TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/M1/My/PIVU6BETBT1N.pngJaspersoft--Power, Flexibility and SimplicityWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s) We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Jaspersoft can be seamlessly embedded into web applications. Jaspersoft is easily customized allowing nearly complete control over the reporting environment. Jaspersoft is scalable allowing it to grow to meet the needs of our growing user base as our deployment rolls out across the country. Jaspersoft is easy to learn for the report developer.,Jaspersoft Studio is a little "buggy" having to be closed and re-opened periodically throughout the day. Multi-select queries return and load the entire query result set rather than allowing "lazy-loading" of records as a user scrolls. This results in slow loading report parameter screens as the lists are loaded. It would be great to have source control (such as Version One or Git) better integrated into Jaspersoft. Version 6.4.3.final of Jaspersoft Studio has some bugs where some button on the main toolbar simply do not function (such as "Publish the file on JasperReports Server."),9,Jaspersoft has had a huge positive impact for my company. Our reporting platform has been one of the most reliable parts of our new system having been running in production for more than six months without a single production outage. The users love the ability to run reports themselves, real-time and export them in a number of formats. As a developer, I appreciate the back-end ability to monitor and debug any issues the users have such as report performance and accessibility. Having the ability to use a pre-defined template for new report creation allows for the rapid creation and deployment of new reports in a matter of days rather than weeks or months.,Our current implementation of Jaspersoft touches two data sources in a single web interface. Although we do not currently use Jaspersoft across multiple platforms or a large variety of data sources, we realize that may be a future need and appreciate the flexibility provided by Jaspersoft if that need arises. As our company continues to grow and we integrate more of our business units together, this broad platform support may become critically important in the future.,Multi-tenancy is a feature we currently use as we provide reports to internal users for client reports, reports to external clients (specific to an account) and accounting reports to our internal financial team. As all of these reports are accessed through the same web-interface it is critical to segment them by security and profiles.,,9,Implemented in-house,10,Self-taught,The product was quite easy to learn the basics. Once I got more deeply into the product and began developing more complex solutions, my training became more intricate and I had to learn the product in more detail. However, overall would rate Jaspersoft as one of the more intuitive report development interfaces I have used.,No key insights come to mind.Jaspersoft in a high demand 24/7 operationWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Support is excellent - very quick response time and good information. Report server seems to run quickly and reliably without much attention. Training material readily available. Significant ability to customize the product,I would like to see an administrator dashboard in the report server tool to monitor report generations, report failures, currently running reports with ability to kill long running reports, etc. GUI access to the many, many settings that can be added/tweaked on the report server. I would like to see easier access to add functions within the report without writing an external jar file. we don't use java on a day to day basis so I found the process of adding a custom library of functions a little awkward. We also allow our users to make copies of our reports to customize on their own. Since they are non-technical, the process of writing a function for themselves is usually over their heads. Our customers are very much missing the ability to select specific fields from a print-ready report display and export to Excel. Our previous product had it and we hear it from everyone as we replace it. Current export of a print-formatted report to Excel tries to render it so it looks visibly the same, but it just ends up unusable for any sort of normal spreadsheet usage.,7,The price of the product and support agreement was the attraction for us. The nature of the licensing agreement was much more friendly than our previous experience.,These types of considerations don't usually come up until you run into a roadblock. And I suppose it says something that we have not run into one yet. There always seemed to be a different approach to take as we implemented such that we have not run into any problems that could not be overcome. We only have two different datasource options, we dictated the platform for the report server, and we left the report server using the default application server and repository database so we are not likely one of the more demanding architectures.,This is something we have little experience in yet, but are happy to see that the product seems to support that well. We do have a cloud offering and appreciate the ability to have clear separation between customers.,,8,Yes,No,adding simple changes to table based reports through the screen viewer is quite nice. sorting, filtering, hiding and showing