IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
249 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 52)

Jason Tian | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Try using the container service of IBM Cloud Kubernetes

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire department is using it to create a high availability cluster,Make mobile scalability truly user-friendly and easy for multi-language application development.
  • You can add features easily, growing as you need.
  • Options for dedicated servers or VMs gives us a lot of flexibility from a provisioning standpoint.
  • Quick deployment.
  • Old operation guide.
  • For beginner developers, it takes longer to learn costs.
  • Too expensive.
1. Deploy a simple Python application with Kubernetes.
2. Build a smart WeChat robot with IBM Watson Assistant with Cloud Function.
3. Deploy a simple React application with Kubernetes.
Read Jason Tian's full review
jonathan gough | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2019

IBM K8 made our batch processing great, again!

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are migrating our current application from IBM Cloud Foundry to Kubernetes. We grew out of CF and needed more compute power, therefore we turned to Kubernetes. Currently, we are using it as the primary architecture for our UI and a few of our complex processing processes (pseudo batch processing). We are implementing it for this one client, but we have other clients on Kubernetes on other cloud platforms. The application that it is running supports 300 million dollars in business for this company. The solution is only for a single subset of a larger department. Many pieces of the application are still in Cloud Foundry; we are still in the process of migrating.
  • It scales really well
  • Depending on how you measure, it is cheaper and more powerful than Cloud Foundry
  • Deployments are fast, comparably.
  • It is very unreliable. We have seen nodes and machines randomly go down without warning or helpful error messages.
  • Documentation is not great.
  • The autoscale and documentation on autoscale are not good. We had to write/re-write our own and as a result; we found a lot of issues that caused problems.
If you have a big budget to spend on IBM services and have a lot of services with IBM, yes. For the most part, it does handle heavy batch processes well. However, we have had issues with intermittent outages that have been very challenging. If you need to have redundancies built in and seamless cross-region support, it is a bit more challenging.
Read jonathan gough's full review
Michael Doran | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2019

Room to improve

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service supports the core of our organization. It has solved the problem of being cloud agnostic for most of what we use Kubernetes Services for.
  • It's Kubernetes
  • The underlying platform that is BlueMix needs work. You can get to dead ends in the GUI with no reference back to "home."
  • Provisioning of underlying clusters is not automated.
  • Removal of hardware is not intuitive.
Great if uptime and provisioning speeds are not a must. Not versatile enough to entertain using for a dynamically side scaled solution even with Knative. The slow provisioning time and human parser steps behind the scenes make using BlueMix a difficult endeavor. If things were a little more fault-tolerant and scalable, I think the platform would be great. For proof of concept, the IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is great.
Read Michael Doran's full review
Kevin Santacruz | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2019

k8s features at IBM Cloud

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kubernetes in a production environment to stream millions of events per second with real-time data ingestion apps. Kubernetes has an acceptable learning curve and allows us to manage all our microservice containers.
  • Highly scalable
  • Great documentation
  • Makes it a lot easier to establish effective CI/CD pipelines
  • If you have Lite account you can't create service with LoadBalancer, only NodePort is available
  • Long waiting times to deploy the service
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is great if you want to control microservice architecture in production environments because IBM Cloud, brings us high availability, and strong support. [It is a] resilient and secure platform. You will have an interface for checking node status and logs for control issues in your systems. You can integrate easily with other IBM services.
Read Kevin Santacruz's full review
Henri Behm | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2019

From IBM Cloud Foundry user

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mainly we are using IBM Cloud Foundry as a service platform but some readily available installations (for example Artifactory) are installed on Kubernetes service.
  • Service monitoring
  • Command line tooling (ibmcloud ks)
  • Don't have suggestions yet
I have found it useful to run ready-made products in a docker environment. But I like more IBM Cloud Foundry for my own apps where the deployment and SpringBoot auto configuration is more straightforward.
Read Henri Behm's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes - Great choice for both small and large businesses!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We host our application running on a CentOS container on IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service. We have been using the service since IBM Cloud originally launched. We appreciated the flexibility and scalability that IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provide us. Since we are quite small, the Kubernetes service is only used currently within my project group.
  • Great flexibility
  • Worker node management
  • Awesome support
  • Difficult to master fast
  • Sometimes buggy
  • Container gets reset from time to time
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is best for apps that need to scale and developers who want to deploy their software fast and easily. In our opinion, it is also good for cutting the cost. However, it cannot provide bare metal server performance like traditional servers, nor does it provide full native support in system and SSH.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

