M‑Files Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 48)

Penny Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

M-Files is Great and Reliable for Our Hospital System's Policies and Forms. See What They Can Do for You!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files holds the policies and forms for our hospital system. It is used by all associates/manager's/physicians within Catholic Health. Our M-Files account was created and designed for the needs of our hospital system. It is a very reliable system with easy access for our users. The search capability is extremely fast and reliable. When an associate needs immediate access to a policy or form, it is readily available. This is critical since we have surgery consents on this system as well as many other policies and forms and our five hospitals rely on these documents to function.

From an administrator's view, this system was created by working with M-Files so we have everything that is required, such as the documented date and time stamps for pathologists approvals on our policies, easy access to all versions of each policy, more than one version of a policy visible at a time for training purposes, and excellent customer service.

Read Penny Arnold's full review
Jason von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

Deploying M-Files, an EDM that can meet any organization's needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is our internal document management solution. With the recent move to working from home as organizations deal with the current pandemic, we have been able to migrate paper processes to digital workflows. This has increased our productivity and reduced our dependence on legacy systems. Documents get a full history attached to them for tracking and auditing purposes which older systems never offered.
Read Jason von Innerebner's full review
Sarah M.C. von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Five years using and still enjoying the M-Files experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is used in our organization as our primary document and content management application. Nearly all departments rely on it heavily for organizing documents, as well as materials related to meetings, projects, programs, and committees. The versatility of M-Files means that we've been able to continue to adapt our business needs and processes to have M-Files automate processes and security permissions. Prior to M-Files, our organization, like many others, relied on the typical shared drives and department folder approach with email attachments to share content. Now we are able to collaborate on content across teams and streamline the organization of meeting content without worry of the current version or who last edited the document. We've also standardized how content is accessed while simultaneously providing users with the ability to customize their interface so they can work according to their preferences.
Read Sarah M.C. von Innerebner's full review
Arto Määttä | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

M-Files has my recommendation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use M-Files across the whole company. We have an ERP system that is built on M-Files, so we use it widely for production, quality, and purchasing. Basically all documentation is stored and handled in M-Files. We also use its workflows to manage production flows, purchase orders, agreements etc.
Read Arto Määttä's full review
Chad DeMeyers | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

M-Files review from a customer that is six-months in

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We recently implemented M-Files... we have been using it for about 6 months. We started in one department, customer service. That went well and we are expanding M-Files into accounting, procurement and logistics. I expect further growth. M-Files has helped improve document retention and retrieval, customer response times and team collaboration.
Read Chad DeMeyers's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Great software for any organization that wants to be a effective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is used in many cases in our whole organization. Just few situations is shown below:
  • Document management of the company
  • Substation assets management
  • Management system (ISO 9001)
  • Visualization of the processes by the Process Maps add-in
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

M-Files Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is used across the organization for document management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Make it easier and safer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is used in the whole company as the main document handling system. With meta data all contracts are classified and saved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

M-Files Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company currently has three different M-Files vaults. One of which is designed for the whole organization but the two others are for a specific department in our company. I'm currently in charge of one of our vaults which address the management and update of our supplier's documents and approval processes.
Read this authenticated review
Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Good for file management and security; but not user friendly due to file view system

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is currently being used by all the Product Development organization following the closure of local hard disk drives. We use it for two main purposes: 1) Storage for the critical files and documents 2) File sharing for the company's internal and external communication. It brings safety and target to prevent loss of information. It now comes default with our laptops/computers and is being used as a default application. A mobile version is also available for usage. It is also integrated for daily office tools like Outlook etc.
Read Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2®'s full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Superb Document Management System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Today M-Files is being used worldwide inside my company to handle files and another similar kind of documents, like control revision, file storage, and workflow for approvals. It is a very important application for Engineering areas, because this area needs to be conforming to many legal compliances.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

Happy M-Files Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is being using by the whole organization to store, retrieve, revise and approve documentation. The system uses metadata properties allowing users to search and view documents quickly and easily, eliminating chaotic network folders; users are no longer required to remember where a file or folder is stored. Workflow capabilities allow users to route documents for review and sign-off, keeping content in one system vs. multiple databases. Creating assignments in M-Files provides traceability for routing and reviewing of documents, eliminating email attachments and uncontrolled paper files. Permission settings within the system allows only authorized persons to access certain files. The Check In/Check Out system creates automated version control and leaves a history trail, leaving a structured audit trail.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

An affordable and underestimated ECM platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented M-Files for various customers after looking for a more cost-effective ECM platform than OnBase or Perceptive for some of our leaner customers. M-Files was relatively new to us but after evaluating the software and the direction it was headed we decided to implement it and it had the functionality we were looking for at a fraction of the cost of the competitors. As an ECM platform, it helped reduce the number of shared folders, spreadsheets, inconsistent Sharepoint usage, and other things that often come from a company trying to collaborate and share information while making it easy to recall and find that information in the future.
Read this authenticated review
Yrjö Tolvanen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

It's so easy that business people can do it (but don't let them do it alone)!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have implemented M-Files as a service management system for service business and quotation management system for capex projects. This solution covers service agreements, service work management and reporting of service activities for customers and invoicing. Customers' install base of service agreement lines is included. All capex quotations are included with classification information. Already decided further development includes project document management and customer document distribution.


