MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti

MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.8 out of 100
MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti

Overview

Recent Reviews

Mobile Rusty Iron

1 out of 10
September 17, 2020
As a Mobile Device Management program, what was showcased was pretty slick. It featured all the things we were looking for to lock down …
Continue reading

Mobile Management Made Easy

10 out of 10
May 12, 2020
We use MobileIron Core (on-premises) to manage iOS devices for COPE (Company Owned, Personally Enabled) and single use devices. All mobile …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti?

MobileIron is a mobile and unified endpoint management (UEM) application from the company of the same name in Mountain View.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

7 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Endpoint Manager (Microsoft Intune + SCCM)?

Microsoft Endpoint Manager, combining the capabilities of the former Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, SCCM or ConfigMgr with the mobile device management application Microsoft Intune, is presented as a unified endpoint management option. The former Microsoft Intune is an endpoint…

What is Workspace ONE Unified Endpoint Management (UEM?

VMware acquired Airwatch in 2014. Workspace ONE is a Unified Endpoint Management (UEM) solution and is available in Standard, Advanced, Enterprise, and Advanced for VDI editions.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti?

MobileIron, acquired by Ivanti, supports enterprise security with a mobile-centric security platform for the Everywhere Enterprise. In the Everywhere Enterprise, corporate data flows freely across devices and servers in the cloud, empowering workers to be productive anywhere they need to work. To secure access and protect data across this perimeter-less enterprise, MobileIron leverages a zero trust approach, which assumes bad actors are already in the network and secure access is determined by a “never trust, always verify” model.

MobileIron’s platform combines unified endpoint management (UEM) capabilities with passwordless MFA (Zero Sign-On) and mobile threat defense (MTD) to validate the device, establish user context, verify the network, and detect and remediate threats to ensure that only authorized users, devices, apps, and services can access business resources in a “work from everywhere” world. The vendor states that over 20,000 organizations, including the world’s largest financial institutions, intelligence agencies, and other highly regulated companies, have chosen MobileIron to enable a seamless and secure user experience in the Everywhere Enterprise.

MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti Competitors

MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating Systemssystem agnostic
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesGlobal

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti?

MobileIron is a mobile and unified endpoint management (UEM) application from the company of the same name in Mountain View.

What is MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti?

The most common users of MobileIron Acquired by Ivanti are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Financial Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (106)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 53)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Standardize and regulate apps on the phones
  • Useful actions such as remote wipe phone, remote unlock, etc
  • Set standards for security such as forcing an unlock pin
  • Ironing out bugs - occasionally, Mobileiron will report that a phone successfully does a remote wipe when it has not been wiped and becomes unusable due to this.
  • Their documentation is missing a lot, especially after the Ivanti acquisition.
  • Impossible to chase down support, all of the support avenues now lead to dead ends after the Ivanti acquisition.
Noel Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy management of Apple/Android devices
  • Offer a BYOD portal so that the end user can bring in their own device and not compromise your network
  • Security management of devices to ensure they comply with security guidelines.
  • Application Deployment, they can deploy apps but it just doesn't work as well as other vendors in my eyes.
  • User device tracking, It use to exist in previous iOS versions but apple took away that functionality so now we cannot track devices and Mobile Iron still hasn't offered a solution to fix this.
  • Reporting needs to be revamped, Running any report there usually has to be done though back end tools and no nice gui interface
  • Alerting and advanced alerting doesn't work as they advertised. You again have to use back end tools to accomplish this.
September 17, 2020

