Microsoft Yammer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
273 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-49 of 49)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2018

Okay for keeping in touch, but unsure what effect it's had on the business

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yammer throughout the entire company. It's used to 'spread the word' about various happenings in different departments and help us stay connected despite being in different locations.
  • Helps employees stay connected without physically seeing each other
  • Allows me to quickly find contact info for any employee
  • Allows me to stay up to date with company announcements
  • No place to write office hours
  • Email notifications can get annoying
Good for medium and large companies, but probably wouldn't be needed at small companies and startups.
Read this authenticated review
Jaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2018

Review for Yammer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer is used at organization level. We use this tool to socialize, collaborate, celebrate, share personal/company event with people in other offices. It's widely accepted and used within our organization that it almost feels like a Facebook page for Elekta. I always start my day with reading the Yammer page as people across company share lots of content around the globe.
  • It provides the functionality of creating groups and accessing private or publicly
  • It provides access to private content
  • It allows posting of media and content. Whoever has access to the posted content can like, share and comment on the post.
  • Yammer could have a more fancy UI.
This tool works perfectly well for collaboration within company who has distributed offices and remote employees. Updates can be posted to right groups and the subscribed employees get update. Employee can subscribe to different group based on their interest to get updates particularly for that a particular area. Recently used Yammer to co-ordinate and organize a company wide event so that all employees will have same experience and it really turned out to be great success.
Read Jaya Bhardwaj's full review
TARUN GUPTA | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2017

YAMMER - alone in the market .

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, we in Nokia use Yammer as a centralized tool for discussions. Since it also provides the cloud storage, you can access from laptop/Mobile while you are traveling and be connected to all the staff you are in the loop with. GREAT tool and innovation from Microsoft.
  • Cloud Storage
  • Access from anywhere
  • Outlook Integration, important for Calenders
  • Centralized management
  • Visibility
  • Improvement in the user interface
  • Need to do out of the box
Discussions within the company. Yammer allows employees to have an internal public discussion which may sometimes violate the internal policies of an organization. It offers cloud-based discussion which means you are always connected no matter where you are in the world. Need to get attention from the public since there are many players already in the market doing the same.
Read TARUN GUPTA's full review
Samantha Bearman, MPH | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2017

Yammer on Yammer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Yammer is being used by a small startup company that I freelance for as a way for all of us to engage and communicate with an easy to follow user interface system that drastically reduces communication errors.
  • The ability to more easily share and connect with colleagues.
  • Being able to join select groups helps streamline communication.
  • It was very user-friendly and felt like I could easily translate skills attained from Facebook to understand Yammer.
  • Unfortunately, Yammer has been a bit of a distraction at work as it resembles the social media sites that have been blocked.
  • My inbox gets clogged with notifications.
  • Sometimes the group chats get off topic and it is hard to get back on track.
This is incredibly well suited if you are working on multiple projects with multiple triads or diads of people and have to have a conversation style record of what is happening. It would be less appropriate if you are not in a setting that requires and benefits from increased communication flow with colleagues.
Read Samantha Bearman, MPH's full review
Tony Phan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

Interesting Platform for Project Sharing & Updating

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use it mainly for project sharing and all project updates are shared on Yammer. Other members in the organization are also allowed to make comments, share ideas regarding that particular project or have access to the project they are following. It is like a real time social media site of the project where everything is updated at a fast pace. Yammer is like a social media platform but for working purposes.
  • Project sharing and updates: status updates now can be shared easier and faster than ever. No more email writing and attachments with formal writings. It is now as easy as it is to update your Facebook status.
  • Interactive platform: members across our organization can interact and share their updates regarding to a particular project or issue that has a high impact / effect on the organization.
  • Alternative way to communicate: Our organization has an additional way to communicate in case email does not work as it should be. This will prevent any delay in communication.
  • Looking for files that you have posted is harder and must be used with Microsoft Sharepoint.
  • Mobile app is not friendly for new users; it has a complex interface that should not be there for a social app
  • Email notifications from Yammer are annoying sometimes without clear instructions on how to turn that off
Yammer does not really have a high impact on performance at this moment and in order to maximize all of it features, it is highly recommended that you use Yammer together with Outlook & Skype for Business to ensure communication are easier. Although there are a lots of convenience using Yammer, always make sure you send the confidential files through emails since if you upload it on Yammer, everyone can see and have access to the file.
Read Tony Phan's full review
Marcos Sola | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2017

