Progress Kendo UI Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
228 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 165)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
akansha negi | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2020

Progress Kendo UI indeed a lifesaver for UI development.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Well, I have used Kendo UI in 2 web apps. First one is supeload and another is OpenPlant. For Supeload we migrated from Asp.Net controls to Kendo UI which made our work much easier. And then OpenPlant we directly used Kendo with angular.
  • Components such as charts tables are of great help when it comes to software development.
  • Documentation is good so it saves time and effort.
  • It offers support for multiple JavaScript frameworks.
  • Though, documentation is good . It still needs to cover all the scenarios.
  • Upgrades are not easy since there is no proper communication regarding this.
It could be used in almost every JavaScript framework. It's easy to implement in applications. The kendo widgets are able to be used in almost any type of business application which has a UI. Thus helping in building complex applications.
I have faced issues in past and they were very well handled by Kendo Support team.
Read akansha negi's full review
Balram Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2020

Using Kendo UI with Angular

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is used by some departments.
  • We are using it to create different components in our web application.
  • Our project has lots of dialogs and forms, so mostly we are using Kendo grids, charts, navigation, server side data call, server side filtering and different form elements like text input, data picker, combo box, buttons etc. It is a great tool which makes development easier and faster.
  • Fast Kendo Grid
  • Supports all form components
  • Good integration with Angular
  • Server side data support
  • Server side filtering support
  • Documentation has very simple use case examples of components
  • Kendo UI works very well with Angular.
  • It supports pagination, virtual grid
  • It support both server side filtering and local data filtering
  • Server side data call is not only supported by grid, but also drop downs, lists, tree -list etc.
  • All input elements contains necessary event handlers like onchange, onsubmit, onfocus etc.
  • All elements comes with default styling which already looks good but you can also change it as per your liking
Kendo UI cover almost all the business requirements. It provides all necessary and extra elements. We use it for all things data related.
Like:
Form elements
Grids
Pagination, Virtual paging
Server side data call / filtering
Event handling

It is very fast and reliable. We never had any problem with it.
Documentation is great for new learners but I would like to see more complex examples in documentation
Support is good. Kendo UI support team is easily reachable and very helpful.
Read Balram Singh's full review
Jyoti Mohite | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2020

Kendo UI is life saver for developers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used kendo UI in our product called as Superload. It is a web application which is used in US for issuing permits for vehicles. In this application we have used kendo UI through out the application as a standard for UI. Kendo UI is used in our department for web products.
We have used various kendo controls as grid for CRUD operations, Masked Text box for Zip codes, Cascaded drop downs etc.
  • Performance of Kendo controls is good. It is very easy to use ajax calls with kendo UI controls.
  • If we do Restore nuget packages without setting nuget package folder path then it mess up everything and needs to spent ample time on it to fix it.
  • It's quite difficult to find cons in Kendo UI. As it fits very good in all our scenarios.
  • In 2020 version of kendo we fond lots of changes in CSS class which made breaking changes in UI. means most of the css classes are broken down in smaller ones. that time we faced more issue than earlier upgrade.
We have migrated our old product to MVC. In old version we have used asp.net controls but those are quite difficult for implementation. But with kendo UI that made easy. We are using kendo grid for performance CRUD operations for most of the functionality. Grid is very easy to implement and it provides various configurations like paging, sorting, filtering. we can use Tool bar to to provide buttons like Add, Edit, Delete and Export to excel.
We have used every where and in every scenario kendo UI only so do not find any less point with it.
Kendo UI worth the rating 10 as it is very easy to learn and implement. It make UI make look beautiful and standard.
It has various control options which almost fit in all scenarios so do not need to look for other UI software's. It make developers life easy.
Also it is very easy to train our Users.
After upgrade to latest 2020 version we faced issue with one of the control which we have used at many places. we tried all the possible solution but was not able to fix the issue so we filed help ticket with Kendo support and did fabulous job. we were vary happy with their response.
Read Jyoti Mohite's full review
Akshata Khandeparkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2020

