TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/M1/My/PIVU6BETBT1N.pngTIBCO JasperReports ServerOther,Easy to use (Jasperserver) Fully customizable,Drill-down functionalities (Jasperserver) Ease of Administration (it is often necessary to make adjustments to JavaScript),7,Too early to tell, because we are still in a development Phase of our application.,Very important, because we need to serve decentralized users, and we need to integrate various data sources.,n/a,Jaspersoft Reporting Embeds well within your custom web portal!!We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Jaspersoft Reports have a lot of features, formatting, and options. We used the professional studio. Fast Development. Flexible Design.,TIBCO Jaspersoft did not have the ability to design a framework environment for ad-hoc reporting. Formatting can be very detailed with UI.,8,TIBCO Jaspersoft met the business objectives set out by the client for their internal product in the healthcare space. We quickly developed reports and utilized the API to call reports to the custom web portal we build. The API was able to pass all filters and prompt values dynamically. It was a positive experience and impacted our ROI in a positive way.,It was important that TIBCO Jaspersoft reporting functioned on many platforms, such as Windows or Linux. Many of the customers ran different platforms and needed the flexibility to install within a Windows environment or Linux environment. We could also access all the data sources we needed and found automated deployment script for reporting.,Using the multi-tenancy for a centrally hosted customer software was on the roadmap and we looked a little bit at this feature, but we have not implemented this feature yet or launched our software as a service yet. Although TIBCO Jaspersoft does support this functionality and we expect to use this in the future.,IBM CognosJasper Reports, cool BI/reporting toolWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Friendly interface High performance,Support cases could be attended by more experienced people,8,Jasper allowed us to centralize reports into one platform instead of having them spread around each application. This makes report managing easier and more efficient. Also, the need to have a special module in each application to develop reports is not needed, as this responsibility is delegated to Jasper.,In our case we could integrate Jasper with a specific authentication system using SSO. This is very important to keep using the same authentication method that you have been using so far. Jasper based code is also very useful to be able to customize other features.,This is very important because you don't want users from different customers to see other companies' resources. Having the multi-tenancy feature makes it possible to have isolated resources for each customer.Jaspersoft ReviewWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),Most of our reports use tables - which is a great structure. Especially the formatting Export to different formats is so easy and out of box Parameterization of Reports,Dashboard - We had lot of issues in using the dashboard from a performance and technology perspective. It has significant improvements in 6.4 but we still feel dashboard integration with the application ( especially if we want to show on home page)is not that smooth) Ad-hoc drill-down charts - HTML5 charts with easy drill-down would be great,8,Quick turnaround time on developing reports is really helpful and ad-hoc views are used a lot.,We are a SaaS solution so, for us, all these features in addition to being multi-tenant is very important.,Very important - We are complete Saas solution - so one server with multiple organizations completely meet our needs.Jaspersoft, Great product, Poor after sales supportOther,Great tool for data visualization and report generation once it is setup and configured with your data sources.,Poor support even after purchasing a commercial license, they try and force you to buy additional deployment and configuration support from their partners.,5,Not worth the high pricing for just one additional useful feature and absolutely no support with the integration.,Very important, Technology adoption is constantly changing for my clients, entire data sources get moved from one platform to another due to performance issues, it is important to have software that can scale and adapt quickly with little configuration required,Multi-tenancy is not for everybody. If the application already has a multi-tenant architecture then this feature is an absolute necessity.,Pentaho
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Jaspersoft
236 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

TIBCO Jaspersoft
236 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 236 vetted TIBCO Jaspersoft reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (76-99 of 99)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
October 16, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "TIBCO JasperReports Server"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Other