Be Social. Join Yammer!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sonoco's Yammer network is a great way to connect with fellow associates, exchange ideas and stay updated on current news and events taking place throughout Sonoco's global network.
  • Employees from around the globe get to follow, share and discuss a myriad of business topics on Yammer, our business social network. They get to start conversations, collaborate on files and organize projects so one can go further, faster. Plus the ease of asking questions, finding expertise and offer feedback on a topic without leaving the application you’re in saves time and keeps employees engaged.
  • When one works with teammates in Yammer groups, ideas fly! Do you have an important message to share with the rest of the community? We utilize Yammer to reach who you want within the company when you want, so no one misses a thing. Yammer brings the global conversation straight to you.
  • Although the social enterprise network works very well, there is room for some slight improvement - such as the ability to attract users. By being part of the Microsoft Office Suite, it is offered as an "add-on" and many overlook it and see it as unnecessary at first. It would be smart for Microsoft to sell it as its own product so it could gather more popularity as a "social network".
  • Giving an option to filter results could be better as well as giving an option to turn off the "recent activity" bar on the home page.
We've had associated set up groups on a variety of topics like business technology, flexible packaging, Office 365 and SharePoint, protective solutions, public speaking, wellness, diversity and more! In fact, Sonoco associates from around the world who participated in our recent #WearPinkDay shared their photos on Yammer. This is one of the best positives scenarios!
Read Marcos Sola's full review
Kyle Legg | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2015

If you've used Facebook, you know how to use Yammer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Yammer is implemented across our entire company, and is used as a communication tool between our on-the-go sales agents and staff. Our agents are able to quickly update staff on upcoming listings and purchases through Yammer, share photos of interesting properties from broker tours and open homes. Our staff uses Yammer to make announcements and share weekly digests of sell and purchase status updates.
  • No one likes getting a long thread of reply-alls. With Yammer announcements and updates can be shared — without cluttering your inbox.
  • Yammer's mobile apps are great for our on-the-go sales team to stay in touch with our office staff.
  • Yammer's social aspect makes it incredibly easy to use, even for our less tech savvy teammates. If you've used Facebook, learning Yammer will be a cinch.
  • Editing functionality would be warmly welcomed by my team. There's currently no way to edit posts in Yammer once they've been posted. If a typo is bothering you, you'll have to delete your post and re-post with the edited text.
  • Yammer's design leaves something to be desired. Document editing is not great.
  • No obvious way to sort/organize files uploaded to Yammer. If files from a certain user are needed, you'll have to go to their profile and sift through their uploaded files.
Microsoft Yammer is not well suited for private messaging. My team still uses Google Chat/Google Hangouts for internal instant messaging. Microsoft Yammer is great for announcements, updates, events, and polls. If your message is longer than a short paragraph, send it via email.
Read Kyle Legg's full review
Vivian Thacker | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2015

Yammer is the way to go!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer is being used throughout our entire company.

