Joomla Reviews

244 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 60)

Michael Pignataro | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2015

Joomla - The Leading CMS (Content Management System)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
'corePHP' uses Joomla not only for our internal websites for 'corePHP' but we also build and customize our clients' websites to the demands and needs of the client. Our clients range from small to fortune 500 companies with vastly different needs. Joomla is an easy to use product for the end users as well as a powerful CMS to program in.
  • East of Use - Joomla has a very easy user interface for the backend where admins will manage their site and make updates when needed. With the latest version of Joomla you have responsive backend that makes updating your site on your mobile device easier.
  • Template Clubs - Its super easy for small companies to have professional looking templates with the latest design trends. This helps them look bigger and perform better then a cookie cutter template that you would typically see. Amazing template providers are gavick.com rockettheme.com bang2joom.com joomlart.com and yootheme.com
  • 3rd Party extensions - With the many 3rd party developers there are a lot of products that meet the small to medium size companies needs where we would go in and modify the functionality to meet the final needs of the clients. Great companies are www.corephp.com compojoom.com jomsocial.com ijoomla.com and MORE
  • Custom Development - When you can't find that perfect solution and you need something customize to meet your need. Joomla is very extendable and easy to build what you need. The great thing about Joomla is it is also very easy to grow your site with without the thought of abandoning the platform later. Joomla will grow with you!
  • This is from a coding view point. When modifying the code for users it is very difficult to use. Hoping in later versions this is cleaned up so it makes it easier for developers.
Joomla is one of those products that can fit many aspects. What is nice out of the box you have a powerful solution for your site. Adding on to Joomla with 3rd party extensions and custom development just enhances the site. Joomla is really strong with SEO which is important for many organizations.
Read Michael Pignataro's full review
Waseel Akbari | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2016

About Joomla!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it across the organization and granted different levels of access to employees. We used it for content management of a public facing website.
  • Content management
  • Build applications
  • Build and design websites
  • Creating your own templates and themes
Joomla! is very user freindly and easy to use.
Read Waseel Akbari's full review
Jerry Janes | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2015

Joomla is best now, and will be in the future.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you are new to CMS development, Joomla is a good solution to learn and use. I started in web dev. as a designer with low coding skills. When the time came to make myself more productive to my clients, I knew CMSs were the way, so I researched many and the two I chose to learn were WordPress and Joomla, which I picked because of their open scalability. That was four years ago and I almost exclusively use Joomla today because in my opinion it far exceeds the functionality of WordPress and only is widening the gap with its advances like Joomla Framework, which will soon bring RAD to the masses. I am about empowering my clients to do for themselves and even if Joomla (currently) has a more steep learning curve than WordPress, if trained correctly, I find my clients quickly going from newbie to developer in a short time. I taught high school for ten years and know what and when something works for my students, so trust this former teacher and make your choice Joomla. You won't regret it.
  • Scalability
  • Responsive
  • Functionality
  • Intuitive
  • Open
  • Mobile
  • Modular
  • Steeper learning curve than WordPress
  • Less customization than Drupal
  • Newest 3x versions are lagging with 2x modules keeping up
I know others have said this, but I concur: Joomla is middle ground. WordPress is easier to learn but offers less functionality and scalability. Drupal offers more of latter but is harder to learn for the newbie. I choose Joomla time and time again for my clients for those reasons and use it myself for the same.
Read Jerry Janes's full review
Alex Jewell | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2015

