IBM FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
17 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 16, 2020
My Tran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is partially used is some departments for [a] trial phase. It blocks storage systems with the ability to virtualize existing storage systems as a consolidation solution for the largest model.
  • Reduc[tion] in data compression.
  • Good performance.
  • Easy to use.
  • They can include Amazon S3 file system protocol in the upcoming releases.
  • By creating a customized patch for a client, they don't really solve the issue for everyone. If multiple users have the same bug, IBM should upload the patch on the official website so that we can download it.
  • They can include the functionality to stretch a cluster natively without using any additional boxes.
I am working only on high-end storage. IBM provides a free workload script that can be applied to any environment, such as Windows, Unix, or Linux. Only purchase this when you know about the size, there has to be enough time spent on performance metrics, analyzing the workload.
Typically we deploy data protection, and disaster recovery of workloads in the cloud, and on-premises. If I need to know about a platform or the base platform on which I'm working, I try to read up on their model. We are also storage integrators and solution providers. The primary use case is for storage, enterprise workloads, and databases.
The biggest lesson we've learned so far is that hyper-converged storage is good for smaller workloads, but the re-syncing after a failure will be a problem for big workloads. The IBM System is top-notch and offers all the features we need to keep going for another 5 years.
Read My Tran's full review
December 14, 2020
Gonzalo Angeleri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We mostly use this system in a hybrid cloud environment for the whole organization. It is easy to use and maintain and it has a very good performance for a mid-size enterprise. We use it as a storage system for core custom applications. Previously we used a V3000 series and upgraded it to V5000 due to new requirements and we are very happy with the decision. Also price-performance ratio is good.
  • Great user interface.
  • Good performance with SSD SAS.
  • Very affordable.
  • Easy to scale.
  • Lack of 32Gb fibre channel.
This system allows you to quickly consolidate, simplify, and optimize your IT infrastructure with an efficient, highly flexible, easy-to-use storage system with powerful virtualization features. It is designed for businesses of all sizes including small, remote, and branch offices and regional and enterprise clients. It is a self-optimizing solution that requires less management, which enables organizations to overcome their storage challenges.
IBM FlashSystem 5000 are affordable for mid-sized organizations delivering high-performance storage solutions that are easy to use and grow. The cost-benefit ratio is very good for this product and it is difficult to find other products in the market with the same performance, quality and cost.
Read Gonzalo Angeleri's full review
December 13, 2020
Nathan Richardson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem 5000 is currently being used as a company wide external storage solution. We chose it as an upgrade to our previous data storage and warehousing solutions, which were mainly comprised of internal storage methods. We have been very satisfied with FlashSystem 5000, as it has greatly reduced our downtime and overhead.
  • Highly-reliable storage.
  • Great for large amounts of data and analysis.
  • More robust than V5000E was.
  • Confusing interface.
  • Somewhat misleading use case claims.
  • Hard to understand the difference between FlashSystem and V7000 Gen 3.
FlashSystem shines in scenarios where large amounts of data need to be processed and analyzed. When compared to similar systems, IBM FlashSystem stands out as highly efficient in its runtimes, lag times, and overall execution time. We have benefited greatly as a company from these reduced lag times.
Although we have now moved beyond the average midsized application workloads described above, we were in the described situation for several years while using FlashSystem 5000. We found that it met our needs with flying colors, even with a relatively small IT budget. It isn't cheap, but it gets the job done well, and saves money and overhead in the process.
Read Nathan Richardson's full review
December 05, 2020
Alexander Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fujitsu used Storwize for a variety of different tasks, primarily for ETERNUS systems hybrid systems. The incredible speed of the solid storage of IBM [FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E)] was incredibly powerful and far faster than tape or hard-drive storage in our hybrid systems. It allowed for quicker caching which then could be stored into tape or hard-drive.
  • Incredible transfer speed
  • Easily integrates with hybrid systems
  • Excellent disaster recovery
  • NVMe storage understandably far more expensive than tape or hard-drive
  • Machines are huge despite not having as many moving parts
  • If you're not using Cisco systems it's not as easy to set up
When incredibly fast storage is needed, with excellent redundancy and disaster recovery also. With IBM's solution there's large room for scalability. It's perfect for use-cases such as AI or Machine Learning where access to big data is required very quickly and accurately. A use case where it wouldn't be as useful is where the data is not required at the amazing transfer speeds that solid state offers.
IBM [FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E)] is incredibly effective for mid-sized organisations, and excellent for large scale organisations too. I believe that when applied to big data, artificial intelligence and machine learning, IBM 5000 is perfect. Fujitsu and Siemens used this tool to be the source of data to analyse terabytes of images for AI purposes.
Read Alexander Cooper's full review
December 11, 2020
Roberto Etcheverry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
An IBM Flashsystem 5030 is the main storage system for our company. It provides the storage for our in-house VMWare servers and to our customer's hosted IBM POWER Systems.
  • It provides a very good balance of price and benefits.
  • Easy migration from older systems using virtualization.
  • Allows the customer to balance performance vs capacity (Data Reduction Pools in the FS5030 have a performance impact due to not having hardware accelerators).
  • Allowing the system to cluster with older Storwize code levels / different machine types would allow for a seamless migration.
  • Data Reduction Pools still do not show the per-volume capacity savings, only per-pool.
As entry-level Flash-capable storage, it is second to none. As long as the performance sizing is done correctly, this storage is well suited both for Virtual Machine workloads (using SSDs and Easy Tier) and cold data archiving (using Nearline SAS high-capacity drives). If data reduction and low latency are required, you might be better served by a Flashsystem 5100 or 7200 using NVMe Flashcore modules with dedicated compression hardware.
The FlashSystem 5030 incorporates the same Spectrum Virtualize software stack as the rest of the family, which brings great performance and software features. By keeping an entry-level tier of storage with cheaper SAS drives, the FlashSystem 5030 allows our organization to take advantage of enhanced performance without having to spend a lot of money on NVMe storage and still use the Spectrum Virtualize features.
Read Roberto Etcheverry's full review
December 09, 2020
Odysseas Basdekis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IBM FlashSystem 500 (formerly Storwize V5000E) hosts the virtual disks of multiple VMs. The most important/critical of them are the CRM DB, ERP DB, and several applications servers. The plan is to migrate all VMs on the IBM system (some 400 VMs). It is used for the whole organization. Regarding the installation and configuration, it is one of the easiest we used so far.


