootsuite offers a variety of education courses that you can become certified in a specific area.
  • Pricing - The pricing for Hootsuite is tricky if you are a business managing multiple accounts for clients. There is a large jump from the first plan to the next because you get more licenses. But if you are a small business, you don't need more licenses, just more social media account spots.
Read this authenticated review
Trish Lofton | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2019

Hootsuite Free - Great product at a great price!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mobile App is very intuitive
  • Easy to schedule content
  • It is very simple to add social media accounts
  • The analytics are not as smooth and intuitive. It is certainly better than previous versions.
  • The reports need to have clearer titles and filter items.
  • The analytics screen tabs need to be smaller in size.
Read Trish Lofton's full review
Garrett Genest | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2019

Old Reliable!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrations work flawlessly with no issues or needing to reconnect things incessantly.
  • Very reliable and consistent platform compared to cheaper alternatives.
  • It does a very good job of allowing you to put the most important information that you need front-and-center.
  • I personally don't like the way Hootsuite displays multiple social channels on the interface. It's very utilitarian and it does have a modern look, but there's just something about the multiple column look that really bugs me. It feels a bit dated and cluttered.
  • I've used both the free and the pro versions before. Pro is somewhat overpriced for the value that it provides and the free version limits you to too few social profiles which puts you in a position to either overpay or go to another option like Buffer which is cheaper but isn't as reliable. I'd say somewhere around $12-15/mo. would make the single-user Pro tier more palatable.
Read Garrett Genest's full review
Rachael Ossovicki | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Hootsuite - Schedule your social content easily!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Schedule approved content months in advance.
  • Metrics into one dashboard.
  • Engage with content right in the platform.
  • Limited Metrics.
  • We need more advanced social monitoring in heavy compliant industry.
  • Integrated with tons of social platforms.
Read Rachael Ossovicki's full review
Brock Ross | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

Hoot-bitter-Sweet: It's Great, When it Works

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • When it works, the ability to write ONE post and apply it to multiple platforms is great. Huge timesaver, and ensures consistency of content across your platforms.
  • The customizability of streams is a cool feature. You can really dial in a dashboard that fits your unique needs, instead of trying to adapt yourself to a default vanilla setup. Whichever content streams (both existing and scheduled) are important to you can be placed front and center and edited as needed.
  • Retaining connection to social accounts has been quite unreliable for us, particularly our Facebook Business account. When this connection breaks, Hootsuite essentially becomes useless until the connection is repaired, which often requires an arduous manual removal and re-adding of permissions.
  • Comment management is in some stage of depreciation, and it's not clear to what degree we can expect that functionality to work going forward.
  • As a new user, streams are not well-explained by a tutorial and aren't particularly intuitive to figure out on one's own. They're a great tool once you know how they work, but it would be nice to have a little more exposition provided by Hootsuite right off the bat.
Read Brock Ross's full review
Kathleen Slattery Booth | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

Great Tool for Improving Marketing Efficiency

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows me to easily manage the social media accounts of multiple clients from one portal. This is a huge time saver for me as a marketing agency executive.
  • It allows me to add multiple team members to my social media teams and coordinate their activities from one dashboard.
  • I appreciate the ability to set up custom streams and track very granular keywords, geo-targeted comments, etc. For my local business clients, this kind of targeted tracking is essential
  • I would like to see Hootsuite create a better user interface for adding scheduled updates to the queue. The current system of uploading an spreadsheet is time consuming and awkward.
Read Kathleen Slattery Booth's full review
Sylvia Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