Good for UX and developers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Progress Kendo UI controls in our Angular framework on the front end. Progress Kendo UI enables us to provide a powerful and consistent UI across all applications for the organization. Components such as the Grid and the Combobox are used and customized extensively. Users enjoy a consistent experience across all applications.
  • Kendo Grid for presenting a timeline. At first, the Kendo Grid was a bit light on features, but it has grown over the years and is quite full featured.
  • Kendo Scheduler for presenting the upcoming calendar events.
  • Kendo Treeview is used to present a hierarchy of topics that our users can navigate through easily.
  • Kendo keeps adding features and works with newer frameworks. They never stop being relevant.
  • I do find the datasource a bit challenging to use. It works well if you don't try anything wierd, but after that I feel like I am on my own.
  • Database binding examples--more examples please.
  • Certain UI components have not been updated in a while or are more difficult to customize.
Progress Kendo UI is good when it comes to user experience and also good from a developer's perspective.
Highly scalable and easy to use. Documentation is easy to find and browse and has a large user community that contributes with examples and answers to questions.
Solutions presented by the support team are really fast and precise. The user forums help most of the time in getting answers to our queries easily.
Read Akshata Khandeparkar's full review
Abhay Gandhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2020

Progress Kendo UI consistently meets our needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Progress Kendo UI for our web application suites for 6+ years now. It's been a great experience with new controls added and meeting almost all our needs in our application. The journey started with POC and needed to be done fast. We happened to fall on Progress Kendo UI and haven't thought of anything else after that. The POC worked out quite well and that effort continued to evolve as a full fledged product which is in its fifth year now.
  • Extensive range of controls
  • Proper usage guide with running demos that help fast implementation
  • Proper timely support when needed
  • Provide details about upgrades and what controls are affected in an easily accessible way
If your application is not data intensive, then Progress Kendo UI can be considered. If your web application is complex and requires multiple controls to be used, go through Progress Kendo UI's Library and you will almost always find what you need. Progress Kendo UI has coverage for almost all recent web platforms, so if you are looking for something outside that, it won't work.
We find what we need in the library and it is easy to use and implement. The resources available help for quicker implementation and work to meet our needs. The development cycle is reduced. As well as overall quality, user experience has improved with the use of Progress Kendo UI.
The support response is excellent. In addition to this, the user forums help most of the time in getting answers to our queries easily. The support response was timely, appropriate, and accurate, explaining the missing links and things to be done to take care of them. This has really helped us get out of dead end situations a couple of times in the past.
Read Abhay Gandhi's full review
David Billingham | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2020

Enterprise-grade UI components

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Kendo UI in the vast majority of the pages of our primary product line. It has allowed us to produce a professional and flexible UI without getting bogged down in writing our own components and all the complexity that would entail.
  • Vast variety of UI widgets
  • Flexibility in how we use/implement them
  • None!
We upgraded a large web application by plugging in componentized versions of the Progress Kendo UI functionality. This allowed us to do a complete visual revamp without a large scale rewrite. On the back of that, we have continued to add more features (all based on Kendo) to increase user experience and productivity.
Deep and comprehensive functionality, but requires a decent level of understanding to get the best out of it.
Always good.
Read David Billingham's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2020

Time to market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is used by the IT department to provide an easy to use, intuitive and rich web-based application used by our business users to provide insurance products to our customers.
  • User experience
  • Rich forms
  • None that I can think off,
Kendo UI is well suited for the agile team that supports rapid developments.
Read this authenticated review
Héctor Miguel Castro Cervantes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2020

Best cost/benefit balance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Kendo UI in order to improve our user experience and our development effort. Kendo UI is one of our tools that makes a great improvement in our processes.

Kendo UI is a powerful component library that allow us to focus on business logic instead of UI programming.
  • Performance is great and the components are lightweight.
  • The design is customizable with CSS is as easy as applying templates.
  • Price is so good.
  • Documentation should include a link for common user's requirements, not only their examples.
Kendo UI is awesome for responsive web applications; we can use this in order to reduce programming effort and focus on functional requirements.

Kendo UI learning curve is lightweight, in a few days we can feel comfortable and we can reach more amazing user experience with a little effort. For our organization this is a key point.
May be Kendo UI can improve it's documentation, give more examples and use cases would be nice. However they have an excelent forum support.

