IBM Cognos Reviews

380 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Sachin Karkun | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

God Knows or Cognos

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
For an existing solution, renewing licenses does provide a good return on investment. Additionally, while rolling out scorecards and dashboards with little adhoc capabilities, to end users, cognos is very easily scalable. It also allows to create a solution that has a mix of OLAP and relational data-sources, which is a limitation with other tools. Synchronizing with existing security setup is easy too.
Read Sachin Karkun's full review
Hirdesh Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2016

IBM Cognos

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
IBM Cognos is evolving, they are adding new features which might be missing in previous versions and keeping it on the go to meet customer demands.
Read Hirdesh Gupta's full review
Dwight Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2014

Is IBM Cognos 8 ideal for non-technical business users?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

1
It took my BI team one year to become productive at developing useful content on the IBM Cognos platform. After this year, the reports being developed for a client were stale and no longer relative to the ever changing needs of the business client. Given the same opportunity, I would select a platform that allows the team to quickly produce BI content. Fail fast and recover quickly!
Read Dwight Taylor's full review
Meghdeep Raval, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2015

Meghdeep

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
It would be great if there were better performance monitoring activities like those available in Microstrategy.

It would also be great if there were an option to rename columns and query subjects without modifying all existing reports.
Read Meghdeep Raval, PMP's full review
Michael Cedor | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2014

First time User, Career Builder!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Since using Cognos and seeing how easy it is to work with and to learn, I don't ever want to go back to something else. It is accurate, deep, and works right away when you need it to. There are several options that work with various internal tools to help enhance your report and make it more presentable to clients who are looking forward to having it. PFG, and other companies as well may have this, has a dedicated support staff on site that helps with any questions or issues, and the turnaround for fixing them is almost immediate. If you know what you are looking for and understand how Cognos helps bring a cluster of information together, you will see the benefits that it will bring your company and department. Cognos almost pays for itself.
Read Michael Cedor's full review
Francisco Prieto | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2014

IBM Cognos is a mid tier BI solution best suited with great customer service and support

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We are heavily tied to IBM with other portions of the business so don't foresee us breaking off completely from their offering, however a better statement would be to say that we will be scaling back some of the functionality we pay for today.
Read Francisco Prieto's full review
Joseph Frank, PhD, CCP, GWCCM | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2014

Cognos - Adequate for Reporting, Needs A Friend or Two for Analysis

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We are well-established as an Enterprise user of Cognos, so I am sure WUSTL IS&T will continue using it for years to come. Eventually, it will replace WebFocus for legacy reporting.
Read Joseph Frank, PhD, CCP, GWCCM's full review
Robert Goodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2014

IBM Cognos. Scalable and flexible, but watch out...it's expensive.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We will continue to use IBM Cognos to support our student community. In other areas of the university, Microsoft's SQL Server Reporting Services has become a cost effective alternative. That being said, the Report and Query Studio tools of Cognos still remain superior and will bring business benefit to Georgetown for many years to come.
Read Robert Goodman's full review
Martin Rivera | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2014

IBM Cognos Business Intelligence - a market leader that's only getting stronger

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
IBM's current investment in IBM Cognos Business Analytics tools are in the process of taking the product suite from already being a leader in the market place, to truly standing out in the cutting edge of the Business Analytics platform arena. The last 2 or 3 releases alone have shown staggering improvements in the areas of visualizations, mobile capabilities, and customization. The future for IBM Cognos is surely to be a positive one, given the direction that IBM is taking its product suite, and I certainly look forward to being a part of it.
Read Martin Rivera's full review
Toni McKee | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2013

IBM Cognos 8.4.1 - A user review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
This software is a part of the package that comes with our Human Resources software, therefore we will continue use of Cognos. However I am not disappointed in the product. I would not hesitate to use it even if we had to own it outright.
Read Toni McKee's full review
Brian Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2013

Cognos review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
It's been a really helpful tool to determine key peformance indicators and metrics including but not limited to new clients acquired, new client spend, lifetime value of clients as well as registration to paid client conversion rates.
Read Brian Schwartz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 08, 2014

Cognos - The "Ace in the Sleeve" BI tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
N/A - I have no role in deciding which BI tools my organizaiton uses, but I do not see them dropping Cognos anytime soon. Also, if I made the decision, I would keep Cognos around indefinitley.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2014

IBM Cognos: A Real Life Review from a Disappointed User

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
As stated before, this system is a requirement for report creation in our Enterprise Asset Management system, so it will automatically be renewed when we renew the support for the EAM system. It is really that cut and dry. I would not renew this particular product if I was able to use a different report writer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2013

IBM Cognos Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Cognos works well in the current environment. Business likes to use it due to the ease of use especially around the self service Cognos Powerplay cubes. It will not be easy to migrate to a different platform and re-train the business users. Additional tools from Cognos in 10.2 is also exciting and G|R will be trying to leverage them for our strategy. Given, this background, we are likely to continue with Cognos in the near future.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2013

IBM Cognos makes BI smarter.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Partially because of the great product, but partially because we are so entrenched with money and human capital that we are almost certainly going to renew.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (24)
7.8
Customizable dashboards (31)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (29)
8.2
Drill-down analysis (31)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (31)
7.2
Integration with R or other statistical packages (15)
7.9
Report sharing and collaboration (32)
9.0
Publish to Web (24)
8.2
Publish to PDF (29)
8.6
Report Versioning (21)
8.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (31)
8.4
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (22)
7.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (21)
7.3
Predictive Analytics (20)
8.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (29)
9.2
Role-Based Security Model (27)
9.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (28)
8.9
Single Sign-On (SSO) (11)
9.1
Responsive Design for Web Access (14)
8.1
Dedicated iOS Application (12)
7.2
Dedicated Android Application (10)
7.2
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (16)
7.2
REST API (7)
7.9
Javascript API (7)
8.0
iFrames (6)
7.9
Java API (8)
6.7
Themeable User Interface (UI) (7)
8.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (4)
6.3

About IBM Cognos

IBM Cognos is an established product with a large user base. It is a full-featured platform comprising Query Studio, Reporting Studio, Analysis Studio and Event Studio, and Cognos Administration along with some newer tools for Microsoft Office integration, full-text search and dashboards.

  • Query Studio: Designed for non-technical users to rapidly create simple reports
  • Report Studio: Report Studio is the main report design, creation and distribution tool
  • Analysis Studio: Analysis Studio is for exploring and comparing dimensional data
  • Event Studio: Event Studio is for setting up data monitoring and exception alerts
  • Metric Studio: Metric Studio is for creating KPI dashboards and scorecards
  • Cognos Administration: Central management interface for performing all administrative tasks
This technology is very mature and reliable, and is designed primarily for larger deployments. However, it does requires significant resources to deploy and maintain.

IBM launched a limited release of its Watson Analytics platform in 2014 as a foray into the data discovery space. This product combines the power of Watson's cognitive computing technology with existing predictive analytics capabilities to produce a natural language query engine. The result is a very powerful analytics engine for ordinary business users.

IBM Cognos Competitors

IBM Cognos Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No