columns, etc. Also the ability to save those changes as a new report format. the timezone shifting on dates and times printed on the report was surprisingly easy. we were using TIMEZONE WITH LOCAL TIMEZONE database types with Oracle to accomplish the timezone shifting for us, but Jasper accomplishes the same thing with any date/time data type. comparing report changes from one version to the next. Since the report is all XML, it's a simple visual diff.,Determining what reports are currently executing without diving into the API, and creating your own UI to manage them.,Yes, but I don't use it,7Jaspersoft -- Flexibility and Power at the Core of your BusinessWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Flexibility. TIBCO Jaspersoft is extremely flexible. We use the embedded report engine to crank out thousands of static reports in PDF and Excel format. We use JasperServer to serve up HTML and javascript based dynamic reports and dashboards through visualize.js. We also use JasperServer directly for working with data in an ad hoc fashion. There are even ETL capabilities (though we haven't really explored those much). There is also flexibility when it comes to connecting to different data sources, defining security, etc. Within reports you aren't even limited to the libraries that JasperSoft provides! We've done some very rich and complex visualizations through JasperSoft using third party libraries like D3.js. Really, the sky is the limit. I haven't run into a data presentation problem yet that I can't solve at least in part by using Jaspersoft. Report creation tools. Jaspersoft Studio is extremely powerful. It is also a very familiar environment for folks coming from other report creation tools. This is important to us because we have to train dozens of report writers across our clients every year. For those that come from Crystal Reports, Jaspersoft Studio feels very intuitive very quickly. Pixel perfection. We have a lot of standardized reports from the IRS and other government entities. Jaspersoft makes it easy to put a very visually complex form together quickly and accurately. Power. I have yet to run into a reporting problem Jaspersoft cannot solve.,Excel defaults. When designing a report for PDF then exporting to Excel, Jaspersoft, in an effort to maintain pixel perfection, makes the excel version a bit unusable. It is possible to mitigate some of that with some intelligent directives but it would be easier if some things -- getting rid of extraneous rows and columns, for example, would behave a bit more intuitively without intervention. More intuitive security on JasperServer. Much of the security features on Domains and Ad Hoc reporting require either direct manipulation of SQL, XML, or repository placement. I'd like to see some intuitive screens for setting up security in a more visual and intuitive manner. More flexible security on JasperServer. I'd also like to see security down to the data source layer. Going through Domains is not always viable. Better automatic validation up and down the Datasource to Domain to Ad Hoc chain when there is a change to a datasource or domain.,10,Online training In-person training Self-taught,We moved our clients from Crystal Reports to JasperSoft. Under SAP Crystal became far less flexible and prohibitively expensive. With JasperSoft we regained the flexibility and power that we required for our embedded reporting solution with the bonus (now a business necessity) of embedded dynamic reports and ad hoc capabilities to boot! We've trained dozens of report developers of a variety of skill levels to use JasperSoft and have been very successful. The conversion of hundreds of Crystal Reports has gone very smoothly. I don't think any other tool would have felt as familiar as Crystal and I don't think we would have been as successful with this business critical transition. We have been able to offer more reporting capability to our customers for far less cost while providing an environment that felt comfortable and familiar. JasperSoft has continued to innovate and grow and we continue to leverage those innovations every chance we get. Our ROI has been tremendous. There have been many sales made where JasperSofts capabilities over their competitors absolutely made the difference.,Broad platform support is important to us and our clients because school districts operate many different systems and they must report against systems they have very little control over like state data repositories. They also have requirements that are non-negotiable depending on their local political landscape and previous agreements like their database type, or whether they can operate in a hosted environment, multi-tenant environment, or if they have to stay on-prem or in a government run or sanctioned IT service center.,For us, multi-tenancy isn't that important. Having that capability has made local testing and development deployments easier, however, so we do appreciate it.,,8,Implemented in-house,8,40,7,Basic static reports against our client's databases. Dynamic Dashboards generated from our client's data. Ad Hoc reporting for executive-level employees of our clients.,Some of our clients have been able to take dashboards that we've generated to be embedded in our products pages and repurpose them for their own public-facing portals. If there are any changes in the underlying logic, their portal dashboards are updated at the same time!,Right now we use very specific 'Dashboard