Publishing Dashboards on Jasperserver

Self Service BI

  • Easy to use (Jasperserver)
  • Fully customizable
  • Drill-down functionalities (Jasperserver)
  • Ease of Administration (it is often necessary to make adjustments to JavaScript)
Well suited in Scenarios with low budget and relatively simple analytical requirements. Also in cases with very specific requirements regarding the design of reports (if you are using Jaspersoft Report Studio).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 14, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft Reporting Embeds well within your custom web portal!!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
TIBCO Jaspersoft was being embedded in a commercial application product sold to states in the healthcare space. We were using reporting and ETL sub-components. The ETL would build a data warehouse nightly and the reporting component would have 30+ reports that were called with the API to render on the webpage.
  • Jaspersoft Reports have a lot of features, formatting, and options. We used the professional studio.
  • Fast Development.
  • Flexible Design.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft did not have the ability to design a framework environment for ad-hoc reporting.
  • Formatting can be very detailed with UI.
Reporting and embedding reports within a web page using the API worked very well; we were able to drill from report to report and create the dashboard type reports we were looking for. Prompts and filters were easy to manage. The reporting was a solid platform to develop and distribute reports on.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 02, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reports, cool BI/reporting tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • Friendly interface
  • High performance
  • Support cases could be attended by more experienced people
The Jasper Reports solution is very well suited for multi-tenant scenarios where resources are not accessible by everyone.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 25, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)

We use Jaspersoft in different areas:

- Generate Reports which are submitted to FDA

- Adhoc Reports

- Out of box reports using jasper studio

- analytics - Create Charts and Dashboard

All these are integrated in our application using iFrames and we are considering visualization.



  • Most of our reports use tables - which is a great structure. Especially the formatting
  • Export to different formats is so easy and out of box
  • Parameterization of Reports
  • Dashboard - We had lot of issues in using the dashboard from a performance and technology perspective. It has significant improvements in 6.4 but we still feel dashboard integration with the application ( especially if we want to show on home page)is not that smooth)
  • Ad-hoc drill-down charts - HTML5 charts with easy drill-down would be great
Good for reporting - but not truly for analytics
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft, Great product, Poor after sales support"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Other
We purchased and reviewed Jaspersoft server for a commercial integration.
  • Great tool for data visualization and report generation once it is setup and configured with your data sources.
  • Poor support even after purchasing a commercial license, they try and force you to buy additional deployment and configuration support from their partners.
Perfect for multi-tenancy architecture integrations, stick with the community edition if you do not need the multi-tenancy login feature.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Limited use for batch reporting / report bursting,"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
The product is used for batch reporting (report bursting) for month end reporting. These are per patient reports for 1..n clients. We use other products (Tableau) for BI.
  • In our limited use case, I can't specifically comment on its strengths. It was a tool we needed, and we use it for a limited purpose.
  • Self tuning. In our use case we have to programmatically control submissions to the engine, it does not throttle itself. We are using the engine via APIs, and limited use by end users. We had to create an exponential back-off algorithm that watches threads to make sure the Jaspersoft engine does not abnormally terminate.
We have a specific use case of report bursting which is a very limited use case so I can't specifically comment on its suitability to purpose for a wide range of possible applications.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 12, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Review"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
Used to peer into the data.
  • Creates Reports.
  • Create Scheduled Reports.
  • Ad Hoc Views.
  • It tends to be really slow. Even when I am using sample data.
  • In ad hoc views, it loads all distinct choices in the drop down. Sometimes, when that field could have a million distinct values, it crashes the server (or at least freezes it up to the point that I have to restart it).
  • I rarely get bugs fixed or issues resolved through support.
It's good for flat data. It tends to go slow when it gets complex, with a lot of different values.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 02, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Self-service BI for (nearly) everybody"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • Make reports and dashboards for a railway operation (delays, issues)
  • Collect data from different sources via TALEND ETL
  • Store big data with MongoDB as input for Jaspersoft
  • Create templates and pre-defined data sources for our commercial applications
  • Fair pricing for a large feature set in comparison to others
  • Support for many data sources
  • Run in app server or container for cloud usage
  • Configuration and adjustability of behavior
  • Installation and update procedure with easier data migration (maybe without)
  • Improve issue reporting of failures with more info
[Well suited] for automated reporting and integration with data sources and user management. [Not well suited] for complex evaluations or templates for JRS.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 01, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reports Server Good Reporting Solution Choice"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
Our commercial java application embeds TIBCO Jaspersoft's JasperReportsServer to provide reporting.
  • Reporting
  • Lots of report formats
  • Scheduled reporting
  • Footprint
  • Patching
  • High availability
JasperReportsServer is a good fit for enterprise applications where lots of memory and CPU is available.

