M‑Files Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 48)

Penny Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

M-Files is Great and Reliable for Our Hospital System's Policies and Forms. See What They Can Do for You!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reliable: Our M-Files system has only gone down one time (for a very short period of time) at the beginning of the two years that we have been with M-Files. Our previous vendor's system had so many downtimes that our IT Department had to assign an associate to work with me for sending out notifications to associates etc. With our last vendor, one day I came to work and only 60 of the 260 consent for surgery forms were available to our end users although they were visible to me as the Administrator but weren't showing up for the end-users!
  • Our M-Files system was created for us. It was created by working with developers to only have on our system what we required, and I must say, there were so many extra features that M-Files offered in our program that weren't available with our previous vendor. As mentioned previously, we can have two policies or forms visible to the end-user so one can be listed as "draft" or "training only" so our end users can read and use for training as we get ready to roll out a new medical record system. I can also preload policies and leave them in the working stage until they are approved and go back and publish them the day they are approved. The list goes on with so many great features.
  • Our end users would say the greatest asset of this product is the search function. It's amazing how fast it is. There are many ways to search out a form or policy which makes it a true asset for our associates.
  • When our account was first live, shortly after that we had our one and only downtime. When I called for assistance, I was told that I needed to work with Strickland Solutions, who created our vault for M-Files. When I called my contacts there, they told me I needed to contact M-Files. It was frustrating and did get to the bottom of it. There are now account reps that I can work with if I need to but I would recommend (and I had already suggested) that the support team is well aware of what level of support each customer has for their account. My account rep does call to check in with me periodically, but seriously, we aren't having issues and are a very satisfied customer.
Read Penny Arnold's full review
Jason von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

Deploying M-Files, an EDM that can meet any organization's needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Infinitely versatile. We have created non-document objects that documents can relate to. These NDOs can be leveraged to find relationships between documents to present versatile views, automated permissions and workflows. No more WHERE is my document, but WHAT is my document!
  • Intelligent Metadata is a great ability to capture what you need to properly categorize your documents and the system will scan the documents to capture that data for you. Users still accept the presented data to ensure accuracy.
  • Customization of notifications is exceptionally useful when monitoring adoption of M-Files. In real time you are able to capture if a user is struggling with a process.
  • Using assignments with workflows means users are not troubled with finding what needs to be done, they simply get the assignment, carry out the work and move on.
  • Integrating with fully custom systems can be a breeze also with several ways to import content and even an API to build your own integrations. The API documentation is thorough!
  • If you are new to Electronic Document Management, this can be a really difficult product to roll out. Since it is infinitely versatile, there are infinite ways to configure it wrong. I highly recommend the M-Files admin training offered by M-Files as it will set you in the right direction.
  • Many options are paid add-ons. So while you are not paying for what you don't need, many great features will come at a cost.
  • If you don't have a technical person on staff, this will be tricky to maintain. Not impossible. If your processes do not change, once setup it will be fine.
Read Jason von Innerebner's full review
Sarah M.C. von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Five years using and still enjoying the M-Files experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Version control and history tracking on documents.
  • Search ability to filter content for a team, creator, or another property.
  • Permission control, limit access to documents to read or edit, or only specific workflow states.
  • Administrative control to access all content.
  • Administrative control to restore deleted content.
  • Administrative control to audit and retag content when needed.
  • Robust workflow capabilities.
  • Sharing content externally requires organizational efforts involving information governance, risk management, and IT strategies. There are options the administrators need to consider to permit external sharing. External collaboration requires other IT infrastructure solutions to incorporate M-Files. External facing content can be done, but not easily done without first planning workflows and permission configurations.
  • Configurations are determined by the customer primarily. The creation of properties and classes are at the discretion of the customer administrator. An organization needs to understand information governance and enlist collaboration with M-Files, IT, Records Management, Risk Management, and Legal. This is not so much a downfall of M-Files, but it is a consideration that embarking in the adoption of an ECM is a significant investment for an organization, both financially and human resources management, but the benefits with best practice configuration will ensure success.
  • There are features that are advertised, but further investigation is available with an additional purchase of an add-on. Unfortunately, not entirely unusual in this business
Read Sarah M.C. von Innerebner's full review
Arto Määttä | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