Yammer gives us the ability to break down communication silos throughout our organizations and allow everyone to have a 'voice' whether you are in upper management or on the production floor. Yammer also gives us the ability to collaborate anytime, anywhere through their easy to use mobile apps.
  • Yammer offers a mobile app. This gives our employees an opportunity to review documents and collaborate on those documents anywhere at anytime.
  • Yammer provides a user interface that is very easy to use. Not only is the interface easy to use, but it is very similar to Facebook. Therefore, there is very little training that needs to occur with the user population.
  • Yammer offers an excellent user community called the YCN (Yammer Community Network). Once you become a member of this network, you can ask any question and a response is delivered within minutes. This is especially valuable when you may not understand certain features/functionality that Microsoft has delivered. The community has experts that are extremely helpful.
  • An area of opportunity is within the Yammer analytics. Yammer does offer a dashboard type view for basic analytics, but this needs to be improved upon in order for companies to obtain better usage statistics.
  • Another opportunity for improvement is with the mobile apps. While Microsoft is continuing to make improvements within the mobile environment, certain functionality can only be performed within the browser.
I can't think of a specific scenario where Yammer would not be beneficial. In order to be successful in deploying Yammer, one recommendation would be to utilize Microsoft's CSM (Customer Service Managers). They were instrumental in their valuable advice/suggestions and rollout of Yammer on a global basis. The CSM's were willing to work with our core team on a bi-weekly basis and perform site visits on specific occasions in order to make sure our implementation was a success.
Read Vivian Thacker's full review
Joakim Berg | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2014

WhYammer?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We currently use Yammer as the main platform for internal communication and collaboration in one country. The most common ways to use Yammer are to share information and ask for input from colleagues. Yammer has erased both geographical and departmental silos within some business units. However, not all business units has adopted Yammer yet, and there are still work to be done to break down the silos between business units.

Besides collaboration in, for example product development, we use Yammer to find sales leads, creating marketing material, e.g. social media content, and newsletters and to some extent also share best practices. Yammer enables us to collaborate better and faster, makes us more productive, unlocks more business opportunities, drives innovation and make employees more engaged and feel more involved and part of the company's longterm journey.

We aim to start unlocking more business value by starting the Social Journey, which is Yammer's way of working to convert vision and strategy to tactical Use Cases that focuses on solving or improving the company "pains". We have not appointed a Community Manager so far, but as Customer Success Manager (CSM), I am promoting that we do.

Yammer is a great way to change the way management communicate internally; from sending out long monthly corporate newsletters to more frequent bits of information that is both more personal and focusing more on creating a dialogue with the employees. However, to get both top and middle management to write themselves, be personal, to post more often, to be brief, and to participate in dialogues, are proven to be more difficult than I have anticipated. Management understands the value that Yammer can create, and they are committed to use it. However, they need to really understand that they lead the employees by setting the example (walk the talk), and thus must face their own fear of making themselves visible to other people via a digital medium that is not email. As CSM I see that the most important Use Case to focus on, will be to get inspire and teach management how to use Yammer the wight way. The second most important Use Case will be to focus on Yammer Champions, the evangelist in the organization that can help us nudge the laggards to adopt Yammer. When these Use Cases have reached enough effect, we can start looking at other Use Cases, such as driving innovation, breaking down silos between business units, making more people involved in our social media marketing work etc.
  • Yammer is user friendly and (to many of us) intuitive enough to get started using without training. There are many collaboration platforms out there, but the web interface is really great and the device apps are ok as well.
  • Yammer is multitenant and evolves constantly by making well-tested and small incremental changes. I feel assured that Yammer will be an even better solution in the future, thus a secure investment.
  • Yammer is the hub for creating a social intranet together with Sharepoint. Finally we can make the intranet worth the investment by making people wanting to use it on a daily basis. The integration today is somewhat slim, with the Web App, SSO etc,. However, it's one of Microsoft's highest priorities to make the integration deeper.
  • Yammer is a great platform to create Customer Networks that really drive customer engagement. The user experience is great and the way employees can connect with customers is creating much value.
  • Security. The data is stored in the USA, and with the current NSA debate, this makes our European customers a bit concerned. However, the European Commission, who overseas the data security within EU, uses Yammer.
  • Device app functionality. Many of us only use login to their social media accounts, e.g. Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, on our smartphones or tablets. This is relevant for our work tools as well. However, you cannot yet edit Notes or see current #-tags in the apps.
  • Sharepoint integration. This is so important for our customers that the current level of integration must be considered as a weakness even though Microsoft has it as one of their top priorities.
  • Outlook integration. Many of us use Outlook for email, calendar and contacts. To break the habits of sending emails, Yammer and other ESN-tools face the challenge of having people switching from Outlook to Yammer to send a message. However, Yammer is working on an integration to Office and Outlook to bring the ESN-experience closer to the productivity tools.
Yammer is really great to drive productivity, engagement and innovation.