JasperReportsServer is not a good fit for embedded small form factors low memory and CPU power environments.
Read this authenticated review
Rob Williams profile photo
March 01, 2016

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft BI, Powerful GI Suite with Low TCO"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Jaspersoft's suite of report writing, report distribution and ETL have provided my clients with a solution that is both easy to use and powerful, allowing for rapid deployment of basic reports and extensive flexibility for advanced configuration, Data Warehouse development and reports and OLAP analysis.
  • The iReport report writer allows both graphical report design and development and direct code writing allowing me to quickly train users on how to graphically design and build reports using the drag and drop user interface and rapidly develop custom components. The breadth of report development features is massive including; Drill down report links, sub-reports, built in extensible graphs and maps of all kinds, a vast array of data sources, easy passing of variables from and to sub-reports, adding custom code to components using Java, custom style development and assignment. iReport is internally integrated with Jasperserver allowing easy report deployment to the enterprise report and analysis portal.
  • The Mondrian OLAP Work Bench is a fantastic tool for designing and deploying OLAP cubes for online analysis. The graphical UI is easy to use and allows for advance configuration of Cubes and their components. With a built in MDX designer, Cube design and query result can be tested in one place. Cubes and queries can be directly uploaded to the Jasperserver portal which provides a visually attractive and feature rich Analysis View feature for OLAP analysis. Analysis Views on the report server can be drilled to from reports designed in iReport providing a very powerful view of information
  • The JasperETL tool, which is based on the Talend* ETL suite, is so powerful that we use it both for Data Warehouse population but also for Enterprise Application Integration projects as well. From basic JDBC data pulls to transactional data layers, to complex transformation to Data Marts and FACT Tables this tool does it all. We have successfully deployed ETL projects that pull and combine data from MSSQL, PostgreSQL, MySQL, Oracle, Flat File, Web Services, LDAP, Spreadsheets,MDM and REGEX files to produce rich and effective reporting Data Marts and Topics. I cannot say enough about this suite and it's power and flexibility.
  • Jasperserver is the web-app based reporting portal that acts as the hub of the Jaspersoft reporting suite. The server is easily integrated with your LDAP enabled directory services and can quickly be configured for SSL or be placed behind your Apache HTTP server. Reports and OLAP Analysis developed using iReport or OLAP Workbench can be uploaded directly to the server. The server provides for iReport Reports, Mondrian OLAP analysis Views as well as views on any Cube that is XML/A enabled, Ad-hoc reports, Static Content Deployment (PDF, XLSX, DOCX, HTML and much more). In addition powerful Dashboards that combine multiple reports can easily be created using the GUI provided in the Jasperserver portal. Access can be controlled through users and groups which can be directly integrated into your corporate Directory Services (Active Directory, OpenLDAP, etc) and data can be filtered within reports based on those assignments. The server can be extended into clusters for large enterprise deployments. The portal can be customized extensively from basic styling and branding to full JSP/Spring development of new pages and functionality. This is hands down the best report server I have worked with.
  • Jaspersoft has moved to Jaspersoft Studio as it's preferred report writer and will be the only report writer supported fro new features. Bug fixes and technical support for iReport will be supported through 12/31/2015.
  • Built on top of the popular Eclipse Integrated Development Environment, Jaspersoft Studio delivers a sophisticated graphical reporting experience with extensible component configuration for advanced report development. Features include:
  • Visual drag and drop designer for rapid report development
  • Easy access to Report Elements and Tools within report designer
  • Large inventory of Report Elements and Tools for rapid development of visually rich reports
  • Complete set of charts for dynamic visual presentation of reporting data
  • Integrated preview allows viewing report results as you design
  • Built-in Expression Editor with Syntax Highlighter
  • Easy Access Data Explorer
  • Extensible for Custom Report Plug-ins
  • Dynamic and Cascading Report Parameters
  • Vast array of configurable Data Sources
  • Extensible properties for exporting formatting and formulas to Excel
  • Extensible properties for exporting PDF formatting
  • Develop your own styles for consistent look and feel across all reporting elements
  • Version control to GIT,SVN and more
  • Export to PDF, HTML, XHTML, XLS, RTF, DOCX, Text, CSV, OpenOffice, XML, PNG
  • Full integration with Jasperserver including publishing, server explorer and resource editing
  • While many of the advanced report writing features of iReport are available through the GUI, customization requires knowledge of Java. We often need to produce reports that are exportable to Spreadsheets with formulas and formatting intact. As consultants we can produce this quickly for our clients, but the GUI tools are not as friendly as they could be.
  • While Jaspersoft does offer the Talend Integration Server which is a web-app and execution server of it's own, the basic ETL tool requires some sophisticated knowledge to deploy scheduled jobs on Linux or Windows servers. Managing the libraries and status of the jobs can become non trivial as they grow in number.
  • Finding qualified consultant like RLWilliams Consulting can be difficult.
After working with Microsoft's Reporting Services, Analysis Services and Integration Services, IBM Cognos TM1 and many other BI solutions, the power of Japsersoft's suite and its low price make it the hands down winner.
Read Rob Williams's full review
Dave Simon profile photo
March 01, 2016

