IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
203 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 123)

LeShawnda Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

IBM Watson Media Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ready For Spanish uses IBM Watson Media streaming to teach our weekly kids Spanish classes to our online subscribers. This platform is used by our online teachers and allows us to broadcast and embed our pre-recorded and live Spanish courses.
  • It allows us to stream without special equipment. We mainly use our phones.
  • The quality of the videos is amazing and I love the fact that videos auto-save and you can download and edit them for later.
  • The program allows you to create playlists so that we can stream on our online channel 24/7
  • I'd like the option to be able to upload the videos directly to Vimeo.
  • The download speed could be faster.
  • The program is great and was perfect for what we needed.
I've already recommended this to other business owners who are looking for streaming ways to monetize their membership platforms. It is also very user friendly so you don't need to be a technical expert to use it.
Read LeShawnda Fitzgerald's full review
Beth Jinkerson | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming Brings Church to Travelers and Homebound Members

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My church uses IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming to webcast all public assemblies for Bible study and worship of the church that meets at 138 Providence Road in Oak Ridge TN. We are a congregation of about 145 members drawn from Oak Ridge, Clinton, and Knoxville and surrounding rural areas. The webcast serves members who are homebound or otherwise unable to attend in person. We also make the assemblies available to interested people around the world.

IBM’s video streaming service is cost-effective for us since we are such a small congregation. We are able to use open-source free products to support our video stream, making this a uniquely accessible approach to a service that is of primary importance to our mission statement.
  • This service allows multiple viewers to either set up a free, ongoing account or watch anonymously without getting an account.
  • Whether or not the viewer logs into an account or views anonymously, they can participate in the chat room, another feature of IBM’s software. Here, one can ask questions, make comments, and ask for technical support. Our webcasting team also uses this chat room feature to manage/test technical details related to webcast quality and other specific settings for the stream (I.e., sound, image, camera focus, etc.).
  • The ability to auto-record is another useful feature for us. The company offers a generous 1000 hours of recorded content per month, which is more than enough for our roughly 4 hours of streaming per week on average. This makes it possible to save an entire year of worship and study time for playback.
  • Occasionally, we experience a form of static that lasts for about 1 to 2 minutes. It appears in the live stream and in the auto-recorded file, but not in the live worship assembly. It occurs roughly 1 in every 4 hours of webcast time. I wish there was a way to trace the source of that recurring static. The diagnostic tools could be more robust.
  • It would be nice if the chat room allowed a user photo/avatar for each user to personalize that a little more.
  • I have wished for a way that an admin could use a “laser pointer” on the video window to point out something on the feed that other live viewers could see.
  • It would be wonderful to have a mini-tutorial for viewers who are not technically savvy that would inform them of how to get to the site and explain how they can use the software. For example, how they can see and type in the chat room, how to maximize the screen and make it smaller. Some of our viewers are in nursing homes or otherwise limited in capability to learn to use this on their own.
This software is ideal for any size church. The ability to purchase a modest number of viewer-hours per month for a reasonable cost (no-ads) is hugely important for non-profit organizations. Being able to live-stream, record and watch from the archives is also great. Finally, the chat room allows for a more interactive experience than traditional tv broadcasting.
Read Beth Jinkerson's full review
James Marples | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

A reliable streaming service that we've only praise for.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We livestream a range of events, from our graduation ceremony to live Q & As. Essentially livestreaming gives us wider access to our stakeholders, be it colleagues, families of our students, prospective students or current students themselves.
  • Storage of footage is excellent, clear and easily managed.
  • Syncing to our streaming system is easy.
  • Reliability is always good.
  • The preview functionality of saved footage can be very laggy.
It suits a lot of our streaming in regards to having chat functionality and also as a lot of streams are to education establishments it is often much more user friendly in comparison to more social channels like youtube or facebook in regard to accessing whilst on site. To clarify, YouTube and Facebook are blocked on a lot of school's ICT systems so they struggle to access content on there, Ustream/IBM Watson always works.
Read James Marples's full review
Walter Aho | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Flexible, affordable, and powerful.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming for our weekly Sunday Service broadcasting, and occasionally special events. We are able to use IBM's tools to track viewership and even integrate the stream and chat function into our website to reach people all over the United States. This is especially great for our elderly community and the rare occasion services are canceled due to bad weather.
  • Ease of use.
  • Flexibility of using different streaming software.
  • Great interface for viewers with no extra work.
  • Occasionally, I've had issues with losing connection, making it impossible to stream.
  • Metrics can be a little confusing to find accurate viewer numbers.
  • The web interface can make finding certain things like chat windows difficult to find.
IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming is great where the user would like have control over their in-house video system, and not have to think about it once it hits the RTMP. It's flexible enough that you don't have to be wary of using or not using specific components.
Where it would be less well-suited is someone who is not at all familiar with streaming and would need an all-in-one plug-and-play system. That being said, this is easy to use.
Read Walter Aho's full review
Edward Estes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Streaming a Seminary Classroom