It is important for us that learning curve be as lightweight as it can be. Kendo UI give us this without problems because each component is easy to use.
Usually, we don't have to contact support team in order to use Kendo UI, however we can see that in forum, anwer to kestions is relatively fast but some time we find questions that have not been answered yet.
Read Héctor Miguel Castro Cervantes's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2020

Kendo UI - Focus on custom development and let Kendo take care of the rest

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has used Kendo for many years. We have and are using it for our internal and external applications.

Kendo has worked especially well when creating grids. The OOTB filtering and sorting allows us to focus on other requirements our customers have.

At times it has been difficult to find examples of more complex scenarios to meet customer requirements. Customer support has exceptional when we've had a question.
  • Kendo does grids very well. The filtering and sorting features that come with grids has helped boost our development time.
  • Kendo has exceptional support. We have always received answers to problems we've had. Not all of them were solved by support but they at least allowed us to figure out how to solve the problem in another way.
  • The community forum is very good as well. Before contacting support, we consult the forums to see if someone has already solved the problem we're having. Support from the Telerik community is really good.
  • At times it seems that there are performance issues with the grid. It could be that it is due to how data is structured and retrieved from the data source but most of the time it is quite responsive.
  • There are times where more complex scenarios come up. Having some examples of more than just basic functionality would be nice.
Using the tab panels has been very helpful to our internal applications. The business needs to view and edit a lot of data when they interact with our customers and prospects. Organizing the fields into different tabs makes this a lot easier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2020

Superb UI with great support from vendor

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by my department and used in the applications that we develop internally. It solve time-to-market (internally) by useful UI components, saving my time. Also it is used to uplift the face for some legacy applications, that helps end user to be more comfortable using the applications that they use.
  • Superb variety of UI components
  • Easy to use
  • Reduce time to market
  • Support
  • Compatibility with another components
  • 3rd party implementation companies
Kendo UI is perfect when you start to develop the application from scratch and it is less appropriated when you have different architectures applied in a existing project. They always update their portifolio and give new functionalities to be used. They have always updated their set of components to be used to latest technologies.
It is easy to use because they have a sort of documentation in their own website and also in another sites in the web. Usually they publish frequently asked questions. The UIs rarely has bugs and it works well. Rarely I need to update the components due a bug.
I have the support subscription, so I don't know for the person that don't have it. For me, that owns it, it works very quickly and they are very objective trying to find the solution. They don't take much time to answer. When they don't know the answer in hands, they always try to find at least an workaround to have it working.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2020

Kendo UI is a robust performer, the web never looked better

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
8 years ago, I chose Kendo UI to rewrite a Flash based web-application so that the application could be used on mobile and desktop devices and be supported long term. This web-application is our company's sole web view product. Kendo UI is the closest thing to a complete web-view development package for building rich user-interface applications. Our organization is small, and we use Kendo as our primary web view development tool.
  • Rich charting components allow developers to easily bind web-service data to bar charts, line graphs, and multiple axis charts.
  • Reusable component features such as Export to Excel, Save To PDF provide out-of-the box export ability.
  • Great documentation, examples, large developer community. Online examples and documentation make it easy to identify how each component works, the different options for invoking components, and in-page manipulation using the Kendo Dojo (http://dojo.telerik.com/).
  • Wizard and Forms widget are an excellent addition, long overdue, and now make Kendo an even better package
  • Advanced data grid that includes editing, grouping, search, responsive rendering, filtering, column hiding, etc.
  • Datagrid editing using combo boxes sourced from independent datasources is allowed and is a very common use case, but isn't as easy to configure as text box editing, or fixed option editing. Since the pattern for dynamic combo box editing is quite routine, this appears to be something that could be integrated better into the grid.
  • I have recently begun using the tree view component and there appears to be room for improvement with document the number of potential structures of data that can be used. Since the options for using the tree view are varied, I would like to see more examples. I personally ran into issues where field names in the JSON payload ( such as "level") caused problems rendering the tree.
Rich web development where you want to easily inherit the use of libraries such as jQuery, Bootstrap, Angular. Kendo UI is valuable to me in that I do not have the skills or patience to develop components on my own, and Kendo provides fairly easy plug-and-play components. I am new to JS, jQuery, and HTML development in general and found it fairly easy to learn how to develop nice looking pages for our product in short order.