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • OLAP reporting is very functional, flexible and efficient. Large volumes of data (millions of rows) can be processed quickly. This allows marketing analysts to slice and dice the data to support decisions about marketing campaigns.
  • Dashboards are cumbersome to develop.
  • Technical support is hit and miss.
I would purchase Jaspersoft again.
Read Dave Simon's full review
Cash Shurley profile photo
March 13, 2015

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "JasperReports Server and iReport"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Pixel-perfect Report Building.
  • Embeddable report server.
  • Connect to multiple datasources.
  • Strong community.
  • Great technical support.
  • Steep learning curve.
  • Arcane user interface.
  • Only 1 datasource per report.
Consider the use cases of your implementation? Will it be mainly self-service (ad-hoc)? This is where the product is ultimately going but is still not their strongest suit. Will it be primarily mobile or browser-based? Do you have java database expertise on staff? Will you need to access multiple datasources on 1 report?
Read Cash Shurley's full review
Robert Mills profile photo
November 18, 2013

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft provides the tools your clients will love."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Jaspersoft provides our users with a very robust adhoc reporting engine. It has been the #1 requested feature by our clients. Our users demand control over their data and reporting resources. With Jaspersoft they are able to have the level of control they desire.
  • Jaspersoft has a slight learning curve, but the documentation available is very robust. Nearly every question I've had, I was able to answer within minutes by simply reading the documentation. The guides are clear, concise and go into a level of detail that surpasses any other reporting solution I've tested.
  • The Jaspersoft support team is amazing. I've had a few issues during the single-sign-on integration within our environment. All of my support questions have been answered, and all done so in a very timely manner. Every case I've opened has been initially addressed within minutes of me creating request and all have been followed through to 100% satisfaction.
  • JasperStudio 5.5, with the integration into Eclipse, has received very positive feedback from my team. The report development environments have evolved significantly over the last year and the changes have definitely been for the best.
  • We integrate Jaspersoft into our own web portal. I know recent releases have focused on making this task easier, but it's still not a flawless process. The single-sign-on portion, in our circumstance, requires custom Java code to work.
  • I've had a few headaches over the last year with upgrading the environments. They release new software versions relatively often. It's quite a hassle to keep all of the servers updated with the latest and greatest due to the somewhat complicated procedure of upgrading. Unless you wipe your server and start over, it isn't a point and click procedure.
I'd recommend Jaspersoft to a colleague only if he/she and their team have time and resources available to get it up and running correctly. It isn't a point and click install and suddenly you have fully functioning reports. There is a process involved in server setup, maintenance and report generation and it will require some amount of time and investment in doing so. However, the end results will almost always eclipse the efforts involved.
Read Robert Mills's full review
Tim Buterbaugh profile photo
November 16, 2013

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft is "Not the Droid You're Looking For""

