Mailchimp Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1800 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (201-225 of 246)

David Clay Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2016

Mailchimp: The 800-pound gorilla of newsletter software?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Akita we use MailChimp to distribute our "Customer Success Roundup", a weekly digest of blog posts, podcasts and other resources involving the emerging field of Customer Success. This newsletter helps us share industry knowledge with our customers and the wider Customer Success community. MailChimp is used to maintain the subscriber list, construct newletter templates, and build and send the weekly edition.
  • The MailChimp template and email editor are first class. You can use their "what you see is what you get" WYSIWYG editor or dive straight into the HTML. As you make changes to the source the appearance of the newsletter is updated in real time.
  • MailChimp gives us fantastic reports about click through rate and open rate as well as the growth of our list over time.
  • Our delivery rates seem very high with MailChimp. We've used several competitors and MailChimp seems to meet or exceed their rates.
  • The MailChimp reporting could be improved somewhat. I would like better time-series graphs to see clicks and opens for all emails (and individual emails) over time.
MailChimp is the ideal application for sending newsletter campaigns. They provide a wide range of forms for building an audience and a first-class set of tools for building individual newsletters from a set of predefined templates.
Read David Clay Smith's full review
Brandon Adawi | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2016

#1 Email Marketing Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MailChimp is currently being used to run email surveys for returns for products. An email is generated when we have a return and the survey addresses wither or not we followed the proper procedures to ensure that the customer's experience of our product was as it should have been. Managers are in control of the Mailchimp survey and lower level employees are to fill out the survey.
  • MailChimp sends automatic emails based on certain criteria specified by managers.
  • MailChimp allows for surveys to be completed and returned to managers.
  • Multiple choice questions are made easy to answer in a click through format in the email.
  • It would be hard for me to identify a problem with MailChimp. It does the job and is clean and neat in the layout.
MailChimp is a somewhat informal email marketing platform that allows people to send surveys created by various templates. It would be inappropriate to use for official documentation in my opinion.
Read Brandon Adawi's full review
Alec Dibble | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2016

Mailchimp is a solid email marketing tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many department uses Mailchimp to communicate to clients, contractors, and internal employees. The built-in templating feature is used extensively to design responsive newsletter and marketing campaigns. In general, the tool is easy to train and most people can harness it without much trouble. Using mailchimp allows email responsibilities to be shared.
  • It has a very strong responsive email templating system. You can drag and drop different layouts and create good looking emails without development skills.
  • It is very easy to build and save segments using the interface.
  • The reports it generates after a campaign is sent out are well designed and relay much of the information you need for analysis.
  • Mailchimp doesn't do advanced or complicated segmentation so well. It gives you the option with Mailchimp Pro, but it still has one fatal flaw. From my understanding, Mailchimp doesn't re-evaluate the segment conditions on scheduled sends for advanced segments. This means scheduled sends could be sent to an out-of-date segment if the segment isn't manually updated.
  • Doing quality assurance on scheduled campaigns is very hard. Once a campaign is scheduled, there is no way to view segment criteria or the design for QA without the pausing the schedule. This introduces risk as it is possible to reschedule at the wrong time. For people managing a lot of campaigns, being able to QA scheduled campaigns would be very helpful.
  • I felt that Mailchimp's automation features fell short of other email automation tools. They didn't give you enough control to build triggers and workflow for customized business cases, only a few general ones.
I believe Mailchimp is great for simple newsletters and campaigns. It is easy to use for non-developers and has a clean interface. For more advanced marketing operations, it can fall short. Factors like the inability to QA scheduled campaigns and the simplistic automation features make it a bad fit for those running sophisticated email operations.
Read Alec Dibble's full review
Al Schoneman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2016