Rely on K8s

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the IBM K8s Service to handle user-submitted private data. K8s can be used to better distribute workloads. IBM Kubernetes Service has been chosen for processing speed and for a faster network. Deploying is more convenient than with a VM, but it does not have the stability of a traditional VM.
  • Performance is sufficient.
  • A smooth network.
  • Web interface included.
  • Kubernetes!
  • Not very stable.
  • Price.
  • Deployment speed.
IBM Cloud Kubernetes is suited for K8s, but is not suitable for 'direct day or night.' For 'day or night with reserved processing,' it is suitable. Compared to Dynamic VM allocation, K8s is much easier, thanks to the stable K8s management node, although sometimes deploying clusters can be problematic. High-frequency container operations are very stable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2019

Good place to start using Kubernetes

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service in order to get high availability in some simple web applications that are relevant to our daily work. This is a challenge to my organization because we don't have enough human and computational resources to spend in order to create and support a more advanced set up with those services.
  • The tutorials are detailed and easy to follow.
  • The applications are easy to support and manage. IBM's interface shows important information properly.
  • It takes lees than 1 hour to get a working Kubernetes cluster!
  • Some parts of the tutorials need to be upgraded.
  • Knowledge of IBM console and configuration may be needed.
  • IBM's interfaces interaction with logs and Kubernetes configuration could be upgraded.
IBM Cloud Kubernetes is well suited if the application has an important role in your organization and you need to have any level of high availability. However, at the same time, you have more complex core-applications that need more time to deal with. If the application you are trying to configure is not very complex and you are not very familiar with Kubernetes, this is a good way to start.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2019

A review by a current Kubernetes user

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to run CPU intensive workloads and UI websites.
  • Ease of use
  • No need to install
  • Bundles billing with other services
  • Is the billing still a minimum of one hour? Even if the worker only used it for 20 mins?
  • Long start up time for the workers
  • Slow UI
It is well suited for the applications that are already hosted in Bluemix.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2019

Rich features with overall good performance and some minor cons

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service in our DevOps department. It automates our whole process of software development. We also take advantage of the canary versions of our web applications.
  • Rich features.
  • Easy GUI.
  • IBM Cloud command-line interface.
  • Optimization of IBM Cloud command-line interface. Sometimes it takes more time to get a response.
  • Further explanations are required in the documentation.
  • Optimization of web page load.
My experience with IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service overall was a good one. There are many features to use. I gave the product 8 out of 10 stars because sometimes I felt that some pages and features take more time to load than Google's Kubernetes services by comparison. However, this does not mean that it took too long. This instead means that it took about 1 to 3 seconds longer than Google. I also felt that documentation is well organized, but it isn't always easy to understand. I found it easy to install Istio when compared to installing Istio on Google Cluster.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2019

It does what it says it does

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used this cloud provider in order to learn how to correctly use containers and to deploy some simple apps. Even though the complexity of the applications was low, we wanted to have high availability at a low cost and low technical difficulty.
  • It's pretty easy to use.
  • Gives you multiple options of machines to use for your Kubernetes cluster.
  • Has a nice variety of server regions.
  • You can't access your virtual machines in order to have more control of your cluster.
  • The deployment of a cluster takes too long.
If you want an easy solution for deploying containers, this is a very good option. However, if you want to have a lot more of control of your virtual cluster, then you should use a more general service, and not a service focused on Kubernetes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2019

Docker Containers deployed using Kubernetes Cluster

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service helps us to create pods without managing the actual installation of Kubernetes. We can also have a secure environment in which we can implement a CI CD workflow for the Docker containers.
  • Deploying Wordpress-based applications.
  • Deploying Jenkins web applications.
  • CI CD deployment of Docker containers using custom source code.
  • Interface for using Kubernetes Service.
  • Deployment support for Docker containers.
  • Integration of Kubernetes with other DevOps tools.
It is well suited in the case of deployment of docker containers, which we put on a Kubernetes Cluster so that we can automate the deployment of Containerized applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes pros and cons

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service for the deployment of the blockchain application. We are doing research on how blockchain can be employed in real-world applications. We thought that cloud containers would be better for deploying blockchains and working on them. IBM's Kubernetes Service is pretty good but sometimes it suddenly sends an email saying that there was an unexpected issue and it'll be closed for some time.
  • Easy-to-use interface.
  • Good for deploying web applications and pretty good performance.
  • IBM Cloud Kubernetes offers built-in logging and monitoring tools.
  • CPU utilization is a big factor in autoscaling.
  • Little harder to set up compared to Docker, but IBM made it a little easier.
  • Breakdown of service may occur at any time, which leads to malfunction of applications.
  • Service issues occur at unknown times which can make it hard to monitor.
IBM Cloud Kubernetes has features that are great, as well as its own issues. It's pretty good with its performance and web applications can be deployed easily. We specifically used Kubernetes for deploying our blockchain and to see how a blockchain performs in a real-world application so that we can move to deploy a fully functioning blockchain application. The main problem we experienced is that the service shuts down sometimes. This issue occurs about 5-6 times in a month, but the system returns to normal very fast.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2019

