TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/M1/My/PIVU6BETBT1N.pngEmbedded BI for AllWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Modern looking reporting - (many other products are still archaic looking in their default selections) Quick time-to-market turn-around from concept to reality when creating a report Listens to customer feedback for future features - this, I believe, has greatly shaped some of the upgrade features we have seen of late that have brought the level of usefulness up for Jaspersoft and ease of use for non-developer users Full customization of reports with scheduling and many different formats available (I mention this because some other products had limited export format options),If you do not have a proper hardware set up, report run-time can be slow and take up a lot of resources in a shared stack. You must fine tune a lot of set up for DB servers in order to get that perfect runtime for end users Users with very slow connections/not close to runtime locale of reporting server can have very slow experiences with reports It is a large learning curve to gain that best-practice knowledge of using DB. This is understandable for most products. I wish that Jaspersoft had better documentation for this in the form of more shared examples in order for users to gain better business practice-use of the product. We struggled with many trial and error methods until finding those perfect solutions.,8,It has made some of our applications stand out from competitors as our reporting engine offerings are much more advanced.It has allowed us to use our developers for our main products and not have to share with the BI requests. Now all of our reporting requests have gained in demand and we are making ourselves as a company more sought after with our reporting edge.,Jaspersoft Standard Support or Professional Standard Support for AWS (12 annual cases),As a software company, we have to deal with a lot of changes within the industry tools in terms of upgrades and changes in support for products. Jaspersoft is perfect in that there is not a single way to use/implement which allows us to spend less time working on the integration.,Privacy is of the utmost importance for our clients and so we value the security offerings in the application which allows us to host many clients in a shared environment. This brings down our cost and maintenance support of the clients and their interaction with the application.,7,TIBCO professional services,9,In-person training,8,If a user has no idea on the architecture of their database then use, I think jaspersoft is hard to understand how to use from a business user to admin level user. It involves an understanding of relationships of tables in order to create domains from which to make ad hoc views and reports. The concepts as a business user are not too hard to grasp in terms of being in an ad hoc environment and navigating the palette selections. Selecting which fields to use and so on is fairly simple with the drag and drop. What I did find was that the calculated measures and fields section to not be for beginner users and something that had to be advanced level in that I was not familiar with the syntax needed and had to make my own cheat sheet as the guidance in the ad hoc tool and online training guides was not enough. I really appreciated the jaspersoft community as a source of open questions on the product. I myself opened a few issues to see if the community could answer my question. There is a lot of knowledge in the shared experience of other users on the quirks of jaspersoft and so it remains a good place to "google" questions related to the product. When we were training I used the community page frequently to help with small things like chart formatting to browser related issues.,None/Don't Know/OtherJaspersoft CommanderOther,TIBCO Jaspersoft Reports are more flexible to use,It should be a more independent reporting tool for users to develop their own reports based on the their requirements,8,Less time to develop reports and happier customers,Jaspersoft Standard Support or Professional Standard Support for AWS (12 annual cases),They supported us when we had to migrate the existing reports to Jasper Reporting,It was very easy to integrate with third party tools.,Excellent Reporting featruesWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s) We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Jaspersoft has an excellent self-service module that allows ad hoc report creation and can be easily worked by non-technical users as well. Using this tool, it doesn't matter if you are viewing the report on a desktop screen or smaller mobile screens, the experience is seamless.,One of the issues we found during our implementation was that the reporting software would work faster for certain data sources and not the others. Extracting CSVs and XML was slower in comparison to JSON in our experience. Jaspersoft Studio was the main IDE we used for development. Built atop the Eclipse IDE, we found that the tool was really resource intensive and generally take long time to initialize.,8,Overall we've had an excellent experience with the reporting features of this product.,Jaspersoft Community,We had a wide variety of different data sources being used at the university like Salesforce CRM, Oracle databases, MySQL server etc. We did not have any integration issues with them.Jaspersoft Reporting ReviewWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,The reports are exactly as they are designed in Jaspersoft Studio. It allows for pixel-perfect editing, so we can be