MailChimp is agile but limited

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MailChimp for targeted mailings to select customer/user groups, batched by region and product. It's effective in this narrow range - targeted mailings. We also store email lists in MailChimp because in part we do not have an integration with Salesforce, though that's on the horizon for us. As a basic email marketing solution, MailChimp is easy to use, straightforward and simple requiring little training for our regional marketing managers, corporate administrator and others who use the solution.
  • Page templates are easy to design and implement.
  • Subscribe forms are likewise simple to modify and implement.
  • Support is ok. MailChimp is very responsive on simple use questions submitted through the online help desk.
  • MailChimp's double opt-in procedure is annoying and often creates extra work for developers. Furthermore, you cannot turn this off. On the backend you are constantly seeing notifications from MailChimp advising that your email might be 'spammy'. There is no spam check feature so you are really guessing as to whether MailChimp will flag a message as spammy.
  • MailChimp's biggest disappointment thus far is its mobile webform builder. Dubbed MailChimp Subscribe, it's a downloadable app for tablets and smartphones. Sadly, it has the same problems as MailChimp's desktop version - double opt-in rules are annoying and time-consuming from a user or especially admin perspective.
  • MailChimp does not address the multitude of webform uses that are out there. The system assumes that you are sending out an email, newsletter or other broadside blast. Embedding a form into a web page is limiting, annoying and time consuming especially if you use their native Embedded Form feature. This limits out of the box design features (unless you want to hardcode the whole thing).

It's useful for basic email design and distribution if your needs are fairly straightforward. Limited design choices and lack of a dynamic editor constrain you to using the limited tool box of pre-designed forms, templates and other tools. Full customization is only possible by using the hardcode feature.

It is not a good choice if you are embedding webforms into web pages, or if you need a mobile form for tradeshow lead capture - the process to use the latter is slow, painful and rife with all sorts of problems that cause the average user to say 'forget it'.

MailChimp automation features are limited but within the scope of its basic design parameters - a simple to use outbound marketing tool with limited out of the box design choices.

Read Al Schoneman's full review
Seema Yadav | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2016

Mailchimp provides excellent features and is easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using MailChimp to communicate with clients to showcase my work and provide them a pleasing format. It provides me a nice platform to share useful information securely with my clients which will benefit both of us mutually. It has a very smooth and flawless functioning design for creating and distributing emails and sharing the information. It lets me import my list of contacts to my account with a couple of steps only and it is a very smooth process.
  • It allows you to create emails with its own powerful template editor and has excellent features such as dragging & dropping of images and text boxes. You can edit anywhere in the text just by clicking at that particular text location.
  • It offers a huge collection of templates and color schemes to choose from and you are free to have your own user interface by modifying those design templates.
  • Creating survey and user forms is super easy using MailChimp with a user friendly layout and responsive GUI.
  • It provides me the control to filter lists according to designation, age group and other activities.
  • It doesn’t have a feature which will let me view which links I have clicked, the number of times I opened a particular email and more.
  • I have noticed that a few of my emails went to spam and I have to work them carefully to get past the spam filtering.

MailChimp is an excellent tool for marketers and sales teams. If you have limited contacts, then it works out great for you. If you are running a blog, small business, or selling a product, then definitely having a MailChimp account will be appropriate for you.

If your budget is limited and you are not sure about whether to use MailChimp or not, then you can go ahead with the trial version and see the results to decide if you need an upgrade or not.

Read Seema Yadav's full review
Joi Brooks | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2016

Start-ups will grow with MailChimp

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Whether you are a small business or manage a shopping site with ecommerce, MailChimp tools and partners can support email marketing efforts. With a drag and drop editor, template library, autoresponders and clean interface, small businesses can deploy welcome messages and schedule regular campaigns without advanced skills. For ecommerce, utilizing segmentation, signup forms with automated functionality, A/B testing and MailChimp's 360 apps help track conversions, incorporate marketing metrics and web analytics, and maintain lifecycle communications.


Case Study: Civic Community Association

A Long Island civic community of 19 regularly sends 2 monthly reminders to members with a FREE MailChimp account. Since deploying messaging through MailChimp, members regularly receive meeting reminders and attendance is up.


Case Study: Book Author

A New York book author manages top-of-mind with monthly trade news to a selected VIP list of 400. Metrics identify solid engagement, book and seminar sales are up!


Case Study: California ecommerce site

Within a very competitive niche, a California ecommerce merchant continues to experiment with A/B tests, segmentation, responsive layouts and MailChimp Pro to support his business marketing efforts.