Yammer enables personal cross-communication on all levels within the company which is great to make the management more connected to the rest of the organization and it also gives everyone their own voice. Thus, by getting more in touch with what's going on within the company, and by being able to share your own thoughts, ideas and work, Yammer increases employee engagement. Additionally, by making the conversations and information visible and searchable to everyone, Yammer enables the possibility for serendipity, which outside of an ESN is almost impossible. And within an organization, serendipity is something that really drives innovation and business value.

Yammer is not well-suited for many things, for example project management, CRM or writing private notes. However, it can be integrated to such apps that it is therefore not necessary to be a Swiss Army Knife.

To create real and relevant business value of any ESN, including Yammer, you should hire a skilled Community Manager (CM) who can work with management and the organization to make sense of not only Yammer, but the whole Employee Work Life: People + Business Processes + Technology. All three aspects of the Employee Work Life are connected and employees need help to make sense of when to use the right tool and they need to understand what possibilities each tool or infrastructure (ESN) can create. The CM's role will also be keep the community healthy and growing, and to help driving the right leadership and to develop the corporate culture.
Read Joakim Berg's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2018

Weird Name, Great Tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yammer across the whole organization. It's a great tool used by a variety of teams, departments and niche interest groups to share information and build company culture. One of the great problems it solves for us is knowledge retention and sharing across the globe. If someone reads a great article or watches an impactful webinar, they are able to share it for all to see. When working on specific teams, Yammer is a great way to communicate with team members and collaborate on project work or overall team objectives.
  • Content sharing (across all media types)
  • User notifications and private messaging
  • Group collaboration and social elements (likes, shares, conversation threads, etc.)
  • Some of the GIF functionality is slow, but this is not a heavily used feature in our company.
  • Discovering new groups or conversation threads can be a challenge unless you know exactly what you are looking for. "Browsing" can be difficult.
Yammer is a great tool for sharing content and knowledge across the organization in a way that captures and retains knowledge for all to see. A thread can happen between two colleagues and anyone interested or needing similar knowledge or information can follow the thread and stay informed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2018

Decent product for small group use.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Yammer is a good platform, however I find it difficult to navigate through all of the areas in it. Creating some channels are easy, but keeping information pinned to the top of your thread can be a challenge. We currently use Microsoft Yammer to communicate ideas and threads for our apparel company.
  • Microsoft Yammer allows us to spread communication with many people all at the same time.
  • Microsoft Yammer also allows us to look up old information that was shared previously.
  • Adding images to threads is very simple.
  • Adding an option to allow pinning of threads to the top of the feed easily would be an improvement.
  • Managing users and removing yourself from a group can be improved.
  • The basic layout of Yammer can sometimes give a cluttered feel.
Microsoft Yammer works well for small groups of four to five groups where information needs to be shared and can be recalled later on. It offers a good platform for adding images and allowing users to comment on specific threads.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

Yammer is OK for after work get togethers

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yammer as a localized social network for outside of work activities: volunteering, buying/selling home items, hobbies, etc.
  • Very useful for selling items. I've listed lots of home goods.
  • I had difficulty deleting posts after a sale was completed. The original picture and description still showed up in my personal feed. not sure if it was removed from the world at large or not, but it was a minor hassle just to wonder that.
Anything where you want to collaborate with people socially outside of work it's pretty easy to set up and use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2017

