Jama Connect Reviews

94 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-40 of 40)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

Jama: simple and streamline

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Jama for more than 2 years. I found it a very convenient platform that has facilitated requirements for gathering information and collaborating with other users working on the same goal of organizing and connecting ideas. It is very simple to use and navigate and allows all members to be connected and updated as a team.
  • Jama helped us with coordinating in a very effective way with its notification methods on a common goal or a piece of work. Every user feels connected through it no matter they are accessing it from.
  • Users can comment, asks questions and communicate like they are doing it in a small forum and express their ideas to further improve the process.
  • Connections between similar documents in a project greatly reduced the effort of navigating between pages and provides a smooth transition.
  • Accents can be added to explorer items for any new sub items added or for any recent modifications for easy identification.
  • Page layouts can be modified further for easy and comfortable reading of large documents and to export any particular part of it.
  • More export options can be added like images and PDFs.
  • Exported items can be directly attached with the email with the Jama navigation tree to share with new users as required.
  • Should enable users to add charts and images that help in describing the requirements effectively.
One place for everyone to work on project progress and development.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

The Best

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jama Connect is used by our organization as an information-centric tool to have all our client requirements in one place. It is used by a large team in our organization. It bridges the gap between the client point of contact and the Tech team by holding all the client related documents in one place. All the colleagues use Jama as the main application for finding the details about the client's work.
  • Starting from the login page, the authentication is done very well, it is user-Friendly.
  • It is soo quick and error-free, incorporating the ACID properties.
  • Highly Secure
  • User-friendly
  • The first thing would be the session time out duration.
  • The pop-up blocks.
  • Line of sight of the items being displayed.
It is well suited as a business tool holding all the client related requirements and documents at a single place. It is less suited in the place of a daily work tool. The main reason for that can be the session time outs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

Crisp Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Jama is used as a requirement gathering tool. It helps us compare the requirements with the current configuration in production. The USP of Jama is not just a requirement tool but a lot more. Any updates we make in the tool gets saved. By the help of this tool we can save Time and Money. The client is very happy to use this tool and we will convert all of our clients on to Jama. Plus, it's user-friendly as well.
  • Updates made can be easily tracked
  • User friendly
  • We can save a large amount of data.
  • The tool is good. I didn't get any missing functionally in it.
To showcase client requirements at the time of system testing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2019

Jama: Creation, Conversion, Tracking, Reporting & Dashboard Made Easy for You

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an organization that is into US Benefits Administration. Whenever we win a new client, we configure them into our systems. To do that we get business requirements from client in MS Word/MS Excel. Now, with Jama coming in we are converting word requirements to Jama and going forward for new clients we are directly updating Jama with business requirements.
  • Customized templates can be created which can be pushed to different clients without the need of recreating every time.
  • Dashboard & Reports can be created with ease and for multiple clients. this helps in getting insights and taking decisions
  • Parties outside the organization can also access Jama.
  • A different set of accesses can be defined as per user need like author, reader, administrator, etc.
  • Document sync feature.
  • Needless to say, Jama cuts down manual effort.
  • Formatting text needs to improvement like fonts types are not available.
  • Formatting table needs improvement like within the table you cannot format the sub-level of bullet
  • Smart Find/replace command that can be worked across different documents.
  • Reporting: Table within the table is not pulled up in reporting, that needs to be corrected.
  • Cell merge feature
Scenarios Jama Connected is Well Suited:
  • Standard Operating Procedures(SOP)
  • Client Requirements
  • Any other document that one has to frequently review, update and needs to be accessed by various stakeholders
  • Documents where it is needed to keep track of version, editor, etc.
Scenarios where its less appropriate:
  • One time usage documents
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