pages' to show dynamic reports and graphs. In the future, we plan on embedding dynamic, interactive graphs seamlessly throughout our product.,10,Yes,Price Product Features Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Third-party Reviews,I wouldn't. It's worked out beautifully.,Yes,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,Figuring out the security module Figuring out deployment workflow with our current operations processes Training our clients to use the new system Excel formatting reports that Crystal handled automagically.,Yes,We were attempting to create a link for the users of our product to jump into JasperSoft server and use the AdHoc features. Our main sticking point was security. Some of the AdHoc reports contained very sensitive information. There was a bit of an impedance mismatch between our security models. We also had a very limited understanding of JasperSoft's model. Over the course of several weeks JasperSoft stayed on the phone with us, answered our questions, performed go-to meetings to look at our code and security examples and, in general, did every thing they could to understand our security model and our aims and helped us craft a plan to make our end-user's experience as seemless as possible.,Connecting to a Data Source Scheduling Reports Distributing Reports Creating Ad Hoc reports,Changing underlying Domains,8TIBCO Jaspersoft to ease tailored reporting needs for end usersWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to integrate perfectly with our custom business application. TIBCO Jaspersoft has a valuable designer to let the end users design their own tailored reports based on a selection of data provided in application design phase. TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to manage multi-tenancy for our end users, allowing for the segregation of duties and data isolation.,It requires a lot of resources to provide a good end user experience, especially in terms of memory. The management of custom domains to define the users and properties is hard to manage, causing a tree-structure with too many leaves. The integration between TIBCO and SQL Server should be improved since its installation and maintenance is currently not as easy as the integrated database solution.,7,The main advantage in terms of ROI when dealing with TIBCO Jaspersoft is the speed-to-market and cost saving when end users require changes in the definition of the reporting features within the custom business application. Before switching to TIBCO, the reporting features were based on Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services, where each report was produced by developers, and it was requiring an update of the application to embed the new reports, based on our current implementation. With TIBCO Jaspersoft, reports can be tailored at speed of light, without any involvement of developers (saving money into the application life cycle) and without any risk to introduce regressions.,TIBCO Jaspersoft is based on JAVA technology, while our custom business landscape is based on Microsoft .NET Framework technology. The two systems can seamlessly work together without any specific complexity, adding a great value to the overall solution provided to end users. Our solution is based on end user data hosted in SQL Server databases, and TIBCO can manage also this kind of data source, although it natively uses different database solutions.,Our business application is based on multi-tenancy. Our implementation is consisting of having one database per each customer. Thus also security is fundamental to allow segregation of duties and data isolation. The built-in multi-tenancy features in TIBCO Jaspersoft allowed us to perfectly integrate it into our landscape, letting each user to authenticate on Jaspersoft and access their data in a transparent and secure way.,Microsoft SQL Server,8,Implemented in-house,6,Online training,7,We have a dedicated Customer Success Manager, and we realized so far with our experience with TIBCO, that this is the highest value TIBCO is providing to our company as a partner. This is because this dedicated resource is available and willing to contribute and participate in our internal organization and internal discussions about our TIBCO Jaspersoft implementation roadmap.Top heavy but worth it in the end!We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Pixel perfect reports Multi-tenancy Jaspersoft Studio - a powerful tool for designing reports and publishing them seamlessly to the server SSO (Single Sign-On) Affordable BI stack,Dated UI. Definitely not Web 2.0! Multi-tenant row level security and data domains are not easily implemented without consultants. Learning curve. Training and documentation drives success, even for technical folks. Lack of sample reports/templates for the education vertical. Server config/license management should be web accessible for the superuser.,7,No ROI realized yet. However, we are rebooting the project and have a better chance at success this time. Utilizing TIBCO resources to attain our goal this time, versus using third party external vendors.,We run on an open source stack and offer Jaspersoft as a SaaS product. So broad platform support is nice to have but not critical to us as long as our stack is supported.,Extremely important, especially for SaaS vendors like us that have a single database for all the clients. Data security and logical segmentation are critical to us and we would not even