Yammer - A Good Communication Tool for Low Volume Needs

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We using Yammer as a corporate version of internal social media. Employees are able to share articles of interest, celebrations, industry information and our various departments are able to share information relevant to their goal and accomplishments.
  • Easy to use/user-friendly
  • Integrates with SharePoint and allows us to feature our Yammer feed on our SharePoint homepage
  • Would love to see new posts somehow highlighted or called out in the feed. At present they get buried in with posts that people like or comment on so I feel as though I must read through everything to ensure not missing a post, even if it's a post I've already read and someone new simply likes.
  • I use the Yammer app and see Yammer on our company SharePoint homepage and without difficulty. But I tried to utilize the desktop notification and it is both cumbersome and I cannot identify a way to minimize it so it is always blocking a portion of my screen.
We are a small-midsize company so our Yammer newsfeed is manageable. However if we were much larger, even with utilizing closed groups, I would envision the newsfeed would be too cumbersome.
Read this authenticated review
Stefano Tempesta | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2014

Yammer to improve team collaboration across regions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yammer for team collaboration and document sharing. Being an international company spread over 4 regions, communication in different time zones is always a challenge. Yammer helps us making teams be in contact, collaborate on writing and reviewing documents, inform team members about news and project progress. We use groups a lot, both public and private. Groups are typically project-based or product-based. Some groups live for the duration of the project and then are archived. Other product oriented groups are open all the time as the product develops. Very useful functionality is the possibility to notify people in other groups of changes to a project or product that may impact others.
  • Document reviewing: We use a lot the functionality of versioning documents and adding comments.
  • Notification: Notify only relevant people about news and project progress, this is critical to us and it reduces clutter in our own inbox but still keeps people informed.
  • Tagging: Files and posts can be tagged and categorized for a better searchability. Over time we have built a fully structure taxonomy of tags that allows us to find information very quickly in the system.
  • Document editing is still poor. The rich text editor is far from being rich, compared to other online editors in the market.
  • Import/export of data is limited. Often we are challenged with the need for importing a massive repository of documents, from file system or SharePoint for example. When closing a group, we also need to archive all posts and documents contained.
  • Layout personalization: Very little can be changed to the layout of a Yammer site. We'd like to introduce more advanced branding of the site and increase the portal identity.
1) Is Yammer a replacement of SharePoint for enterprise collaboration and document sharing, or can the two platforms work together, and how?
2) Can I do full editing, versioning and reviewing of documents directly on Yammer, or do I still need Office-like applications for editing?
3) How robust and complete is the mobile offering?
Read Stefano Tempesta's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2017

Great collaboration tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer is used for the whole organisation as our enterprise social tool. It is used for collaboration among the teams, cross BUs, internal communication & collaboration with partners in external networks.
  • Mobile app has great UX
  • What's new feature is great to keep up
  • Recommendations for relevant groups & call conversions
  • Nothing I see as a problem
Most appropriate for internal communication & collaboration among teams. Not relevant for small teams, for that other tools like Microsoft teams is better suited.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2017

Yammer - Business use evaluation

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole business used Microsoft Yammer to address the most effective way to manage communications in the business and to also act as a central data access point.
  • Great way to manage an internal contact directory.
  • Permissioned access to sensitive information/groups.
  • Great comms tool with discussions threads and social interaction interface which is user friendly.
  • Useful central storage solution for document sharing.
  • Mobile app not very user friendly.
See value use cases ["Pros"] in relation to centralised comms, restricted access and file sharing.
Read this authenticated review
Chuck Hudgins | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2014

Review of Yammer in a recruiting firm

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parallel HR used Yammer in two primary ways. First, it was used as a platform for maintaining and promoting an open and collaborative culture via fostering discussion and sharing relevant news. Second, we used it as an information management platform, storing and collaborating on documents about our clients. We would store "client procedure documents" that our recruiters would use to get up to speed quickly on the individual recruiting/interviewing processes used by our clients.
  • Internal microblogging. It is very easy for employees to post relevant information to keep each other up to date on whatever they want/need to share.
  • Document sharing/collaboration. It did this fairly well, although the document update process needed to be embedded in the web app, instead of uploading and swapping out.
  • Yammer has several different notification options including text/email for a lot of different activities on the platform. I found the wide range of options in this regard pretty helpful.
  • Document sharing/collaboration wasn't as fluid as it could have been.
  • Viewing multiple pictures was kind of clunky, there was no preview that you could scroll through.
Yammer is a solid information management platform in cases where the information in question is relatively straightforward and in some kind of MS Office format. I am not sure it quite has the features to handle collaboration more sophisticated than that, unless you happen to have access to a specific application integration.
Read Chuck Hudgins's full review
Dawn Gartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2014