Robust and functional, but average user experience

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jama Connect is currently being used by our organization in one main department, but other teams also have access and reference it from time to time. It addresses 3 main needs: to integrate with JIRA which we use internally, to be our external face for our customers and to be our main source for reporting.
  • We like the feature where we can put things up for review externally and assign different people to either view or approve them.
  • The dashboard is helpful to show the things that we find to be important and it's good that we can show what is important to us.
  • I like the tree view to see into different levels as items are broken down. It makes things easier to find and keep organized.
  • Overall the user enjoyment could go up just by changing the font! It's not pretty to read, yet it's a lot of words.
  • I'd like to see more functionality that can be turned off or turned on in the settings so that I can start basic and build out my instance easier as I need it.
  • It would be nice to integrate with JIRA without having to go through TaskTop.
Jama is robust and functional, but it's not fun to use. I use it because it can do things that I need to do, but not because I simply enjoy the experience. It is good for large, complicated projects that need both internal tracking and external reviewing, but not ideal for developers to use to track their work.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

Jama Connect Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jama Connect is being used to track product development from requirements collection through validation evidence presentation. We use it to provide our customers with information about what we are building, why and when it will be delivered. Jama Connect is used across our entire team, but not across my entire company.
  • Requirement traceability - Understanding what a requirement entails where it came from and whether it has been incorporated into the design.
  • External collaboration - Jama Review Center has been a transformative tool for us to use to present status to external collaborators.
  • External tool interface - Bi-directional communications with JIRA has helped bridge the data gap between the Systems Engineering and the Software development teams.
  • Jama's hierarchy tree needs improvement, allowing mixed items types within a branch is a critical improvement we would like to see.
  • Jama's native dashboard is weak...there is so much more that could be done here to improve the user experience.
Jama Connect is well-suited for teams that need to track systems engineering data of all types. It's also helpful for those needing traceability to provide data context and the ability to present that data internally and to external collaborators.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

My review of Jama Connect

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our department to help organize client requirements for health and welfare.
  • Organization of requirements.
  • The client review process for approval of requirements.
  • Hard to use grammar functions, spell check is off (some words will show as misspelled when they are not), and it is difficult to italicize/bold/underline.
  • Jama is not friendly with all browsers. It is extremely slow with Internet Explorer.
  • Jama will freeze very frequently and you have to wait for all of your words to type out.
  • The search function does not work well, I can barely find anything after I put it in.
Jama will constantly freeze and it gets difficult to keep track of what you're putting in. The search function will not pull up specific words that you are searching for.

After a client has approved a specific requirement, the internal team has to submit that requirement for review (again) and put a due date of a year or more so the client is able to see the requirements in the future.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Jama - You get out what you put in

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jama is used for business requirement management and reporting.
  • Provides rapid search capabilities.
  • Provide a flexible user-defined structure to manage user stories.
  • Ability to tag and apply filters.
  • Filtering is difficult.
  • Difficult Epic-User story structure.
  • Integration with ALM is limited.
Capturing of EPIC's and User Stories is easy. Ability to structure and search is easy. Export formats to Excel are difficult to work with. Defining filters is difficult. Viewing EPICs and associated User Stories are too manual and difficult to view and report. Integration with ALM is limited.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Jama Connects idea to reality

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jama Connect for managing requirements for our most critical products. It allows us to create, review and approve requirements with full versioning and traceability through to delivery all in one place. It is used across several departments in the company, which provides effective collaboration when requirements change frequently.
  • Requirements management.
  • Requirements workflow.
  • Integration with other tools such as Atlassian JIRA and HP ALM.
  • The product is very flexible but this can mean significant configuration is required to be productive.
  • Product roadmapping features are limited.
Jama Connect is excellent for delivering complex software projects, especially as part of a full Continuous Delivery pipeline.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Only requirement gathering should be done using Jama Connect

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Jama Connect for collecting/gathering different types of requirements (i.e. business requirements, functional requirements, and non-functional requirements). We also used to get approval for those requirements to start working on it. Also, we use this as the golden source for all types of work to then track in JIRA.
  • Jama provides flexibility to add customized types of items, e.g. functional requirements, components or projects. Jama is useful for adding any specific attribute in any type of item.
  • Jama is useful to track approvals or get approvals for any specific requirement and proceed with it.
  • Jama provides a complete history of activities related to any item.
  • Jama doesn't provide any functionality or features to add any item type that has user validation in place. i.e. we added Jama_Authors item type and then used the same to create an attribute for the story. That attribute can't have the user validation, or we can not add it in Jama.
  • ALM protocol doesn't support URL type attributes in Jama 8. That must be fixed.
  • Jama doesn't provide an audit history of administrators on the UI to track the administrative activities.
  • Jama says 25,000 active items per project is good to get better performance, but it is less.
In the case of Requirement Management and Test Plans, Jama Connect is well suited. But in the case of tracking the progress of each requirement, task, or defect, JIRA is better than Jama. Workflows and other features of JIRA are better when compared to Jama. Also, Jama's backup strategy and support are not that as good as JIRA's. That's why I would not recommend Jama if you want more from the application.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

