Mailchimp Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1800 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-75 of 246)

Emanuele Pagani | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Mailchimp: A great email blast tool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We usually use Mailchimp to send email blasts, collect users interested in our newsletter through a form on our website, and design email html templates.
  • Login security
  • Email send and analytics
  • Hard to login
  • Hard to segment users
Mailchimp is a great platform when used to build an email list and divide it into different segments of users and to schedule automatic newsletters. It's also great for list management.
I don’t think Mailchimp shines when it has to be customized with submission forms, or with a custom unsubscribe page. It’s also not the best if you already have a big list of subscribers.
I appreciate that they have custom-priced models for single-send email blasts.
Read Emanuele Pagani's full review
Alicia Barevich, bCRE, bCEE | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Simple, easy email editor for small organizations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Previous to my working at the organization, newsletters and event notices were sent out by BCC'ing all of the recipients on a normal email. However, at that time, our email service had a maximum of 50 (?) recipients per email, meaning each time we sent a mass email, we would actually be sending several. I chose to implement MailChimp for all mass emails for the museum. The graphic appeal of the emails skyrocketed with our variety of custom templates. Also, the ease of subscribing and unsubscribing was fantastic, and brought us into the present.
  • It is easy to create graphically appealing templates, and to use those templates with new content for each message.
  • Safe unsubscribe, and subscription options are great and reliable.
  • Delivery and message statistics were fantastic, especially considering we were coming from 0.
  • For our limited requirements (1-5 monthly emails to a list of 200 or so), with a few different templates and delivery statistics...everything worked perfectly! We didn't need anything to change at all.
I'm not totally sure how it may or may not integrate with a larger database, or compete in the market of extensive link click tracking, etc, but for the purposes of a small organization, it is absolutely a must-have. Nobody should be sending mass emails via BCC anymore. Make them look good with ease with MailChimp!
Read Alicia Barevich, bCRE, bCEE's full review
Stephen Wittmaak | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Easy to use, easy to implement, easy to grow.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mailchimp for internal updates as well as newsletters and initiatives directed at our external member base as well. It helps us improve our messaging with A/B testing as well as maximize our reach. Built-in integration also allows us to plan ahead for use with other systems such as Zoho.
  • Track metrics with open/close rates and clicks
  • Customization is easy with templates
  • Switch from Audience back to Lists
  • Allow more seamless HTML/WYSIWYG integration
Mailchimp is suited for most small businesses looking to send and track emails to their audience. [There are] Flexible options for both a skilled designer and a novice using templates.
Read Stephen Wittmaak's full review
Anthony Zurica | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Mailchimp - for when you want your clients to remember you.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to keep in contact with our network. That includes our business and personal mailing list. Any potential clients that sign up for our mailing list as well. It simplifies the contact process for us and always keeps us top of mind for clients and friends. It as replaced our rolodex for customer contact.
  • List organization
  • Importing contacts from 3rd parties
  • More templates to use when sending out mass emails
  • Simplify the template interface
If you are a smaller company and are handling a lot of your customer contact and social media on your own, this is the product for you. It is easy for 1 or 2 people to make periodic changes to lists and also send out mass emails when necessary. For a big organization it might not make much sense.
Read Anthony Zurica's full review
Jeff Huisjen | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

MailChimp performs admirably!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mailchimp as a ministry to contact and update the parents of our students, as well as our volunteers. MailChimp allows us to easily set up e-mail lists that we can add people to ourselves OR have people sign up for via an easy to use link. The process of segmenting lists and/or having separate lists to send different e-mail to has been an easy way for us to communicate to our different groups. For example we have a list of all the parents who receive our e-mails and within that list we have segments that separate middle school student parents from high school parents, parents of male students from parents of female students, etc. We also have a completely separate list for mailing just our volunteers and that is segmented as well.