M-Files has my recommendation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Document versioning is very easy and you can easily come back to earlier version
  • You can define, which metadata is needed to each document type. This makes saving with correct metadata easier.
  • Document sharing is easy and you can select, if you want to share a certain version or the newest one.
  • NA
Read Arto Määttä's full review
Chad DeMeyers | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

M-Files review from a customer that is six-months in

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Searching - M-Files can search both the tagged metadata and document content.
  • Integration with ChronoScan (auto-indexing software) - many of our files are sent to M-Files directly from our ERP and tagged with metadata with no human intervention.
  • Stability - We use the M-Files hosted solutions (our vault is in the M-Files cloud), uptime has not been an issue.
  • Previews during the 'create' process do not always work. I cannot preview .msg files until I save those files. Others have this problem too... and others do not.
  • It would be nice to have some simple "functions"... maybe in the compliance kit. What I am thinking would be similar to Excel functions allowing me to modify text strings. Sticking with the Excel example, =LEFT, =RIGHT, =MID, etc... maybe that functionality is there - I have only been using M-Files for a short period of time.
Read Chad DeMeyers's full review
Jukka Kuisma | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Flexible tool for document and metadata management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Combines document and metadata management well in one package.
  • Flexible and easy to configure.
  • Good support for the use over Internet, no VPN connection needed.
  • Good data replication tools over data vaults.
  • Opening of a metadata card is a bit too slow on average.
  • Offline use features are too limited.
  • Mobile phone client user interface needs improvement.
  • There are still many things to improve in the everyday use in M-Files client.
Read Jukka Kuisma's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Great software for any organization that wants to be a effective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is easy to use (good user experience).
  • Possibilities to develop features, which creates an effective performance for the whole organization.
  • Good possibilities to integrate into the other systems.
  • In a views could have more advanced filtering capabilities. (Users could filter directly from columns).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

M-Files Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Workflow
  • Version history
  • Permissions: a "search" bar would be incredibly helpful for adding users on the permissions tab in the client and admin tool
  • Search: sorts by document score and not document name, which is what most folks search on
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Efficient document management for a global business community

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Document version history
  • Global sharing of documents
  • Structured storing and fast finding of relevant information and documents
  • GUI is a bit over complicated these days
  • After updates to software, I need to select my offline views again
  • No search in offline mode
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Make it easier and safer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Metadata classification helps to find the correct document or all equivalent items.
  • Version method of one document helps to get rid of different documents that are hard to recognise ("final. FINAL").
  • Documents can be defined by different Permissions and confidentiality level. Well appreciated feature by our customers.
  • Interface (API) from our CRM system produces the metadata structure to M-Files.
  • Scanning settings from multiprinter directly to M-Files should exist by default.
  • The number of documents grow hard to manage. I have not found assisting feature to pack or separate historical data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

M-Files Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Document updating, workflows, and reminders.
  • Document metadata and detailed information.
  • Views for specific needs based on extensive metadata.
  • Possibilities to tailor M-Files according to user's own needs.
  • Search.
  • Visuality.
  • Self-direction.
Read this authenticated review
Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Good for file management and security; but not user friendly due to file view system

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use. It does not require (or requires limited) user training. You can easily get used to the interface.
  • File organization - but once file systematic (or the views) is being copied by the users.
  • Compatibility - add-Ins with other MS Office products.
  • Mobile platform integration.
  • Folder views have to be created by each user. Otherwise you're not able to view the created folders by the other users by default.
  • While saving files, it has to be done by using keywords - otherwise later on document cannot be easily found.
Read Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2®'s full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Superb Document Management System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great workflow.
  • Works with metadata, which makes files easy to be found.
  • It has excellent versioning control.
  • It has integration with other applications, like Office 365.
  • It could have more CAD integrations.
  • Has the possibility to have online revision, inside the application.
  • It could have a better documentation transmitter section.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