  • If you are new to email marketing and don't have the resources of a marketing department or agency, MailChimp can help you get started quickly. Their knowledge base will help you get started and videos are available to learn more.
  • If you have NO budget and a small list, MailChimp is free! For those starting a business or email marketing for the first time, MailChimp tools support growing marketing efforts into maturity.
  • The MailChimp community is very large. Finding a solutions partner is easy.
  • Support is email or chat based. If you are lucky and articulate your problem can be solved quickly. If you are not an email geek and are not able to document your problems, you may stumble over MailChimp support.
MailChimp has every potential of providing sophisticated solutions for large businesses. I have recommended MailChimp to smaller businesses, however for a large-sized, mature business, I might offer a number of other email marketing products and providers as alternatives. That is not to say that MailChimp has not kept pace with the industry. It may be that small and medium-sized businesses can mature within the MailChimp toolset, while larger businesses may require tools and services better managed by a range of high-end email marketing providers.
Read Joi Brooks's full review
Catie Boehmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2016

Powerful, easy to use email marketing platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MailChimp is used across the museum by various departments - development, membership, education, marketing/PR - for email marketing. I personally manage campaigns to various segments of donors, including e-newsletters, solicitations, science updates, and invitations. We are also currently exploring the "Chimpegration" plug-in, which integrates the Raiser's Edge fundraising database with MailChimp. As an environmentally conscious organization, MailChimp drastically cuts down on the amount of snail mail we've historically sent to donors and members, and allows us to reach new audiences who choose to subscribe to general e-news and museum updates.
  • Email campaign design - easy to create clean, custom content and templates
  • List management - simple to manage subscribers and create specific mailing segments
  • Tracking - lots of options to assess the performance of campaigns, including opens, clicks, and integration with Google Analytics
  • Personalization - would be nice to expand the quantity and type of custom fields that can be added to email body
  • Restrictions on content blocks - some options, like image cards, are not as flexible in format as they could be for maximum design/content customization
  • Automation - leaves a lot to be desired, at least from a donor stewardship standpoint - but the Chimpegration plug-in seems quite capable of addressing MailChimp's shortcomings
MailChimp is great for new email marketers and non-marketers - no HTML coding required to create clean, reader-friendly emails! Same is true for reporting - lots of options ensure that you can get a complete picture of how your campaigns perform. We have massive numbers of subscribers in lots of different lists, and MailChimp makes that quantity easy to manage. That capacity wouldn't be necessary for smaller organizations, but the platform would be useful regardless of size.
Read Catie Boehmer's full review
Katalin Sankowich | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2016

Quit monkeying around - MailChimp is a solid choice for growing non-profits

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MailChimp for all of our e-newsletters, e-appeals and event mass communication. It allows us to really track our successes, challenges and real-time impact.
  • MailChimp's templates make sending regular updates as easy as dragging and dropping new content.
  • You can schedule emails and not worry about whether or not it was actually sent.
  • The reporting functionality is great - we can see how campaigns perform in real-time.
  • I would love to see MailChimp explore CRM integration without having to go to a third party vendor (ie: Chimpegration)
It's a great tool for organizations or individuals with a limited budget and lists on the smaller side. Once you start importing tens of thousands of contacts, the price point becomes less attractive for what you get.
Read Katalin Sankowich's full review
Lauren Harradine | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2016

MailChimp Doesn't Monkey Around

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used mailchimp to reach out to student groups about a business that we were hoping to start. Through this email service we were able to create aesthetically pleasing outreach materials regarding our mission, ways we could help students and clients, and send reminders about informational meetings that we were planning to host. It also allowed us to see who opened the emails and who clicked through to the resources we had included which made it easier to see where people were looking for content and how effective our outreach had been.
  • Formatting email templates - we were able to include embedded video, images, blocks of text, and other content by simply selecting, dragging, and dropping it into a template box.
  • Providing feedback on user processes - we were able to see whether someone opened the email and/or clicked through to links to resources which we had provided in the emails.
  • Record your outreach campaigns - You can create contact sheets and record when you sent templates out, so you can come up with templates for each planned point of contact and coordinate them with personalized contact listings for each group depending on when you first contact them, etc.
  • There were a few formatting bugs where things wouldn't click through or we had to finagle the sizes and such, but it could have been a combination of early software tweaks and our personal learning curves.
  • It would be pretty cool to see whether someone forwarded the email to other people and/or how far they scrolled into it, depending on how long the email was.
It's great, honestly for working through points of contact with key groups and managing campaigns. I cannot stress enough how convenient it was to be able to select a template, upload a contact, sheet and move on. Being able to reference how effective the outreach was after the fact was also crucial to figuring out what information was relevant to groups and how to make our emails easier to digest.
Read Lauren Harradine's full review
Laurence Sarner | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2016