We are also able to design and manage a number of different templates depending on the type of e-mail that needs to be sent out. We have templates for general weekly e-mails to parents, e-mails to leaders, special announcement e-mails, as well as a template that we use to announce specific events. Overall, MailChimp is an easy to use and effective communication tool that allows us to quickly contact our leaders and parents with clean, easy to read e-mails.
  • List management is easy to do and fairly intuitive
  • Template design and creation functions solidly and allows you to tailor your e-mails to specific groups
  • The tracking metrics allow you to see who's opening your e-mails and how many clicks you get from within them.
  • MailChimp sometimes struggles to embed videos well
  • Because of the nature of an e-mail from MailChimp, mail often ends up in the "Promotion" folder in Gmail
  • Occasionally during template design it can be a struggle to get your template to look EXACTLY how you envision
MailChimp easily meets our communication needs for the fairly simple e-mails we send out each week or for the less regular special announcement and event e-mails. As with any communication tool, however, MailChimp has the capacity to become too much and overwhelm readers or cause them to check out. Self editing in regards to length of e-mail and content is always necessary.
Read Jeff Huisjen's full review
Kristen Hay | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Great email system!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We've been sending out a sequence of emails to different groups of customers for our latest project. It's been great getting the results we need and seeing who's been clicking our links and re-sending emails to people who haven't clicked or opened the first-touch email. Seeing those analytics and having the ability to segment our list and send emails targeted to a specific audience has been super helpful.

This has been a key component of building out our online case studies and customer testimonials.

  • Mailchimp is easy to learn and use.
  • List segmenting, email scheduling, and detailed analytics are all features that streamline our processes and help us market to and email constituents with ease.
  • We've had a few issues getting the right lists and communication segmenting set-up, but once we got the hang of it everything worked out. We had to change our segmenting approach a little to make it work though.
Mailchimp is well suited for your standard marketing automation needs. It's a dependable email system.
Read Kristen Hay's full review
Jess Messenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Mailchimp: A Reliable, Easy-to-use Marketing Platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mailchimp across numerous client accounts and those in mid-level and senior positions utilize it. It helps us easily disseminate our client's news to their core audiences and then effectively track the results of every communication to drive continuous improvement for their e-newsletter programs. Being able to quickly download and assess results helps us save time and reduce costs associated with managing these programs.
  • Can easily add and organize distribution lists/audiences
  • Can easily see results of each campaign
  • Mailchimp seems to frequently change the layout of the platform, which can be a bit confusing.
  • Larger distribution lists will require an investment via Mailchimp's credits.
Mailchimp is very well-suited for organizations with smaller distribution lists, as it is free to use if you have fewer than 2,000 contacts and need to send less than 10,000 emails in a month. Once you require an upgrade, the distributions require an investment. However, it is quite affordable and you can purchase larger packages of credits at a better price. It's great for organizations that frequently send out distributions and want to track the open rate, click rate, etc. over time to see how their program's performance changes.
Read Jess Messenger's full review
Patrick Stephens | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Mailchimp - Great For Users Who Know Marketing Automation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as the primary marketing automation tool for the enrollment efforts of a local school centered on adult learners. It was primarily selected to be a "blast email" service and has grown into use as a contact management service pre-enrollment.
  • Drag and drop interface
  • Contact uploading
  • Overcomplicating lists
  • Not user friendly for new users
It is well suited for those who understand why marketing automation exists. You will see the terminology and have an instant grasp of what it does and what it can do, and you can learn the program easily from there. However, they have delved a little too much into their own idea of innovation - making it so that their own buzz words and industry words will be overwhelming to a new user.
Read Patrick Stephens's full review
Mari Marks Mondanelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