Happy M-Files Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Metadata drive - searches through metadata and throughout the document itself to retrieve what the user is looking for. Finds documents fast and easily using the search bar. Additional filters can be added if needed to filter further.
  • Advanced automated workflows. Assignments are automatically generated once a workflow state is reached and emails notifications are sent to assignees. Automation ensures smooth transitions and eliminates manual triggers.
  • Traceability and version control. M-Files tracks each change to the document itself and to the metadata. This is important for audits and having the version history at your fingertips.
  • Extremely customizable. Users can create their own views for themselves or common views for the whole company to view a group of documents. These options can be customized based on the metadata properties. Administrators can create the properties and structure in the Admin tool.
  • Notifications could be improved. Once an assignment has met the deadline date, it will no longer notify the assignee of an overdue assignment every day after the deadline. The assignee will only see the overdue assignment by opening up M-Files and seeing it on their home screen or referring to the email last received.
  • Once an action has been taken within the system, the page needs to be refreshed frequently. Improvements could be made to reduce the refreshing required to see the changes that were made.
  • M-Files acts like a library - in order to edit a document it must be checked out by a user. Once changes are made the document should automatically check itself in by default. When exiting out of a document, sometimes it does not automatically check in and requires manual check in. Consistency of automatic actions could be improved.
  • The M-Files Admin customization and workflows could be explained or assisted more at initial setup. Since the system is out of the box, trying to setup the system to cater to the company's needs can be time consuming and a confusing process. It took a lot of trial and error to get the metadata properties and values setup properly. It something that we still struggle with at times since M-Files support doesn't know how our company operates and how we want to use the system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

An affordable and underestimated ECM platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to recall, identify, and locate related information.
  • The interface is modern and slick, making the learning curve much lower for new users.
  • Installation and support are top-notch and administrating the platform will be familiar to regular system administrators.
  • The workflow engine, while powerful, does not contain many advanced features but they are in the roadmap.
  • This is nothing against M-Files, but it is a relatively new ECM platform so adoption and user community is not where more mature platforms are.
  • The interface is nice looking and easy to use but could use a bit more polish so it does not feel like too "new" of a product.
Read this authenticated review
Yrjö Tolvanen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

It's so easy that business people can do it (but don't let them do it alone)!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Defining and implementing data requirements with business people is very flexible
  • Defining and implementing business workflows is very flexible
  • Document management is efficient
  • Creating simple views in M-Files is easy but with increasing data complexity also creation of views becomes complex.
  • M-Files has competent people but their support processes can be enhanced.
  • User interface could be more user friendly.
Read Yrjö Tolvanen's full review
Anssi Mäkelä | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2019

M-files and a small laboratory company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Document management
  • Workflows
  • Easy access and intuitive to use
  • More features without coding (for example more options for automatic naming of documents, more functions when changing workflow state, etc.).
  • Customizable front page (work example: different kind of page depending the user's task or department).
  • Editing notification settings by admin (not only by user).
Read Anssi Mäkelä's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Expensive and has room for improvement. But still very useful.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration: Reads data from other systems.
  • Easy to force data to be organized.
  • If the built in functionality isn't enough, you can easily script additional functionality into M-Files.
  • Performance. Feels slow.
  • Metadata integration is limited. Only database connections with a single SQL query. No JSON/XML/etc. Database connections only pull mode. No possibility to push data into M-Files and constantly pulling large data sets from the database is slow.
  • OCR module broken for years without a fix.
  • Logs everything to Windows event log which is not very searchable.
  • Mobile app is virtually unusable. Slow and buggy. Randomly fails to follow customized metadata cards, eg. default data ignored.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

M-Files review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Object & document relations
  • Finding documents & objects
  • Workflows for classes
  • Metadata behind documents & objects (is the key to search & discover documents)
  • After sales customerS accounting could be done more professionally.
  • There could be more "ready-made" models for different types of usage and these could be included in the main product.
  • For example: A company can have more than one Vault and when implementing the customer could choose from a base structure to implement on a vault (HR, Sales, Quality, logistics...). This should all be included in the main product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2019

M-File and Quality Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Save and share files
  • Workflows
  • Finding files
  • Metadata card: more options on pre-filled data.
  • Workflow designs for in-house applications (does not require a consultant).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

M-Files is a great fit for small manufacturing companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Centralized store of purchasing documents.
  • Centralized store of quality and safety documents.
  • Sales process has been streamlined.
  • Initial set-up was rather complex, but not impossible.
  • Metadata card customization could be simplified.
  • Search function returns too few results at times.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

