TrustRadius
MIcorosft BI - Gather, share and take action on your dataMicrosoft BI is a great tool to allow for the visualization and communication of data to my whole team. Microsoft BI is being used in conjunction with many operational KPI's to better drive action and responses to improve or address issues that arise. The main problem solved by BI is the ability to gather and bring together information from multiple sources and unify this data.,Bringing data together from multiple sources Allows for graphical representation of data to improve communication up and down the management chain. Tracking of data for use in the future,Could be more user friendly Improve the learning curve for new users Allow for better integration with mobile app.,4,SAP Access Control,8,6,Microsoft 365 BusinessPower BI will put an S on your chestIt is currently being used at a program level by project controls to provide project performance data to the project team. Engagement with Power BI allows the different stakeholders for the project to engage with performance data providing them the opportunity to be more responsive to issues and opportunities. It keeps everyone that is a part of the project on course and helps drive collaboration with the team members.,The layout of Power BI is very intuitive. Someone that is familiar with Excel and working with Charts and Graphs in that environment will find the learning curve a rather short one to start using Power BI. I like the way Power BI fits an assortment of users and how the functionality that you engage is replicated in Excel, that being Power Query and Power Pivot. So what you learn in one tool can be readily applied towards the other which allows you to more effectively apply your training. I appreciate how Microsoft is working to develop tools that go a long ways to empowering the end user. Prior to Power BI I would have had to consult with a "BI" professional to develop a dashboard. With Power BI I don't have to consult with anyone, I can work to put together the dash board I want and using a tool set that is really robust and allows me to engage an enormous amount of data. It's provides a great deal of flexibility and the types of data I can connect to. Updates...Microsoft is working diligently to keep Power BI current with monthly updates. They do a really good job of listening to the end user, if there is functionality not currently present just give them a month or so. Just to be clear, even though it's easy to get going right out of the gate with Power BI it provides plenty of opportunities to create some really sophisticated reporting solutions. With DAX in Power Pivot and M language in Power Query, you are provided with plenty of head room to do some really amazing things in Power BI. Training...there are resources across the web for learning and growing your skills and Power BI. And what's even better is the majority of those resources are free. Data engagement, when presenting the data to the end user Power BI goes a long way to allowing that end user to engage the data and begin to identify root cause by simply interacting with the graph/chart/data set. It allows for really fluid engagement. Prior to Power BI so many times during the presentation of data we often times ended the engagement with that data with more questions than what were answered. With Power BI, more often than not, the end user is able to get answers to the questions by simply clicking on the data in the graph/chart/dataset to see the details. This tool really does have the capacity to make you look like a rock star.,The desktop version is free, monthly updates, free training resources...what's not to love. I'm sure that someone with a higher degree of technical learning will be able to better articulate some negatives for Power BI, I'm just not that guy. I have nothing but appreciation for Power BI.,10,10,10A Very Powerful and Innovative BI and Virtualization Tool: MS BIPower BI is a dashboard, data query and, data modeling tool. You can report your data as quickly and easily as with other competitors. With machine learning ability you can easily query, model and report your data. With the AI supported insight ability, you can drill down to the problems. If you want more analyzing tools, you can do it with the R scripts in Power BI.,User experience (UX) is the top priority for Microsoft in Power BI. It has incredible abilities to query data from the source, such as machine learning. Query, design, and reporting is in one tool. There is no need for additional tools. It can get data from all resources, even in the reporting frame structure. There is no need for a table structure anymore. If you have unstructured data in any resource, machine learning can recognize/learn how to capture it and get data as you wish. If a data requires editing with some Excel operator (mid, left, find, etc), you no longer need to write any command. Power BI is doing it for you with machine learning technology. You just give some example about what you need in data and it recognizes/ learns how to get it and then populate it. Power BI has a lot of dashboard charts, very different range, very different purpose and you can find what you need. Charts look so pretty and configuration is so easy too. If you want to create a report (using a chart), you can type what you need while you are talking to a friend. Power BI creates it simultaneously as you are writing.,Actually, there is one thing I can say. If you are working with huge data, depending on your computer configuration and only with the desktop (free) version, it is a little bit slow.,10,QlikView, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform and Tableau Desktop,10,10,Micro Focus PPM (formerly HP PPM), Xmind, SAP Analytics CloudIdeal for Data Analytics and Visualization, but not for noobsWe use Microsoft Power BI for one of our client's project data management. He has a database of mobile app users who sign up for the premium account and Power BI is used to analyze the data and build a graphical representation of the given data, which is very convenient when you need to create a presentation or something (or simply want to see your data presented visually.),Data analytics features - you can filter the data according to a billion (it feels like) ways and make sure your data is just what you need. Graphs, charts, and everything else visual - not only you can analyze your data according to filters and everything, you can also make it look good and understandable without having to look through a ton of numbers. It can handle quite large amounts of data input, so this makes it a good addition for the projects that require big data. Works well with other Microsoft products (including .NET projects).,It's not very user-friendly (at least, not if you use it every single day and can tell where a feature is located when you wake up in the middle of the night). It takes some time to get the hang of it. Sometimes it feels like there is just a bit TOO MANY features. I mean, they are all awesome, but it's easy to get lost.,8,9,7Microsoft BI - Good choice for departmental deployments and limited budgetMicrosoft BI is being used as part of a departmental implementation, especially for self-service capabilities. We build our solutions using different Microsoft BI components or tools such as Reporting Services, Integration Services, and Power BI Report Server.,Self Service Capabilities Easy to use Integration with MS Office,Data Quality Capabilities Performance issues in Power BI with some source systems Data Governance features,8,Microsoft SQL Server,7,7,IBM Cognos, MicroStrategy Analytics
Unspecified
Microsoft BI
593 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Microsoft BI Reviews