Yammer Makes the World Go Round

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer has been at Manhattan Associates for over 2 years. It is used across the globe and across all departments so that we can work more effectively and efficiently. Key initiatve to break down silos, help departments work together, find answers when we don't always know who to ask.
  • Easy to set up, easy to work with, each to use. Not much of a learning curve, which makes it easy to get rolling in your organization.
  • Works with text, photos, videos, files.
  • In the cloud, and on mobile.
  • Would be helpful to edit a post once it's been published (correcting typos, adding a few more sentences rather than start another post)
  • Mobile app is good, but not as robust of an experience with critical needs such as "search" and accessing Yammer Notes
  • When files are uploaded, there is no way to organize/view them say by alphabetical title, author, etc.
Well suited to have one place for many people to collaborate and contribute. Project teams can use it as a online repository, hold discussions that people can get to on their time, reduce the need for distribution list email blasts, give public praise to team members.
Read Dawn Gartin's full review
Tom Krühlmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2014

Share your Point in the cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Microsoft Yammer is part of our portfolio of tools to enable Enterprise Social networking (ESN). This portfolio also includes blueKiwi, Jive, Socialcast as well as IBM Connections and Microsoft Sharepoint. We use the appropriate tools to various customers depending on business needs and requirements. Yammer is used widely as the collaboration-enabler in organisations often using existing Microsoft solutions including Sharepoint and office 365. We use it to enable zero email in some organizations or to compliment and enhance communication in others.
  • Group creation and management is extremely straightforward, enabling the fast buildup of your network
  • Document and content integration makes is easy to gather information and work around specific subjects.
  • Large existing client base and adoption makes it very fast to include your partners, customers and other externals; many are already available in Yammer
  • The well supported used of tags (subjects) makes organizing content fast
  • The dependency on email as means of notification engine makes the risk of information spamming clear and present
  • The SaaS only delivery model will keep some organizations away; they may require on-premise
  1. Do you already use Microsoft solutions (sharepoint, O365)
  2. Will you require on-premise
  3. Do you partners / customers use Yammer
For a scenario where you require a very fast adoption and you want to get started quickly, Yammer is the obvious choice.
If you work in sensitive R&D, Security or financial services, you should be making informed decision as to the appropriate archirecture (SaaS or on-premise)
Read Tom Krühlmann's full review
Danielle Brigida | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2013

Free Version of Yammer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Chat feature.
  • Integrate with other programs.
  • Serve as a platform to teach new users how to use social media.
  • Make communications less formal than email.
  • No longer connects to gchat or outlook
  • Makes management more difficult in the free version
Great tool, wish they had alternate pricing structures.
Read Danielle Brigida's full review
Keith Bailly | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2013

Yammer Time!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We started with Yammer before Microsoft got to it. It was a great tool for sharing information and building communities.
  • We replaced a BLOG environment and used Yammer as a private network for one of our professional networking events "BarCode Network" in Las Vegas.
  • Very interactive, share anything. Just like another product widely used today, but more private and designed for the enterprise.
  • You can brand with your logos if you are using the enterprise version.
  • It is a great product.
Changes have been made to pricing and options.
Read Keith Bailly's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2015