I don't use anything else!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed a way to share updates on new inventory, events, and information with our client base. We also wanted a way to grow our client base. We wanted to engage our current clients and hoped to increase business and client list as well. We use MailChimp to send out monthly newsletters with updates to our clients. It is used by our gallery department, which represents 2 locations. We have found it very easy to use and successful.
  • MailChimp is easy to use. I appreciate how it shows you a preview of your email, and allows you to send test emails before sending the final one out. I really enjoy that we can link our social media pages as well as create links to our website and more.
  • There are many different ways to format our emails, with great options like images, images with captions, text boxes, space dividers and image blocks.
  • Importing new emails is super easy
  • I wish we could create different button colors for the link buttons instead of just the light aqua blue.
  • Often when I upload an image into an image box, there is a black line on the right side and bottom of my image (on the border) I can never seem to make it go away, and it can disrupt the look of my email.
I use MailChimp and receive emails from others who use MailChimp. I think it's a great way to get information out to a lot of people. If you want to send a similar / duplicated email with the same format you've already used, their duplicate template feature is great for this scenario and allows you to be cohesive with your brand/company.
Read Mari Marks Mondanelli's full review
Meg Ruggieri | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

MailChimp: Even a monkey could use it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MailChimp to send out our clients' monthly newsletters and e-blasts. It is specifically used by the content team to create the emails and by the account manager team to measure metrics and analytics of how successful those emails are each month. It's much easier to use than previously used email marketing solutions.
  • Useability
  • Minimalistic, beautiful layout
  • Free (up to 2,000 Subscribers)
  • A/B testing
  • Have to upgrade to send automated emails
  • Support could be better
If you just want the basics, there are better and probably even cheaper platforms. This is a solution for someone who cares about looking good to their followers from graphics, to buttons to overall presentation. Furthermore, the metrics available within mailchimp are more in-depth and help businesses understand benchmarks so they can continue to improve future email campaigns.
Read Meg Ruggieri's full review
Ben Caplan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

A solution for businesses looking to increase overall client satisfaction and increase sales.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our organization, we are currently using Mailchimp to keep connected with our clients - past and present. We have automation campaigns that clients are enrolled in so they are kept in the know. Currently, we are beta testing the software for retention and customer satisfaction, we haven't yet used the program for gaining new customers or getting leads.
  • Automation campaigns.
  • Campaign statistics for success and failures. Breakdowns for each email to track what worked and what didn't.
  • The breadth of tools for creating, managing, and reporting on campaigns both digital and print.
  • The ability to create multiple channels for prospective, current and past customers to interact with.
  • The cost has increased over the years.
  • The free version has been cut back tremendously to encourage users to pay for the upgraded version.
If you have customers, volunteers, vendors, or any business relationship that would need nurturing, this is a good tool. Mailchimp is well suited for businesses that might want to send newsletters, birthday emails, prospect emails, or even create a lead capture page. Mailchimp might not be suited for a business that is tight on marketing funds or wants a free solution; however, the free solution is still well suited to companies that might want to do simple newsletters, birthday emails or create followup emails.
Read Ben Caplan's full review
Emily Giannakas | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Best Email Blast Software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mailchimp to contact our customer base when we want them to know of a special deal they can take advantage of or remind them of the work that they have coming up. Being a lead gen company, we have to stay in contact with our customers a lot through all the stages and services, so this is a great way to keep a pulse on being in communication with them.
  • Quick and easy templates to build your email from.
  • Simple contact list uploads to add to your email database.
  • Can import your own designs into the emails to make it personal and stand out.
  • I would love to see a better option for reduced/nulled payment if you have to reduce the number of contacts in your database to hit the free version without being overcharged.
  • Would love to see some new fonts and color choices added (so that they can be consistent with our branding colors
Mailchimp creates beautiful and straightforward email blasts that you can send for literally any reason. They offer the first 2000 contacts to be under the free plan, which is especially great for smaller companies that don't need to send too many emails. But even the paid plans are reasonably priced for the number of emails and people you can send to. It's a way to get right in front of your customers with your message.
Read Emily Giannakas's full review
Bob Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Good function, very usable, low price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MailChimp to distribute newsletters to subscribers to our online community. Also use for event marketing and notifications (e.g. webinars). Implemented several years ago and have been very happy with the cost, usability and function. Mailchimp provides good tracking and statistics on emails, and like most everything about the solution, it's easy to use.
  • Very affordable. Especially considering the functionality, a great deal.
  • Easy to use. The basics are handled without difficulty.
  • Good function. Not the most sophisticated email system we've ever used, but missing functions are rare and we've implemented workarounds.
  • Segmentation is one area where MailChimp has room for improvement. Basic segmentation is done well, but complex segments (combination of ands and ors) have be created manually and then uploaded as a static segment.
  • MailChimp takes a very hard line on spam complaints. This is generally good because it ensures a 'clean' signup process. But opt-in subscribers sometimes forget they signed up and complain anyway. If this surpasses a threshold (fairly low, in my opinion) you could end up with your account suspended until you explain what happened. While I understand the need to enforce quality, this is a draconian approach that puts my business at risk.
MailChimp is clearly geared towards small businesses and email newsletter publishers. With a little creativity it can be used in a lead generation process (we do so in combination with a Wordpress forms plugin. They recently announced a more full featured marketing automation product, but I have not reviewed or attempted to use.
Read Bob Thompson's full review
Tony Phan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