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use video streaming for the online classes that we offer as part of our Master of Biblical Studies curriculum. Our online students can watch the classes live, or they can watch a recording of the class at their earliest convenience. We connect two IP address cameras to the video streaming platform (one on the students and one on the professors), and we control the cameras with an iPad. We also connect to the professor's computer as a Remote Desktop (3rd camera) to show PPT slides that he is showing to the class.
  • The streaming platform is easy to navigate from the back end. It does not take extensive training for someone to step in as a video live stream producer.
  • I like the functionality to create numerous channels to stream and host varying content.
  • Although the platform has the capability to produce a complicated stream with a lot of moving parts, it is also user-friendly enough for an iPhone user to set up a simple stream on his or her phone very easily.
  • When using a Remote Desktop source, it is very hard to connect the computer's audio to the stream. It has never worked well for us. And we have often had to use the audio from the room itself as opposed to directly from the computer.
  • The chat feature can be more natively integrated into the video source (chats could be overlayed on the video itself as opposed to the side). It would make the interaction more prominent.
  • The video editor could be significantly improved. It would be nice to be able to clip more than just the beginning and the end of a recorded video (i.e. if you want to clip a 10 second section from the middle of the video, you need to export the entire recording, import the file into a video editor, edit the video there, export the video out of the video editor, and then import the new file back into the Ustream channel).
It's better for a recording scenario than it is for a live scenario when you want rich and timely interaction. Because of the 20 second delay between what is live and what the UStream end-user is seeing, it makes meaningful interaction not as seamless as you would want it to be.
Read Edward Estes's full review
Frank Irzyk | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

I didn't know that this would be so useful at a school for the blind!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Watson Media Video Streaming to be able to provide parents and staff the ability to view significant public events in real-time and in recorded formats. Often parents and off-duty staff and even staff who are not able to leave classroom situations are able to view and participate in activities provided by the Overbrook School For The Blind and are able to view events in a time convenient to them. Students get a real kick out of being able to view performances that they were involved in after the fact. It is a bonus that the video and audio are crystal clear.
  • Stream and record significant events.
  • Stream and record staff events and meetings.
  • Stream events with moderately priced equipment.
  • Better opportunities to stream using wireless connections.
  • Simpler user interface.
IBM Watson is well suited for event streaming.
Read Frank Irzyk's full review
Jon Stothard | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Video streaming over multiple corporate sites

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a multi-site teaching facility. IBM Watson allows talks and presentations from one site to be streamed to other locations or to staff members at home. Due to the low-cost hardware required, any PC and a simple capture card, it outweighs more expensive solutions.
  • Low cost hardware requirement
  • Low cost subscription model
  • Easy to use
  • Automated subtitling included in subscription
  • More generous streaming capacity included in standard package
  • Better online video management tools - I discovered very old videos were being stored without my knowledge
Low viewership streams are where IBM Watson excels, this is not due to IBM's bandwidth capacity obviously! This is more down to a subscription model that, in effect, punishes you for having a popular stream.

There is no obvious security, so confidential data cannot be streamed using this service.

For a "quick and dirty" solution, this works well.
Read Jon Stothard's full review
Eli Garfinkel | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

IBM Watson Live streaming is Great for Religious Services

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the IBM Streaming platform annually to provide a way for sick or incapacitated members of our congregation to see and hear our High Holy Day services in the fall. Our health-challenged congregants appreciate this service, as it allows them to feel like a part of our community even though they can’t physically attend. The service also helps those who find themselves out-of-town during the holidays.
  • It makes video streaming extremely simple. Anyone with basic computer skills can set it up.
  • It is very reasonably priced and the service is much more reliable than free options.
  • The quality is good.
  • A few have complained about the audio quality, but I am not sure that this is an IBM Watson issue. It may be a microphone problem or an issue with users' speakers.
  • I would like the system to be more compatible with Chromebooks. The audio was unacceptable when I used my Chromebook for live streaming, but good when I used my Mac.
  • I'd like the silver plan to include more user hours.
Whenever you need reliable, reasonably priced live streaming, IBM Watson is your answer! It's very good for places that don't have expensive cameras and large technology budgets. I like that I can "set and forget" it; we're not allowed to fiddle with technology during the holiday, so it's very important that our streaming service works reliably.
Read Eli Garfinkel's full review
Ryan McGarry | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