Mobile Rusty Iron

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • With complete honesty, nothing.
  • Support.
  • Better Help/FAQ section.
  • Specific descriptions of what fields/settings do.
  • Specific descriptions of what settings will affect.
  • Better onboarding process.
  • Actual training and orientation sessions (PLURAL), not 1 hour of talking and send us off with well wishes while they take our money.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use management interface.
  • Very strong control of iOS and Android devices.
  • Easy integration with Microsoft Active Directory for authentication.
  • Support - Current support tickets route to India and you have to wait 24 hours to get a response asking which time zone you prefer.
  • Time lag between application pushes and deployment.
  • Technical expertise of support is lacking until you reach the final level of escalation that can easily fix your problem.
  • Support site for documentation/knowledge base is below average. On several occasions, links are provided to pages from technical support would have been impossible to find as self-serve.
Christopher McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Securely delivering email.
  • Enforcing phone security policies.
  • Providing management and visibility of mobile devices.
  • At this time, we have had users have issues with their devices checking the servers only if they use cellular and not WiFi.
  • Getting into additional features beyond the basics is not as intuitive as we would like.
  • Notifications and notification conditions could be broader to allow more types of alerts.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • MobileIron has a very clean and simple to use interface. I have used other MDMs throughout my years and MI is the most intuitive of the bunch.
  • iDevice management is well done. Though all MDMs have the same access as the others, MobileIron makes it easy to implement with clear descriptions of what each option does.
  • The technical support is, for the most part, very professional, friendly, and helpful. There are still many things that I do not know how to do with MobileIron, but I am confident I can find an answer with the help of their support. The same cannot be said for other products within this realm.
  • Documentation is hard to find. Most of MobileIron's (MI) documentation can only be accessed through an MI account. This, in itself, is not a problem. The problem is locating specific information. Typically with other MDMs, a quick google search will point you to the location of the documentation within the official website. The way MI has their documentation locked down, I cannot find anything I'm looking for through a google search. Also, there were times documentation is locked by permissions and links provided by support are inaccessible to me due to these restrictions.
  • Sales - The sales team can sometimes come off as not genuine. I understand the purpose of sales is to sell and make money for the company, but the approach sometimes feels artificial; they say they have to company's best interest in mind, but the push for a sell like a car salesman.
  • Many of the automation options are not explicitly available into MobileIron Core. I have to use a special scripting language to make MI do the things I need it to do, such as automatically retire devices that have been inactive for 60 days.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Security is excellent. We are able to manage and protect corporate information and it integrates with our existing requirements and practices. Enforcing secure passcodes and device lock/location services enables us to track all assets.
  • User experience is much improved as we can easily migrate users to new devices and there is consistent branding and app availability. When a user enrolls, their assigned apps are automatically deployed.
  • With iOS devices, zero-touch deployment and configuration is a reachable goal.
  • MobileIron provides excellent sales and post-sales service. In addition, their support model is excellent and we've never had a significant down.
  • The Core product's UI is very much in need of a refresh, but it doesn't get the love because most customers choose the cloud product, which looks entirely different.
  • Splunk integration does not work well and requires a lot of manual intervention. The Splunk MIApp doesn't work out of the box, at all.
  • There is no longer a mobile app for system management. It existed once upon a time, but is strangely missing in a platform that is all about mobile management.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • App management
  • Device management
  • User experience management
  • Location services are not always accurate, often not reporting in a location in over 72 hours. Enabling "lost mode" should force the device to send its location with each subsequent check-in but it does not.
  • Managing tags could be improved.
  • Note the above problems may not be totally the fault of MobileIron, as our devices are 100% Apple, which doesn't always allow vendors full access to the devices.
September 07, 2019

