TrustRadius
Microsoft Dynamics SL is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family. This product was acquired from Solomon 2000. The product is typically used by SMBs, particularly in project-based businesses (e.g. construction). It has strong accounting and project management capabilities.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Sr/7i/OTCTGZAJ1NQF.pngPerfect financial software for your small to mid-size businessMicrosoft Dynamics SL is our primary financial software. We use this program for invoice entries, vendor information, purchase orders, inventory management, weekly check runs, bank reconciliation, journal entries, general ledger management, profit and loss, trial balance reports, cash forecasting, annual 1099 forms, and all related monthly financial reporting. This program is predominantly used by our Accounting and Accounts Payable teams.,Easy to understand. The program can be taught t new users with no prior experience with minimal effort. Very thorough modules for all areas of financial reporting and analysis. Uncomplicated layout and maneuverability. The screens can be personalized for easy access to most frequently used modules.,Reports are created as Crystal Reports. These are not as dependable or dynamic as PDFs. The standard package can be somewhat limited. Modules can be added but are often cost prohibitive and simply don't seem to perform dependably. Tech support is costly and there is no sense of urgency. It would be helpful if there was an online user forum.,7,We have been able to downsize our Accounting Department, creating more efficiencies and less "downtime" within that department. We have been able to eliminate the need to outsource our IT department, thereby reducing a large budget item. We have the ability to create and modify custom reports within our package. We are "paper free" since all vendor documents, contracts, financial reports and purchase orders are digitally maintained in the program allowing us to archive as necessary.,Microsoft Dynamics GP, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions and Sage 50 Accounting,Bitdefender Network Traffic Security AnalyticsDynamics SL 2011 - more to be desired!We currently use Dynamics SL as our sole accounting software. Only people within the accounting department have access to the software although we have a department who runs their own checks because of a unique specific function. However this department is reviewed and monitor by the finance department to ensure proper internal control. I have found Dynamics to be not very user friendly. The GL analysis function is quite lacking when comparing to other systems I've used in the past. In addition, the report writer again is not very user friendly and intuitive. Lastly, the sorting function uses coding language for the filters which makes training new users quite cumbersome.,Adequate layout of detailed general ledger report. Easy copy and paste feature for general ledger from Excel. Interacts well with certain Microsoft products and functionality.,Reporting features to provide more robust flexibility. Import features can be improved to be more user friendly. Interface can be improved to provide more access and edit to basic functions like print setup, setting up templates for reports, and user preferences. Better support packages and more training at reasonable pricing.,4,More time is spent on manipulating reports which can and should be automated. Lack of electronic invoicing process and other green technology features creates more cost on printing and storage costs. The lack of a user friendly interface requires more training and a bigger learning curve for staff.,Abila MIP Fund AccountingNon-profit's review of Microsoft Dynamics SLIt's used as our financial system. Used for functions like accounts payable, inventory, billing and general ledger.,Simple Configurable Affordable,Reporting is weak Not modern Security is complex,6,Nothing significant,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM and Oracle PeopleSoft SCMProject AccountingMicrosoft Dynamics SL is used for project management and financial reporting. It is used across the organization. The financial modules provide general ledger details and reporting along with payroll being processed for projects and management.,Project accounting is linked to the Financial modules - there is no need to duplicate data entry. Reporting in Project Modules is extensive. Validation of fields for data entry and solid integrity of data. Customizations of screens for data entry for users and addition of fields.,Purchasing does not have a budget validation to warn or stop a purchase from going over budget on a project level. Project budgeting does not have an interface with inventory ids. Financial modules could have more quick vewing screens for example a quick way to find the check no. of an invoice.,9,Project data is updated quickly and reporting tools available for management daily.,,1,1,Vendor implemented,1,1,1,1Dynamics SL For Project and Crew Based AccountingWe are using it for project and crew based cost accounting in one of our utility contracting companies and are in the process of rolling out the system to another one of our largest companies. Eventually, all companies under the holding company will deploy Dynamics SL as their ERP system as well as the parent company. The parent company will perform cross company consolidations.,Provides flexibility for complex project based cost accounting Strong and flexible allocation processer for cost allocations, markups, and pricing A "Flexible Billing" module under the project controller series that allows for multiple billing formats ranging from fixed price schedule of values, T&M or Cost Plus, and scheduled billing. Flexible reporting with options using Crystal Reports, SSRS, a Quick Query tool, and ability to tie into MS Office tools such as MS Access and MS Excel Tight integration with Financials, but also the ability to integrate with modules such as Sales Order, Inventory, and Field Service Customization abilities ranging from a VBA (visual basic for application) foundation to allow customizing existing forms to the ability to use the SDK (Software Development Kit) to build more complex customizations that integrate with Dynamics SL.,Incorporate some functionality provided by third party products into the core product. Since Dynamics SL has strong multi company capabilities, incorporate functions to secure projects within a company to certain groups. Improve the budgeting, forecasting, and change order interfaces so that the tools are more online. Improve the forecasting capabilities to include more robust and integrated tie in to the project EAC/ETC (Estimate at Completion/Estimate to Complete) numbers. This would allow project revenue/margin/cash forecasting. Expand on the subtask concept Improve the interface for multi level rate entry for pricing and cost allocations such that more security can be applied and reduce risk of inadvertent changes.,9,Faster Closing Cycle Improved Reconciliation Tools Accurate and Timely Revenue Recognition,,Implemented in-house
Unspecified
Microsoft Dynamics SL
53 Ratings
Score 6.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Microsoft Dynamics SL Reviews