have considered Jaspersoft if it did not have native support for multi-tenancy.,Microsoft Power BI, Sisense and Tableau Online,5,Vendor implemented Professional services company,5,Online training,5,We used the UpShift customer success program for installation, training, upgrading, patching,etc. Not the best use perhaps but we needed to ensure a solid production environment for our clients. We burned through the hours with a reasonable outcome but no documentation/hand-off or follow through.,No,No,Not experienced it yet on the technical support side. On the business side though, The Client Success Manager is quite eager to help and reaches out frequently to check in. That can be attributes to good account management strategy as well. Also to be fair, Professional Services supported their work really well even after the engagement was complete. A part of that depends on the relationship you strike up with them as well.,Building basic reports. However, you need to be at least an intermediate level SQL expert as the bulk of the report creation logic lies in the SQL. Basic dashboards. User and Role Management Connecting to data. We used JDBC. Interactions with Reports/Dashboards and Data Export functions,Setting up row level security in multi-tenant deployments. We had to hire experts. Jaspersoft Studio Professional is very clunky to use Dated UI and UX concepts lead to the lack of intuitiveness. Visualize.js, with its shortcomings. iFrame embeds for Analytics is not the best or modern approach for integrations. That is what we had to use.,Yes, but I don't use it,6
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Jaspersoft
216 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

TIBCO Jaspersoft
216 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 93 of 216 TIBCO Jaspersoft ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 93)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 11, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft--Power, Flexibility and Simplicity"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jaspersoft can be seamlessly embedded into web applications.
  • Jaspersoft is easily customized allowing nearly complete control over the reporting environment.
  • Jaspersoft is scalable allowing it to grow to meet the needs of our growing user base as our deployment rolls out across the country.
  • Jaspersoft is easy to learn for the report developer.
  • Jaspersoft Studio is a little "buggy" having to be closed and re-opened periodically throughout the day.
  • Multi-select queries return and load the entire query result set rather than allowing "lazy-loading" of records as a user scrolls. This results in slow loading report parameter screens as the lists are loaded.
  • It would be great to have source control (such as Version One or Git) better integrated into Jaspersoft.
  • Version 6.4.3.final of Jaspersoft Studio has some bugs where some button on the main toolbar simply do not function (such as "Publish the file on JasperReports Server.")
Read Ken Sparks's full review
March 08, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft in a high demand 24/7 operation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Support is excellent - very quick response time and good information.
  • Report server seems to run quickly and reliably without much attention.
  • Training material readily available.
  • Significant ability to customize the product
  • I would like to see an administrator dashboard in the report server tool to monitor report generations, report failures, currently running reports with ability to kill long running reports, etc.
  • GUI access to the many, many settings that can be added/tweaked on the report server.
  • I would like to see easier access to add functions within the report without writing an external jar file. we don't use java on a day to day basis so I found the process of adding a custom library of functions a little awkward. We also allow our users to make copies of our reports to customize on their own. Since they are non-technical, the process of writing a function for themselves is usually over their heads.
  • Our customers are very much missing the ability to select specific fields from a print-ready report display and export to Excel. Our previous product had it and we hear it from everyone as we replace it. Current export of a print-formatted report to Excel tries to render it so it looks visibly the same, but it just ends up unusable for any sort of normal spreadsheet usage.
Read Gerald Meachem's full review
March 02, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft -- Flexibility and Power at the Core of your Business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexibility. TIBCO Jaspersoft is extremely flexible. We use the embedded report engine to crank out thousands of static reports in PDF and Excel format. We use JasperServer to serve up HTML and javascript based dynamic reports and dashboards through visualize.js. We also use JasperServer directly for working with data in an ad hoc fashion. There are even ETL capabilities (though we haven't really explored those much).
  • There is also flexibility when it comes to connecting to different data sources, defining security, etc.
  • Within reports you aren't even limited to the libraries that JasperSoft provides! We've done some very rich and complex visualizations through JasperSoft using third party libraries like D3.js. Really, the sky is the limit.