MailChimp - Easy to Use Functionality For Prospect/Client Communication

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MailChimp is being used as a marketing/sales tool for approaching/communicating with client prospects. It is used across our entire organization. Specifically, the business problem it addresses is the need for managing, analyzing and organizing communication with client prospects. Understanding and determining effectiveness of email campaigns is critical in addressing how successful marketing efforts are. MailChimp is excellent in this regard.
  • Allows one to understand whether campaign emails are opened, how quickly and other useful metrics.
  • Offers excellent templates that one can customize and build on to create eye catching graphics and text in emails.
  • Excellent import features so that comma delimited or tab delimited CSV/Excel files can be imported with prospect data.
  • Templates provided take some time to manipulate and learn how to use.
  • Software integration functionality could be improved.
  • Warnings about "double opt-in" rules should be clearer and emphasized more.
For a small or medium-sized organization that needs an effective marketing campaign tool, this is the ticket. They have free and paid (ie. premium) membership options depending on how many emails and how much functionality you need. Keep in mind that you may find uses for using MailChimp besides other than those of a typical for-profit business or non-profit organization. For example, if you are throwing a one time event such as a wedding, MailChimp could be an excellent and useful tool.
Read Laurence Sarner's full review
Robert Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2016

MailChimp isn't monkeying around!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MailChimp as a service offered by our company to our clients. Specifically, we manage newsletters and mailing lists for clients, both as a stand-alone product and as an integrated service tied into websites we produce. On the rare occasion we need to send an especially formal email to an audience, we use MailChimp for that as well.
  • MailChimp manages mailing lists exceptionally well, tying into WordPress and general web platforms easily.
  • MailChimp allows the creation of beautiful emails quickly and easily, with reliable performance across devices.
  • MailChimp allows extremely detailed access to performance of campaigns, enabling much more granular information than other platforms.
  • I'd like to see better responsiveness for wide monitors.
  • It would be helpful to compare multiple campaigns for a given month, or month to month.
MailChimp offers an incredible suite of services at an amazing price, with an intuitive interface and very high quality templates. Their free version blows paid competitors like Constant Contact out of the water. I have recommended MailChimp easily a hundred times and they are my first and only recommendation for any sort of mailing list management and professional email creation service.
Read Robert Allen's full review
Pulkit Agrawal | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2016

Great easy tool for email marketing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're a small team and use it company-wide to send our regular newsletters to our customers. We use a template and adapt it monthly with different content. It's a way to engage all our signed up users and our blog subscribers as we try to build our email marketing capability.
  • List management and user segmentation
  • Easy to set up on your site for basic or advanced use
  • Good step-wise process to build and publish a newsletter
  • Template editor is clunky and a little brittle
MailChimp is well suited for:

  • Regular (time-based) email newsletters (non-transactional).
  • Managing email lists for email marketing.
Read Pulkit Agrawal's full review
Sarah Rahbari | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE MAILCHIMP FOR MY BUSINESS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Mailchimp to do automated emails and inform my customers on sales and discounts and any updated new products I have available in my product line. A business problem it addresses is that it saves time from writing separate emails to each individual that is subscribed to your email.
  • Sending out scheduled emails.
  • Customizable emails.
  • Statistics of who opened your email or not.
  • More easy to use.
  • More options to edit and customize your email, for example more font choices.
  • Automatically update subscribers via Shopify or whichever website domain we use, instead having to keep on importing from a CSV file each time you have a new subscriber.
It is more used in businesses that sell products in any type of industry. It's less appropriate in medical offices.
Read Sarah Rahbari's full review
Meredith Hutcheson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2016

Fast, easy, and professional

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MailChimp to send a monthly newsletter to our mailing list, as well as several annual fundraising campaigns. We're a very small organization (two employees and two consultants) and MailChimp is an excellent out-of-the-box tool that looks professional and provides great analytics. It integrates well with social and allows us to create a visually strong product without coding.
  • Free for small lists (up to 1000 addresses)
  • Highly customizable templates that are easy to use
  • Great analytics presented in easy-to-understand formats
  • Strong list management abilities
  • Pre-designed templates are on the cheesy side
  • List importing and segmentation is not very intuitive
  • Drag and drop templates are generally great, but it could be more fluid to change the structure once you've begun editing
MailChimp is particularly great if the person sending the newsletter is somewhat familiar with CSS and HTML but not a professional designer. It provides the basic structure for a nice looking, responsive email that can be either used as is or tweaked a bit with code. It does also have a mode for designers to create entirely customized templates for use by the whole team.
Read Meredith Hutcheson's full review
Robert Henderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2016

