TrustRadius
Microsoft Dynamics SL is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family. This product was acquired from Solomon 2000. The product is typically used by SMBs, particularly in project-based businesses (e.g. construction). It has strong accounting and project management capabilities.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Sr/7i/OTCTGZAJ1NQF.pngPerfect financial software for your small to mid-size businessMicrosoft Dynamics SL is our primary financial software. We use this program for invoice entries, vendor information, purchase orders, inventory management, weekly check runs, bank reconciliation, journal entries, general ledger management, profit and loss, trial balance reports, cash forecasting, annual 1099 forms, and all related monthly financial reporting. This program is predominantly used by our Accounting and Accounts Payable teams.,Easy to understand. The program can be taught t new users with no prior experience with minimal effort. Very thorough modules for all areas of financial reporting and analysis. Uncomplicated layout and maneuverability. The screens can be personalized for easy access to most frequently used modules.,Reports are created as Crystal Reports. These are not as dependable or dynamic as PDFs. The standard package can be somewhat limited. Modules can be added but are often cost prohibitive and simply don't seem to perform dependably. Tech support is costly and there is no sense of urgency. It would be helpful if there was an online user forum.,7,We have been able to downsize our Accounting Department, creating more efficiencies and less "downtime" within that department. We have been able to eliminate the need to outsource our IT department, thereby reducing a large budget item. We have the ability to create and modify custom reports within our package. We are "paper free" since all vendor documents, contracts, financial reports and purchase orders are digitally maintained in the program allowing us to archive as necessary.,Microsoft Dynamics GP, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions and Sage 50 Accounting,Bitdefender Network Traffic Security AnalyticsDynamics SL 2011 - more to be desired!We currently use Dynamics SL as our sole accounting software. Only people within the accounting department have access to the software although we have a department who runs their own checks because of a unique specific function. However this department is reviewed and monitor by the finance department to ensure proper internal control. I have found Dynamics to be not very user friendly. The GL analysis function is quite lacking when comparing to other systems I've used in the past. In addition, the report writer again is not very user friendly and intuitive. Lastly, the sorting function uses coding language for the filters which makes training new users quite cumbersome.,Adequate layout of detailed general ledger report. Easy copy and paste feature for general ledger from Excel. Interacts well with certain Microsoft products and functionality.,Reporting features to provide more robust flexibility. Import features can be improved to be more user friendly. Interface can be improved to provide more access and edit to basic functions like print setup, setting up templates for reports, and user preferences. Better support packages and more training at reasonable pricing.,4,More time is spent on manipulating reports which can and should be automated. Lack of electronic invoicing process and other green technology features creates more cost on printing and storage costs. The lack of a user friendly interface requires more training and a bigger learning curve for staff.,Abila MIP Fund AccountingNon-profit's review of Microsoft Dynamics SLIt's used as our financial system. Used for functions like accounts payable, inventory, billing and general ledger.,Simple Configurable Affordable,Reporting is weak Not modern Security is complex,6,Nothing significant,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM and Oracle PeopleSoft SCMProject AccountingMicrosoft Dynamics SL is used for project management and financial reporting. It is used across the organization. The financial modules provide general ledger details and reporting along with payroll being processed for projects and management.,Project accounting is linked to the Financial modules - there is no need to duplicate data entry. Reporting in Project Modules is extensive. Validation of fields for data entry and solid integrity of data. Customizations of screens for data entry for users and addition of fields.,Purchasing does not have a budget validation to warn or stop a purchase from going over budget on a project level. Project budgeting does not have an interface with inventory ids. Financial modules could have more quick vewing screens for example a quick way to find the check no. of an invoice.,9,Project data is updated quickly and reporting tools available for management daily.,,1,1,Vendor implemented,1,1,1,1Dynamics SL For Project and Crew Based AccountingWe are using it for project and crew based cost accounting in one of our utility contracting companies and are in the process of rolling out the system to another one of our largest companies. Eventually, all companies under the holding company will deploy Dynamics SL as their ERP system as well as the parent company. The parent company will perform cross company consolidations.,Provides flexibility for complex project based cost accounting Strong and flexible allocation processer for cost allocations, markups, and pricing A "Flexible Billing" module under the project controller series that allows for multiple billing formats ranging from fixed price schedule of values, T&M or Cost Plus, and scheduled billing. Flexible reporting with options using Crystal Reports, SSRS, a Quick Query tool, and ability to tie into MS Office tools such as MS Access and MS Excel Tight integration with Financials, but also the ability to integrate with modules such as Sales Order, Inventory, and Field Service Customization abilities ranging from a VBA (visual basic for application) foundation to allow customizing existing forms to the ability to use the SDK (Software Development Kit) to build more complex customizations that integrate with Dynamics SL.,Incorporate some functionality provided by third party products into the core product. Since Dynamics SL has strong multi company capabilities, incorporate functions to secure projects within a company to certain groups. Improve the budgeting, forecasting, and change order interfaces so that the tools are more online. Improve the forecasting capabilities to include more robust and integrated tie in to the project EAC/ETC (Estimate at Completion/Estimate to Complete) numbers. This would allow project revenue/margin/cash forecasting. Expand on the subtask concept Improve the interface for multi level rate entry for pricing and cost allocations such that more security can be applied and reduce risk of inadvertent changes.,9,Faster Closing Cycle Improved Reconciliation Tools Accurate and Timely Revenue Recognition,,Implemented in-house
Unspecified
Microsoft Dynamics SL
53 Ratings
Score 6.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Microsoft Dynamics SL Reviews