Microsoft BI
593 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 39 of 593 Microsoft BI ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 39)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Brian Caulfield profile photo
October 19, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "MIcorosft BI - Gather, share and take action on your data"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is a great tool to allow for the visualization and communication of data to my whole team. Microsoft BI is being used in conjunction with many operational KPI's to better drive action and responses to improve or address issues that arise. The main problem solved by BI is the ability to gather and bring together information from multiple sources and unify this data.
Read Brian Caulfield's full review
Jason Leidig profile photo
June 19, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "Power BI will put an S on your chest"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is currently being used at a program level by project controls to provide project performance data to the project team. Engagement with Power BI allows the different stakeholders for the project to engage with performance data providing them the opportunity to be more responsive to issues and opportunities. It keeps everyone that is a part of the project on course and helps drive collaboration with the team members.
Read Jason Leidig's full review
Celil ÇİYNEKLİ profile photo
September 07, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "A Very Powerful and Innovative BI and Virtualization Tool: MS BI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Power BI is a dashboard, data query and, data modeling tool. You can report your data as quickly and easily as with other competitors. With machine learning ability you can easily query, model and report your data. With the AI supported insight ability, you can drill down to the problems. If you want more analyzing tools, you can do it with the R scripts in Power BI.
Read Celil ÇİYNEKLİ's full review
Zee Gimon profile photo
July 14, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "Ideal for Data Analytics and Visualization, but not for noobs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft Power BI for one of our client's project data management. He has a database of mobile app users who sign up for the premium account and Power BI is used to analyze the data and build a graphical representation of the given data, which is very convenient when you need to create a presentation or something (or simply want to see your data presented visually.)
Read Zee Gimon's full review
Gonzalo Angeleri profile photo
April 09, 2018

Review: "Microsoft BI - Good choice for departmental deployments and limited budget"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is being used as part of a departmental implementation, especially for self-service capabilities. We build our solutions using different Microsoft BI components or tools such as Reporting Services, Integration Services, and Power BI Report Server.
Read Gonzalo Angeleri's full review
Yemsi Pino profile photo
May 03, 2018

