Upserve, from Lightspeed

Upserve, from Lightspeed

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 6.0 out of 100
Upserve, from Lightspeed

Overview

Recent Reviews

Upserve for the win

10 out of 10
November 22, 2019
We use Upserve to track sales + as our POS for the restaurant. It has helped us track goals as well as being a completely integrated POS …
Continue reading

The modern world POS solution

10 out of 10
October 05, 2019
I just switched over 9 Venues from ALOHA 6.7 and 12.3 and am very happy. Multiple locations in a dashboard has been great. The only issues …
Continue reading

Upserve POS Review

9 out of 10
October 05, 2019
We use Breadcrumb as a POS in our bar and other establishments within the hospitality group. It helps us organize as one or multiple …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Upserve, from Lightspeed, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Core

$59

Cloud
per month ($60 per terminal)

Pro

$199

Cloud
per month ($50 per terminal)

Pro Plus

$359

Cloud
per month ($40 per terminal)

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://upserve.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Upserve, from Lightspeed?

Upserve POS is a restaurant point-of-sale solution, from Lightspeed (acquired December, 2020). The vendor describes it as easy to implement, with personalized onboarding, a dedicated success manager, and professional on-site installation, with 24/7/365 U.S. based in-house support team. Features include a training mode, check split, item hold, and more.


The product includes features for online ordering, table management, restaurant management, inventory, and customer management. Upserve POS also integrates with dozens of companies like GrubHub, Rezi, and Tock.

Upserve, from Lightspeed Features

  • Supported: Online Ordering
  • Supported: Split Items and Checks
  • Supported: Transfer Check to Another Server
  • Supported: Void / Comp
  • Supported: Training Mode
  • Supported: EMV
  • Supported: Inventory
  • Supported: Employee Scheduling
  • Supported: Tableside Payments

Upserve, from Lightspeed Screenshots

Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

Upserve, from Lightspeed Video

Visit https://upserve.com/videos to watch Upserve, from Lightspeed video.

Upserve, from Lightspeed Competitors

Upserve, from Lightspeed Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesUnited States
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Upserve POS, formerly Breadcrumb and now from Lightspeed since the December 2020 acquisition, is a point-of-sale software solution with features such as complete restaurant & bar management.

NCR Aloha Cloud, TouchBistro, and Toast Point of Sale are common alternatives for Upserve, from Lightspeed.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.9.

The most common users of Upserve, from Lightspeed are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Food & Beverages industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (29)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-24 of 24)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Employee time tracking. Very user friendly. Our employees are used to clocking in and out on the tablet when they come in.
  • Intuitive navigation to find menu items
  • Customer payment system works well when we swipe credit cards and have customers sign on screen
  • Their reporting functionality needs improvement according to my data management team. We've had to create some workarounds.
  • Their customer service needs major improvement during Covid. It was much better before Covid.
  • I didn't like their online ordering system the last time I tried it (3+ years ago). I know they've made some changes so we might give it another try but for now I'm using Square for our online ordering, and Upserve in house.
April 30, 2020

Upserve is the best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Allow credit card transactions while offline.
  • Allows you to search for items instead of scrolling.
  • Allows a full visual of tables/bar seats.
  • Wireless printers for curbside use.
  • Manual option to open register when offline.
  • More detailed description of offline problems.
December 31, 2019