Microsoft Dynamics SL
53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 16 of 53 Microsoft Dynamics SL ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Pamela Dalton profile photo
May 13, 2019

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Perfect financial software for your small to mid-size business"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We started with QuickBooks Enterprise when our company was young. We quickly outgrew this program as it was not able to accommodate the financial reporting we needed to satisfy our investors. QuickBooks was also very limited in managing our revenue as we grew.
We did try Great Plains and Peachtree (now Sage 50) and we discovered that they were rather complicated for our users. They were not as easy to maneuver and manipulate as SL and we felt that SL was much more "user friendly" and simplified, but still able to produce the same results.
Read Pamela Dalton's full review
No photo available
December 03, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL 2011 - more to be desired!"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MIP is a more robust product with more comprehensive modules that is tailored toward a non-profit accounting environment. The reporting and GL analysis features on MIP is also a lot more robust than Dynamics SL and the interface within MIP is designed to tailor to user needs. Lastly, the importing feature MIP is a lot more fluid and a lot easier to trouble shoot.
Read this authenticated review
John K. Hodge, CPA profile photo
December 25, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL For Project and Crew Based Accounting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics SL provides built in complex project accounting flexibility with the benefit to accommodate additional complexity with customization tools to enhance the system capabilities and fill requirement gaps either as to process, reporting, or controls.
Read John K. Hodge, CPA's full review
Mark Schrier profile photo
September 30, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL - A strong product for Now and the Future"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have evaluated many competitive products in the past. Dynamics Nav, Mass90, Dynamics GP, Platinum and others. This product is ahead in TCO and flexibility. Since the customization uses standard Microsoft tools (VBA, Visual Studio, and MS SQLServer, Object Model) it is much better go companies that want to be highly responsive to changing business conditions. The SDK (software development kit) is not an add-on toolkit, it is the exact same tools used to create the original product. It makes it very easy to integrate changes that have the same look and feel across all operations.
Read Mark Schrier's full review
Jerry McLellan, CPA profile photo
August 19, 2015

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics SL - Power through Flexibility"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Epicor ERP,Microsoft Dynamics GP,sage
Of the comparable mid-range ERP systems, Dynamics SL competes at the lower end based on price, but also above the high-end based on flexibility, data, and reporting. Being able to stay with the same core accounting from a $100 million dollar company to a $3 billion dollar company shows the range of capabilities.
Read Jerry McLellan, CPA's full review
Jeffrey Morin profile photo
April 03, 2015

"My 17 year review of Microsoft Dynamics SL is nothing but POSITIVE!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have been on this product for 17 years. I have worked with Great Plains and have worked with products in the Health Care industry and believe this product pulls in all the main functionality into basic core modules and allows users to quickly grasp how to use the product. This also allows for greater efficiencies by all staff who touch this product. I worked as a consultant for the early version of Solomon. As a financial consultant, I had to get into a company and learn quickly the operations on the old software to get them ready for a switch to this one. In the four years of working as a consultant I had seen a good deal of other software that did not match up to the power and extreme efficiency of data flow that SL has. Once users were trained, they agreed.
Read Jeffrey Morin's full review
Jack Boyer profile photo
December 18, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL-The Right Choice for the Project-Based Organization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Dynamics SL because our business lives and dies by the success of our projects. A product that can tell you that you have a problem before you invoice, helps you get your project back on track much better. It's also much easier to evaluate across projects, tasks and project types-what you do well and where you need to improve.
Read Jack Boyer's full review
Bill Aiton profile photo
June 27, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL: "Dynamics SL Partner Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used Connectwise, which did a good job costing function, but had to be periodically integrated and lacked some reporting capability.
We looked at GP but it does not have good project accounting, so it was not a good fit for our company.
We looked at NAV but there was too much customization required.
We used to use MAS 200, but the database was proprietary and the technology was very old and slow to change.
Deltek is used by many firms in our business, but feedback from customers that changed to Dynamics SL led us to avoid that choice.
We also looked at SAP Business One, but the product had weak job costing and limited functionality.
Read Bill Aiton's full review
No photo available
March 24, 2015

