TrustRadius
MicroStrategy Analytics is a platform for Business Intelligence (BI) and self-service analytics. It enables organizations worldwide to analyze the vast amounts of data stored across their enterprises to make better business decisions. MicroStrategy currently has 3 versions: - MicroStrategy Analytics Enterprise: Enterprise-grade business intelligence - MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop: Free self-service visual analytics - MicroStrategy Analytics Express: Free cloud-based self-service visual analyticshttps://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/qq/iH/PZORMI8Q2P14.PNGMSTR Makes Data Analysis a BreezeWe use MSTR organization wide to track KPIs for our brands. We have several dashboards set up based on brand and channel. MSTR allows for real time monitoring of KPIs and provides views of performance over time. It eliminates the need to constantly run queries to check results, saving countless hours of employee time.,Visual representation of data Ease of use for setting up and modifying dashboards Intuitive UX for non-experienced users,Sharing custom dashboards,10,8,6Intensive and reliable toolMicrostrategy Analytics is widely used in the company across all departments. Different level of access can be provided to different level of responsible persons. It is a very easy tool to get access of past data with different reports and presenting it with the help of variety of dashboard and VIs. Data collection and analysis is an essential function of it.,Data collection/data access- The tool uses different attributes and metrics to generate data for you in a required format with required filters. Data Visualization- The tool has great function of creating Dashboards which are specially useful for higher management to review it. Data Analytics- With great amount of functions, it does most of the excel work within itself. Eliminates excel in most of the fronts.,Better user interface- The only thing that comes out is there is a high scope of modifying user interface. Currently it is not as good as Tableau in terms of user interface.,8,salesforce and Tableau,8,9,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, WebEx Meetings, SAS Advanced AnalyticsMicrostrategy , very good but..We are trying to use it across all the organization as the only tool where you can find all the data of the company, making all kind of dashboards for managers and final users. We've also made "live" dashboard showing the status of the company. The major problem is to make end users move from Excel to MS. The company leaves all this effort to the IT Team and does not make this a strategic decision.,Easy of use Has improved a lot the visualization of data Fast,For use it take a lot of time to prepare the correct data. I don't know it there is some MicroSrategy magic solution to make it faster Better comunication with client Improve dashboards, losing with competitors,9,,8,7MicroStrategy ReviewIt is being used across our health center in every department, from admin to ops to clinics. We are trying to use it with our scheduling program's data feed to solve TAT issues, staffing issues, and tracking issues. We've implemented several new policies around appointment cancellations due to findings in Microstrategy data. We also take in a feed from our EMR system for patient data research.,I think the dashboards are quite helpful to visualize on the spot data. Creation of facts and attributes is simple - I have no programming experience and was still able to create and modify these items. Scheduling reports to be run on a daily, weekly, or hourly basis is simple. It provides updated data on a timed basis with no need to go back into the program.,The graph options are not as robust as an Excel user might want. The metadata layer can sometimes be slower, and it takes a long time for reports to run. Viewing the data feed entered can be cumbersome at times, in terms of validation with reports.,8,Tableau Online,5,6,Tableau OnlineMicroStrategy - excellent tool in the right handsWe use MicroStrategy to provide a business intelligence solution for our clients. We use it to create reports and dashboards that our clients can use to analyze their business.,Customized dashboards between the desktop and web applications. Shared objects which allows reusability in a number of different reports.,Web tool still doesn't have all the customization possible in the developer application. Rigid star scheme requirements creates complications in unstructured data. I would love to see out of the box "what-if" scenario functionality.,7,7,8
Windows, Mac
MicroStrategy Analytics
210 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

MicroStrategy Analytics Reviews

MicroStrategy Analytics
210 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 15 of 210 MicroStrategy Analytics ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
December 10, 2018

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "MSTR Makes Data Analysis a Breeze"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

6
I find it somewhat hard to share custom dashboards that I have created, however the ability to export and share reports is incredibly easy. There could be a feature that I'm unaware of when it comes to sharing dashboards, if that's the case then an update to the UX could be to make that feature clearer.
Read this authenticated review
Rishi Bavishi, CSSGB, CAPM profile photo
January 21, 2018