Microsoft BI Review: "Great Graphics presentations"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The software is being used as a way to develop different outputs graphics for different analysis and solves problems that I and my collaborators take from field surveys for planning new strategies in order to preserve nature and biodiversity in our territory. The people that use this software are me with the data being stored in Excel sheets.
Read Yemsi Pino's full review
Reinaldo André Muralha profile photo
October 16, 2017

User Review: "Microsoft BI - Advanced Surveys"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is being used in a department to manage Advanced Surveys. It served as a gateway to developing the reporting system for the administrators of the department doing the said surveys.
Read Reinaldo André Muralha's full review
Charles Saulnier profile photo
December 15, 2016

Review: "Microsoft BI - a complete BI offer at last!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We build BI solutions on our source systems through Microsoft BI. We use most of SQL Server Enterprise tools, more specifically SSRS, SSIS, SSAS; our end-users mostly work with SS Management Studio, Reporting Services and Excel. Our BI department is for external clients only, we have no internal BI infrastructure.
Read Charles Saulnier's full review
Megan Juell profile photo
November 15, 2016

Review: "Microsoft BI from a Consultant's Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company is a Microsoft partner, and we use the Microsoft BI stack throughout the organization. We mainly use it for development and implementation of ETL, database management, analytical processing, and reporting (SSMS, SSIS & SSRS). As consultants, we typically design these processes in our clients' environments (which range from SSMS versions 2008 - 2016), but also do some in-house work for internal product development.
Read Megan Juell's full review
Razvan Bulgariu profile photo
February 03, 2017

Review: "Microsoft BI is the perfect Dash-boarding product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, Microsoft BI is used across entire organization for production performance and other performance KPIs.
Read Razvan Bulgariu's full review
Haibo Yang profile photo
September 26, 2016

Microsoft BI Review: "Think hard on your BI goals"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using a Microsoft BI stack (SSIS SSRS and SSAS) to support our SaaS solution for almost a decade. Over sixty client organisations are now using our SaaS solution to manage their operational risks and related activities. With Microsoft BI, clients can use Report Builder to access our data sources to design, develop, publish and distribute their own reports. On the other hand, we as a service provider can use Visual Studio Data Tool to create and maintain data sources/models. I mostly get called in to design and develop sophisticated dashboards and smart KPI reports (often programming-intensive in nature) for clients when the complexity goes beyond dragging and dropping plus simple VBA expressions. Overall, our clients are happy with the reporting flexibility delivered by Microsoft BI and we ourselves are very positive with the future of this product.
Read Haibo Yang's full review
Alexander Lubyansky profile photo
August 07, 2016

Microsoft BI Review: "It's Excel for Big Data. So easy, so cheap, so fast, and powerful enough most everything."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is, and seemingly shall be, the "BI Tool Of Tomorrow" forever. There are few people using it at my organization. In general, whenever I tell technically savvy people in the analytics/consulting space that there's a free visualization tool in Microsoft Excel that's 90-95% as good as Tableau, they are like "What?!" Then, they forget all about it in favor of expensive clunky tools and straight up coding.

Microsoft BI is a many-times-relabelled tool for visualization and lite analytics. It's like super duper Pivot Tables and Pivot Charts that let you work with big data. As an analytics tool per se, it's as good as Excel since it is Excel. I wouldn't do any analytics heavy lifting with it personally, but you can easily do algebra stuff and make derived variables. The real business benefit is visualization. It's just very easy and powerful.
Read Alexander Lubyansky's full review
Jasmeet S Babra profile photo
October 24, 2016

Review: "Microsoft BI- Multiple sources, One solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is used in our organization for data analysis and reporting. I used it as a part of marketing live dashboard implementation. It is really a great tool for visualization and customization of views. It's useful in making decisions based on live data and we connect Google Analytics data.
Read Jasmeet S Babra's full review
Alina Hera profile photo
October 17, 2016

Microsoft BI Review: "Clean and Clear Data Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company uses it to analyze data from our various departments (customer service,logistics, manufacturing, etc.) and based on the data, we make necessary adjustments or changes to our business strategies. Typically only the department heads work with Microsoft BI and the results are discussed by upper management, both local and regional.
Read Alina Hera's full review
Micah Jones profile photo
July 12, 2016