Joomla!: For What?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a contract-based developer for marketing agencies in the Chicagoland area, it is my job to quickly turn their aesthetic and brand development into viable, interactive web applications. Their clients generally need the following: the ability to log in and make changes themselves after the project is complete, the ability to keep track of users, and the ability to carry out business and communication using their web presence. Joomla makes it possible to check off these goals while still fitting within strict timelines.
  • Joomla! makes it easy to create pages and organize menus/navigation on the fly for flat content. An informational website is a synch with the quick CMS workflow for content.
  • Customizing or creating custom templates is quite easy with a basic understanding of HTML and CSS. Joomla! is incredibly flexible and customizable if you have the know-how and desire to make it your own, and its templating system is intuitive and not messy or too complicated.
  • Having users and keeping track of accounts and security levels is built-in and easy to do. Accounts are accessible and manageable, giving you a lot of control over who accesses and sees what, or who can edit and contribute to the content. Once again, this is a sign of Joomla!'s flexibility and scalability - the tools are there if you need or want them for your project.
  • Sometimes you end up locked into screens while editing or viewing settings and/or content. It'd be nice to not have to "cancel" a current action in order to quickly get somewhere else.
  • Certain common additions, such as forms, are not included in Joomla out of the box. Contact Forms, for example, should be easy to implement without third party plugins/extensions, but should also be customizable - a drag and drop sort of interface for form creation may be a critical addition to the system, as even the simplest websites generally have at least one.
  • Database issues are pretty common with Joomla!, especially when migrating to new servers and/or updating database information. The database connectivity should be streamlined so that developers don't get locked out and forced to edit core or config files manually on the server in order to fix it.
While Joomla! is highly flexible and scalable, projects oftentimes require custom solutions that are either hardcoded or better suited with other CMSs or frameworks (for example, an eCommerce site may need something like BigCommerce, Magento, etc.) So when, then, is Joomla! the solution? Joomla! is great for those mid-sized interactive websites which require users, multidimensional sitemaps (Joomla!'s easy creation and organization of content is great), and client access to the CMS and settings. It's good for the websites that aren't all static content, but also aren't greatly complex and custom. Add some powerful plugins into the mix, and you've got a great solution for those mid-sized projects.
Read Alex Jewell's full review
Mike Demopoulos | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2015

10 Year of Joomla Use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Joomla! as the backbone for our content management system for our clients. We use it for over 100 of our clients in the insurance and banking industries. We find it very easy to develop on while allowing our clients to fully manage their sites. What is unique is that it is open source which saves money for our clients in licensing fees.
  • The ability to build a site with no coding experience.
  • The ability for free software and hosting from joomla.org.
  • One of the world's most popular CMS systems.
  • Core in-line editing would be a nice feature.
  • Better marketing to help people understand why Joomla! is unique from other CMS systems.
I think Joomla! is best for web applications and full web sites. If you are looking for a stand along blog only solution WordPress would be a better fit. However even if you don't need a CMS you can use the Joomla! framework to build your application.
Read Mike Demopoulos's full review
Matt Lundstrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2015

Joomla! Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been offering a web hosting platform that supports Joomla since it's inception. Our customers like the fact that they can click a button and have our system automatically install Joomla for them. Joomla is one of our most popular apps and is one of the most user-friendly apps available right now.
  • It is easy to use for most people.
  • There are lots of extensions available.
  • A wide variety of developers are able to expand Joomla due to it's open-source PHP code base.
  • Joomla could be better if it offered automatic updates out of the box.
  • Joomla could benefit from better documentation.
  • Requiring plugin vendors to auto-update would be wise as well.
Joomla is well suited for people with average to advanced [experience] looking to build a DIY website. If someone were looking for an app to do just that, I would recommend Joomla and a handful of others.
Read Matt Lundstrom's full review
Mark Goldsmith | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2015

Joomla CMS 3.0 Solutions & Options

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I provide freelance contractor services for global businesses and organizations. I have been using Joomla CMS from J1.0 to current release of J3.4. I also have experience with both responsive Joomla templates and frameworks and the over 8000 possible extension solutions.

Open Source Advantages:
• Integrated Store (eCommerce)
• Social Networking
• Responsive Mobile Compliant
• Non-Proprietary
• Cost Effective
• Reduced Development Time
• Built In Solutions
• Modular Framework
• Global Support Network
• Training & Tutorials
• 1000’s of potential solutions
• and much, much more
  • Cost effective, fast build, large support from contractors, developers and designers.
  • Hosting support and options.
  • As secure as any open source products and options
  • Provides integrated solutions like, eCommerce/Store, newsletter, community, events, forms...etc, over 8000 extensions and 3rd party integrations.
  • Free, while it can be customized, upgrades are released by the Joomla organizations.
  • Feature and upgrade cycle is dependent on the Joomla organization timelines and based on their priority feature releases.
  • General purpose core, good for many options, but some limitation for full customizations
Read Mark Goldsmith's full review
Cesar Babino | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2015