  • I haven't run into a data presentation problem yet that I can't solve at least in part by using Jaspersoft.
  • Report creation tools. Jaspersoft Studio is extremely powerful. It is also a very familiar environment for folks coming from other report creation tools. This is important to us because we have to train dozens of report writers across our clients every year. For those that come from Crystal Reports, Jaspersoft Studio feels very intuitive very quickly.
  • Pixel perfection. We have a lot of standardized reports from the IRS and other government entities. Jaspersoft makes it easy to put a very visually complex form together quickly and accurately.
  • Power. I have yet to run into a reporting problem Jaspersoft cannot solve.
  • Excel defaults. When designing a report for PDF then exporting to Excel, Jaspersoft, in an effort to maintain pixel perfection, makes the excel version a bit unusable. It is possible to mitigate some of that with some intelligent directives but it would be easier if some things -- getting rid of extraneous rows and columns, for example, would behave a bit more intuitively without intervention.
  • More intuitive security on JasperServer. Much of the security features on Domains and Ad Hoc reporting require either direct manipulation of SQL, XML, or repository placement. I'd like to see some intuitive screens for setting up security in a more visual and intuitive manner.
  • More flexible security on JasperServer. I'd also like to see security down to the data source layer. Going through Domains is not always viable.
  • Better automatic validation up and down the Datasource to Domain to Ad Hoc chain when there is a change to a datasource or domain.
Read Craig LaValle's full review
May 29, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Jaspersoft to ease tailored reporting needs for end users"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to integrate perfectly with our custom business application.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft has a valuable designer to let the end users design their own tailored reports based on a selection of data provided in application design phase.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to manage multi-tenancy for our end users, allowing for the segregation of duties and data isolation.
  • It requires a lot of resources to provide a good end user experience, especially in terms of memory.
  • The management of custom domains to define the users and properties is hard to manage, causing a tree-structure with too many leaves.
  • The integration between TIBCO and SQL Server should be improved since its installation and maintenance is currently not as easy as the integrated database solution.
Read Davide Marzucco's full review
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Top heavy but worth it in the end!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pixel perfect reports
  • Multi-tenancy
  • Jaspersoft Studio - a powerful tool for designing reports and publishing them seamlessly to the server
  • SSO (Single Sign-On)
  • Affordable BI stack
  • Dated UI. Definitely not Web 2.0!
  • Multi-tenant row level security and data domains are not easily implemented without consultants.
  • Learning curve. Training and documentation drives success, even for technical folks.
  • Lack of sample reports/templates for the education vertical.
  • Server config/license management should be web accessible for the superuser.
Read Rahul Goswami's full review
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Presentation is 90% of the BI Battle"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Adhoc domain structure is flexible and robust. It puts quite a lot of power into the hands of our power users and enough simplicity into our other users' hands to get them most often what they need.
  • Datasource connectivity. We have easily been able to connect to multiple data sources to produce reports which has been critical for us. The ease of use of this was part of our selection of Jaspersoft as our BA product.
  • Ease of use and extensibility of visualizations. Having HTML5 charts available with all the available options means we can EASILY make data pretty and usable for pretty picture people.
  • Dashboards. They are easy to build and flexible. Wonderful feature.
  • Performance on some of the way adhoc domains work. So for example, we have to set the default aggregation on all fields to NONE otherwise it calculates them ahead of time, causing delays. This is mostly because of the size of data we are dealing with. Having to set that default to NONE means we need more educated users to use the tool. Not a show stopper, but could be better.
  • We purchased JaspersoftETL. Just don't bother. There is no TIBCO support for that product and after this experience, I wouldn't recommend the underlying product at all.
Read Eva Donaldson's full review
May 08, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reports is a great piece of software for reporting."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • This may not be an obvious one, but the installer is well done. A lot of these products that are somewhat of a combination of other "back-end" components can be a pain to install. The fact that TIBCO/Jaspersoft bundles everything required into ONE installer is a huge blessing to any IT person wanting or needing to do an installation.