I have found that responsive development for phones is not as clean using Kendo. I would say that tablet sized screens and up are the sweet spot.
Consistent organization and design of widgets, excellent documentation, large user community. As a licensed user, downloading updates to the libraries and integrating them into new builds has been simple. Telerik is constantly updating this library and providing new widgets or improvements to widgets on a quarterly basis. Renewals and interactions with customer service has been excellent.
Kendo UI is continually updated, widgets are improved quarterly, and the product is being given appropriate attention from Progress. Customer support has always been responsive. Renewals are processed easy and the customer portal is easy to use. I appreciate the ability to earn points and discounts via the customer portal.
Read this authenticated review
Sergiu Pascutiu | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2020

The most trusted applications development add-on suite!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is the choice UI suite for both the IT department as well as other units that develop line of business applications for accounting, hazardous waste management, compliance training, and research compliance. We are primarily using the ASP .NET MVC suite of wrappers which provide highly functional implementations for our variety of user interfaces. Among those, we have used the Kendo Grid, Kendo Scheduler, Kendo Dropdown list the most, and we are writing some custom JavaScript on top to assist with functionality that might not be available right out of the box.
  • Kendo Grid for presenting a timeline of research grants as they are being approved. Our users love the ability to export the data to various mime formats.
  • Kendo Scheduler for presenting the upcoming calendar events in the available conference rooms in a building. This is used together with a 3rd party vendor API for appointment booking.
  • Kendo Treeview is used to present a hierarchy of topics that our users can navigate through easily.
  • Still some accessibility issues in some of the controls, we have to occasionally modify the markup to get past our accessibility requirements.
In any complex interface working with tabular data, where you need to have a variety of ways to edit/manage the data at the record level. The suite has a very mature documentation and support system, implementation is highly standardized.
Highly scalable and easy to use, has superior quality updates when compared to other competing products. Documentation is easy to find and browse, has a large user community that contributes with examples and answers to questions.
Excellent response times to support tickets!
Read Sergiu Pascutiu's full review
Robert Burgh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2020

Kendo UI gets the UX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Kendo UI for web and mobile apps. We develop products that are licensed to thousands of clients. Some clients request custom add-on apps, this is where the widgets get the most use for us. Also all of our in-house projects take advantage of the widgets.
  • Grids - The options are very useful. Drag and Drop. Integration with other controls such as comboboxes, buttons and images.
  • Charts - We create many different dashboards for our clients. This is a strong point of Kendo UI.
  • Spreadsheet - It is becoming more and more value added to our solutions for data import, export and review.
  • Treeview - An excellent visual tool for data relationship display and manipulation. We usually use it with Drag and Drop to add / remove / move data points.
  • The web site does not have versions in the forum or most of the documentation. So as features are improved, old method and events, etc. are deprecated, there is no simple to know which product version is being referenced. This is my biggest pain point.
  • Database binding examples - more examples please
  • PDF Export - better documentation and more examples. More feature control (unless it already exists and it isn't clearly documented).
  • Initial project use - the documentation to add to an existing project or to a blank project can be confusing because of the lack of version specific documentation. I would like to have a single place to go to for documentation that I can select via drop down the Telerik product, the version (2017.2.504), the target development environment (VS 2015 SP3, VS 2017), etc. to have the specific instructions. That would cut down the learning curve and issues on version updates. We consider Kendo UI a valuable tool, however this simple issue can be painful and there is no reason for it.
First the suite is feature rich, second it is well documented, third is it well support, fourth it is has a clear roadmap and fifth it is reasonably priced. Anything web based or mobile based is a good candidate for reviewing the feature set of progress Kendo UI for use. That is our business case.
The documentation is generally very good. The examples and demos are useful to get started. The default properties will get the app running and are easily updated. The few times that I needed support, I received a response quickly and to the point. There really isn't much more to ask for usability.
I am customer of progress for a number of years and Telerik before that. I have always chosen to opt in for the best support plan. I hardly have ever need to use it, when I have put in a support request via email or phone, the response was always quick, professional and on point. In this industry that is refreshing. The support usually include sample code. The ten rating is deserved.
Read Robert Burgh's full review
Foster Haines | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2020