IBM Watson's Video Streaming Platform is excellent at everything we knew we needed and even had important features we never even dreamed of!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the streaming platform to stream user test sessions to our research partners and across the entire company. It enables everyone to see our testing as it's happening, to see our methodologies, and to communicate our test results live.
  • Streams high-quality video and audio.
  • Shows multiple feeds (camera and screen share) in the same view.
  • Quickly change video sources to participant testing sessions.
  • Sometimes bandwidth causes video quality to become very low.
This is an excellent platform for customizing multiple video and audio sources into a single view (e.g. screen share and user's webcam).
Read Ryan McGarry's full review
Carl Samans | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Easy setup, great service. Our viewers love it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our annual conference, which takes place once a year. We live stream the sessions over a 4 day period. It gives us the ability to allow anyone to view our broadcast (with the link). Also, nice to allow comment streams.
  • Once set up, very easy to start/stop streams
  • Review saves streams, editing information
  • Sharing saved streams with others
  • Easy way to save streams and download later
  • I do not like the free version going away. It allowed us to keep streams available when we aren't live streaming (once a year).
  • Allow editing of multiple stream information (like the name).
Well suited for larger events where you don't know your target audience's availability to social media or their experience. Give them a link and they view. Also, they can go back and watch previous streams all in one place.
Read Carl Samans's full review
Johnny Ringo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Great Company - Great Support - Innovative - Pricing Model could be Better for True Disruption!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We live stream our women's wrestling matches to audiences that pay for it.
  • Customer Service
  • Platform is easy to understand
  • Lower price
The pages between the Ustream and IBM platform still even confuses me. Thankfully, I have the login page on my computer, but it's not always easy to find. One simple unified login page would probably be best if you have not went this way already. My primary thing is price. $99 per month for basic is probably still high, so I will most likely shop around for the best price. Perhaps if you are not using premium features like overlays and some of the other bells whistles, you could break things up into a more basic package, say $19 or $29 per month.
Read Johnny Ringo's full review
Victor Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Elementary

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Streaming our worship service to our community and stakeholders.
  • Ready access
  • Easy notice
  • Update on viewership
  • Renewal experience has not been easy.
  • Credit card expiry and early notice would be good.
  • Functionality could be better when in use.
Well suited for studio environments, not so functional for mobile use.
Read Victor Taylor's full review
Joshua Iley | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

The best streaming service for live corporate events

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an Audio Visual Event services provider, we use IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming for all of our live streaming needs for various clients. There are several factors that we feel make IBM's service the leading choice, including it having a rich, customizable interface, multiple channels, security features. Using the service with multiple corporate clients allows us to offer a customized solution for different clients, while keeping a uniform interface for our technical specialists.
  • Channels - Having a channel that can be customized, and having a single link that can be shared before the event without having to update links to attendees is key. Attendees then being able to access the same link to view past broadcasts is important.
  • Security - Password protection on a channel is great for those looking to have limited access or monetize a stream.
  • Having separate Q&A and chat windows is great. Some events use one or the other, or both.
  • Increased security - I would love to have channels be inaccessible to searches on the website, but still accessible via private link.
  • A separate mobile app that presenters could use just for the Q&A and Chat module would be fantastic.
  • Support for multiple hardware encoders so there could be a failover.
IBM Watson is perfect for webcasts, especially in a corporate environment. It is not well suited for 2 or 3-way web conference-style communication.
Read Joshua Iley's full review
Pierre Marais | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

What's On Media - I Be Mobile

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to stream events for my clients for public or private use. It give me the ability to stream on a private platform to clients that don't want YouTube or Facebook.
  • I like the password protection
  • The embedding options are great
  • The feedback and support functions are great
  • Playlists and scheduled broadcasts are good
  • I would like more branding options
  • I downloaded recorded streams that were of a lower quality than my actual stream quality
This platform is suited for people that don't want to use free public platforms that are full of adverts.
Read Pierre Marais's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