Why Joomla can be a perfect option for your Corporate website?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a webdesign agency, we had implemented in different organizations with multiple users and responsibilities. One of the best features of this CMS (Content Management system) is the versatility to create users and assign them different access to components and/or modules. Beside the editorial profile you can give to each user to write, review or edit content. You can assign to each user or group of users access to specific areas (components, category of articles, specific articles, etc.) inside your administrative portal with the chance to just read and or write on the assigned sections.
  • Basic SEO, with very limited knowledge you are able to manage titles, meta tag descriptions and keywords, create sitemaps. And provide the initial elements every search engine require for indexing your webpage.
  • Responsive templates, you have a broad list of templates and components which are responsive and help your site adapt to desktop, tablets and phone without any problem. Also the opportunity to create specif modules just for any combination of devices (desktop, tablets or phones).
  • Broad list of components and modules, are you looking for an specific requirement for your website. You will find an application (component), Module or plugin already created that will avoid you development time. And the awareness that all software are supported and evolving with new features.
  • Update notification, even though you can see from your administrator access when a component, module or plugin needs to be updated. It would be great to get email notification when new versions arrive.
  • More Community user features, you can use different components to create a community of users. But it would be great to have the opportunity to create new information field for the user profile, picture and social platform links as a features in joomla user management.
  • More video tutorials introducing joomla and main features as specif information about installation and configuration.
  • Type of Business
  • # of Administrative users and roles
  • Type of functionality you are looking for your website
  • Implementation time
  • Type of content for your site.
  • Sitemap structure
  • Design Requirements
Read Cesar Babino's full review
Marni Derr | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2015

Joomla, Drupal, or WordPress? Oh My! How to Choose.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently specialize in using the Joomla CMS for an extensive range of web site types; From simple writer blogs to full corporate extranets, intranets, sales, portals, and knowledge bases. Joomla is easily used by employers and employees across an organization. In order to keep IT costs down, users with very little web knowledge can manage a Joomla web site with a few days of training. It is not necessary to know or understand coding or design.
  • Joomla has one of the largest communities of developers in the CMS market. With easy to install plug-n-go applications there is no need to hire a developer to custom build your web sites main features or functionality.
  • Joomla 3.2 and the available template frameworks are responsive, clean, and current. These frameworks keep updated on the cutting edge of mobile and web use.
  • With a few hours of training, most users can maintain and update a Joomla site as easily as you would write up a document.
  • Over the past few years Joomla remained behind in the ability to update a site easily, with few issues. Joomla is getting much better at one-click updates, but there can still be issues with other applications (components) that do not stay current.
  • Joomla does have a small learning curve. Although it is not necessary to know or understand any coding when utilizing Joomla, a user will need to understand how Joomla compiles it pages and how to create use the main features.
  • The choice of applications available can make it difficult to find the right one for your company. For example, there are 5-6 top eCommerce solutions on the market for Joomla. Careful thought and investigation should go into selecting the right one.
When selecting a CMS, it is important to understand the Server requirements. Though most hosting providers now automatically support CMS apps like WordPress, Drupal, and Joomla... you can select a less than adequate hosting system which will lead to frustration with the product. Always check Joomla requirements against what a hosting provider offers, less is not always the best way to go. With the correct server configuration a user will experience few issues.
Read Marni Derr's full review
Eyvonne Myers | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2015

I've come to know Joomla! through work, but use it for my own personal sites as well!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company Cloudaccess.net is a Joomla! hosting company that specializes in hosting Joomla! sites optimally and offering most excellent support to our clients and customers who are building their websites using Joomla! on our platform.
  • Joomla! is very user friendly for all experience levels.
  • Joomla! is extremely flexible in the sense that you can build any type of website you want including an advanced E-commerce site or social media. The possibilities are endless.
  • The Extensions and templates that are available to use in building your site is wonderful. You can get beautiful designs from template manufactures in the community and at good costs as well as well functioning extensions that give you the abilities and functionalities you are looking for to make your sites vision come together.
  • The ACL manager for advanced user control is also a great feature. Being able to easily set up different access control levels for different types of users is a wonderful attribute. It can be as simple or complex as you need it to be.
  • I cannot think of any improvements I would like to see at this moment. The new version release has addressed a few of the previous bugs/ issues
Many clients tend to ask if Joomla! is good for complex sites and I would always say absolutely. Joomla! is very flexible and you can make your site as complex as you need it to be. Many Fortune 500 companies and enterprise level businesses have used the Joomla! platform to present their products and represent their web presence. Like I stated before, the possibilities are endless, from your simple personal blog site to an E-commerce store with thousands of products.
Read Eyvonne Myers's full review
Todd Bellamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2015