Loving Mailchimp!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are just a small business, and we use MailChimp for regularly e-mailing clients and prospective clients.
  • The ability to subdivide lists. This is important when I have members that might need to be on multiple sub-lists.
  • It has great tools for setting up templates and copying campaigns
  • Mailchimp has great analytic tools for reviewing campaigns.
  • Sometimes I have a hard time manipulating templates to get them to look correct on mobile devices.
It works great for our purposes. I don't have much experience beyond our use, so it's hard to know if it would work great for everyone.
Read Robert Henderson's full review
Christine Tabor | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

My take on Mail Chimp vs Constant Contact / Aweber

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I haven't had an opportunity to use the revised and updated MailChimp recently, but I understand there were positive changes.
I used MailChimp as an independent contractor for some of my clients, mostly in 2012 and 2013, but haven't had much business in that area lately.

The particular client I managed the most diversified work for, was in the fitness industry. Starting out, MailChimp was attractive to them due to being able to use it at no cost. Then, we realized how powerful it was for database and autoresponders, with conditional logic, segmentation, drip content, and more.
  • Although the learning curve was a bit more challenging than for the usual bear getting started -- I found the online chat, at the time, very helpful. I believe they may have discontinued that service, although not positive.
  • For a business that needs diversity, flexibility with lists and able to data mine, MailChimp is an excellent choice.
  • They always stay up to date with the current trends in technology, 3rd party integrations, and offer modern type templates, plus mobile.
  • I was most impressed on learning a way to integrate blog posts, facebook posts, and twitter posts into a slick newsletter format that could go out automatically, and segmented, on a specific schedule.
  • I miss the chat feature... a lot.. as that is how I work best.
  • Sometimes the new modern looking interfaces, are actually harder to navigate until you become accustomed... so not sure I like the system simplified or dumbed-down as much as it seems to be.
  • I wish that there was an option to simply have different lists... send out to all... but not allow duplicates to be sent.
Except for the differences in how MailChimp handles the database in comparison to other companies like Constant Contact and Aweber, which are others I've worked with, once you gain an understanding of how it works, not much else can beat it.

I think part of the selection process should be more specific about that, so someone knows what they are coming into, as far as learning curve.

I truly like that MailChimp is always on the cutting edge, and the only thing I caution people on, especially if they are coming from companies like Constant Contact, Aweber, and similar, to be aware of the vast differences in how the lists and databases work.
Read Christine Tabor's full review
Sherri Kesinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2015

Is MailChimp the Right Marketing Tool for Your Business?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MailChimp is a fabulous email marketing program that is very user friendly, easy to get started and FREE for up to 2000 contacts! This makes it very easy, particularly for small businesses, to get started with email marketing. MailChimp also integrates very well with WordPress and plugins such as OptinMonster to help grow your list.
  • Free for up to 2000 contacts (excluding autoresponder functionality)
  • Easy to design; great tutorials
  • Integrates well with WordPress
  • Advise creating group segments for targeted marketing as MailChimp only allows sending to 1 "list" at a time.
  • MailChimp is very reputable and takes spam seriously, which is great. However, this can mean that with an older list, MailChimp can get touchy about higher than normal bounce rates. If your bounce rate is too high, MailChimp will lock the account and require explanations about where you obtained your list, when you emailed to them last, whether they opted in to hear from you, etc.
This is a great platform for small businesses / entrepreneurs on a limited budget to get started with email marketing. It works well "out of the box" with clean designs, user friendly layout and great WordPress integration, plus it's free to get started if you're working with fewer than 2000 contacts.