Jama to the rescue!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the tool to house all of our client requirements documentation.
  • The table of contents in the tool makes it very easy to navigate and find the information the user is looking for quickly.
  • The traceability within the tool is top notch.
  • Version control and change compare of the documentation is very easy to use.
  • We have to start a review for the client to see the content. I think this is cumbersome and that the client should be able to see approved content at anytime.
  • Converting the content into Microsoft Word should be easier for the client to do. Currently, they are not able to do this.
This tool has been easy to use and is functioning as a great repository for our client requirements documentation.
Read this authenticated review
Fred Sookiasian | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2017

Jama Review for the Curious Mind

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jama started being used as a part of a larger department of 25 people which also served as the "test bed" and "pilot" for cross-company as well as enterprise-wide use (we currently are a company of about 800 that is a part of a bigger corporation consisting of thousands of staff). The business problem it addresses is that it provides far better ability to enter, track, manage and report on software requirements than our previous application. It also solves the age old problem of costly maintenance and customization of tools such as this.
  • Jama has the keen ability to provide hierarchy for requirements in a collapsible tree style management view allowing for far better reach of information then many of the other system we have used.
  • Jama has the ability to create filters, tags and custom searches in order to better disseminate large scale requirements in order to be able to get from building to testing in less time.
  • Jama possesses the ability to create and link between test assets and have a very intelligible view of managing the bridge between both worlds. It also allows for creation and management of test runs for different iterations of the test cycle; whether it is a dry run, full regression or partial corner case execution.
  • Jama has great ability to create custom output from Excel files to Word which can filter and mine the data from requirements to test assets and present them in different print view for consumption of different audiences and stakeholders in different parts of the teams.
  • Jama can have better overall SDLC management components especially bridging between different ALM tools.
  • Jama is not an ALM tool but can have some better customization of defect reporting mechanisms as well as test run approach.
  • Jama's ability to break out steps into sub-children in a test plan hierarchy can use a bit of improvement to make it more modular.
Jama is well suited for smaller to mid size companies from my usage and time spent with it and I can see it as a powerful tool possible for larger ERP scale implementation of systems. However, in those situations, some companies may prefer an all-around ALM suite especially linking business process components to BPT testing and other gateways to automation. That may be an issue since Jama is a bit flat in the ability to support and link to provide that level of throughput for ALM implementation.
Read Fred Sookiasian's full review
Jason Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2016

Waterfall Requirements management at its best.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jama was used at my former employer as an internal service offering to all company project teams. It was offered free of charge to any client we were supporting as a requirements management tool and also addressed requirements traceability, defect tracking, test case management, and a data object dictionary in some cases.
  • Requirements generation and workflow. It's fairly simple to set up a requirements template and create a workflow for progression.
  • Hierarchical categorization. While it may not seem like a big deal but the ease of which you can create parent child relationships makes it easy to group similar requirements (user stories) under related epics or folders. This is very helpful when trying to visualize at a glance what releases contained which features and not something some Agile tools are very good at..ahem...JIRA.
  • Requirements traceability. While it does offer some pretty good traceability options it could benefit from more dynamic updates. (e.g. If all my downstream requirements are "met," how about auto updating a status field in the upstream requirement so I can tell the larger item (epic) is complete?
  • Jama-JIRA connector was spotty at times. We used this to connect high level requirements down to the agile teams that were working on them, synchronization seemed to be working about 85% of the time.
  • Project administrators don't have enough permissions. For example you need to be a Jama administrator [or] a project admin to create workflow for your particular project. You also cannot customize object types (e.g. a requirement). I don't know any two projects that use all the same fields.
Jama works better for a traditional (aka waterfall) style application lifecycle style project. If your environment is primarily operating under an agile methodology, there are better tools out there. If you have to generate repeated requirements traceabily reports, this is your tool.
Read Jason Hall's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Got a very complex product? Adopt Jama, it's best for your requirements management!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are basically integration solution provider and have an active partnership with Jama. We help their customers integrate Jama with other systems such as JIRA, Salesforce, Git, Jenkins, TFS, PTC Integrity etc. So, Jama's enterprise-level customers can now synchronize data across systems using the OpsHub Integration Manager, our flagship solution.

