M‑Files Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Penny Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

M-Files is Great and Reliable for Our Hospital System's Policies and Forms. See What They Can Do for You!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

As the administrator, I can easily set associates up as a user. I have a few different levels of users. With our previous vendor, they couldn't figure out how to cut off access to confirm that absolutely no one could upload policies except for the Administrator or change dates in the system. With M-Files, there are two people within Catholic Health that can load policies and forms. We set up different permissions for the end-users by sections of who had access to pull word versions so they could pull from M-Files and work remotely on updating the document. It's great to be able to control who has rights to the different sections of our system. It's very beneficial for Catholic Health!
Read Penny Arnold's full review
Jason von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

Deploying M-Files, an EDM that can meet any organization's needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

We have just introduced automatic access controls and have built that around who an employee is, what team they are on and who their manager is. This enables us to build document lifecycle workflows that are uniform across the organization without the overhead of one of type configurations. This gives a universal experience to our users while giving them the power to secure as they would need to. Integration with an IdP of our choice is great as we can apply our own access and security model as we see fit.
Read Jason von Innerebner's full review
Sarah M.C. von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Five years using and still enjoying the M-Files experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

At our organization, we are just in the preliminary stages of really exploring the capabilities that M-Files offers. So far, we've been enjoying the NACL ability and have also incorporated our AD groups to automatically control staff permissions on documents and on workflows. The audit-ability through version control and workflows ensures that there is accountability for users when modifying content and ownership of actions and decisions. This visibility is incredibly powerful and assuring when auditing content or conducting research.
Read Sarah M.C. von Innerebner's full review
Arto Määttä | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

M-Files has my recommendation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

We have work flows and automatic access control, which is based on document classification. This has replaced our old folder based system and has increased the efficiency of document management.
Read Arto Määttä's full review
Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Good for file management and security; but not user friendly due to file view system

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

Files can be encrypted while sharing which brings more security. Secondly viewers can be limited to specific users; hence this provides flexibility to the users. Data loss is prevented by the storage system - but this may be limited to a time frame (e.g. in our case it is limited to 3 years time frame).
Read Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2®'s full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Superb Document Management System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

This is very useful for many areas inside the company. Most demand areas are Legal and Engineering. It is very important to not lose the intellectual property files, because it affects directly our costumers. Moreover, the security is a must, because losing the information may directly impact the company revenue. All of these features are being used by our company.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

An affordable and underestimated ECM platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

We have utilized Active Directory SSO with this platform as well as configuring user groups to effectively silo and manage information within the platform. We are investigating data encryption but have not yet utilized the feature.
Read this authenticated review
Yrjö Tolvanen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

It's so easy that business people can do it (but don't let them do it alone)!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

We have used automatic access control for two purposes: to limit access to business critical data, and to make it easy to see the data which is relevant to a person's work. We find it very useful that data or documents deleted by mistake are easy to retrieve by key users without ICT experts.
Read Yrjö Tolvanen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

Happy M-Files Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

Audit trails, data loss protection and automation is a must for companies complying with ISO certifications and quality standards. Each document has a history trail and keeps each change that is made to the document and to the metadata card. Permission settings are created for each individual document or class of documents and set by the administrator. User groups and access control lists can be created to apply permission settings to different groups or lists of people. Only chosen users can read, edit or delete documents.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

M‑Files Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files Security

With M-files being in every department of our business, and acting as the glue for disparaging systems, security and access control are key.
Read this authenticated review
Todd Ek | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2018

Empower yourself with content, information and process

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

M-Files Security

We have implemented permissions in all areas of M-Files. All users are on a need-to-see basis based on groups, department or workflow state. M-Files can set permission on any piece of metadata. As an example: salespeople create commission statements and send them to their manager changing their permission to read-only. The manager permissions are set to Edit. If they send it back to the salesperson, permissions change back to edit. When the commission statement is approved and sent to admin, the document becomes read-only for all. Permission protects the document throughout all phases of the workflow and salespeople have access to only documents they created.
Read Todd Ek's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Content capture & imaging (33)
8.0
File sync, storage & archiving (40)
8.5
Document management (42)
8.5
Records management (41)
8.0
Content search & retrieval (42)
8.5
Enterprise content collaboration (35)
8.3
Content publishing & creation (9)
6.9
Security, risk management & information governance (38)
8.5
Contract lifecycle management (30)
8.6
Automated workflows (37)
8.5
Artificial intelligence (17)
6.6
Mobile support (9)
7.1
Integration (10)
7.5

About M‑Files

M-Files provides an information management platform that is designed to improve business performance by helping people find and use information more effectively. Unlike traditional enterprise content management (ECM) systems or content services platforms, M-Files unifies systems, data and content across the organization without disturbing existing systems and processes or requiring data migration.

Using artificial intelligence (AI) technologies in its Intelligent Metadata Layer, M-Files breaks down silos by delivering an in-context experience for accessing and leveraging information that resides in any system and repository, including network folders, SharePoint, file sharing services, ECM systems, CRM, ERP and other business systems and repositories.

The vendor claims thousands of organizations in more than 100 countries use M-Files for managing their business information and processes, including NBC Universal, OMV, Valmet, Rovio, SAS Institute and thyssenkrupp.

M‑Files Features

Enterprise Content Management Features
Has featureContent capture & imaging
Has featureFile sync, storage & archiving
Has featureDocument management
Has featureRecords management
Has featureContent search & retrieval
Has featureEnterprise content collaboration
Has featureContent publishing & creation
Has featureSecurity, risk management & information governance
Has featureContract lifecycle management
Has featureAutomated workflows
Has featureArtificial intelligence
Has featureMobile support
Has featureIntegration

M‑Files Screenshots

M‑Files Video

M-Files connects to existing systems, like network folders and SharePoint, and makes those systems more intelligent by adding metadata, version control, and workflows to the content. M-Files enables organizations to access and manage the ever-increasing amount of documents and information across all business systems without requiring an expensive and time-consuming migration.

M‑Files Integrations

Microsoft Office 365, NetSuite, Salesforce.com, DocuSign, AutoCAD, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Esri, Micosoft Teams, Microsoft SharePoint, Sage 200, AutoCAD LT and Autodesk, SAP, ChronoScan

M‑Files Competitors

Laserfiche, Alfresco Enterprise Content Management, OpenText Enterprise Content Manamagement (ECM)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Please contact an M-Files representative via https://www.m-files.com for pricing information.

M‑Files Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

M‑Files Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:M-Files is available in 100+ countries through direct support or via the company's partner network.
Supported Languages: M-Files is available in 30+ languages.