Easy to use and great service team

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is being used by my team to build/re-platform our legacy products. We are using Kendo UI controls in our Angular framework on the front-end. The applications will be used across the organization. The business problem Kendo UI addresses is the need to have a modern UX without needing to create a lot of custom controls.
  • Really easy to incorporate the controls
  • Progress/Telerik is very helpful in feedback and engaging to further knowledge of updates.
  • Large community that provides fixes/known issue work-arounds.
  • I would have liked to have more input from Kendo folks early in our implementation process - we didn't ask.
Kendo has worked really well in Angular 1.x for us. I haven't tried using it later version of Angular or Vue, but plan to test these areas out in the near future.
--UPDATE-- Kendo works really well with Angular 9 and I would assume Angular 10 but I have not actually updated my project to 10 yet. The ability to use similar controls between Angular and .NET MVC is great!
I gave Kendo UI's usability a 10 because it is pretty straightforward to add to projects and the controls look great with a lot of examples on the Telerik (Progress) website to make adding and using them very easy. The functionality that comes with each control delivers on exactly what we need for the projects.
To be honest, I have barely used their support because the documentation and examples are so extensive. With that said, the few times that I have reached out to support, they were able to either correct my issue quickly or direct me to the appropriate page to resolve my issues.
Read Foster Haines's full review
Clay Horste | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2020

Ultimate configurability vs standard controls.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI in a variety of our products. We had been using ASP.net for our client side development and it was just too limited and slow to develop. We started to look for something that would be good for productivity and was going to progress. We have replaced a lot of our old ASP.net code with Kendo and have developed a lot of new products using only Kendo UI for the front end. I have found support spotty at times, but overall, I am quite pleased with the product.
  • I really like the editor control. It just makes having WYSWYG input easy to implement.
  • At first, the Kendo Grid was a bit light on features, but it has grown over the years and is quite full featured.
  • The Window control is really quick to implement and is quite flexible as well.
  • We also found the carts control nicely flexible. Our software is highly configurable and we put the kendo charts into a product that can show any kind of chart and the Kendo chart control was a perfect fit.
  • Kendo keeps adding features and works with newer frameworks. They never stop being relevant.
  • I have found support to be lacking at times. Sometimes my questions just haven't been answered.
  • I do find the datasource a bit challenging to use. It works well if you don't try anything wierd, but after that I feel like I am on my own.
  • I still find their documentation to be lacking. I've worked with worse, but I certainly have found much better.
Kendo UI is great if you need flexible components that have a standard look and feel. If you are looking for something with a more distinct way of interacting with the user, then you should probably roll your own.

Update: Over time, Kendo has gotten more flexible. If you are good at CSS, then you can make Kendo's components look and feel the way you need. I've used Kendo at 2 firms now and I'm glad it's available where I go. I'm guessing that it is a goto for Microsoft .Net shops.
I would go higher, but the learning curve is steep at times and the documentation takes some getting used to. Once you get the hang of it, it goes pretty smoothly, but occasionally, you will hit a wall that is hard to scale. Progress has provided troubleshooting tools, but unless you are full time in the Kendo world, they aren't always all that helpful.
To be fair, I haven't utilized their support in a long time. My past experiences were mixed. I didn't always get an answer when I asked one. I'm guessing that hasn't changed much, but I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt. Their forums are okay, but I wish they would just utilize Stack Overflow as their support forum.
Read Clay Horste's full review
Marc Sirois | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2020

Kendo UI may be the most complete set of UI components on the planet!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT Development team uses Kendo UI to develop in house Line of Business web applications. These applications collect and report on transportation accidents + incidents across Canada. Kendo UI enables us to provide a powerful and consistent UI across all applications for the organization. Components such as the Grid and the Combobox are used and customized extensively. Users enjoy a consistent experience across all applications.
  • The grid control provides a powerful way to present tabular data. This includes sorting, grouping, customizing the grid content/headers, and export to Excel spreadsheet
  • The combobox is powerful and easy to customize based on need (server filtering, in-line images, predictive text)
  • The dataviz components make it ridiculously easy to visualise data. Using a JSON source, it will produce beautiful graphs and charts.
  • The AngularJS controls lack some features
  • Certain UI components have not been updated in a while, or are more difficult to customize.
  • The CSS themes are somewhat lacking.
It's well suited for smaller development teams looking to deliver on a tight schedule.
As for any toolkit, it's important to establish development standards that everyone adheres to.
Less appropriate for teams that need to control every detail of the UI. The CSS is not super intuitive to tweak, and sometimes near impossible. If you require 100% control of the look and feel, this product may not be right for you.
Once you learn the basics, the same concepts can be applied to all the features. Its API is easy to navigate and is documented thoroughly. When something isn't clear, chances are someone has already had the same issue.
There are some edge cases when we needed something ultra-customized which the API didn't support. In those cases we were able to use JavaScript or other means as a workaround.
I haven't had much interaction with the Kendo UI. The few tickets I raised were answered promptly. I am almost always better served by searching their knowledge base or various forums. One of the strength of the product is its popularity, which makes it easier to find support and answers to common questions.
Read Marc Sirois's full review
Marco Fabbri | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2020