Yammer - The Go-To Social File Sharing Platform for Any Size Company

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses it departmentally. We have found that using our email (Lotus Notes, unfortunately) has caused more problems due to file size, connecting with all the correct individuals, and overall the recipients likelihood of allowing the email to get lost among the many other day to day company emails received throughout the day. Yammer has allowed departments to share information instantly, and in an organized way.
  • Yammer is more of a social form of sharing than email. Which makes the information being delivered more personal and targeted towards specified departments.
  • Yammer allows for a "blog" feel more than our use of SharePoint in the past. Meaning there is a back and forth form of communication that wasn't necessarily available through SharePoint.
  • Yammer is more reliable than traditional work email, especially when using Lotus Notes, in order to send, share, and discuss within departments.
  • While Yammer has been an easy transition from SharePoint, it's still relatively new and unknown. Some employees claim that feel like the product was just another "add on" to the entire Microsoft Office experience.
  • When introducing new employees to Yammer, they are not as receptive because of how widely used SharePoint is across businesses and industries.
  • Functionality is simple, but still vastly different from SharePoint, thus creating a learning curve.
I believe it's extremely useful in an environment where a large company database is used, and it becomes difficult for individual departments within the company to keep track of what is specifically targeted for their particular department. Microsoft Yammer allows for each department to create what appears to be "microblogs" which serves as a functional way to share information.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2014

Yammer a great way to communicate, collaborate and innovate

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer allows staff within our organisations to connect and communicate with one another, it encourages conversations that work to solve problems, and promotes collaboration and innovation within the organisation.
  • Yammer allows people within an organisational network to connect with one another and find information quickly.
  • Yammer network allows users to be proactive in seeking out connections and gathering information.
  • Yammer allows us to access untapped resources from across the organisation.
  • The ability to search previous conversations through Yammer, coupled with the opportunity to ask for help from others within the organisation, is a valuable problem solving mechanism.
  • As users are encouraged to participate in conversations through Yammer, opportunities arise for people from all levels of the organisation to contribute and collaborate.
  • New ideas are shared through the Yammer network, and collaboration leads to innovation.
  • Yammer can help employees sustain a virtual feeling of proximity in organisations which are spread across large geographic locations.
  • Staff with varying technical ability leads to a lack of confidence in using Yammer
  • Yammer regularly changes the way things appear or slight changes in functions make how to guides difficult to maintain accuracy
  • Free version has limitations for administration and analytics
Yammer is a continued source of information, insight and collaboration across our organisation. I have found it invaluable for my role in information gathering and networking with staff across the organisation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2014

To Share or Not to Share

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer was used across the entire organization as a bridge gapping tool. In a global company, it's hard to share ideas and successes and Yammer allowed employees to share on a larger scale, which in turn encouraged transparency and support.
  • Encourages dialogue
  • Tracks timelines from a sales perspective
  • Creates a level of comfort for those that may be hesitant to share
  • Seems to work fine for the purposes that it was created for
  • I'd like to see Yammer function with other office tools like Skype or GoTomeeting
Data security is important and admin management tools should be clearly addressed. Because Yammer is essentially a social media site, a glorified Facebook if you will, it's important that sharing doesn’t go too far, and material non-public information is carefully guarded and removed if needed. It would great if screen shots were prohibited.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (22)
6.5
Gantt Charts (10)
6.5
Scheduling (15)
6.7
Workflow Automation (17)
6.3
Mobile Access (34)
8.4
Search (34)
7.8
Visual planning tools (19)
6.7
Chat (35)
9.0
Notifications (39)
8.5
Discussions (38)
9.1
Surveys (30)
8.1
Internal knowledgebase (29)
8.1
Integrates with GoToMeeting (11)
7.7
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (10)
8.2
Integrates with Outlook (28)
8.9
Versioning (23)
6.8
Video files (28)
8.2
Audio files (26)
7.9
Document collaboration (27)
7.9
Access control (28)
8.3
Advanced security features (24)
7.3
Integrates with Google Drive (11)
7.0
Device sync (21)
8.3

About Microsoft Yammer

Yammer is used for private communication within organizations or between organizational members and pre-designated groups, making it an example of enterprise social software. It originally launched as an enterprise microblogging service and now has applications on several different operating systems and devices. The company was acquired by Microsoft in 2012.
Categories:  Collaboration

Microsoft Yammer Integrations

Microsoft Yammer Competitors

Microsoft Yammer Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No