sure the reports our customers get look great. We have a number of different data stores for our different products, and Jaspersoft has connectors for all of them. No matter where our data is, Jaspersoft allows us to access it easily, and transform it into a great looking report. Once the reports are uploaded to the Jaspersoft Server, it is very easy to generate the reports. Be it passing parameters via the URL, using the REST api, or embedding using Visualize.js, generating the reports is a breeze.,The UI on the report designer, Jaspersoft Studio, looks a little outdated. I think that Studio as a whole could use a facelift. Additionally, Jaspersoft Studio tends to slow down over time, requiring a restart of the program. There is a bit of a learning curve with all of the intricacies of Jaspersoft Studio, it's kind of overwhelming when trying to learn it from nothing. One functionality that seems to be missing, that would help our use-case, would be the ability to parameterize a JSON URL as a data source. For example, if there was a call to a set of JSON data, it has to be a static URL. But in many cases, APIs that return JSON take parameters via the URL. Jaspersoft does not support that.,8,Jaspersoft has had a great impact. It allowed us to shut down our locally hosted reporting server, and gave us much more customization of our reports. The report designer lets us create great looking reports, with relative ease. Thanks to this, we can create, and supply to our customers, more reports than ever. Plus, they look much better. Additionally, if a report needs an adjustment, it's easy to make a quick fix.,Jaspersoft Standard Support or Professional Standard Support for AWS (12 annual cases) Jaspersoft Community,It's very important. At our company we use a great deal of different data sources and architectures. Jasper has been able to work in every single scenario that we have had for it so far. Plus, knowing all the features of Jasper, I'm confident that it will continue to work for everything that the future may hold.,This is very important to us. We have many customers that may be generating reports simultaneously, so multi-tenancy was probably the biggest feature that we were looking for when researching reporting engines. Our customers certainly appreciate the fact that there is nothing holding them back from generating a report at any given time.,Tableau Server and SisenseJaspersoft--Power, Flexibility and SimplicityWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s) We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Jaspersoft can be seamlessly embedded into web applications. Jaspersoft is easily customized allowing nearly complete control over the reporting environment. Jaspersoft is scalable allowing it to grow to meet the needs of our growing user base as our deployment rolls out across the country. Jaspersoft is easy to learn for the report developer.,Jaspersoft Studio is a little "buggy" having to be closed and re-opened periodically throughout the day. Multi-select queries return and load the entire query result set rather than allowing "lazy-loading" of records as a user scrolls. This results in slow loading report parameter screens as the lists are loaded. It would be great to have source control (such as Version One or Git) better integrated into Jaspersoft. Version 6.4.3.final of Jaspersoft Studio has some bugs where some button on the main toolbar simply do not function (such as "Publish the file on JasperReports Server."),9,Jaspersoft has had a huge positive impact for my company. Our reporting platform has been one of the most reliable parts of our new system having been running in production for more than six months without a single production outage. The users love the ability to run reports themselves, real-time and export them in a number of formats. As a developer, I appreciate the back-end ability to monitor and debug any issues the users have such as report performance and accessibility. Having the ability to use a pre-defined template for new report creation allows for the rapid creation and deployment of new reports in a matter of days rather than weeks or months.,Jaspersoft Premium Support (No annual case limit),Our current implementation of Jaspersoft touches two data sources in a single web interface. Although we do not currently use Jaspersoft across multiple platforms or a large variety of data sources, we realize that may be a future need and appreciate the flexibility provided by Jaspersoft if that need arises. As our company continues to grow and we integrate more of our business units together, this broad platform support may become critically important in the future.,Multi-tenancy is a feature we currently use as we provide reports to internal users for client reports, reports to external clients (specific to an account) and accounting reports to our internal financial team. As all of these reports are accessed through the same web-interface it is critical to segment them by security and profiles.,Business Objects SRC and Microsoft SQL Server,9,Implemented in-house,10,Self-taught,The product was quite easy to learn the basics. Once I got more deeply into the product and began developing more complex solutions, my training became more intricate and I had to learn the product in more detail. However, overall would rate Jaspersoft as one of the more intuitive report development interfaces I have used.,None/Don't Know/Other,,,Real-time reporting Multiple data sources Mobile device reporting access Data visualizations,We have fully integrated Jaspersoft into a custom-developed web site for