Joomla! - Open Source CMS for Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Joomla is currently the content management solution for our website. Joomla provides for a user account based front and back end as well as a public website presence. We have also implemented customer contact forms within our Joomla site for reviews, quote requests and more. The entire organization provides content for our Joomla site. Sales and Marketing are the largest users and responsible for the majority of the content.
  • User management, the creation of custom groups of users, various security levels, and the ability to separate back end from front end users. For example you could grant a customer access to a particular front end page that has content dedicated to them only with a username and password, yet keep them from other customers files on the back end of the system.
  • Numerous free extensions, Joomla provides a solid foundation for whatever kind of site you would like to build and offers a range of not only free templates but free functions such as photo galleries, contact forms, shopping cart functions.
  • Joomla! extension development and customization for plugins and modules. With knowledge of MySQL and PHP a skilled developer, or in many cases, even novice users can create their own extensions. For example, we created a custom FTP front end to share files with users.
  • Joomla! is open source and therefore does not provide immediate support for the product. If a problem occurs during setup or operation the best way to solve a problem is report it to the Joomla! community support, but a quick fix to your problem is not guaranteed.
  • Joomla!'s data is held (typically) in a MySQL database that the user will never see. When a Joomla! site becomes very large with an extensive number of users and/or information it can become sluggish, but this can be mitigated with some basic database management skills, specifically someone who can create new indexes, procedures or someone who knows the data well enough to archive at a certain point.
  • Content Management Solutions, such as Joomla!, continuously update and change with the market requirements and security requirements of the online community. I would like to see a standardized backup and restore process implemented so that if a user does upgrade there system it is easily reverted and or changes are tracked more thoroughly.
When a powerful CMS is needed for a business I would recommend Joomla! over its competitors. Joomla! is great for handling data driven applications such as real estate, online shopping and so forth. Querying the database for properties and clothes is much faster than with competitors and the extraction of data into other systems for reporting is quite simple.
Read Todd Bellamy's full review
Jennifer de Spain | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2014

Why Joomla Should the the FIRST CMS You Look Into

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the owner of a one-man show web design business, I use Joomla as a proficient way to expedite the process of building a high quality website that can become more feature rich as my clients' needs grow. I use Joomlas on 95% of my website jobs. For a developer/designer like myself, Joomla is a highly functional system that I can use and manipulate via code to give my clients the site they need.

Because the program itself is open source, it has a highly versatile structure allowing for task-specific plugins to be installed. The program and plugins can be easily manipulated via override code, and the Joomla help forum community is so responsive and knowledgeable, Joomla has has solved a number of tricky case by case business problems. Being open source, it is free to download for anyone with an internet connection, and any part of it can be "Frankensteined" into another CMS project. Its versatility allows me to quickly install 3rd-party plugins to create a blog, set up a robust and feature-rich Real Estate Management System, and even configure a fully functional social network community. These plugins may or may not be exactly how the client wants them to function or look right out of the box, so Joomla provides a well structured system for "overrrides' that allow for detailed customizations of the plugins. In the case that plugins or the default functionality of Joomla do not meet the requirements of the project, the Joomlas help forum community is there to help troubleshoot and even to create plugins with/for you to give you a jump start toward the solution or outright give you the solution to your problem.
  • The relationship between the frontend (visitor side) and the backend (admin side) of the website is well thought through and easy to handle. A visitor may register in the frontend and get special privileges on what they can see and what they can't. Admins can log into the front or the back and manage content, modules, and components on either side. Keeping the frontend and the backend separate gives an advantage to designers and developers, as they can work in the backend on, say, text for a page, save it, and then view it in a different tab as a separately logged in frontend registered user.
  • User group and access management is highly flexible. I had a client who had 7 different levels of members. Some members could have access to pages x, y, and z, some only x and y, and some only x and z. Joomla allowed me to create different user groups and access levels to accommodate this complex member access. Allowing one user to be part of multiple groups was a big part of making the particular membership system work efficiently
  • Joomla manages the content of the site in a database, with different aspects of the content being stored in different tables of the database. The organization of the database is very logical and easy to deal with, in the case that one would need to.
  • The code for the core Joomla system extremely well documented within the source code and is clean. Any code that it uses to render the content from the database is standard code compliant and does not raise any errors in the browser.
  • The current Joomla version, Joomla 3.x, uses redundant database calls when rendering the pages. When a page is being rendered, a specific file is used to control what shows up on the page. That file calls information from the database, so that the correct text, images, etc. are rendered onto the end page. Currently, unnecessary calls to the database are being made, making the pages load slower than they have in previous versions of Joomla.
  • I wish it was a little easier for clients to be able to manage their own content once the site is finished. It is not very hard to do once you are on the page you are editing, however, getting to that page from the backend is difficult for many novices, because they don't know the relationship between what they are editing and how it ends up on the frontend.
  • While the menu system is extremely logical for designers and developers, it is difficult for clients to set up new menu items or pages on their sites, beyond adding blog posts. To set up a menu, you...
  • Have to add a menu in the "Menu Manager"
  • Go to the "Module Manager" and place the menu into a module spot in the template
  • Create a category in the "Content Manager"
  • Create an article in the "Content Manager" that lives within a category that has already been created
  • Finally, a menu item must be added to the menu from part 1, that calls the article created in part 4.
  • This is highly organized when setting up the site, but is difficult to deal with for users who are not used to the set up.
Joomla is well suited for projects that either start out small and will need room to grow, or need to start out as medium to large. It can be a blog, social network, store, real estate system with fully integrated organic MLS (list of houses in the local listed house database), online e-course system, restaurant reservation and take out order system, it can be a hotel reservation system, video chat system, customer service system, RSVP system for events. The list can go on and on. It is hard to imagine something that would not be possible in Joomla.

