M‑Files Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Penny Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

M-Files is Great and Reliable for Our Hospital System's Policies and Forms. See What They Can Do for You!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • We have training linked to policies and forms for new associates and also they are linked to our Medical System so that they can be easily accessed.
  • In November we are rolling out a new Electronic Medical Record system (EPIC) and we are currently working on the developing records within M-Files for the rollout.
We are still working on integrating for the rollout of EPIC and everything so far has been very easy. There are many advantages, such as duplicate files can be seen by the end-users. We can preload the documents in the "working" state until we go live.
Read Penny Arnold's full review
Jason von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

Deploying M-Files, an EDM that can meet any organization's needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Internally developed CRM
  • Active Directory
  • Identity Provider
We have integrated with Active Directory and with an internal CRM to build out non-document objects such as the Employee object of the Client object to allow us to relate documents and administer permissions. This reduces the amount of data entry needed as the data is automatically dumped to a SQL Staging table and read into M-Files regularly. Changes can also be fed back to the staging table to be written back to other systems as needed.
Read Jason von Innerebner's full review
Sarah M.C. von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Five years using and still enjoying the M-Files experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Active Directory
  • SQL tables
  • Okta
Some of the configurations that we've done for our system have taken years to accomplish just as we had IT employee transitions. With the organization's vision adaptations really require ingenuity to create the best solution for a stable experience. I encourage anyone to reach out to M-Files for advice and demonstrations so this is an easy process as they have available resources and training which I highly endorse as worth the effort to have that open dialogue of what's possible.
Read Sarah M.C. von Innerebner's full review
Arto Määttä | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

M-Files has my recommendation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Nepton (is used for work hour reporting)
  • Sonet (financial system)
We used to input our project and production data into different systems, but now everything goes through M-Files. I don't know how difficult that was to achieve.
Read Arto Määttä's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

M-Files Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Active Directory
Does not work with our AD structure, so user groups are manually maintained, which is one of our pain-points.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

M-Files Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Dynamics 365 and Noventia.
  • Automated data collection and decrease on manual labour.
  • Workflows and approval process.
Read this authenticated review
Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Good for file management and security; but not user friendly due to file view system

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • MS Outlook - It provides quite easy by just a ''right click''.
  • MS Powerpoint...same logic as above...has perfect integration
  • MS Excel
  • MS Word
It is quite easy as it is added to main interface as a new tab. Has main features and by used through ribbons.
Read Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2®'s full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Superb Document Management System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Salesforce.
  • Infor LN.
  • MS Sharepoint.
It wasn't difficult. Salesforce and Sharepoint use the default integration, with some minor changes. The most customized integration was to integrate our ERP, that is Infor LN. We needed to perform customizations, but we use their current API to execute it, with nothing different than a regular integration.
Read this authenticated review
Yrjö Tolvanen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

It's so easy that business people can do it (but don't let them do it alone)!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • ERP integration for work numbers and work hour reporting, invoicing and salaries.
  • AD integration for employee information and access rights
  • Email integration for customer correspondence.
Integrations have been quite flexible to implement. Integrations are never easy but with M-Files they are not so complex.
Read Yrjö Tolvanen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

Happy M-Files Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Microsoft applications. Saving documents directly to M-Files is quick and easy. Syncing M-Files metadata properties with Microsoft Word documents eliminates rework. Outlook allows users to email link directly to M-Files document, eliminating email attachments and duplicate copies.
  • Adobe Acrobat. Signing and routing documents through workflows increases productivity and saves time.
Integration has been smooth so far. We have not integrated M-Files with an ERP system but hope to do so in the future. The system seems to integrate well with others and has an open API.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

An affordable and underestimated ECM platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Box
  • Sharepoint
  • Kofax
We have not integrated the platform with other third-party platforms yet but are investigating the use of CMIS standards to the integration with SharePoint as well as how we can implement direct importing through folder structures and documents that also integrating with Kofax TotalAgility.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

M-Files review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Importing data from ERP-system to M-Files
  • Importing data from Solidworks. With this integration, we are importing structured metadata directly to parts (imported from ERP to M-Files). We are managing revisions in Solidworks and when importing again to M-Files a new revision is created to M-Files. This integration helps us to share data from design to organization and users can find reliable data that they can trust. Earlier the correct revision was difficult to find.
Read this authenticated review
Rebecca Sims | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Why M-Files will make you Smile!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • In house applications that pull customer information and transaction information.
Some development was done by M-Files and some in house. There was probably some level of difficulty we experienced because we switched our business analyst during the project so some sense of scope or knowledge transfer was lost. Once we were on the same page, it was not a difficult integration though.
Read Rebecca Sims's full review
Tom Purdy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