  • Jasper makes upgrades VERY easy. Since the entire reporting repository can be exported in a few clicks of a mouse (or via the shell/command-line) and imported AS-IS into a newer version is a major win.
  • The configuration files for Jasper's reporting server are all XML. Human readable. That's a big plus for people used to being forced into using proprietary software with closed-format binary configurations.
  • Documentation. While *using* Jasper Reports server is super simple and probably doesn't need much in the way of documentation, the overall quantity of documentation regarding some of the smaller details is severely lacking.
  • The reports editor. JasperStudio is OK. We use it, we make loads of reports with it, it's 100 times better than what we used before. But, the documentation for the report editor is terrible, and it seems as if some things just don't make sense. For example, no quick way to signify that you just want columns of data in a delimited file, no formatting, no special spacing, no anything other than straight data. There IS a way to do that in JasperStudio, but it's time-consuming, and it's very "repeatable" in the sense that it COULD be automated fairly easily, but just isn't.
  • Virtual Data Sources. This is one of the coolest and most useful things Jasper can do, but it's crippled and no explanation is given as to WHY it is that way. Crippled in what way, you may ask? The VDS system works in the Jasper Server, but NOT in the report editor. :/ As such, you can't test a report in the editor which needs data from a VDS then import that report into Jasper and use it. You can kinda fake it with datasets and connection parameters, but it just isn't what it COULD be with a little extra development.
Read Peter Larabell's full review
July 14, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Good BI tool for Web based JAVA applications"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Adhoc Report Builder : It helps creating new reports on the fly without the need of code change
  • Handling big volume of Data: In the event of multiple pages report output, it show the first page very quickly and keeps on loading the pages in the background
  • Report Export : All the reports can be exported in Word/Excel/PDF formats
  • Reports auto schedule: All the reports can be auto scheduled to run at defined intervals and can send the output in a email attachment
  • Dashbaord: Dashboard need to be made Interactive with drilldown capabilities
  • Report output should be seamless on any screen size
Read Yogesh Ailawadi, CISSP's full review
March 03, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "About Jasper"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Charts are very good looking. It has dynamic and easy built reports
  • For developers it is very easy to learn and develop nice looking reports very fast, even without any Java background.
  • Adhoc reports are very useful.
  • It is easily embedded into any web application
  • Jasper server works very fast, and you can easily organize it and use it for several clients (by splitting organizations)
  • Intuitive and easy administration for managing reports and permissions
  • Deployment of jasper reports is not good. Especially if you are planning some automatic deployment.
  • Jasper studio Integration with TFS
  • Most of configuring of Jasper server is mostly done in config files. There should be an option to do it on a server. i.e. email configuration.
  • Database authentication is complex, needs to be documented better
  • Logging errors needs to be improved.
Read Milan Paunovic's full review
May 31, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft Going Forward"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jaspersoft implements easily with a number of infrastructure configurations.
  • Reports are always easy to schedule.
  • Ad-hoc design is simple and quick.
  • Custom reports are easily published through Jaspersoft Studio
  • Management of templates could be easier.
  • Simplify queries to work more easily for troubleshooting.
  • Implement report designer into Jaspersoft reporting to enhance report aesthetics.
  • Remove dashboard and create modular cells.
Read Charles Cochran's full review
May 18, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reporting"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jasper allows our customers to quickly develop reports to address the company's reporting needs.
  • While user-friendly, the error reporting could provide more detailed feedback. Primarily in regards to editing domains.
Read Reza Norouzi's full review
May 14, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft for BI comfort"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Analysis of Data
  • Bussiness Inteligence
  • Data Presentation
  • It could use more elaborate reporting.
  • Would like to see a community version.
  • If you aren't subscribing to Jaspersoft, it could be a bit hard to learn.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
May 08, 2018

"Review of TIBCO Jaspersoft"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Report ready software, pixel perfect is nice.
  • Dashboards and charts are useful in designing the way you would like.
