System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) Reviews

157 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Randy MacFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for monthly Windows updates, image deployment to workstations, server and application deployment. It's being used in all departments to:
  • Quickly patch/deploy applications all laptops, desktops.
  • Push down new, updated Windows 10 OS versions.
Read Randy MacFarland's full review
Kurt Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

The one to beat for Windows application deployment and patching

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SCCM for application and Windows desktop, laptop, and server patching. We accompany it with the PatchMyPC addons, so we can update the majority of applications we use for end-users.

We also use it to deploy security software.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
Adam Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2019

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager does it all, but you need to know how to do it, which has a learning curve

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SCCM is used across our entire organization. We use it for zero-day remediations, as well as large scale package deployments. It saves the company an immense amount of hours wasted for on-site support team members having to manually install packages. We can also pull reports of software versions across our environment and deploy patches accordingly for any PC that's out of compliance.
Read Adam Martin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2019

A really good and comprehensive all-in-one Systems Management solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used both across the whole organization and at the department levels. It is centrally managed by the main IT group in the organization, and then individual departments have their own instance of SCCM to be able to use to manage resources/deploy software, etc. It addresses the business problem of having a central Systems Management solution that can pretty much do most everything, including managing all hardware endpoints, managing software, monitoring, asset management, managing antimalware and firewall policies, etc. in an organization.
Read this authenticated review
Eduardo Viero | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2019

Microsoft SCCM is the ideal tool to manage Windows assets at large

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, we're using Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager to manage all our Windows assets, from PCs to laptops. Considering we use it across all organization, and we have a dozen of remote sites, some of them with distribution points, I can safely say that we solve basically 2 big business problem: We can manage all of those assets from a single pane of glass, delivering software with software-central feature, managing and keeping a eye on the status of those updates and also saving bandwidth at the same time, because we can deploy those software and updates from that distribution point, avoiding to have every single PC/laptop to download from the Internet itself.
Read Eduardo Viero's full review
Mark Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2019

SCCM: the market leader of client automation and management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SCCM for a number of different use cases including imaging, OS and software deployments, inventory and desktop management. Its primary function is to push new software to the fleet. The benefit is being able to time when and what gets deployed and make it done in an automated fashion. We also use it to manage to patch existing software packages (in conjunction with a product called Ninite).
Read Mark Fitzgerald's full review
Valery Mezentsau | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Great tool for enterprise IT teams, must have usage experience for all IT specialists.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At my current and previous companies, I have used System Center Configuration Manager as one of the main tools to manage my IT infrastructure. From simple management of active directory users and computers to detailed inventorying of windows equipment (computers and server), software inventorying, software deployments and patch management. Also, it is used as a main endpoint protection solution that includes centrally managed Windows Defender and ATP. We use System Center Configuration Manager as one of the main monitoring tools to get reports of the Windows patching state, device availability and activity, to get information about what PCs users are using at a current time. Using as the only solution to capture and image new and existing workstations and servers. And, also SCCM is the main remote control/assistance tool for our help desk department.
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

Microsoft's Enterprise Management Software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My former company used System Center Configuration Manager for software deployment, Imaging, and Microsoft updates. It was used across the entire enterprise, but my department only used it for imaging and application deployment. Before SCCM we were using Landesk, which I preferred greatly. That being said, SCCM does work well, as long as it is configured correctly. I would recommend it, but it would not be my first choice for deployment or imaging software.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Angel Swalve | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

SCCM provides our company with support that is not matched by any other software.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM)is being used across the whole organization on all of our Windows computers and our dual booted Mac computers. SCCM addresses the problem of having to have more employees to be available for hands on installing and updating any software that SCCM allows the user to do without another employee finding time to do it for them.
Read Angel Swalve's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

Very powerful and hard to work with

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

System Center Configuration Manager was used as a solution for OS deployment, remote troubleshooting, and patch management for Windows PCs in our organization. The plan was to use it to manage close to a thousand PCs in total. As the product required an excessive number of man-hours to implement and support, its use was dropped after a year, and an alternative selected. The main goal was to improve OS deployment and replace WDS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

System Center Configuration Manager: Your New Patching Buddy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Across all of IT, SCCM is used for deployment of software as well as Windows patching. It is used for both server patches as well as workstation patches—both laptop and desktop—on a monthly basis. It handles the patch process much more efficiently than its predecessor here—WSUS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

SCCM is the ideal solution for a large Microsoft-centric global organization

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) globally across over 40 countries and over 15000 clients on Windows Operating Systems. It is our enterprise software deployment solution as well as software management for enterprise wide desktops and servers. We have previously used WSUS and Altaris but SCCM allowed us to combine them into a single seamless platform providing us with much greater scalability as well as better reporting of software deployment and management status.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

Asset Management, Software Deployment and Patch Management Solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is used by our IT Operations department to create, deploy software packages for homegrown applications, commonly used software and windows update on desktop, laptops, and servers. It provides IT Asset Management capabilities as well as software inventory and auditing. The remote control feature is used by PC support for remote access and support solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Microsoft SCCM may not be the ROI you are looking for, but the product helps your admins

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is used for imaging our computers, but it is also used to deploy policies and software packages to specific users or groups.