However, if your business is mid to large in size and you require greater integration with CRM and list segmenting, you may want to consider some other platforms.
Read Sherri Kesinger's full review
Frank La Pira (Ph.D.) | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 08, 2015

Mail chimp... overrated monkey

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use mailchimp as our way of attracting new customers. It helps to solve our marketing problems.
  • Mailchimp is good at providing tools for measuring your performance
  • It does provide regular feedback as to how many emails are being opened
  • It has a very good tool for inserting and editing pictures
  • They clearly don't understand how to create teaching materials; they are confusing and vague at best. Both the videos and the written material are very poorly designed. Probably the worst aspect of Mailchimp and the reason why many of my colleagues have been evaluating other Autoresponders.
  • On a scale of 1-10 its usability rating is 1 because there are so many things going on behind the simple easy-to-use interface that are hidden and difficult to find and change. Anything to do with the forms is very poorly designed and not so intuitive.
  • The link between campaigns, lists and automation is confusing and doesn't make sense. Why does the campaign dropdown even exist? If it's a broadcast email why not use some simple language. It seems to me that simplicity is not a concept they've come across as yet. Except for their user interface but then it hides the complexity and difficulty of using the software.
  • Its system of writing emails is very clunky. On one side you write the email and on the other side the text appears. It is the only email autoresponder that does this. It is well behind the competition in this regard
  • Creating sub-segments is a nightmare when you want to creat a short introductory course and move people into another segment
  • When sending out emails you only have the option to send out emails within a certain time range. Even when you're testing your own emails it can take up to 20 mins to receive your test email.
  • The sending aspect of the autoresponder is unreliable. I"ve received emails at all sorts of times. You cannot predict within one hour when emails are to be sent out. As a power user of AR you need your emails to go out at a precise time not when it suits mailchimp.
If you are considering using mailchimp the question you should ask is how simple is it to use. The effectiveness and usefulness of the training material leaves a lot to be desired. On this basis alone it is a terrible mail service.
Read Frank La Pira (Ph.D.)'s full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 03, 2018

Great product, but make sure a price fits you!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mailchimp for a number of reasons, mostly for warming up the leads before contacting them the first time. Additionally, we produce a monthly newsletter every month, for each of the demographics, in which we deliver all of the updates of our software and website content updates.
Also, for any bigger updates about our software, like API integration we will send separate campaigns for. We use it for maintaining and managing our newsletter subscribers too. We have used MailChimp API integration to add multiple promotional features to our site, and our blog.
  • Template creation with a visual builder is very easy! It is easy to navigate and you know... A chimp can do it!
  • Anyone with more knowledge of HTML can utilise their plain text feature, where you can code your own.
  • MailChimp keeps good track of mailing lists.
  • Reports are easy to read, and gives basic stats at a click of the button.
  • If you have bigger mailing lists and would like to keep them all, it can get very expensive, fast!
  • MailChimp doesn't have good drip mail features.
  • Their API for integration to your site can be painful, any additional pop-ups, also will slow down your site dramatically if it's not wordpress, or especially if it lacks flexibility in terms of code.
  • Some HTML coding features are not as simple as they should be, as even an avid coder will swear at the programme.

Good for monthly newsletters, where it is a cost-effective medium for building relationships and maintaining regular contact with customers and prospects.

Well suited for campaign mailshots, and it is great if you are an e-commerce business. Makes goal tracking and ROI traceability amazing.

Not the best at drip features, it can be hard to get ROI traceability (direct goal tracking) if you are service or B2B based.

Read this authenticated review
Leslie Kuykendall, CSPO | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2015

Quick, Cheap, Easy

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Clean intuitive interface (for the most part)
  • Can edit creative in the interface, with a variety of ways to get creative into the system
  • List upload is a breeze
  • Figuring out where to edit an HTML email template content is not intuitive. If you don't work with HTML all the time, you don't know to look for the [brackets] to edit the code.
The same advice I offered on the previous question - if you need something that doesn't require Mensa eligibility to send an email, and need a short-term, low-cost solution as a stop-gap measure, MailChimp is pretty ideal. Otherwise, if you want something more complex, look into some of the other tools such as ConstantContact or VerticalResponse.
Read Leslie Kuykendall, CSPO's full review
Mamoun Chaouni | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2015

