Micro Focus Vibe

Micro Focus Vibe

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.0 out of 100
Micro Focus Vibe

Overview

Recent Reviews

Vibe Review

9 out of 10
December 19, 2014
We are using Vibe primarily for its workflow/work process abilities. It has replaced clumsy spreadsheets that can't reproduce what Vibe …
Continue reading

Good Vibe-rations

9 out of 10
July 07, 2014
Novell Vibe was a huge success in replacing our intranet and introduced a solution to address several problems and wants: department …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Micro Focus Vibe, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Micro Focus Vibe?

Micro Focus Vibe is a web-based team collaboration platform developed by Novell, and was initially released by Novell in June 2008 under the name of Novell Teaming. Novell's acquisition by Micro Focus was completed in April 2015. Vibe is a versatile collaboration solution that can serve as a…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Teams?

Microsoft Teams combines video conferencing software with team collaboration tools. The communications platform allows MS Office users to conduct conference calls and share files via SharePoint, and join or initiate a group chat.

What is Discord?

Discord is an app designed to connect users with communities over voice, video, and text chat, via Discord servers, a gaming and game industry oriented app for growing communities around video games and allowing developers to communicate with their customer base; the app may yet also be used for…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Micro Focus Vibe?

Micro Focus Vibe is a web-based team collaboration platform developed by Novell, and was initially released by Novell in June 2008 under the name of Novell Teaming. Novell's acquisition by Micro Focus was completed in April 2015.

Vibe is a versatile collaboration solution that can serve as a knowledge repository, a document management system, a project collaboration hub, a process automation machine, or a corporate intranet. Users can upload, manage, comment on, and edit content in a secure manner. Supported content includes documents, calendars, discussion forums, wikis, blogs, tasks, and much more.

Document management functionality allows for document versioning, approvals, and document lifecycle tracking. Users can download and modify pre-built custom web pages and workflows free of charge from the Vibe Resource Library.

Micro Focus Vibe Video

Vibe Desktop Introduction

Micro Focus Vibe Competitors

Micro Focus Vibe Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Micro Focus Vibe is a web-based team collaboration platform developed by Novell, and was initially released by Novell in June 2008 under the name of Novell Teaming. Novell's acquisition by Micro Focus was completed in April 2015. Vibe is a versatile collaboration solution that can serve as a knowledge repository, a document management system, a project collaboration hub, a process automation machine, or a corporate intranet. Users can upload, manage, comment on, and edit content in a secure manner. Supported content includes documents, calendars, discussion forums, wikis, blogs, tasks, and much more. Document management functionality allows for document versioning, approvals, and document lifecycle tracking. Users can download and modify pre-built custom web pages and workflows free of charge from the Vibe Resource Library.

Reviewers rate Workflow Automation and Mobile Access and Search highest, with a score of 8.