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Intensive and reliable tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

9
This capability really easy and handy to support especially if you have to provide limited access to virtual person or an intern. Data sharing and using inbuilt features are really easy and gives a lot of options. Subscriptions to reports and read/write capabilities are also helpful in terms of flexing up for modifications under reports.
Read Rishi Bavishi, CSSGB, CAPM's full review
No photo available
October 18, 2017

MicroStrategy Analytics: "MicroStrategy Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

6
Sharing gets a 10, collaboration is a bit less. It was easy to email and share but difficult to work the folder heirarchy for some end users. Additionally, it was hard to collaborate at the same time, and at the beginning, reports were lost and overwritten. However, sharing reports to be pushed out regularly was fantastic, and many people chose to receive their data in this way.
Read this authenticated review
Abanish Mishra profile photo
June 11, 2016

MicroStrategy Analytics: "MicroStrategy - Why, When & Where ??"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

8

1) One of the major aspect of reporting is access control.

For example the Business Intelligence team interacts with lot of business like Finance, Product, Marketing etc. Each and every of these businesses consists of their corresponding employee hierarchy starting from executives in the top of the pyramid to the developer who is at the bottom of the pyramid. But everyone in the hierarchy shouldn't have access to view or modify the report. Here's why access control is required. Also if the company is part of an IPO they would like to restrict a lot of key metrics from the employees who are at the bottom of the pyramid.

MicroStrategy provides great access control facilities so that we can control sharing capabilities. We can define security roles and assign members to each and every security role. Now we can configure each and every security role to have specific privileges which is really helpful. So we restrict not only permissions for viewing a report but also different tool access capabilities.


2) Subscription Option - Email Delivery Subscription, File Refresh Subscription & Attachment Option in Excel

I have seen that a lot of executives demand to view a ready made report (to view key metrics instantly) sent to their email so that they can access it by desktop as well as a cell phone. This can be achieved from MicroStrategy. We can deliver dashboards (documents) in a specific time via emails. Delivery options can be easily manipulated. It is also possible to deliver it in pdf or Excel via email by setting up a separate file subscription for granular view and embedding a link for the drive where the file is stored. It also contains compression capabilities, password protected files, and delimiter options. You can send a file only to specific users and send a preview to all users with options for email subscription.There are also time based unsubscribe options available.


3)Data Sharing Can be done in PDF, Excel

It is possible to quickly export data into Excel from Visual Insight Grid or Documents. Until the recent version of MicroStrategy 9.4.1 for PDF everything was Flash based. But starting with MicroStrategy 10 everything is pretty much based on HTML 5.


4)Native Excel Drivers for Old School People

I have seen a lot of executives (non tech savvy people) still prefer to see the data in a grid in Excel as they are not fan of visualization. They just care about the numbers being correct at the end of the day without any fancy graphical representation. MicroStrategy provides an option to have native Excel Drivers directly interacting with a live document. Once we install this add-on Excel will show you a MicroStrategy add-in in menu bar based on what you can connect to MicroStrategy projects. This can be really helpful sometimes for a quick data preview.


5)Visual Insight helps to quickly plot dashboards

A lot of tech savvy new users now a days like to use a visualization tool to observe different trends in data. For the last two decades people have been using Microsoft Excel for drawing charts and pivot tables. But MicroStrategy’s Visual insight takes the whole thing to another level. It is very user friendly and gives lot of options for quick manipulations of data. You can visually observe the data in a different format. It gives the option of derived metrics and derived attribute (MicroStrategy 10). Complex formulas can directly be applied on the metrics to add derived metrics. There are filter options. There are date sliders (mainly used for trend lines) and options to select a specific part of whole data set. Also functions like OLAP, data mining and statistics makes manipulations very easy.


6)Intelligent Cubes can be scheduled to refresh the data

There is the concept of an Intelligent Cube which can be built on top of architect facts and dimensions. For refreshing data on a daily basis we can input schedules which can update data or delete and insert data in intelligent cubes at a specific time or multiple times in a day. Reports are supposed to be built of top of these cubes.


