JMeter Reviews

114 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Powerful performance testing tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Apache Jmeter scripts are great for load testing. I like the parameterization strategy offered by JMeter because I can better reproduce real-life scenarios by introducing variables and randomizing my tests. Also, JMeter extensions are accessible in the open-source sector to extend current JMeter capabilities. I love this to do my performance testing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

JMeter - Best open source performance test tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

JMeter is being used across our organization. Performance test engineers use JMeter to perform performance testing. It helps us to simulate numbers of concurrent users and simulate real-time scenarios. By executing testing using JMeter, we can make sure applications are stable and reliable. Application performance is very critical now-a-days, same as functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Binoy Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

Performance is a key and JMeter is a solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

JMeter is being used by our QA teams mainly for performance testing. We are into banking and finance domain. Hence, the performance of the bank transactions should be very rich. JMeter helps us to find bottlenecks around performance issues within our web apps and web services. JMeter also helps us to simulate different user loads in order to test web application under various load patterns.
Read Binoy Shah's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

Great tool for Performance Testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Most of our developers use JMeter for performance testing. It's a great tool where you can do all kinds of performance testing tests like Baseline test, smoke test, load test, and stress test. It is useful for test performance and scalability of REST APIs. It is used as an automation tool for API testing.
Read this authenticated review
David Luu | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

JMeter is a great all around load test tool with some caveats.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use JMeter at one of our divisions in the organization to assess site/system performance, fixing any issues that arise and looking for regressions in performance. We do this on a yearly basis before our holiday peak comes. Although strategically, our test framework/tools team is standardizing the entire company to use another open source tool going forward called Gatling. But we have yet to complete full migration to it, so in the meantime we still use JMeter.

JMeter was selected initially when we started formalizing load testing at my division and was evaluated along with another tool called WebLoad. We picked JMeter for its ease of use, usefulness, and being open source which saved us licensing costs. We primarily use JMeter to generate HTTP requests against our websites, either simulating browser activity or making back end REST API calls.
Read David Luu's full review
Ameeta Muralidharan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

Jmeter- Performance testing tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Jmeter was used by my organization to test Java web applications. We used to prepare scripts based on the use case scenario which was performed frequently. We used to then perform load, soak tests using these scripts to analyse response time, throughput of the web application. We also used to monitor system performance like CPU, memory performance during these tests.
It is used by my department. It handles the business problems of estimating how much the application would sustain under high load, resources required for a particular client requirement.
Read Ameeta Muralidharan's full review
Artavazd Yeritsyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2015

Performance testing using JMeter

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used JMeter as a tool for performance testing of our web application for both frontend/backend. We have configured jobs on Jenkins to execute jmeter tests on parallel. For ex. we have tried out registration performance both on Stage and Live environments in parallel with the same parameters to compare the results.
Read Artavazd Yeritsyan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2017

Performance Testing Using JMeter

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

JMeter is the main preferred performance testing tool in my organization. It is the best tool to test the performance of an application at the protocol level and also at the UI layer with various thread groups, listeners etc.. The BlazeMeter plugin for record and playback is also very helpful. Jmeter itself has a very neat UI. It being an open source tool makes it more and more attractive.
Read this authenticated review
Charlie Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2014

What Can JMeter Do For You?!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization utilizes the JMeter product across many areas of the IT footprint. Our application development teams will use it for unit testing and our quality assurance team uses it for functional, performance, load and stress testing. We have identified many memory leak, database connection and virtual server issues with the versatility provided by the JMeter product. Our company is expanding their horizons with SOA and other web service upgrades that were until recently an unknown environment for our testing teams. I have spent countless hours in test case and use case review with our QA teams and having Jmeter as a viable testing option has been crucial in our performance and load testing endeavors. We have identified shortcomings in our initial virtual server setup and web service breakdown through comprehensive testing and use case review.
Read Charlie Harris's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2017

JMeter Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used this product to do graphing and on the fly reporting. It allows us to pull data and graph it without laying it out carefully every time and allows for quick information. We don't use it often but I have enjoyed being able to look at data in a graphic content.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

Need REST-API Automation? That's the tool to use!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Jmeter is used within our department for REST API Functional and non-functional test automation. It is fast and reliable and quite extensible, that's why we are using it. A single testing module can be made and very highly paramterized such that it would be executed many times with various parameters combinations. It is also easily integrated with Jenkins as a CI framework.
Read this authenticated review
Jimmy Armitage | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2014

JMeter evaluation 2014

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

JMeter is becoming the standard across Intuit. There is still a legacy investment in Silk Performer but it is being phased out in favor of JMeter. One large organization does have its own tool but most have adopted the open source JMeter. Another tool that is seeing adoption is Gatling. JMeter is open source and free. That addresses the issue that Silk Performer is an expensive problem. JMeter does not require licenses. That addresses the issue that Silk Performer machines are a limited problem. JMeter experience is easier to find and is more relevant in today's market.
Read Jimmy Armitage's full review
Raman Ramanchuk | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2014

Jmeter as performance testing tool for web applications/products

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Hi, I use Jmeter in current company (Strevus) and used it in Oxagile to build load profile for sowtware applications and products that I was testing. Also I measured web applications response times when performing load and stress testing. Also I measure DB response times (MySQL) when loading DB with queries (selects, udpates etc.). We used Jmeter mostly in our Engineering (DEV and QA) departments
Read Raman Ramanchuk's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2016

JMeter Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used for performance testing of mobile or desktop applications to check the scalability, reliability, and responsiveness of the product in the market. It is used by the performance center of excellence department inside the performance engineering team of the company. It addresses response time issues and performance metrics of applications faced by the client product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2016

JMeter good to use for API /performance testing.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am using JMeter for API testing. I designed a data-driven API testing framework with JMeter, which is very helpful for testing APIs as well as setting up some performance tests. I integrate JMeter with Jenkins. It helps our company a lot for performing and managing the API test. And it is easy to set up a performance test system. I have helped my company set up a lab with continuous load testing to measure the performance of our product, as well as setting up an automation performance testing system and shipped it to some of our customers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2015

You need to try JMeter! I have and I don't regret it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use JMeter in our company to test load and performance of our web sites. Our scripts leverage the flexibility and ease of use of JMeter to test the different pages of our websites and generate dynamic content requests. We hired the services of BlazeMeter to leverage their infrastructure to run the test in different regions and different concurrent user configurations to our different regional pages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2015

Review from QA :)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our company we use JMeter for our regression tests, also for simple cases such as sign up, log in, etc. It helps us to save a lot of time for some testing cases that should be done every day, so we have created some tests and are running them daily. In our IT company this tool is used mostly by QA team.
Sometimes it helps us to find problems that we could miss. So I hope to work with JMeter as long as it is possible :)
Best Regards,
Narine.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2015

Best suited tool for performance testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use JMeter for performance testing of web applications. Presently it is being used by the performance testing team. It is mostly used for analysis of page load response time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2015

JMETER Review - Tool that can used for any project type.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use JMeter for load and stress test for most of our client's products. We target for:

  • Page load
  • Duration of test in seconds with number of virtual users that server can support in x number of seconds (users/sec)
  • Determine a system's behavior under both normal and anticipated peak load conditions
  • Min/Max duration for each page to load
  • Reverse stress test and its consequences
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

End to end performance management (17)
8.7
Integrated performance data (17)
8.6
Deployment model flexibility (15)
8.5
Real time monitoring (16)
8.4
Automated anomaly detection (14)
7.0

About JMeter

JMeter, from Apache, is a load and performance testing tool.

JMeter Integrations

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

JMeter Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No