The most common users of Micro Focus Vibe are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Automotive industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (10)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-8 of 8)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Malay Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Have the features for users to create groups in which they can add others and assign rights accordingly to execute the projects
  • Feature of making intranets into collaborative platform with drag-and-drop ease, to access shared documents, surveys
  • From a single location, teams can manage, access, discuss, respond to each other using a wide variety of tools available
  • Feature of printing the docs/forms of workflow could be a good integration
  • Instant messaging, calendar integration should be there for better and more focused productivity
Cori Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • RSS Feeds: As a project manager (at the time and still am in a sense) being updated as information is posted helped me to stay on top of progress as it happened. The feeds also allows me to foresee problems before they happened, coming in like Super Woman to save the day...kidding (or am I?).
  • Customizable workspaces: While we've got our video project workflows down to a science, our website projects are a different monster. Because we offer customized websites, each client's needs are different from the next. Vibe's Workspaces reflects this - not only for our projects, but for the users as well. Everyone has a different way of organizing their thoughts and with Vibe no one has to fall in line with cookie cutter layouts...or at least they can start out with one and develop it into their own.
  • My god MOBILE DEVICE Support: I know many many many project collaboration tools have migrated to the mobile device platform - but I found that a lot of times, features are limited. I'm always on a go and can't always access my Surface for a brief look at what's going on. But when you fall in love with a platform, it makes it all the better that it is usable outside the confines of my desktop box.
  • Export calendars or sync calendars with programs like Outlook.
  • Easier way to print or create reports on projects (completions status, tasks left to be done, etc.) for paper trail lovers. The workflow process is nice, but it takes time to configure. Most of my teammates weren't quite in love with that aspect.
  • Instant messaging for those of us who don't like the phone and want to keep project related work conversations in the same window.
  • I really wish there was better is a way to display videos. In video production, we're always trying to find ways to share our progress and being able to do so in the same platform without one having to download it would have pushed Vibe to a 10 star rating.
Rob Zweistra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Novell Vibe connects GroupWise mail with Vibe natively which means you can access Vibe from within the mail product.
  • Once forms and workflows are set up, the access structure on who sees what or not is very effective.
  • You can use Novell Vibe as your main intranet with everything from wiki's, blogging and more fully automated and still in synch with your internal organisational structure.
  • After playing with it for a while i found that through jsp it is highly configurable.
  • Having build lot of websites over the years this is one of the most user unfriendly systems I [have] run across. The learning curve is very steep and a lot of stuff is not findable on the internet.
  • The Java used under water has some quirks that makes working with the interface almost undoable. If you make a tree and you change something in that tree it is completely reset to the top level every time so the workflow is broken constantly.
  • There is no copy option in the tool which is strange as 80% of the things you build is the same or similar with minor adjustments like a different color code. Like the previous remark this makes the workflow constantly interrupted.
  • The learning curve for a regular user is also a little too steep. They can do too much and it goes beyond the daily things they need to do with it. To configure Novell Vibe so that the user is protected from doing or seeing too much is a lot of work which means you will have to hire an FTE to manage Novell Vibe alone.
  • Because the end product depends on the use of jsp pages a lot it requires you to hire a specialist with a big salary-tag to build it for you. once it is up and running changes will be very dependant on the guy you hired to build it!
Donna Moyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Novell VIbe is extremely easy to install and very intuitive to use
  • Novell Vibe provides a secure environment for teams to collaborate
  • Novell Vibe provides the ability to create complex workflows to streamline an organizations process
  • Novell Vibe could be improved by adding the ability to print forms that are completed during a workflow or information entry
December 19, 2014

Vibe Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Workflow management is where Vibe excels
  • Shared file access
  • Shared calendar
  • The most pressing improvement is in printing. In speaking with Novell techs Vibe was designed as a web tool, no paper necessary. However in the real world our folks love their paper printouts. Vibe utilizes views for various functions. A print view that's easily configured would be an awesome upgrade.
  • Customized in JSP. Vibe is completely customized using JSP. I don't know it. I'm not a programmer. I can work things out, but programming isn't my forte.
July 07, 2014

Good Vibe-rations

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Rights. You can grant users/groups rights to specific entries (i.e. an entry for IT eyes only).
  • Due to how it's built, you can access it via SSO internally, and access it externally (workstation/app) using credentials.
  • Wiki. We created a Change Control wiki to help document changes to our systems.
  • Personal Workspaces. These are very dynamic and useful in keeping track of tasks and projects.
  • Application Integration. We integrated our email and IM systems. Especially useful when working on projects with team members across multiple sites.
  • The app needs some enhancements (i.e. phone numbers aren't touch-and-call)
  • There can only be one global landing page. Meaning you can't have users go directly to their department page. Our work-around was putting links to their pages on the global landing page.
  • The Photo Album capability is cumbersome.
  • Blogs seemed to be the only way to successfully set up a landing page as it offered the most flexibility.
Jason Preuss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • You can create electronic forms with powerful workflows behind them. This allows for supervisor approval/rejection of forms. The workflows also allow for email alerts when certain stages are met.
  • Built in social media tools. Each employee has a feed which other employees can follow.
  • Allows employees to create teams in which they can chose members and rights.
  • The product has a small user base, have had problems finding solutions online.
  • Upgrades are not as frequent as they could be.
  • Need to know JSP to do advanced customizations.