IBM Watson Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization to help my clients to watch interviews remotely whenever they cannot join in person at our facility located in Milan. We use it whenever it is requested by the client. We also use it to record our sessions, download the videos and make these available for watching at a later stage to reference.
  • Streaming video.
  • Recording sessions.
  • Easy link connection.
  • Password access to be able to view different projects.
  • It does not allow for the streaming of two different languages at the same time, with the possibility to record in both languages on two different files.
  • You cannot record a session for more than three hours.
  • You cannot see the name of people who are connected as viewers.
IBM Watson Media is well suited for any streaming of video content with sound. You can stream right from your laptop. I never tried from mobile as we always use it from a fixed PC connected with a digital camera and audio system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

A Simple Solution for a Live Streaming Extravaganza!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Once a year the school hosts a sporting event that attracts a large number of people. Basketball and Soccer games are played simultaneously at two different venues on campus. Some families may have more than one child participating in either event. We were tasked with providing a way to allow anyone the ability to watch a live stream on their mobile device or computer while behind a password-protected website. USTREAM has been our go-to solution to make the live stream possible. It has also opened new avenues in terms of getting content delivered to more faculty, staff, and students for other events, including special guest speakers and schoolwide announcements.
  • Simple to use with easy configuration, setup, and integration.
  • Allows for multiple channels with independent URLs.
  • Low latency, less than 10-15 sec lag in some cases.
  • Recording capabilities and management of recordings.
  • It's a cloud-based product, which has more latency than on-premises.
It's well suited for multiple streams of input, and local and remote access.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Great service! Room to grow!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the streaming service to live stream events and AGMs to remote audiences. We often get asked if there are registration stats or viewer stats. However, the options offered on the platform is limited. The service gives us an easy platform to stream via RTMP that has an embedded player.
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to customize, although there are very few options.
  • The player is simple for the audience to operate
  • Stream from the webcam through the browser is a great function, although we don't use it.
  • It means your platform can be used with professional cameras with nothing but a BLACKMAGIC web presenter or a BLACKMAGIC ATEM Mini, both of which are cheap and affordable.
  • Limited stats
  • No registration options
  • Vimeo is not as "well known" as other platforms
Suitable for:
Livestreamed events
Anything that needs a "white label" player embedded.
Large audiences.

Not suitible for:
AGMs, stock holder meetings or anything that requires stats or registration and automatic reminder emails for attendees, Check the webinar add on on zoom.us, this service provides all this but the video quality and requirement to download their program is confusing and annoying to attendees.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

A church's video of IBM Watson (Ustream Pro)

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is used to stream externally to our "customers". It is used in a house of worship, so we stream our worship services out to our congregation. This allows people who can't attend in person to feel connected to their community. It has also extended our reach into two retirement communities allowing them to age gracefully.
  • It just works!
  • Reliable.
  • Handles different devices, formats and bit rates automatically.
  • Support isn't all that helpful.
  • The online interface is lacking, hasn't changed much in 9 years.
  • No HLS ingest or other ultra low latency options.
Well suited: Small business without video experts or development team. Set it up, forget it, it just works for basic needs. Basic HTML embeds integration like websites.

Less appropriate: large streaming events (10k+ viewers), where analytics are core to your measurement of success. ULL streaming situations. I'm not aware of native app player support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Live streaming capabilities are great, but the Analytics Console could use some work

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team uses it live stream content to our website. It is being used by two departments. It allows our company to live stream events internally and externally, generating brand awareness.
  • Ability to create multiple channels for live streaming
  • Quality and reliability of the broadcasts
  • Easy to use and integrate with our website and social channels
  • Bloated user interface
  • Difficulty navigating between channels
  • Analytics Console could greatly use improvement (i.e. dynamic reporting)
Well suited for live streaming events on a website or social channels. Can't think of anywhere it would be less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Honesty

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At first IBMs video streaming service was used for live streaming meetings. Recently, when a well known video hosting website announced that they were eliminating business accounts from their platform, we needed a solution for our promotional materials. We then created a second IBM Video Streaming channel. This channel is for promotional materials that are embedded into the company website. The versatility and flexibility of the IBM video streaming platform works well for our large and smaller projects.
  • The video quality for the end user is great.
  • Very little lag
  • Simple to use
  • The editing tools need more flexibility. If something is corrupt in the center, we have to download, use other software and hope the compression will work when uploaded back to ustream.
It's great for meetings, sporting events, ceremonies. It would not be good for creating online content. It needs a better editor.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Easy to use and reliable video streaming