Review: "Microsoft BI is Worth a Look for Business Intelligence"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use it to analyze data from our CRM.
Read Micah Jones's full review
Ved Mishra profile photo
February 19, 2016

User Review: "Intelligent big boy Microsoft BI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Business Intelligence (MS BI) is integral part of our technology eco-system across whole organization. Various tools of the MS BI stack are used to Extract Transform and Load (ETL) data from various data sources and provide and platform to do analytics using pivot tables, pivot charts, power BI, SharePoint, SSRS reports, BI Semantic Model (BISM) reports etc.
Read Ved Mishra's full review
Deanne Damato profile photo
February 12, 2016

Review: "Microsoft BI platform good for Reporting but always changing for the rest of the toolset so use caution for your needs."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our entire organization, W.B. Mason, uses Microsoft BI for reporting. Putting critical and up to date data in the hands of our sales people and managers making decisions is critical in the changing market place of Office Supplies.
Read Deanne Damato's full review
Alain Quesnel profile photo
February 10, 2016

"Microsoft BI Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is used mainly for visualizations and dashboards
Read Alain Quesnel's full review
Chris Utter profile photo
March 21, 2015

Review: "Microsoft BI provides the best bang for your buck, now and into the future."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Neudesic is a Microsoft Gold-Certified partner. One of our practices is Business Productivity, which includes SharePoint and SQL BI. The Microsoft Business Intelligence "stack" includes

  1. SQL Server for data management, including ETL (Integration Services), storage (SQL Server RDBMS engine) and a business semantic model (Analysis Services)
  2. Office 2013 and higher, specifically Excel 2013, for data presentation, management and analytics
  3. PowerBI Developer for data presentation
  4. PowerBI for Office 365 provides a nice open security repository for Excel and Power BI data views.
  5. SharePoint 2013, as a shared portal platform, using included Reporting and Analytics site templates.
  6. SharePoint includes PerformancePoint, which is a very useful data analysis tool for Analysis Services cubes.
Read Chris Utter's full review
Senthil Vallinayagam profile photo
June 10, 2015

Microsoft BI Review: ""MS BI" = $$$"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI is used intensely by Engineering department. The whole product is built around with Microsoft BI stack. The database is built using SQL Server 2008 R2 and cubes built using SSAS. Delivers the SaaS model of the company.
Read Senthil Vallinayagam's full review
Steve Wake profile photo
February 04, 2015

User Review: "Why is Microsoft BI Right for Me?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft BI that is part of SQL Server 2014 is very easy to install and configure in either a department or enterprise setting. I have experience in both scenarios with multiple different clients in various industries. There is also a lot flexibility in how you install/configure the Microsoft BI tools, depending on what type of solutions you are looking to implement. If you need just an ETL (Extract, Transform & Load) solution to get a data mart up and running using data from multiple sources or if you need a quick web based reporting solution. You have the options to put each of the Microsoft BI tools on separate servers (virtual or physical) or one server and you can then scale out or up on each of these options as needed over time. All of the tools use a standard set of development tools provided either with SQL Server or available for free from Microsoft's website. These tools are all using the Visual Studio engine and provide a very easy to learn environment, especially for those that have done any development in Visual Studio in the past. The end users will be able to easily interact with the solutions you build either through the web or in tools they are most familiar with like Excel.
Read Steve Wake's full review
Lee Cullom profile photo
February 03, 2015

Review: "Microsoft BI -- Say GoodBI to the Competition for the Moment."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Northcraft Analytics use Microsoft BI for IT Performance Management analysis, along with other visualization and analysis technologies such as Tableau, Microstrategy and Qlikview (to a limited extent). Northcraft Analytics is a provider of BI platform independent applications, so we support our customers across a wide range of verticals leveraging Microsoft Analysis Services/XML/A as the core of our Hybrid Olap (HOLAP) architecture, along with the data warehouse. Some key use cases for analysis would include:

- Incident Assignment Bottleneck Analysis

- Service Level Agreement Breach Identification and Probabilistic Prediction

- Configuration Management Analysis - Aging, Mean Time Between Incident and Adoption Analysis

Northcraft Analytics helps our customer base leverage their existing technology investments to analyze and improve IT performance.