  • Open source so everything is able to be customized.
  • Report generation is highly inefficient with memory usage in generating exports.
  • Support doesn't assist with AWS setups although they provide the infrastructure and setup for AWS Server setups.
  • They do not operate very well with clustering / load balancing. Things work however regular errors are unavoidable and hard to determine legit errors on servers and troubleshooting.
Read Shaun Plumb's full review
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reports Server needs work with authencation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reports are easy to access/use for end users.
  • User rights are easy to see how they break down for each user.
  • Jasper Reports Server really needs support for CAC (common access card) authentication or at least allow external authentication to authenticate internal users. My goal is to put a unique identifier, found on each CAC, as an attribute on each internal Jasper Reports Server accounts. I then want to authenticate users by making reference to this attribute then logging the users in as an internal user. I currently have my setup working with externally defined users, but it is a pain and I am trying to move to internally defined users.
Read this authenticated review
July 06, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Good solution for those requiring tight integration or near-open source flexibility."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexible visualisation
  • Deep integration with wider software product
  • Highly customisable
  • Not as polished as higher end BI solutions
  • Product development and support responsiveness can be sluggish
  • Commercial/account management contacts dont add value
Read this authenticated review
May 31, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Reporting made easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jaspersoft provides flexibility to create new domains dynamically instead of enforcing the need pre-defining them prior to launch of the product.
  • Easy to integrate with any application
  • Enhanced mobile app will make it handy to use jaspersoft even when we are not at home.
  • We have a default RowLimit of 200K set in the application at server level. We do not have an option to make it tenant specific.
  • Few customers on a shared machine will want it to increase it to 500K but with this limitation it'll be applied for all other customers sharing the same server and that might affect performance.
  • Error screens
  • Jaspersoft shows the complete 200+ lines of stack trace in an error screen in the UI. We can have better error handling applied while displaying in UI..
  • In the application logs, it is better to include the tenant info as well. Otherwise, it is confusing to debug issue of one tenant while other tenants are being used.
  • Tenant level auditing.
  • As per jaspersoft, enabling auditing will have performance hit on the server. As we do not have option to enable tenant level auditing, it is enabling auditing on all tenants and causing performance issues.
Read this authenticated review
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "A Visually Great Tool to Produce Great Visuals"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Providing various methods of embedding visual components in our application. For instance, either via iframe, or directly.
  • Jaspersoft Reporting tool provides some wonderful visual components.
  • Every time I have contacted Jaspersoft customer support to addition assistance, I have been pleased with the level of support I have received.
  • My biggest issue is with the TIBCO ETL tool which I have used to transform data into a data warehouse. Specifically project files, which are stored in a SVN repository, save information about that SVN repository. This becomes a problem when backing up / restoring / transferring projects between repositories.
Read this authenticated review
July 12, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Fast and Useful"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple to use with excellent performance
  • The tool could have a management of report versioning feature
Read this authenticated review
July 05, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft good reporting tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Good reporting software
  • Server-side reporting
  • Publishing reports
  • Include PDF files in report
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "JasperReports application support review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Command line support (import / export) thus easier to automate via scripting
  • Provides REST API service thus allowing our front-end application to communicate with it
  • Based on Java so it can be run on Linux servers
  • Missing health check page that provides overall health ( front-end and back-end) of Japser reports instance
  • Some functionalities such as create user or organization are missing in command line interface so automation script has to rely on REST API to automate new installation
  • Lacks good logging and documentation ( such as enabling history of job execution in log file)
Read this authenticated review
May 11, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft - It's OK..."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Once installed, it is easy to configure and get up and running.
  • It integrates nicely with our software platform.
  • The support from TIBCO is pretty good when you are speaking to them in person.
  • The installation process is complicated.
  • The update process is complicated.
  • It is difficult to download the appropriate installation files from the TIBCO website.
Read this authenticated review
May 09, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Quick review on Jasper Server"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Generating reports over web services enables distributed reporting capabilities with authentication.
  • Inbuilt features of Jasper Server help in designing reports as required by the customer.