A very reliable web ui library

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI as a the main UI library for all the company's web applications. It's used across many projects right now, and I heavily rely on the grid and the scheduler components for core UI components, mainly in LOB softwares.
  • Very good grid component
  • Very good scheduler component
  • Stellar support
  • Basic components (e.g. editors) are not so much better than standar ones
Any web development, especially if it regards a web application and not a website.
Sometimes following the internal logic is not so easy, but overall it's fine. When you have a problem, anyway, you can contact customer support and receive a proper hint for what you're trying to do.
In just very few very specific and domain oriented cases I didn't get a full valid answer: usually the answers are spot on with examples.
Read Marco Fabbri's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2020

yes you Kendo

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use kendo UI components in our internet banking solution, in an ASP.NET MVC based architecture.
the choice has been made by the it department, and the dev team integrated it
these components are very useful for complex ux (like grid hierarchy) or for its rich built in features (that we don’t have to redevelop or to encapsulate in a custom framework)
  • Very easy ajaxified hierarchical data grid with pdf/excel exports
  • Easily skinnable ajaxified components
  • The kendo UI has been very easily integrated into our nuget local server
  • Very responsive support through tickets
  • frequent software updates
  • kendo UI should be at the same level as ASP.NET AJAX components (number of components, AJAX)
  • Very appropriate for a new/existing asp.net mvc web application - easy integration, rapid UI dev...
  • a very good job has been done to develop and adapt kendo ui components for new trending js frameworks (we are going to try react components for r&d purposes)
  • may not be the best choice if you have a very complex and specific ux/ui design
the components are very well encapsulated so that any developer with little experience can make a good use of it
the demos are very useful for mid scenarios
and support is ready to help for advanced usages
so the components have a quite good usability, especially for built-in scenarios
for complex and specific ones, think about setting up a framework strategy
definitely the greatest strength of telerik, and particularly kendo components
the support process is easy and the portal is intuitively designed
very helpful in rush time, when the release date comes close (sometimes, we even send support requests before trying :) support engineers were very understanding and helped even though we should try before requesting support )



Read this authenticated review
Christian Storb | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2020

Using Kendo UI with ASP.NET

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization Kendo UI for jQuery is used in the software development department. Myself and my colleagues write custom Kendo UI plugins that integrate components of our products such as the five(9)s Console. With its wide range of components Kendo UI for jQuery is very useful to speed up our development time.
  • Reduce development time
  • Easiliy create custom (e.g. composite) plugins
  • Easiliy write Kendo UI plugins
  • Numerous widgets out of the box.
  • Responsive components
  • Theamable components
  • Highly customizeable components
  • No query builder widget available.
  • No timezone calendar. Timezone should be adjustable.
  • Grid: Timezone should be adjustable
a) Scenarios where Kendo UI is well suited: Kendo UI provides awesome ways to either extend existing widgets, create custom plugins that are completely new widgets or composite of existing Kendo UI controls by inheriting from the base widget class. Kendo UI works well with ASP.NET Web API and OData.
b) Scenarios where Kendo UI is less appropriate: Don't know.
Kendo UI for jQuery library has a long history of great quality, frequent updates and an excellent documentation. There are lots of free technical training courses, the interactive training resource Kendo UI Dojo and lots of examples.
Kendo UI for jQuery has an industry leading support. There are lots of free technical training courses, lots of examples, Telerik Forums and much more ...
Read Christian Storb's full review
Marcelo da Mota Lopes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2020