An Easy Way to Master Email Marketing Campaign

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailchimp is used to send promotional deals/offers to nearly 6,000 subscribers of our e-commerce platform and mainly used by the marketing department. This allows us to send promotion details to our customers on time and promptly as well as allows us to analyze the engagement data of those promotion details. This is very important since when you perform a marketing activity, you would want to know its effectiveness and performance rate. After 3 years of using Mailchimp, now we are also using Mailchimp not only for promotion details but also for survey to collect customer feedback. This is perfect for companies that has not had a system in place yet to send out details in mass to potential target market / customers. Mailchimp will simplify this process and provide data that can be used to optimize the effectiveness of those sent-out information.
  • Approved bulk mailer. Most email services and Internet service providers (ISP) limit the number of emails you can send at one time. This is to prevent spamming. With a tool like MailChimp, you can send an email to an unlimited number of recipients at one time.
  • Compatible with various email readers and devices. MailChimp gives your recipients the option to read your emails in fully-styled HTML or text only. They can also click a link to read the email in a web browser instead of their email.
  • Know if people are reading your emails.
  • Dig up & change the specific defaults or dig up a very specific piece of data can be frustrating. It’s all buried on second screens and/or specific workflows.
  • MailChimp reserves the right to suspend or cancel your account which gives you a disadvantage while you are paying for the service but yet they have the right to refuse to serve.
  • You pretty much have to create your own templates. If you want your email to look good, you have to do it yourself. Their template is not attractive enough to attract sales.
It is really useful when you can see the performance of an email blast campaign in real time. And not only can you track your own analytics, but you can also see how your metrics compare to other MailChimp users to see if you’re really getting the most out of all of your efforts. These datas are extremely important for marketers to adjust and add in what they are lack of in order to achieve better business objectives (example: sales volume). In another case, if you need to collect ideas for your next promotion as well as the demographic of your customer base, mailchimp can also create a survey campaign that collect receiver's answers & comprise effectively report to showcase data collected.
Read Tony Phan's full review
Wesley Wernecke | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Email marketing doesn't have to be rocket science. Mailchimp makes it EASY.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailchimp was first utilised by our marketing dept. We quickly realised how dynamic it was and implemented it company wide. The data we can share with others and the data we are able to receive is hands down the best. We love having the templates that we are able to utilise in times where we are in a hurry or creatively empty.
  • Templates. They are current, fresh, visibly pleasing and easy.
  • The data that you receive is accurate and you are able to create your own custom reporting.
  • Accuracy. The bounce back rate is VERY low. Your database is easy to maintain.
  • Maybe the customer care followup could be better.
  • Pricing structure.
  • Adding flash to templates.
Mailchimp has a fairly strong reports section with a scroll-down list of stats which range from the common open and click rates to top links clicked and performance over the first 24 hours post-send. Also included are a list of subscribers with the most opens, and a physical map of the world that visually portrays the locations of the people who have opened emails.
Read Wesley Wernecke's full review
Rebecca Cobb | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Mailchimp works. Period.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a non-profit, our development and fundraising team uses Mailchimp as a platform to reach donors for fundraising and awareness through email marketing. We have been able to successfully reach the millennial demographic and it has helped us to increase our overall brand and mission awareness to a new market.
  • Mailchimp analyzes your audience.
  • Great customer service.
  • I wish there were more templates.
  • Better free graphics.
I have used Mailchimp as both a Marketing specialist for an ag company and a fundraiser for a non-profit. It really is customizable to whatever your needs are as long as you possess the knowledge it takes to operate the platform. I love that I can make edits, and stop and start campaigns from my mobile device, though it is much easier to do on a laptop.
Read Rebecca Cobb's full review
Abigail Nwaocha | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Simple Email marketing software with great integration options