  • It's fast
  • The support is phenomenal
  • Very easy to keep an eye on performance metrics, even remotely
  • It's a bit tricky to expand/add storage in the pools
I cannot think of something that the IBM FlashSystem 500 (formerly Storwize V5000E) is not suitable for. On the other hand, it's great for your first-in-line storage, since it also has the ability to manage your older storage systems (external storage connectivity). One of the most important features that the system offers is, of course, the replication. Easily as 1-2-3, you can replicate all your important systems and services to a remote site or a nearby center.


Very effective, and this because its configuration is very customizable. You can have multiple type of disks in order to host apps that have different throughput and IOPS needs and/or recommendations. It has a lot of important technologies available that help the organization to its COB plans, DRS planning, and in general for the organization's HA plans
Read Odysseas Basdekis's full review
December 05, 2020
Mark Lewandowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[IBM FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E) is part of our Storage system / SAN in IT for the whole organization Server/VMware/ERP/SIS/DW storage
  • Strength - an IBM storage system which is rock solid
  • It is been very reliable, no issues, has great performance
  • Integrated into our systems very easily
  • I have no improvements at this time
[IBM FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E)] fit into our Tier1 storage easily, where we migrated the old disk based Tier 1 storage to Tier 2. Works very well with big systems like ERP. Seems a bit overkill for some VMware servers/applications that are CPU bound.
We are large but fit well into midsize systems. We have had a variety of IBM storage solutions from Shark, DS4800 V7000 v5000 and now this.
All have met the goals at the time acquired and application mix we had.
As a K-12 our budgets are always tight. and was a bit pricey but well worth the functionality we received once it was put in.
Read Mark Lewandowski's full review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With a limited IT budget, but with a requirement for a very fast storage that would have great performance for our data warehouse needs, we went with IBM FlashSystem and we couldn't [have] been more happy. Great solution that has provided us the capability to run some 21th century technologies, like AI and ML solutions.
As our group policy rejects any cloud based solutions, we are still dependent on a modern data centre solutions that would provide as same performance and reliability that would cloud based solutions do.
  • Performance.
  • Great stability close to 100% uptime.
  • Management is a bit difficult.
IBM FlashSystem 5000 is a great solution if you need [an] easy to deploy solution that can be very easily expanded if your data grows over time and you reach the capacity maximum. It is also cloud ready, so once we will be allowed to use cloud services we will be able to keep this solution on premise and integrate it, not just throw it away.
Great solution that has integrated great with our other hardware as well as software like vmware and can provide a storage for not only virtual machines but also for containers, like dockers.
With a great IBM partner network we have felt that even if we would run into some issues we would have somebody that would help us to resolve it.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased 3 Storwize V5030E arrays over the last 2 years. It is servicing everything from our core ERP system to bulk file and backup storage. The biggest differentiator for us is the ability to connect the IBM S914 Power9 platform and run IBMi on external storage at a reasonable cost. This greatly increases our flexibility to back up and clone our production environment without it being a major event.
  • IBMi Support.
  • Inexpensive, performant all flash storage.
  • Good call home / proactive support.
  • Inability to add to storage to existing pools without destroying them first.
  • Detailed statistics on volume usage disappear when utilizing space saving options such as deduplication and compression.
On one end of the spectrum, the support for IBMi is a crucial feature not available on non-IBM storage. On the other, the whole issue of not being able to expand a disk pool on the fly is kind of ridiculous for enterprise storage in 2020.