M‑Files Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides quick and easy access to the right content.
  • Provides higher levels of user adoption.
  • M-Files is accessible on desktop, cloud, and mobile devices.
  • We would like to see the ability to automatically resize pictures, so they don't take up so much storage.
Read this authenticated review
Rebecca Sims | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Why M-Files will make you Smile!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Search functionality - M-Files has a robust search system that allows users to quickly find content in seconds
  • Relationships between content - how M-Files relates objects to content makes finding valuable information easy
  • Versatility - MFiles allows users to integrate with current systems and microsoft office to easily integrate into normal business operations.
  • One major frustration we have had has to do with our particular project, not the tool in and of itself. We had a combination of development efforts, some from M-Files and some from our developers in house. It has been hard to push the project forward at times since we are not allowed to control the cloud environment or develop in the cloud environment. We have had to wait on things to get pushed via content packs we develop on prem, which are then shared via a dropbox to M-Files. We hoped there would be a smoother solution for this.
Read Rebecca Sims's full review
Tom Purdy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

M-Files - Allows you to search for what you need wihout knowing where it's located.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • M-Files simplifies access to files, data, etc., located in several different databases and applications. You just need to know what you're looking for not where it's located.
  • M-Files Intelligent Metadata Layer (IML) tool can search several different databases and applications simultaneously, including but not limited to Outlook, SharePoint, OneDrive, and shared drives. The IML results of your search criteria are displayed on a single page, which simplifies review, access and storage.
  • M-Files automatically tracks file/document versions to simplify management and version control, as well as prevent duplicates.
  • Searching specific files using the IML Tool is streamlined by displaying company/customer names, document types, contacts etc.
  • None so far, since we're early in our implementation.
Read Tom Purdy's full review
Torrie Plata | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2018

M-files Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Electronically located on users' desktop and users can drag and drop documents quickly and easily.
  • We were manually filing papers, so this has been a nice tool to have.
  • Once our system was set up, it has been user friendly.
  • Main menu not as intuitive.
  • Client set up was not as easy and streamlined.
Read Torrie Plata's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Content capture & imaging (33)
8.0
File sync, storage & archiving (40)
8.5
Document management (42)
8.5
Records management (41)
8.1
Content search & retrieval (42)
8.5
Enterprise content collaboration (35)
8.3
Content publishing & creation (9)
6.9
Security, risk management & information governance (38)
8.5
Contract lifecycle management (30)
8.7
Automated workflows (37)
8.5
Artificial intelligence (17)
6.6
Mobile support (9)
7.1
Integration (10)
7.5

About M‑Files

M-Files provides an information management platform that is designed to improve business performance by helping people find and use information more effectively. Unlike traditional enterprise content management (ECM) systems or content services platforms, M-Files unifies systems, data and content across the organization without disturbing existing systems and processes or requiring data migration.

Using artificial intelligence (AI) technologies in its Intelligent Metadata Layer, M-Files breaks down silos by delivering an in-context experience for accessing and leveraging information that resides in any system and repository, including network folders, SharePoint, file sharing services, ECM systems, CRM, ERP and other business systems and repositories.

The vendor claims thousands of organizations in more than 100 countries use M-Files for managing their business information and processes, including NBC Universal, OMV, Valmet, Rovio, SAS Institute and thyssenkrupp.

M‑Files Features

Enterprise Content Management Features
Has featureContent capture & imaging
Has featureFile sync, storage & archiving
Has featureDocument management
Has featureRecords management
Has featureContent search & retrieval
Has featureEnterprise content collaboration
Has featureContent publishing & creation
Has featureSecurity, risk management & information governance
Has featureContract lifecycle management
Has featureAutomated workflows
Has featureArtificial intelligence
Has featureMobile support
Has featureIntegration

M‑Files Screenshots

M‑Files Video

M-Files connects to existing systems, like network folders and SharePoint, and makes those systems more intelligent by adding metadata, version control, and workflows to the content. M-Files enables organizations to access and manage the ever-increasing amount of documents and information across all business systems without requiring an expensive and time-consuming migration.

M‑Files Integrations

Microsoft Office 365, NetSuite, Salesforce.com, DocuSign, AutoCAD, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Esri, Micosoft Teams, Microsoft SharePoint, Sage 200, AutoCAD LT and Autodesk, SAP, ChronoScan

M‑Files Competitors

Laserfiche, Alfresco Enterprise Content Management, OpenText Enterprise Content Manamagement (ECM)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Please contact an M-Files representative via https://www.m-files.com for pricing information.

M‑Files Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

M‑Files Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:M-Files is available in 100+ countries through direct support or via the company's partner network.
Supported Languages: M-Files is available in 30+ languages.