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I’ve been using MailChimp for a year, along with other email marketing software products, and MailChimp is one of the best email marketing softwares in the market. I am not a fan of the customer support system, I’ve had to contact the customer support twice, each on different accounts. The first was on a paid account and the customer support rep was very helpful, the second was on a free account and I’m still waiting for their response. I hope they get back to me because it’s still within the 30 days of support.

One of the reasons I don’t like this system is because the brands I work with are mostly startup or small businesses and most of them have heard of MailChimp and they know it’s free for 2000 subscribers, however, they don’t know what restrictions the free plan comes with. And their suggestion to everything is “Contact customer support.” If only they knew.

I also wish the free plan came with a bit of automation but I guess that is what Drip or SendinBlue is for. I also wish MailChimp came with an inbuilt mini tutorial on how to use their software, I think people new to email marketing would find it very useful. I remember the first time I tried MailChimp I had no idea that I had to create a template and then a campaign.

I use MailChimp with a lot of integrations to widen its use, I use MailChimp with Privy, Drip, Hubspot CRM and many other tools thanks to Zapier. One of the features I love about MailChimp and I’m yet to find in SendinBlue or Benchmark Email is the ability to have an image header in the signup form. My review is mostly based on the free plan, but despite the flaws I’d still recommend MailChimp to individuals and companies looking to get into email marketing.
  • Clean Interface, easy to use.
  • Customizable Signup form that can be used as a landing page.
  • Robust free plan suitable for small businesses and bloggers planning to grow and manage their mailing list.
  • The customers support system makes it difficult to get specific help after 30 days. This mean after three days the only support you get is from the Knowledge base or Tutorials from other sources.
  • The free plan compared to its competitors comes with limited features such as lack of automation.
My review is based on the free plan. Mailchimp is great for creating customized signup forms with a branded image header. It is also a great lead generation funnel when paired with gravity forms. Allowing bloggers and small businesses to create subscribers from form entries. The templates are basic and not as easy to use as Benchmark, Active Hosted or SendinBlue email templates.
Read Abigail Nwaocha's full review
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

