TrustRadius
Outstanding Report CreatorSeveral people that I know use Microsoft PowerBI. It is mainly used for reporting for several teams, then I am able to access those reports for my own use. When I use it I import Excel sheets in, and use PowerBI to make them more visually appealing and easier to filter. It works like a charm. I have not seen any issues other than the occasional drag with data sets.,Makes reports more visually appealing Very good variety of formats for charting information Good cloud connectivity (most of the time),Need to be proficient with Excel before diving into PowerBI Only available with a monthly subscription Steep learning curve for many users (including me),10,Whatagraph,10,10,Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Cisco Aironet Access Points, Cisco Data Center Network Manager, Oracle VM VirtualBox, Oracle Java SE, DameWare Remote Support, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, Citrix NetScalerMicrosoft BI - A diamond in the roughData modeling, visualization, and analytics. Microsoft BI is currently only used for dashboarding (descriptive analytics), where data relationship is simple, while most of the predictive analytics are done in other tools.,Easy integration with other Microsoft products. Great integration with R/Python.,Map visualization limit on data count Inability to model data relationship with multiple non unique keys,7,TIBCO Spotfire,9,9,TIBCO SpotfireBusiness Intelligence like you never seen beforeMicrosoft BI is being used by specific departments, providing analysis of different types of data, how resources are being used and even showing how well Support Departments are doing, responding to tickets that are eventually fed to Microsoft BI. There are many problems being addressed, including allowing several types of connections to our data.,Allow many types of connections to our data Makes impressive graphics from the data collected Provides interactive resources and dashboards,Should have support for other operating systems Prices could be a bit better for organizations with more users,10,Zoho Reports,6,10,Microsoft 365 Business, Windows Server, Microsoft Exchange, SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer, Google Ads (formerly AdWords)Microsoft BI is great if you're looking for a BI product that feels like the other Microsoft products you useMicrosoft BI is used across many departments within the organization. Due to the availability of other software tools, Microsoft BI is only used in certain parts of the business. Microsoft Power BI is used for automated data reporting and interactive visualizations. The software is also used for some analytics processes.,As with most every other Microsoft product, Microsoft BI makes setting up and analyzing data about as easy as it gets. Creating graphics is very easy. Connecting to multiple data sources works just fine. Simple reporting and integration with other Microsoft products is great.,Microsoft BI is not top of the for advanced analysis and modeling. Reshaping and restructuring data is doable, but not super simple. Customizing visualizations is sometimes difficult to impossible.,9,Tableau Online, Tableau Public, Alteryx Analytics, TIBCO Spotfire, MicroStrategy Analytics, Microstrategy Usher, SAS Business Intelligence, SAS Advanced Analytics and SAS Data Integration Studio,9,8,Tableau Online, Tableau Public, SAS Business Intelligence, SAS Advanced Analytics, Alteryx Analytics, Microsoft SQL Server, MySQLPower BI just works!We currently have limited use of Power BI within our IT and accounting departments for relaying reporting information. We use Power BI to create an efficient interface for our executive team to gain access to vital sales information from our restaurants in a concise, detailed manner as opposed to our traditional Excel spreadsheets. IT uses Power BI to track purchasing as well as within our help desk department.,Great for translating numbers in graphics that are easy to understand and manipulate for anyone with no technical expertise,Additional training and tutorials that exist with Power BI as users are working with it would be beneficial.,9,9,8,Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Dynamics GP, Windows Server
Unspecified
Microsoft BI
615 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Microsoft BI Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Microsoft BI
615 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 46 of 615 Microsoft BI ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 46)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Michael Timms profile photo
January 17, 2019

Microsoft BI Review: "Outstanding Report Creator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Several people that I know use Microsoft PowerBI. It is mainly used for reporting for several teams, then I am able to access those reports for my own use. When I use it I import Excel sheets in, and use PowerBI to make them more visually appealing and easier to filter. It works like a charm. I have not seen any issues other than the occasional drag with data sets.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Jean Franco profile photo
January 09, 2019

Microsoft BI Review: "Business Intelligence like you never seen before"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is being used by specific departments, providing analysis of different types of data, how resources are being used and even showing how well Support Departments are doing, responding to tickets that are eventually fed to Microsoft BI. There are many problems being addressed, including allowing several types of connections to our data.
Read Jean Franco's full review
Thomas Young profile photo
January 09, 2019