Good Development Tools

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Kendo UI has been used for ASP MVC applications development (C#). Those applications are responsible for generating business reports for areas like manufacturing and energy distribution, based on data stored in relational databases (SQL Server and Oracle).
  • Reporting generation (features like reporting generation speed, friendly maintenance and exporting capabilities are really good).
  • Controls (extensions) availability is good, addressing the major part of interface development issues.
  • Fair amount of themes (skins) ready to be used and easy development of custom themes.
  • Documentation. There is lots of documentation available, but the examples do not cover all development possibilities. Seems the product has much more capabilities than shown in the examples available.
  • I miss a complete description of the classes hierarchy, for example.
  • Interface mockup. For ASP MVC, for example, there is no Visual placement for the controls available.
  • Sometimes the support team answers the questions placed linking examples that would already have been visited before asking for help, which is useless.
Reporting generation: definitely.
Interface development is good, but the productivity is not like dragging and dropping of controls (at least for ASP MVC development).
The examples and support are getting better and better, but I still miss a more complete set of programming examples. Not all objects' properties and methods are documented with simple examples showing its usage.
Sometimes the solutions presented by the support team are really fast and precise, but, in some situations, the effort describing the problem, sending source code, and small movies showing the problems simply does not work as expected, resulting in lots of unproductive interactions.
Read Marcelo da Mota Lopes's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

Kendo UI streamlines our development cycle

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI in our CRM, primarily to insure that our controls work across all browsers and to cut down on development time. The controls are attractive and easy to use, and allow enough customization points to give us the flexibility we need to create a competitive product offering.
  • Kendo UI just works across different browsers and platforms.
  • The controls have a robust eventing system that you can hook into for business logic.
  • Support is always very responsive to any issues that we've had.
  • Sometimes there aren't enough events to hook into, so you can get stuck with applying a workaround.
It is a great way to display data to your end users, it provides cross-browser functionality that looks good and is relatively easy to customize using css or less. Like a lot of javascript controls out there, it can sometimes get bogged down with lots of data or large numbers of controls.
They consistently make good design decisions that help integrate Kendo into your app easily
In the few times I have asked for support, it has been helpful and given in a timely manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

Kendo UI get's it done

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is used in all custom developed web UI applications. Applications include department and enterprise level apps. We use Kendo UI to decrease development time by not having to create our own common widgets like grids and drop down lists. Kendo UI's JavaScript and CSS makes customizing the appearance of controls easy where the controls meet our color specifications.
  • Displaying data in grids
  • Centralizing UI themes
  • Upgrading to new versions
  • The Telerik control panel makes installing on developer machines easy
  • Issues related to JavaScript can be challenging to track down
  • Finding technical documents on how data is managed in individual widgets
  • A better way in managing different versions of the same development machine
Kendo UI works well if developing web UI applications which have simple layout designs. - Good
A scenario where there are a lot of Kendo widgets on a single UI page, and each has a complex initialization. - Not so good
it's easy to implement in applications. The kendo widgets are able to be used in almost any type of business application which has a UI. For most part, once the developer has completed a project which uses Kendo, many time code can be copy/paste into a new application. Kendo UI documentation keeps improving so finding the answers to questions can be easy.
I give it a 10 primarily because I have yet to have an issue where I'm unable to find a solution. Most situations where I think I might want to create a support ticket, someone else has already ran into the same issue. Someone from Kendo has either already updated any blogs or support message with the solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

Our experience with Kendo UI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use kendo UI to give more functionality to the pages of our internal site, with this controls we can build complex pages in a short time, at the beginning we have to read a lot, see examples of how to use the controls, search in the forums and make our laboratories to try what we want to build could be do it or not. Our internal site is used across the whole organization.
  • Grid control is excellent, they have a lot of functionality that is easy to implement, also it have the option to export the data to Excel or pdf. Instead of building a lot of reports we display information using the grid control and the users have the option to export the result.
  • The validation control is another good one, we can personalize the message to our language, build our rules to validate the information provide for the user and have more control in the process of input data to minimize problems of data processing,
  • The Kendo window is excellent too. We can build powerful dialog windows in our site using a template, so the first one have the more effort and the others only use the template allow us a fast development in other pages.
  • The documentation can be improvement, there are topics that no are so easy to understand when you read it about an a control (non in a particular). We have to search in forums and in one case we have to use the support for an a detail explanation of how we can use a control.
  • The calendar control it's would be nice to have a way to show holidays, the user only have in memory some of then
  • The gantt control also we don't use it, when we read about it, it's something complex to understand and have a lot of potencial
Well suited: when you have to show information in form list the grid control is excellent, for controlling the input registered by the users and validate the business rules its amazing, we can control a lot of situations that can generate problems in future process and avoid it.