use by corporate personnel as well as clients Using our in-house developed web site, we have developed a very robust report scheduling system,We hope to use a future edition of Jaspersoft to query data from multiple, disparate data sources We plan to use Jaspersoft ad-hoc reporting,10,Microsoft Office 365, Snagit, Skype for Business,No,Product Features Product Reputation Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor Third-party Reviews,We are satisfied with our evaluation and selection process.,Yes,Yes,I was experiencing an issue where I was unable to use the publish button on my toolbar to publish reports. Jaspersoft support responded quickly with a work-around while they researched the issue. Within a couple of days, they were able to provide a patch correcting the issue.,Easy to insert an externally developed query into a report Easy to control deployment to multiple environments,It is difficult, if not impossible to incorporate source control with Jaspersoft It is currently not possible to use data from multiple data sources in a single report Upon publishing a report, it is frustrating that Jaspersoft does not save my publication preferences from report to report,9
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Jaspersoft
236 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Jaspersoft
236 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 100 of 236 TIBCO Jaspersoft ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 100)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ashley Lee profile photo
December 05, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Embedded BI for All"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Modern looking reporting - (many other products are still archaic looking in their default selections)
  • Quick time-to-market turn-around from concept to reality when creating a report
  • Listens to customer feedback for future features - this, I believe, has greatly shaped some of the upgrade features we have seen of late that have brought the level of usefulness up for Jaspersoft and ease of use for non-developer users
  • Full customization of reports with scheduling and many different formats available (I mention this because some other products had limited export format options)
  • If you do not have a proper hardware set up, report run-time can be slow and take up a lot of resources in a shared stack. You must fine tune a lot of set up for DB servers in order to get that perfect runtime for end users
  • Users with very slow connections/not close to runtime locale of reporting server can have very slow experiences with reports
  • It is a large learning curve to gain that best-practice knowledge of using DB. This is understandable for most products. I wish that Jaspersoft had better documentation for this in the form of more shared examples in order for users to gain better business practice-use of the product. We struggled with many trial and error methods until finding those perfect solutions.
Read Ashley Lee's full review
No photo available
November 26, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Excellent Reporting featrues"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jaspersoft has an excellent self-service module that allows ad hoc report creation and can be easily worked by non-technical users as well.
  • Using this tool, it doesn't matter if you are viewing the report on a desktop screen or smaller mobile screens, the experience is seamless.
  • One of the issues we found during our implementation was that the reporting software would work faster for certain data sources and not the others. Extracting CSVs and XML was slower in comparison to JSON in our experience.
  • Jaspersoft Studio was the main IDE we used for development. Built atop the Eclipse IDE, we found that the tool was really resource intensive and generally take long time to initialize.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Reporting Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The reports are exactly as they are designed in Jaspersoft Studio. It allows for pixel-perfect editing, so we can be sure the reports our customers get look great.
  • We have a number of different data stores for our different products, and Jaspersoft has connectors for all of them. No matter where our data is, Jaspersoft allows us to access it easily, and transform it into a great looking report.
  • Once the reports are uploaded to the Jaspersoft Server, it is very easy to generate the reports. Be it passing parameters via the URL, using the REST api, or embedding using Visualize.js, generating the reports is a breeze.
  • The UI on the report designer, Jaspersoft Studio, looks a little outdated. I think that Studio as a whole could use a facelift. Additionally, Jaspersoft Studio tends to slow down over time, requiring a restart of the program.
  • There is a bit of a learning curve with all of the intricacies of Jaspersoft Studio, it's kind of overwhelming when trying to learn it from nothing.
  • One functionality that seems to be missing, that would help our use-case, would be the ability to parameterize a JSON URL as a data source. For example, if there was a call to a set of JSON data, it has to be a static URL. But in many cases, APIs that return JSON take parameters via the URL. Jaspersoft does not support that.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 09, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft--Power, Flexibility and Simplicity"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jaspersoft can be seamlessly embedded into web applications.