It should be noted that Joomla is the base for all of these possibilities. Much of the functionality comes from third party plugins that utilize the structure and flexibility of the Joomla core. Many of these plugins cost money, but that depends purely on the plugin and third party developer's pricing policies. Some plugins are free, such as K2 (blogging) and some lower end Real Estate systems.

Overall, Joomla is highly flexible and will provide a great starting place for any sized site one can imagine, whether it is to Frankenstein parts of the core for another project, or to install plugins that enhance the features and build on the Joomla foundation.
Read Jennifer de Spain's full review
Janice Gentles-Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2015

Why I Choose Joomla over other CMS's

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Joomla to build websites for non-profit organizations and small businesses. I find it to be a great resource for non-profits who need functionality such as online donations, event registrations, online directories and online membership management. Joomla has some great extensions that makes it easy for users to manage these function right from within their website.
  • The new release of Joomla, version 3.x, has a new, user-friendly interface. This new interface reduces the learning curve a lot compared to the other versions. It also makes it easy to keep your website updated and to find extensions to add to your website.
  • Joomla is also great at managing different permission levels for users. For organizations that want to have members-only content and have different levels of membership and what people can see, Joomla 3.x handles this well without need a third-party extensions.
  • I find that Joomla has some great extensions for managing online donations, event registration and online membership. This is what makes me choose this CMS over many of the other popular CMS's out there.
  • Joomla does not have a good preview system. If you want to preview your pages before they go live you have to use a third-party extension. I wish this was built-in as this is a common feature in other popular CMS's.
  • I haven't found a great ecommerce system for Joomla yet. There are some semi-good ones but they are either overkill or not enough functionality.
Joomla works great for non-profit organizations that want to utilize the web for managing their donations and memberships online. It can be a lot more cost-effective than other vendors that have monthly cost for these services. For simple websites that do not need all the bells and whistles that a non-profit may need Joomla works well for also, although depending on the client's tech level and how often they'll be updating their website, I may choose a different CMS for their business.
Read Janice Gentles-Jones's full review
Kelli Riley | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

Joomla is a great CMS solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Joomla is being used by my company on most of our current websites. It has also been used on affilate sites that we have redesigned. It is great because it gives staff members the ability to make simple updates on their own and be proactive when it comes to the website.
  • Joomla is highly scalable, there are so many extensions available to add pretty much any functionality that could be needed like a photo gallery, a store, or a blog.
  • Joomla is easy to use, once you know where and how to update the different parts of the website it's quick and easy to update your website from either the frontend or backend of the site.
  • Joomla makes it easy to manage different access levels of your website and give users different access to the website based on access group.
  • I think that Joomla security has improved but for a while there it was not the most secure platform making it vulnerable to attack. To combat this you have to be vigilant about keeping Joomla updated and all extensions updated as well. It also helps to make sure the site folders and file permissions are set securely. Changing passwords regularly is also good practice.
  • Joomla can be quirky at times, for instance in Joomla 2.5 I kept having problems with menu items rearranging themselves after I would add a new menu item. This was frustrating to have to keep reordering menus. I found that this was a common problem after searching the joomla forums but it was definitely something that should not happen.
Joomla is a great solution especially if you find that you will be updating your site frequently and that you eventually want more functionality added to the site. I think that Joomla is less successful if used for e-commerce. I think that there are better solutions for e-commerce out like Prestoshop. I think it is good for content driven sites because it makes it very simple to manage and update content.
Read Kelli Riley's full review
Philippe Sauve | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