Less appropriate: may be if you have to display in a grid a lot information and have a lot columns too, we are not sure what is the behavior of the control. We saw grid controls that works excellent with a few records and have a small columns less than ten, but on this controls you use more than a ten columns and have thousands o more registers that controls don't work well. But in the case of kendo ui grid control we have grids with more than ten columns and have hundred of records to show and its work good.
Its easy to use to build complex UI
When we have to use it, they respond quickly
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

Kendo UI React in an industrial on premise web application

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI components within our industrial product's web interface. It is a part of our core product and is used by all customers. Consequently, it is important that it performs well and is bug free. We migrated to Kendo after updating our technology stack to React and needing a new control library as a result.
  • Large component library
  • Written natively in React
  • Great documentation
  • Support system is not very good. We had a few issues with our components which we traced back to flaws in the product.
  • Performance of the grid component could have been a bit better.
  • Style and customization is doable, but not the easiest.
There are a lot of controls that we actually ended up not needing. I think Kendo is ideally suited for web applications that have a more broad customer base and a more typical browser profile (large mobile base, and a good mix of different browser types and screen sizes).
Read this authenticated review
Loren Dorez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

KendoUI is unmatched in all areas

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We build websites and software for internal uses as well as for our clients. Kendo UI saves us from having to reinvent the wheel on simple things like grid also while providing us unmatched features and support.
  • Kendo UI enhances the everyday common controls like grids. Grids have been around for some time now but the Kendo UI team continues to make the grid even better with things like Export functionality, nested views, frozen columns etc..
  • The documentation of Kendo UI is a hidden area that it does very well at. While the control suite is amazing with out solid documentation users would be unable to use the it effectively. The documentation not only covers the basic settings, setup, and api references, they also have reword example of how to do special customizing like hiding sections or changing colors, etc...
  • The Kendo UI team does very well on testing before each release to minimize issue for its users.
  • I would like to see KendoUI try to adopt to new standards quicker. I know they are trying to be platform agnostic but with things like Microsoft making a DateTimeOffset the new default db type the KendUI controls that handle Dates & Times need to support this. As of right now it still isnt fully support. I think using a library like momentJs can help. I mean KendoUI already uses 3rd Party library for the Grid Export for things like PDF.
  • KendoUI team does some cool things on their website and we would like to see some of those things make it into KendoUI. Like their Menu doesnt seem to be the same menu provided in KendoUI.
KendoUI is well rounded for any development you plan to do that is Web focused
Its simply one of the best frameworks I have used
There support is always fast to respond and the community support is amazing as well
Read Loren Dorez's full review

About Progress Kendo UI

Kendo UI is a complete JavaScript UI toolkit that allows users to quickly build eye-catching, high-quality, high-performance responsive web-based apps integrated into their framework of choice (jQuery, Angular, React, or Vue). The vendor’s value proposition is that Kendo UI offers a large library of popular and configurable components ranging from sophisticated grids and charts to basic buttons, so users don’t have to waste development time building their UI. The vendor also says the large library of customizable themes means users can easily deploy a consistent look and feel across the entire user experience.

Progress Kendo UI Screenshots

Progress Kendo UI Video

Visit https://www.youtube.com/user/TelerikInc to watch Progress Kendo UI video.

Progress Kendo UI Integrations

Progress Kendo UI Competitors

Progress Kendo UI Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Kendo UI Professional$999per developer, royalty-free
DevCraft Complete$1,499per developer, royalty-free
DevCraft Ultimate$2,199per developer, royalty-free
DevCraft UI$1,299per developer, royalty-free

Progress Kendo UI Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Progress Kendo UI Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, All
Mobile Application:Kendo UI is a UI development framework for building mobile and web applications. Can be used on any operating system.
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: All Languages