A possible use case can be integrating Requirements in Jama to Epics in JIRA. So, a product manager creates a requirement in Jama, the JIRA users get an epic created automatically. Any changes made in either of requirement or epic gets synchronized bi-directionally to both the systems. This maintains traceability and data consistency.
  • Flexibility to create a custom requirement management ecosystem.
  • I love the fact that a Jama user can choose from a large variety of existing entities, but at the same time, also create new components and sort and manage them effectively. One can link different entities, bundle them and segregate them.
  • Traceability
  • Jama focuses a lot on maintaining traceability. And anyone who uses Jama will notice this. For even a delta change in the requirement or entity, it locks in the time stamp and the user. This proves to be a very useful feature in industries where data traceability is critical. Jama is thus best suited for requirement management in industries like aerospace, defense, and healthcare. One can always go back and get the whole audit trail.
  • The Trace View and Reading View
  • In a complex scenario, where one has to manage hundreds of requirements, Jama provides the best way to analyze them. The new features like Trace View and Reading View (which were absent in earlier versions) make requirements management more intuitive. Users can create a custom filter and view as well, this is great.
  • I think these guys should really work on the User Interface. The UI is intuitive but can be more user-friendly. For an example, color coding the entities according to Priority, Status would be awesome. JIRA does a great job in doing this. Something similar can be done in Jama.
  • Though Jama claims to be a Product Development Tool, it is actually very good at just managing requirements. All the other important aspects have been ignored in Jama (like test suite, bug/defect tracking). This is a reason that other tools like JIRA, Git, HP QC have to be deployed complimentary to Jama. The integration of these tools becomes very important and there are only a few reliable integration solutions available in the market.
Jama is best suited for industries with complex products. These include industries like aerospace, semiconductor etc. Also, industries where data traceability is important - like healthcare, defense etc.

A product like Jama, according to me, is not useful for scenarios where inter-team dependency is minimal or the product developed is not very complex. One does not require a powerful tool like Jama there and a very basic requirement management tool would suffice.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2018

Jama Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jama is the primary requirement tool used by the BSA team. We're moving over from Agile Central and are in the process of implementing it for all projects. QAs and other departments have just started to use the tool.
  • Coverage Explorer gives a great view on the complete flow from requirements to tests and defects.
  • Linking between requirements and test assets and defects are intuitive.
  • Release management is pretty good.
  • We are trying to integrate Jama with SoapUI and haven't found an easy way of handling it.
  • While integrating with Agile central, "one to many" and "many to one" mapping worked. But unable to map "many to many" folders/assets.
  • Support resources available are less.
Well suited
-Waterfall model requirements
-Coverage Explorer
-Requirements-Test Assets-Defects mapping

Less suited
-Scrum/Agile
Read this authenticated review

About Jama Connect

Jama Connect is a product development platform for requirements, test and risk management. Companies developing complex products, systems and software, can define, align and execute on what they need to build, reducing lengthy cycle times, effort spent on proving compliance and wasteful rework.

Jama Connect Features

Has featureJama Connect
Has featureJama Risk Management Center

Jama Connect Screenshots

Jama Connect Videos (2)

Watch Jama Software + Spaceflight

Watch Jama for Jira Integration

Jama Connect Downloadables

Jama Connect Integrations

Jira Software, Rally Software (formerly CA Agile Central), AA Projekts, AFuzion, ANSYS, Carahsoft, Intercax, LDRA, OpsHub Integration Manager, Sodius, Tasktop, TraceTronic, VectorCAST, Quality Center (formerly HP Quality Center), TestRail, Zephyr, Collabnet VersionOne, Azure DevOps Server (previously TFS)

Jama Connect Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Jama Connect Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
30%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
70%

Jama Connect Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Jama Connect Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No