Joomla ! Free, freedom. Simply, simple. This developer's take on it...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a self-employed IT consultant and web developer, Joomla! allows me to offer my customers an affordable yet very powerful and scalable solution. Our customers our mostly small and medium-sized businesses as well as other self-employed folks. Joomla! lets them have the privilege of having a solid, well maintained and professionnal web platform. The ease of updating and maintaining their own website is one of the biggest selling points. A website being in a constant 'work in progress' state, the multitude of extensions available allows me to answer 'YES!' even before my customers finish their 'Can we....do this, or do that?' questions pertaining to website functionality. Complex (configurable) enough for the developer and yet easy enough to teach a customer how to use an editor in the front end (as easy as using MS Word!) is just an awesome recipe where everybody wins! Like a good wine, Joomla! is definitely improving with age and this loyal developer is enjoying every sip.... Cheers !
  • Functionality. Thousands of great extensions
  • Ease of use for customers
  • Price: can you beat free?
  • Maybe just a bit more 'drag and drop' for editing purposes, especially in the front end for non-developers (clients).
  • A little elbow grease never hurt anyone. I have always found a solution to anything I have needed....can't really say I've ever been really disappointed.
  • Not really Joomla!'s doing, but some third party extension licences are all over the place. As a web developer, you have to be very careful when purchasing components, plugins etc. You may buy something incredible for a few bucks and be allowed to install on multiple domains or pay a fortune for something not as good and only licenced for 1 domain. You need to do your research very well before spending any money.
No specific scenario in my book. This platform is great for the mom & pop shops to huge, well-known corporations. Again, it's flexibility is it's secret winning recipe.
Read Philippe Sauve's full review
Leontine Vandermeer | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2014

Choosing Joomla! over Wordpress

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Joomla! is being used by a client who owns a printed and online magazine. After the printed articles are finished, I am in charge of putting the articles with accompanying images in Joomla! for their online version of the magazine. Because this magazine company is using an older version of Joomla! we encounter many problems, especially the problems of being attacked by hackers and malware.
  • It does an amazing job of posting articles and posting them in several different styles, such as blog style. This way the newest articles are always on top.
  • The linking and navigation is very well designed within Joomla!. It's very easy to create menus on the fly, links to content or to anything else.
  • The user interface is very well laid out and designed. The different options available for publishing an article are endless. It is very easy to work within Joomla!
  • Search engine optimization is handled very well within Joomla! Articles and pages automatically take the words from the title. The website performs very well in the search engines, the newest articles always show up on google's first page.
  • The entire setup of Joomla! is ideal for online newspapers, magazines and more. You can set a publish date and time, or a time to unpublished something.
  • With the huge range of modules available for Joomla! there is really nothing you can't do with this program. Whether it's a simple website or a very large online magazine or newspaper, or non-profit, whether the administration is done by one person or an entire team, it all works flawlessly.
  • Joomla! allows for many users and user roles which makes managing an online business a breeze.
  • Since I am using Joomla! 1.5 with this online magazine, I don't have experience in a newer version but overall I find it easy to work with Joomla!
  • Designing a template for Joomla! might be the hardest part to do and maybe could be done in an easier way.
  • More control over the featured image of an article would be nice. In Joomla! 1.5 it always grabs the first picture in an article to use on the article list pages, when sometimes you wish it could be a different image than the first one.
First, find out what type of operation the prospective client is in charge of. I would recommend Joomla! for any medium to large scale business that is in need of many functionalities and a robust engine, a company that does frequent publishing of new articles and also a company that uses many authors and contributors.
For a simple brochure type website I would recommend Wordpress, as I think Joomla! is overkill and Wordpress has a slightly easier to use interface for less experienced users.
Read Leontine Vandermeer's full review
Andrey Dik | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2014