  • Jaspersoft is easily customized allowing nearly complete control over the reporting environment.
  • Jaspersoft is scalable allowing it to grow to meet the needs of our growing user base as our deployment rolls out across the country.
  • Jaspersoft is easy to learn for the report developer.
  • Jaspersoft Studio is a little "buggy" having to be closed and re-opened periodically throughout the day.
  • Multi-select queries return and load the entire query result set rather than allowing "lazy-loading" of records as a user scrolls. This results in slow loading report parameter screens as the lists are loaded.
  • It would be great to have source control (such as Version One or Git) better integrated into Jaspersoft.
  • Version 6.4.3.final of Jaspersoft Studio has some bugs where some button on the main toolbar simply do not function (such as "Publish the file on JasperReports Server.")
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 27, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Just a brief review of Jaspersoft after using it for 10 years"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use ad hoc reporting capability, which can be used by end users without technical/programming knowledge
  • Very customizable in terms of UI look and feel and report generation through Java/scripting
  • Responsive customer support and great UpShift program that offers useful implementation/integration help to developers
  • Can be quite CPU/memory intensive, especially when multiple users are running larger reports at the same time.
  • Ad hoc report cache tuning can be tricky to balance between better performance and having more current data, especially when different reports have different needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Try checking out a 4 year users review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease and adaptability to rebrand it according to your needs. UI is the most feasible to add new pages.
  • The help docs on the community site and support are always prompt. The high charts and its features are really great to provide better visualization.
  • The report studio provides ease to design the reports and implement styles according to the needs.
  • Implementing out of the box authorization for domain more easily. Now we need additional expertise on groovy to accomplish this.
  • Upgrades to be much easier and require less manual work to update all configurational changes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 09, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Good solution for those requiring tight integration or near-open source flexibility."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexible visualisation
  • Deep integration with wider software product
  • Highly customisable
  • Not as polished as higher end BI solutions
  • Product development and support responsiveness can be sluggish
  • Commercial/account management contacts dont add value
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 17, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Quick review on Jasper Server"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Generating reports over web services enables distributed reporting capabilities with authentication.
  • Inbuilt features of Jasper Server help in designing reports as required by the customer.
  • Jasper Server is capable in using with many data adapters like Oracle, PostgreSQL and NoSQL stores.
  • Jasper Server needs some improvements further on its performances in generating reports.
  • Customers claim some security violations on numerous plain text passwords appearing inside the source code.
  • Jasper Server needs automated purging mechanisms on its scheduled reports.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "From Jaspersoft Reports Server Community Version to Professional Version"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Create a reporting environment extremely quickly.
  • Easily create dashboards to display information with a nice look and feel.
  • Migrate older versions of reports to the new version with ease.
  • N/A
  • N/A
  • N/A
Read this authenticated review
Gerald Meachem profile photo
March 08, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft in a high demand 24/7 operation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Support is excellent - very quick response time and good information.
  • Report server seems to run quickly and reliably without much attention.
  • Training material readily available.
  • Significant ability to customize the product
  • I would like to see an administrator dashboard in the report server tool to monitor report generations, report failures, currently running reports with ability to kill long running reports, etc.
  • GUI access to the many, many settings that can be added/tweaked on the report server.
  • I would like to see easier access to add functions within the report without writing an external jar file. we don't use java on a day to day basis so I found the process of adding a custom library of functions a little awkward. We also allow our users to make copies of our reports to customize on their own. Since they are non-technical, the process of writing a function for themselves is usually over their heads.
  • Our customers are very much missing the ability to select specific fields from a print-ready report display and export to Excel. Our previous product had it and we hear it from everyone as we replace it. Current export of a print-formatted report to Excel tries to render it so it looks visibly the same, but it just ends up unusable for any sort of normal spreadsheet usage.