Microsoft Dynamics SL
53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 17 of 53 Microsoft Dynamics SL ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Pamela Dalton profile photo
May 13, 2019

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Perfect financial software for your small to mid-size business"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Dynamics SL is our primary financial software. We use this program for invoice entries, vendor information, purchase orders, inventory management, weekly check runs, bank reconciliation, journal entries, general ledger management, profit and loss, trial balance reports, cash forecasting, annual 1099 forms, and all related monthly financial reporting. This program is predominantly used by our Accounting and Accounts Payable teams.
Read Pamela Dalton's full review
No photo available
December 03, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL 2011 - more to be desired!"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Dynamics SL as our sole accounting software. Only people within the accounting department have access to the software although we have a department who runs their own checks because of a unique specific function. However this department is reviewed and monitor by the finance department to ensure proper internal control.

I have found Dynamics to be not very user friendly. The GL analysis function is quite lacking when comparing to other systems I've used in the past. In addition, the report writer again is not very user friendly and intuitive. Lastly, the sorting function uses coding language for the filters which makes training new users quite cumbersome.
Read this authenticated review
Marilyn McGeachy profile photo
June 08, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Project Accounting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Dynamics SL is used for project management and financial reporting. It is used across the organization. The financial modules provide general ledger details and reporting along with payroll being processed for projects and management.
Read Marilyn McGeachy's full review
John K. Hodge, CPA profile photo
December 25, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL For Project and Crew Based Accounting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it for project and crew based cost accounting in one of our utility contracting companies and are in the process of rolling out the system to another one of our largest companies. Eventually, all companies under the holding company will deploy Dynamics SL as their ERP system as well as the parent company. The parent company will perform cross company consolidations.
Read John K. Hodge, CPA's full review
Mark Schrier profile photo
September 30, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL - A strong product for Now and the Future"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Mackay Communications, Inc deals in all phases of Marine Navigation and Communication systems as well as emergency satellite communication equipment and services. We use all the modules of Dynamics SL except the Project related modules. We use the product to track field service, sales, inventory, and purchasing for a world wide 24 hour a day business located in 7 countries. Using the multi-company features, we are able to use a single repository for Inventory, vendors, customers, sales and service activities.
Read Mark Schrier's full review
Jerry McLellan, CPA profile photo
August 19, 2015

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics SL - Power through Flexibility"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Dynamics SL is our Accounting and Financial Reporting engine for almost 200 companies in the US and Canada. Using Multi-Company allows us to centralize some processes (AP Checks for example) while allowing a very decentralized user base to perform local transaction activity. SL's flexible structure has allowed us to add companies and sub-accounts enabling us to grow from a $100 Million dollar company in 1999 when implemented to a $3 Billion dollar company at the end of 2014.
Read Jerry McLellan, CPA's full review
Jeffrey Morin profile photo
April 03, 2015

"My 17 year review of Microsoft Dynamics SL is nothing but POSITIVE!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft Dynamics SL as our financial software handling all accounting operations, from daily AP, AR, to GL and as a financial reporting base. We also use the project module to manage our projects. Everything we do in our operation is project centric and this software gives access to all staff on every aspect of each and every project, from hours, to expenses, revenue and AR. We use the core of SL in accounting with each of four accounting/HR staff members having an installed version on our computers. We have eight offices around the country from coast to coast, central and south. Each office has access to our Business Portal or Apps to enter projects, time, expenses and to review each project. We have complete transparency of operations in daily project information. Accessibility is extremely important to our continued success in managing projects. We came from a good number of users all accessing "Solomon" directly to the light user version and we could not be more pleased with performance and daily use.
Read Jeffrey Morin's full review
Jack Boyer profile photo
December 18, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL-The Right Choice for the Project-Based Organization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a professional services firm mostly with client billings of time making up 70-80% of our revenues. Creating billing transactions from timecards based on many different rules that are sometimes client based, task based, project based or even fixed price-make for the need for some capable software.

We are much happier with the web apps having moved off of the business portal time entry tool which was extremely slow and time consuming.