Awesomely Accessible Platform for Newbies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Scheduling Social Media posts - for my clients, typically they schedule the majority of their activity on a Monday and for the week.
  • Ease of use - you can be on and publishing immediately without a learning curve.
  • Value for the money - it's very accessible for small budgets.
  • Customer support - their customer service is exceptional.
  • It is very Twitter-oriented and does not offer as much robustness for other platforms such as LinkedIn.
  • I wish it could detect whether social interaction is a bot versus a real person.
  • Like them all, if you wish to schedule a post with multiple images, you have to schedule it directly on Facebook or on Tweetdeck for Twitter. That creates additional redundancies - unfortunately, I don't believe there is anything Hootsuite can do about that, as this is an issue with other competitor platforms.
  • I would love to see more robust reporting features - I often have to take the time to extract the data I am looking for to create the reports I want, which is inefficient.
Read Sylvia Flores's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Is Hootsuite too sweet?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The scheduling feature is fantastic. It allows you to easily plan the exact day, time, and channel that a particular post will be published.
  • Mobile functionality is great with the app. The team could use it on their phones or tablets, which made it easy to make changes or additions on the go or in-between meetings.
  • Social channel integration. All of the major channels are integrated with the tool, making it easy to sign in and start using it.
  • Photo editing. The editing capabilities are rather minimal. We typically had to edit our photos and make changes to them outside of the tool before using them.
  • No functionality to post multiple photos to a channel like Instagram or Facebook. You can only post a single photo at a time, which is not ideal for some types of posts.
  • The UX is pretty bad. It is a multi-column setup, which was great when Hootsuite first started because it was a Twitter-only platform. Now that there are so many more channels, this layout doesn't work well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Hootsuite is Free...So why aren't you using it?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Design - I am able to design posts using the free media library, which reduces my iStock costs. It provides dimensions by social platform, eliminating the need for resizing in iStock or Photoshop.
  • Manage content and time - I can create multiple posts and schedule them over a period of time, which enables me to stay abreast of my social media efforts without a major impact to time.
  • I can post content to multiple sites with the click of one button, which is a huge time saver.
  • Tagging - there are times that I would like to tag individuals or places in a photo. This feature is not offered in the version I have, forcing me to visit the actual sites to complete these tasks.
  • While I can add links to a post, I cannot hyperlink words which would be helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2019

Great tool for individuals and businesses!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Scheduling social media content posts across multiple platforms.
  • A comprehensive dashboard view of all linked social accounts to easily view content published.
  • The analytics tool is very helpful to get a sense of what type of content is doing well.
  • Very Twitter orientated, and gives the best views into Twitter streams.
  • No preview options for how posts will look.
  • Social networks get disconnected often, and I'm not sure why.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2019

Okay tool for basic needs

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allowing multiple team members for collaboration across the team.
  • Ability to see mentions as well as scheduled posts so you can easily engage and reshare.
  • Pricing: a bit overpriced for what is offered. Limited team seats available.
  • Overall, the UX is clunky and not intuitive. Freezes a lot.
  • No easy way to repost successful content across channels without reuploading and rescheduling.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2019

Easy to use social media management tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to schedule out content.
  • Easily adjust images to meet the recommended sizes per channel.
  • Easily to retweet and like content.
  • Hootsuite's tagging feature sometimes acts up. It usually works but sometimes you will try to tag someone and it won't return any results.
Read this authenticated review
Dan Lobring | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Scalable social media management dashboard

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Create one-stop dashboard for social media collaboration & management
  • Specific strengths include monitoring, scheduling posts and assigning team members specific roles within each account
  • Hootsuite's built in analytics suite provides a high level overview of campaign performance across networks managed via Hootsuite
  • Hootsuite's training tool can be overwhelming
  • Hootsuite is very much a user-generated experience and sometimes the lack of an account person can slow down the customer service process
  • Hootsuite's pricing model can escalate quickly depending on how many team members & accounts you're working across
Read Dan Lobring's full review
Jared Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Great tool for social media management!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrates with all popular social media platforms (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, Pinterest, and YouTube)
  • Has a free plan! And it actually works well for individuals
  • Great team features that make collaboration and teamwork efficient
  • Mobile apps that aren't broken
  • The points system is confusing and leads to expensive reports
  • Forced to use their proprietary URL shorteners, which are also expensive
  • Gets expensive for teams
Read Jared Hansen's full review
María Barreto | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