The leader in email marketing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailchimp is used at the organizatio to run email marketing campaigns to new and existing users. We have used the free version and have now gone to the pro version to take advantage of the better functionalities and be able to run larger campaigns without hitting any cap and to have more detailed reporting.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Very good analytics.
  • The new UI is not as good as the one they had before.
  • Better previews of how the email will look would be a nice addition.
Mailchimp is a great tool useful for a business of any size. We have been using them for a while and they have consistently been beating other alternatives and other email providers. I think the main area for improvement is the amount of targeting and AB testing they offer, which could be better.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
Daryl Wise Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Best Platform for E-Mail Campaign!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My online business has started growing more and more as of late, and I needed an automated emailing system that would allow me to reach my customers via email easily and all at once. It was actually Squarespace that recommended MailChimp as I wanted to open a Newsletter section of my website. So I made a MailChimp account, created my Newsletter page and the rest is history!
  • MailChimp's templates are very flexible and they even let you code your own template if you can't find one for your needs! I just use a Basic one and I usually use the same template for all of my emails. And the email customization is great! I can easily insert photos, links, videos, GIFs, buttons and more!
  • They also allow for multiple mailing lists. Currently I only have one (my newsletter), but if you need more than one, you can create them.
  • Also, they allow you to create subscriber groups/segments. Only want to send an email to a select group of subscribers? No problem. You can create and name a group or just individually select certain subscribers! This is a great feature to send an email to a new subscriber and just that new subscriber.
  • Their Reports/Analytics system is also helps to show you if your emails are gaining the attention of your subscribers. It shows the Click Rate and Open Rate for all of the campaigns/emails you have sent. It's a great way to learn about what emails are working and what's not.
  • No dislikes so far! It's free to use until you amass 2,000 subscribers! I'm not there yet, so I'm loving MailChimp!
I used to send hand typed emails to ALL (yes all) of my customers concerning sales, new product announcements and more. Not only was that tedious, but some of my customers may or may not wanted to have me doing that. So by using MailChimp to run my Newsletter, now my customers can choose if they want to hear more news from me. And MailChimp's automation allows me send my emails to my customers with a click of a button!
Read Daryl Wise Jr.'s full review
Daniel J. Canto Bonilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Excellent tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used it in various implementations outside the company, it has been a reliable and functional system. Its only bad point is that the interface is not very friendly and some menus are hidden.
  • Robust system.
  • Flexibility in campaigns.
  • Security tools are very good.
  • Simple pricing plans
Any company that requires sending professional and active marketing campaigns will benefit from this system, since it is as customizable or granular as one requires, obviously with the price levels accordingly.
Read Daniel J. Canto Bonilla's full review
Vitali Kosyrau | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

A cool marketing tool for a quick start

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses a marketer - for newsletters, special offers, as well as for sending a series of letters [to acquaint] new customers with the company. Cool - the integration with all CRM systems and Wordpress site. Set up once and everything works automatically - it is very convenient. Very happy with email delivery.
  • Convenient and simple interface.
  • A lot of direct integration with all services - everything works out of the box.
  • Cost - there are many similar services cheaper.
Great for launching a new project where a quick start is important, many direct integrations allow you to configure everything in 10 minutes. When the subscriber base grows, you should think about the cost, there are other services cheaper.
Read Vitali Kosyrau's full review
Alfred Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

One of the best newsletter tools on the market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailchimp is used by our Marketing department for automating our school activities newsletter service. I personally like Mailchimp because of the platform simplicity and ease of use. It allows me to categorize our school audience and send bulk emails all at once with no issue. Overall, this platform makes our life easier and saves us time.
  • Simple to use and doesn't require experience.
  • Nice templates available.
  • Provides email campaigns analytics.
  • Easy email list management.
  • Mobile app lacks many features.
  • It will be nice to gave more professional email templates.
  • Gets expensive with certain plans.
Mailchimp is a very effective tool for email automation when it comes to bulk emails to use as a newsletter or announcement. I use it for an academic institution so it makes our life easier while sending bulk emails. It helps us to categorize our target audience so we never have a problem with sending campaigns to the wrong group of audience.

I also believe that mailchimp could be used for many other purposes like marketing a certain product or a service that the company offers. The platform offers many great features that could be helpful in any field.
Read Alfred Simmons's full review
Damini Gandhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Mailchimp - Email marketing champion.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing team used Mailchimp for various purposes based on client requirements. We used it for newsletter designs, drip email campaigns, nurture campaigns, driving registration for webinars. We designed landing pages, distributed mails to around 4-5k contacts. Business problems varied from account to account, for some clients it was brand awareness campaigns and for some, it was tactical lead gen campaigns.
  • Mailer design features - drag and drop with image and video embedding options
  • Pre-built templates are very helpful and has good design aesthetics
  • Mailchimp has increased the pricing lately which makes it unaffordable for startups and mid-size companies
  • Most of the templates and features are premium now
Well suited for email marketing campaigns, nurture campaigns, drip campaigns, landing page creation, and lead gen activities.
Read Damini Gandhi's full review
Prakash Kotian | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Best email marketing software