K8S

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It resolved all the Cloud Foundry issues while deploying the unwired UI when updated to Meteor 1.8.
  • Scales really well
  • Deploys fast
  • Resolves Cloud Foundry issues
  • Goes down once in a while.
  • Flipping between routes don't work so well at times.
For better deployment and avoid issues with Cloud Foundry. Any lightweight apps like Python don't really need K8.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

IKS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are working with IBM to list our product in the IBM Marketplace, so we are using IBM Kubernetes Service to deploy OpenServiceBroker and host it there so that we can integrate with the IBM catalog and Billing services.
  • Well integrated container registry
  • Support for ingress controller and public domain name for service deployed on IKS
  • Good UX
  • Provisioning time for worker nodes can come down.
  • Integrating using programming languages like Go can be helpful, i.e improving the bluemix-sdk.
  • Sometimes the web portal is too slow, needs improvement in service uptime.
Having flexibility to use a bare-metal server as worker nodes.
Read this authenticated review
Lokesh Venkatesan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2019

Why we run Kube in IBM Cloud.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Kubernetes Service is our one-stop for running all our Java services and NodeJs services. Currently, we are running 16 services inside our Kube cluster. It hosts and runs the application that collects the IOT information from our bots and stores it in IBM Cloudant.
  • Quick Updates, Highly Scalable. We keep adding nodes when needed.
  • Never spent a minute on any maintenance activities for our Kube Cluster.
  • Zero Downtimes in last 2 years.
  • Helm inventory is somewhat lacking.
  • Little confusing when it comes to PVCs.
  • Networking between our Kube Clusters and our other VMs is very difficult due to lack of documentation
I recommended Kube on Bluemix (9 out 10) to a colleague. Having one Kube cluster on BlueMix is like having your own data center which is readily available to scale up on your needs.

Suitable for:
1) Running an application which is built on a microservice architecture.
2) Running NodeJs services, proxy services.

Not suitable:
1) For running DB engines.
Read Lokesh Venkatesan's full review
Sudhanshu Nagar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Love the product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service in our IoT Platform. Currently it isn't being used across different parts of the organization. In our IoT platform, we use IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service to orchestrate about 200 micro services that are deployed on IBM Containers. Because of Kubernetes we no longer need to manage scaling and it's super easy to deploy the application.
  • Help to orchestrate the containers on with we have deployed our micro services
  • Auto scaling
  • It makes it super easy to deploy applications
  • Much better integration with the log analysis
  • Make it easy to retrieve the logs and search through them
IBM Kubernetes Service is good for the applications that are born on the cloud i.e., the applications that are cloud native. There's quite a bit of time investment required to containerize the legacy applications and only then they they can be orchestrated using IBM Kubernetes Service. Currently the cost is prohibitive.
Read Sudhanshu Nagar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

IBM Kubernetes is awesome!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using Kubernetes in our company allows us to manage multiple environments easily. In our company, we have two major products with three environments (dev, staging, and production). Kubernetes provides a concept of namespaces that allows us to isolates resources by environments. The best aspect with Kubernetes is the ability to use Docker in a secure and reliable way.
  • Isolate environments at low cost.
  • Fault-tolerant.
  • Full control on our resources.
  • Steep learning curve
  • Can be tricky to setup sometime
  • Monitoring is not completely set up at start
IBM Cloud Kubernetes is well suited for companies with a microservices architecture. Kubernetes provides service mesh tool that is perfect for microservices. However, if you only have a monolithic application, I don't think Kubernetes is a better choice than a simple CloudFoundry setup. The main advantage of Kubernetes is the ease to split resources in multiple environments, and the ability to have granular control over anything.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Kubernetes adoption

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for migrating work loads into the Cloud.
  • Gives the scale we need
  • Bundled with Dev Ops it becomes easier to deploy and operate
  • Gives us the portability across cloud providers
  • Dev Ops reference templates are not available for organizations to quickly adopt
  • Organizations want to focus on developing business features but wanted a pipeline which takes the code all the way to deployment without much human intervention. Wanted to see quick set up of Kubernetes platform along with Dev Ops capabilities as Service.
Re-platform of on-perm work loads to modernize the middleware services as a first step to modernizations and continue to modernize the app layer using micro services to optimize resource utilization
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