  • Jasper Server is capable in using with many data adapters like Oracle, PostgreSQL and NoSQL stores.
  • Jasper Server needs some improvements further on its performances in generating reports.
  • Customers claim some security violations on numerous plain text passwords appearing inside the source code.
  • Jasper Server needs automated purging mechanisms on its scheduled reports.
Read this authenticated review
October 13, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft is a great tool in my book"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Excellent easy process of embedding Jaspersoft into a website.
  • Easy process of working with Jaspersoft elements through Visualize.js
  • Helpful Community if you take into consideration the communities of other BI similar products
  • Community is quite large but it would be much more helpful if more experts could answer our questions
  • Their API is not that well documented
  • I would prefer some of the Pro features to exist on community edition as well, like for example HTML5 Charts
Read Andreas Evagorou's full review
September 01, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Powerful and flexible tool to analyze data and create convincing dashboards"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The tool is very flexible and powerful. You can add different types of charts and reports for any data structure. Especially the jasper studio has lots of possibilities and a good designed XML structure
  • Results are easy to use even for inexperienced user without IT Knowledge
  • There are lots of export possibilities. Especially important: Excel, PDF and PowerPoint
  • Jaspersoft reports are very lightweight: No extra database needed, they work directly with any database server
  • It is not possible to add a PowerPoint Master to the PowerPoint export. So it can not used to create fully ready print ready reports.
  • Dashboards are very restricted: No easy to add and use, good looking filter mechanisms, restricted in size to the current screen.
Read Stefan Karrer's full review
August 04, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Excellent, easy to use reporting tool - recommended!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides a self service reporting environment
  • Reports are seamlessly easy to build and deploy
  • Report and user level security allows you to restrict access in various ways
  • The dashboard designer is incredibly powerful and easy to use. Non technical users are able to build dashboards to suit their own needs
  • The use of multiple data sources proves very helpful when federating data from different databases
  • In my opinion, error messages could be more detailed. If I encounter an error, the error message is very generic, and support is required to resolve the issue (which is often small and trivial)
  • Conditional formatting could be expanded slightly. Currently you can only logically highlight data based on absolute/ static values. Comparing two columns for example would make much more sense in JasperReports Server - not just Jasper Studio
  • Row highlighting is a regular request for us. With the current version, you can highlight an entire column, but not a row. When a report has 20+ columns, highlighting the entire row would make reading information much easier
Read Lee Owens's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (64)
8.7
Customizable dashboards (64)
8.7
Report Formatting Templates (61)
7.6
Drill-down analysis (68)
7.8
Formatting capabilities (73)
6.5
Report sharing and collaboration (59)
6.6
Publish to Web (55)
7.4
Publish to PDF (74)
7.8
Report Versioning (42)
5.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (59)
7.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (45)
6.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (54)
6.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (40)
6.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (71)
7.4
Role-Based Security Model (69)
7.4
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (66)
7.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (55)
7.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (44)
6.5
Dedicated iOS Application (23)
6.8
Dedicated Android Application (21)
6.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (31)
6.2
REST API (61)
7.1
Javascript API (47)
6.8
iFrames (40)
6.9
Java API (40)
6.9
Themeable User Interface (UI) (40)
6.5
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (45)
6.9

About TIBCO Jaspersoft

Jaspersoft is a Business Intelligence suite that brings users worldwide more timely, actionable data inside their apps and business processes, through an embeddable reporting and analytics. The vendor says Jaspersoft is a cost-effective platform, and its goal is to help users make better decisions faster.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-tenancy
Has featureAudit Logging

TIBCO Jaspersoft Screenshots

TIBCO Jaspersoft Video

TIBCO Jaspersoft Product Overview

TIBCO Jaspersoft Downloadables

TIBCO Jaspersoft Integrations

TIBCO Jaspersoft Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Jaspersoft offers flexible pricing for ISVs and SaaS per customer or by CPU core.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO Jaspersoft Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, plus the ability to add additional languages