Intuit Payroll Reviews

34 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Steve French | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Solid, sturdy payroll without a lot of bells and whistles

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Payment of taxes is on time and accurate
  • It handles paying Independent contractors well
  • The W-2 and 1099 process is smooth
  • The integration with Quickbooks doesn't work
  • The problem resolution process is very clunky
  • I'm not aware of the ability to integrate with HR tools
Read Steve French's full review
Kiara Elder | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Intuit Payroll Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Direct deposit
  • Unlimited payroll runs
  • Updating timesheets for accuracy
  • When it's down it takes a bit to get it up and going again.
  • Not for the computer illiterate.
  • Getting help can be a chore with their call centers.
Read Kiara Elder's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2018

Intuit Payroll

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Files your taxes correctly.
  • User-Friendly - Easy to set up new employee and payroll information.
  • Currently I do not know of any features or functionality that I would like to see change.
Read this authenticated review
Jake Douglas | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2018

The Benefits are Worth It

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The top feature for me is the 24-48 hour direct deposit turn-around. Intuit Payroll has the feature for quick payroll turn-around.
  • Once it is setup, it is easy to use. It only takes a few clicks to process a payroll.
  • There are various price points for the various Intuit Payroll products. It means Intuit offers a solution for several different types of businesses depending on the needs and how involved you want to be.
  • My biggest issue is that they do continue to raise their prices on a regular basis and it makes people feel stuck when there are so many clients already using the system.
  • They do not support roaming employees, so employees that cross over into various tax jurisdictions in one pay period pose a challenge for calculating taxes and pay.
  • The setup can be a bit daunting still if you are not familiar with the system or the various taxes and requirements for reporting.
Read Jake Douglas's full review
Laurence Sarner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2016

A Cloud Payroll Service That's Perfect For Quickbooks Users

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great integration with QuickBooks accounting software.
  • Good reporting functionality.
  • Great ease of use/navigation/data entry flow.
  • I believe the integration around some non-Intuit software is limited (ie. CRM systems, etc.).
  • Additional fees for sending contractor Form 1099s.
  • Pricing not extremely competitive although bundled discounts if used in conjunction with QuickBooks accounting software.
Read Laurence Sarner's full review
David Worrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2016

Perfectly simple, simply perfect.... But not a robust solution for a complex company

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration with QuickBooks Desktop. This is the key strength of IP... it is a complete, native integration and let's you maintain all employee records and time keeping in QuickBooks
  • Job Costing. Another key differentiation -- some payroll outsources say they do true job costing (by work or item code). Don't believe them. If its' not integrated with your accounting system, you will not get "TRUE" job costing. You can get costs ASSIGNED to jobs (which may be fine), but you won't get item level detail in QuickBooks from anyone but Intuit.
  • Variety of Payment options. Use Direct Deposit or manual checks... or whatever you want. Since its in QB, you can make payments any way you want.
  • Cash Flow. This is both good and bad, but IP will not take taxes out of your bank account until they are due. That's different than some other providers that want assurance that you have the tax payments available at the moment you push "SUBMIT."
  • Intuit FULL SERVICE PAYROLL, which is an online version of their product, no longer does Job Costing. See the notes under my Benefits section --- this could be a deal breaker.
  • There are a lot of flavors to choose from, which can be confusing for the buyer. Assisted Payroll, Full Service Payroll and Online Payroll all have small differences. Some (may) work only with QuickBooks Online.
  • Locks you Into QuickBooks. I'm not aware of any other integrations, so if you switch to Sage or something (but why would you!?!) you could lose much of the capabilities you get from IP.
Read David Worrell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2017

Intuit Payroll - Save time and money.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to set up.
  • Easy to use. It steps you through everything.
  • Reduces cost from needing to outsource payroll functions to a firm or having a payroll dept.
  • Sometimes there are filings that need to take place outside of the Intuit platform. It would be easier if everything could be done inside the system.
  • It would be great if there could be an automated payroll run with an email that has a button to approve it in one click.
  • Automated filings with email approval.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2017

My Review of Intuit Payroll

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuit Payroll manages all our different payroll cycles and alerts our team when it is time to process
  • Intuit Payroll calculates and maintains all tax related accounts and disburses appropriately
  • Intuit Payroll allows us to maintain a digit employee file with all relevant information pertaining to our staff.
  • I would love to be able to keep a history log of employee raises and past salaries/pay rates
  • It would be helpful to have an audit of our payroll systems to ensure we are properly accounting for all expenditures
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2016

Intuit is worth the investment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Calculating correct payroll totals with proper tax and deduction calculations
  • Provided the solution for easy direct deposit set up
  • Allowed you to do payroll remotely in case of in-climate weather situations
  • I really felt like it was such a huge improvement from running paper checks on Peachtree that I did not see a need for improvement when using it
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (5)
8.8
Support for external payroll vendors (4)
5.0
Benefit plan administration (4)
5.2
Direct deposit files (5)
8.9
Salary revision and increment management (4)
7.1
Reimbursement management (5)
8.2

About Intuit Payroll

Intuit Payroll is a small business payroll option available as a standalone software product, as an add-on with Intuit's popular QuickBooks product suite, and also as full-service payroll outsourcing.
Categories:  Payroll

Intuit Payroll Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No