Good Product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MailChimp is being used by our Marketing department. We mainly use it to promote our blog articles and white papers, as well as the deals featured on our website. We also use it when we organize sweepstakes. It is therefore used to promote our content and to increase our sales.
  • Ease of use
  • Competitive price
  • Smooth Interface
  • Customer Support : MailChimp lack phone support.
  • Their help material is useful but sometimes it is not enough and their mail support is not really reactive.
  • Missing functionality : It would be really practical to be able to send the same campaign to different lists without having to replicate the campaign.
  • Missing functionality : MailChimp cannot detect duplicate email adresses across different lists.
I think that the key metric to consider is the number of email subscribers. It should be the main factor to determine the type of plan to choose. One should note that MailChimp's free plan may be enough for small users.
Read Mamoun Chaouni's full review
Campbell Macdonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2015

Mailchimp for SMB SaaS business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MailChimp primarily for weekly newsletters and have used it for autoresponders in the past. It is used by the marketing department. [The business problem it addresses] is being able to communicate in a simple, reliable way to people who have said they want to stay in touch with what we are doing as a company (product updates & news) or to see what we see as interesting in our industry (content marketing and conversion rate optimization).
  • Dead Simple newsletter workflow
  • Highly reliable delivery and awesome mobile formating
  • Nice integrations with worklfow tools like Goodbits
  • It's not a robust marketing automation solution like Marketo or HubSpot. They are building this out. Some may argue that this is a feature, not a bug. But I'm encouraged to see more powerful and robust automation features for those who want them.
  • This is nit picky, but the editor could allow for more flexibility. They are likely making trade-offs around usability, reliability and flexibility, but I wish it weren't so difficult or require custom code to make some of the changes to formating.
How robust a solution do you need? What are your objectives? Do you need a comprehensive solution like Marketo or HubSpot or a simple one like Tiny Letter (which is now owned by MailChimp!)?
Read Campbell Macdonald's full review
Miguel Fernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2015

MailChimp- Powerful Free Version

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very easy to use. Great Free plans with analytics. Perfect for the small, non-profit I implemented MailChimp for.
  • Templates are nice.
  • Smart emails display HTML if the user can see it, or plain text if not. MailChimp allows you to set the info for both types and preview.
  • Easy import of CSV contact lists.
  • Great integration of social network buttons.
Read Miguel Fernandez's full review
Brian Walsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2015

Mailchimp is easy to integrate with CRM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize MailChimp to keep our current clients notified of various trends in the CRM industry, updates on the services that we provide, and schedules on our free webinars that we host monthly on Workbooks CRM. We also use MailChimp to keep our brand in front of prospects have indicated that they need a bit more time in the decision process, and that they would like to hear from us via an e-newsletter.
For us, it allows us to keep in contact with our clients, and monitor the engagement that our content provides by tracking the number of opens and clicks that we may have in any given email campaign. It also allows us to keep our brand present for non-customers who may decide to reach back out to us in the future.
  • Creating custom templates - very easy to use drag and drop interface
  • Segmenting lists - we use Workbooks CRM to segment our lists and then synchronize with MailChimp, which we then use to track our various campaigns.
  • Robust reporting - the analytics in MailChimp show who opened, when they opened, how many times opened, etc. This is good because we can contact the list members who consistently open their emails on a more frequent basis. We've automated this in Workbooks to allow us to view records in which a certain percentage of opens is attained by a given recipient.
  • Maybe the ability to expand the frameworks for templates. If you want to add in a new column you have to create a new template.
It's great if you are looking for a simple, easy to use out of the box email marketing platform. The important thing is to try and pair it up with a CRM solution that will host your contact data, and then allow you to synchronize with MailChimp rather than use the email forms to collect data. We use Workbooks CRM which has an out of the box integration with MailChimp and allows us to really make it easy to send out our campaigns.
Read Brian Walsh's full review
Anna Hazel Crotty | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 29, 2014