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Each week we livestream our Sunday service to viewers who are unable to attend in person, including a number who don't even live in our area.
  • The streaming service is relatively easy to set up and is reliable.
  • For those occasional weeks when we lose our internet connection, I appreciate the ability to upload our locally saved version of the video so our regular watchers can still access a video via the IBM site.
  • In past years we've had occasional interruptions in our livestream (that weren't directly attributable to our local internet connection), but the reliability has improved over the last year or so.
  • Some weeks I need to download the livestream video for our local archive. This process takes much longer than I would expect (multiple hours before the video is available for download).
  • While this product offers many features for editing and promoting our videos, we do not use those services and will likely research less expensive options for our limited needs.
This product would be well suited for organizations that have multiple videos to manage, edit and promote, but not necessarily cost-effective for smaller organizations that manage fewer videos.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Service itself is good, but support from IBM is terrible and has impacted our business.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ustream to live stream research sessions to clients that can't attend. We give clients a URL an unique password.
  • Reliable service - we hardly ever run into technical difficulties
  • The back end is rather complex and has lots of unnecessary sections. It is not intuitive.
The service itself is very well suited to quickly setting up streaming for clients. however, the tech support is almost non-existent, and the help desk team do not read emails properly, so if you ever run into a technical issue, or an issue with your account, you won't be able to get it resolved easily.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

IBM's screamin'-fast streamin'

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Livestreaming all school events from concerts to sports
  • high-definition video
  • graphic capabilities
  • multiple channels for streaming
  • titling capabilities
  • preset keying options
  • I initially saw dropped broadcasts due to usb conflicts with different accepted video mixers--this could have also been due to mixer/computer incompatibility.
  • A handier GUI for audio instead of adjusting audio going to the audio window separately
  • Some preset titling revealers for sports livestreaming would be helpful.
  • An ability to link with existing scoreboards for livestreaming
It is most likely suited for accepting input from any mixer and showing those cameras. I have not seen how well it is able to represent multiple cameras within mixers or if that is even possible. I do like the virtual display capability for separate monitors--I cannot vouch for how easy that is to set up.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Pretty good product.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We stream our weekly services.
  • Stores media
  • Transfers to Youtube
  • Download capability
  • Support
  • Too Expensive
  • Downloads take too long.
You can get the same service with Youtube for free. Editing video is tedious and time consuming.
Sound quality could be improved. The service is mostly plug and play. When data limits are reached streaming shuts off. Users need basic understanding of editing. Could use more tutorials. Changing text is not intuitive. Menus options could be clearer.
Read this authenticated review
Loual Puliafito | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2019

Best Streaming service!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At St. Patrick's Cathedral, the video streaming service is used every day for daily Mass. We also stream organ recitals, music concerts, and special occasions. Yes the streaming service is used by the entire organization. The biggest problem addressed is sharing the good works of the Cathedral with those people who are homebound or live in another part of the country or world.
  • It's great at hosting large amount of streamers at once. We reach upwards of 5,000 at a time.
  • The stream adjusts to the device the user is using.
  • Placing information in the stream is very easy.
  • I would like for it to approve its capabilities with connecting to social media.
Let's just say I was in a unique situation where all I had was my phone. I could literally broadcast a stream from my iPhone. Amazing!
Read Loual Puliafito's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Lead generation (34)
6.2
Video personalization (63)
6.9
eCommerce (30)
4.4
Support for advertisements (23)
5.4
Video SEO (27)
6.3
Integration to Marketing Automation (7)
6.3
Integration to Salesforce.com (2)
6.4
Integration to LMS (2)
8.7
Video access controls (81)
8.3
User management (77)
7.7
Video link sharing (91)
8.5
Internal video (73)
8.6
External video (79)
8.7
Player customization (77)
6.6
Embedded videos (79)
7.1
Video quality / Bandwidth controls (89)
8.7
Mobile compatibility (85)
7.1
A/B testing (12)
5.8
Streaming quality reports (68)
6.9
Per viewer tracking (75)
7.3
Per video tracking (74)
7.5
Video analytics dashboard (79)
6.4
On-Demand video (64)
7.4
Live streaming (92)
9.3
Impact of streaming on network (76)
7.1
Video upload & format support (78)
7.0
Video library / File management (81)
8.3
Video portal (62)
7.9
Audience polling (36)
6.1
Audience Q&A / Live chat (58)
7.1
Video comments (48)
6.9

About IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming

IBM Watson Media (formerly IBM Cloud Video) provides an enterprise video solution, powered by Watson AI, for creating, storing, managing, broadcasting and measuring the impact of live and recorded video.