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Adhoc reporting is easy to implement and works well.
  • Report scheduling is simple and flexible.
  • The new Adhoc OLAP option looks promising.
  • The updated UI is much improved over previous versions.
  • Jaspersoft seriously needs some quality control on their products. An "Enterprise" application should not be so buggy. I often feel like we are their beta-testers rather than paying customers.
  • It is extremely embarrassing when my customers attempt to run a report and end up with a Java error stack on their screen instead. While Jaspersoft has made improvements in catching certain errors and providing an "oops" screen, we still see Java error dumps on a regular basis.
  • Jaspersoft's technical support has been little help for anything other than the most basic of issues. Most problems are instantly categorized as "Defect/Enhancement submitted" with no solution offered.
I'm happy that I'm not the person who recommended our purchase of Jaspersoft.
Read Tim Buterbaugh's full review
Divyesh Patel profile photo
June 20, 2014

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Review from a beginner level user"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is an excellent product for implementing business solutions.
  • iReport for designing the reports
  • Generate PDF reports
  • Create plugin modules in Java that create the data you need for the report
  • Dashboards could have more interactive features
  • Support for product
  • Connections with DBs
A balance of support, price and features is very necessary.
Read Divyesh Patel's full review
Thomas Grady, CBIP profile photo
January 31, 2014

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "An etl developer's perpective of Jaspersoft."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jaspersoft to provide reports to our customers using data from our operational and data warehouse systems. We also use Jasper ETL for small scale extracts.
  • Jaspersoft allows for us to present critical business information to our customers in an easy to understand format.
  • Jasper ETL allows for us to create quality etl processes in a relatively short amount of time.
  • We have had some challenges with the OLAP part of the tool and would like to see improvements there.
  • During a current upgrade we have encountered issues with the product based on bugs. With this in mind, a little more QA on the product before it getting released would be appreciated.
In my opinion, the product is a functionally rich product that will meet the business intelligence needs of any organization.
Read Thomas Grady, CBIP's full review
Heather Reynolds profile photo
November 22, 2013

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Happy with my experiences thus far with Jaspersoft!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • A easy and efficient way to allow outside customers to utilize BI Offerings to help them get at their information more easily. We have a series of reports that now live in the hands of our clients that can be easily updated and improved.
  • There server product is easily configurable with our company's UI that allows our customer to easily move between the software.
  • The overall general maintenance of the system on a day to day basis is a lot easier that previously used tools.
  • iReport and the ability to style and maintain correct outputs throughout all of the types. I realize iReport is being replaced and hope that Studio is better at formatting.
  • Allowing for customized code within Jasper Server is difficult to be able to upgrade as quickly as Jasper comes out with improvements.
My overall experiences with Jasper are definitely above and beyond any other tool I have worked with. The idea that our customers have the ability to schedule and utilize the customize options we provide allows our company to move leaps and bounds ahead of where we were in other Business Intelligence offerings.
Read Heather Reynolds's full review
Jason Knight profile photo
November 19, 2013

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft, so easy your stakeholders can use it"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We were using Sql Server Reporting Services. Our users wanted more. We took a look at the competitive marketplace, and found Jaspersoft provided a superior product which allowed us to recreate the same reports in about 10% of the time of the original reports, while providing the users additional capabilities to do ad-hoc reports. Wow!
  • One of the things that we would like to see is the capability to run Jaspersoft within a fully capable .NET stack. Currently Jaspersoft integrates seamlessly into Java-based applications, but it's a little clunky to configure for Microsoft based solutions.
Enter the relationship with a clear understanding of your Business Intelligence and Reporting needs. The Jaspersoft team has been exceedingly helpful in providing training, support, and documentation to both the community and individual questions, but is much more effective when it can be articulated what is needed exactly. Make sure you have a clear understanding between the different versions, and understand what is needed from a product standpoint to not waste resources on a version you don't need.
Read Jason Knight's full review
Paige Biron profile photo
November 20, 2013

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Developers view of Jaspersoft"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It was used as a replacement for Informatica.
  • It was a great way to learn Java and javascript.
  • It saved our company a great deal of money.
  • Better examples for ETL.
  • Better documentation.
I would talk about the ROI and the experience of working with Java and Java script.
Read Paige Biron's full review
Adam Clarke profile photo
November 19, 2013