By utilizing Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, the IT admins spend less time manually installing applications for our end users. It allows us to centrally manage what is being deployed to the computers in our environment and run reports on the computers and what is installed on them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is great for medium sized businesses and up

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is very effective for simple tasks such as pushing out Windows updates, Defender updates, and a large array of other software. We have also started using it for servicing Windows 10 computers. With the modern life cycle of Windows 10 being more aggressive then past versions, it has been extremely handy to use Windows 10 servicing to keep our computers running the latest builds of Windows 10.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

SCCM FTW!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using SCCM across our entire company for software distribution, update/patching of workstations & servers, compliance settings for various items as well as reporting. It allows us to ensure our software and operating systems are up to date as well as ensures we are meeting certain requirements for baseline configurations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Microsoft SCCM is the answer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Excellent tool for centralized and standardized configurations and software distribution. This tool is based on AD authentication like the rest of the Microsoft products and makes sending enterprise-wide updates automatically or manually a breeze. Metered usage for software, as well as built-in reporting, is excellent as well. Due to the popularity of the tool, there are enough resources online to get help on most issues.
Read this authenticated review
Yamileth Cabrera Rendon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

The best tool to put things in order if you have a large company and use remote workers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use this tool to connect with my team remotely, and it has allowed us to have all the necessary information in an organized way and to have the documents ready to share quickly and safely. This harnessing has allowed me to build a real and very useful database, and allows me to establish service level objectives, review them, and generate associated reports.
In general, it has allowed me to automate some processes associated with personnel management.
Read Yamileth Cabrera Rendon's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Good tool, specifically for big organizations

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization is basically using SCCM to deploy some applications remotely, keep a record of each machine we have deployed to users, which is a must have to any organization and also for patching endpoint computers. This last feature would be perfect if it worked consistently, but there are a few complaints.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

SCCM 2012 R2 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is used by our whole IT department. Being part of a company that has multiple locations all across the world, SCCM is a must have tool for managing thousands of computers. SCCM is amazing for imaging, application deployment, and reporting. It allows you to save time and be very efficient.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2018

Massive software package with massive results.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SCCM throughout all of our hospital and clinics. We use it primarily for distributing software, remote desktop support, PC imaging and inventory management. The simplest and biggest time saver we employ is the remote session sharing feature. RDP steals the session and remote assistance shares the session. The nursing staff loves this feature because it allows us to jump on their PC with no permissions or software to download. We are fixing problems faster than ever before which is critical in healthcare.
Read this authenticated review
Joe Spradlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2018

SCCM, When you know what you want to be when you grow up.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a relatively small/medium company. I was fortunate enough to have enough influence to convince them to allow me to buy the Data Center version of both SCCM and SCOM. Having said that, we utilize SCCM within our IT Department to manage our IT inventory as well as push out critical updates and patches to our Microsoft Windows devices. Additionally, we utilize SCCM to track software licensing and usage across our organization. It has been a powerful tool for us as a company to enable not only the resource management functions, but leveraging the System Center Endpoint Protection (SCEP) product enables us to manage and take advantage Microsoft built in security products. The reporting is an extremely flexible and powerful tool that enables us to quickly visualize our inventory and assist with technology refreshes and forecasting our upgrades.
Read Joe Spradlin's full review
Brandon Holbrook | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

SCCM is great for medium to large businesses but it's not for the faint of heart.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MS SCCM in our organization to deploy and manage System Center Endpoint Protection. We also use it to deploy known good configurations of operating systems and programs for new machines to our network. We use SCCM to report and alert on the health status of servers and endpoints. We also use it to manage Windows and third party applications.
Read Brandon Holbrook's full review
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2018

SCCM - Essential for larger environments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Systems Center Configuration Manager 2012 R2 is being used for:

  • Deployment of Windows 7 and Windows 10 client desktop and laptop machines
  • Deployment of Windows Server 2012 R2 and 2016 Server machines
  • Management of Windows updates for Windows servers and clients
  • Applying configuration and security baselines and ensuring compliance
  • Reporting and asset management
  • Client and server inventories
  • Software deployment and updates
  • Application deployment and compliance
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review

About System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM)

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) is a system monitoring and management platform that can be deployed as an agent, via the cloud, or on-premises. SCCM can manage systems across OS types (Windows, Mac, Linux), as well as multiple environments, including servers, virtual environments, and mobile devices from a single management console. SCCM supports scaling capabilities, such as future application delivery.

SCCM also provides extended system monitoring services. The platform includes a customizable reporting tool to inform future business software decisions. It also enables endpoint protection from malware and vulnerability identification within the monitored systems and infrastructure.

System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) Integrations

System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No