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailchimp is used only in the growth marketing team. We used to send newsletter campaigns to all subscribers and auto-responses to subscribers, but Mailchimp has made that process much, much easier.
  • Audience segmentations and tags.
  • Template design.
  • Template design could also be a little better.
  • Contact management.
Mailchimp tags make it great to have one audience list and are excellent for those who want to have multiple campaigns based on interest. You can create tags and send lists for the selected tags.
Read Prakash Kotian's full review
Rahul Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Send bulk emails with a few clicks using Mailchimp.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailchimp is, I think, our first and only mail-sending platform for bulk and promotional emails. It is being used by our marketing department to send promotional emails on various occasions and for promotions. Mailchimp does address user-targeting and user-retention issues. We use Mailchimp to keep connected with users targeted according to the requirements.
  • Mailchimp does offer a freemium version too, so it's easy and free to learn about Mailchimp.
  • In the standard version, it has a few of the most used and best templates for bulk emails.
  • Not so good for small organizations or start-ups because of pricing.
  • A little bit time-consuming for full customization.
Mailchimp is very suited for bulk email sending to a large number of users at once, as it was made for that only. Now it also offers so many additional features with paid plans. Mailchimp's behavioral targeting feature works well to sort out the user base, according to their response types. Mailchimp helps to target users, those who actually like our services, and attract those who are not happy with us.
Read Rahul Kumar's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (205)
8.5
Dynamic content (200)
7.8
Ability to test dynamic content (193)
7.9
Landing pages (146)
7.6
A/B testing (168)
7.8
Mobile optimization (205)
8.6
Email deliverability reporting (223)
8.8
List management (220)
8.3
Triggered drip sequences (144)
7.7
Lead nurturing (2)
7.0
Lead scoring and grading (1)
10
Data quality management (1)
10
Automated sales alerts and tasks (1)
10
Calendaring (1)
10
Event/webinar marketing (1)
10
Social sharing and campaigns (2)
10.0
Social profile integration (1)
10
Dashboards (62)
7.7
Standard reports (218)
8.2
Custom reports (40)
7.4
API (2)
9.0
Role-based workflow & approvals (1)
10
Customizability (2)
6.5
Integration with Salesforce.com (2)
8.5
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (2)
8.5
Integration with SugarCRM (2)
8.5

About Mailchimp

Mailchimp is an all-in-one Marketing Platform for small businesses. The vendor says its goal is to help small businesses market smarter so they can grow faster. Mailchimp aims to be the backbone for customer relationships, with AI-powered, user-friendly tools. Mailchimp is designed to put the audience at the center so users can send marketing emails and automated messages, create targeted ad campaigns, build landing pages, send postcards, facilitate reporting and analytics, and sell online. The vendor reports that millions of businesses and individuals - from community organizations to Fortune 100 companies - use Mailchimp to connect with their audience with the right message, at the right time, in the right place. Founded in 2001 and based in Atlanta, GA, Mailchimp has 1000+ employees and is privately held.

Mailchimp Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Has featureAbility to test dynamic content
Has featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureMobile optimization
Has featureEmail deliverability reporting
Has featureList management
Has featureTriggered drip sequences
Lead Management Features
Does not have featureLead nurturing
Does not have featureLead scoring and grading
Does not have featureData quality management
Does not have featureAutomated sales alerts and tasks
Campaign Management Features
Does not have featureCalendaring
Does not have featureEvent/webinar marketing
Social Media Marketing Features
Does not have featureSocial sharing and campaigns
Does not have featureSocial profile integration
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Does not have featureAPI
Does not have featureRole-based workflow & approvals
Does not have featureCustomizability
Does not have featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Does not have featureIntegration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM
Does not have featureIntegration with SugarCRM

Mailchimp Screenshots

Mailchimp Integrations

Mailchimp Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Mailchimp Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Live Chat

Mailchimp Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android