M-Files - Allows you to search for what you need wihout knowing where it's located.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Pilot has been limited to loading paper documents directly into M-Files. The transition from paper to electronic files has improved access to data and simplified/sped up searching.
  • Next phase includes transitioning Papervision digital files into electronically searchable documents located into M-Files for easy access, search, storage and version control.
  • Organization-wide implementation in 1-2 months will include integration with Outlook, SharePoint, OneDrive and shared-network drives. This will make data, documents easier to access, search ... using the IML Tool toed to all of these systems.
Our Pilot has been limited to loading paper documents directly into M-Files 2016, which was very easy. The next phase will include upgrading to M-Files 2018 and implementing the IML Tool. We expect this transition to be easy, too since we'll be integrating with systems IML was specifically designed for.
Read Tom Purdy's full review
Todd Ek | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2018

Empower yourself with content, information and process

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • We have integrated M-files with core ERP e-automate and SalesForce replicating vendor, customer, project and contract data to M-Files providing a single source for core data.
  • With our customers we have integreated with an endless lidt of databases: MS Dynamics, Sage, NetSuite, and CYMA just to name a few.
  • The advantages include; a single source for data across the organization that minimizes data entry errors and reduces clicks when entering data.
Integrations can be as simple as retrieving data from a database, sending information to a database, changing workflow state based on data from the ERP, HR or Manufacturing database. The ability exists to further integrate directly into a database application through its API allowing the users to search directly from their database application.
Read Todd Ek's full review
Tim Goetz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

M-Files Rocks!!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Microsoft office integration - with Word-Excel-Outlook... I use these for saving to M-Files. or to create templates for proposals
I didn't do the integration.. but the end user part is simple.
Read Tim Goetz's full review
Alan Lampe | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2018

A wonderful document management system.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Systems Integrated With

  • Microsoft Office is the only system we have integrated M-Files with.
With the M-Files plug-in installed, we can save files right to M-Files from any Microsoft Office application. This was really easy to achieve.
Read Alan Lampe's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Content capture & imaging (33)
8.0
File sync, storage & archiving (40)
8.5
Document management (42)
8.5
Records management (41)
8.0
Content search & retrieval (42)
8.5
Enterprise content collaboration (35)
8.3
Content publishing & creation (9)
6.9
Security, risk management & information governance (38)
8.5
Contract lifecycle management (30)
8.6
Automated workflows (37)
8.5
Artificial intelligence (17)
6.6
Mobile support (9)
7.1
Integration (10)
7.5

About M‑Files

M-Files provides an information management platform that is designed to improve business performance by helping people find and use information more effectively. Unlike traditional enterprise content management (ECM) systems or content services platforms, M-Files unifies systems, data and content across the organization without disturbing existing systems and processes or requiring data migration.

Using artificial intelligence (AI) technologies in its Intelligent Metadata Layer, M-Files breaks down silos by delivering an in-context experience for accessing and leveraging information that resides in any system and repository, including network folders, SharePoint, file sharing services, ECM systems, CRM, ERP and other business systems and repositories.

The vendor claims thousands of organizations in more than 100 countries use M-Files for managing their business information and processes, including NBC Universal, OMV, Valmet, Rovio, SAS Institute and thyssenkrupp.

M‑Files Features

Enterprise Content Management Features
Has featureContent capture & imaging
Has featureFile sync, storage & archiving
Has featureDocument management
Has featureRecords management
Has featureContent search & retrieval
Has featureEnterprise content collaboration
Has featureContent publishing & creation
Has featureSecurity, risk management & information governance
Has featureContract lifecycle management
Has featureAutomated workflows
Has featureArtificial intelligence
Has featureMobile support
Has featureIntegration

M‑Files Screenshots

M‑Files Video

M-Files connects to existing systems, like network folders and SharePoint, and makes those systems more intelligent by adding metadata, version control, and workflows to the content. M-Files enables organizations to access and manage the ever-increasing amount of documents and information across all business systems without requiring an expensive and time-consuming migration.

M‑Files Integrations

Microsoft Office 365, NetSuite, Salesforce.com, DocuSign, AutoCAD, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Esri, Micosoft Teams, Microsoft SharePoint, Sage 200, AutoCAD LT and Autodesk, SAP, ChronoScan

M‑Files Competitors

Laserfiche, Alfresco Enterprise Content Management, OpenText Enterprise Content Manamagement (ECM)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Please contact an M-Files representative via https://www.m-files.com for pricing information.

M‑Files Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

M‑Files Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:M-Files is available in 100+ countries through direct support or via the company's partner network.
Supported Languages: M-Files is available in 30+ languages.