Joomla Rocks!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have developed a website for WinMagic Data Security based on Joomla and now managing it. As super flexible CMS, Joomla is being used by all departments of our company: from sales to accounting and management. Joomla runs all key sections of our website: content pages, downloads, landing pages, e-commerce. With jQuery and Bootstrap connected, i have created responsive version of WinMagic's website: now it is convenient to be browsed on tablets and mobile phones as well.
I am also developing website based on Joomla for any other industries: from moving companies to magazines... and Joomla has been exceptionally beneficial both from content management perspective and SEO/SEM.
  • Suitable for any business niche and business type.
  • Easy in customization and understanding
  • Huge community and support
  • Largest among competitors extension directory
  • Some people find administrative panel a little less convenient compared to competitive products. But it is just a matter of convenience and personal habits.
  • In some cases requires relatively more experience to install/run comparing to competitors.
Flexibility, huge community, extensions library and security - these are key points that make Joomla stand out from its competitors.
For developers Joomla is a heaven to be: API is very comprehensive and allows to create custom extensions for any needs.
Designers and coders will be able to create new templates within several hours - you don't need to be a PHP guru in order to understand how things work there.
Website managers will find a lot of advanced core features that are pre-built.
Read Andrey Dik's full review
Bill Rosner | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2014

Joomla is my CMS of choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a website developer I work with multiple CMS. Joomla is by far my favorite because if it's ease of use for non-technical personnel, while being very flexible and extendable by those users with greater technical skills. I've been working with Joomla since it's 1.0 version and the evolution of the product to it's current (3.2.x) version has been astounding. With a road map that covers the continued development of Joomla well into the future, I'm looking forward to it. I'm also proud to say that I'll be continuing to use Joomla as my CMS of choice for the foreseeable future.
  • Solid core functionality, including the new version tool.
  • Many extensions to customize the application to my client's needs.
  • Devoted development community.
  • Could use better documentation.
More secure than WordPress but not as 'code heavy' as Drupal. Lots of extensions to cover functionality not covered in the core. Great for small sites as well as Enterprise Class applications.
Read Bill Rosner's full review
Cristian Grañó | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2014

Joomla, a great CMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Joomla is a great choice for all kinds of website. Newer versions are significantly better than old; It has improved a lot. The latest version, j3, is easier for the end user , has a clean and responsive administration console and, for the PHP programmer, gives an MVC structure which is easy to maintain and control. The learning curve gets shorter day by day. I think this platform has a great future and I will follow its progress with interest.
  • Structure MVC, and great framework for developement
  • Powerful
  • Every update makes it easier for the user
  • The multilanguage system could be better
For an easy website like a blog, I think it's better go to WordPress. Or for a more more specific website like a shop or learning website, there are more appropriate systems.
Read Cristian Grañó's full review
Katherine Hambley | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 08, 2014

Joolma from an admin/developer perspective

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used right now in a couple departments for their own dept web sites. It solves the problem of the dept heads being able to create pages on their own site and edit those pages with very little support. We just don't have the man hours for me to support third party sites outside our primary CMS.
  • Edit in Context - Joomla allows editing in context right out of the box which Wordpress and other open source CMSs do not
  • Approval Chain processing - It is easy to set up an approval chain workflow in Joomla unlike other CMSs
  • The Admin page - Very well crafted admin page and access
  • More Templates! Wordpress has thousands of "themes" available and you just plug them in, in my experience, it's not that easy with Joomla.
  • There needs to be a Developer API, making it easy for devs to create plug-ins, templates, and access the back-end database.
  • I find that end users don't understand "articles" and other Joolma specific jargon. Stick with the defacto standard like "posts" and "pages"
Will there be multiple content authors / admins? How adept are they with technology? And what device will they primarily be using to access the site, admin and end user? Joomla! works well when there are multiple authors with limited technical knowledge.
Read Katherine Hambley's full review
Sarah Banas | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2014

TL:DR

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Was an upgrade for a client who previously was on Joomla! 1.5
  • Clean cut, business-type design and layout. Looks good for business.
  • Solid core development and upgrades, stable.
  • Majority of plugins are costly to use, even in basic versions. Have to pay to use most plugin functionality.
  • Separating component/plugin/module is over-complicating development. Combining the functionality together would make it much simpler, perhaps cleaner.
  • Upgrade the plugin repo. While listing some available plugins, oftentimes you still have to externally download them upload said plugin.
For high-paying clients that don't want to deal with Wordpress or Drupal due to misrepresented security reasons, Joomla! is a good alternative. It's very good for developers or people who like tinkering with source code.
Read Sarah Banas's full review
Lindsay Diedrich | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 22, 2014

Ya for Joomla!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Joomla! was used on a case-by-case basis by my previous employer. Our other alternative was WordPress. It was used across the whole organization. We eventually moved to developing only WordPress sites because it seemed more user friendly than Joomla!.
  • It's customizable
  • Open source CMS
  • Good amount of support available
  • Not so great for blogging
  • Hard to implement proper SEO techniques - we had to do some research on how to
  • Good amount of templates available
I would recommend Joomla! for websites that aren't blog-heavy. It's great for large websites, as well. Joomla! is a very powerful system with lots of great extensions and a really easy to use admin system.
Read Lindsay Diedrich's full review
Johann Joubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2014