Read Gerald Meachem's full review
Craig LaValle profile photo
March 02, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft -- Flexibility and Power at the Core of your Business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexibility. TIBCO Jaspersoft is extremely flexible. We use the embedded report engine to crank out thousands of static reports in PDF and Excel format. We use JasperServer to serve up HTML and javascript based dynamic reports and dashboards through visualize.js. We also use JasperServer directly for working with data in an ad hoc fashion. There are even ETL capabilities (though we haven't really explored those much).
  • There is also flexibility when it comes to connecting to different data sources, defining security, etc.
  • Within reports you aren't even limited to the libraries that JasperSoft provides! We've done some very rich and complex visualizations through JasperSoft using third party libraries like D3.js. Really, the sky is the limit.
  • I haven't run into a data presentation problem yet that I can't solve at least in part by using Jaspersoft.
  • Report creation tools. Jaspersoft Studio is extremely powerful. It is also a very familiar environment for folks coming from other report creation tools. This is important to us because we have to train dozens of report writers across our clients every year. For those that come from Crystal Reports, Jaspersoft Studio feels very intuitive very quickly.
  • Pixel perfection. We have a lot of standardized reports from the IRS and other government entities. Jaspersoft makes it easy to put a very visually complex form together quickly and accurately.
  • Power. I have yet to run into a reporting problem Jaspersoft cannot solve.
  • Excel defaults. When designing a report for PDF then exporting to Excel, Jaspersoft, in an effort to maintain pixel perfection, makes the excel version a bit unusable. It is possible to mitigate some of that with some intelligent directives but it would be easier if some things -- getting rid of extraneous rows and columns, for example, would behave a bit more intuitively without intervention.
  • More intuitive security on JasperServer. Much of the security features on Domains and Ad Hoc reporting require either direct manipulation of SQL, XML, or repository placement. I'd like to see some intuitive screens for setting up security in a more visual and intuitive manner.
  • More flexible security on JasperServer. I'd also like to see security down to the data source layer. Going through Domains is not always viable.
  • Better automatic validation up and down the Datasource to Domain to Ad Hoc chain when there is a change to a datasource or domain.
Read Craig LaValle's full review
Davide Marzucco profile photo
May 29, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Jaspersoft to ease tailored reporting needs for end users"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to integrate perfectly with our custom business application.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft has a valuable designer to let the end users design their own tailored reports based on a selection of data provided in application design phase.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to manage multi-tenancy for our end users, allowing for the segregation of duties and data isolation.
  • It requires a lot of resources to provide a good end user experience, especially in terms of memory.
  • The management of custom domains to define the users and properties is hard to manage, causing a tree-structure with too many leaves.
  • The integration between TIBCO and SQL Server should be improved since its installation and maintenance is currently not as easy as the integrated database solution.
Read Davide Marzucco's full review
Rahul Goswami profile photo
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Top heavy but worth it in the end!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pixel perfect reports
  • Multi-tenancy
  • Jaspersoft Studio - a powerful tool for designing reports and publishing them seamlessly to the server
  • SSO (Single Sign-On)
  • Affordable BI stack
  • Dated UI. Definitely not Web 2.0!
  • Multi-tenant row level security and data domains are not easily implemented without consultants.
  • Learning curve. Training and documentation drives success, even for technical folks.
  • Lack of sample reports/templates for the education vertical.
  • Server config/license management should be web accessible for the superuser.
Read Rahul Goswami's full review
Eva Donaldson profile photo
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Presentation is 90% of the BI Battle"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Adhoc domain structure is flexible and robust. It puts quite a lot of power into the hands of our power users and enough simplicity into our other users' hands to get them most often what they need.
  • Datasource connectivity. We have easily been able to connect to multiple data sources to produce reports which has been critical for us. The ease of use of this was part of our selection of Jaspersoft as our BA product.
  • Ease of use and extensibility of visualizations. Having HTML5 charts available with all the available options means we can EASILY make data pretty and usable for pretty picture people.
  • Dashboards. They are easy to build and flexible. Wonderful feature.