A very useful tool that will make it much easier to manage several social networks at the same time.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The best thing about Hootsuite is the panel system with all the social networks at the same time.
  • Automatic publication programming is very easy to use.
  • The reports are very detailed and help monitor trends and measure growth.
  • Campaign tracking is very simple and efficient.
  • Create custom analysis control panels, or use our templates, to get more information about how your followers interact with your content.
  • When scheduling Facebook posts with several photos attached, Hootsuite publishes each photo separately but with the same description, instead of a single post with several photos.
  • If you manage the social networks of a company, sooner or later you will need to pay for the business version since it has more essential functions to boost the publications.
  • The free version is only limited to 3 social profiles.
Read María Barreto's full review
Alison Rivera | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2018

The Industry Standard in Social Media!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Schedule Postings at Optimal Times to increase reach and visibility of posts.
  • Streams are useful when wanting to track if people are talking about the brand online.
  • Content sources, like UpContent, are great when need inspiration for what to post.
  • I wish the Instagram Scheduling had a grid preview where you could see how the posts will look on the profile. A lot of other schedulers are already doing this.
  • The reporting isn't always correct, sometimes the numbers are inflated.
  • I wish you could schedule at Optimal Times across multiple days instead of just on the same day.
Read Alison Rivera's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Boolean keyword searches (68)
7.0
Filtering out noise/spam (70)
6.2
Sentiment analysis (63)
6.7
Broad channel coverage (85)
8.3
Content planning and scheduling (103)
9.1
Audience targeting (78)
7.4
Content optimization (83)
7.6
Workflow management (87)
8.2
Automated routing and prioritization (65)
7.5
Customer interaction histories (72)
7.6
Bulk actions (78)
8.0
Lead generation (49)
7.0
Content marketing (80)
7.4
Paid media management (51)
6.6
Campaigns and promotions (72)
6.8
Twitter (100)
9.4
Facebook (100)
9.0
LinkedIn (90)
8.8
Google+ (60)
8.9
Instagram (82)
7.5
Pinterest (49)
8.3
YouTube (48)
7.7
Campaign success analytics (81)
7.4
Real-time tracking (82)
7.7
Competitor analysis (57)
6.8
Role-based user permissions & privileges (84)
8.3
Mobile access (91)
7.9

About Hootsuite

Hootsuite aims to help people connect on social media with the communities they live in, the teams they work with, and the brands they love as well as customers who believe in them.

Whether managing a small team or making leap forward to completely transform a social enterprise, Hootsuite presents solutions to help unlock the power of human connection.

The vendor states that Hootsuite is trusted by more than 18 million customers and employees at more than 80 percent of the Fortune 1000. They further provide that Hootsuite's expertise, customer insights at scale, and collaborative ecosystem empowers organizations large and small to strategically grow their brand, business, and customer relationships with social. They invite visitors to learn more, at www.hootsuite.com.

Hootsuite Features

Listening/monitoring Features
Has featureBoolean keyword searches
Has featureFiltering out noise/spam
Has featureSentiment analysis
Has featureBroad channel coverage
Publishing Features
Has featureContent planning and scheduling
Has featureAudience targeting
Has featureContent optimization
Has featureWorkflow management
Engagement Features
Has featureAutomated routing and prioritization
Has featureCustomer interaction histories
Has featureBulk actions
Marketing Features
Has featureLead generation
Has featureContent marketing
Has featurePaid media management
Has featureCampaigns and promotions
Channel coverage/integration Features
Has featureTwitter
Has featureFacebook
Has featureLinkedIn
Does not have featureGoogle+
Has featureInstagram
Has featurePinterest
Has featureYouTube
Reporting/analytics Features
Has featureCampaign success analytics
Has featureReal-time tracking
Has featureCompetitor analysis
Account management Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions & privileges
Has featureMobile access

Hootsuite Integrations

Hootsuite Competitors

Conversocial, Sysomos Expion, Falcon.io, Radian6, Sprout Social, MavSocial, ThoughtBuzz, Socialbakers, Khoros Care (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium), Khoros Marketing (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium), Sprinklr

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Hootsuite Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Email
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Hootsuite Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android