IBM product review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it for a POC of a mobile app back-end service during container technology evaluation.
  • Easy to setup
  • Strong support
  • Fully managed
  • Not easy to integrate with in-house tools
  • Lack of prebuilt functionality
  • Not easy to install
For services that require high availability and rapid deployment
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

Great container offer!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Kubernetes to manage our entire IoT backend services, globally. It’s a fairly complex implementation with performance and security requirements which IBM is fully delivering.
  • Highly configurable
  • Resilient
  • Secure
  • Pricing compared to competitors
Well suited: Cloud native applications, highly distributed systems.
Not well suited: legacy monolithic applications
Read this authenticated review
Paul Levy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2017

IBM Bluemix - A Paragidm Shift in Cloud Computing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Bluemix internally and for our clients across entire organizations. Bluemix enhances the connectivity between different cloud services, so that data and code can be aggregated in one central place: The Bluemix Dashboard. While similar services exist in AWS and Azure, Bluemix makes the integration highly automated and reliable. Coders can self service their section of the Bluemix infrastructure without relying on cloud networking experts to do so. Database administrators can easily share and control access to data through IBM Data Connect across more than 20 industry standard databases, and though multi-cloud vendors.
  • Sends data from IBM Data Connect to Data Analytics in one click.
  • Manages coding in the cloud IDE with continuous integration.
  • Has tool chains which aggregate different services together into a complete process.
  • Has a dashboard that is far more in-depth and intuitive than AWS or Azure.
  • Basics like DNS and routing can be challenging.
  • Uptime is not at the same level as AWS.
  • Phone support is not at the level of AWS.
  • Absolutely for prototyping.
  • Ideal for inter-company data exchanges.
  • Great for shared managed coding by dispersed teams.
  • Excellent suite of starter code.
  • Excellent AI integration via Watson, Node-Red including for IOT.
Read Paul Levy's full review
Damani Best | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2017

Test and iterate with the cognitive features of Watson

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bluemix is being used to create a platform for the delivery of electronic scheduling services.
Bluemix gave us the ability to iterate on multiple initiatives and micro-services with limited resources.
  • Prepared environment - the preparation of the platform was easy for us to spin up
  • Selection of services that we would implement. Limited need to search for varied sources
  • Our developers felt that the documentation was difficult to navigate. Time spent in the platform cleared the problem for the team.
Bluemix gave our team an opportunity to immediately begin building and testing solutions.
Our team built the forms and services they wanted in days without the need to manage a local environment and across geographical regions.
Read Damani Best's full review
Noble George | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2017

Bluemixed-bag of a review!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All the micro-services that are running to keep our VoIP platform alive are deployed over Bluemix. It provides seamless integration with our deployment model and reduces much of the hassle involved in the deployment process. Compared to a privately hosted infrastructure, a cloud solution the likes of Bluemix provides more flexibility while reducing cash burn.
  • Automation
  • Orchestration
  • Deployment
  • User Experience
  • Lack of a large worldwide availability zone options unlike competitions.
  • Certain clutter
If you're working on a new product and intents to design the same in a micro-services model, Bluemix is the goto option. It requires certain experience and training to get proficient with the tool but it's newbie friendly at the same time. Join us in using BlueMix as you major infrastructure provider
Read Noble George's full review
Gary Theis | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2017

Bluemix and Watson, great choice for Enterprise AI

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bluemix primarily as a way to access IBM Watson's suite of AI APIs, for our own use as well as proposing as a solution for other companies. Watson is one of several AI options we can support with our chatbot AIs, and is especially suitable for issues where security is important and a local install may be required.
  • Local install options.
  • Security.
  • Often for large companies IBM is already on the network and it is an easier sell.
  • Kubernetes is comparatively new there, needs maturing.
  • Getting your app available as a third party is a longish process, needs streamlining.
  • Still some shifting around and renaming of elements of the Watson APIs that can throw off development, hopefully, all is now set.
Enterprise installs and customers who already run IBM solutions are great use cases. I'd love to see more variety in native language Watson NLP support, but that's an industry issue.
Read Gary Theis's full review

About IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is a managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that users can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability for users to design their own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment. Visit the vendor's Docs pages for pricing and support information.
Categories:  Container Management

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Video

Advantages of Managed Kubernetes

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Integrations

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Competitors

Google Kubernetes Engine, Azure Kubernetes Service, Amazon EKS

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Slack Channel to Development Team

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:https://console.bluemix.net/docs/containers/cs_regions.html#regions-and-zones
Supported Languages: A managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that you can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability to design your own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment. Visit our Docs pages for pricing and support information.