  • Performance on some of the way adhoc domains work. So for example, we have to set the default aggregation on all fields to NONE otherwise it calculates them ahead of time, causing delays. This is mostly because of the size of data we are dealing with. Having to set that default to NONE means we need more educated users to use the tool. Not a show stopper, but could be better.
  • We purchased JaspersoftETL. Just don't bother. There is no TIBCO support for that product and after this experience, I wouldn't recommend the underlying product at all.
Read Eva Donaldson's full review
Peter Larabell profile photo
May 08, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reports is a great piece of software for reporting."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • This may not be an obvious one, but the installer is well done. A lot of these products that are somewhat of a combination of other "back-end" components can be a pain to install. The fact that TIBCO/Jaspersoft bundles everything required into ONE installer is a huge blessing to any IT person wanting or needing to do an installation.
  • Jasper makes upgrades VERY easy. Since the entire reporting repository can be exported in a few clicks of a mouse (or via the shell/command-line) and imported AS-IS into a newer version is a major win.
  • The configuration files for Jasper's reporting server are all XML. Human readable. That's a big plus for people used to being forced into using proprietary software with closed-format binary configurations.
  • Documentation. While *using* Jasper Reports server is super simple and probably doesn't need much in the way of documentation, the overall quantity of documentation regarding some of the smaller details is severely lacking.
  • The reports editor. JasperStudio is OK. We use it, we make loads of reports with it, it's 100 times better than what we used before. But, the documentation for the report editor is terrible, and it seems as if some things just don't make sense. For example, no quick way to signify that you just want columns of data in a delimited file, no formatting, no special spacing, no anything other than straight data. There IS a way to do that in JasperStudio, but it's time-consuming, and it's very "repeatable" in the sense that it COULD be automated fairly easily, but just isn't.
  • Virtual Data Sources. This is one of the coolest and most useful things Jasper can do, but it's crippled and no explanation is given as to WHY it is that way. Crippled in what way, you may ask? The VDS system works in the Jasper Server, but NOT in the report editor. :/ As such, you can't test a report in the editor which needs data from a VDS then import that report into Jasper and use it. You can kinda fake it with datasets and connection parameters, but it just isn't what it COULD be with a little extra development.
Read Peter Larabell's full review
Yogesh Ailawadi, CISSP profile photo
July 14, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Good BI tool for Web based JAVA applications"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Adhoc Report Builder : It helps creating new reports on the fly without the need of code change
  • Handling big volume of Data: In the event of multiple pages report output, it show the first page very quickly and keeps on loading the pages in the background
  • Report Export : All the reports can be exported in Word/Excel/PDF formats
  • Reports auto schedule: All the reports can be auto scheduled to run at defined intervals and can send the output in a email attachment
  • Dashbaord: Dashboard need to be made Interactive with drilldown capabilities
  • Report output should be seamless on any screen size
Read Yogesh Ailawadi, CISSP's full review
Milan Paunovic profile photo
March 03, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "About Jasper"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Charts are very good looking. It has dynamic and easy built reports
  • For developers it is very easy to learn and develop nice looking reports very fast, even without any Java background.
  • Adhoc reports are very useful.
  • It is easily embedded into any web application
  • Jasper server works very fast, and you can easily organize it and use it for several clients (by splitting organizations)
  • Intuitive and easy administration for managing reports and permissions
  • Deployment of jasper reports is not good. Especially if you are planning some automatic deployment.
  • Jasper studio Integration with TFS
  • Most of configuring of Jasper server is mostly done in config files. There should be an option to do it on a server. i.e. email configuration.
  • Database authentication is complex, needs to be documented better
  • Logging errors needs to be improved.
Read Milan Paunovic's full review
Charles Cochran profile photo
May 31, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft Going Forward"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jaspersoft implements easily with a number of infrastructure configurations.
  • Reports are always easy to schedule.
  • Ad-hoc design is simple and quick.
  • Custom reports are easily published through Jaspersoft Studio
  • Management of templates could be easier.
  • Simplify queries to work more easily for troubleshooting.
  • Implement report designer into Jaspersoft reporting to enhance report aesthetics.
