Microsoft BI (MSBI) Reviews

840 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 47)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 22, 2020
Bradley Geppert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We only pull data from a Microsoft SQL server but that works beautifully as you would expect since they are both Microsoft products. The data pulls daily but can be refreshed on demand to see more current data and views. We have had no issues with this part of the application platform.
Read Bradley Geppert's full review
April 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Microsoft BI is compatible with dozens of platforms, including non-standard platforms such as a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet. As a failsafe for sources that are manual/incompatible, a SharePoint list can suffice. Connectivity is seamless with Microsoft products and there is surprisingly high compatibility with non-Microsoft products (such as MySQL).
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2020
Ashutosh Gaikwad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
You can integrate various data sources, and the installation was also rapid, and the support is also excellent, so overall, a terrific product.
Read Ashutosh Gaikwad's full review
February 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
I believe the data source connectivity for Microsoft BI is really good and effective. I just couldn't imagine that many different sources and formats of data that can be imported into BI and then used for your dashboards, reports, or analysis. Sometimes getting all that data together is more than half the battle.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
There is definitely a range of data sources available for importing/syncing to the platform, however size limitations and decreased performance on big data sets are a bit of a problem (and of course the bigger data sets require the paid version). The data when synced works well and does update in a relatively real-time manner.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
I operated on the report consumer side of Microsoft BI, so I didn’t work directly with the data pulls, but I didn’t find it super intuitive out of the box. I don’t think this is specific to Microsoft BI; other tools have the same issues.
Read this authenticated review
September 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
The Microsoft BI Stack offers a fairly wide range of data sources. It is relatively straight forward for developers to develop ETL packages to build and design data models using the integration tool. You can also do some light data modeling within PowerBI itself, which allows for quick and flexible data modeling to do quick visualizations for end users.
Read this authenticated review
February 17, 2019
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
I have yet to run across a data source that Microsoft BI can't connect to. Microsoft BI easily connects to JSON, SQL, and pretty much every other data source. The software is not the best at merging data from disparate sources. It takes some time to get things up and running with different data sources. Real-time updating of Microsoft BI visualizations is probably one of the best BI tools out there. Works just fine.
Read Thomas Young's full review
January 23, 2019
Shelby Bowden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
I think Microsoft BI firmly sits in the average zone for data sourcing. It does very well when sourcing data from Microsoft-related products, but begins to falter when dealing with other, non-Microsoft analytical programs. Anything with Microsoft cloud works great, and if your organization solely runs on Microsoft products, this is a great program.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
January 17, 2019
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
I use PowerBI to edit reports that I have already ran and make them look awesome. Microsoft PowerBI is perfect for this, as all I have to do is import my Excel spreadsheet, apply a template, and edit the document until I make it look how I want. PowerBI makes it super easy to do this.
Read Michael Timms's full review
January 09, 2019
Jean Franco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

6
There are several formats of data sources allowed and also possibilities to import. But for the real-time data sources, there are only specific sources supported, most of them being Microsoft Products. Unlike other rival products where there are a bigger variety of real-time data sources.
Read Jean Franco's full review
October 19, 2018
Brian Caulfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
I really like how Microsoft brings data from multiple sources together. I think this is one of the strengths of the software allowing for a more complex accumulation of data and information. This results on more complex analysis but again Microsoft BI does a superb job at making this complex data easy to interpret and take action on.
Read Brian Caulfield's full review
June 19, 2018
Jason Leidig | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Power BI allows you to connect to a wide range of data sources from Excel workbooks, to enterprise solutions such as SAP, Azure, IBM systems and a myriad of online solutions like Facebook and GitHub and the list of connections is growing rapidly.
Read Jason Leidig's full review
January 12, 2019
Lakhan Suri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
We can connect a vast range of data sources to merge and get data. We can get data from multiple data sources and consolidate that into a single report.
Read Lakhan Suri's full review
September 07, 2018
Celil ÇİYNEKLİ | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Microsoft BI uses the Machine Learning tool when gathering data from the web. It can detect page elements and learn what you want to get then find itself a way to get this data.
Read Celil ÇİYNEKLİ's full review
July 14, 2018
Zee Gimon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Microsoft Power BI offers a good set of data sources - anywhere from Excel / CSV to JSON to Azure databases. For our client's project, we use the Azure database (the backend of the project is written using .NET) and it's quick and convenient - you simply login and ta-da, you have all your data to manage.
Read Zee Gimon's full review
April 09, 2018
Gonzalo Angeleri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
Microsoft BI supports a variety of different data sources such as SQL Server, Oracle DB, DB2, Sybase, Excel, Access, Text files, MySQL, Teradata, Amazon Redshift, Azure SQL Database, Azure SQL Data Warehouse, Impala, SAP Business Warehouse, SAP Hana.
Read Gonzalo Angeleri's full review
May 03, 2018
Yemsi Pino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
The data is what really matters on a graphic presentation, and if I'm not allowed to edit or to update this data somehow it's like I'm cutting the progress I've been making and have to it do all over again. This is not a solution. On the other hand, the color and options to present graphics solutions are really nice but could be better. That's my goal.
Read Yemsi Pino's full review
August 07, 2016
Alexander Lubyansky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
It's pretty good in terms of range of data sources, the ability to pull from both databases and the hard drive, and the way it compacts/autoformats data. There is still room for improvement in terms of access speed and smarter data formatting.
Read Alexander Lubyansky's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (41)
7.9
Customizable dashboards (48)
8.8
Report Formatting Templates (46)
8.1
Drill-down analysis (43)
8.2
Formatting capabilities (48)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (39)
7.1
Report sharing and collaboration (48)
7.8
Publish to Web (43)
6.9
Publish to PDF (43)
8.1
Report Versioning (39)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (43)
7.5
Delivery to Remote Servers (23)
7.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (46)
7.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (43)
7.6
Predictive Analytics (41)
7.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (45)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (42)
7.9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (46)
8.8
Single Sign-On (SSO) (27)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (34)
8.1
Dedicated iOS Application (27)
8.1
Dedicated Android Application (27)
8.2
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (36)
7.7
REST API (17)
7.3
Javascript API (18)
7.5
iFrames (17)
7.8
Java API (16)
7.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (16)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (12)
7.1

What is Microsoft BI (MSBI)?

Microsoft BI (MSBI) benefits from the ubiquity of SQL server and the set of tools built around the database, including an ETL layer, master data management, data cleansing, report and reporting.

The reporting engine is SQL Server Reporting Services which does not have the visualization capabilities of visualization tools like Tableau or Qlik. Excel has historically been the platform visualization tool. Power BI for Office 365 has done much to improve the discovery and visualization capabilities of Excel.

Microsoft now offers Power BI cloud as the visualization platform with geospatial 3D, natural-language query generation, and self-service ETL along with charting and other data visualizations that can be uploaded and shared through the Power BI service.

The Power BI platform also provides live access to on-premises Microsoft SQL Server instances, and self-service access to third-party cloud sources including Salesforce, Marketo, Zendesk, and GitHub. Mobility is supported through a native iPad app, an iPhone app.

This new platform is viewed by Microsoft as a visualization layer sitting on top of their earlier generation of installed SQL-based technology.

Microsoft BI (MSBI) Competitors

Microsoft BI (MSBI) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Power BI Pro9.99per user/per month
Power BI Premium4,995per month

Microsoft BI (MSBI) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No