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Moderately satisfied with Jasper"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of use.
  • Scheduling reports.
  • New features.
  • They need to resolve bugs - numerous issues, and the answer I get from support is "that's fixed in the next release".
  • Ad-hoc reporting is so-so, does not work for us.
I would spend more time looking to identify 3rd party resources that can help you with implementation and future projects - there aren't many people out there, so either expect to train your staff or pay Jasper direct for their resources.
Read Adam Clarke's full review
No photo available
March 18, 2015

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "My Jaspersoft experience"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Jaspersoft to help customers of our software get their data out of the database. We leaned heavily on the ad hoc / self service tools but also did iReport development to that end. As a small software shop we did not use the product much internally, although I did develop a report to help estimate report development time based on various factors.
  • Ad hoc tool. It really helped our customers become self sufficient.
  • Using iReport and design studio, I never ran across a requirement I couldn't handle. These tools are very feature rich and there are many different ways to leverage them.
  • The community was a very reliable source of information.
  • The community pages layout was difficult to navigate.
  • The Jaspersoft website as a whole left a lot to be desired. I often found difficult to get what I had assumed would be simple answers.
  • The web interface had limitations with parameters in the version we ran. My understanding is that these were resolved in more current versions.
I think Jaspersoft is well suited for organizations that have a talented business insight development department. I work now for a company fully integrated with SAP's offerings, including Business Objects and I do not feel like it could be a viable solution here.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2014

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "My quick and fast experience with Jaspersoft"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Jaspersoft to create PDF Reports that are required by government regulations. The software that require this is an Electronic Health Record (EHR) systems. The reports generated is to show how the physician site has used the software, and what areas were covered by the software.
  • It can be used to produce nice looking PDF reports
  • It is not too difficult to learn as a start.
  • There is a GUI interface to provide starting point of reports creation
  • It can be quite easily programmed via java "plugins"
  • I think the GUI can be made more intuitive, and it would be helpful to have more tutorials. I did have to spend a few days just to figure it out as I did not find tutorials on it.
Quite suitable if your goal is to generate PDF reports and you have a good idea what the report should look like. Also you can easily create plugin modules in java that create the data you need for the report.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 24, 2014

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Used it at a previous company - Loved it."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used as a dashboard for presenting data about the Warehouse Control System to leads, managers and executives. It would display product in, product out, jams, errors etc.
  • Displays relevant knowledge in easy to view form
  • Easy to integrate into other software packages
  • Runs well on Linux, which was a must.
  • Installation and management of the system was slow to understand initially.
It's great at dashboards and reporting on specific data sets.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 16, 2013

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Easy BI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Online access to reports.
  • Easy integration.
  • Open source.
  • Pixel perfect reports.
  • Pivots in the open source version.
  • Tabbing
  • Easier customized views.
Community website has great resources for training and customization
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (69)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (69)
7.5
Report Formatting Templates (67)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (72)
7.0
Formatting capabilities (78)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (63)
7.2
Publish to Web (60)
7.9
Publish to PDF (80)
8.5
Report Versioning (44)
6.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (64)
7.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (48)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (57)
7.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (42)
6.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (77)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (74)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (70)
8.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (58)
7.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (46)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (25)
7.2
Dedicated Android Application (23)
7.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (33)
6.7
REST API (66)
7.7
Javascript API (51)
7.5
iFrames (44)
7.6
Java API (44)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (44)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (47)
7.6

About TIBCO Jaspersoft

Jaspersoft is a Business Intelligence suite that brings users worldwide more timely, actionable data inside their apps and business processes, through an embeddable reporting and analytics. The vendor says Jaspersoft is a cost-effective platform, and its goal is to help users make better decisions faster.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-tenancy
Has featureAudit Logging

TIBCO Jaspersoft Screenshots

TIBCO Jaspersoft Video

TIBCO Jaspersoft Product Overview

TIBCO Jaspersoft Downloadables

TIBCO Jaspersoft Integrations

Amazon Web Services, Docker, Oracle VM VirtualBox, Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP), Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP)

TIBCO Jaspersoft Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Jaspersoft offers flexible pricing for ISVs and SaaS per customer or by CPU core.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO Jaspersoft Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, plus the ability to add additional languages