Read Yrjö Tolvanen's full review
Anssi Mäkelä | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2019

M-files and a small laboratory company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use M-files across the whole organization. We manage literally everything with it—quotes, purchases, orders, workflow, tasks, etc. We have also tailored it to work as a laboratory information management system in our laboratory, where we manage the samples, analysis data, and quality control.
Read Anssi Mäkelä's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

M-Files review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is in use in the whole organization. We use it mainly in document management but with the M-Files objects we are able to create relations between documents and objects which are for example imported automatically from our ERP-system. This allows us to for example import customers from our ERP and then when creating a document relate the new document to the customer with metadata. We use it also for orders, quotes and parts just to mention a few. This allows us to access/find documents more effective than before.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

M‑Files Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files helps our company manage the paperwork involved in transporting hazardous materials, and to streamline their invoice processing procedures. As a company that regularly handles hazardous material and works with safety in mind, we’ve always had comprehensive requirements. Because M-Files is able to do so many things, we've molded a lot of our operations around it.
Read this authenticated review
Rebecca Sims | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Why M-Files will make you Smile!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is being used to store content that is related to individual departments, across departments and across business functions. We had issues sharing and finding content, having too many duplicates and restricting permissions to certain content (or too much restriction).
Read Rebecca Sims's full review
Tom Purdy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

M-Files - Allows you to search for what you need wihout knowing where it's located.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

M-Files is being Piloted by a few NC Board of Nursing departments prior to being used organization-wide. M-Files is simplifying access to files, data, etc., located in several different databases and applications. We're also combining the implementation of M-Files with the OCR conversion of 10+ years of graphic files into electronically searchable files, which will dramatically improve accessibility and drastically reduce search time.
Read Tom Purdy's full review
Torrie Plata | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2018

M-files Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use M-Files for our U.S. HR department. While we are a global company, we have not rolled this out outside of the U.S. so it is not used across the whole organization at this time. It addresses elimination of paper files and having everything stored electronically.
Read Torrie Plata's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Content capture & imaging (33)
8.0
File sync, storage & archiving (40)
8.5
Document management (42)
8.5
Records management (41)
8.1
Content search & retrieval (42)
8.5
Enterprise content collaboration (35)
8.3
Content publishing & creation (9)
6.9
Security, risk management & information governance (38)
8.5
Contract lifecycle management (30)
8.7
Automated workflows (37)
8.5
Artificial intelligence (17)
6.6
Mobile support (9)
7.1
Integration (10)
7.5

About M‑Files

M-Files provides an information management platform that is designed to improve business performance by helping people find and use information more effectively. Unlike traditional enterprise content management (ECM) systems or content services platforms, M-Files unifies systems, data and content across the organization without disturbing existing systems and processes or requiring data migration.

Using artificial intelligence (AI) technologies in its Intelligent Metadata Layer, M-Files breaks down silos by delivering an in-context experience for accessing and leveraging information that resides in any system and repository, including network folders, SharePoint, file sharing services, ECM systems, CRM, ERP and other business systems and repositories.

The vendor claims thousands of organizations in more than 100 countries use M-Files for managing their business information and processes, including NBC Universal, OMV, Valmet, Rovio, SAS Institute and thyssenkrupp.

M‑Files Features

Enterprise Content Management Features
Has featureContent capture & imaging
Has featureFile sync, storage & archiving
Has featureDocument management
Has featureRecords management
Has featureContent search & retrieval
Has featureEnterprise content collaboration
Has featureContent publishing & creation
Has featureSecurity, risk management & information governance
Has featureContract lifecycle management
Has featureAutomated workflows
Has featureArtificial intelligence
Has featureMobile support
Has featureIntegration

M‑Files Screenshots

M‑Files Video

M-Files connects to existing systems, like network folders and SharePoint, and makes those systems more intelligent by adding metadata, version control, and workflows to the content. M-Files enables organizations to access and manage the ever-increasing amount of documents and information across all business systems without requiring an expensive and time-consuming migration.

M‑Files Integrations

Microsoft Office 365, NetSuite, Salesforce.com, DocuSign, AutoCAD, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Esri, Micosoft Teams, Microsoft SharePoint, Sage 200, AutoCAD LT and Autodesk, SAP, ChronoScan

M‑Files Competitors

Laserfiche, Alfresco Enterprise Content Management, OpenText Enterprise Content Manamagement (ECM)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Please contact an M-Files representative via https://www.m-files.com for pricing information.

M‑Files Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

M‑Files Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:M-Files is available in 100+ countries through direct support or via the company's partner network.
Supported Languages: M-Files is available in 30+ languages.