7)Direct Control to Hadoop via Hive & Free Form SQL Query to Hadoop

There is way to direct query big data (in free form ) via Hive from Hadoop. The new version of MicroStrategy prime has also introduced native drivers a way through which big chunks of data can be taken in memory for faster retrieval of data.

Read Abanish Mishra's full review
★Alex Khamudis profile photo
July 29, 2016

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Simplifying reporting needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

10
My organization utilizes the feature by allowing different departments pull different data sets for different purposes. In addition, we have standardized custom reports that are created by one group and could be utilized by another group, this way there is consistency in numbers across the enterprise.
Read ★Alex Khamudis's full review
Tapan Jain profile photo
April 28, 2016

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Comprehensive enterprise BI Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

8
I really liked the ease with which MicroStrategy allows you to control access to the reports and dashboards. The permission levels can be associated with the user groups and each user's credentials can be managed. One can also customize the content visible to different user groups. The delivery can be scheduled in advance and reports will be delivered in an automated manner.
Read Tapan Jain's full review
Paul Campbell profile photo
April 08, 2015

MicroStrategy Analytics: "Ground level perspective of MicroStrategy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

7
The ability to work concurrently on the schema of any MicroStrategy project is near impossible. When one person is working on the schema, the schema is locked and no other can participate in the design. The application objects (reports, metrics, freeform sql, filter, etc) has a much better ability for collaboration as all the structure has been created already in the schema.
The end product, the reports and documents can be distributed almost effortlessly. The ability to share created reports and documents is also very simple to manage and very powerful.
Read Paul Campbell's full review
No photo available
June 23, 2016

MicroStrategy Analytics: "MicroStrategy is a great product for medium to large size companies."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

9
I cannot say enough good things about the ability of MicroStrategy for sharing and collaboration capabilities. We have been really impressed with this function of MicroStrategy. It has performed about our expectation for this function and I believe when we upgrade to version 10 then it will be even better than what we have now with version 9.3.1.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 29, 2016

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "A full single sourced, enterprise BI Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

9
Distribution services covers most of the collaboration in our environment. I really like how the users are enabled to save their own manipulation of a report or dashboard, then send it to their fellow colleagues. I personally like to monitor this as it demonstrates the ROI of MicroStrategy in our environment.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (17)
5.9
Customizable dashboards (17)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (18)
6.5
Drill-down analysis (17)
8.9
Formatting capabilities (18)
8.2
Integration with R or other statistical packages (11)
5.6
Report sharing and collaboration (17)
7.5
Publish to Web (16)
7.7
Publish to PDF (17)
8.5
Report Versioning (14)
6.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (17)
8.4
Delivery to Remote Servers (1)
7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (15)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (14)
7.1
Predictive Analytics (13)
7.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (13)
7.9
Role-Based Security Model (14)
8.7
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (14)
9.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (3)
9.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (14)
7.6
Dedicated iOS Application (11)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (9)
8.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (14)
7.1
REST API (1)
8
Javascript API (2)
6.6
iFrames (1)
8
Java API (1)
8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (1)
8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (2)
7.5

About MicroStrategy Analytics

The MicroStrategy platform differs somewhat from competing platforms in that it does not include a data warehouse.

The platform integrates with a wide range of third-party data warehouses however. MicroStrategy also built a free discovery/visualization tool called MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop, which is not completely integrated with the rest of the platform. MicroStrategy has strong mobile and cloud capabilities which are differentiators for the platform. MicroStrategy's cloud offerings are unique in that they host the software in their own data centers and allow customers to keep their data on-premise to alleviate security concerns. Analytics is a platform for Business Intelligence (BI) and self-service analytics. It enables organizations worldwide to analyze the vast amounts of data stored across their enterprises to make better business decisions.

MicroStrategy currently has 3 versions:

  • MicroStrategy Analytics Enterprise: Enterprise-grade business intelligence
  • MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop: Free self-service visual analytics
  • MicroStrategy Analytics Express: Free cloud-based self-service visual analytics

MicroStrategy Analytics Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Desktop$600per named user
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Web$600per named user
Web$300,000per CPU core
Mobile$600per named user
Mobile$300,000per CPU core

MicroStrategy Analytics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No