Being able to buy a reasonably priced all flash array that can be direct attached to a Power9/IBMi system is great. We also have one that is SAN attached, so you can go either direction with it.
The 5K is extremely effective in its target midsize market. The cost of the array and its components, especially compared to what is essentially the same hardware in the V7K, is extremely low. We weren't overly concerned with the cost, but the low price point allowed us to rethink some decisions around fewer large vs. more small arrays to create smaller failure domains around applications/services.

If you need basic block storage with great performance at a low price point, it would be ridiculous to look elsewhere.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being higher end device, [IBM FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E)] is being used by our entire organization. We use this for all our network storage needs, including Exchange 2013 database storage, shared network drives storage and we are planning to migrate our ERP's SQL database over to that storage solution as soon as the festive season is over.
  • Disruption free firmware updates (two computer core cannisters that can be updated independently of each other)
  • Great iSCSI performance over 10gbps network
  • Easy to set up and use
  • The admin interface can be better
  • Sometimes the support team can be a bit unhelpful
The [IBM FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E)] systems from IBM are a great network storage solution. They are scalable, the uptime is amazing, due to multiple control nodes (cannisters as they call them). I have no complaints in regards to performance either. The system works really well over iSCSI, paired with windows server 2012R2 and I am currently running some tests on Linux, which seem to be going well too.
Since moving the exchange database to the [IBM FlashSystem 5000], I have not had issues with performance, and I am planning on moving our ERP database on the [IBM FlashSystem] too.
The one issue I had was with it not recognizing disks, that were meant to be supported, and their support was not great helping out there, however, at the end, we managed to get it sorted and it is all working as it should.
Being my sole storage solution, i believe the [IBM FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E)] system is doing an outstanding job keeping up with our network file system, as well as Exchange databases. I plan on moving the ERP database on that device, however, I am certain that it would not be an issue, as I have done that in the past for a much more demanding ERP and I have not had any issues.
It has been great on the budget too, as it scales up or down as much as an organization needs.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is using IBM FlashSystem 5000 [(formerly Storwize V5000E)] to serve assets extremely
quickly. Modern technology such as this helps us go for affordability
as well as performance. It is currently being used by the whole
organization. In addition, it addresses issues such as CDN speed and
page load times, helping us with our primary hosting job.
  • Extremely easy to scale - because of it's Hybrid Cloud tech, it's extremely flexible
  • Simple GUI, helped our IT department
  • Deduplication and compression options were especially helpful with serving large assets
  • Customer support was less than decent
  • Expensive to maintain, though this can vary
IBM FlashSystem 5000 [(formerly Storwize V5000E)] is well suited for any applications requiring fast data transfer and processing. It has a variety of different embedded technologies that assist with this purpose, and I hear it's very useful with artificial intelligence as well. It's not as useful as purely a static storage device, as using the data chalks the system up to it's full potential.
IBM FlashSystem 5000 [(formerly Storwize V5000E)] can be effective for organizations with midsize workloads, but the use case may vary. If doing a great amount of processing/preprocessing, the system is ideal and will definitely increase productivity. Otherwise, it's overkill and will not benefit the company much, it at all. Again, it all depends on the use case.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are doing more and more on the cloud and this system is hybrid cloud enabled and allows us to do a lot while protecting our proprietary data. It's very user friendly and has an adequate amount of functionality, actually more than adequate. It's easy to train and was the most reasonably priced option we assessed.
  • User friendly.
  • Cloud enabled.
  • Great customer support.
  • The AI is just okay.
It's very well suited to empower non-engineers to use with very little training. And the customer support allows for easy trainability. There are also a lot of optional add-ons and ways to make it extra efficient depending on what you need, it's very customizable to an extent. We are very happy with it.
It's great for midsized organizations because of what you get on a very reasonable budget. And it's so easy to integrate that you don't need a full-stack IT person to operate it. And the hybrid capabilities allow for a safety net just in case something happens you can have everything backed up and rest securely.
Read this authenticated review

IBM FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (12)
8.9
Flash Array Integration (12)
9.1
Data Compression (11)
8.5
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (12)
9.0
Simplicity (12)
8.3
Power Savings (11)
8.4

What is IBM FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E)?

IBM's FlashSystem 5000 series, formerly IBM Storwize V5000, is a storage array available in all flash or hybrid-flash deployments. It is designed to support global enterprises with "six 9's" availability and AI-driven storage management.

IBM FlashSystem 5000 (formerly Storwize V5000E) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No