  • Remove dashboard and create modular cells.
Read Charles Cochran's full review
Shaun Plumb profile photo
May 08, 2018

"Review of TIBCO Jaspersoft"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Report ready software, pixel perfect is nice.
  • Dashboards and charts are useful in designing the way you would like.
  • Open source so everything is able to be customized.
  • Report generation is highly inefficient with memory usage in generating exports.
  • Support doesn't assist with AWS setups although they provide the infrastructure and setup for AWS Server setups.
  • They do not operate very well with clustering / load balancing. Things work however regular errors are unavoidable and hard to determine legit errors on servers and troubleshooting.
Read Shaun Plumb's full review
No photo available
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reports Server needs work with authencation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reports are easy to access/use for end users.
  • User rights are easy to see how they break down for each user.
  • Jasper Reports Server really needs support for CAC (common access card) authentication or at least allow external authentication to authenticate internal users. My goal is to put a unique identifier, found on each CAC, as an attribute on each internal Jasper Reports Server accounts. I then want to authenticate users by making reference to this attribute then logging the users in as an internal user. I currently have my setup working with externally defined users, but it is a pain and I am trying to move to internally defined users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 31, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Reporting made easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jaspersoft provides flexibility to create new domains dynamically instead of enforcing the need pre-defining them prior to launch of the product.
  • Easy to integrate with any application
  • Enhanced mobile app will make it handy to use jaspersoft even when we are not at home.
  • We have a default RowLimit of 200K set in the application at server level. We do not have an option to make it tenant specific.
  • Few customers on a shared machine will want it to increase it to 500K but with this limitation it'll be applied for all other customers sharing the same server and that might affect performance.
  • Error screens
  • Jaspersoft shows the complete 200+ lines of stack trace in an error screen in the UI. We can have better error handling applied while displaying in UI..
  • In the application logs, it is better to include the tenant info as well. Otherwise, it is confusing to debug issue of one tenant while other tenants are being used.
  • Tenant level auditing.
  • As per jaspersoft, enabling auditing will have performance hit on the server. As we do not have option to enable tenant level auditing, it is enabling auditing on all tenants and causing performance issues.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "A Visually Great Tool to Produce Great Visuals"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Providing various methods of embedding visual components in our application. For instance, either via iframe, or directly.
  • Jaspersoft Reporting tool provides some wonderful visual components.
  • Every time I have contacted Jaspersoft customer support to addition assistance, I have been pleased with the level of support I have received.
  • My biggest issue is with the TIBCO ETL tool which I have used to transform data into a data warehouse. Specifically project files, which are stored in a SVN repository, save information about that SVN repository. This becomes a problem when backing up / restoring / transferring projects between repositories.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (70)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (70)
7.5
Report Formatting Templates (68)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (73)
7.1
Formatting capabilities (79)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (64)
7.2
Publish to Web (61)
7.8
Publish to PDF (81)
8.5
Report Versioning (45)
6.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (49)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (58)
7.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (43)
6.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (78)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (75)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (71)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (59)
7.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (47)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (26)
7.2
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (34)
6.7
REST API (67)
7.7
Javascript API (52)
7.4
iFrames (45)
7.5
Java API (45)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (45)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (48)
7.6

About TIBCO Jaspersoft

Jaspersoft is a Business Intelligence suite that brings users worldwide more timely, actionable data inside their apps and business processes, through an embeddable reporting and analytics. The vendor says Jaspersoft is a cost-effective platform, and its goal is to help users make better decisions faster.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-tenancy
Has featureAudit Logging

TIBCO Jaspersoft Screenshots

TIBCO Jaspersoft Video

TIBCO Jaspersoft Product Overview

TIBCO Jaspersoft Downloadables

TIBCO Jaspersoft Integrations

Amazon Web Services, Docker, Oracle VM VirtualBox, Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP), Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP)

TIBCO Jaspersoft Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Jaspersoft offers flexible pricing for ISVs and SaaS per customer or by CPU core.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO Jaspersoft Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, plus the ability to add additional languages