Review: "Microsoft BI is great if you're looking for a BI product that feels like the other Microsoft products you use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is used across many departments within the organization. Due to the availability of other software tools, Microsoft BI is only used in certain parts of the business. Microsoft Power BI is used for automated data reporting and interactive visualizations. The software is also used for some analytics processes.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Jason Shaw profile photo
December 06, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "Power BI just works!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently have limited use of Power BI within our IT and accounting departments for relaying reporting information. We use Power BI to create an efficient interface for our executive team to gain access to vital sales information from our restaurants in a concise, detailed manner as opposed to our traditional Excel spreadsheets. IT uses Power BI to track purchasing as well as within our help desk department.
Read Jason Shaw's full review
Brian Caulfield profile photo
October 19, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "MIcorosft BI - Gather, share and take action on your data"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is a great tool to allow for the visualization and communication of data to my whole team. Microsoft BI is being used in conjunction with many operational KPI's to better drive action and responses to improve or address issues that arise. The main problem solved by BI is the ability to gather and bring together information from multiple sources and unify this data.
Read Brian Caulfield's full review
Lakhan Suri profile photo
January 12, 2019

Microsoft BI Review: "Multiple tools in single package."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my organization, we are using MSBI to create, maintain and deploy reposts. We use all three component of MSBI like SSIS, SSRS, SSAS. We use ETL packages to maintain Dataware hosts using SSIS. We create reports using SSRS and analyze the data using the SSAS tool
Read Lakhan Suri's full review
Celil ÇİYNEKLİ profile photo
September 07, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "A Very Powerful and Innovative BI and Virtualization Tool: MS BI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Power BI is a dashboard, data query and, data modeling tool. You can report your data as quickly and easily as with other competitors. With machine learning ability you can easily query, model and report your data. With the AI supported insight ability, you can drill down to the problems. If you want more analyzing tools, you can do it with the R scripts in Power BI.
Read Celil ÇİYNEKLİ's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "Microsoft Business Intelligence is a quick and cheap way to start practicing with data visualization."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is currently being used across the organization by all departments who have staff interested in tapping the hidden value of their data. It allows users to create their own queries and visualize them without a large time investment to learn the software. Ad hoc reporting is easier to accomplish using MS BI than some of the other data mining software out there.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Leidig profile photo
June 19, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "Power BI will put an S on your chest"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is currently being used at a program level by project controls to provide project performance data to the project team. Engagement with Power BI allows the different stakeholders for the project to engage with performance data providing them the opportunity to be more responsive to issues and opportunities. It keeps everyone that is a part of the project on course and helps drive collaboration with the team members.
Read Jason Leidig's full review
Zee Gimon profile photo
July 14, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "Ideal for Data Analytics and Visualization, but not for noobs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft Power BI for one of our client's project data management. He has a database of mobile app users who sign up for the premium account and Power BI is used to analyze the data and build a graphical representation of the given data, which is very convenient when you need to create a presentation or something (or simply want to see your data presented visually.)
Read Zee Gimon's full review
Gonzalo Angeleri profile photo
April 09, 2018

Review: "Microsoft BI - Good choice for departmental deployments and limited budget"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is being used as part of a departmental implementation, especially for self-service capabilities. We build our solutions using different Microsoft BI components or tools such as Reporting Services, Integration Services, and Power BI Report Server.
Read Gonzalo Angeleri's full review
Yemsi Pino profile photo
May 03, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "Great Graphics presentations"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The software is being used as a way to develop different outputs graphics for different analysis and solves problems that I and my collaborators take from field surveys for planning new strategies in order to preserve nature and biodiversity in our territory. The people that use this software are me with the data being stored in Excel sheets.
Read Yemsi Pino's full review
Haibo Yang profile photo
September 26, 2016

Microsoft BI Review: "Think hard on your BI goals"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using a Microsoft BI stack (SSIS SSRS and SSAS) to support our SaaS solution for almost a decade. Over sixty client organisations are now using our SaaS solution to manage their operational risks and related activities. With Microsoft BI, clients can use Report Builder to access our data sources to design, develop, publish and distribute their own reports. On the other hand, we as a service provider can use Visual Studio Data Tool to create and maintain data sources/models. I mostly get called in to design and develop sophisticated dashboards and smart KPI reports (often programming-intensive in nature) for clients when the complexity goes beyond dragging and dropping plus simple VBA expressions. Overall, our clients are happy with the reporting flexibility delivered by Microsoft BI and we ourselves are very positive with the future of this product.
Read Haibo Yang's full review
Charles Saulnier profile photo
December 15, 2016

Review: "Microsoft BI - a complete BI offer at last!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We build BI solutions on our source systems through Microsoft BI. We use most of SQL Server Enterprise tools, more specifically SSRS, SSIS, SSAS; our end-users mostly work with SS Management Studio, Reporting Services and Excel. Our BI department is for external clients only, we have no internal BI infrastructure.
Read Charles Saulnier's full review
Alexander Lubyansky profile photo
August 07, 2016

Microsoft BI Review: "It's Excel for Big Data. So easy, so cheap, so fast, and powerful enough most everything."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is, and seemingly shall be, the "BI Tool Of Tomorrow" forever. There are few people using it at my organization. In general, whenever I tell technically savvy people in the analytics/consulting space that there's a free visualization tool in Microsoft Excel that's 90-95% as good as Tableau, they are like "What?!" Then, they forget all about it in favor of expensive clunky tools and straight up coding.