MobileIron Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Reliability and speed of the MI support staff.
  • The online portal is extremely responsive, easy to use, and clean.
  • Apple DEP integration and configuration is easy to setup and use.
  • Setup and registration for users are intuitive and any issues are easily identified and resolved.
  • Looking for a way to secure certain apps and have a clear separation between business and personal information.
  • The troubleshooting and log analysis process needs tuning. Requiring users to send log info that should be tracked innately is problematic.
  • Docs@Work needs better reporting, we have been trying to figure out how many users utilize it to no avail.
  • Cost
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • MobileIron has a very easy to deploy architecture. We reviewed other products before making our business decision to deploy MobileIron, and one of the reasons we selected MobileIron was due to the ease of deployment, the low footprint, and the ease of configuration.
  • MobileIron has a broad range of customizations and add-on products that make it an ideal product for a number of additional use cases. None of these use cases got business backing at BH Media, but Docs@Work and Apps@Work are two features that would make MobileIron an ideal tool for a customer who needs to allow BYOD or company devices the ability to access documents or applications without VPN.
  • MobileIron is supported by a large number of devices and their operating systems. In a company which allows BYOD devices, you can't always control what device a user is going to bring in. MobileIron has support for older devices and OS versions and is also quick to adopt newer devices, so a new device isn't shut out in the cold waiting for a vendor to update their software.
  • During upgrades to the Core server when a device loses contact with the Core, the MDM profile is removed from the phones and when installed back unique user customizations are lost. If a user has unique customizations this should be stored in the Core DB so that when redeployed, the customizations are added back too.
  • Android devices do not have the best mail container. The email+ feature is an add on. If this is selected then a user must rely on the native mail app for androids which is often difficult to use. iOS and other devices do not have this required add-on. This android add-on should be native to the software.
  • Android devices have a hard time handling user password changes. The passwords are cached on the android (natively) and MobileIron will quickly lock a user's AD account out. This causes our Enterprise Service Desk a headache dealing with these devices. If MobileIron flushed the credentials from an android or injected the new credentials into the android cache (which it appears to do for iOS) this would not be a headache.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of application deployment across multiple platforms
  • Advanced security policies to lock down mobile devices
  • Flexibility of deployment profiles and policies
  • Some applications lack flexibility in deployment options. This could be related to application developers themselves but some essential and popular applications like Outlook for mobile are still very hard to configure compared to others like Gmail.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Pushing security policies and email configuration is the main example of what we do and it always works great
  • Creating different labels and push needed application is very convenient, works fast.
  • Locating devices and locking them when lost, sending messages helps to locate lost devices.
  • Distribution of paid apps through Mobileiron works with some delays and you need to have Gold licenses for this option that cost 50% more. If we need something urgently installed, we just buy, for example, Bluebeam Revu app through Apple VPP and get codes to install manually.
  • It is good to have some pop-up notifications like, "your Apple development license expires soon" on such day so we do not have to look for why it is not working and we can not enroll devices, same with updates
  • Have to work on billing/purchase of licenses through a third party, AT&T in our case and they forget to apply discounts sometimes.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy configuration of iPhone using Apple DEP
  • Ability to control what apps are allowed on phones as well as pushing required apps
  • Securing devices by requiring a password and data encryption for access to corporate resources
  • Android set up could be more streamlined like Apple DEP
August 27, 2019

MobileIron Review

Efrain Orsini Jr., MSM, SecurityPlus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Reporting - between Assemble and the newer updates they do a really good job on reports
  • Updates - usually when a new version of iOS comes out they support it quickly and efficiently
  • Custom searches - I enjoy the capabilities for custom search of devices or users since we get some different requests for each company we support
  • Ease of use - compared to AirWatch, MobileIron is a little hard to use and view, but it has improved
  • Cloud instance doesn't have the same settings as on-premise currently
  • Even with the cloud instance you need something on premise to support connecting to some Microsoft products
August 24, 2019

Review of MobileIron

Sienna Archibek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is easy to push apps and other content to devices.
  • It is nice to have different permission groups for different devices.
  • I wish that you could track the device's location easier and see where they are located when you want to disable them.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Secures emails on my phone.
  • Works well with other applications like Tiger Text.
  • Have to contact a systems administrator to remove the application.
  • Not as easy to install on an android as it is on an iPhone.
August 14, 2019

UEM solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • MobileIron does a good job of inventory reports.
  • Pushing profiles across our company.
  • The user interface is not very intuitive and seems dated.
  • We are also in the process of migrating to AWS and it appears that we can not transfer our current environment.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Removes only corporate information and apps when retiring devices
  • Device registration is intuitive and robust
  • App deployment is simple and unique
  • Ability to limit user control over corporate installed apps
  • Location services for lost or stolen devices is limited
  • More separation between corporate and personal information
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Maintain a secure mobile environment
  • Keep all devices on the same iOS version
  • Provide access to mobile apps across the organization
  • Upgrading of the system is some times rocky
  • Difficulty of DEP not working when certain things are set up in iCloud
  • VPN tunnel logs are lacking
May 20, 2019

MobileIron

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • MobileIron Sentry provides a simple way to tunnel application traffic back into the organization.
  • The upgrade procedure for MobileIron appliances is fast and simple.
  • Tunneling of all applications does not work in my experience.
  • The prioritization of configurations is not intuitive.
May 18, 2019

MobileIron Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We can easily manage the devices.
  • Security is high: preventing unauthorized access, even though in the case of a lost device.
  • We can restrict users from unwanted usage and apps.
  • If we install MI Cloud on iPhone devices the already saved contacts are missing/syncing with the email contacts. Then, if we remove MI Cloud all the contacts wiped away. I had a case with MI Support before and this is something needs to be addressed by the developers.