We use Dynamics SL across the whole organization and everyone enters a timecard. We use the software for expense reporting and evaluating which were good projects and bad, which tasks were good and which were bad. We use the software to help us make better estimates on future similar projects.

We've used Dynamics SL the entire 20 years we've been in business and really love it.
Read Jack Boyer's full review
Bill Aiton profile photo
June 27, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL: "Dynamics SL Partner Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Dynamics SL is used by our firm to do all accounting, payables, receivables, billing, project accounting and financials. We use many add on products since we resell this product and support over 200 customer users. It gives us experience on what works well to solve our problems and our customer needs.
Read Bill Aiton's full review
No photo available
March 27, 2015

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics SL is quite dynamic!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, it is not being used at my organization. It was highly utilized at my last organization, where I worked for 3 years. It was predominantly used within the finance and accounting department, where we used it to keep track of our G/L accounts as well as make debit and credit adjustments to our factories overseas. It helped us keep track of what we owe and what is to be paid out to us.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 24, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Great for the Project/Service Oriented Company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Dynamics SL across our organization: Accounting, Order Processing, Shipping/Receiving, Purchasing, Engineering, and Manufacturing. SL addresses the need of sharing information between various functional groups and then making this information readily available in a variety of methods.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 24, 2015

Review: "Don't Just Sit There, Use Microsoft Dynamics SL Now!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Dynamics SL is being used throughout our whole company on a daily basis. It is used from service techs, to sales people, and to accounting. For example, I am in general ledger accounting in my company and I use this throughout the entire day. If it is making journal entries or looking up balance sheets and trial balances, it is easy to access each of these in a quickly and accurate fashion. I also use this to close the books each month for my company, making that part of my job easy and accurate as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 04, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Would not purchase SL today"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used for AP/AR in Accounting; users are in more departments than just Acctg. (For example, I am in Land). We were using QuickBooks and this was supposed to streamline our processes and handle more payees. The reporting capabilities were supposed to be great; they are not turning out to be even remotely sufficient for what we need.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 05, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are resellers and consultants for Dynamics SL. We support clients in the Professional Services, Bio-Pharma, Insurance, Distribution, Financial Services and Manufacturing industries. Dynamics SL provides Middle Market companies a scalable ERP system that is easy to customize. It's flexibility allows companies numerous options to configure to system to their needs and reporting requirements.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (2)
9.6
Direct deposit files (1)
9
Reimbursement management (1)
7
API for custom integration (6)
6.0
Plug-ins (4)
6.0
Single sign-on capability (9)
6.0
Role-based user permissions (8)
6.2
Dashboards (5)
5.0
Standard reports (9)
5.3
Custom reports (9)
4.3
Accounts payable (10)
6.9
Accounts receivable (7)
6.0
Global Financial Support (1)
6
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (3)
6.1
Intercompany Accounting (3)
5.2
Localizations (2)
3.2
Journals and Reconciliations (3)
6.3
Enterprise Accounting (2)
7.0
Configurable Accounting (2)
6.6
Centralized Rules Framework (1)
8
Standardized Processes (2)
5.5
Inventory tracking (5)
6.0
Location management (2)
1.0
Manufacturing module (2)
6.0
Pricing (2)
6.0
Order entry (3)
6.0
Credit card processing (2)
7.0
Cost of goods sold (2)
7.0
End-to-end order visibility (1)
8
Order exception Resolution (1)
6
Automated Invoice Processing (2)
3.6
Shared Services Payments (1)
6
Billings Management (1)
6
Customer Receipt Applications (1)
5
Customer Collections (1)
6
Revenue Recognition (2)
4.2
Cash Management (3)
5.4
Asset Management (3)
5.5
Travel & Expense Management (1)
5
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (2)
4.5
Period Close (3)
6.0
Transactions Tax (2)
7.0
Subledger Reconciliations (3)
5.2
3rd Party Accounting Systems (1)
7
Budgeting and Forecasting (3)
5.6
Project Costing (3)
4.9
Cost Capture (2)
3.6
Capital Project Management (1)
8
Customer Invoicing (1)
5
Project Revenue Recognition (1)
2
Project Financial Performance Analysis (2)
4.2
Project Financials Dashboard (1)
2
Real-time Financial Reporting (3)
4.6
Award Lifecycle Management (1)
6
Spending Control (1)
6
Billing (1)
7
Production Management (1)
6
Inventory Planning (1)
6

About Microsoft Dynamics SL

Microsoft Dynamics SL is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family.

This product was acquired from Solomon 2000.

The product is typically used by SMBs, particularly in project-based businesses (e.g. construction). It has strong accounting and project management capabilities.

Microsoft Dynamics SL Integrations

Microsoft Dynamics SL Competitors

Microsoft Dynamics SL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No