There are two editions:

  • IBM Enterprise Video Streaming (private or internal corporate communications)
  • IBM Video Streaming (external events and monetized video streaming)

Both editions include storage, event support, custom branding, content management, multi-user accounts, and real-time analytics. Both are powered by IBM Watson AI for automatic speech to text conversion and automated closed captioning.

IBM Enterprise Video Streaming is an internal video solution that secures video assets for employee use (typically access via single sign-on/corporate directories). Individual viewer tracking measures engagement on a per video or viewer basis. This solution is often used in conjunction with IBM's Enterprise Content Delivery Network (ECDN) offering which does stream splitting and edge caching to help protect the corporate network from the strain of video going across the network.

IBM Video Streaming, an external video solution with optional monetization option, powers video streaming for large external audiences. It offers scalability for massive viewership using the SD-CDN, a software defined content delivery network built with QoS (Quality of Service) in mind to reliably deliver video.


Categories:  OTT,  Video

IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming Features

Video Marketing Features
Has featureLead generation
Has featureVideo personalization
Has featureAudience for distribution
Has featureeCommerce
Has featureSupport for advertisements
Has featureVideo SEO
Does not have featureIntegration to Marketing Automation
Video Platform Integrations Features
Does not have featureIntegration to Salesforce.com
Does not have featureIntegration to Marketo
Does not have featureIntegration to HubSpot
Does not have featureIntegration to Eloqua
Does not have featureIntegration to LMS
Video Security Features
Has featureVideo access controls
Has featureUser management
Has featureSSO support
Has featurePassword protection
Has featureVideo link sharing
Has featureEmbed restrictions
Has featureInternal video
Has featureExternal video
Video Player Features
Has featurePlayer customization
Has featureEmbedded videos
Has featureVideo quality / Bandwidth controls
Has featureMobile compatibility
Video Analytics Features
Does not have featureA/B testing
Has featureStreaming quality reports
Has featurePer viewer tracking
Has featurePer video tracking
Has featureVideo analytics dashboard
Video Hosting, Management & Storage Features
Has featureOn-Demand video
Has featureLive streaming
Has featureImpact of streaming on network
Has featureVideo upload & format support
Has featureVideo library / File management
Has featureVideo portal
Has featureVideo downloads
Has featureVideo editing
Has featureHigh definition support
Has featureClosed captioning / Transcription
Video Engagement Features
Has featureAudience polling
Has featureAudience Q&A / Live chat
Has featureVideo comments
Additional Features
Has featureScalability
Has featureEnterprise Security
Has featureQuality of Service
Has featureIntegrated Content Management
Has featureMulti-CDN Delivery via SD-CDN
Has featureCloud-based Transcoding
Has featureSocial Sharing with Facebook and Twitter Integration
Has featureIntegrated Chat
Has featureLive Analytics Dashboard
Has featureAuto-Recording
Has featureCustom Branding
Has featureLead Capture
Has featureLive Playlists
Has featureSupport for Professional Encoding/Production Gear
Has featureEnterprise Support Plans
Has featureManaged Event and Production Services
Has featureEnterprise Content Delivery Network (eCDN)

IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming Screenshots

IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming Integrations

SDKs and APIs are available.

IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming Competitors

Kaltura, Ooyala Flex Media Platform, Vidyard, Akamai, Brightcove, Microsoft SQL Server StreamInsight, DaCast, Livestream, Qumu, Ramp, vBrick, Kontiki, Onstream, Wowza, Sherpa, movingimage

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Video Streaming edition is available for purchase via credit card online (or via IBM salesperson if needs exceed those outlined in the online plans): https://video.ibm.com/platform/plans Enterprise Video Streaming edition must be purchased from an IBM salesperson: https://info.video.ibm.com/IBM-Watson-Media-Contact.html

IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
15%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
35%

IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Managed Event Support
Production Services

IBM Watson Media's Video Streaming Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web