Read Lee Cullom's full review
Sean Warren profile photo
November 04, 2014

Microsoft BI Review: "Microsoft Power BI - Excel Lovers Dream"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft Power BI across all departments in our company. Power BI is used in reporting and data mining. This allows us to see trends and to identify areas of concern with in our hospital systems that we currently serve. The distribution through Microsoft SharePoint allows for a high adoption rate.
Read Sean Warren's full review
Julia Gusman profile photo
September 25, 2014

Microsoft BI Review: "Microsoft - Your Old Trusted Friend?"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We see Microsoft BI used at many organisations and it seems to be just another obvious answer when it comes to decisions about technology - Microsoft is very firmly embedded in many companies. Reminds me a bit of my parents who still think "Microsoft" is synonymous with "Computer". What I would really like to know is how much Microsoft BI as a set of tools is a conscious choice rather than historical decision or a habit?
Read Julia Gusman's full review
Mashhood Syed profile photo
September 14, 2014

Review: "Microsoft BI - A good all around suite of products for the traditional data environment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The reports I put together in SSRS were used by multiple departments totaling over 50 business users. SSIS was used by 3 individuals in the IT department including myself. I deployed reports to the SSRS Report Server which were viewed in a browser on the company's intranet. The reports could be viewed, downloaded in multiple formats (PDF, XLS, CSV, TIFF), subscribed to via email, scheduled to be received on a interval of the user's choosing.

The business problems that it addresses are:
1. How do our customers feel about us (based on customer satisfaction surveys)
2. How well are we managing our operations?
3. How well are we utilizing our resources?
4. How well are the salespeople doing (based on daily rankings)
5. How profitable were we last week, month, quarter, year...
The list goes on...
Read Mashhood Syed's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (19)
8.2
Customizable dashboards (24)
8.1
Report Formatting Templates (22)
8.4
Drill-down analysis (22)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (24)
8.3
Integration with R or other statistical packages (17)
8.3
Report sharing and collaboration (24)
8.8
Publish to Web (21)
8.7
Publish to PDF (21)
8.5
Report Versioning (18)
8.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (21)
8.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (4)
8.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (23)
9.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (21)
8.8
Predictive Analytics (22)
8.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (22)
8.8
Role-Based Security Model (21)
8.6
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (22)
9.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (6)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (15)
8.4
Dedicated iOS Application (12)
8.7
Dedicated Android Application (12)
8.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (17)
8.5
REST API (5)
8.6
Javascript API (5)
8.4
iFrames (4)
8.4
Java API (4)
8.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (4)
8.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (4)
8.0

About Microsoft BI

Microsoft BI benefits from the ubiquity of SQL server and the set of tools built around the database, including an ETL layer, master data management, data cleansing, report and reporting.

The reporting engine is SQL Server Reporting Services which does not have the visualization capabilities of  visualization tools like 
Tableau or Qlik. Excel has historically been the platform visualization tool. Power BI for Office 365 has done much to improve the discovery and visualization capabilities of Excel.

Microsoft  now offers Power BI cloud as the visualization platform with geospatial 3D, natural-language query generation, and self-service ETL along with charting and other data visualizations that can be uploaded and shared through the Power BI service. 

The Power BI platform also provides  live access to on-premises Microsoft SQL Server instances, and self-service access to third-party cloud sources including Salesforce, Marketo, Zendesk, and GitHub. Mobility is supported through a native iPad app, an iPhone app.

This new platform is viewed by Microsoft as a visualization layer sitting on top of their earlier generation of installed SQL-based technology.

Microsoft BI Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Power BI$0
Power BI Pro$10per user per month

Microsoft BI Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No