Review: "Don't Just Sit There, Use Microsoft Dynamics SL Now!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used QuickBooks when I was in college and I did enjoy it mainly because that was my first experience with an accounting product like that. I did not switch to Microsoft Dynamics; it was the product used in the first company I received a job in. Although I did not select it, I am glad I was able to use it with my company. I mainly enjoy the way everything is broken out and how various employees are able to use and work together on this on a daily basis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 21, 2014

Review: "Aside from Integration and Reporting, Microsoft Dynamics SL is a Good Small Business Solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • QuickBooks Online,QuickBooks Pro,FinancialForce Accounting
QuickBooks is not a bad solution, but it is typically used by smaller companies since it is not a true, auditable accounting system. Dynamics is much more robust than QuickBooks and handles complex accounting much better.

FinancialForce may be a good option if you are looking for something that is on the Force.com platform. If you are already a Salesforce.com user and are looking for an accounting system, this may be the way to go. However, if you already have a good accounting system, I would not suggest making the switch to FinancialForce. My experience with it so far has been that it was designed by engineers as a solution for people using Salesforce, not as an accounting system. There are many red flags right out of the box, and customization seems to be far more difficult than initial expectations. For example, the system does not use debits and credits, but rather positives and negatives. This is mind blowing for an accountant! Out of the box, there are three screens to click through just to create a journal entry. Reporting falls anywhere from difficult to impossible. My CFO recently spent the better part of a week trying to run a YTD Trial Balance. Again, mind blowing that this is being called an accounting system.

Dynamics definitely feels like a much truer accounting system than either of the other products that I've worked with.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL: "SL Review for Direct Sales Companies"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SL is lacking in various places for a direct sales type of company plan. Currently, we are looking into other options and have decided on Microsoft Dynamics AX as a solution. The move to AX will allow us to keep ordering in one system instead of two (right now we are forcing SL and another program to speak to each other = Giant mess), and it will also be a better springboard for getting us into a mobile app position with our consultants. Unfortunately, years of SL in this environment has not proven to be a good solution at this time, and we are moving in a different direction.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (2)
9.6
Direct deposit files (1)
9
Reimbursement management (1)
7
API for custom integration (6)
6.0
Plug-ins (4)
6.0
Single sign-on capability (9)
6.0
Role-based user permissions (8)
6.2
Dashboards (5)
5.0
Standard reports (9)
5.3
Custom reports (9)
4.3
Accounts payable (10)
6.9
Accounts receivable (7)
6.0
Global Financial Support (1)
6
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (3)
6.1
Intercompany Accounting (3)
5.2
Localizations (2)
3.2
Journals and Reconciliations (3)
6.3
Enterprise Accounting (2)
7.0
Configurable Accounting (2)
6.6
Centralized Rules Framework (1)
8
Standardized Processes (2)
5.5
Inventory tracking (5)
6.0
Location management (2)
1.0
Manufacturing module (2)
6.0
Pricing (2)
6.0
Order entry (3)
6.0
Credit card processing (2)
7.0
Cost of goods sold (2)
7.0
End-to-end order visibility (1)
8
Order exception Resolution (1)
6
Automated Invoice Processing (2)
3.6
Shared Services Payments (1)
6
Billings Management (1)
6
Customer Receipt Applications (1)
5
Customer Collections (1)
6
Revenue Recognition (2)
4.2
Cash Management (3)
5.4
Asset Management (3)
5.5
Travel & Expense Management (1)
5
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (2)
4.5
Period Close (3)
6.0
Transactions Tax (2)
7.0
Subledger Reconciliations (3)
5.2
3rd Party Accounting Systems (1)
7
Budgeting and Forecasting (3)
5.6
Project Costing (3)
4.9
Cost Capture (2)
3.6
Capital Project Management (1)
8
Customer Invoicing (1)
5
Project Revenue Recognition (1)
2
Project Financial Performance Analysis (2)
4.2
Project Financials Dashboard (1)
2
Real-time Financial Reporting (3)
4.6
Award Lifecycle Management (1)
6
Spending Control (1)
6
Billing (1)
7
Production Management (1)
6
Inventory Planning (1)
6

About Microsoft Dynamics SL

Microsoft Dynamics SL is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family.

This product was acquired from Solomon 2000.

The product is typically used by SMBs, particularly in project-based businesses (e.g. construction). It has strong accounting and project management capabilities.

Microsoft Dynamics SL Integrations

Microsoft Dynamics SL Competitors

Microsoft Dynamics SL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No