Microsoft BI is a many-times-relabelled tool for visualization and lite analytics. It's like super duper Pivot Tables and Pivot Charts that let you work with big data. As an analytics tool per se, it's as good as Excel since it is Excel. I wouldn't do any analytics heavy lifting with it personally, but you can easily do algebra stuff and make derived variables. The real business benefit is visualization. It's just very easy and powerful.
Read Alexander Lubyansky's full review
Megan Juell profile photo
November 15, 2016

Review: "Microsoft BI from a Consultant's Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company is a Microsoft partner, and we use the Microsoft BI stack throughout the organization. We mainly use it for development and implementation of ETL, database management, analytical processing, and reporting (SSMS, SSIS & SSRS). As consultants, we typically design these processes in our clients' environments (which range from SSMS versions 2008 - 2016), but also do some in-house work for internal product development.
Read Megan Juell's full review
Jasmeet S Babra profile photo
October 24, 2016

Review: "Microsoft BI- Multiple sources, One solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is used in our organization for data analysis and reporting. I used it as a part of marketing live dashboard implementation. It is really a great tool for visualization and customization of views. It's useful in making decisions based on live data and we connect Google Analytics data.
Read Jasmeet S Babra's full review
Alina Hera profile photo
October 17, 2016

Microsoft BI Review: "Clean and Clear Data Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company uses it to analyze data from our various departments (customer service,logistics, manufacturing, etc.) and based on the data, we make necessary adjustments or changes to our business strategies. Typically only the department heads work with Microsoft BI and the results are discussed by upper management, both local and regional.
Read Alina Hera's full review
Ved Mishra profile photo
February 19, 2016

User Review: "Intelligent big boy Microsoft BI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Business Intelligence (MS BI) is integral part of our technology eco-system across whole organization. Various tools of the MS BI stack are used to Extract Transform and Load (ETL) data from various data sources and provide and platform to do analytics using pivot tables, pivot charts, power BI, SharePoint, SSRS reports, BI Semantic Model (BISM) reports etc.
Read Ved Mishra's full review
Deanne Damato profile photo
February 12, 2016

Review: "Microsoft BI platform good for Reporting but always changing for the rest of the toolset so use caution for your needs."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our entire organization, W.B. Mason, uses Microsoft BI for reporting. Putting critical and up to date data in the hands of our sales people and managers making decisions is critical in the changing market place of Office Supplies.
Read Deanne Damato's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (25)
7.7
Customizable dashboards (31)
8.1
Report Formatting Templates (29)
8.1
Drill-down analysis (28)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (31)
8.3
Integration with R or other statistical packages (24)
8.6
Report sharing and collaboration (31)
8.9
Publish to Web (28)
8.5
Publish to PDF (27)
8.7
Report Versioning (24)
8.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (28)
8.0
Delivery to Remote Servers (10)
8.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (30)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (27)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (28)
8.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (29)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (27)
8.4
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (29)
8.8
Single Sign-On (SSO) (12)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (21)
8.3
Dedicated iOS Application (17)
8.5
Dedicated Android Application (17)
8.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (23)
8.3
REST API (9)
8.0
Javascript API (9)
8.3
iFrames (9)
8.1
Java API (8)
7.2
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
8.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
7.7

About Microsoft BI

Microsoft BI benefits from the ubiquity of SQL server and the set of tools built around the database, including an ETL layer, master data management, data cleansing, report and reporting.

The reporting engine is SQL Server Reporting Services which does not have the visualization capabilities of  visualization tools like 
Tableau or Qlik. Excel has historically been the platform visualization tool. Power BI for Office 365 has done much to improve the discovery and visualization capabilities of Excel.

Microsoft  now offers Power BI cloud as the visualization platform with geospatial 3D, natural-language query generation, and self-service ETL along with charting and other data visualizations that can be uploaded and shared through the Power BI service. 

The Power BI platform also provides  live access to on-premises Microsoft SQL Server instances, and self-service access to third-party cloud sources including Salesforce, Marketo, Zendesk, and GitHub. Mobility is supported through a native iPad app, an iPhone app.

This new platform is viewed by Microsoft as a visualization layer sitting on top of their earlier generation of installed SQL-based technology.

Microsoft BI Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Power BI$0
Power BI Pro$10per user per month

Microsoft BI Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No