Nonprofit use: Good for simple stuff

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my role at Mission Edge, I've worked with several organizations using MailChimp, and I sometimes recommend it. All these organizations are nonprofits, of varying size. I don't recommend it for much segmenting, but it can be a decent tool to get the same message out to all your constituents.
  • Perfectly reasonable WYSIWYG editor
  • RSS Campaigns are unmatched in this price range. Great tool, super useful. Other services offering this feature can cost 2-10x as much.
  • Cheap
  • If you want to do simple stuff, it is simple to use.
  • If you want to do complicated stuff, you'll be frustrated. This is a mass-market product.
  • Salesforce connector can be pretty frustrating.
  • Segmentation isn't very practical. Pricing is per list, which is great. You can segment by groups, which is great in theory. Unfortunately, it makes it difficult for recipients to manage their subscriptions easily -- they may think they've unsubscribed to one group, but they've actually unsubscribed to all.
  • If they shut down your campaign, they don't email you or alert you in any way.
  • I've gotten a lot of reports from users who say they aren't receiving the emails. (As it happens, we use it at one organization where users call at 8:00am if they haven't received the 6:00am email. Not a common MailChimp experience, I'm guessing.) We look in MailChimp, and it says they opened the email 10 minutes ago. If I'd gotten this report from one or two people, I'd chalk it up to people being stupid. We've gotten dozens of these, some from people who we know personally are quite bright. This makes me think two things: one, the open information is definitely faulty, I just don't know how faulty. Two, the emails are being caught in spam filters somewhere along the way, despite our best efforts to stay out of them. We have absolutely no interest in sending emails to people who don't want them. MailChimp support can't help on this issue.
  • We regularly have people complain that they haven't gotten our mails, only to discover they've been unsubscribed from MailChimp. Again, this is dozens of reports, and some of them are telling the truth that they didn't unsubscribe. MailChimp says that the only way someone could be unsubscribed without their knowledge is for a reader to forward their email to someone else who then clicks the unsubscribe button. I don't think that happens often enough to account for the number of people who report this problem to us. I don't pretend to know what is happening, but it is definitely frustrating.
  • MailChimp keeps track of email addresses that have bounced before (because it will shut down your account if you try to import too many of them at a time) but it won't just gracefully refuse to email them.
MailChimp is appropriate for single list, simple use, or for those who are very price sensitive and send more than 10K emails/month. (If you're a nonprofit that sends fewer than that, you can use Vertical Response for free.) It is less appropriate if you plan to do a lot of segmentation, link to a CRM, or if your constituents are intent on receiving all of your emails.
Read Anna Hazel Crotty's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (205)
8.5
Dynamic content (200)
7.8
Ability to test dynamic content (193)
7.9
Landing pages (146)
7.6
A/B testing (168)
7.8
Mobile optimization (205)
8.6
Email deliverability reporting (223)
8.8
List management (220)
8.3
Triggered drip sequences (144)
7.7
Lead nurturing (2)
7.0
Lead scoring and grading (1)
10
Data quality management (1)
10
Automated sales alerts and tasks (1)
10
Calendaring (1)
10
Event/webinar marketing (1)
10
Social sharing and campaigns (2)
10.0
Social profile integration (1)
10
Dashboards (62)
7.7
Standard reports (218)
8.2
Custom reports (40)
7.4
API (2)
9.0
Role-based workflow & approvals (1)
10
Customizability (2)
6.5
Integration with Salesforce.com (2)
8.5
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (2)
8.5
Integration with SugarCRM (2)
8.5

About Mailchimp

Mailchimp is an all-in-one Marketing Platform for small businesses. The vendor says its goal is to help small businesses market smarter so they can grow faster. Mailchimp aims to be the backbone for customer relationships, with AI-powered, user-friendly tools. Mailchimp is designed to put the audience at the center so users can send marketing emails and automated messages, create targeted ad campaigns, build landing pages, send postcards, facilitate reporting and analytics, and sell online. The vendor reports that millions of businesses and individuals - from community organizations to Fortune 100 companies - use Mailchimp to connect with their audience with the right message, at the right time, in the right place. Founded in 2001 and based in Atlanta, GA, Mailchimp has 1000+ employees and is privately held.

Mailchimp Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Has featureAbility to test dynamic content
Has featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureMobile optimization
Has featureEmail deliverability reporting
Has featureList management
Has featureTriggered drip sequences
Lead Management Features
Does not have featureLead nurturing
Does not have featureLead scoring and grading
Does not have featureData quality management
Does not have featureAutomated sales alerts and tasks
Campaign Management Features
Does not have featureCalendaring
Does not have featureEvent/webinar marketing
Social Media Marketing Features
Does not have featureSocial sharing and campaigns
Does not have featureSocial profile integration
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Does not have featureAPI
Does not have featureRole-based workflow & approvals
Does not have featureCustomizability
Does not have featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Does not have featureIntegration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM
Does not have featureIntegration with SugarCRM

Mailchimp Screenshots

Mailchimp Integrations

Mailchimp Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Mailchimp Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Live Chat

Mailchimp Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android