Jooma! the website developer's software of the future.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Joomla! CMS for all our website design and development. This is the foundation of the website design department but even our own website was designed and developed using Joomla!. Once a website is designed we train the owners to manage their own content. This helps us to focus on new developments rather than to have to maintain websites for other companies.
  • Joomla! has a vast quantity of developed extensions available. There are very few applications for which there isn't an extension available, paid or free.
  • The Joomla! CMS back-end administration control panel is extremely user friendly. Once you have mastered the basics of Joomla! editing it is very simple to manage the content of your website.
  • Joomla! is easy to install and there is a legion of information available on how to use the software, once installed. Using Akeeba Backup, makes the backing up of sites simple and easy to move around, if necessary.
  • Joomla! needs to be constantly updated. Some of the extensions makes it vulnerable to attacks from hackers. This makes it very important to always update to the latest version.
  • One has to be very thorough before updating Joomla!, or any of it's extensions. Backups are extremely important as some updates are known to "break" the site.
  • One can do a lot with Joomla! using CSS and PHP but both these languages are fairly difficult to learn. This forces you to do a lot of research if you want to be able to tweak sites using CSS and PHP.
I have recommended Joomla! to quite a few of our clients who wished to build their own websites. The one website without which one cannot go if you are using Joomla! is http://extensions.joomla.org/

If you do the research and you learn how to, properly, work with Joomla! you will never look back.

One can honestly make a very good living as a website developer using Joomla! CMS
Read Johann Joubert's full review
Pradeep Wickramanayake | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2014

Joomla is the best open source platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Working with many industries, I have come to realize that the website is essential. The growth of online marketing and website performance play a major part. Many clients needs different features to start and implement new features to their website in the future. Depending on the overall specifications we mostly suggest the Joomla platform to clients so that they can manage their users as well as their content. Joomla gives extra benefit to the users in the form of management of their e-commerce sites as well as their blog sites.

Being a senior developer for my company, I realize most of the required features can generally be achieved using Joomla, so we mainly try to customize our own templates as well as create extensions (modules and plugins) as we go.
  • Joomla is capable of handling medium to large online stores
  • Joomla is capable of handling large content as well as blogging websites
  • Joomla overall is easily accessible and client friendly
  • More versality in Extensions
  • - Shopping Cart
  • - Blogging
  • - Forums
  • - Slideshows
  • - Galleries
  • More support needed
  • They release quick new versions too freqently
I'm a bit concerned about the security. but overall its a great product.
Read Pradeep Wickramanayake's full review
Vince Ginsburg | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2013

Robust and Versatile Content Management System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Solid core website, up and running within minutes
  • Versatile and customizable
  • Vast library of third-party plugins and components for every need
  • Many resources of third-party templates for just the right look
  • Open Source and Free
  • No central customer/tech support
  • Not all plugins, components, or templates are free
Robust website with many features baked in, and many more available from third-party plugins.
Read Vince Ginsburg's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (36)
8.8
API (32)
8.3
Internationalization / multi-language (33)
8.8
WYSIWYG editor (38)
7.3
Code quality / cleanliness (36)
7.7
Admin section (36)
8.3
Page templates (37)
7.7
Library of website themes (35)
7.4
Mobile optimization / responsive design (35)
7.6
Publishing workflow (35)
7.2
Form generator (32)
7.0
Content taxonomy (37)
8.3
SEO support (36)
7.6
Bulk management (35)
7.9
Availability / breadth of extensions (37)
8.3
Community / comment management (35)
8.2

About Joomla

Joomla! is a free, open source content management system used to publish web content. Joomla is written in PHP, uses object-oriented programming (OOP) techniques and stores data in a MySQL, MS SQL, or PostgreSQL database. Included features are page caching, RSS feeds, printable versions of pages, news flashes, blogs, polls, a search function, and support for language internationalization. Its dashboard organizing administrator tasks into context menus, from which content is edited, permissions set and changed, contacts managed, and messages sent to users. Extensions modify functionality in widely varying ways and provide flexibility.
Categories:  Content Management

Joomla Integrations

Joomla Competitors

Drupal, Kentico, Plone, Magnolia (V4.5 and prior versions), Magnolia (V5 and later versions)

Joomla Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No