Upserve POS Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to split items onto new checks.
  • Ease with applying multiple payments on one table.
  • It would be nice to have the option to get an email from the primary close or payment screen.
  • Having a problem printing gift card balances.
Chris Kim | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • No need to refresh after changes are made.
  • Ability to make adjustments as an admin without having to remote into a server.
  • Quick response from the support team via chat.
  • Ability to do granular level check audits.
  • Ability to adjust breaks.
  • Notifications for cards that are processed without the internet, but then are later declined by the processor.
Jamie Cunningham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Reporting: Upserve's backend reporting system is unparalleled in this industry. It's extremely robust and gives us eyes into every nook and cranny of our business.
  • Intuitive: The Upserve POS is nearly as intuitive as Square. The ease of use really helps us provide great service without spending a fortune in training.
  • Extras: A quality POS system is assumed with Upserve. It has all the bells and whistles and it's very effective. What takes Upserve over the top is all the added features. Our online ordering system, loyalty program, delivery platform integration, KDS system, and soon to be inventory management are all provided for free with our system. The other benefit is all these features are seamless and work really well.
  • KDS System Features: Overall the KDS system is fantastic. That said, there is one really frustrating issues. When a ticket is changed in any way, including being split at the end of the transaction, it reappears on the KDS screen as a "shanged ticket." That can create enough trouble, but what makes it worse, is that it shows up on the screen in the order of ticket time. So, the changed ticket will reappear in the queue wherever the ticket time falls. It ends up being really hard to track what is what and what needs to be fired next.
  • Splitting Checks: It is extremely difficult to split a check for guests. Instead of simply choosing the number of checks and dragging and dropping items onto the correct checks. With Upserve you have to start from the original move specific items to a new check. Then go back to the original and move more items to a different check, etc. Only then can you go search for checks and start charging guests.
  • Menu Item Changes with Multiple Locations: Unfortunately, there's no global way to change menu items at all locations. All menu changes, big and small, have to be done individually for each location separately. It's super time consuming and frustrating.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy tracking of inventory.
  • Easy to keep menus and counts accurately updated.
  • It would be helpful to have more restrictions on individuals with what they can and can't edit. At the moment it's kind of all or nothing.
  • Splitting checks could be easier.
Elizabeth McCarty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Great Customer Service.
  • Intuitive.
  • Great for reporting.
  • Easy for customers to close their tab/ticket.
  • Refunding from the POS instead of the back office.
  • More versatility for discount approvals. Currently, the manager has to approve EVERY discount. It would be nice if you could pick and choose which ones to password protect.
Robbie Melton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I love all the backend reporting features of Upserve. It's really robust and helps me manage our restaurant by staying in touch with labor, best selling items, etc.
  • The customer service is great. I had a question and used their chat feature and my question was answered within 5 minutes.
  • I'd highly recommend this product.
  • On the KDS, the system will re-fire tickets when we split checks and sometimes when simply closing out.
  • On the KDS, when someone adds onto an order that has already been bumped from the screen and doesn't put the new item at the end of the queue. It bumps it to the front and keeps the original time of the original order. This makes it difficult to process the order and determine the priority of which order should be fulfilled.
Devon Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The software is very intuitive and easy to learn.
  • Support staff are very helpful and wait times are low
  • Email receipts and signature capture on the tablets help to reduce costs and admin time.
  • There are a few minor bugs in the reporting that should be fixed.
  • Check out reports could improve by showing each transaction detail.
  • There is not currently a way to check via the reports how many online orders come through since they are processed as a credit card/cash.
January 31, 2019

Upserve is awesome

Marty Enslein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Sales and financial reporting
  • Great customer service
  • Ease of use over our previous POS system
  • Not sure yet. We are four months into the system but [it's] such an improvement over our previous system that I have no real improvement thoughts at this time.
January 24, 2019

Upsurge y'all

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Customer Support
  • Easy Menu updating
  • Great layout
  • User-friendly
  • Archiving menu items takes forever, they need to have click boxes to do multiple at once
  • Chip reader
  • Wireless kitchen printer needs to be mandatory
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • User-friendly interface. Easy to search for items if they are not on the screen immediately.
  • Easy to track inventory with one click - any of our servers can 86 an item if the kitchen tells them to do so.
  • Time tracking is really straightforward.
  • Payments are easy and streamlined. They even accept American Express.
  • On the back end, my in-house developer has said Breadcrumb's database is kind of a nightmare. I find all the categories and courses confusing. And now we're four years in with so much old data that needs to be archived. I wish there were ways to archive multiple items at once. Or change descriptions or prices of multiple items at once.
  • I wish the integration with 3rd party delivery like GrubHub were more streamlined. It's been a headache thus far.
  • I find entering different forms of payment confusing. Checks, gift certificates, etc.
  • It would be great if we could have checks that include both gratuity items and non-gratuity items instead of having to split them to different checks.
December 23, 2018

A blessing!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Seamless integration
  • Excellent UI and layout. Makes using it an aesthetic pleasure!
  • Wonderful customer service!
  • [Could use] better sales reporting.
  • Tagging needs work.
  • When you go into the wrong tab for locations, you can’t do anything else!
John Bonica | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Breadcrumb is an agile, responsive platform, so updating our menu — which occurs — is accomplished successfully in a matter of minutes.
  • Customer service —24/7 support — is excellent: a model for any company.
  • Set up costs were competitive with other premium POS systems, and monthly charges are quite reasonable.
  • Intermittently, the platform seems slightly unstable: items disappear from view (every time quickly rectified by the support crew, although phoning support during busy service hours is awkward).
  • The mobile app isn't as robust as the desktop version; it's difficult to drill down to details on my phone.
  • I'd like the table layout to be even more customizable than it is.
Leandro Utrera de Paula | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very friendly interface for any level user, even the back office is pretty easy to deal with.
  • There is a 24/7 support that you can contact direct from your terminal.
  • Good rate when compared to other competitors.
  • The team that works for Breadcrumb is always willing to help.
  • User security is not the best deal, any employee can clock in/out without supervisor approval.
  • There should be more detailed security levels, for example, I do not want my manager to change roles, but if they can manage users they can manage roles as well.
  • Split Checks should be easier to deal with. Additionally to that you cannot use the same table until the previous check is closed.
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • breadcrumb does take orders and sends them to the kitchen.
  • Breadcrumb has detailed sales reports.
  • It is somewhat user friendly if someone is used to using an iPad.
  • Was nearly impossible to get ahold of an actual person if there was a problem.
  • Have all in one loyalty program... we had to get a third party to handle the loyalty program for awhile.
  • Maybe a different operating screen... it's kind of a boring eyesore.